I see Michael D was at it again. Using the Young Scientist show to platform his own personal political views.
This time he was having a go at NATO. Obviously anything that stops Mother Russia from invading more countries in Europe is a bad thing.
The former president of Estonia Toomas Hendrik rightly smacked him down. It's easy for Ireland to be smug when we don't live under the constant threat of Russia like several small Eastern European countries.
Higgins has also used the office of President to issue love letters about Castro, the Venezuelan dictatorship and the Iranian regime.
It's bizarre that Michael D would be so in favour of a regime that hangs gays so readily, but that's his own personal business.
It's unusual how much leeway he has been given to exceed his brief as President? Is Official Ireland tolerating him because thankfully he'll be gone in a few months?
https://archive.is/4oQXl
Here you go: https://gript.ie/
Gript seem happy enough with it?
https://gript.ie/the-angry-response-to-higginss-nato-outburst-seems-a-little-choreographed/
Taken in context:
President Higgins said current global spending on defence of €2.38 trillion was already "shocking" and perpetuated "war as a state of mind". Mr Higgins said increased military spending "may, we were told, cause pain in the present so as to achieve security in the future, and it may be – the secretary general of Nato Mr Rutte stated – even at the expense of investing in essentials in education, social protection and health".
He's been a brilliant President. Just a pity he can't stay for another term
Perhaps the Ukrainians should mass print one of Mr. Higgins's wife's lovely poems and air drop them over the Russian lines and on Moscow and St. Petersburg. Peace in our time.
Think 14yrs was enough! 7yr presidential terms are way too long.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 13, 2025, 02:52:08 PMThink 14yrs was enough! 7yr presidential terms are way too long.
Higgins also lied about only serving one term.
Would a politician of a different party, or a political outlook get a free pass on this?
Quote from: Dag Dog on January 13, 2025, 02:54:02 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on January 13, 2025, 02:52:08 PMThink 14yrs was enough! 7yr presidential terms are way too long.
Higgins also lied about only serving one term.
Would a politician of a different party, or a political outlook get a free pass on this?
What powers do they have and what is the point?
Apple doesn't fall far from the tree
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/irish-america-does-battle-with-michael-ds-son-over-sale-of-fifth-avenue-mansion/41699192.html
What a complete and utter kno.b
What are you crying about now? Touched a nerve has he? If you're representative of Irish America he'd not be wrong to suggest how embarrassed by you we frequently are.
We seem to have a new (or resurrected) right wing agent spewing sh1te.
Michael D has stayed to long in the job. 84 in a couple of weeks.
One term was enough. And he lied about the second term. He let himself down there.
He has had views that I have agreed with and disagreed with over the years.
But at least he has had views and the passion to say his 2 pence worth on them.
I'm not fond of really old people setting the agenda for the next generation or sh1t stirring.
They've had their time. Let the next crowd have their turn.
Quote from: gallsman on January 13, 2025, 04:00:35 PMWhat are you crying about now? Touched a nerve has he? If you're representative of Irish America he'd not be wrong to suggest how embarrassed by you we frequently are.
As I am equally embarrassed by a lot of the simpering woke virtue signaling I see on here
Michael D Jr-a fella who never had a real job in his life trying to finagle a $44 M war chest to fund his woke DEI projects.
Sounds about right
Quote from: Rossfan on January 13, 2025, 04:14:13 PMWe seem to have a new (or resurrected) right wing agent spewing sh1te.
I've had the flu for the last 3 weeks
Internationally many people think that the "President" of Ireland is a position of power and the views expressed are those of someone with authority, and reflect our national policy.
That's why what he says can cause real damage.
In reality, he's a senile hobbit in a luxurious retirement home, living off the taxpayers all his life.
The personal insults directed at Michael D for his appearance say more about the people spewing them than they say about the President.
Anyone who quotes Gript should be taken as seriously as Gript: i.e. not very.
I agree with Michael D on a lot of issues, and over the years he's been a great speaker of his mind.
