Friday 18th Oct: Connacht v Leinster 6pm and Munster v Ulster 8pm live on TG4
Saturday 19th Oct Shield & Series Final 5:30pm and 7:30pm live on RTE.
The panels.
Leinster
1 Stephen Cluxton, Dublin
2 Michael Bambrick, Carlow
3 Mark Barry, Laois
4 Sean Bugler, Dublin
5 Ciaran Byrne, Louth
6 Ray Connellan, Westmeath
7 Peter Cunningham, Offaly
8 Ciaran Downey, Louth
9 Ross Dunphy, Carlow
10 Kevin Feely, Kildare
11 Daniel Flynn, Kildare
12 Darren Gallagher, Longford
13 Dean Healy, Wicklow
14 Ryan Houlihan, Kildare
15 Brian Howard, Dublin
16 Killian Roche, Laois
17 Ronan Jones, Meath
18 Donal Keoghan, Meath
19 Ciaran Kilkenny, Dublin
20 Paul Kingston, Laois
21 Craig Lennon, Louth
22 James McCarthy, Dublin
23 Eoin Murchan, Dublin
24 Evan O'Carroll, Laois
25 Lee Pearson, Offaly
26 Eoin Porter, Wexford
27 Kevin Quinn, Wicklow
28 John Small, Dublin
29 Paddy Small, Dublin
30 Ronan Wallace, Westmeath
Connacht
1 Connor Gleeson, Galway
2 Johnny McGrath, Galway
3 Brian Stack, Roscommon
4 Sean Mulkerrin, Galway
5 Cillian McDaid, Galway
6 John Daly, Galway
7 Eoghan McLoughlin, Mayo
8 Jack Carney, Mayo
9 John Maher, Galway
10 Matthew Tierney, Galway
11 Bob Touhy, Mayo
12 Enda Smith, Roscommon
13 Diarmuid Murtagh, Roscommon
14 Aidan O'Shea, Mayo
15 Daire Cregg, Roscommon
16 Conor Carroll, Roscommon
17 Ruaidhrí Fallon, Roscommon
18 Mark Diffley, Leitrim
19 Johnny Heaney, Galway
20 Shane Brosnan, New York
21 Ultan Harney, Roscommon
22 Barry McNulty, Leitrim
23 Conor Cox, Roscommon
24 Donie Smith, Roscommon
25 Ciaran Murtagh, Roscommon
26 Diarmuid Duffy, Mayo
27 Fergal Boland, Mayo
28 Pat Spillane, Sligo
29 Aidan McLoughlin, London
30 Liam Gallagher, London
31 Paul Towey, Mayo
32 Keith Byrne, Leitrim
33 Shay Rafter, London
34 Eddie McGinness, Sligo
35 Cian Lally, Sligo
36 Joey Grace, New York
37 Daire Rooney, London
Ulster
1 Niall Morgan, Tyrone
2 Diarmuid Baker, Derry
3 Mark Bradley, Tyrone
4 Paddy Burns, Armagh
5 Aidan Clarke, Tyrone
6 Oisin Conaty, Armagh
7 Padraig Faulkner, Cavan
8 Aidan Forker, Armagh
9 Niall Grimley, Armagh
10 Daniel Guiness, Down
11 Pat Havern, Down
12 Marc Jordan, Antrim
13 Conn Kilpatrick, Tyrone
14 Barry McBennett, Monaghan
15 Ronan McCaffrey, Fermanagh
16 Sean McNally, Fermanagh
17 Darren McCurry, Tyrone
18 Eoin McElholm, Tyrone
19 Joe McElroy, Armagh
20 Eoin McEvoy, Derry
21 Kieran McGeary, Tyrone
22 Peter McGrane, Armagh
23 Ross McQuillan, Armagh
24 Odhran Murdock, Down
25 Daire O Baoill, Donegal
26 Rian O Neill, Armagh
27 Oisin O Neill, Armagh
28 Gerry Smith, Cavan
29 Ciaran Thompson, Donegal
30 Niall Toner, Derry
31 Frank Burns, Tyrone
32 Mick Byrne, Antrim
33 Joe Finnegan, Antrim
34 Jason Irwin, Monaghan
35 Jason McLoughlin, Cavan
36 Fionan O'Brien, Fermanagh
Munster
1 Josh Ryan, Limerick
2 Darragh Brennan, Tipperary
3 Damien Bourke, Kerry
4 Darragh Cashman, Cork
5 Eoin Cleary, Clare
6 Jimmy Feehan, Tipperary
7 Aran Griffin, Clare
8 Emmet McMahon, Clare
9 Brian McNamara, Clare
10 Sean Meehan, Cork
11 Tadhg Morley, Kerry
12 James Naughton, Limerick
13 Danny Neville, Limerick
14 Colm O Callaghan, Cork
15 Diarmuid O Connor, Kerry
16 Chris Kelly, Cork
17 Conor O Currin, Waterford
18 Sean O Dea, Limerick
19 Donal O Sullivan, Kerry
20 Chris Og Jones, Cork
21 Dermot Ryan, Waterford
22 Maurice Shanley, Cork
23 Killian Spillane, Kerry
24 Mark Stokes, Tipperary
25 Alan Sweeney, Clare
26 Matty Taylor, Cork
27 Caomhin Walsh, Waterford
28 Tommy Walsh, Cork
29 Sean Walsh, Waterford
30 Paul Walsh, Cork
Likely to be wet for the Friday games.
Most important thing is who is refereering it?
What help does he get? An electric scooter?
Quote from: marty34 on October 18, 2024, 07:38:28 AMMost important thing is who is refereering it?
Nah. He just will have to make better use of the continuous feedback provided free of charge from multiple sources.
Often simultaneous and sometimes contradictory.
Quote from: marty34 on October 18, 2024, 07:38:28 AMMost important thing is who is refereering it?
I'm going to roar at him from back of the stand where my view of incidents is clearly much better, I'll only shout after a decision has been made and play has already restarted. Sure it'll help.
Are subs & supporters allowed to shout at the ref and not be punished? Given team officials will be punished for shouting
Friday 18 October
Allianz GAA Football Inter-Provincial Championship
Leinster v Connacht
Time: 18:00
Venue: Páirc an Chrócaigh
Referee: Martin McNally
Broadcasting on TG4
Munster v Ulster
Time: 20:00
Referee: Barry Tiernan
Broadcasting on TG4
Saturday 19 October
Allianz GAA Football Inter-Provincial Championship
Loser of Connacht v Leinster v Loser of Munster v Ulster
Time: 17:30
Referee: Conor Lane
Broadcasting on rtenews
Winner of Connacht v Leinster v Winner of Munster v Ulster
Time: 19:30
Referee: David Coldrick
Broadcasting on RTE
Backpasses, melees, keepers in outfield jerseys - every loophole closed in exhaustive guide to new Gaelic football rules
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41498591.html
Only tickets available online are in the corner , I'd imagine it puts people off as I'm making my way up jones rd now and thinking about turning back .
Quote from: Taylor on October 18, 2024, 09:38:16 AMAre subs & supporters allowed to shout at the ref and not be punished? Given team officials will be punished for shouting
They have to shout in Irish and will be evicted if they make grammatical mistakes.
Quote from: Taylor on October 18, 2024, 09:38:16 AMAre subs & supporters allowed to shout at the ref and not be punished? Given team officials will be punished for shouting
What if the manager has Tourette's?
Can anybody paying in get their money back. The 2 point scoring line not far enough out.
Connacht 1-18 Leinster 0-4 at half time.
Whatever about the success of these rules trials, I hope this means the Railway cup is back in the calendar
No reason why it can't be. Only county finalists arent available at this stage of the season. But HQ only seen to want to make an effort when it suits them, so this will probably be a one off
Too many rule changes here, didn't hear any mention of 4 quarters of 15 minutes and a buzzer? Just like Aussie Rules.
Tackle still a big issue that's not changed.
Think having this in an empty Croke Park with not atmosphere isn't helping. It's a bit boring so far.
Another issue so far is the likes of this game was over as a contest after 5 minutes, could lead to too much of a scoring gap especially with teams good at 2 pointers.
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 18, 2024, 06:41:34 PMWhatever about the success of these rules trials, I hope this means the Railway cup is back in the calendar
No reason why it can't be. Only county finalists arent available at this stage of the season. But HQ only seen to want to make an effort when it suits them, so this will probably be a one off
I'd agreed if it was marketed properly and well in advance. I don't think this was and the crowd is fairly small even with cheap tickets.
Quote from: full moon on October 18, 2024, 06:43:10 PMToo many rule changes here, didn't hear any mention of 4 quarters of 15 minutes and a buzzer? Just like Aussie Rules.
Tackle still a big issue that's not changed.
Think having this in an empty Croke Park with not atmosphere isn't helping. It's a bit boring so far.
Another issue so far is the likes of this game was over as a contest after 5 minutes, could lead to too much of a scoring gap especially with teams good at 2 pointers.
Buzzer I heard of but didn't know about 4 Quartesr.
One sided match with little or no intensity. Forwards midfielders especially for Connacht probably enjoying this exhibition stuff less so defenders and Leinster players.
Very "tournamenty".
You'd nearly see more hammerings I think.
