GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: samuel maguire on July 18, 2024, 01:42:17 PM

Title: Appealing a red card
Post by: samuel maguire on July 18, 2024, 01:42:17 PM
Hi Lads

Just a quick one. Played in a game recently and was refereed by a new young ref. The game wasn't dirty and we managed to win by 10+ points (even with a red card).
About 10 minutes into the second half i tackled an opposing player and the ref blew for a foul. I couldn't even believe it was a foul for a start and neither could my man (he thought he was done for overcarrying). The ref called me over with the book out and i couldn't believe that not only was he giving a foul against me, but he was gonna give me a yellow card. I gave him my name and pleaded my innocence as ye normally do. Low and behold your man flashes the red and point to the line citing contact with the head. I couldn't believe it and was furious. Everyone was stunned and a few of the opposition players were laughing and joking about it. The first thing my manager and teams on the line said to me was 'what did you say to him' as they assumed i miust have told him where to go (as there was no way the incident warranted a red card).
I huffed and puffed on the line anyways but come the full time whistle i had calmed down and started to see the funny side of it to an extent. I made my way onto the pitch with my manager and shook hands with the players and we made our way over to the ref. Our manager wanted to hear from the ref himself if the red was for descent or for the tackle. The ref confirmed it was for the tackle and i needed a duty of care to look after the opposition player.
I went with the approach of 'come on man there was nothing in it' with a big smile. I asked would he even put it down as 2 yellows so i don't get a suspension. He declined and walked off.

Soooo... just for my own self, how does it work from here. They will give me a 1 game ban. What happens if i appeal it? What are the chances of my appeal being successful?
The game was not video recorded and their was no umpires at the game. I have already got in contact with the opposition player in question and he was sound and said he would be happy to stand up and say there was no violent play, nor was there contact made with the head.
Do i have a chance? I just feel like i shouldn't have to just let this slide, i done nothing wrong. Its frustrating to play and train all year for some clown to turn around and take the opportunity to play away from me.
Title: Re: Appealing a red card
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2024, 01:49:07 PM
Be careful. That clown may be reading this forum ;)

Look whether he made a mistake or not, what he puts down in his report will stand, unless someone can provide video evidence that it didn't happen the way he reported it.

Duty of care is the new thing now, and like rugby its on the 'defender' to tackle safely

One match ban in the league at this stage of the season won't hamper the championship.

Appeal it and its your word against the report, I'm a betting man and you'll get long odds on winning that appeal
Post by: Armagh18 on July 18, 2024, 02:08:15 PM
Some of the refs in Armagh are diabolical and a law onto themselves. If no video probably not much chance of appeal working.
Post by: general_lee on July 18, 2024, 02:22:14 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 18, 2024, 02:08:15 PMSome of the refs in Armagh are diabolical and a law onto themselves. If no video probably not much chance of appeal working.
You can say that again.
Refereeing is a thankless task, but some of them are just egomaniacs who only want to make it all about themselves. Not naming any names (rhymes with farty)
Post by: samuel maguire on July 18, 2024, 02:24:28 PM
Thanks for the response MR2 and Armagh18. I think i will just have to take my medicine on this occasion. There have been a few times when i probally should have got the line and got away with it, so it evens itself out really.
Another one for you MR2.... Do refs ever realise theyve made a mistake but be too far gone to change their mind?
I don't expect them to be perfect but some of the calls are really really poor. Why is this? Are refs vetted and reviewd? Do they receive training?
Post by: Delgany 2nds on July 18, 2024, 03:21:22 PM
In my experience- don't waste your time appealing ...CCC will back ref !
Post by: David McKeown on July 18, 2024, 04:11:50 PM
Done a fair amount of these in my time both representing players and sitting on the appeals board and my honest experience is it really depends. Particularly on things that shouldn't matter like what your history is like, what the refs history is like. What your clubs history is like, who is sitting on the panel, what the impact of the suspension is. If the rules are followed properly then you shouldn't really have a chance of winning but alas my experience is it rarely comes down to the rules and that's pretty much at all levels.
Post by: johnnycool on July 18, 2024, 04:18:52 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2024, 01:49:07 PMBe careful. That clown may be reading this forum ;)

Look whether he made a mistake or not, what he puts down in his report will stand, unless someone can provide video evidence that it didn't happen the way he reported it.

