Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Would ye whist on July 24, 2024, 11:48:11 AM

Title: Giving up alcohol
Post by: Would ye whist on July 24, 2024, 11:48:11 AM
Ladies & Gents,

Bit of a personal one here, however with the stress of work and other issues I have found myself getting to fond of the aul drink to the extent it is causing issues with the wife and I

Have any of you given it up or cut back a lot? If so any tips?

Grateful in advance
Title: Re: Giving up alcohol
Post by: marty34 on July 24, 2024, 11:55:17 AM
Quote from: Would ye whist on July 24, 2024, 11:48:11 AMLadies & Gents,

Bit of a personal one here, however with the stress of work and other issues I have found myself getting to fond of the aul drink to the extent it is causing issues with the wife and I

Grateful in advance

Do you drink much at home or head to the pub moreso?

Good you're taking control of it early. I'd say to keep yourself busy -always have something on.

Do you go the the gym/do fitness?
Post by: Would ye whist on July 24, 2024, 11:56:46 AM
Drink at home and would probably take one or two more than she knows about

Yeah, I do a bit of road running but that has slipped also
Post by: whitey on July 24, 2024, 12:34:31 PM

Grateful in advance

Packed it in completely 5 years ago

Best decision I ever made

I was put on a 30 day course of medication where I couldn't drink.  After 30 days I'd lost a few lbs, had zero hangovers and life just felt better all over

My advice would be, assuming you're a beer drinker, switch to Heineken or a Guinness Zero. That way you can still go out and socialize in the normal manner

The hardest part was explaining to people why you weren't drinking so have a cover story ready
Post by: LC on July 24, 2024, 12:52:45 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on July 24, 2024, 11:56:46 AMDrink at home and would probably take one or two more than she knows about

Yeah, I do a bit of road running but that has slipped also

Don't worry about the running, even if you made a point of going for a walk before and after walk each day it will make a massive difference.  It is all about changing habits, from those that are not good for you to those that are good for you. 

All in all I hope things change for you, if anything you have realised you are on a slippery slope and that something needs to change and this is a positive itself.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 24, 2024, 01:05:40 PM
Set yourself small achievable targets and build on them, don't try and just stop straight away, lighten the drink content as in the strength. Cut out the 'hard stuff' ease off drinking during the week. And at the weekends enjoy a few drinks, as you say it takes the edge off a busy week or stress of family life.

I would have more than the current regulations set by the WHO but its nowhere near the content of what I would have been at

There will be weekends or birthday bashes that happened and we'll all be way over the limit, but you just restart and stick with it.

When my father passed away, id have tended to have a couple of 'wee' whiskeys after she took herself off to bed,  very easy to fall into a trap.

Get down to the club more often, in the car as that will prevent you having a quick one, and get back out on the road or do the zoomies around the two pitches down there.

As for the stress, everyone deals with it differently, but definitely, the drinking won't make it better!

The best thing you have done is talked about it
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 24, 2024, 01:13:30 PM
I haven't given up, but I have cut back a fair bit.

I would recommend using Kava products.  E.g., https://designerkava.com.  They probably don't ship to Ireland, but you could probably find something similar in a health store.

A tablespoonful mixed in water makes you feel very relaxed and content without any cognitive impairment or hangover.  I would describe it as a very mild stone.  Main point is you have absolutely no desire for a drink at all after it kicks in.  Willpower not required.
Post by: samuel maguire on July 24, 2024, 01:15:51 PM
Great post. I think everyone is different in their approach to alcohol. I have kind of just filtered it into my normal life at this stage. I drink once/twice a week and enjoy the craic away from work and the demands of playing football.
I tried the 0% beer before - i thought they were brutal. Who drinks beer for the taste??
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 24, 2024, 01:33:14 PM
Quote from: samuel maguire on July 24, 2024, 01:15:51 PMGreat post. I think everyone is different in their approach to alcohol. I have kind of just filtered it into my normal life at this stage. I drink once/twice a week and enjoy the craic away from work and the demands of playing football.
I tried the 0% beer before - i thought they were brutal. Who drinks beer for the taste??

Think its not so much the taste that its getting at, though I'd rather have a beer taste than a coke or lemonade. But possible the placebo or not feeling different.

I like the sound of the kava product ;)
Post by: Itchy on July 24, 2024, 01:35:26 PM
Depends I think on how reliant you are on drink I think. Personally I have cut drinking down to the point where I would only have a drink or two once every couple of months. I got sick of hangovers, indigestion and probably worst of all the depression for a day after. It was easy enough in my case as it was a social thing and to be honest I dont do social stuff in pubs much anymore anyway, I do it through sports and other interests I have in the community. Thats my story but everyone is different.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 24, 2024, 01:35:58 PM
My advice - just stop. Boring to an extent compared to what you're used to come the weekend or whenever when you get the buzz, but you'll go to bed a bit earlier, up a bit earlier, feel a bit fresher etc. Mon morn blues lessen

I did 12 months few years back and have just finished 6mths and I'd be a few sups every weekend type of guy. Did it change my life, no, but deffo felt better for it
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 24, 2024, 01:44:57 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 24, 2024, 01:35:58 PMMy advice - just stop. Boring to an extent compared to what you're used to come the weekend or whenever when you get the buzz, but you'll go to bed a bit earlier, up a bit earlier, feel a bit fresher etc. Mon morn blues lessen

I did 12 months few years back and have just finished 6mths and I'd be a few sups every weekend type of guy. Did it change my life, no, but deffo felt better for it

You're still a dick though  ;D
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 24, 2024, 02:09:03 PM
Have found that the level of drinking has just slowly naturally decreased over the years. Don't drink in the house now ever, as I usually only drink for the social aspect. Only go to the pub every 5-6 weeks if even that. Have found myself going 2-3 months without going out if there's no occasions or events. And happy to continue that way.