Easier for a good team to pull away.
Quote from: RedHand88 on October 18, 2024, 06:49:37 PMYou'd nearly see more hammerings I think.
Easier for a good team to pull away.
Yeah can't wait to see Dublin in the Leinster championship
Is the evidence of that first half suggest that decent teams will just hand out bigger hammerings to weaker teams as the weaker team can't try and pull as many players back to stop the onslaught?
Out of all the rule changes, I think the 2 points need to go. Nearly over rides the goal being worth 4.
Other teams in Leinster need to up their game instead of attitude of damaged limitation. They've been getting hammered anyway.
Albeit an exhibition game but I'm already liking these rule changes.
Quote from: Ghost on October 18, 2024, 06:58:04 PMOut of all the rule changes, I think the 2 points need to go. Nearly over rides the goal being worth 4.
Yea it's easier for county players than I thought it would be.
Maybe Connacht just have the shooting boots on tonight.
Quote from: RedHand88 on October 18, 2024, 06:59:56 PMQuote from: Ghost on October 18, 2024, 06:58:04 PMOut of all the rule changes, I think the 2 points need to go. Nearly over rides the goal being worth 4.
Yea it's easier for county players than I thought it would be.
Maybe Connacht just have the shooting boots on tonight.
When I saw the photo of the lines out pitch a few days ago I thought that the 40m arc looked too close. It should be more of a challenge for a county player. Maybe a 45 or 50m arc if they keep it.
I think the 4 quarters is for these games only as there are less breaks in play so not permanent.
What is the interviewer on about "there is more opposition to the rules in Ulster"? Did he just make that up? 🤷
Quote from: Ghost on October 18, 2024, 06:58:04 PMOut of all the rule changes, I think the 2 points need to go. Nearly over rides the goal being worth 4.
I presume the thinking behind is that the defence won't be as likely to sit deep, to defend the point. But will need to come out and defend the threat of the 2 point score.
Quote from: Truthsayer on October 18, 2024, 07:11:51 PMWhat is the interviewer on about "there is more opposition to the rules in Ulster"? Did he just make that up? 🤷
If the Dubs or Kerry had dominated the past few years there would be no rule changes.
Give me a 9-8 Ulster preliminary round over this any day.
Lucky it's not the summertime, I be out painting the fence, that's as bad a watch as Newbridge v Magherafelt last week but for opposite reasons.
I think it improves the game.
Quote from: seafoid on October 18, 2024, 07:16:58 PMI think it improves the game.
What specifically is the improvement
Gaelic football got to big a love in with Aussie Rules. And takes many rules over the years from it.
Quote from: Mario on October 18, 2024, 07:13:13 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on October 18, 2024, 07:11:51 PMWhat is the interviewer on about "there is more opposition to the rules in Ulster"? Did he just make that up? 🤷
If the Dubs or Kerry had dominated the past few years there would be no rule changes.
Give me a 9-8 Ulster preliminary round over this any day.
It's a challenge match in October- hardly comparable
A very good team wil give some average teams an awful trimming next year.
Dublin haven't had a bateing like this since Tyrone 08.
Would it not be better to go man to man
That was awful stuff.
Very one sided game Connacht 4-21 Leinster 1-11. Will the 2nd game be any more competitive? looking at the strength of the Ulster panel compared to Munster very doubful!
Think the wife has put on Mama Mia on the other room..
Be a hard choice I know but I'm thinking I'll give the Ulster game a miss
I'm certain Leinster have not kept 3 forwards inside the 45 on several occasions which is meant to be a free at the opposite goal
Ref hasn't called it? Seems difficult to enforce that rule from the ref
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 18, 2024, 07:19:58 PMA very good team wil give some average teams an awful trimming next year.
Correct!
That inter Murtagh pass!!
An October challenge game was never going to be an intense classic but these rules are well worth trying out. Anyone who thinks the game hasn't been in a dire state is either in huge denial or totally deluded...
Is early days
That was like watching Dublin at their peak in those turkey shootouts in Leinster championship games against Div 3/4 opposition. Give me a low scoring competitive match any day of the week before that.
Connaire Mackin was absolutely correct and the ever more demanding fitness that will be required for this. Somewhat incompatible with an association trying to fight burnout.
Only saw the last 15 mins but looked like a pile of pish. Will give it the full weekend before settling on a final opinion
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 18, 2024, 07:28:44 PMThink the wife has put on Mama Mia on the other room..
Serious question, do you think it would put a lot of referees off doing it? We just see how hard it is at IC level with a full team of officials dunno how it could be at club
Quote from: gallsman on October 18, 2024, 07:34:36 PMConnaire Mackin was absolutely correct and the ever more demanding fitness that will be required for this. Somewhat incompatible with an association trying to fight burnout.
Only saw the last 15 mins but looked like a pile of pish. Will give it the full weekend before settling on a final opinion
Did you watch Cargin - St Brigids...? 'championship' 🫣
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 18, 2024, 06:36:49 PMCan anybody paying in get their money back. The 2 point scoring line not far enough out.
It'll be far enough at club level playing into a gale lol
Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 18, 2024, 07:33:42 PMThat was like watching Dublin at their peak in those turkey shootouts in Leinster championship games against Div 3/4 opposition. Give me a low scoring competitive match any day of the week before that.
Well now look at the population of Leinster surely they can pull together 15 decent players ;)
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on October 18, 2024, 07:35:31 PMQuote from: Milltown Row2 on October 18, 2024, 07:28:44 PMThink the wife has put on Mama Mia on the other room..
Serious question, do you think it would put a lot of referees off doing it? We just see how hard it is at IC level with a full team of officials dunno how it could be at club
If all of those rules were brought in it would be a farce on a wet Tuesday night in Rasharkin !
Some will definitely embrace it, but other refs will step away, when the extra cries come from the sidelines and behind the fence from people who still struggle with the standard rules it would most certainly make lads step away
High scoring doesn't always equate to high entertainment as that pile of dung illustrated. I'd imagine only one of the 2pt outside score / 4pt goal will make the final cut.
Too early to tell, but game does seem more open; massed defence no longer an option, less of the endless recycling round the 45
Quote from: full moon on October 18, 2024, 07:28:53 PMI'm certain Leinster have not kept 3 forwards inside the 45 on several occasions which is meant to be a free at the opposite goal
Ref hasn't called it? Seems difficult to enforce that rule from the ref
It's impossible , unless you have another official permanently stood on the 50 yard line. Even then, it would be hard to see
You could also see a scenario where 3 players are having to stay within the 50 , and the opposition playing 'keep ball' 55 yards out, just out of arms reach .
Quote from: befair on October 18, 2024, 07:40:44 PMToo early to tell, but game does seem more open; massed defence no longer an option, less of the endless recycling round the 45
At last a positive comment! ✨️🙌
If a defender 'nudges' a player over the 45 and he collects the ball is that a free?
We live in the era of quick judgements.
Maybe I'm reading too much out of one match that was total mis-match but I think those new rules if introduced into the 2025 season will produce bigger thumpings to weaker teams. I'm all for adjustments to make games more enjoyable to watch but you need matches to be competitive decided on fine margins more often than not for that to be the case.
Quote from: ONeill on October 18, 2024, 07:50:15 PMWe live in the era of quick judgements.
We do...
"There is a principle which is a bar against all information, which is proof against all arguments and which can not fail to keep a man in everlasting ignorance-that principle is contempt prior to investigation."
--Herbert Spencer
I thought there'd be a 3-figure scoreboard. 4-2-1.
Quote from: Truthsayer on October 18, 2024, 07:32:40 PMAn October challenge game was never going to be an intense classic but these rules are well worth trying out. Anyone who thinks the game hasn't been in a dire state is either in huge denial or totally deluded...
Is early days
Its tactics and management which is the problem not the actual game or rules. Gaa far better to invest in training coaches and refs at all levels than changing rules dramatically.
Keep the tap and go free and quick kick out and do away with the rest
Unless you shoot coaches, tactics won't veer towards a more open competitive game unless the rules dictate it.
Quote from: ONeill on October 18, 2024, 07:53:46 PMI thought there'd be a 3-figure scoreboard. 4-2-1.
Thats what I thought too
Quote from: Cunny Funt on October 18, 2024, 07:51:34 PMMaybe I'm reading too much out of one match that was total mis-match but I think those new rules if introduced into the 2025 season will produce bigger thumpings to weaker teams. I'm all for adjustments to make games more enjoyable to watch but you need matches to be competitive decided on fine margins more often than not for that to be the case.
New rules wont be in until 2026 if passed
No Hawkeye tonight?
Quote from: tyrone08 on October 18, 2024, 08:06:12 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on October 18, 2024, 07:32:40 PMAn October challenge game was never going to be an intense classic but these rules are well worth trying out. Anyone who thinks the game hasn't been in a dire state is either in huge denial or totally deluded...
Is early days
Its tactics and management which is the problem not the actual game or rules. Gaa far better to invest in training coaches and refs at all levels than changing rules dramatically.
Keep the tap and go free and quick kick out and do away with the rest
This +1 if these games were played with the current rules the flow would be the exact same. It's exhibition stuff with the players just playing football and not worrying about a system. This will not happen in proper games.
