GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2022, 10:57:25 AM

Title: Leinster Senior Football Championship 2022
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2022, 10:57:25 AM
Any point in this?
Are the Dubs as shaky as the League suggested?

Will Kildare peak in May instead of February?

Could Longford pull off a Foinavon?

Should Cork be banned for life or just let Ed Sheeran play Kerry?

For the record here are the fixtures

First Round 24 April 2022

Louth    v    Carlow    Navan    
Laois    v    Wicklow    Aughrim    
Offaly    v    Wexford    Wexford

Quarter Finals

Dublin v Offaly/Wexford 30 Apr 2021 Tullamore/Wexford
Meath v Laois/Wicklow 1 May 2022 Portlaoise/Navan
Kildare v Louth/Carlow 1 May 2022 Navan/Portlaoise/Tullamore
Westmeath v Longford 1 May 2022 Mullingar

The semi finals will be drawn once the 4 teams are known. The semi finals are on 15 May 2022 with the final on the 28th May 2022.
Title: Re: Leinster Senior Football Championship 2022
Post by: Armagh18 on April 01, 2022, 11:09:43 AM
Hopefully the other teams show up for this one this year, has potential to be good! Kildare at least have the psychological edge of beating the Dubs.
Post by: Rossfan on April 01, 2022, 11:16:38 AM
At least this year its not a foregone conclusion (yet).
2010 since Louth won it, Dublin with something like 15 of the last 16....
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2022, 12:36:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 01, 2022, 11:16:38 AM

Dems fighting words to any Meath man
Post by: seafoid on April 01, 2022, 12:42:35 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2022, 10:57:25 AM
Any point in this?

Quarter Finals

The semi finals will be drawn once the 4 teams are known. The semi finals are on 15 May 2022 with the final on the 28th May 2022.
Final 28th May

The hay saved and Cork bet gives an idea of the proper timing for provincial championships
There is SFA hay on 29 May
Post by: laoislad on April 01, 2022, 12:53:09 PM
Any point in this?

Quarter Finals

Longford will do nuthin, who the f**k even are Longford.
Wickla vs Leix in Aughrim... revenge for 1986 on the cards there.
Post by: seafoid on April 01, 2022, 12:59:51 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 01, 2022, 12:53:09 PM
Any point in this?

Quarter Finals

Longford will do nuthin, who the f**k even are Longford.
Wickla vs Leix in Aughrim... revenge for 1986 on the cards there.
How did Laois lose that one with that team ? Dochreidte.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2022, 01:50:29 PM
Laois losing when hot favourites seems to be their thang!
Post by: laoislad on April 01, 2022, 01:59:46 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2022, 01:50:29 PM
Laois losing when hot favourites seems to be their thang!
Ohhh burn!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 05, 2022, 09:50:10 AM
Westmeath v Longford has been rescheduled to Sat 30 April @ 6pm in Mullingar.

Must be for Sky Sports!
Post by: Eire90 on April 09, 2022, 11:59:07 PM
if a team like louth won it would be great for the leinster champiosnhip
Post by: seafoid on April 13, 2022, 02:48:14 PM
When is the last time the LSFC was competitive? Was it when Louth won ?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 19, 2022, 11:54:44 AM
I expect handy wins for Louth and Offaly this weekend.

Wicklow v Laois could be a case of the least worst team will win. Anything could happen here, in fairness.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 19, 2022, 06:08:13 PM
Any Louth fans on here? I'd expect them to come through and take on Kildare. They are a bogey team down the years.
But surely you would expect a team dropping from Division 1 to have too much for them?

I was much more hopeful about Kildare rattling Dublin but I am wary of a big backlash. Never mind Leinster, they still have a lot of class players if they get their stuff together.

Post by: Hound on April 20, 2022, 08:20:03 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on April 19, 2022, 06:08:13 PM
Any Louth fans on here? I'd expect them to come through and take on Kildare. They are a bogey team down the years.
But surely you would expect a team dropping from Division 1 to have too much for them?

I was much more hopeful about Kildare rattling Dublin but I am wary of a big backlash. Never mind Leinster, they still have a lot of class players if they get their stuff together.
Louth should be a good stepping stone for Kildare. A good competitive game. The danger with Kildare is if they have too much of an eye on the Dubs and mess up against Louth.
Post by: Muck Savage on April 22, 2022, 12:52:19 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 19, 2022, 11:54:44 AM
I expect handy wins for Louth and Offaly this weekend.

Wicklow v Laois could be a case of the least worst team will win. Anything could happen here, in fairness.

Wexford in Wexford is a tough fixture. If Offaly can get out with a win at all we'd take it. The U20's loosing tonight will make Pendar and O'Neill available which is good for the weekend. Winners prize is a 6 day turnaround to face the Dubs!