Getting to be a sad auld git.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 24, 2024, 02:32:14 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 24, 2024, 01:44:57 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 24, 2024, 01:35:58 PMMy advice - just stop. Boring to an extent compared to what you're used to come the weekend or whenever when you get the buzz, but you'll go to bed a bit earlier, up a bit earlier, feel a bit fresher etc. Mon morn blues lessen

You're still a dick though  ;D

MODS!!! 🤓
Post by: tbrick18 on July 24, 2024, 03:37:29 PM

Grateful in advance

I'd say that at least in the short term, avoid situations where drinking would be normal - visits to the pub, social events etc. Just until you get comfortable with not drinking in those situations.
The home drinking is a difficult one, but the first thing I'd do would be to get rid of any drink in the house. Make it difficult for yourself to just have one or two. Have something else you "must" do which would mean you cant drink.
For me, I haven't given up drink but over the years my circumstances didn't lend themselves to being able to drink.
Ill family members, kids needing looked after, school runs in the mornings etc. So couldn't risk drinking the night before if I'd to drive early in the morning for example.

Now, for me it's just more bother than its worth. I keep a bottle of whiskey in the house, would last me months, just take the occassional one.
I tend not to go to very many social events, but I'll drink when I do. Couple of times a year maybe - and I enjoy it.
I guess for me, it's drink for the right reasons and not when you feel bad as thats a slippery slope.

Depending on where you think you are in terms of dependency, maybe speak to your GP too or even give AA a go, and I'm not making assumptions about you here but I do know some people who'd swear by AA.

Whatever road you go down, good luck with it and fair play for taking the first steps by asking the expert GAABoard.  ;D
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 24, 2024, 03:45:33 PM
Ya I would just add if my just stop advice was flippant it wasn't meant to be. If it has took a grip at all deffo seek professional help rather than us eejits but for general tips we have tonnes of that 🤓
Post by: Would ye whist on July 24, 2024, 03:54:21 PM
Thank you tbrick, good helpful tips there

I asked the experts on here as it feels like a safe space where even though we nark at each other everyone (well most) will come with well intentioned comments/advice

Quote from: tbrick18 on July 24, 2024, 03:37:29 PM

Grateful in advance

I'd say that at least in the short term, avoid situations where drinking would be normal - visits to the pub, social events etc. Just until you get comfortable with not drinking in those situations.
The home drinking is a difficult one, but the first thing I'd do would be to get rid of any drink in the house. Make it difficult for yourself to just have one or two. Have something else you "must" do which would mean you cant drink.
For me, I haven't given up drink but over the years my circumstances didn't lend themselves to being able to drink.
Ill family members, kids needing looked after, school runs in the mornings etc. So couldn't risk drinking the night before if I'd to drive early in the morning for example.

Now, for me it's just more bother than its worth. I keep a bottle of whiskey in the house, would last me months, just take the occassional one.
I tend not to go to very many social events, but I'll drink when I do. Couple of times a year maybe - and I enjoy it.
I guess for me, it's drink for the right reasons and not when you feel bad as thats a slippery slope.

Depending on where you think you are in terms of dependency, maybe speak to your GP too or even give AA a go, and I'm not making assumptions about you here but I do know some people who'd swear by AA.

Whatever road you go down, good luck with it and fair play for taking the first steps by asking the expert GAABoard.  ;D
Post by: Taylor on July 24, 2024, 04:08:28 PM
Its a tough cycle to break - thats for sure.

The home drinking is the killer - simply because it is much easier to do and to hide.

Mrs and kids go to bed and you can drink until your hearts content - you arent in the pub where people see you drinking/pissed and you arent away from the family home.

First step is to do something which stops you drinking at home - someone mentioned it already but driving is a great way to cut down on home drinking.

Unless you have a clinical problem its all about breaking the habit and take it day by day
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on July 24, 2024, 04:45:36 PM
Without knowing the extent of how much you consume, if you think its a bad habit rather than an addiction, then the two main things I would do are:

Don't take drink into the house - sounds obvious, but just like a multipack of crisps/chocolate, if they aren't there to begin with, you can't consume them. 

Plan your weekends - if you have interests outside of work (like sport) or kids, plan the weekend mornings to do those things.  You will find a reason not to drink Friday/Saturday nights. 

Going cold turkey might be the worst thing you could do, as you may break it, and binge more than you would normally take.  I have seen a few friends who have alcohol issues try that approach and end up on it for days at a time. 

Best of luck with it all!
Post by: Puckoon on July 24, 2024, 08:55:35 PM
Quote from: whitey on July 24, 2024, 12:34:31 PM

Grateful in advance

Packed it in completely 5 years ago

Best decision I ever made

I was put on a 30 day course of medication where I couldn't drink.  After 30 days I'd lost a few lbs, had zero hangovers and life just felt better all over

My advice would be, assuming you're a beer drinker, switch to Heineken or a Guinness Zero. That way you can still go out and socialize in the normal manner

The hardest part was explaining to people why you weren't drinking so have a cover story ready

Do we really need cover stories? Is there something inherently wrong with saying, I'm trying not to drink or limit my alcohol intake? I think the need for cover story ties in with the Irish psyche that surrounds drinking. That if you don't take a drink there's something wrong with you. I definitely think it is one of the hardest parts of alcohol overuse in our culture.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 24, 2024, 09:02:23 PM
It's a culture thing but is very different among younger people these days. I like going out for beers but we rarely touch it in the house.
Post by: Father Murphy on July 24, 2024, 09:23:06 PM
If you're really struggling check out The Sinclair Method.

Read about it years ago and then more recently it was featured in a Sunday magazine.

You take a pill before drinking which basically nullifies the euphoric effect and over time you lose interest in alcohol altogether.

Post by: DrinkingHarp on July 25, 2024, 01:11:21 AM
Gave it up almost 4 years now.

Getting too old to have a 3 day hangover, body aches and general blah after a night out. Plus I drive all day for work and don't need a chance of having my income removed because of something so ordinary.

I do have a caveat if I want to drink: my birthday, my golf league championship and St Baldrick's Day. Have not drank except to get my head shaved for the liquid courage needed on St Baldricks Day to support the cure for childhood cancer.
My golf league is essentially a drink fest with golf thrown in every Monday night. The other guys in the league questioned me for the first 3 weeks and then it wasn't a subject since.

At first I "hid" away from any gathering/party or going out in general because of the environment and not wanting to go through the same conversation 10+ times each time but now I realized it was a waste of time "hiding" from the inevitable questions.