Quote from: Nanderson on October 18, 2024, 08:09:38 PMQuote from: Cunny Funt on October 18, 2024, 07:51:34 PMMaybe I'm reading too much out of one match that was total mis-match but I think those new rules if introduced into the 2025 season will produce bigger thumpings to weaker teams. I'm all for adjustments to make games more enjoyable to watch but you need matches to be competitive decided on fine margins more often than not for that to be the case.
New rules wont be in until 2026 if passed
Will be in for 2025 I believe if voted in at congress in a few weeks.
At least 5 or 6 occasions so far where the 3v3 inside the 50 isn't happening
The whistle is so loud with the microphone! It's all very Aussie rules
GAA should have offered the winning province an all expenses trip or some other perk and it might have injected a bit of bite into it. If tomorrow nights as poor as tonight be interest how Marty and Ger spin the GAA line that these are the saviour of the association.
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 18, 2024, 08:14:03 PMAt least 5 or 6 occasions so far where the 3v3 inside the 50 isn't happening
structure
Football Review Committee chairman Jim Gavin explains the rationale behind the new 3v3 structure, which will see teams keeping at least three players in the opposition half at all times
They only need to be in the attacking half. Had to go look that up.
When were 15 minute quarters with a countdown clock and a hooter mentioned.
Aidan O'Shea after the first game and Ryan McHugh at the end of the 1st quarter of the 2nd game reckon we don't need 4 points for a goal and two pointers.
Mchugh saying bout how much more kicking there is. He's missing the point in that they are being encouraged to kick the ball, the managers are the people who tell players not to kick the ball in as too much chance of not keeping possession, if you put these rules on the Tyrone final on Sunday there wouldn't be the same amount of kicking
The whistle is painful.
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 18, 2024, 08:14:03 PMAt least 5 or 6 occasions so far where the 3v3 inside the 50 isn't happening
Apparently it's just inside the 65 so just the opposition half. I'd swear in the build it was said inside the opposition 45/50
Quote from: trileacman on October 18, 2024, 08:20:13 PMThe whistle is painful.
Agree really annoying,I think it's like that in rugby league is it and whistle going every 5 seconds
It's because the refs micced up. No way that should stay in.
Think McHugh was right about the scoring system it's not good and many games may be over after 5 - 10 minutes
You'd forgot just how much traditional football was about aimlessly kicking the ball away.
That 45 thing was changed to half way line a week ago.
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on October 18, 2024, 08:20:07 PMMchugh saying bout how much more kicking there is. He's missing the point in that they are being encouraged to kick the ball, the managers are the people who tell players not to kick the ball in as too much chance of not keeping possession, if you put these rules on the Tyrone final on Sunday there wouldn't be the same amount of kicking
Notable that McHugh does not speak Irish when on TG4.
The scoring system would be the same for both sides in a game, unequal teams will have an unequal game.
Munster attacking and its brought up for a tap over free to Ulster :-X
Quote from: Brendan on October 18, 2024, 08:26:16 PMMunster attacking and its brought up for a tap over free to Ulster :-X
Yeah and the replay they showed they def had 3 in their own half. This will be a disaster at club level
The rules are easily looked up lads. As Gavin explains it:
Quote"What we've been asked in our change of reference again is to consider that balance between traditional play and modern innovations.
"This speaks to traditional structures on the pitch. We're not going to full six up. What we're proposing is that there'll be three players in each half of the field, which means when the team is attacking, they'll have to leave three players behind in their defensive half of the field, which would be 11 attackers.
Comes out to meet the ball, and a free shot going the other way, hmm
Quote from: trileacman on October 18, 2024, 08:24:17 PMYou'd forgot just how much traditional football was about aimlessly kicking the ball away.
Turn on any All Ireland gold before the mid to late 90s and so much of it is lads hoofing the ball as far and add straight as they could, hoping their man fared better than his marker.
Quote from: gallsman on October 18, 2024, 08:30:12 PMQuote from: trileacman on October 18, 2024, 08:24:17 PMYou'd forgot just how much traditional football was about aimlessly kicking the ball away.
Turn on any All Ireland gold before the mid to late 90s and so much of it is lads hoofing the ball as far and add straight as they could, hoping their man fared better than his marker.
It's funny, I always thought the All Ireland final of 2008 was the greatest All Ireland final ever and watched it during lock down. Thought it was awful on rewatch. Kerry kicking aimless ball in going wide for a kick out.
Always liked the 1982 final myself, even though there's plenty of mistakes.
Is a free scored outside the 40m line 2pts?
Quote from: mrdeeds on October 18, 2024, 08:33:51 PMQuote from: gallsman on October 18, 2024, 08:30:12 PMQuote from: trileacman on October 18, 2024, 08:24:17 PMYou'd forgot just how much traditional football was about aimlessly kicking the ball away.
It's funny, I always thought the All Ireland final of 2008 was the greatest All Ireland final ever and watched it during lock down. Thought it was awful on rewatch. Kerry kicking aimless ball in going wide for a kick out.
Derry down was like that for me.
Quote from: gallsman on October 18, 2024, 08:42:57 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on October 18, 2024, 08:38:24 PMIs a free scored outside the 40m line 2pts?
Yes, and 45s.
I'd do away with the smaller semi circle now.
And 3v3 inside their own 65 for all the difference it makes
Yeah the D is pretty meaningless now.
TG4 pushing narrative that online feedback is largely positive. Risk of echo chambers etc on Twitter but I'm not sure that necessarily true from what I've seen.
They're glorified friendlies so was always going to lack intensity no matter the rules
Yup, making decisions off the back of this on the basis "that worked really well" would be madness.
Not sure where in the new rules says players can now take 10 steps. Over carrying even more egregious than normal.
Whistle needs to f**k off. Awful on TV. Turn it down, lads.
1-09 being 13 points is really annoying ;D
I understand scoring a 2pt from play a plus, but it's hardly a skill for a goalkeeper who can hit a ball 70m scoring 45's as better that a lad who kicks it from play.
Whistle got on my nerves already horrible. I think the ref miked in, we only need hear his decisions on calls which are contested.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 18, 2024, 09:01:53 PMWhistle got on my nerves already horrible. I think the ref miked in, we only need hear his decisions on called which are contested.
Very very annoying hearing the whistle go every few minutes
Is it just me or is the ref in the second game blowing more than the first. It's a complete pain
An interesting proposed rule change !
If a team official displays misconduct towards any Match Officials, the referee will award a free kick on the offending team's 13m line at the centre of the scoring space or, at the option of the free taker, a free kick from the apex of the 40m arc.
Where that option is availed of, two points shall be awarded for a score from such a free kick where the ball crosses the crossbar between the posts.
Wasn't expecting it but with a Quarter to play this match is more competitive than the last one. Munster 1-9 (13) Ulster 0-17
Some kick there, that's what a 2pters should be all about!
Moving a free forward is bollix too. This Dublin ref has moved two frees forward for f**k all reason.
All they need is the clock and three men always in the opposition half. Definitely don't need an extra point for a goal or a 45.
Mouthing no doubt.
Who's the ref?
What was Munster 8 penalised for there?
Result Munster 2-11 (19) Ulster 0-23.
Is playing U2 appropriate after an Ulster win?
It's probably too many rule changes in one go but they will keep some of them.
Good to see Jim Gavin doing his bit, he could have easily retired to a big house in Howth.
Quote from: trileacman on October 18, 2024, 09:28:43 PMWhat was Munster 8 penalised for there?
Held onto the ball for too long
Refs are going to have an impossible job here. Lad gets penalised for over carrying because he can't go anywhere with four lads around him. Because he's not on his feet and away from the ball inside half a second, with all four lads still grabbing at him, he gets done again for delaying the game with the ball moved all the way up.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 18, 2024, 09:01:53 PMWhistle got on my nerves already horrible. I think the ref miked in, we only need hear his decisions on called which are contested.
Very very annoying hearing the whistle go every few minutes
Would agree with Grimley and O'Neill there that there very minimal contact or tackling in that.
Seems like a bit of a nightmare for defenders and probably referees.
Quote from: full moon on October 18, 2024, 10:00:39 PMWould agree with Grimley and O'Neill there that there very minimal contact or tackling in that.
Seems like a bit of a nightmare for defenders and probably referees.
Hard to know if that was the rules or the fact it's not a competitive game.
Should have had one game under the new rules and one game played under the current rules. It would have had been a fairer comparison.
Didn't get watching the games.. Shite the overall feeling?
So 3 goals and 4 points can beat 19 points? As in traditional points.
I mean 4 2-pointers.
Quote from: ONeill on October 18, 2024, 10:40:55 PMSo 3 goals and 4 points can beat 19 points? As in traditional points.
I mean 4 2-pointers.
I was expecting the score above to be listed as 3-0-4 to 0-0-19
Quote from: Mourne Red on October 18, 2024, 10:35:20 PMDidn't get watching the games.. Shite the overall feeling?
No :D
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 18, 2024, 10:46:02 PMQuote from: ONeill on October 18, 2024, 10:40:55 PMSo 3 goals and 4 points can beat 19 points? As in traditional points.
I mean 4 2-pointers.
3-4-0
0-0-19
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 18, 2024, 10:46:02 PMQuote from: ONeill on October 18, 2024, 10:40:55 PMSo 3 goals and 4 points can beat 19 points? As in traditional points.