Duty of care is the new thing now, and like rugby its on the 'defender' to tackle safely

One match ban in the league at this stage of the season won't hamper the championship.

Appeal it and its your word against the report, I'm a betting man and you'll get long odds on winning that appeal

That's it in a nutshell.

You need to be sure that the referee made an obvious error, video evidence etc etc.

Sure your suspension would be up by the time the appeal would be heard.
Post by: Delgany 2nds on July 18, 2024, 04:53:47 PM
In my experience- don't waste your time appealing ...CCC will back ref !
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 18, 2024, 06:03:50 PM
Quote from: samuel maguire on July 18, 2024, 02:24:28 PMThanks for the response MR2 and Armagh18. I think i will just have to take my medicine on this occasion. There have been a few times when i probally should have got the line and got away with it, so it evens itself out really.
Another one for you MR2.... Do refs ever realise theyve made a mistake but be too far gone to change their mind?
I don't expect them to be perfect but some of the calls are really really poor. Why is this? Are refs vetted and reviewd? Do they receive training?

Yeah, they make mistakes like everyone else, I'll apologise when I do and I've changed reports on reflection if other information comes to light, I've no issues with that personally, new ref's in Antrim are reviewed assessed and so on st the start.

There was a number of assessors about years ago, not as many now, we have a championship fitness test next week and rules review too.

I think or what I'm noticing now is we aren't retaining ref's in all of the counties, trained up and year later give up on it as it's not easy, but if you get over the initial WTF moments then it's another avenue into staying part of the games.

Well that's my 2 cents worth

Championship coming up so I tend to stay off the Antrim threads, people get a bit titchy  ;D
Post by: imtommygunn on July 18, 2024, 06:05:31 PM
I expect the usual pack are coming for you soon  ;D
Post by: Itchy on July 20, 2024, 09:49:57 AM
Quote from: Delgany 2nds on July 18, 2024, 03:21:22 PMIn my experience- don't waste your time appealing ...CCC will back ref !

In fairness they have to or who would ever be a ref. To the OP you never told us what the first yellow was for? Maybe the ref made a mistake, maybe you are giving us the rose tinted glasses version of the truth. Bottom line it was for a yellow and I doubt even video evidence would be admissible for a yellow card (which only turned to a red because you had a yellow already) - imagine the precedent being set if it was. So basically you will have to suck this one up.
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on July 20, 2024, 10:04:21 AM
Quote from: Itchy on July 20, 2024, 09:49:57 AM
Quote from: Delgany 2nds on July 18, 2024, 03:21:22 PMIn my experience- don't waste your time appealing ...CCC will back ref !

In fairness they have to or who would ever be a ref. To the OP you never told us what the first yellow was for? Maybe the ref made a mistake, maybe you are giving us the rose tinted glasses version of the truth. Bottom line it was for a yellow and I doubt even video evidence would be admissible for a yellow card (which only turned to a red because you had a yellow already) - imagine the precedent being set if it was. So basically you will have to suck this one up.
He may have given us a rose tinted account but you've made up your own wee version of events.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 20, 2024, 10:10:39 AM

Am I reading that wrong? He says it was a straight red not 2 yellows. He wanted the ref to stick it down as 2 yellows to avoid suspension.
Post by: Itchy on July 20, 2024, 02:57:05 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 20, 2024, 10:10:39 AM

Am I reading that wrong? He says it was a straight red not 2 yellows. He wanted the ref to stick it down as 2 yellows to avoid suspension.

Maybe I read it wrong 😆 in eguch case ignore everything I said.
Post by: ONeill on July 20, 2024, 10:53:59 PM
His ban should be doubled after this outburst.