Louth should win handy, hard to see Laois getting beat but they have been muck the last few months after celebrating the O'Byrne cup run.
Post by: The Biff on April 22, 2022, 05:35:18 PM
Agreed that beating Wexford on their own patch is not a given.  I'm hoping that Offaly will have bottled the hurt of the League Relegation and use that as motivation for a decent Championship run.  Our best performance should beat Wexford's potential best, but it has to be made materialise.  Looking forward to a good game in good weather.
Post by: full moon on April 24, 2022, 04:46:17 PM
Bad result for Offaly losing to Wexford. From what I came across of Wexford in Division 4 they weren't that great but good win for them.

Wicklow hammering Laois at the minute, another shock of sorts. Laois are really gone downhill now. I wonder is rise of Laois hurling harming football in the county. I don't think Westmeath, Offaly or Laois have the population to compete at a high level in both codes.
Post by: Laoiseabu on April 24, 2022, 08:13:32 PM
Quote from: full moon on April 24, 2022, 04:46:17 PM
Bad result for Offaly losing to Wexford. From what I came across of Wexford in Division 4 they weren't that great but good win for them.

Wicklow hammering Laois at the minute, another shock of sorts. Laois are really gone downhill now. I wonder is rise of Laois hurling harming football in the county. I don't think Westmeath, Offaly or Laois have the population to compete at a high level in both codes.

Since when did Laois hurling rise ???
Post by: Hound on April 24, 2022, 08:33:42 PM
Seems like Offaly were missing a few important players.

Good performances from Louth and Wicklow.
Post by: thejuice on April 25, 2022, 07:55:22 AM
In 2020 we beat Wicklow 7-14 to 0-07. Next weekend's game will be a good measure of our trajectories since then. Laois seem to have really regressed so Wicklows win might need to be taken with a pinch of salt. That said we are vulnerable at the moment and have lost a lot of momentum after 2019. It's pretty much accepted within Meath that Andy is in his final year baring a Leinster title win or getting to a quarter final and the taking a big scalp along the way.

So the mood of apathy might seep into the team's mindset and if things go against us against Wicklow a capitulation is not impossible.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 25, 2022, 12:40:41 PM
Well, Wexford floored me. A great win over Offaly. Ben Brosan man of the match. Fair play to him. He's tormented Longford often enough.

I was correct in saying anything could happen in Wicklow v Laois. But I did expect Laois to prevail. The scoreline was hurling-esque.

Louth weren't happy with the 15 point win. C'mon lads.

A good weekend ahead lads.

Can we expect any surprises? I'm not.
Post by: thejuice on April 25, 2022, 01:35:47 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 01, 2022, 12:36:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 01, 2022, 11:16:38 AM

Dems fighting words to any Meath man

I wouldn't dispute that to be honest. It wasn't a goal. Simple as that. Anyway, moving on...

I don't think there will be any surprises but Louth will give Kildare a stern test and might cause an upset.

Meath vs Wicklow could be a banana skin though apart from his first two years Andy usually has the lads well prepared for championship and we're at home so I think we'll have enough to see it out.

Longford-Westmeath could go either way. Not sure of either trans form.

Wexford will destroy Dublin at home of course. Dessie to do a runner at half time.
Post by: seafoid on April 25, 2022, 06:01:05 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on April 24, 2022, 08:13:32 PM
Quote from: full moon on April 24, 2022, 04:46:17 PM

Since when did Laois hurling rise ???
Is it all ground hurling ?
Post by: Hound on April 30, 2022, 07:23:31 PM
Odd for Wexford to choose to play against the wind in the first half.

Dubs in need of a confidence boost and giving us all our kickouts and letting us play with the wind has helped. Only 3-1 after 15 mins. Dubs then got going and lead 10-1 at HT.

We'll see if Wex can up their performance in the second half.
Post by: seafoid on April 30, 2022, 07:33:53 PM
Longford only 6 behind now
Post by: trailer on April 30, 2022, 07:36:33 PM
Waste of time.
Post by: Hound on April 30, 2022, 07:56:11 PM
It's a pity Offaly were crucified with injuries

Wexford out of their depth here. Nearly as bad as some of the Leinster hurling championship mismatches last week.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 30, 2022, 07:57:37 PM
In the first half there were actual gaps to be ran into and they seemed to be pre-conditioned to stop and play lateral.
Then Con's goal came from a woeful handpass. Wexford were their own worst enemies at times.
The Dubs won't know where they are really after that.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 30, 2022, 08:05:20 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on April 30, 2022, 07:57:37 PM
In the first half there were actual gaps to be ran into and they seemed to be pre-conditioned to stop and play lateral.
Then Con's goal came from a woeful handpass. Wexford were their own worst enemies at times.
The Dubs won't know where they are really after that.

Dublin know exactly where they are!
Post by: Main Street on April 30, 2022, 08:08:58 PM
It's a poor sign for Wexford when increasing their wide stats was seen as a positive by the commentary.

Good to see the Dublin players take their time and mingle with the supporters.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 30, 2022, 08:10:02 PM
True in fairness. I am being optimistic that Kildare will face them soon, but I do worry about them coming again.
Like Con O'Callaghan changes so much for them.
Post by: Hound on May 01, 2022, 06:18:23 PM
Seems like Kildare were very good v Louth today

Meath not so good v Wicklow, but comfortable winners.