I mean 4 2-pointers.
They tried 2 points for a sideline cut in hurling a while back and just added it on to the points tally so no great surprise.
Frank McGuigan's 0-0-11 won't look as good if some lad from Fermanagh scores 0-6-0
Quote from: ONeill on October 18, 2024, 10:54:08 PMFrank McGuigan's 0-0-11 won't look as good if some lad from Fermanagh scores 0-6-0
I'm pretty sure that a fair few of Frank's 0-0-11 would be 0-4-7 in the modern rules.
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 18, 2024, 11:03:35 PMQuote from: ONeill on October 18, 2024, 10:54:08 PMFrank McGuigan's 0-0-11 won't look as good if some lad from Fermanagh scores 0-6-0
I'm pretty sure that a fair few of Frank's 0-0-11 would be 0-4-7 in the modern rules.
Having just watched the video, few would have been, they were around the 21m line. But of course Frank might have have stayed a little further out if the shot was worth two. My other thought is that Armagh should have put two men in round him.
Quote from: armaghniac on October 18, 2024, 11:07:38 PMQuote from: From the Bunker on October 18, 2024, 11:03:35 PMQuote from: ONeill on October 18, 2024, 10:54:08 PMFrank McGuigan's 0-0-11 won't look as good if some lad from Fermanagh scores 0-6-0
Having just watched the video, few would have been, they were around the 21m line. But of course Frank might have have stayed a little further out if the shot was worth two. My other thought is that Armagh should have put two men in round him.
I think 5 would have been called for a mark depriving us of seeing him take the backs on. The McGuigan dummy
Quote from: ONeill on October 18, 2024, 08:08:10 PMUnless you shoot coaches, tactics won't veer towards a more open competitive game unless the rules dictate it.
Hmmmm that would be a better option than some of the rule changes.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 18, 2024, 06:36:49 PMCan anybody paying in get their money back. The 2 point scoring line not far enough out.
I don't understand why it doesn't follow through until the end line. Should reward shots from very acute angles.
One of the selling points of the kickout rule was that attaching teams didn't have to move out past the 20 so could leave a man inside, win a contested kickout and stick it straight back in.
Last night I saw umpteen kickouts where the keeper had a simple kick to an unmarked corner back marginally further out the field than he'd normally be
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on October 18, 2024, 07:18:12 PMQuote from: seafoid on October 18, 2024, 07:16:58 PMI think it improves the game.
Reduces lateral passing. 2 points for a score outside the arc 50 yards for dissent.
Monaghan v Tyrone will be unrecognisable in 2025
Looks like a very poor crowd for this first game today. It's on RTE news channel.
GAA could have surely done more to get people in the doors. Free attendance surely could have been done and a bit of advertising.
I dunno if I can listen to that f**king whistle again actually it's horrible
Really emphasises how much frees and breaks in play there is. Not much different to NFL or rugby league
Quote from: seafoid on October 19, 2024, 04:24:37 PMQuote from: Saffron_sam20 on October 18, 2024, 07:18:12 PMQuote from: seafoid on October 18, 2024, 07:16:58 PMI think it improves the game.
Reduces lateral passing. 2 points for a score outside the arc 50 yards for dissent.
It won't reduce lateral passing at all. It is in these games cause it's exhibition.
The dissent thing is also grim. Far too much, Munster player ran into Leinster player pretending to hit. Free to get the ball moved forward so keeper could get a free and try get 2pts.
Half time in the Shield final Leinster 1-12 (16) Munster 0-6.
Player on the ground punished for not getting off the ball, not sure what more he could have done.
Advantage from the forward mark which rewarded a terrible miss and a catch at chest height. Skills we all want to see.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 18, 2024, 07:19:58 PMA very good team wil give some average teams an awful trimming next year.
The Tailteann was set up to address this problem.
Quote from: full moon on October 19, 2024, 05:29:50 PMLooks like a very poor crowd for this first game today. It's on RTE news channel.
GAA could have surely done more to get people in the doors. Free attendance surely could have been done and a bit of advertising.
Exactly. They'll make nothing from it anyway. Have it free and send tickets to schools, refugee centres, hotels etc. Complete lack of imagination.
Quote from: seafoid on October 19, 2024, 06:44:13 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on October 18, 2024, 07:19:58 PMA very good team wil give some average teams an awful trimming next year.
The Tailteann was set up to address this problem.
It didn't really work if that's the case. And will likely get worse
Quote from: armaghniac on October 19, 2024, 06:46:02 PMQuote from: full moon on October 19, 2024, 05:29:50 PMLooks like a very poor crowd for this first game today. It's on RTE news channel.
Exactly. They'll make nothing from it anyway. Have it free and send tickets to schools, refugee centres, hotels etc. Complete lack of imagination.
Yeah the lack of marketing or promotion is just sad at this stage.
Rugby literally sold out Croker the other week for a URC league match and we can't even get 10k in the doors at this. Doesn't even seem to be 5k even.
Result Leinster 1-19 (23) Munster 1-15 (19)
Quote from: full moon on October 19, 2024, 06:56:11 PMQuote from: armaghniac on October 19, 2024, 06:46:02 PMQuote from: full moon on October 19, 2024, 05:29:50 PMLooks like a very poor crowd for this first game today. It's on RTE news channel.
Yeah the lack of marketing or promotion is just sad at this stage.
Rugby literally sold out Croker the other week for a URC league match and we can't even get 10k in the doors at this. Doesn't even seem to be 5k even.
The GAA don't promote their Championship, they ain't gonna promote 4 friendly games. It should be free in fornnothing more than demo games.
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on October 19, 2024, 05:39:24 PMQuote from: seafoid on October 19, 2024, 04:24:37 PMQuote from: Saffron_sam20 on October 18, 2024, 07:18:12 PMQuote from: seafoid on October 18, 2024, 07:16:58 PMI think it improves the game.
It won't reduce lateral passing at all. It is in these games cause it's exhibition.
The dissent thing is also grim. Far too much, Munster player ran into Leinster player pretending to hit. Free to get the ball moved forward so keeper could get a free and try get 2pts.
inside forwards are liberated. The game will be less static. The League will be interesting.
Half time in the final. Connacht 2-6 (14) Ulster 0-11
Fitzmaurice waffling away here. Talking about exciting 1v1 opportunities inside. It might be 1v1, but it's not 50/50.
Why do these people hate defenders and tackling so much?!
Connacht player puts a poor ball inside, defender gets a hand on it easy enough but can't hold it and it goes out for a 45. Reward for a shite pass is 2 points. Nonsense. Surely if the scoring system gets past, it'll be from play only. You'll have lads on the endline actively trying to engineer a 45.
Quote from: gallsman on October 19, 2024, 08:12:57 PMFitzmaurice waffling away here. Talking about exciting 1v1 opportunities inside. It might be 1v1, but it's not 50/50.
Why do these people hate defenders and tackling so much?!
Him and others involved in bringing these new rules are trying to hard to convince us all that these new rules are great.
Quote from: gallsman on October 19, 2024, 08:15:16 PMConnacht player puts a poor ball inside, defender gets a hand on it easy enough but can't hold it and it goes out for a 45. Reward for a shite pass is 2 points. Nonsense. Surely if the scoring system gets past, it'll be from play only. You'll have lads on the endline actively trying to engineer a 45.
Yeah hopefully stuff like that will be ironed out if these rules are to be kept.
He's been talking about players going for 2 pointers and it dropping short causing chaos inside, and it being a good thing. Then someone went for a shot a solid 5 or 6 points inside the arc and he was saying the same thing. It's just shite execution, Eammon.
Quote from: gallsman on October 19, 2024, 08:15:16 PMConnacht player puts a poor ball inside, defender gets a hand on it easy enough but can't hold it and it goes out for a 45. Reward for a shite pass is 2 points. Nonsense. Surely if the scoring system gets past, it'll be from play only. You'll have lads on the endline actively trying to engineer a 45.
Agree, Rian intercepted a pass and it went out for a 45, and Connacht get 2 points when they had only modest prospects of one point.
These games do not have 3 minutes or more of the ball going across the field. But these are good players, it is good to see all of Ulster playing, these players will be cutting strips off each other in 3 months in the league.
Why is it brought back for a free after a catch within the 21 meter line when the player played on and took a shot at goal. Surely getting a shot at goal is an advantage in itself
Awful stuff
Quote from: gallsman on October 19, 2024, 08:18:45 PMHe's been talking about players going for 2 pointers and it dropping short causing chaos inside, and it being a good thing. Then someone went for a shot a solid 5 or 6 points inside the arc and he was saying the same thing. It's just shite execution, Eammon.
Doesn't cause much chaos when ref gives a free out everytime
Connaught 4 points up to 4 points down in the blink of an eye with a goal and a 2 pointer along with a couple of points
End of the 3rd Quarter. Connacht 3-9 (21) Ulster 1-21 (25)
The idea only the captain can question or speak to the referee, which is just copying from rugby, is mad. Captains may be the other end of the field and the punishment is harsh.
Wait till a ref. moves a free 50meters in a game where it matters
The two matches in two days appears to be taking it's toll on Connacht more than Ulster.
