Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on January 22, 2017, 10:34:55 PM

Title: Act of blasphemy in Galway today.
Post by: T Fearon on January 22, 2017, 10:34:55 PM
I refer to Tony Flannery's so called Mass which apparently attracted hundreds of misguided souls in Galway today. Do these people not realise that to be a true Catholic you must accept the infallibility of the teachings of Rome,however unpopular these may be.If not you are "Protestant" and putting your eternity at risk
Title: Re: Act of blasphemy in Galway today.
Post by: seafoid on January 22, 2017, 10:39:29 PM
In 2014, Pope Francis, trying, in his weekly Vatican address, to say "in questo caso" (in this case), ended up saying "in questo cazzo" (in this f**k) instead.

If the curse word was accidental, then he's just as linguistically fallible as the next guy, which isn't necessarily the ideal public image for the professed terrestrial representative of God. Conversely, he might still be infallible, yet have intended to say f**k . What would Jesus do ?
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 23, 2017, 07:10:28 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 22, 2017, 10:39:29 PM
In 2014, Pope Francis, trying, in his weekly Vatican address, to say "in questo caso" (in this case), ended up saying "in questo cazzo" (in this f**k) instead.

If the curse word was accidental, then he's just as linguistically fallible as the next guy, which isn't necessarily the ideal public image for the professed terrestrial representative of God. Conversely, he might still be infallible, yet have intended to say f**k . What would Jesus do ?

It is common practice to use quotation marks or a reference when ripping off someone else's work.

What the F: What Swearing Reveals About Our Language, Our Brains, and Ourselves
by Benjamin K. Bergen
QuoteIn 2014, Pope Francis, trying, in his weekly Vatican address, to say "in questo caso" (in this case), ended up saying "in questo cazzo" (in this f**k) instead. This was an understandable mistake. The two words are close, and the pope's first language is not Italian. He corrected himself immediately.

Nevertheless, Bergen, in a chapter entitled "The Day the Pope Dropped the C-Bomb," goes on and on about the supposed implications. Uttering a profane word like cazzo places the pope "in an ideological double bind," he writes. And what might that be? Well,

if the curse word was accidental, then he's just as linguistically fallible as the next guy, which isn't necessarily the ideal public image for the professed terrestrial representative of God. Conversely, he might still be infallible, yet have intended to say cazzo. Again, likely not the image he means to project.

Edited to show what I was talking about
Post by: bennydorano on January 23, 2017, 08:01:58 AM
Big Q is did Scripture foretell this turn of events
Post by: seafoid on January 23, 2017, 08:37:34 AM
I just don't see how you can build a separate society involving  segregated schools , people who think the Pope is infallible and people in the Orange Ordure.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 23, 2017, 10:14:13 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 22, 2017, 10:34:55 PM
I refer to Tony Flannery's so called Mass which apparently attracted hundreds of misguided souls in Galway today. Do these people not realise that to be a true Catholic you must accept the infallibility of the teachings of Rome,however unpopular these may be.If not you are "Protestant" and putting your eternity at risk

Says who? How dare you stand in judgement on other people. It's people like you and attitudes like this that have turned people away from the church. You and your ilk corrupt the goodness of the Christian message for your own warped agenda. Thankfully most people are now in a position where they can make up their own minds and not be controlled and herded like sheep as in the past by made up bullsh1t rules and interpretations.
Post by: mouview on January 23, 2017, 10:20:07 AM

Tony, cracking jokes at dead peoples' expense as you have been wont to do quite recently is hardly the behaviour of a true Catholic.
Post by: StGallsGAA on January 23, 2017, 10:22:21 AM
When I saw the headline I thought the weshtie rabble had fired the Sam Maguire down the street again....
Post by: Treasurer on January 23, 2017, 10:31:05 AM
I was there.  Wasn't misguided at all, the ol' sat nav brought me straight to the door.
Post by: johnneycool on January 23, 2017, 11:27:38 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 22, 2017, 10:39:29 PM

Bloody hell,
    You'd have thought that Frankie would have inherited the Holy Ghosts gift of speaking in tongues as well as infallibility.   

Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 23, 2017, 11:47:51 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on January 23, 2017, 10:22:21 AM
When I saw the headline I thought the weshtie rabble had fired the Sam Maguire down the street again....

;D Believe it or not, I was actually thinking much the same!!
Post by: seafoid on January 23, 2017, 12:09:37 PM
Isn't every Protestant service in NI an act of blasphemy?  Isn't that why the economy is banjaxed?
Post by: Take Your Points on January 23, 2017, 01:26:18 PM
Quote from: mouview on January 23, 2017, 10:20:07 AM

Tony, cracking jokes at dead peoples' expense as you have been wont to do quite recently is hardly the behaviour of a true Catholic.

Tony is a good Irish Catholic but his contributions as you have described show that he his a poor Christian.