My typical answers in the beginning:
No, I am not in AA
No, I am not on medication
No, I am not dying
No, I am not anti-fun
No, I am not doing drugs instead of drink
It gets funny and insane with the questions you are asked.

I feel better and enjoy the savings plus I can help out any family member or friend with a ride since there is no chance of getting a DWI/DUI.

Not drinking at a establishment or party sheds a light on how bad you may have acted in the same environment.

Good Luck
Post by: tonto1888 on July 25, 2024, 08:00:19 AM
My advice for what its worth
Find your "why". Why do you want to stop? If your reason isnt good enough you wont stop. After multiple failed attempts I found my why and got sober almost 9 years ago. 6th August 2015 to be exact.
If you dont want to drink in the house dont have any alcohol there which you would drink. Have the conversation with your wife. There is no reason for her to stop but make her aware that you want to and why.
There is also no reason to stop going out. I let a few close friends know I had quit and that if I disappeared without saying anything that was why. Have an exit strategy but dont be afraid to go to the loo and just keep walking also.

Good luck with it
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2024, 08:29:27 PM
My advice:

There's no point in telling you anything about someone giving up alcohol or any of that, as it means nothing to you. You don't go off it cos someone else did.

First tip: if drinking at home, earn it. Don't drink Sun-Thurs. Or Mon-Thurs. If that's progress, think about it.

Next, check your overall health. If there is weight you can lose, go on an achievable programme for a month. Say you decide to have a complete health kick in September, do it and earn your beer or whatever in October. There's a chance you get to Oct and want to extend it. Seeing any health benefits will give you serious motivation. Don't say you're off it permanently. Small goals and small rewards.

It's the same for food. If I want a Chinese or something on a Friday, I'll try to earn it by exercising harder or dieting better the days before. Same with alcohol. Earn your weekends. There's always a chance when you get to it, you're happy to extend it one more day.

But cut it out Mon to Thurs if you already don't. If you simply can't seem official help.

If it's badly affecting your daily life or harming relationships, that's a bigger matter. Seek official help. Ballsy to do it but same as addiction to anything.
Post by: Would ye whist on July 31, 2024, 02:19:05 PM
Well all thanks for your input on this, so far a week in and no drink taken, I can say it was tough with the warm weather and the All Ireland final but we are still going. I know it is nothing major however is a start

Had a very honest chat with herself and she laid out how that one too may ruins too many important events and if I can't learn my limit the limit should be nothing which I suppose is fair enough
Post by: NAG1 on July 31, 2024, 02:26:02 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on July 31, 2024, 02:19:05 PMWell all thanks for your input on this, so far a week in and no drink taken, I can say it was tough with the warm weather and the All Ireland final but we are still going. I know it is nothing major however is a start

Had a very honest chat with herself and she laid out how that one too may ruins too many important events and if I can't learn my limit the limit should be nothing which I suppose is fair enough

Good man WYW fair play
Post by: toby47 on July 31, 2024, 02:32:38 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on July 31, 2024, 02:19:05 PMWell all thanks for your input on this, so far a week in and no drink taken, I can say it was tough with the warm weather and the All Ireland final but we are still going. I know it is nothing major however is a start

Fair play, it's fairly major in my book. Keep it up!
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 31, 2024, 03:02:25 PM
This is a great thread and fair play to the OP and everyone else. It's all what you reckon.
In my college days I was a header but I suffered from insomnia, so it took f all to set me over the edge.

I went on a few dry phases too, but I have tended to avoid certain mates who I just can't keep up with as there were a few days out where I was in bits with them.

I go to monthly counselling to just dump shite and not be bringing it home to the wife all tge time and now I mist say I enjoy a few quiet ones much more.

But, back to the original side of things it's brilliant to be looking at what is going on yourself before it gets too out of hand and people are always much more helpful than you think. Well done.
Post by: Norm-Peterson on August 01, 2024, 06:15:05 PM
I decided to quit alcohol or at least learn to stick to a few beers when I made a fool of myself at a recent concert. There have been other bad memories too for example in London when I was trying to get to the O2 Arena and I blacked out in the underground. Next thing I remember it is midnight and I am walking around one of the most dangerous towns in south London.
Post by: whitey on August 03, 2024, 03:56:09 PM
I was at a social gathering last weekend on Cape Cod and brought a few Heineken Zeros with me just in case

Anyways along with me there were 5/6 other fellas not drinking for a variety of reasons

(1) Babysitting a newborn grandchild
(2) On medication
(3) Doing a triathalon the following morning
(4) Taking care of a granny who got released from the hospital especially for the event
(5) A very long drive home

You get the point

The host had gone out and filled a cooler with about 5 different types of NA beer: Heineken, Guinness, Athletico IPA etc

Nobody batted an eyelid at the non drinkers and a couple of drinkers actually drank the NA beer without realizing

I know it will take time to change the mindset in Ireland but it doesn't have to be as hard as people are making it.

If you're hosting-cater to your guests

If you're a guest-let your host know.

Before the pandemic we had a milestone Leaving Cert reunion at a GAA Clubhouse. There were plenty of non drinkers in attendance and the bar manager was asked/told well in advance to stock up on the Zeros
Post by: armaghniac on August 03, 2024, 05:02:35 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 03, 2024, 03:56:09 PM(5) A very long drive home

One wonders what the people with a medium or short drive home did.

Quote from: whitey on August 03, 2024, 03:56:09 PMThe host had gone out and filled a cooler with about 5 different types of NA beer: Heineken, Guinness, Athletico IPA etc

Nobody batted an eyelid at the non drinkers and a couple of drinkers actually drank the NA beer without realizing

I know it will take time to change the mindset in Ireland but it doesn't have to be as hard as people are making it.

Before the pandemic we had a milestone Leaving Cert reunion at a GAA Clubhouse. There were plenty of non drinkers in attendance and the bar manager was asked/told well in advance to stock up on the Zeros

There is huge duty on alcohol in Ireland, 0-0 should be cheaper and easier on the host.
Post by: whitey on August 03, 2024, 05:32:58 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 03, 2024, 05:02:35 PM

Quote from: whitey on August 03, 2024, 03:56:09 PMThe host had gone out and filled a cooler with about 5 different types of NA beer: Heineken, Guinness, Athletico IPA etc

There is huge duty on alcohol in Ireland, 0-0 should be cheaper and easier on the host.