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on October 19, 2024, 08:40:18 PMWait till a ref. moves a free 50meters in a game where it matters
I wouldn't like to be a ref with this new stuff, his whistle alone will piss off people
New rules whatever. If a ref can't see a blatant push in the back?
Nearly looks like a mayo open attacking league game. Different Ball game were Donegal and Armagh shape up against each other with Defensive system.
Bringing the ball up 50m for a minor infringement is ridiculous
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 19, 2024, 08:57:32 PMNearly looks like a mayo open attacking league game. Different Ball game were Donegal and Armagh shape up against each other with Defensive system.
Absolutely
Connacht 4-15 (31) Ulster 2-23 (31) it finished. Would prefer a period of extra time than penalties.
1. The new rules didn't make it any worse
2. The score would have been similar under the old rules as the Railway Cup was regularly open like that
3. The 2pts for a 45 is total balls
4. Certainly was some helter-skelter at the end there
5. If this passes at Congress they have to bring back the pre-season competitions
Worst and best penalty shootout ever.
Think Armagh were taking all these penalties here lol
Well we know one thing - Intercounty gaelic footballers are sh1te at taking penalties.....
Took a good Down man to get Ulster into the lead at the death and the only one to know how to score a penalty
So that's a clean sweep for Ulster teams of every national competition.
Quote from: armaghniac on October 19, 2024, 09:11:51 PMSo that's a clean sweep for Ulster teams of every national competition.
*In Football
New or old rules it's another competition won by a Ulster team in 2024.
Quote from: Nanderson on October 19, 2024, 09:10:53 PMTook a good Down man to get Ulster into the lead at the death and the only one to know how to score a penalty
As Down played mickey mouse cup this year....your players are used to playing in games nobody gives a f**k about
I didn't read anything in the proposed rules that says Aidan O'Shea is allowed push lads in the back as long as there's a goal scoring opportunity out of it. Fitzmaurice acknowledged the foul but thought it was great.
Quote from: tyrone08 on October 19, 2024, 08:32:23 PMWhy is it brought back for a free after a catch within the 21 meter line when the player played on and took a shot at goal. Surely getting a shot at goal is an advantage in itself
To incentivise long balls being pumped inside and encourage fielding.
Quote from: jcpen on October 19, 2024, 09:13:17 PMQuote from: armaghniac on October 19, 2024, 09:11:51 PMSo that's a clean sweep for Ulster teams of every national competition.
*In Football
And just for the record, include Over 40 Masters in that roll of honour, Group A of top 4 teams won by Tyrone, B group won by Derry and Group C, by Donegal.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on October 19, 2024, 08:41:59 PMThe two matches in two days appears to be taking it's toll on Connacht more than Ulster.
I thought the GAA was against 'player burn out'?
I think they don't care about player welfare.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 19, 2024, 08:59:04 PMBringing the ball up 50m for a minor infringement is ridiculous
I like it.
Might sort out the silly stuff.
Hopefully it will.
Forker probably correct there that the 4 points for a goal will result in more defensive stuff
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 19, 2024, 08:57:32 PMNearly looks like a mayo open attacking league game. Different Ball game were Donegal and Armagh shape up against each other with Defensive system.
If its anything like the Ulster final there'll be a lot of 2 pointers anyway.
Quote from: marty34 on October 19, 2024, 09:30:35 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on October 19, 2024, 08:59:04 PMBringing the ball up 50m for a minor infringement is ridiculous
I like it.
Hopefully it will.
There has to be an element of common sense applied though. There are times when a player genuinely will have no idea what they've done wrong, if they've done anything wrong at all. Expecting players in those circumstances to not even be allowed exclaim "huh?!" without the ball being moved up the pitch is crazy.
Quote from: gallsman on October 19, 2024, 09:23:06 PMI didn't read anything in the proposed rules that says Aidan O'Shea is allowed push lads in the back as long as there's a goal scoring opportunity out of it. Fitzmaurice acknowledged the foul but thought it was great.
Fitzmaurice basically tried to comment positively on everything even if it wasn't - he must think the public watching are fools. That incident about O'Shea a perfect example. Kept trying to sell every aspect of the rules - Armagh v Donegal will soon sort any new rules out as to whether they are good or not
The reality is that 97% of the games played are at club level and the club level cannot cope with these changes
I think Aidan O'Shea should be banned for 3 months for the push. Disgraceful act.
Can't understand how he gets picked for teams.
He cant catch a ball, he cant kick a ball, has zero skill and his attitude stinks ..... He just barges through players. Bet he was the first one signing autographs and doing selfies after the match.
People like O'Shea give Gaelic football a bad image.
Would you ever just f**k up.
The target of the criticism was Fitzmaurice, not O'Shea.
Quote from: gallsman on October 19, 2024, 09:36:01 PMQuote from: marty34 on October 19, 2024, 09:30:35 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on October 19, 2024, 08:59:04 PMBringing the ball up 50m for a minor infringement is ridiculous
I like it.
Hopefully it will.
There has to be an element of common sense applied though. There are times when a player genuinely will have no idea what they've done wrong, if they've done anything wrong at all. Expecting players in those circumstances to not even be allowed exclaim "huh?!" without the ball being moved up the pitch is crazy.
Waffle. Trying to run across/block a quick quick is silly. Learn the new rules - it's simple.
The players were away for a week-end camp. I'm 100% sure they went through the rules on Friday. I'm 100% that they reviewed the game from last night today. So this...oh, I didn't know the rules doesn't wash.
A player, at inter-county, never mind provincial knows what he's at.
It's his job to get out of the way.
A few of them tonight and players will soon learn.
Speeds up the game.
Quote from: marty34 on October 19, 2024, 09:57:44 PMQuote from: gallsman on October 19, 2024, 09:36:01 PMQuote from: marty34 on October 19, 2024, 09:30:35 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on October 19, 2024, 08:59:04 PMBringing the ball up 50m for a minor infringement is ridiculous
I like it.
Hopefully it will.
Waffle. Trying to run across/block a quick quick is silly. Learn the new rules - it's simple.
The players were away for a week-end camp. I'm 100% sure they went through the rules on Friday. I'm 109% that they reviewed the game from last night today. So this...oh, I didn't know the rules doesn't wash.
A player, at inter-county, never mind provincial knows what he's at.
It's his job to get out of the way.
A few of them tonight and players will soon learn.
Speeds up the game.
How is it waffle?! Not all reactions from a player conceding a free are a deliberate or cynical ploy to delay the game. Hence why I raised the topic of common sense. Running across or blocking a quick kick is clearly, to all, a calculated attempt to slow down the game and mitigate the impact of the free, and should be punished accordingly. I don't think too many disagree with that?
A player expressing genuine shock at having conceded a free, especially if the ref has got it wrong, is obviously, to anyone with a brain, not as clear cut. For that expression of suprise, or to ask what happened is not the same a someone mouthing away at a ref.
This handing the ball to an opponent......
What if the opponent deliberately drops the ball? Is it moved up because the opponent didn't put it into his hands? Why not just drop the ball where the foul is blown?
What's this about the attacking mark , and getting a 2nd chance?........
Connacht player caught it, played on, shot, Morgan saved. Then he was allowed to take the mark again? WTF?
Agree with Rian/Forker on the 4 point goals........
I recorded the match and watched it back. I actually had to pause it to add up the scores .
The lads on RTE made a good point re: the 3v3. It actually pays to have the keeper up in opponents half , as it creates an extra man (with more space ). So if the Rules men had ideas about hoping this would force keepers to stay in goal , it looks like it will have the opposite affect. Roaming keepers will become even more important
Was there no Cup presentation?
Or did the GAA have it melted down a few years back ?
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 12:50:47 AMWhat's this about the attacking mark , and getting a 2nd chance?........
Connacht player caught it, played on, shot, Morgan saved. Then he was allowed to take the mark again? WTF?
That is the proposed new rule.
That can get in the bin.
Quote from: gallsman on October 20, 2024, 06:18:12 AMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 12:50:47 AMWhat's this about the attacking mark , and getting a 2nd chance?........
That is the proposed new rule.
I could understand bringing it back for the mark if he was fouled while getting his shot away . But this is just mad , Ted.
The best thing about these games is it shows there is a spot in the calendar for the Railway cup. There are loads of class players at this stage whose club seasons have finished and are available. All 4 provinces mightnt have their best sides but there are enough really good players to watch. Id be fairly sure all players involved have enjoyed the experience and would be keen to play again.
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 12:50:47 AMThis handing the ball to an opponent......
What if the opponent deliberately drops the ball? Is it moved up because the opponent didn't put it into his hands? Why not just drop the ball where the foul is blown?
I recorded the match and watched it back. I actually had to pause it to add up the scores .
The lads on RTE made a good point re: the 3v3. It actually pays to have the keeper up in opponents half , as it creates an extra man (with more space ). So if the Rules men had ideas about hoping this would force keepers to stay in goal , it looks like it will have the opposite affect. Roaming keepers will become even more important
If the roaming keeper starts becomes more important, then 2 things will happen.
Teams will pick an outfield player as the keeper knowing that he effectively is an extra outfield player when that team is in possession and inside the opposition 65 as it will be 12 v 11.
