Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: AustinPowers on December 01, 2024, 12:17:20 AM

Title: Your Christmas family traditions, customs and memories
Post by: AustinPowers on December 01, 2024, 12:17:20 AM
Well, it's now  December, so we're allowed to talk about Christmas

We were just  talking about memories of past Christmas's and  the traditions/routines etc  that was part of your  family growing up , or with your own family/kids  now.

One tradition we  had in our house was on Christmas Eve, my Mother  would cook  the turkey.  With the   smell wafting  through the house all evening, you couldn't go to bed without tasting it. So, my  Dad would always wait up for a turkey sandwich. As we  got Older, we all followed  the tradition.

So, it wouldn't be  Christmas Eve  without our  warm turkey and stuffing sandwich.  Forget the Christmas Day dinner. The Christmas Eve turkey sandwich was  the real deal.

We've followed  that tradition in all our homes , and  we raise a drink and a sandwich in memory   of our Dad on Christmas Eve.

A good memory I have  of Christmas Eve  is of people calling to the house. Aunts, uncles, cousins, neighbours. Some before, some   after mass. The people  that was all around you growing up,  some of them gone now.   Sad to think of all the changes   the years have brought. But it's  another happy  memory when I  think of Christmas Eve.

What about  your own  Christmas traditions , customs or  just good/funny  memories?
Title: Re: Your Christmas family traditions, customs and memories
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 01, 2024, 12:18:36 AM
When there actually was a midnight mass!
Post by: ONeill on December 01, 2024, 12:22:54 AM
Similar to that.

Then at about 9 we were ushered to bed and it sounded like the monster of all parties started at around 10pm Christmas Eve. Open door policy.

Christmas day was presents (selection box, colouring in and the odd thing like a football or a spaceship), dinner around 1. Trivial Pursuits around 6.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2024, 12:26:54 AM
Christmas Eve takes much less time now the children are bigger as there is no building of toys and much less inserting of batteries. Sort of miss it a bit having a few drinks whilst building f**king toys til about 2am
Post by: From the Bunker on December 01, 2024, 01:03:11 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2024, 12:26:54 AMChristmas Eve takes much less time now the children are bigger as there is no building of toys and much less inserting of batteries. Sort of miss it a bit having a few drinks whilst building f**king toys til about 2am

Remember passing up Smyths Store charging €10 to assemble two Bicycles (€20 in all). Jez, it must have been 3am before I got them near being okay!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 01, 2024, 01:22:43 AM
Allowed to open one pressie Christmas Eve 😎
Post by: Nanderson on December 01, 2024, 09:30:02 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 01, 2024, 01:03:11 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2024, 12:26:54 AMChristmas Eve takes much less time now the children are bigger as there is no building of toys and much less inserting of batteries. Sort of miss it a bit having a few drinks whilst building f**king toys til about 2am

Remember passing up Smyths Store charging €10 to assemble two Bicycles (€20 in all). Jez, it must have been 3am before I got them near being okay!
"Sorry kids, Santa may be magical and all but he's no mechanic"
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 01, 2024, 12:06:19 PM
We had the open door policy at mine for a long time on Xmas eve, covid stopped it and I'm kinda glad as getting some feckers to leave was hard work!

Building stuff was mental and arranging the toys on the sofa was some craic at 2 am knowing you are up at 5!

Now we do the family Xmas for her ones, again covid and illness has hampered things but hopefully this year it's smoother than previous

She's been practicing the roasties carrots parsnips and gravy recently.

If I'm being honest though I'd prefer a chicken to turkey for dinner. But hey ho the turkey will be in the oven on Xmas eve. The kids will be home and it's the longest time of the year I'm off, so not good for my waistline.
Post by: Orior on December 01, 2024, 06:46:24 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 01, 2024, 12:18:36 AMWhen there actually was a midnight mass!

Yeap.
Post by: AustinPowers on December 01, 2024, 09:31:44 PM
Where do we all stand  on  having Christmas crackers at  the dinner table?

And more importantly, do  ye wear the paper hats?

I always do, even  if I'm the  only one wearing one. What's  the point in having them otherwise?
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 01, 2024, 09:35:40 PM
Having read both your posts on this thread I'm convinced you are me.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2024, 09:35:48 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 01, 2024, 09:31:44 PMWhere do we all stand  on  having Christmas crackers at  the dinner table?

I always do, even  if I'm the  only one wearing one. What's  the point in having them otherwise?
Mandatory. I have a large head and I'm from a long line of large headed people, so more often than not they're ripped. Still maintain that competitive edge with the crackers and sneak a grip of the "barrel". Usually a row over it.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 01, 2024, 09:42:36 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2024, 09:35:48 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 01, 2024, 09:31:44 PMWhere do we all stand  on  having Christmas crackers at  the dinner table?