Drinking and driving is the norm in the United States

There was a recent high profile murder case in a Boston suburb involving off duty police officers and their wives and girlfriends. Many of them were driving home (in a blizzard) after 10+ drinks
Post by: Would ye whist on August 06, 2024, 10:11:07 AM
I think the duty on 0% is a bit of a red herring.

Was away for the weekend there with the wife and kids and the hotel did Heineken 0 on draft and it was great, sitting with a 'pint' like everyone else as far as they were concerned but with a 0% pint. Admittedly it was the same price as a pint, however I was happy to pay the same price.

It was a simple sub the hotel had in and it would be great if more pubs up North here would do the same, not a big keg but a wee sub would surely help the people trying to cut down and I would guess would help cut down on drink driving

Quote from: whitey on August 03, 2024, 03:56:09 PMI was at a social gathering last weekend on Cape Cod and brought a few Heineken Zeros with me just in case

Anyways along with me there were 5/6 other fellas not drinking for a variety of reasons

(2) On medication
(4) Taking care of a granny who got released from the hospital especially for the event

You get the point

The host had gone out and filled a cooler with about 5 different types of NA beer: Heineken, Guinness, Athletico IPA etc

Post by: tonto1888 on August 06, 2024, 06:55:42 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 03, 2024, 03:56:09 PMI was at a social gathering last weekend on Cape Cod and brought a few Heineken Zeros with me just in case

(2) On medication

You get the point

As hard as people are making out? People, myself included, are giving their own experiences. But keep making light of it
Post by: armaghniac on August 06, 2024, 07:33:26 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 03, 2024, 05:32:58 PM

There was a recent high profile murder case in a Boston suburb involving off duty police officers and their wives and girlfriends. Many of them were driving home (in a blizzard) after 10+ drinks

Yet Mass is one of the safer states and the death rate is only about twice the rate here. South Carolina has a similar population to the 26 counties, but 5 times the road fatalities. There is justifiable concern here that the rate is going up, but that is frightening.
Post by: whitey on August 06, 2024, 07:35:02 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on August 06, 2024, 06:55:42 PM

(2) On medication

You get the point

As hard as people are making out? People, myself included, are giving their own experiences. But keep making light of it

Who said that?
Post by: tonto1888 on August 06, 2024, 07:45:22 PM
You said it doesn't have to be as hard as people are making it

Point still stands
Post by: whitey on August 06, 2024, 08:04:29 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on August 06, 2024, 07:45:22 PMYou said it doesn't have to be as hard as people are making it

Point still stands

Making it-as in how hard drinkers are making it for non drinkers to not drink alcohol

Post by: whitey on August 06, 2024, 08:21:19 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 06, 2024, 07:33:26 PM

Yet Mass is one of the safer states and the death rate is only about twice the rate here. South Carolina has a similar population to the 26 counties, but 5 times the road fatalities. There is justifiable concern here that the rate is going up, but that is frightening.

Twice by what metric?

Best stat to use is " Deaths per 100 million vehicle miles traveled"

I can't find that stat for Ireland
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 06, 2024, 08:58:51 PM
Few lads bringing their issues from other threads onto this one? Maybe be a good time to read original post, just a thought..
Post by: Armagh18 on August 06, 2024, 09:04:29 PM
Best of luck Would Ye Whist, no real advice to add to what others have said. Take it a day at a time and hope all works out!
Post by: tonto1888 on August 06, 2024, 09:12:25 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 06, 2024, 08:04:29 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on August 06, 2024, 07:45:22 PMYou said it doesn't have to be as hard as people are making it

Point still stands

Making it-as in how hard drinkers are making it for non drinkers to not drink alcohol

If I have misunderstood your meaning, I apologise. It's a personal subject for me. I happen to be 9 years sober today
Post by: whitey on August 06, 2024, 09:28:32 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on August 06, 2024, 09:12:25 PM

Point still stands

If I have misunderstood your meaning, I apologise. It's a personal subject for me. I happen to be 9 years sober today

Congratulations-that's remarkable

Haven't touched a drop in 5 years myself

It's crazy in Ireland the pressure put on people to drink-I was in a pub in Mayo back in March and a fella I know, (one of the biggest drinkers in town) was drinking Heineken Zero. A fella came in who he'd be friendly with, started with the usual aul Sh1te...."why would you waste your time drinking that p1sswater"type of stuff.

Anyways I found out later that he'd had a heart attack the month before (that wasn't widely known)and was on the strictest doctors orders not to drink. But the pub is the only social life he has ever known
Post by: tonto1888 on August 06, 2024, 09:42:00 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 06, 2024, 09:28:32 PM

Point still stands

It's crazy in Ireland the pressure put on people to drink-I was in a pub in Mayo back in March and a fella I know, (one of the biggest drinkers in town) was drinking Heineken Zero. A fella came in who he'd be friendly with, started with the usual aul Sh1te...."why would you waste your time drinking that p1sswater"type of stuff.

Anyways I found out later that he'd had a heart attack the month before (that wasn't widely known)and was on the strictest doctors orders not to drink. But the pub is the only social life he has ever known

Cheers lad. And well done to yourself also. I think it's a little bit better with younger people. A lot more are not drinking these days.
Post by: armaghniac on August 06, 2024, 10:59:37 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 06, 2024, 08:21:19 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 06, 2024, 07:33:26 PM

Twice by what metric?

Best stat to use is " Deaths per 100 million vehicle miles traveled"

I can't find that stat for Ireland

I used per 100,000 population. The stats for the US are slightly better on 100 million vehicle miles travelled, as they drive further, but still not good.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 07, 2024, 10:23:46 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on August 06, 2024, 09:42:00 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 06, 2024, 09:28:32 PM

Point still stands

Cheers lad. And well done to yourself also. I think it's a little bit better with younger people. A lot more are not drinking these days.