I don't agree with him on defence policy. Ireland does need to up its game and stop the country from being used as a base for Russian troublemaking. Ships have been sent into Irish waters by Russia to tamper with underwater cables, and Russian planes have been flying into Irish airspace to test NATO response times, secure in the knowledge that Ireland has no jet intercept capabilities and defence of its airspace has been quietly outsourced to the Brits. Not a good look for a supposedly independent country that's supposed to be able to face up to its international responsibilities.
I've written more about it here: https://substack.com/home/post/p-153705556
Quote from: Don Cockburn on January 13, 2025, 04:43:41 PMInternationally many people think that the "President" of Ireland is a position of power and the views expressed are those of someone with authority, and reflect our national policy.
In reality, he's a senile hobbit in a luxurious retirement home, living off the taxpayers all his life.
Sounds very like the pro Israel posters attacking Michael D online in recent weeks.
Quote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 04:34:30 PMQuote from: gallsman on January 13, 2025, 04:00:35 PMWhat are you crying about now? Touched a nerve has he? If you're representative of Irish America he'd not be wrong to suggest how embarrassed by you we frequently are.
As I am equally embarrassed by a lot of the simpering woke virtue signaling I see on here
Michael D Jr-a fella who never had a real job in his life trying to finagle a $44 M war chest to fund his woke DEI projects.
Sounds about right
You got 44m "warchest" for "woke DEI projects" from that Indo article?
Quote from: Don Cockburn on January 13, 2025, 04:43:41 PMInternationally many people think that the "President" of Ireland is a position of power and the views expressed are those of someone with authority, and reflect our national policy.
Similar rhetoric to that used on him by Zionists. He called those genocidal maniacs out. A great President.
Quote from: Truthsayer on January 13, 2025, 05:17:26 PMQuote from: Don Cockburn on January 13, 2025, 04:43:41 PMInternationally many people think that the "President" of Ireland is a position of power and the views expressed are those of someone with authority, and reflect our national policy.
Similar rhetoric to that used on him by Zionists. He called those genocidal maniacs out. A great President.
Thinking Michael D is a total idiot and a disgraceful president doesn't amount to Zionism.
Quote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 04:35:11 PMQuote from: Rossfan on January 13, 2025, 04:14:13 PMWe seem to have a new (or resurrected) right wing agent spewing sh1te.
f**king snowflake.
Quote from: J70 on January 13, 2025, 05:16:18 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 04:34:30 PMQuote from: gallsman on January 13, 2025, 04:00:35 PMWhat are you crying about now? Touched a nerve has he? If you're representative of Irish America he'd not be wrong to suggest how embarrassed by you we frequently are.
Sounds about right
100%
"I think it is time for Irish-America to acknowledge that it was both complicit in and resistant to injustices," he wrote in the 'private' letter published by Irish Central.
Quote from: gallsman on January 13, 2025, 05:36:45 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 04:35:11 PMQuote from: Rossfan on January 13, 2025, 04:14:13 PMWe seem to have a new (or resurrected) right wing agent spewing sh1te.
f**king snowflake.
Be careful mocking
Worst flu I've had in my life-lasted a solid 3 weeks
A few useful eejits or Israelibots obviously got their orders.
The man has more dignity in his little finger than all the War criminal murderers and their supporters put together.
Gript.... enough said.
Quote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 05:38:41 PMQuote from: gallsman on January 13, 2025, 05:36:45 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 04:35:11 PMQuote from: Rossfan on January 13, 2025, 04:14:13 PMWe seem to have a new (or resurrected) right wing agent spewing sh1te.
f**king snowflake.
Be careful mocking
Inject yourself with some ivermectin you compete sap.
Quote from: Rossfan on January 13, 2025, 05:39:17 PMA few useful eejits or Israelibots obviously got their orders.
The man has more dignity in his little finger than all the War criminal murderers and their supporters put together.
Gript.... enough said.
Integrity, like his backing of despotic regimes in Iran, Cuba and Venezuela.
Be OK if he backed Saudi Arabia, Bahrain etc?
Quote from: gallsman on January 13, 2025, 05:41:28 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 05:38:41 PMQuote from: gallsman on January 13, 2025, 05:36:45 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 04:35:11 PMQuote from: Rossfan on January 13, 2025, 04:14:13 PMWe seem to have a new (or resurrected) right wing agent spewing sh1te.
f**king snowflake.