Then because he is not an orthodox keeper, teams will defend very deep with 11 men to insure he is not tested and prevent 4 point goals...
Quote from: lenny on October 20, 2024, 10:42:59 AMThe best thing about these games is it shows there is a spot in the calendar for the Railway cup. There are loads of class players at this stage whose club seasons have finished and are available. All 4 provinces mightnt have their best sides but there are enough really good players to watch. Id be fairly sure all players involved have enjoyed the experience and would be keen to play again.
The weekend showed there is no interest in a Railway cup competition. Attendance was really really poor. You'd have to put an event like this in a smaller more central venue and horse out a loads of free tickets and maybe a meet a greet with the players after. The weather is cold and wet. Railway Cups thrived in a era with less competitions, with less chances of seeing top players play.
Quote from: Mikhailov on October 20, 2024, 02:19:05 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 12:50:47 AMThis handing the ball to an opponent......
If the roaming keeper starts becomes more important, then 2 things will happen.
Teams will pick an outfield player as the keeper knowing that he effectively is an extra outfield player when that team is in possession and inside the opposition 65 as it will be 12 v 11.
Then because he is not an orthodox keeper, teams will defend very deep with 11 men to insure he is not tested and prevent 4 point goals...
Totally agree re the keeper. An outfielder who's a good long kicker (good free taker ideally) will be a must.
I think there is too much happening at once but I hope the 3 up sticks. It does allow shape and lads actually seemed to look ahead more.
One point is that forwards are not used to taking lads on and protecting the ball as much as older times. The safety net of having so many bodies behind them is reduced.
Keeper not allowed out. And keep the 3 up front rule. Keep 3 points for a goal and introduce the long range kick award of 2 points. Midfield thing is ridiculous.
Foam spray a no brainer. Don't know why the ridicule last night.
Jeepers I agree with you.....if they have to make changes to appease the high powered frc then go with those
I find it ironic (hopefully that's the correct use, must check with Alanis), that two of the Rules committee were responsible for two of the biggest stinkfests in GAA history.
Fitzmaurice stunk the place out with his negative bore v Donegal in 2014. Jim Gavin 's Dublin team played piggy in the middle with Tyrone for 70 minutes in the 2018 semi.
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 05:25:21 PMI find it ironic (hopefully that's the correct use, must check with Alanis), that two of the Rules committee were responsible for two of the biggest stinkfests in GAA history.
Fitzmaurice stunk the place out with his negative bore v Donegal in 2014. Jim Gavin 's Dublin team played piggy in the middle with Tyrone for 70 minutes in the 2018 semi.
Did Dublin not play Tyrone in 2018 final?
2017 Mickey Harte stunk the place out leaving Mark Bradley up on his own. Dublin hammered them
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 05:25:21 PMI find it ironic (hopefully that's the correct use, must check with Alanis), that two of the Rules committee were responsible for two of the biggest stinkfests in GAA history.
What Semi? We played Monaghan in the 2018 Semi?
Quote from: Truthsayer on October 20, 2024, 05:35:51 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 05:25:21 PMI find it ironic (hopefully that's the correct use, must check with Alanis), that two of the Rules committee were responsible for two of the biggest stinkfests in GAA history.
Did Dublin not play Tyrone in 2018 final?
2017 Mickey Harte stunk the place out leaving Mark Bradley up on his own. Dublin hammered them
Yep, Dublin beat us 2-17 to 1-14 in the Final.
At least two of you were paying attention . You passed my test ;)
Must have been the 2017 semi then
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 06:28:50 PMAt least two of you were paying attention . You passed my test ;)
:D :D Dublin beat Tyrone by about 12 points in 2017 semi-final with Harte playing Mark Bradley alone up front... that's hardly Jim Gavin stinking the place out. Go again..
Quote from: Truthsayer on October 20, 2024, 06:39:37 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 06:28:50 PMAt least two of you were paying attention . You passed my test ;)
:D :D Dublin beat Tyrone by about 12 points in 2017 semi-final with Harte playing Mark Bradley alone up front... that's hardly Jim Gavin stinking the place out. Go again..
Maybe he did , but I distinctly remember Dublin piggy-in-the-middle'd Tyrone to death that day. It was clinical piggy in the middle tactics , but my God , it bored the arse off me
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 06:56:11 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on October 20, 2024, 06:39:37 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 06:28:50 PMAt least two of you were paying attention . You passed my test ;)
Maybe he did , but I distinctly remember Dublin piggy-in-the-middle'd Tyrone to death that day. It was clinical piggy in the middle tactics , but my God , it bored the arse off me
2-17 to 0-11.. I'd say Dubs were bored too. Ran rings round us
Quote from: Truthsayer on October 20, 2024, 07:05:57 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 06:56:11 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on October 20, 2024, 06:39:37 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 06:28:50 PMAt least two of you were paying attention . You passed my test ;)
If I remember right that game was over after about 15 mins
Quote from: tonto1888 on October 20, 2024, 07:11:01 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on October 20, 2024, 07:05:57 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 06:56:11 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on October 20, 2024, 06:39:37 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 06:28:50 PMAt least two of you were paying attention . You passed my test ;)
If I remember right that game was over after about 15 mins
Bate out the gate. Poor Mark Bradley hung out to dry.. all alone up front while other 13 sat back 'defending'
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 06:56:11 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on October 20, 2024, 06:39:37 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 06:28:50 PMAt least two of you were paying attention . You passed my test ;)
If Jim Mc Guinness or Mickey Harte were on that revised rules panel you'd have a stronger point. At least Jim Gavin acknowledges the error of his ways ;)
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 12:50:47 AMThis handing the ball to an opponent......
The 2nd chance at a mark is the new rule - after meeting the criteria of the mark you then get a choice to play on for a shot at goal but defenders can tackle. If it doesn't go into the net or over the bar, it is taken back for the original mark. It is to give further incentive to the risk of playing a long high ball in towards the goals which has been deemed as happening too infrequently in the modern game.
It is not the intention of the FRC to force goalkeepers to stay in goal. It is the intention for the goalkeeper to not be used as a defensive outlet for easy "piggy in the middle". In their proposals they have deliberately made the rules so that he can join back into play after he crosses the half way line. This is to allow modern innovations to continue.
The goalkeeper or defenders are not allowed to take a defensive mark under the proposed rules. There's leaning towards the attacker and then there's taking the piss out of the defenders!
Quote from: Spiderlegs on October 21, 2024, 03:00:14 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 12:50:47 AMThis handing the ball to an opponent......
The 2nd chance at a mark is the new rule - after meeting the criteria of the mark you then get a choice to play on for a shot at goal but defenders can tackle. If it doesn't go into the net or over the bar, it is taken back for the original mark. It is to give further incentive to the risk of playing a long high ball in towards the goals which has been deemed as happening too infrequently in the modern game.
It is not the intention of the FRC to force goalkeepers to stay in goal. It is the intention for the goalkeeper to not be used as a defensive outlet for easy "piggy in the middle". In their proposals they have deliberately made the rules so that he can join back into play after he crosses the half way line. This is to allow modern innovations to continue.
It is to allow the modern innovation of piggy in the middle in the attacking half by bringing the keeper up to join the attack so that the attacking team has a man extra. If this stays the same we will see games next summer where teams will hold the ball in the attacking half for the final 5 minutes of a game to run the clock down as they have a plus one. It will be virtually impossible for the defending team to disposses them.
The only way to counteract that is for the keeper to move to corner backk, the corner back shifts out to half back and a hal back picks up the attacking keeper. But surely the FRC can't say this is the remedy to the loophole they are creating?
Quote from: Smokin Joe on October 21, 2024, 03:19:34 PMQuote from: Spiderlegs on October 21, 2024, 03:00:14 PMQuote from: AustinPowers on October 20, 2024, 12:50:47 AMThis handing the ball to an opponent......
It is to allow the modern innovation of piggy in the middle in the attacking half by bringing the keeper up to join the attack so that the attacking team has a man extra. If this stays the same we will see games next summer where teams will hold the ball in the attacking half for the final 5 minutes of a game to run the clock down as they have a plus one. It will be virtually impossible for the defending team to disposses them.
The only way to counteract that is for the keeper to move to corner backk, the corner back shifts out to half back and a hal back picks up the attacking keeper. But surely the FRC can't say this is the remedy to the loophole they are creating?
I'm not sure why the defending keeper couldn't press the attacking goalkeeper himself in such a scenario?
If anything it's the logical play, if for no other reason than it immediately reverses the poles in a turnover ie the keeper chasing the lead can now cross into the opposition half and become a fully active player, whereas his direct opponent's only options are too mark him directly or sprint back to goals.
Quote from: Smokin Joe on October 21, 2024, 03:19:34 PMIt is to allow the modern innovation of piggy in the middle in the attacking half by bringing the keeper up to join the attack so that the attacking team has a man extra. If this stays the same we will see games next summer where teams will hold the ball in the attacking half for the final 5 minutes of a game to run the clock down as they have a plus one. It will be virtually impossible for the defending team to disposses them.