Well done to both!
Whilst I'd class myself as an occasional drinker, I'm not sure I could/would completely stop.
Maybe that's a motivation thing, but it does slightly worry me that I think like that.
I've an 18 year old, and whilst kids her age and younger are drinking - it doesn't feel like its got the same attraction as it had when I was that age. Most drink more sensibly (more than I would have anyway) and there are quite a few who don't touch it.
The bigger concern these days is drugs - from what I see, it's commonplace to vape, smoke weed, and take cocaine.
Cocaine seems to be as widely used as vapes and no-one tries to hard to hide it.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 07, 2024, 10:38:31 AM
Is cost prohibitive for ones round 18ish years old for booze these days? I definitely don't see it as as big a thing among younger ones. Not sure if it's money or just life. I know this sounds a bit left field but I wonder do things like tinder impact that as rather than going on the beer to meet someone you're just using apps etc to do it.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 07, 2024, 11:48:52 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 07, 2024, 10:38:31 AMIs cost prohibitive for ones round 18ish years old for booze these days? I definitely don't see it as as big a thing among younger ones. Not sure if it's money or just life. I know this sounds a bit left field but I wonder do things like tinder impact that as rather than going on the beer to meet someone you're just using apps etc to do it.

Yeah that's a good point actually.
I know loads of the young ones seem to meet via snapchat.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 07, 2024, 11:50:16 AM
Be still single if they had those apps back in the day ;D
Post by: JohnDenver on August 12, 2024, 08:47:09 AM
https://www.irishnews.com/gaa/getting-back-on-track-armaghs-justin-kieran-on-alcohol-battle-and-why-he-doesnt-regret-leaving-the-squad-in-june-VCBLZI5QW5ANPP33QLXPVWAIHQ/
Post by: Would ye whist on August 16, 2024, 11:18:59 AM
This is a really good piece from this young man, a lot of courage there to face up to his problem

It does raise a question does the football attitude of going off drink for long periods lead to ridiculous binge drinking?

Quote from: JohnDenver on August 12, 2024, 08:47:09 AMhttps://www.irishnews.com/gaa/getting-back-on-track-armaghs-justin-kieran-on-alcohol-battle-and-why-he-doesnt-regret-leaving-the-squad-in-june-VCBLZI5QW5ANPP33QLXPVWAIHQ/
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 16, 2024, 01:18:05 PM
Can't help but admire someone to visible put it out there and talk about his troubles and hopefully making it ok for others to express their own issues with alcohol. Irelands relationship with drink is (for me) the biggest problem, most Europeans must look at us abroad and wonder what the feck is going on, they drink off course they do but we drink to get hammered they drink for enjoyment, to socialise.

I would say we need new approach to alcohol marketing, change the mindset

Look binge drinking is as bad, if you go out and can't remember how you got home or not being able remember parts of your night then its too much.

I've done all of the above many times, weirdly if I'm out with her friends, or the crowd that I've built up friendships from where I live, I'll be rarely drunk, but when I'm out with my friends from the club there is a difference for sure, its rounds of drinks and then more rounds followed by ach sure we'll head into town!

So the environment is a big factor

They are getting less and less as you get older and semi wiser. Not drinking during the week for me works
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 16, 2024, 07:36:34 PM
The peer pressure to take a few even when clearly not drinking should be on the wane as zero alcohol drinks are more "socially acceptable". There was a time, in rural areas especially, that drink driving was more socially acceptable than taking a shandy or a mineral!
Post by: samuel maguire on August 19, 2024, 10:01:02 AM
I personally struggle in the off season with drinking. When football ends and there is no training/matches/gym sessions to do it is easy to head to the pub for a few pints 3/4 times a week. Football keeps me honest.
Between training/matches/gym sessions etc i am out of the house at least 4/5 evenings and maybe the odd morning.
There is no real guilt associated with drinking when you have no team mates or managers to answer to.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 19, 2024, 10:24:00 AM
Quote from: samuel maguire on August 19, 2024, 10:01:02 AMI personally struggle in the off season with drinking. When football ends and there is no training/matches/gym sessions to do it is easy to head to the pub for a few pints 3/4 times a week. Football keeps me honest.
Between training/matches/gym sessions etc i am out of the house at least 4/5 evenings and maybe the odd morning.
There is no real guilt associated with drinking when you have no team mates or managers to answer to.

Find targets for those winter months, join a local running club or start a new class in the gym, yoga, pilates. great for the bodies flexibility and meeting new people
Post by: Would ye whist on August 19, 2024, 01:36:17 PM
great for the bodies flexibility and meeting new people

Do these two aspects go hand in hand or are they intertwined at some point?  ;)

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 19, 2024, 10:24:00 AM
Quote from: samuel maguire on August 19, 2024, 10:01:02 AMI personally struggle in the off season with drinking. When football ends and there is no training/matches/gym sessions to do it is easy to head to the pub for a few pints 3/4 times a week. Football keeps me honest.

Find targets for those winter months, join a local running club or start a new class in the gym, yoga, pilates. great for the bodies flexibility and meeting new people
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 19, 2024, 02:01:56 PM
I havent been at the yoga classes that do the intertwining, still looking out for those ;)

But yeah the flexibility of meeting new people might not go down to well with her indoors, but defo keeps ya young 
Post by: whitey on August 19, 2024, 03:22:57 PM

Get an envelope, and put what you used to spend on drink into it every week for 12 weeks

So let's say €50 X 12= €600

Have a plan for the money ahead of time

A weekend away

A nice dinner out (X 3)

Something you've always wanted but never got around to getting-a new bike etc)

Post by: toby47 on August 19, 2024, 04:29:11 PM
Quote from: whitey on August 19, 2024, 03:22:57 PM

Get an envelope, and put what you used to spend on drink into it every week for 12 weeks

So let's say €50 X 12= €600

Have a plan for the money ahead of time

A weekend away

A nice dinner out (X 3)

Something you've always wanted but never got around to getting-a new bike etc)

Or 12 nights out
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 19, 2024, 05:04:55 PM
Whitey reckons 50 euro for a few pints 3 or 4 nights a week?   What shop are you drinking in? I need to go there.
Post by: thebigfella on August 19, 2024, 05:57:28 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on August 19, 2024, 05:04:55 PMWhitey reckons 50 euro for a few pints 3 or 4 nights a week?   What shop are you drinking in? I need to go there.