Be careful mocking
Inject yourself with some ivermectin you compete sap.
I'm back to normal now but thanks for your concern.
Looking forward to Trump and Musk driving you all mad for the next 4 years
Quote from: Don Cockburn on January 13, 2025, 05:34:32 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on January 13, 2025, 05:17:26 PMQuote from: Don Cockburn on January 13, 2025, 04:43:41 PMInternationally many people think that the "President" of Ireland is a position of power and the views expressed are those of someone with authority, and reflect our national policy.
Thinking Michael D is a total idiot and a disgraceful president doesn't amount to Zionism.
Pointing out that's the language the Zionists used to describe him. You learnt well..
Quote from: Rossfan on January 13, 2025, 05:49:47 PMBe OK if he backed Saudi Arabia, Bahrain etc?
It's not his job to back anyone.
His problem is that he likes anyone who is anti-American or anti-West.
If Saudi and Bahrain declared a jihad against the Great Satan, he'd be drooling over them.
Looks like the puppet masters behind the attacks on ár Uachtarán thought he was standing for re-election this year😁.
Quote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 05:37:50 PMQuote from: J70 on January 13, 2025, 05:16:18 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 04:34:30 PMQuote from: gallsman on January 13, 2025, 04:00:35 PMWhat are you crying about now? Touched a nerve has he? If you're representative of Irish America he'd not be wrong to suggest how embarrassed by you we frequently are.
Sounds about right
100%
"I think it is time for Irish-America to acknowledge that it was both complicit in and resistant to injustices," he wrote in the 'private' letter published by Irish Central.
There are things that Irish America should be ashamed of, along with the justifiable pride in what they've achieved.
That acknowledgement is hardly "woke DEI" nonsense.
Regardless, it looks like the building is still in the hands of the AIHS, who, to be honest, I never heard of before today!
Must check it out next I'm up at the Met.
Quote from: J70 on January 13, 2025, 07:48:26 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 05:37:50 PMQuote from: J70 on January 13, 2025, 05:16:18 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 04:34:30 PMQuote from: gallsman on January 13, 2025, 04:00:35 PMWhat are you crying about now? Touched a nerve has he? If you're representative of Irish America he'd not be wrong to suggest how embarrassed by you we frequently are.
Sounds about right
100%
There are things that Irish America should be ashamed of, along with the justifiable pride in what they've achieved.
Regardless, it looks like the building is still in the hands of the AIHS, who, to be honest, I never heard of before today!
So the solution for all of the historical mis deeds of Irish America, is for the "Leprechauns in Chiefs" otherwise unemployable son, to pull a stroke and amass a war chest of $40-50M where he can "generate new forms of cultural expression." Maybe he can use his dissertation on "The Use of the Panda as a Cultural Artefact" as inspiration
I like Michael D and always enjoyed his sharp tongue from his Labour Days. However, I do think him sending condolences for the Butcher of Tehran on behalf of the people of Ireland - as he wrote it - was unacceptable. Raisi mass murdered political prisoners. And I write that as someone who despises gript but I like to think I know right from wrong.
Whitey, we're you not one of these lads who didn't believe in the flu or strains of it?
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 13, 2025, 08:30:34 PMWhitey, we're you not one of these lads who didn't believe in the flu or strains of it?
No
I get the flu shot every year (and even got it this year)
Just because I'm somewhat conservative on some issues, doesn't mean I believe in every tin hat conspiracy going around.
Quote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 08:42:28 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on January 13, 2025, 08:30:34 PMWhitey, we're you not one of these lads who didn't believe in the flu or strains of it?
No
Just because I'm somewhat conservative on some issues, doesn't mean I believe in every tin hat conspiracy going around.
Or a Zionist, according to some geniuses here...
Quote from: Don Cockburn on January 13, 2025, 08:43:20 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 08:42:28 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on January 13, 2025, 08:30:34 PMWhitey, we're you not one of these lads who didn't believe in the flu or strains of it?