By the new rules, the potential for piggy in the middle is restricted to one half of the pitch only. Currently, the entire pitch can be used to do it. So I don't agree it will be virtually impossible to dispossess, and teams absolutely should be allowed to be in control of a game by way of retaining possession. Some teams will opt for having a goalkeeper who stays in goal because to be turned over with a committed goalkeeper could be fatal with the 3v3.... or, they just won't have a goalkeeper capable of getting up and down.
I think the tactical and formational options available to players and coaches is a very good thing to come out of these rules.
I'm not sure why the defending keeper couldn't press the attacking goalkeeper himself in such a scenario?
Because the attacking team could kick the ball into the empty net when the defending keeper is on his way out to press the attacking keeper?
Alternatively instead of this being the suggested solution the FRC could just tidy up this loophole by matching the numbers up without the defending keeper being told the only way for his team to get the ball back is to leave his goals empty. Surely that wouldn't be too much to ask for?
Quote from: Spiderlegs on October 21, 2024, 03:49:12 PMQuote from: Smokin Joe on October 21, 2024, 03:19:34 PMIt is to allow the modern innovation of piggy in the middle in the attacking half by bringing the keeper up to join the attack so that the attacking team has a man extra. If this stays the same we will see games next summer where teams will hold the ball in the attacking half for the final 5 minutes of a game to run the clock down as they have a plus one. It will be virtually impossible for the defending team to disposses them.
By the new rules, the potential for piggy in the middle is restricted to one half of the pitch only. Currently, the entire pitch can be used to do it. So I don't agree it will be virtually impossible to dispossess, and teams absolutely should be allowed to be in control of a game by way of retaining possession. Some teams will opt for having a goalkeeper who stays in goal because to be turned over with a committed goalkeeper could be fatal with the 3v3.... or, they just won't have a goalkeeper capable of getting up and down.
I think the tactical and formational options available to players and coaches is a very good thing to come out of these rules.
How about taking this opportunity to not have it an almost certainty that piggy in the middle will be played in the attacking half. I mean we have this opportunity to define the game in whatever way we want.
Keep the concept of 3v3 but allow one of the 3 players on the defensive team drop back into his own half if the attacking keeper moves into the half. I think that works as it's up to the attacking team whether they want to attack into 11 defenders or 12 (if they bring their keeper up).
Quote from: Smokin Joe on October 21, 2024, 04:35:58 PMI'm not sure why the defending keeper couldn't press the attacking goalkeeper himself in such a scenario?
Because the attacking team could kick the ball into the empty net when the defending keeper is on his way out to press the attacking keeper?
Alternatively instead of this being the suggested solution the FRC could just tidy up this loophole by matching the numbers up without the defending keeper being told the only way for his team to get the ball back is to leave his goals empty. Surely that wouldn't be too much to ask for?
I get this Joe.
But if one team needs the ball back in a hurry, and the other doesn't wish to give it up, then the challenge for the harrying team is to pursue the ball and/or lay traps. They shouldn't expect to come from a losing position without taking a risk.
——
As mentioned before I find it bizarre (even staggering) that a half court rule hasn't been brought in to trial to counter this situation. It's so obvious, so straightforward to referee.
But in the absence of that, for whatever inexplicable reason, then restricting the natural plus one is probably the best approach to take.
If a shot is outside the 40 metre arc and a keeper gets a finger tip to it before it goes over the bar us it a + point or 2 point score does anyone know?
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on October 22, 2024, 08:55:57 AMIf a shot is outside the 40 metre arc and a keeper gets a finger tip to it before it goes over the bar us it a + point or 2 point score does anyone know?
I never seen mention of that, but I presume it would be 1 point
Why? I'd have thought the natural assumption would be that it would be a 2pt score, as the criteria would be from where the shot is taken.
Quote from: gallsman on October 22, 2024, 09:22:24 AMWhy? I'd have thought the natural assumption would be that it would be a 2pt score, as the criteria would be from where the shot is taken.
How about it drops into the square and a forward gets a finger tip to it and puts it over the bar?
I think the last contact has to be outside the big arc.
How about if a defender kicks it back to a teammate from outside the arc , and the wind carries it over the bar? Is that two points for the opposition?
Quote from: armaghniac on October 22, 2024, 09:26:34 AMQuote from: gallsman on October 22, 2024, 09:22:24 AMWhy? I'd have thought the natural assumption would be that it would be a 2pt score, as the criteria would be from where the shot is taken.
How about it drops into the square and a forward gets a finger tip to it and puts it over the bar?
I think the last contact has to be outside the big arc.
Then it's pretty clearly a 1 pt score, credited to the forward in the square. If it goes over the bar without another attacking player touching it, or the ball bouncing, then it should remain a 2pt score.
To be clear, you think the keeper should be rewarded for "almost stopping" a shot by having the value of the score halved?
Quote from: gallsman on October 22, 2024, 09:22:24 AMWhy? I'd have thought the natural assumption would be that it would be a 2pt score, as the criteria would be from where the shot is taken.
Big time.
Can you imagine the whining and the rows?
"He got a fingernail to it! It's only a one-pointer!"
"No he didn't! The spin of the ball didn't change!"
Quote from: Smokin Joe on October 22, 2024, 09:15:51 AMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on October 22, 2024, 08:55:57 AMIf a shot is outside the 40 metre arc and a keeper gets a finger tip to it before it goes over the bar us it a + point or 2 point score does anyone know?
I never seen mention of that, but I presume it would be 1 point
Stranger one - what happens if a shot from outside the arc bounces short but goes over the bar? I assume 2 points
Is the CC meeting this weekend?
Is a goal from a ball kicked from outside Noah's Ark counted as 6 points?
From the Irish Examiner
QuoteThe four points for a goal rule change is set to be scrapped as the Football Review Committee continue to prepare its draft report for Gaelic football's new rule enhancements.
Last weekend the FRC's seven-core enhancements were trialled in Croke Park for the interprovincial series. Players and managers provided extensive feedback and the Jim Gavin-chaired committee are set to make several changes.
The value of a goal will remain at three points and a 45-metre kick is now set to be worth one point, having between worth two last weekend. A time limit for free-takers is also set to be recommended.
Over the course of Friday and Saturday, there was some criticism of the scoring system. Armagh captain Aidan Forker told RTÉ it was an issue in the final.
"Rian was actually shouting at me, Aidan what's the score? It was definitely hard that last play, we felt we probably played it wrong in terms of dropping back and inviting the two-pointer, we weren't 100% sure of the total because it is so fast and scores go over so quickly. Trying to think clearly in that moment, it probably needs to be totals on the scoreboard."
As well as the proposed rule enhancements, the FRC has produced a series of recommendations separate from the motions that will go to Special Congress on November 30.
These include the enforcement of four steps, the establishment of a Game Intelligence Unit and an inter-change substitution format.
Quote from: Cavan19 on October 22, 2024, 03:23:07 PMIs a goal from a ball kicked from outside Noah's Ark counted as 6 points?
That would keep the goalkeepers back would it?
I'm a bit baffled by some of the players lamenting a lack of contact. All players do nowadays is throw the ball sideways or back every time anyone comes near them.
The latest from tonight.
QuoteThe 'enhanced rules' for Gaelic football designed by the Football Review Committee will be forwarded to a Congress vote, with a few tweaks to the original recommendations.
A meeting of the GAA's Ard Chomhairle today voted unanimously to forward the new rules to a Special Congress at Croke Park on November 30, with a few amendments that had already been flagged by FRC members.
The 'four-point goal' has been abandoned, as expected, with the value of a goal set to remain at three points.
A successful 45 will not be rewarded with two points, unlike other kicks from outside the 40-metre arc. A converted 45 will register one point.
Rather than a double white and red flag, as seen during the trial games, a successful two-point kick will see umpires raise an orange flag.
The new black card offence of holding up a player will read: "To deliberately hold up an opposing player to be a black card offence and amended to read: To prevent or restrict, or to attempt to prevent or restrict, an opponent from moving or from playing the ball, by holding up an opponent."
And the penalty for a goalkeeper receiving a pass outside of the agreed rules will be a free kick from the position the goalkeeper received the pass. If the goalkeeper is inside the 13m line, the free will be from the 13m line opposite where the foul occurred.
A proposal to rescind the motion to postpone the January pre-season competitions for 2025 was defeated.
And it was also agreed to rename the Allianz Football League Division 1 trophy as Corn Mhíchíl Uí Mhuircheartaigh in honour of the late RTÉ Gaelic games broadcaster.
Quote from: Blowitupref on October 26, 2024, 08:49:11 PMThe latest from tonight.
QuoteThe 'enhanced rules' for Gaelic football designed by the Football Review Committee will be forwarded to a Congress vote, with a few tweaks to the original recommendations.
A meeting of the GAA's Ard Chomhairle today voted unanimously to forward the new rules to a Special Congress at Croke Park on November 30, with a few amendments that had already been flagged by FRC members.
The 'four-point goal' has been abandoned, as expected, with the value of a goal set to remain at three points.
A successful 45 will not be rewarded with two points, unlike other kicks from outside the 40-metre arc. A converted 45 will register one point.
Rather than a double white and red flag, as seen during the trial games, a successful two-point kick will see umpires raise an orange flag.
The new black card offence of holding up a player will read: "To deliberately hold up an opposing player to be a black card offence and amended to read: To prevent or restrict, or to attempt to prevent or restrict, an opponent from moving or from playing the ball, by holding up an opponent."