He hasn't a f**king clue that lad. He'll be along in a bit to tell us about some mate that goes out drinking for that 7 nights. A pure spoofer.
Post by: Armagh18 on August 19, 2024, 06:02:37 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on August 19, 2024, 05:04:55 PMWhitey reckons 50 euro for a few pints 3 or 4 nights a week?   What shop are you drinking in? I need to go there.
whats a pint now in euro in a country pub? €5 or €5.50?

Could do 2 pints twice a week and 3 pints twice a week, ten pints roughly €50 so hardly an outrageous claim in fairness.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 19, 2024, 06:09:36 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 19, 2024, 06:02:37 PM
whats a pint now in euro in a country pub? €5 or €5.50?

Could do 2 pints twice a week and 3 pints twice a week, ten pints roughly €50 so hardly an outrageous claim in fairness.

Grand if you live next door to the pub or in it, not grand if paying taxis or for your liver.
Post by: whitey on August 19, 2024, 06:39:36 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on August 19, 2024, 05:57:28 PM

He hasn't a f**king clue that lad. He'll be along in a bit to tell us about some mate that goes out drinking for that 7 nights. A pure spoofer.

I picked an arbitrary number for a modest drinker-10 pints per week

There's no scientifically correct or incorrect answer

If you wanted to save €100 or €200 per week there's nothing stopping you
Post by: samuel maguire on August 20, 2024, 10:57:18 AM
It would be closer to £200 a week easily and that is not an exaggeration.
The time you drink a few pints, maybe a taxi, pay entry into a bar, onto the halfins, a takeaway etc.
Scary really when you think of it like that.
Even a few midweek pints turns into £50 quid by the time you drink 6/7 pints and maybe back a horse or 2.
Post by: whitey on January 04, 2025, 02:41:25 PM
For any of you who like to hear other people success stories-this guy is absolutely brilliant

https://youtube.com/@stevencurry215?si=WHGkeadpaLO2WggI
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 05:03:24 PM
Dry January starting on Monday.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2025, 05:12:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 05:03:24 PMDry January starting on Monday.

January is a miserable month to be off it lol! Good luck, friend of mine has been doing Dry January for 15 years

Did it once, hated it, been doing different months these last few years, did sober October there and threw in a diet plan with it, February probably the best month😉
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 05:15:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2025, 05:12:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 05:03:24 PMDry January starting on Monday.

January is a miserable month to be off it lol! Good luck, friend of mine has been doing Dry January for 15 years

Did it once, hated it, been doing different months these last few years, did sober October there and threw in a diet plan with it, February probably the best month😉
It'll be a chore alright but I think I've had 2 nights with no alcohol since finishing work the Friday before Christmas! I'll have more tonight and tomorrow night too  ;D

Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2025, 05:34:43 PM
Almost 2 months alcohol free, something I never thought would ever happen. Was an almost daily social drinker for maybe the last 10 years.

Spontaneously one day just decided it was time for a break. I had a lot of fun for a long time - a great run, but am looking forward to the next chapter. Have no real desire to pick it back up again. There are a lot of great NA options out there if I feel the need socially. Still going to the casino for cards, still going to the bar for pool.

Good luck to anyone doing Dry January and to anyone who feels at all like they are struggling with alcohol in any way at all, there is a great life beyond it.

Thanksgiving and Christmas were the 2 periods I was wondering if I would have a desire. Thanksgiving came and went no issues. Christmas I had been squirrelling away nice wines all year for the holiday and a nice Christmas dinner.

Decided against a traditional Christmas dinner - went out for sushi instead.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 05:41:40 PM
Good lad Puck. If you're 2 months in then you'll probably never go back. I think I'd miss a nice wine with a meal or the odd pint at the club. The vast majority of my drinking is in the house so if I get past January I may knock all the house drinking on the head and save it for special occasions. Heading to Cork with some lads in Feb so not the time to be quitting entirely!
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2025, 05:48:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 05:41:40 PMGood lad Puck. If you're 2 months in then you'll probably never go back. I think I'd miss a nice wine with a meal or the odd pint at the club. The vast majority of my drinking is in the house so if I get past January I may knock all the house drinking on the head and save it for special occasions. Heading to Cork with some lads in Feb so not the time to be quitting entirely!

This was a big concern for me. The thought of not sitting with my Dad for that first pint of stout back home was a hard one to mentally say goodbye to. But that's all it is, is mental.

Good Luck Tony!

Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2025, 06:26:20 PM
The Non alcoholic stuff is great to be fair, I'd some of the 0.0 Guinness, while not the same it does allow you that feeling, the Peroni one is pretty decent too, so the social aspect can still happen..

Oh and if you like Gin, Gordon's non alcoholic was grand too
Post by: bennydorano on January 04, 2025, 07:06:41 PM
Mate at our Christmas do had 4 pints of Guinness 0.0, how he could be bothered I'll never know. After a big feed of Turkey & Ham and dessert too, like a days work
Post by: screenexile on January 04, 2025, 09:08:51 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 04, 2025, 07:06:41 PMMate at our Christmas do had 4 pints of Guinness 0.0, how he could be bothered I'll never know. After a big feed of Turkey & Ham and dessert too, like a days work

I'm the same. I get that people would rather not have to explain why they aren't drinking but I'd rather a pint of coke or sprite or something than drink a zero.

I'm not a massive fan of the taste of beer although I can recognise when a pint is good either Guinness or lager. Having said that if I'm lying in the house and had a choice of beer or soft drink I'd pick the soft drink every time. Alcohol would be a social thing for me not something I'd be too worried about otherwise.
Post by: marty34 on January 04, 2025, 09:16:13 PM
I don't get the 'I'd rather drink an AF alternate than explain to people why you're I'm not drinking'. I find that mentality very strange, from both sides.

Like if I'm out with people I'd never attempt to ask them why they're not drinking. Like, who gives a f"^k? Are you out for a night out or out to snoop and quiz people!

Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2025, 09:22:11 PM
People are dicks and they will say why ya not drinking, some people won't but there's always an arse that will say something..

As for preference that are NA it's either water or a NA beer over a soft drink.

That's the culture of the place.. Europe not so much
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 09:31:05 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2025, 09:22:11 PMPeople are dicks and they will say why ya not drinking, some people won't but there's always an arse that will say something..

As for preference that are NA it's either water or a NA beer over a soft drink.