Hoping the draw tonight pits Dubs v Meath and Kildare v Westmeath.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 01, 2022, 07:27:34 PM
Bad sign to see Louth, Wicklow, Wexford, Laois, Longford and Carlow all being hammered.

Did I leave anyone out?
Post by: twohands!!! on May 01, 2022, 08:11:57 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 01, 2022, 07:27:34 PM
Bad sign to see Louth, Wicklow, Wexford, Laois, Longford and Carlow all being hammered.

Did I leave anyone out?

Wexford and Carlow both in Division 4.
Laois and Wicklow both relegated to Division 4 while Longford avoided relegation to Division 4 on scoring difference.
Louth getting a look at what it's like to come up against a side who were playing in Division 1 this year.
Offaly's (relegated to Division 3) loss to Wexford looks even worse in light of the result against Dublin.
Post by: seafoid on May 01, 2022, 08:50:47 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 01, 2022, 07:27:34 PM

Did I leave anyone out?
It's a sign that the flourbags and Ryles franchises are increasing in value after years of underperformance.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 01, 2022, 10:32:09 PM
Double-header for the semis in Dublin's home ground Croke Park more than likely.
Post by: Mayo Border on May 01, 2022, 11:04:45 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 01, 2022, 10:32:09 PM
Double-header for the semis in Dublin's home ground Croke Park more than likely.
Newbridge or Nowhere and
Parc Tailtean or nowhere
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 01, 2022, 11:29:43 PM
Westmeath v Kildare
Meath v Dublin

Hope semis are out of Croke Park
Post by: Gael85 on May 02, 2022, 12:11:38 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 01, 2022, 11:29:43 PM
Westmeath v Kildare
Meath v Dublin

Hope semis are out of Croke Park

I would be thinking games will be Tullamore or Portlaoise
Post by: Gael80 on May 02, 2022, 06:17:31 AM
I'm sure it wouldn't of made a big difference to who won, but is there a reason Louth had to play Kildare a week after a big championship win? I found the schedule a bit unfair, and I'm sure it had an impact on the margin of victory.
Post by: thejuice on May 02, 2022, 07:20:06 AM
I think there's a realistic chance we can overturn Dublin. I don't think one win over Wexford means they've suddenly turned a corner. I know they have some players back from injury but they are not the force they once were. It's Andy's last shot at them most likely barring a Leinster title and he'll be fully committed to it!
Post by: seafoid on May 02, 2022, 07:35:37 AM
Leinster is a bit like the Super 8s were. There weren't 8 super teams in the Super 8s and there aren't 4 decent teams in Leinster.
The GAA ignored its garden for too long.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 02, 2022, 12:05:09 PM
As someone who was on the terrace yesterday for Kildare v Offaly in a spot that has one stand and then shared a train with a large number of Kildare fans living in North Kildare who then had to travel back into Dublin to get another train or bus home...I am not massively keen on the romance of the county grounds.

It's mostly based on the Dubs on tour and the craic they bring but in reality for Kildare v Westmeath it'll hardly be a full house anywhere.
Post by: Gael85 on May 02, 2022, 12:44:12 PM
Both semi finals fixed for Croke Park
Post by: Rossfan on May 02, 2022, 12:47:48 PM
As usual ::)
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 02, 2022, 01:17:56 PM
Well I did tell ye last night. 8)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 02, 2022, 01:44:53 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on May 02, 2022, 12:44:12 PM
Both semi finals fixed for Croke Park
Home game for the Dubs again
Charge an extra €10 in too
Post by: yellowcard on May 02, 2022, 01:54:08 PM
Kildare look in good shape after destroying Louth yesterday and on the back of a decent League campaign even though they were unluckily relegated. After last nights draw I'd expect a Kildare v Dublin final and perhaps Kildare can give the Dubs a rattle this year. They have the best forward line they've had now for a long time.

Post by: rodney trotter on May 02, 2022, 02:21:11 PM
They have a good team and a good management in place. Kildare went with a lot of outside managers  McGeeney,Jason Ryan, Jack O Connor.

Glen Ryan , Dermot Early  Anthony Rainbow and Johnny Doyle were top players,which would give young Kikdare players a lift

Post by: Cunny Funt on May 02, 2022, 02:51:14 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 02, 2022, 01:54:08 PM
Kildare look in good shape after destroying Louth yesterday and on the back of a decent League campaign even though they were unluckily relegated. After last nights draw I'd expect a Kildare v Dublin final and perhaps Kildare can give the Dubs a rattle this year. They have the best forward line they've had now for a long time.

Will they be good enough defensively to rattle the Dubs if that's the final? Conceded 2-20 to Mayo in their final and must win league game. Mayo haven't scored close to that total in other games this year.
Post by: yellowcard on May 02, 2022, 04:35:25 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 02, 2022, 02:51:14 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 02, 2022, 01:54:08 PM

Will they be good enough defensively to rattle the Dubs if that's the final? Conceded 2-20 to Mayo in their final and must win league game. Mayo haven't scored close to that total in other games this year.