No
Or a Zionist, according to some geniuses here...
If it looks like a duck etc..
You get away with a lot when people think you're a naive old fool.
Michael D has run out of excuses for his outbursts at this stage.
I think Michael D is a good person and agree with alot of opinions... I saw a poll of who the next president might be... a massive step down in most cases in my opinion.
Has anyone actually thrown a hat in the ring yet?
No Bank Bertie might have made a few noises?
Quote from: Rossfan on January 14, 2025, 10:53:51 AMHas anyone actually thrown a hat in the ring yet?
No Bank Bertie might have made a few noises?
Surely not?
Quote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 07:59:28 PMQuote from: J70 on January 13, 2025, 07:48:26 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 05:37:50 PMQuote from: J70 on January 13, 2025, 05:16:18 PMQuote from: whitey on January 13, 2025, 04:34:30 PMQuote from: gallsman on January 13, 2025, 04:00:35 PMWhat are you crying about now? Touched a nerve has he? If you're representative of Irish America he'd not be wrong to suggest how embarrassed by you we frequently are.
Sounds about right
100%
So the solution for all of the historical mis deeds of Irish America, is for the "Leprechauns in Chiefs" otherwise unemployable son, to pull a stroke and amass a war chest of $40-50M where he can "generate new forms of cultural expression." Maybe he can use his dissertation on "The Use of the Panda as a Cultural Artefact" as inspiration
I don't really know anything or care about Higgins Jr. He may be a useless, conniving, pampered layabout as you allege. Just think you're being a wee bit hysterical about his (apparently scuppered) plans to move the institution upstate and include a bit of self-reflection and criticism on the part of Irish America.
Glad you're feeling better though!
I do see Bertie out strolling and he isn't exactly stepping out. I reckon he wouldn't fancy it, although he could be a lad to chat Trump! And I am being seriopus there. He plays the fool or the rogue but is very sharp.
Talk of Heather Humphreys too. Once it doesn't decend into chaos with loads of candidates who have no chance and just want to make noise.
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on January 14, 2025, 01:22:07 PMI do see Bertie out strolling and he isn't exactly stepping out. I reckon he wouldn't fancy it, although he could be a lad to chat Trump! And I am being seriopus there. He plays the fool or the rogue but is very sharp.
Talk of Heather Humphreys too. Once it doesn't decend into chaos with loads of candidates who have no chance and just want to make noise.
You're a waffler, you have been years around here waffling
Quote from: HiMucker on January 14, 2025, 02:02:51 PMQuote from: Captain Scarlet on January 14, 2025, 01:22:07 PMI do see Bertie out strolling and he isn't exactly stepping out. I reckon he wouldn't fancy it, although he could be a lad to chat Trump! And I am being seriopus there. He plays the fool or the rogue but is very sharp.
You're a waffler, you have been been years around here waffling
Stop the smoke screening.
In most countries a presidential term is 4yrs, maybe 5 max, so 2 terms (max they can serve normally 8yrs). Why is Ireland 7yrs. If they keep it to that, there should be 1 term only. Like 4 people have run that office over near 43yrs. That's ridiculous.
7 years suited when it was a ceremonial role for retired politicians.
Michael D has politicised it and created the need for voters to be able to kick out a president.
Quote from: Dag Dog on January 14, 2025, 08:33:50 PM7 years suited when it was a ceremonial role for retired politicians.
Michael D has politicised it and created the need for voters to be able to kick out a president.
Use had the chance 7 years ago and didn't take it
Politician politicises political position.
Quote from: Brendan on January 14, 2025, 08:57:13 PMQuote from: Dag Dog on January 14, 2025, 08:33:50 PM7 years suited when it was a ceremonial role for retired politicians.
Use had the chance 7 years ago and didn't take it
He got 800k 1st prefs.
He must have done something right :-
To get that many votes
To piss off the right wingers.
"Use" ???
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on January 14, 2025, 09:02:06 PMPolitician politicises political position.
The role is normally above political posturing, especially when it's not in line with government policy.
He should stick to shaking hands and grooming his dogs, not plugging despotic regimes and simping for Putin.