That's the culture of the place.. Europe not so much
I'd take the NA option. Especially a Guinness 0.0.  It's a total mentality thing as you've still a pint in your hand so you don't feel like you're "missing out".
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 04, 2025, 09:39:01 PM
I take a few drinks during fball season, literally 1 or 2 before a game.Don't drink foreby that, so havent had a drink since Kerry put out Derry.
Post by: ONeill on January 04, 2025, 09:43:53 PM
I haven't had a Swiss Roll since October. No one talks about the real killer.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on January 04, 2025, 10:08:21 PM
Celibacy?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2025, 10:14:09 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 04, 2025, 09:39:01 PMI take a few drinks during fball season, literally 1 or 2 before a game.Don't drink foreby that, so havent had a drink since Kerry put out Derry.
Playing or spectating?
Post by: Would ye whist on May 06, 2025, 10:01:30 AM
Hi all,

Just checking in on this, have been working hard on trying to keep on the right side of drink, I have to admit I messed up pretty badly just after Christmas at a party, it actually scared me a bit..........since then I have been keeping it pretty straight, took the family away for an Easter break to Spain an all inclusive job and actually managed to enjoy a few beers each day without getting piss*d up, the breaks with 0% beers really helped. Also managed to get through the bank holiday weekend of good weather with only having a couple..........it's not easy but by God it makes home life a lot better, suppose what I am saying anyone struggling or thinking of cutting down it really is worth it
Post by: whitey on May 06, 2025, 10:22:39 AM
Quote from: Would ye whist on May 06, 2025, 10:01:30 AMHi all,

Just checking in on this, have been working hard on trying to keep on the right side of drink, I have to admit I messed up pretty badly just after Christmas at a party, it actually scared me a bit..........since then I have been keeping it pretty straight, took the family away for an Easter break to Spain an all inclusive job and actually managed to enjoy a few beers each day without getting piss*d up, the breaks with 0% beers really helped. Also managed to get through the bank holiday weekend of good weather with only having a couple..........it's not easy but by God it makes home life a lot better, suppose what I am saying anyone struggling or thinking of cutting down it really is worth it

Haven't touched a drop in 6 years and don't miss it one bit. God willing I will never touch it again

Best YouTube channel I found was this guy -a retired cop from London.   In one video he talks about ranking yourself in terms of being alcohol dependent on a scale of 1 to 5. "Heavy/binge" drinkers and "alcohol dependent" people are usually a 3....if you go from a 3 to a 4, that's when the real problems start. (I'm not doing it Justice but find that video and watch it-it makes all the sense in the world)

https://youtu.be/PNdg6KR1hBg?si=hYIUf7cI4dFAjzTF
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 06, 2025, 01:20:27 PM

Good stuff!! Are there certain trigger drinks? Certain spirits, wines or beers that take you past that point?

Been drinking the lite beers more nowadays, home from work on a Friday few lite beers while making dinner and 2 or 3 glasses of red winds down the week!

I'd two things that weekend I could've done, one was a stag in Portugal, would have been bonkers, glad I didn't, the other was Donegal, good, not as messy but well over the recommended limits, so did neither and the weekend and body was better for it..

Alcohol is dangerous though and I'd love to reduce it further, do the month a year and no drinking (unless holidays or a party) during the week, which helps..
Post by: Would ye whist on May 06, 2025, 02:47:28 PM
Cheers MR2,

Yeah the disaster at Christmas was with my old friend Brandy, much like you I usually do not touch anything over 4% beer these days

The holiday was an eye opener for me, no hangovers and such better time with the young ones

Hi all,

Good stuff!! Are there certain trigger drinks? Certain spirits, wines or beers that take you past that point?

Been drinking the lite beers more nowadays, home from work on a Friday few lite beers while making dinner and 2 or 3 glasses of red winds down the week!

I'd two things that weekend I could've done, one was a stag in Portugal, would have been bonkers, glad I didn't, the other was Donegal, good, not as messy but well over the recommended limits, so did neither and the weekend and body was better for it..

Alcohol is dangerous though and I'd love to reduce it further, do the month a year and no drinking (unless holidays or a party) during the week, which helps..
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2025, 04:56:35 PM
Work is very stressful at the minute and I look forward to unwinding with a few on a Friday and Saturday but have definitely found that 2 or 3 ciders on a Friday and a couple of glasses of wine on a Saturday has turned into 4 on a Friday and maybe a bottle of wine on a Saturday. I can see how it can become a slippery slope.
Post by: Puckoon on May 06, 2025, 05:48:37 PM

Anyone having an honest conversation with themselves is on the right track, IMO. As long as you're not ignoring your drinking habits I think you are making progress with what will ultimately serve you better as you age. It is alarming how quickly it can grab a hold and become part of your routine/day and your identity. Took me longer than I cared to address that I was, and had become known as - a drinker. Not that my behaviour or drinking personality was much of an issue, it just dawned on me that it was a larger part of my personality than I liked. I would lead the charge in any social situation and 5pm rarely came and went without a well deserved bevvy. I would prioritize it over my hobbies and passions and it became my hobby and a passion.

Much happier removed from it, the odd smoke in the evenings and a glass of Robinson's diluting juice with sparkling water and early to bed.

I would urge minimal judgement on your friends who choose to neck N/As of an evening out - whatever makes them put the real bottle down if in fact that is their goal should be applauded, not questioned or even "I don't know how you can be arsed or do that" type statements. Just shut the f**k up and support them. Had a social function a few weeks ago and got through a 6 pack of Heiniken NA over the course of the day. My hand had a bottle in it at all times, which is a physical comfort for me in social settings. Standin there with my hands in my pockets would be an anxious existence for me and I am sure I would not be alone in that regard. We don't judge the people having an actual pint, why would we judge the folks chosing an N/A option?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 06, 2025, 06:05:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 06, 2025, 05:48:37 PM

Anyone having an honest conversation with themselves is on the right track, IMO. As long as you're not ignoring your drinking habits I think you are making progress with what will ultimately serve you better as you age. It is alarming how quickly it can grab a hold and become part of your routine/day and your identity. Took me longer than I cared to address that I was, and had become known as - a drinker. Not that my behaviour or drinking personality was much of an issue, it just dawned on me that it was a larger part of my personality than I liked. I would lead the charge in any social situation and 5pm rarely came and went without a well deserved bevvy. I would prioritize it over my hobbies and passions and it became my hobby and a passion.