Mandatory. I have a large head and I'm from a long line of large headed people, so more often than not they're ripped. Still maintain that competitive edge with the crackers and sneak a grip of the "barrel". Usually a row over it.

There are people who don't adopt this approach out there?  Absolutely hold the barrel and definitely wear the hate! 

1 present on Christmas Eve is a something that has developed in recent years.
Post by: AustinPowers on December 01, 2024, 09:45:52 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 01, 2024, 09:35:40 PMHaving read both your posts on this thread I'm convinced you are me.

That sounds like  something I would have said.
Post by: ONeill on December 01, 2024, 09:55:15 PM
I'll never do the tie on the head at a wedding, but the paper hat seems impossible to prevent, unless sober.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 01, 2024, 10:01:38 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 01, 2024, 09:42:36 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2024, 09:35:48 PM

There are people who don't adopt this approach out there?  Absolutely hold the barrel and definitely wear the hate! 

1 present on Christmas Eve is a something that has developed in recent years.

We've been doing it 40yrs plus. Always said I was ahead of my time 😜

Least I don't have a big head like Tony 😆
Post by: Orior on December 01, 2024, 10:20:22 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 01, 2024, 09:45:52 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 01, 2024, 09:35:40 PMHaving read both your posts on this thread I'm convinced you are me.

That sounds like  something I would have said.

lol
Post by: Puckoon on December 01, 2024, 10:40:29 PM
We always had a great open house after morning Mass for the neighbours in the park. We were allowed open Santa Claus before mass, one present from under the tree after mass - but everything else had to wait until after dinner (about 4 or 5pm). Was torture but looking back now it was a nice stretch of the day.

In later years I loved being allowed to stay up with Dad to set up Santa for the younger brother and sister.

I do remember Santa forgetting batteries one year and on the drive home from Mass, Mammy lambasting the shite out of Santa for being a silly auld ballix that couldn't do one simple thing like remembering the batteries. Was a decade or so later that I laughed my ass off at that as poor Santa was driving the car.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2024, 11:00:59 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 01, 2024, 10:40:29 PMWe always had a great open house after morning Mass for the neighbours in the park. We were allowed open Santa Claus before mass, one present from under the tree after mass - but everything else had to wait until after dinner (about 4 or 5pm). Was torture but looking back now it was a nice stretch of the day.

In later years I loved being allowed to stay up with Dad to set up Santa for the younger brother and sister.

I do remember Santa forgetting batteries one year and on the drive home from Mass, Mammy lambasting the shite out of Santa for being a silly auld ballix that couldn't do one simple thing like remembering the batteries. Was a decade or so later that I laughed my ass off at that as poor Santa was driving the car.
;D a lot of pressure on oul Santa! Having all boys I was saved from building dolls houses!

We also do the 1 present on Christmas Eve and have done since I was a wain. The children are big now and the number of presents is way down so maybe it's a dying tradition in our house!
Post by: lurganblue on December 02, 2024, 10:58:22 AM
Paper hat is a must! Dont trust anyone who doesnt partake.

My ones are now at the age were the presents get smaller and require less building but the prices go up :)  I wont miss building things into the wee hours.

Tradition in ours now is that everyone comes to our house on the big day for the feed. It puts a bit of pressure on, but it's worth it, especially now that I'm at the age of knowing that every year of this company is a blessing.

A few beverages and a few tunes to complete the day.

It's round 2 of man versus food on Boxing day at the in-laws.
Post by: weareros on December 02, 2024, 01:35:06 PM
We always did the ham late on Christmas Eve, flavoured with cider, cloves and mustard. The Brandy butter was also made in advance (which would take its place with the plum pudding and custard for desert, and get doused again with whiskey or more brandy on Christmas Day). When young we were always told the animals were given the gift of speech for one minute at midnight, and the Da would ask if we heard the cats asking for ham (which at that stage was wafting all the over the house). Everyone was asking for ham, man and beast. Two glasses of whiskey and Christmas Cake and biscuits were left on the mantlepiece for Santa. We never thought to ask why two glasses of the good stuff. I must say that was a tradition I maintained myself. It was indeed a deserved reward at 2 or 3 in the morning.
Post by: Norm-Peterson on December 03, 2024, 01:47:46 PM
Christmas doesn't mean much if you don't have kids although you should never make it known to your bosses that you are childless as they would take advantage of childless men expecting them to work extra hours.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 03, 2024, 02:27:26 PM
Real men wear Christmas cracker hats !
Post by: AustinPowers on December 09, 2024, 11:25:43 AM
Where do we stand on  this new fad of  matching pajamas for all the family?  ;D
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 09, 2024, 11:34:49 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 09, 2024, 11:25:43 AMWhere do we stand on  this new fad of  matching pajamas for all the family?  ;D