I'm not sure if they are actually capable of beating the Dubs but they are at least capable of being competitive and having a go. Last year they waved the white flag before the game had started by setting up to simply keep the score down. I think they will at least have a cut at it this year.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 02, 2022, 04:50:35 PM
One journalist has stated this will be Dublins 26th year in a row to have home advantage for the Leinster semi final.

The last Leinster football semi final double header in Croke Park pre-covid in 2019 Dublin v Kildare and Meath v Laois had attendance of 36,000.

If these two upcoming two semi finals was played in O'Moore Park/O'Connor Park they could easily cater the expected crowd and with a likely better atmosphere.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 02, 2022, 04:50:45 PM
I'm very wary of a Dubs backlash IF we get to the Final but we have speed and strength all over the field.
Our fitness levels look much better and we have a manager who clearly thinks his players shouldn't just lie down in front of the Dubs.
Still, being from Kildare I also expect some disaster lurking v Westmeath!
We should have too much for them all the same
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 02, 2022, 04:51:52 PM
Oh and for what it's worth I'd be happy to have been going to Mullingar.
Post by: Hound on May 02, 2022, 10:04:07 PM
I was personally hoping for Nowlan Park, as I like the ground. But no surprise the Leinster Council put money as the main driver.

Probably not a bad thing for Kildare to play in Croker, assuming they can take care of Westmeath. But I presume Meath would have preferred anywhere else.
Post by: thejuice on May 08, 2022, 10:21:23 PM
Happy to play Dublin anywhere. Just annoyed it won't be televised as I'm don't live in Ireland so will have to resort to LMFM for the biggest game of the year for us. I think we'll have a really good cut at Dublin as I said before, this is Andy's last shot at Dublin who are his (and our) white whale.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 09, 2022, 08:55:12 PM
The two semi finals will be live on GAAGO

https://www.gaago.ie/fixture/PC10-22-F-LSF1
https://www.gaago.ie/fixture/PC10-22-F-LSF2
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 15, 2022, 09:31:39 AM
Hope Meath rattle the Dubs, but think it's a 6 point win for the Dubs.
I reckon Kildare will be flying today and hopefully come out by 6 or more too.
We have had no luck with the weather so a dry ball in Croke Park will be a really good prospect.
Glenn and the lads have built a panel and the fitness levels seem up too.
Post by: Gael85 on May 15, 2022, 10:29:58 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 15, 2022, 09:31:39 AM
Hope Meath rattle the Dubs, but think it's a 6 point win for the Dubs.
I reckon Kildare will be flying today and hopefully come out by 6 or more too.
We have had no luck with the weather so a dry ball in Croke Park will be a really good prospect.
Glenn and the lads have built a panel and the fitness levels seem up too.

I think Dublin will struggle today. David Byrne and McDaid out for the season. Would fancy Kildare for Leinster now.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 15, 2022, 11:21:33 AM
Ah I have a really bad feeling the Dubs are just going to click from a player-led thing. But, that could be just historic trauma!!
Post by: Blowitupref on May 15, 2022, 03:52:50 PM
Kildare 1-21 Westmeath 2-15 result..

Half time in the other semi final. All too easy for the Dubs. Meath 0-5 Dublin 1-17.

Result Dublin 1-27 Meath 1-14.
Post by: full moon on May 15, 2022, 05:24:48 PM
Ridiculous scoreline in Dublin Meath match, in empty Croke Park. Leinster football in a bad place. As for Dublin, they haven't gone away you know! No county that is funded that much and with demographic advantage was going anywhere. It's a shame though that people have long since stop bothering with Leinster championship, GAA and Leinster council have failed the province. Barely a tweet about these games.

You'd hope Kildare can put it up to them but judging by both scorelines today, unlikely.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2022, 05:48:31 PM
In Leinster last year Dublin showed they would be taken out in the All-Ireland series. Two games thus far they are showing signs that they have found their mojo again.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 15, 2022, 05:50:53 PM
Written off very quickly. For me one of two teams who could win it...
Post by: Eire90 on May 15, 2022, 05:59:54 PM
Dublin are  just doing their business in the background quietly
Post by: clarshack on May 15, 2022, 06:40:40 PM
If Dublin are to be beaten this year it will be by Kerry and very narrowly.
Post by: Hound on May 15, 2022, 08:11:26 PM
I didn't see the attendance figures on the big screen, but must be close to 40,000 there.  Not too bad for two fixtures with two very warm favourites.

Dubs were excellent in the first half. Ridiculous score of 1-17 out of 19 scoring chances.
Obviously caveated with Meath not being good.

Second half was actually an even affair, but can't read much into that.

Kildare looked good from an attacking viewpoint, but mediocre defensively. Of course Dubs are no great shakes defensively either. Leinster final should be interesting.
Post by: thejuice on May 15, 2022, 09:35:57 PM
Another year another drubbing. Once again left scratching our heads why we aren't closing the gap. Obviously Andy will leave after this year but I don't see any obvious contenders inside or outside the county that can turn around our fortunes. That said we have won a recent minor all Ireland win so hopefully we are an attractive proposition for an outside manager.