Much happier removed from it, the odd smoke in the evenings and a glass of Robinson's diluting juice with sparkling water and early to bed.

I would urge minimal judgement on your friends who choose to neck N/As of an evening out - whatever makes them put the real bottle down if in fact that is their goal should be applauded, not questioned or even "I don't know how you can be arsed or do that" type statements. Just shut the f**k up and support them. Had a social function a few weeks ago and got through a 6 pack of Heiniken NA over the course of the day. My hand had a bottle in it at all times, which is a physical comfort for me in social settings. Standin there with my hands in my pockets would be an anxious existence for me and I am sure I would not be alone in that regard. We don't judge the people having an actual pint, why would we judge the folks chosing an N/A option?

I think the NA's are fantastic and I've no issues with and it actually gives me a 'hit' as such, if ya know what I mean, takes away what you said 'hands in pockets' in fairness for anyone saying something they get a serious short reply tbf..

We have friends that struggle with reducing their own rate of drinking, also they'd frown on the wife having a few NA's before settling into the evening with a few wines, rather than the gins and then the wines..

I have mentioned a few times but think the wife needs to just nail it, rather than avoiding it..

But by in large they don't drink during the week but hell for leather at the weekends lol..

Sometimes its the company that makes people feel uncomfortable and 'force' the more drinks..

Moderation in everything!!

Is that medical smokes Puckoon  ;)
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 06, 2025, 07:09:06 PM
Used to suffer from insomnia and it would mean I could go from grand to pissed in minutes.
Mostly in my 20s but drank far too much.

I enjoy the quiet ones now and avoid sessions.
I do like some NA bit there are some nice low alcohol out now too.
There's a Beavertown 2.8.
Post by: toby47 on May 07, 2025, 09:01:26 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 06, 2025, 07:09:06 PMUsed to suffer from insomnia and it would mean I could go from grand to pissed in minutes.

A few beers have reduced their abv % due to alcohol duty charges. Coors light is now 3.4%, Heverlee went from 4.8% to 4.4% (still high), and a few others have followed suit. We could see this trend continuing.
Post by: lurganblue on May 07, 2025, 09:40:23 AM
Quote from: toby47 on May 07, 2025, 09:01:26 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 06, 2025, 07:09:06 PMUsed to suffer from insomnia and it would mean I could go from grand to pissed in minutes.

A few beers have reduced their abv % due to alcohol duty charges. Coors light is now 3.4%, Heverlee went from 4.8% to 4.4% (still high), and a few others have followed suit. We could see this trend continuing.

I noticed this in the super market the other day too.  Most beers were about 3.4 and 3.8.  Heineken was still 5%.  Is this only for carryouts?  Assume the draft versions of these beers are still above 4?
Post by: toby47 on May 07, 2025, 12:51:52 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 07, 2025, 09:40:23 AM
Quote from: toby47 on May 07, 2025, 09:01:26 AM

I noticed this in the super market the other day too.  Most beers were about 3.4 and 3.8.  Heineken was still 5%.  Is this only for carryouts?  Assume the draft versions of these beers are still above 4?

Yeah draft versions are likely to stay the same. A few of them have dropped in recent years, almost sure Coors went from 4.2% to 4% a few years back.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2025, 02:06:39 PM
I believe Carlsberg Special Brew now at 7.5% instead of the 9% when I were a lad. I can't recall the last time I've seen a can of it in the wild.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 07, 2025, 05:02:25 PM
Was it stella started the trend by reducing? They reduced alcohol content to try and remove the "wifebeater" stigma.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 07, 2025, 05:18:33 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 07, 2025, 05:02:25 PMWas it stella started the trend by reducing? They reduced alcohol content to try and remove the "wifebeater" stigma.

Didn't stop me well
Post by: ziggy90 on May 08, 2025, 09:25:38 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2025, 02:06:39 PMI believe Carlsberg Special Brew now at 7.5% instead of the 9% when I were a lad. I can't recall the last time I've seen a can of it in the wild.

That was wonderful stuff.
Post by: Would ye whist on May 08, 2025, 09:33:18 AM
Saw some lagers when on holiday which were 16%, Christ almighty who could drink that stuff?

Quote from: ziggy90 on May 08, 2025, 09:25:38 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2025, 02:06:39 PMI believe Carlsberg Special Brew now at 7.5% instead of the 9% when I were a lad. I can't recall the last time I've seen a can of it in the wild.

That was wonderful stuff.
Post by: red hander on May 08, 2025, 03:26:54 PM
One thing that will definitely make you rethink your drinking is gout.
Post by: Last Man on May 08, 2025, 03:41:24 PM
Stopped eating garbage about 4 years ago and while I have no idea if there is a connection, over time I am less inclined to want to drink as much as I used to. If I open a bottle of wine with the dinner more often than not it won't be finished(previously unheard of). If I pour a glass of whiskey, 1 maybe 2 will do me. Don't feel short changed at all.
As for the alcohol free stuff, I havent found anything worth the money yet. Its either watery slightly beer flavoured or syruppy sweet almost shandy like.
Post by: illdecide on May 08, 2025, 04:38:53 PM
Not a big drinker but do enjoy 1-2 pints when i get them (once every couple of months). Have to say I enjoy the Guinness 0,0 but i'd say 2 or 3 pints max would do ya. If I didn't get a drink for 6 months wouldn't annoy me either TBH, tea and a few biscuits now is a different matter
Post by: lurganblue on May 08, 2025, 04:50:50 PM
What is the point of alcohol free gin
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 08, 2025, 05:23:59 PM
Quote from: red hander on May 08, 2025, 03:26:54 PMOne thing that will definitely make you rethink your drinking is gout.

I've had gout for years, there are triggers for me, and I've recognised these and generally stay away from them, been a while (physically touch wood) I've been free from attacks, about 1 year now, but whiskey is not a friend of the big toe!

Though I like whisky the odd time, especially at free functions😉

Lurgan, during my yearly month off drink, I've done the whole 0% Gin.. I found it cracking, it's just a sensation rather the hit, and it has a placebo effect, might not be with everyone but found it grand.