Any man partaking needs shot
Post by: JoG2 on December 09, 2024, 11:54:26 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 09, 2024, 11:34:49 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 09, 2024, 11:25:43 AMWhere do we stand on  this new fad of  matching pajamas for all the family?  ;D

Any man partaking needs shot

Year 3 of the matching jammies incoming... Happy wife and all that. Our or my only saving grace is I'm not on any social media, so the pics stay local. Must admit, last year's set was fabulous
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 09, 2024, 12:42:13 PM
Ah Jog.. . And we were getting on so well lol,

I will offer a stay of execution as they don't be on social media, Christmas spirit n all that 🤝
Post by: lurganblue on December 09, 2024, 01:50:30 PM

This has happened in ours but never a team photo or shared to the world.  It also seems to have now ended. Great news.
Post by: tbrick18 on December 09, 2024, 03:11:01 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on December 09, 2024, 01:50:30 PM

This has happened in ours but never a team photo or shared to the world.  It also seems to have now ended. Great news.

We used to get the kids matching pyjamas at Christmas, but they refuse to wear matching so that's done with in our house.
You wouldn't see me dead in Christmas pyjamas, strictly boxers and old t-shirt for the bed-time attire :)
Post by: JoG2 on December 09, 2024, 10:27:56 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 09, 2024, 12:42:13 PMAh Jog.. . And we were getting on so well lol,

I will offer a stay of execution as they don't be on social media, Christmas spirit n all that 🤝

It was weighing me down too much, needed to share  :-[
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 10, 2024, 12:08:36 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on December 09, 2024, 10:27:56 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 09, 2024, 12:42:13 PMAh Jog.. . And we were getting on so well lol,

It was weighing me down too much, needed to share  :-[

It's ok. Just. But no more revelations I beg

My dad, God rest him, used to go soo slow on Xmas morn just to annoy hell out of us as we would all go down together,a traditional I've proudly carried on at much amusement to myself 😎😎
Post by: Look-Up! on December 12, 2024, 02:13:09 PM
https://www.thejournal.ie/live-animal-crib-dublin-green-party-6569402-Dec2024/

At least common sense won over this time with this tradition. That Nara spokesperson sounds like a right laugh.
Post by: weareros on December 12, 2024, 03:05:30 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on December 12, 2024, 02:13:09 PMhttps://www.thejournal.ie/live-animal-crib-dublin-green-party-6569402-Dec2024/

At least common sense won over this time with this tradition. That Nara spokesperson sounds like a right laugh.

Driving the animals back and forth from Wicklow to city centre every evening and morning? That's just cruelty. Put a feckin statue in there. It's not like Jesus Christ himself is in there too.
Post by: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 04:52:12 PM
Quote from: weareros on December 12, 2024, 03:05:30 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on December 12, 2024, 02:13:09 PMhttps://www.thejournal.ie/live-animal-crib-dublin-green-party-6569402-Dec2024/

Driving the animals back and forth from Wicklow to city centre every evening and morning? That's just cruelty. Put a feckin statue in there. It's not like Jesus Christ himself is in there too.

Of course he isn't in there, that'll happen on Christmas day.

Do you know nothing about cribs?
Post by: AustinPowers on December 12, 2024, 05:13:58 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 12, 2024, 04:52:12 PM

Of course he isn't in there, that'll happen on Christmas day.

Do you know nothing about cribs?

I have to remind my mother about  that every year.  But it just seems  strange, all these  people and animals standing around doing nothing   for a month
Post by: gawa316 on December 12, 2024, 06:42:27 PM
Crackers like hen's teeth here in the states. We head to the rich cousins for Christmas eve (usually on the 23rd) and they always have the crackers sourced...real good ones as well with funny jokes, trivia and/or interesting facts, and metal trinkets, none of that plastic shite! But in saying all that...the feckin savages pull their own crackers!! My kids know better as I've taught them well. You have to learn to lose in life and that starts with the old Christmas crackers. Oh and paper hats are worn regardless of own opinion on the matter.
Post by: Look-Up! on December 12, 2024, 07:19:57 PM

I'd say it's a lot tougher for the drivers than the animals.
Post by: AustinPowers on December 14, 2024, 01:38:33 AM
Any  Christmas films/TV shows you or the  family would religiously watch at  Christmas?