We are back to where we started when Andy took over, permanently stuck in Division 2. Able to hammer minnows but can't threaten the top 8. Promising young prospects like Costello, Morris, Conlon Jones and Walsh haven't progressed after good first years. They seem to have plateaued at senior level.

To see the likes of Derry move up the ranks so quickly makes it all the more jarring. It's not like we haven't poured time, money and a lot of energy into Meath football. It's not for lack of trying but for some reason when it comes to the championship we are as limp as a wet rag.

I think our next manager needs to be from outside the county with a good sense of modern football and training standards. Same with coaches and selectors.

For all the good that is said about Colm Nally as a coach and Niall Ronan bringing professional experience to S&C we haven't kept up with the top teams in either department it seems. We seem well able to run up a score against Carlow and Wicklow and the difference in coaching and S&C is obvious then but we seem to be so many paces behind Dublin it's bewildering.

All that being said we aren't boxing to our weight and if we have one thing is it's potential given the number of clubs, tradition and commitment within the county. With the right man in charge and a bit of work I think we can get ourselves a permanent spot at the top table at the very least.
Post by: Rossfan on May 15, 2022, 10:18:41 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 15, 2022, 08:11:26 PM
I didn't see the attendance figures on the big screen, but must be close to 40,000 there.
Post by: full moon on May 15, 2022, 10:41:31 PM
Why was Jordan Morris sent off for just pushing Gannon the Dublin player? Extremely harsh.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on May 15, 2022, 10:44:51 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 15, 2022, 08:11:26 PM
I didn't see the attendance figures on the big screen, but must be close to 40,000 there.  Not too bad for two fixtures with two very warm favourites.

Dubs were excellent in the first half. Ridiculous score of 1-17 out of 19 scoring chances.
Obviously caveated with Meath not being good.

Second half was actually an even affair, but can't read much into that.

Kildare looked good from an attacking viewpoint, but mediocre defensively. Of course Dubs are no great shakes defensively either. Leinster final should be interesting.

The big screen gave an attendance figure of something over 38,000.

Very good performance from the Dubs today and their hit rate from shots was phenomenal. It has to be said of course that Meath were very poor today.
Post by: thejuice on May 16, 2022, 05:38:58 AM
Quote from: full moon on May 15, 2022, 10:41:31 PM
Why was Jordan Morris sent off for just pushing Gannon the Dublin player? Extremely harsh.

Thought both sending offs were harsh but obviously meant nothing on the day but will hurt us in the qualifiers.
Post by: Hound on May 16, 2022, 08:13:46 AM
Quote from: full moon on May 15, 2022, 10:41:31 PM
Ridiculous and pointless act by Morris. Completely off the ball and right under the nose of the linesman.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 16, 2022, 10:55:15 AM
No clue where Kildare are. Like I was never worried we would lose but we conceded a lot and were very open down the middle. That is something we have not got a handle on all year. There is no defensive shape.

Dublin leaked a bit too in fairness and I do think our forwards could cause them trouble and neither defence is really up to it these days.

It should be good for the neutrals and can see a big scoreline.
Post by: full moon on May 16, 2022, 11:55:07 AM
Interesting from Moyles here, how can an 82,000 seater stadium that isn't even half full have no hot food? It cost him 90 quid to go with his 2 kids, what a rip off and there isn't even food available? What sort of circus are the GAA running in Croke Park and it never should have been there in the first place. Disgraceful.

https://youtu.be/wPAvtFJXacY
Post by: Hound on May 16, 2022, 10:49:38 PM
Quote from: full moon on May 16, 2022, 11:55:07 AM
Interesting from Moyles here, how can an 82,000 seater stadium that isn't even half full have no hot food? It cost him 90 quid to go with his 2 kids, what a rip off and there isn't even food available? What sort of circus are the GAA running in Croke Park and it never should have been there in the first place. Disgraceful.

He chose to pay 30 quid for central Hogan tickets for his two kids. He could have got 5 quid tickets in the Cusack (probably not central) or Davin.

Seems like all the Kildare and Westmeath lads cleaned the place out of hot dogs! Only chips available by the time Moyles got there!

Gerry Thornley was on newstalk a few weeks ago saying how the catering facilities in Croker were miles ahead of the Aviva. I was thinking then that he can't have been in Croker too often.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 17, 2022, 01:08:25 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 16, 2022, 10:49:38 PM
Quote from: full moon on May 16, 2022, 11:55:07 AM

He chose to pay 30 quid for central Hogan tickets for his two kids. He could have got 5 quid tickets in the Cusack (probably not central) or Davin.

Seems like all the Kildare and Westmeath lads cleaned the place out of hot dogs! Only chips available by the time Moyles got there!

Gerry Thornley was on newstalk a few weeks ago saying how the catering facilities in Croker were miles ahead of the Aviva. I was thinking then that he can't have been in Croker too often.

