Following on from the ginger thread (full of blonde players), I'm looking for outrageous hairstyles. You could probably pick an entire Tyrone team from the '80's and get 15 mullets but there'd be no fun in that. Someone start me off with a keeper. The bigger the hair the better!
sorry il start at corner forward - Anthony 'Larry' Finnerty at his prime in 89. oho what a perm he had.
Yeah Finnertys a shoe-in. Willie Joe will complete the Mayo representation at centre-forward. Unless we include Liam McHales "do" from the late '80's as well. It had a definite hint of "business up front, party behind" about it.
Bubbles McNeill (Monaghan) - mid 80's goalie
Yea Finnerty and willie joe have to be in it and i suppose that kinda mullet that mchale had going around 1989.
Cant forget Ciarian Mc and Conner Mort-and mayo lads do ye remember john casey around the u21 final in 1995 i think......mayo have had more than their fair share of dodgy hair doo's 8)
What about the bomber Liston with the whole big hair and beard combo and Gratham Gerathathy and Brendan Ger O'Sullivan have had plenty of different things goin on through the years!
Plunkett Doneghy
Plunkett is the captain and spiritual leader. John Lynch has to get a corner back spot too. Jesus, Tyrone were worse than Whitesnake back in those days. ;D
interesting always wanted to know how Francie would fare against Geraghty
Dont forget Bob Mc Nally as well. the only man whos hair was always right was Mc cabe.
Ah i forgot your man from donegal....is it McGuinness is it ????
Played in midfield and i thing used to play for T.I.T as well....looked like a head banger with the long black hair
So far we have,
1. Bubbles McNeill (Never saw him but quality nickname)
2. John Lynch
3. David Lyons
7. Colm Parkinson
8. Liam McHale
9. Jimmy McGuinness (Donegal)
10. Plunkett (because he's worth it)
11. Willie Joe Padden
12. Graham Geraghty (circa 2005)
13. Larry Finnerty
14. Mugsy
15. Conor Mortimer
Tyrone and Mayo dominating. Nice to see Mayo dominating something.
Mark Vaguhan !
Vaughan would make the subs bench.
Jayo 95 is a must have!!
Funny that its easier to find fancy forwards with the funky hairstyles than defenders!
I just thought of a fullback! David Lyons from Kildare had some mop on his head during the league. Hope he doesn't shave it off for championship. By the way GNevin, Jayo hardly had any hair in '95. No way he gets on this team.
Stephen Melia for centre back!
Quote from: Jinxy on May 14, 2007, 01:20:12 PM
I just thought of a fullback! David Lyons from Kildare had some mop on his head during the league. Hope he doesn't shave it off for championship. By the way GNevin, Jayo hardly had any hair in '95. No way he gets on this team.
What he has the crazy hair
Suerly this effort should be their
http://www.clontarfgaa.com/Default.aspx?tabid=1044
Paddy moran has the squarest hair cut ever
Seamus Gormley of Trillick in tyrone :D The Tyrone posters will remember him!! He was a corner back who played with the great Trillick team of the eighties. The thing about him was that he had a comb over sort of thing covering his bald patch! When he then started to run the comb over became this long black strand flowing behind him throw in the fact he was a dirty fecker!!.. it was a daunting site for many a poor wee corner forward :o :D
Yer man Hannon from Cavan...
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on May 14, 2007, 01:57:22 PM
Seamus Gormley of Trillick in tyrone :D The Tyrone posters will remember him!! He was a corner back who played with the great Trillick team of the eighties. The thing about him was that he had a comb over sort of thing covering his bald patch! When he then started to run the comb over became this long black strand flowing behind him throw in the fact he was a dirty fecker!!.. it was a daunting site for many a poor wee corner forward :o :D
I Think thats the call of the thread so far !!!!
Remember Trillick playing Dungannon at pomeroy in the championship and he scared the bejasus out of the corner forward ( who was on the county panel at the time, if memory serves me right) ( Jody someone , i think )
Jody Kellys your man! Thats the game sticks in my mind ;D It was runnin down his legs :D :D :D
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on May 14, 2007, 01:57:22 PM
Sounds like he'd be a good addition but I'm afraid we have to limit it to intercounty players or it'll get out of hand very quickly! ;D
not sure if Arthur french of leixlip and kildare (think he was originally a mayo man)
played in the very early 80's (finishing off his career) for the flour bags - and was notable for his long bobby charlton combober - when the hair net he wore came off....
Can't believe no one has mention Hughie Emerson!! He had some mop on him
Pat Holmes! ;) :D