I would have to watch  Scrooged and Home Alone if they were on. I can't help it . Watched  Nativity  the last few  years as well. Great wee film 

Oh and the Father Ted  Christmas special.  "And now, we  move on to liars...."  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2024, 09:02:34 AM
Used to take the kids to QFT for Xmas movie night, home alone always gets a turn, but my favourite Xmas movie is Jimmy Stewart's It's a Wonderful life, and they refuse to watch it, cause it's in black and white!
Post by: Aristo 60 on December 14, 2024, 10:15:12 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 14, 2024, 01:38:33 AMAny  Christmas films/TV shows you or the  family would religiously watch at  Christmas?

I would have to watch  Scrooged and Home Alone if they were on. I can't help it . Watched  Nativity  the last few  years as well. Great wee film 

Oh and the Father Ted  Christmas special.  "And now, we  move on to liars...."  ;D

One thing about Scrooged that struck me recently is that the visions presented by the ghosts, and particularly the future ghost, are extremely short. The ghost of Christmas future shows the future in a sequence of no more than 1.5 mins.
Post by: Substandard on December 14, 2024, 09:55:25 PM
The Christmas card game on Christmas night.  It felt like a real rite of passage being called to the table with the grandfathers and uncles, playing 25, a game that's sadly dying out, it would seem.
Jesus,  it was like a bear pit at first though- you'd be absolutely scalded if you played wrong!!😅
 I'm still not sure if it was character-building or traumatising!!
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 14, 2024, 10:40:25 PM
This tacky stuff on the ceilings

(https://scontent.fdub3-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/470195535_953728673471681_1807943850862159925_n.jpg?stp=dst-jpg_s640x640_tt6&_nc_cat=104&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=833d8c&_nc_ohc=sawc8Qyw-o4Q7kNvgFr7Hrv&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub3-2.fna&_nc_gid=Amxl6WbTEhsZDpe8OlD-tfv&oh=00_AYBNtWyOgQpjRJ6_fYcLYH7HHsxepakh5XkX6rjCjR2VQQ&oe=6763C958)
Post by: weareros on December 14, 2024, 11:30:43 PM
Quote from: Substandard on December 14, 2024, 09:55:25 PMThe Christmas card game on Christmas night.  It felt like a real rite of passage being called to the table with the grandfathers and uncles, playing 25, a game that's sadly dying out, it would seem.
Jesus,  it was like a bear pit at first though- you'd be absolutely scalded if you played wrong!!😅

Oh yes you'd be eaten alive if you threw down the 5 of Trumps, thinking you were great, when someone else's card was already beating the person on 20.
Post by: Substandard on December 15, 2024, 12:34:53 AM
Quote from: weareros on December 14, 2024, 11:30:43 PM
Quote from: Substandard on December 14, 2024, 09:55:25 PMThe Christmas card game on Christmas night.  It felt like a real rite of passage being called to the table with the grandfathers and uncles, playing 25, a game that's sadly dying out, it would seem.

Oh yes you'd be eaten alive if you threw down the 5 of Trumps, thinking you were great, when someone else's card was already beating the person on 20.

As said in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas,  grim memories and bad flashbacks!!
Post by: tyroneman on December 15, 2024, 11:07:22 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 14, 2024, 09:02:34 AMUsed to take the kids to QFT for Xmas movie night, home alone always gets a turn, but my favourite Xmas movie is Jimmy Stewart's It's a Wonderful life, and they refuse to watch it, cause it's in black and white!

What about the colour version?
Post by: AustinPowers on December 15, 2024, 11:11:11 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 14, 2024, 10:40:25 PMThis tacky stuff on the ceilings

(https://scontent.fdub3-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/470195535_953728673471681_1807943850862159925_n.jpg?stp=dst-jpg_s640x640_tt6&_nc_cat=104&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=833d8c&_nc_ohc=sawc8Qyw-o4Q7kNvgFr7Hrv&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub3-2.fna&_nc_gid=Amxl6WbTEhsZDpe8OlD-tfv&oh=00_AYBNtWyOgQpjRJ6_fYcLYH7HHsxepakh5XkX6rjCjR2VQQ&oe=6763C958)

Ah that brings  me back. We used to put them up  in  school  every year.  We used to volunteer to help put them up to get an  hour out of class.
Post by: AustinPowers on December 15, 2024, 11:13:40 AM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on December 14, 2024, 10:15:12 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 14, 2024, 01:38:33 AMAny  Christmas films/TV shows you or the  family would religiously watch at  Christmas?

One thing about Scrooged that struck me recently is that the visions presented by the ghosts, and particularly the future ghost, are extremely short. The ghost of Christmas future shows the future in a sequence of no more than 1.5 mins.

Are you comparing  it with the book/ film?

And when I say film, I mean the Muppets  version
Post by: andoireabu on December 15, 2024, 12:11:39 PM
Quote from: weareros on December 14, 2024, 11:30:43 PM

The arguments over whether you can hold certain cards off others or if you have to follow suit, every house nearly has their own rules. A great game