And the penalty for a goalkeeper receiving a pass outside of the agreed rules will be a free kick from the position the goalkeeper received the pass. If the goalkeeper is inside the 13m line, the free will be from the 13m line opposite where the foul occurred.
A proposal to rescind the motion to postpone the January pre-season competitions for 2025 was defeated.
And it was also agreed to rename the Allianz Football League Division 1 trophy as Corn Mhíchíl Uí Mhuircheartaigh in honour of the late RTÉ Gaelic games broadcaster.
I'm absolutely baffled by the thinking behind retaining the 2-point for kicks from behind the arc, whilst reducing the goal back to 4 points.
It makes no sense to me, surely it's completely disincentivised goals now? Why bother trying to work a goal when you can just use your overlap to have a go from 45m. Maybe it's to try and make football more like hurling. More and more long range shots and if we hit a certain percentage that makes more sense than trying to take risks and score goals. Maybe it's just me, but it's hard to beat the net bulging, beats the keeper coming up and tapping one over from 45m any day!!
Quote from: onefineday on October 27, 2024, 12:12:38 AMQuote from: Blowitupref on October 26, 2024, 08:49:11 PMThe latest from tonight.
I'm absolutely baffled by the thinking behind retaining the 2-point for kicks from behind the arc, whilst reducing the goal back to 4 points.
It makes no sense to me, surely it's completely disincentivised goals now? Why bother trying to work a goal when you can just use your overlap to have a go from 45m. Maybe it's to try and make football more like hurling. More and more long range shots and if we hit a certain percentage that makes more sense than trying to take risks and score goals. Maybe it's just me, but it's hard to beat the net bulging, beats the keeper coming up and tapping one over from 45m any day!!
Isn't it mad how the likes of Beggan, Morgan, Murphy tap a ball that distance...? mad Ted
Quote from: onefineday on October 27, 2024, 12:12:38 AMI'm absolutely baffled by the thinking behind retaining the 2-point for kicks from behind the arc, whilst reducing the goal back to 4 points.
I think there was some concern over teams getting hammerings. But by reducing the goal back to 3 in a 4 goal game, the other team can still make it up with 2 two pointers I doubt if it will greatly reduce the margins in the Leinster championship. That said 4 points for a goal might be harsh for some penalty scenarios.
This proposed system risks the ball going around the arc until it reaches the "kicker" who knocks it over.
Logic gone out the window!!
2 kicks from 41 metres with a big wind worth more than a goal.
A free from 41 metres worth 2 points while a 45 (might be 50m or more) worth 1.
Quote from: Rossfan on October 27, 2024, 09:04:43 AMLogic gone out the window!!
It was a surprise to me alright that any deadball kick from beyond the arc was worth 2 points - can't see how that ties in with the objectives. I could just about live with this applying for in-play situations, but there's no doubt there'd be playing around the arc until the shooter was found - this happened in the trial last week.
For deadball kicks it is genuinely pretty straightforward for keepers to knock over a few from this distance, especially with a wind - but it's not something that is particularly interesting - maybe the odd really long one from beggan can be spectacular!
Reducing the goal to 3 also plays into thoughts on bringing your keeper up to be the extra man in attacking situations - the maths has now changed dramatically, the potential punishment for being caught out is reduced with the gain for working a 2-pointer now relatively enhanced.
I get the thinking that the odd game would have had a greater margin of victory, but games tend to see 5/6 goals absolute max, so that's 5/6 points extra, when there's already 20 odd in it, does that make much difference and it's likely some of those will be replaced by 2-pointers anyway.
Fitzmaurice and Horan both contribute to the examiner football podcasts, so it'll be interesting to hear their rationale - I just hope this can be tweaked before serious football starts next season and our entire championship isn't ruined.
Quote from: onefineday on October 27, 2024, 09:35:27 AMQuote from: Rossfan on October 27, 2024, 09:04:43 AMLogic gone out the window!!
It was a surprise to me alright that any deadball kick from beyond the arc was worth 2 points - can't see how that ties in with the objectives. I could just about live with this applying for in-play situations, but there's no doubt there'd be playing around the arc until the shooter was found - this happened in the trial last week.
For deadball kicks it is genuinely pretty straightforward for keepers to knock over a few from this distance, especially with a wind - but it's not something that is particularly interesting - maybe the odd really long one from beggan can be spectacular!
Reducing the goal to 3 also plays into thoughts on bringing your keeper up to be the extra man in attacking situations - the maths has now changed dramatically, the potential punishment for being caught out is reduced with the gain for working a 2-pointer now relatively enhanced.
I get the thinking that the odd game would have had a greater margin of victory, but games tend to see 5/6 goals absolute max, so that's 5/6 points extra, when there's already 20 odd in it, does that make much difference and it's likely some of those will be replaced by 2-pointers anyway.
Fitzmaurice and Horan both contribute to the examiner football podcasts, so it'll be interesting to hear their rationale - I just hope this can be tweaked before serious football starts next season and our entire championship isn't ruined.
Ruined I tell thee!
Quote from: Rossfan on October 27, 2024, 09:04:43 AMLogic gone out the window!!
2 kicks from 41 with a big wind worth more than a goal.
A 45 and a free are different. A 45 is for the last touch of the ball before it goes over the end line. There is no foul.
Players will figure out not to foul near the arc.
The reason for the free kick beyond the arc worth 2 points is that the FRC didn't want teams fouling the good 2 point shooters (think Rian O'Neill / Niall Morgan) so that they would concede a free kick that would be worth 1 point instead of the decent chance of conceding 2 points.
Not saying I agree with it, but that's the logic as to why the free kicks beyond the arc are worth 2 points.
It should only be a 2pter if it's from play. What would Maurice Fitzgerald score these day with this rule. as he could score consistently from long distance frees.
Quote from: Smokin Joe on October 27, 2024, 12:55:25 PMThe reason for the free kick beyond the arc worth 2 points is that the FRC didn't want teams fouling the good 2 point shooters (think Rian O'Neill / Niall Morgan) so that they would concede a free kick that would be worth 1 point instead of the decent chance of conceding 2 points.
Not saying I agree with it, but that's the logic as to why the free kicks beyond the arc are worth 2 points.
Yeah surely as a defender you're going to foul the like of lads straight away and concede a 1 pointer rather than 2. Think the 45 being only 1 point makes sense.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 27, 2024, 01:13:06 PMIt should only be a 2pter if it's from play. What would Maurice Fitzgerald score these day with this rule. as he could score consistently from long distance frees.
Bryan Sheehan would be the MVP, but as I say, it's also pretty easy meat for a load of keepers out there.
Quote from: JoG2 on October 27, 2024, 10:12:52 AMFitzmaurice and Horan both contribute to the examiner football podcasts, so it'll be interesting to hear their rationale - I just hope this can be tweaked before serious football starts next season and our entire championship isn't ruined.
Ruined I tell thee!
It'll be starting to become as unwatchable as the majority of senior club championship games and that's saying something!
The two point score also takes away from the high ball into the full forward line which everyone loves - which is why we got the forward mark. The fact no trial games have been played with 3,2 and 1 as the scoring system should lead to concern but won't. The enhancements are a mess and anyone predicting there outcome is guessing.
To Spillane and the rest claiming that the big scores put up i. The trial games were great- do they really think games will be like that come next year when games actually mean something?
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 27, 2024, 03:02:52 PMTo Spillane and the rest claiming that the big scores put up i. The trial games were great- do they really think games will be like that come next year when games actually mean something?
Cudnt get worse that what we've been enduring..
Quote from: GTP on October 27, 2024, 02:45:24 PMThe two point score also takes away from the high ball into the full forward line which everyone loves - which is why we got the forward mark. The fact no trial games have been played with 3,2 and 1 as the scoring system should lead to concern but won't. The enhancements are a mess and anyone predicting there outcome is guessing.
I think the two point score will result in much more high balls going into the full forward line than we have seen in recent years.
They'll not be deliberate passes, but rather short 2 pointers - think of all the goals in the latter stages of the championship this year.
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 27, 2024, 03:02:52 PMTo Spillane and the rest claiming that the big scores put up i. The trial games were great- do they really think games will be like that come next year when games actually mean something?
Exactly. Look at the 2016 railway cup scores. Not exactly low scoring yet people were still complaining about the football played that year I'd say
Quote from: thebigfullforward on October 28, 2024, 09:16:28 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on October 27, 2024, 03:02:52 PMTo Spillane and the rest claiming that the big scores put up i. The trial games were great- do they really think games will be like that come next year when games actually mean something?
Exactly. Look at the 2016 railway cup scores. Not exactly low scoring yet people were still complaining about the football played that year I'd say
Spillane should just retire.
Quote from: GTP on October 27, 2024, 02:45:24 PMThe two point score also takes away from the high ball into the full forward line which everyone loves - which is why we got the forward mark. The fact no trial games have been played with 3,2 and 1 as the scoring system should lead to concern but won't. The enhancements are a mess and anyone predicting there outcome is guessing.
Two pointers will result in some amount of pop shots and higher wide count in matches and how will that enhance the game?
Probably better looking at lads taking shots than 75 sideways and backwards hand passes.