Where he chose to sit isn't the point. He paid a bit more for better seats, but why are kids tickets only in one stand? This is gouging, plain and simple. 30k for a Leinster semi finaldouble header is meh, but kids tickets should have been free. There was zero advertising I saw either.

His point is unfortunately correct. Croker simply isn't a good day out compared to the other options in Dublin in terms of entertainment on or off the pitch and value for money. And that is down to poor and lazy decisions in D3. No hot food? And that's not an unusual situation. You simply won't have that problem in LR or the RDS.

They are turning people away from most LoI grounds at the moment. For reasons nobody really understands fans have flocked post Covid. The Irish teams crowds are way up. Rugby are doing great spectator wise across the pro teams. The GAA are only selling kids tickets in 1 stand and can't organise ice-cream and hot food for the Leinster Seni Finals. Time to pull up the socks and fix the bits that you can fix before people start going to the rugby instead.
Post by: Hound on May 17, 2022, 08:03:39 AM
A Joe Brolly style contribution. You think you have a good point, and you stick in a load of lies to try and exaggerate it, and instead it turns your post into a steaming pile 😂😂😂😂
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 17, 2022, 09:40:50 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 17, 2022, 08:03:39 AM
A Joe Brolly style contribution. You think you have a good point, and you stick in a load of lies to try and exaggerate it, and instead it turns your post into a steaming pile 😂😂😂😂

Feel free to highlight the lies?
Post by: full moon on May 17, 2022, 11:29:21 AM
Turning people away from most LOI grounds? Lol come on. Most LOI grounds have hundreds in attendance outside the bigger clubs doing well.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 17, 2022, 02:08:59 PM
Quote from: full moon on May 17, 2022, 11:29:21 AM
Turning people away from most LOI grounds? Lol come on. Most LOI grounds have hundreds in attendance outside the bigger clubs doing well.

Keep up. Things have changed
Post by: seafoid on May 17, 2022, 02:26:27 PM
Leinster football is still suffering.
Post by: shark on May 17, 2022, 03:13:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 17, 2022, 02:26:27 PM
Leinster football is still suffering.

The Leinster senior intercounty football championship is suffering. What's that, 10 games of football a year?
There is a big world outside of those 10 games.
Post by: full moon on May 18, 2022, 11:03:16 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 17, 2022, 02:08:59 PM

Eh? You're talking shite about people turned away from LOI grounds and you've been called out and you have nothing to back it up.

Look at RTE headline this morning 10 arrested for match fixing in League of Ireland! Things haven't changed much obviously then so.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 19, 2022, 05:55:18 PM
Quote from: full moon on May 18, 2022, 11:03:16 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 17, 2022, 02:08:59 PM

Eh? You're talking shite about people turned away from LOI grounds and you've been called out and you have nothing to back it up.

Look at RTE headline this morning 10 arrested for match fixing in League of Ireland! Things haven't changed much obviously then so.

I'm not though. Nearly every game is sold out. The point being other sports are seeing a spike in crowds post covid. The GAA are not and it's fair to ask why.
Post by: Hound on May 19, 2022, 10:21:34 PM
Nearly every game sold out 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 20, 2022, 11:09:26 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 19, 2022, 10:21:34 PM

Not that I care, but are you unaware soccer has seen a huge crowd increase post Covid or just playing the thick?
Post by: Tubberman on May 20, 2022, 11:49:37 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 20, 2022, 11:09:26 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 19, 2022, 10:21:34 PM

Not that I care, but are you unaware soccer has seen a huge crowd increase post Covid or just playing the thick?

You're talking shite.  Tallaght stadium capacity is 8k and the average attendance for  Rovers game in 2022 is 5k. They're by far the best supported team.

SHAMROCK ROVERS
The Hoops finished 2019 with the highest average attendance (3,445) and have continued apace in 2022 with an average so far of 5,318.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on May 24, 2022, 08:08:22 PM
It seems that there isn't a lot of money being wagered by Kildare supporters on their team. Paddy Power is offering the following odds: Dublin 1/7 Kildare 11/2.
Post by: Hound on May 24, 2022, 08:52:56 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on May 24, 2022, 08:08:22 PM
It seems that there isn't a lot of money being wagered by Kildare supporters on their team. Paddy Power is offering the following odds: Dublin 1/7 Kildare 11/2.
Well Wexford and Meath couldn't have made Dublin look better! No pressure on shooters, no pressure on defence.

Best for Dublin would be to come through a really tough game. With the objective being Sam, I'd honestly prefer to lose, than to win by 10-12 points, as we'd learn nothing from the latter, and we definitely have things to learn.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on May 24, 2022, 09:09:19 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 24, 2022, 08:52:56 PM
Well Wexford and Meath couldn't have made Dublin look better! No pressure on shooters, no pressure on defence.

Best for Dublin would be to come through a really tough game. With the objective being Sam, I'd honestly prefer to lose, than to win by 10-12 points, as we'd learn nothing from the latter, and we definitely have things to learn.

No, I'd settle for a big win - after a really tough game  ;)
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 24, 2022, 09:14:42 PM
Kildare just can't be trusted. Like we shipped and missed goals the last day.
Like both teams are not great at the back so it depends on who can limit damage more.
I don't see it 10-12 points as there is a major attitude change since last year.
Our lack of goals is killing us all year, but if they get an early one then we'll see.
Fitness levels seem better too.

Post by: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2022, 09:26:02 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 24, 2022, 08:52:56 PM
It seems that there isn’t a lot of money being wagered by Kildare supporters on their team. Paddy Power is offering the following odds: Dublin 1/7 Kildare 11/2.
Well Wexford and Meath couldn’t have made Dublin look better! No pressure on shooters, no pressure on defence.

Best for Dublin would be to come through a really tough game. With the objective being Sam, I’d honestly prefer to lose, than to win by 10-12 points, as we’d learn nothing from the latter, and we definitely have things to learn.

Last year i highlighted on here that Dublin was in bother. Less than convincing against Wexford where a mere 0-15 was scored and kept a mediocre Meath in the game until injury time, in that form it was of no surprise Dublin was eventually taken out by the first decent team they played.

As for Dublin right now league relegation seems to be a blessing in disguise they seem fitter and more prepared for this championship. Dublin overcame Wexford and Meath in ruthless fashion. On Saturday they should be beating Kildare by a minimal 8 points and come the end of this championship it will be either Dublin or the team that beats them that will win Sam.
Post by: mup on May 26, 2022, 11:58:27 AM
I can't see anything but a Dublin win. Kildare wide open at the back and Dublins experience and know how to make the most of it. I expect a high scoring game.

But i'll live in hope watching from my local shouting and roaring.
Post by: Hound on May 28, 2022, 06:36:16 AM
Just one change (at left corner back) for Kildare:

1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)
2. Mick O'Grady (Celbridge), 3. Shea Ryan (Sarsfields), 4. Ryan Houlihan (Moorefield)
5. Tony Archbold (Celbridge), 6. James Murray (Moorefield), 7. Kevin Flynn (Celbridge)
8. Kevin Feely (Athy), 9. Kevin O'Callaghan (Celbridge)
10. Alex Beirne (Naas), 11. Ben McCormack (Sarsfields), 12. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)
13. Darragh Kirwan (Naas), 14. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge), 15. Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague)
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 28, 2022, 12:50:32 PM
I was at a thing back home last night and we were all very chirpy about today, bar one lad. Then we started looking at it through a less optimistic lens.

We chatted through match-ups and we need our lads to play out of their skin to be in with a shout and you just don't know what you will get. Our full-back line is solid and Houlihan is a massive boost but the half backs are very slack and there are other problem areas too.

I am now very worried that we will lose by 10!
Post by: imtommygunn on May 28, 2022, 04:55:16 PM
We have high hopes for this game Joanne cantwell says. I think Dublin might put ten plus points on them. Hope I am wrong.
Post by: Gael85 on May 28, 2022, 04:58:05 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 28, 2022, 12:50:32 PM
I was at a thing back home last night and we were all very chirpy about today, bar one lad. Then we started looking at it through a less optimistic lens.

We chatted through match-ups and we need our lads to play out of their skin to be in with a shout and you just don't know what you will get. Our full-back line is solid and Houlihan is a massive boost but the half backs are very slack and there are other problem areas too.

I am now very worried that we will lose by 10!

Dublin full back line will struggle against Kildare inside line.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 28, 2022, 05:09:23 PM
 :(
Post by: clarshack on May 28, 2022, 05:12:10 PM
Game over. You can't give Dublin a head start like that.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 28, 2022, 05:15:45 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 28, 2022, 04:55:16 PM
We have high hopes for this game Joanne cantwell says. I think Dublin might put ten plus points on them. Hope I am wrong.

She and her panel of experts was trying their best to talk up the contest. The writing was on the wall, Dublin have found their mojo again while Kildare came into this game having conceded 2-15 to a mid table Division three team.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 28, 2022, 05:18:44 PM
Not many will beat this Dublin team. Not convinced anyone will.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 28, 2022, 05:22:55 PM
A 4th Dublin goal after just 20 mins. Kildare are defending like a poor Div 4 team.
Post by: weareros on May 28, 2022, 05:23:15 PM
The Jacks are Back!
Post by: 5times5times on May 28, 2022, 05:26:06 PM
Can we just scrap the Leinster & Munster championships? Joke that in 2022, Kerry and Dub play nobody until they get to QF stage...
Post by: imtommygunn on May 28, 2022, 05:28:48 PM
That may stand up in Munster but this was a division one side.

This is bad  :o
Post by: Blowitupref on May 28, 2022, 05:29:37 PM
A 5th Dublin. Just walking through with not a glove laid on them.   Half time Dublin 5-7 Kildare 0-6
Post by: An Watcher on May 28, 2022, 05:42:59 PM
Could leinster n munster be merged to at least make things competitive
Post by: Eire90 on May 28, 2022, 05:52:04 PM
ive thought of the idea of merging Munster and Connacht before
Post by: Eire90 on May 28, 2022, 05:55:32 PM
should gaa bring in a mercy rule
Post by: befair on May 28, 2022, 05:59:13 PM
Kildare look out of their depth; huge gulf between the teams, and home advantage and the big pitch make it even worse
Post by: Eire90 on May 28, 2022, 06:02:42 PM
is their a case to be made of taking future lienster finals  out of croke park based attendances what have the attendances been last 5 years.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 28, 2022, 06:12:19 PM
Some fight from Kildare in this 2nd half at least. Dublin 5-10 Kildare 1-10 50 mins played.
Post by: Kidder81 on May 28, 2022, 06:12:35 PM
Daniel Flynn soloing the ball there and he's showing "great passion" according to Marty Morrisey. He really is just mailing it in at this stage
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 28, 2022, 06:22:57 PM
They been Div 1one year and are straight bck down again.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 28, 2022, 06:23:20 PM
Only thing is Dublin are down too
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 28, 2022, 06:33:38 PM
Dublin not be far, away, reality is they been beat only 3 times Since 2010. That's a ridiculous stat. Mayo 2012, Donegal 2014, Mayo 2021, Kerry and Tyrone both won All-Irelands without having to play them.At least Donegal beat them once, though not the Yr they won.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 28, 2022, 06:36:28 PM
Full time Dublin 5-17 Kildare 1-15
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 28, 2022, 06:37:10 PM
Commentator, Kildare won the 2nd Half!! Oh f**k off.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 28, 2022, 06:58:58 PM
What is the draw this year, Tyrone lined up against Kerry, Dublin v Mayo last Yr. Straight knock out at the time, who once they win their quarter would Dublin be going against. Ulster or Munster?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 28, 2022, 07:10:45 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 28, 2022, 06:58:58 PM
What is the draw this year, Tyrone lined up against Kerry, Dublin v Mayo last Yr. Straight knock out at the time, who once they win their quarter would Dublin be going against. Ulster or Munster?

Dublin v Kerry in the All Ireland semi final if they win their quarter finals. The quarter final could be against Tyrone,Mayo.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 28, 2022, 11:36:07 PM
The inevitable Kerry Dublin semifinal should be a dinger.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on May 29, 2022, 12:20:27 PM
Well done Kildare on turning up and giving Dublin a good challenge match

It's nearly at the stage where they should be paid a pittance to train all year and give Dublin a test
Post by: thejuice on May 29, 2022, 03:53:38 PM
Leinster football is going the way of Connacht hurling. Sad to see but to be honest don't know what we can do at this stage. Abolishing the provinces won't stop Dublin waltzing through the rest of the competition most years by the looks of it.
Post by: Gael85 on May 29, 2022, 07:37:08 PM
Fair play to Glenn Ryan and Kildare team who donated to the Sean Drummond fund.
Post by: Ed Ricketts on May 30, 2022, 12:29:03 AM
Quote from: Kidder81 on May 28, 2022, 06:12:35 PM
Daniel Flynn soloing the ball there and he's showing "great passion" according to Marty Morrisey. He really is just mailing it in at this stage

At one stage near the end of the first half Fitzmaurice took about 10 or 15 seconds to give a bit of detail on a past encounter with one of the Kildare wing forwards from school level football. Good 'colour' commentary stuff.

Morrissey's response to this display of knowledge depth and general interest in the men they were being paid to talk about was to sneer and guffaw at the idea that any of what was said was relevant or of interest to the viewers.

The robotic cliché bingo is one thing, but actively discouraging any sort of effort from colleagues is something else.
Post by: Eire90 on May 31, 2022, 12:46:24 AM
dont know what price dublin were but kerry were 1/100 can anyone think of any other sport where a team is 1/100 in what is describe as final.
Post by: seafoid on May 31, 2022, 06:15:22 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 29, 2022, 03:53:38 PM
Leinster football is going the way of Connacht hurling. Sad to see but to be honest don't know what we can do at this stage. Abolishing the provinces won't stop Dublin waltzing through the rest of the competition most years by the looks of it.

It's awful. Dublin dominate because of population and money. The 6 nations has a similar risk with England and France.  The risk is mitigated by sharing TV money equally.
The Leinster football situation is a major challenge to amateurish.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 31, 2022, 06:31:17 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 31, 2022, 06:15:22 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 29, 2022, 03:53:38 PM

It's awful. Dublin dominate because of population and money. The 6 nations has a similar risk with England and France. The risk is mitigated by sharing TV money equally.
The Leinster football situation is a major challenge to amateurish.

This has already happened in the Womens game.
Post by: seafoid on May 31, 2022, 09:32:51 AM
The GAA have shot themselves in the foot. Cork are going through a weak phase so Munster has no competition. This would be manageable if Leinster was healthy but it is very unwell.
So Neither Kerry nor Dublin get a decent test. That means just 2 provinces are competitive  and they are due to meet each other in the semis.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 31, 2022, 11:48:34 AM
Meath and, Kildare have fair big populations too, what's their excuse.