There is a massive difference between the Catholic church in Ireland and basic Christianity as described in the Gospels.
Post by: T Fearon on January 23, 2017, 09:23:08 PM
I follow the teachings of the Roman Catholic Church which goes all the way back to the Apostles, not wishy washy heretics as epitomised by Flannery.

Those who think Christianity is simply compassion and love are fatally mistaken.Jesus reserved compassion only for sinners who repented or in the hope that people would be turned to repentance.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 24, 2017, 09:30:12 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 23, 2017, 09:23:08 PM
I follow the teachings of the Roman Catholic Church which goes all the way back to the Apostles, not wishy washy heretics as epitomised by Flannery.

Those who think Christianity is simply compassion and love are fatally mistaken. Jesus reserved compassion only for sinners who repented or in the hope that people would be turned to repentance.

You're getting there with the last part. "whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me" - the Christian message is one of hope. There's always hope if you believe the Christian message and that's why none of us should judge or write off anyone. Judgement is reserved for God. And as the saying goes He works in mysterious ways. I believe a Christians role here is to live a good life, try to do no harm to other and try to help others. To be honest I think that's what all people should do and whether they believe or not doesn't really matter to me. It may matter to God (personally I don't believe it does - He will be happy enough with people living good lives I'd guess) but that's not my concern.
Post by: Take Your Points on January 24, 2017, 10:29:09 AM

Those who think Christianity is simply compassion and love are fatally mistaken.Jesus reserved compassion only for sinners who repented or in the hope that people would be turned to repentance.

The Catholic church in Ireland can be traced to the apostles but over 2000 years those who have taken control of the church and its direction have lost their way:

1. A simple review of the catechism of the church shows how it has taken a simple message of love of others above self and turned it into detailed rules that 95% of Catholics have no idea about and many of them have no regard for these rules.  It currently runs to 922 pages delving into every aspect of the lives of Catholics.
http://ccc.usccb.org/flipbooks/catechism/files/assets/basic-html/page-1.html (http://ccc.usccb.org/flipbooks/catechism/files/assets/basic-html/page-1.html)

2. Jesus made it clear he was the servant but it is clear that in the current Catholic church the clerical hierarchy are the masters of the people who make up the Church.  This runs from the development of the catechism through the garb and finery on display in Church to the development and use of Canon law.

In 2017, the number of Catholics in Ireland who are now in awe of the clerical hierarchy is at an all time low and it is now left with those in their autumn years who still regularly attend Mass beyond funerals, christenings, weddings, etc.

Unfortunately, the simple message of Jesus is being eroded in modern Ireland, as people have turned away from an overbearing Church that by any measure is in serious decline, there is no one to clearly teach the message.

Until recently, in my previous profession I would have been in favour of religion being taught in schools but a simple sentence from Baroness May Blood on Talkback over Christmas has caused me to reconsider. (I paraphrase as I cannot recite it word for word) May Blood was asked about her favour of Integrated education in N.Ireland and the preference for people to have faith handed on in schools.  She replied that after religion being taught in Catholic and Protestant faith schools for many decades in this country the numbers attending church services appears to be in terminal decline and as a measure of success of such teaching in schools it show it has failed.  Therefore, schools should not be based on their teaching of religion to pass on faith. I still believe that schools can have a Christian ethos basing their work on Gospel values but an honest review of teaching religion in schools will show that it is has made little or no impact on behalf of the Catholic Church in Ireland. Very few reviews of such show this failure because they are not carried out in the same manner that education is inspected and evaluated in this country.

BTW the behaviour of Fr Flannery is no better than the Church as a whole and is merely vanity on his behalf and as a form of protest by those attending his services. 
Post by: magpie seanie on January 24, 2017, 11:46:13 AM
Far more eloquently put that my attempt TYP. I agree entirely.
Post by: T Fearon on January 24, 2017, 09:03:31 PM
Typ totally incorrect analysis.Jesus wasn't an early hippy spreading unconditional love.His mission was to save sinners from damnation.If saving sinners wasn't the point,what was?

Church attendance dwindles because most people have convinced themselves that God doesn't exist and religion is poppycock.

That's fine,but what happens if God does exist and the Church teaching is correct?
Post by: seafoid on January 24, 2017, 09:34:20 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 24, 2017, 09:03:31 PM
Typ totally incorrect analysis.Jesus wasn't an early hippy spreading unconditional love.His mission was to save sinners from damnation.If saving sinners wasn't the point,what was?

Church attendance dwindles because most people have convinced themselves that God doesn't exist and religion is poppycock.

That's fine,but what happens if God does exist and the Church teaching is correct?
people can hang around the back of heaven with the Hindus and the Protestants
Post by: Treasurer on January 24, 2017, 09:42:42 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on January 24, 2017, 10:29:09 AM

BTW the behaviour of Fr Flannery is no better than the Church as a whole and is merely vanity on his behalf and as a form of protest by those attending his services.

I think his claim of simply wanting to celebrate his 70th birthday in way that reflects who he is and what his life has been about to date, is a genuine claim. 

Agreed on the rest of it :)
Post by: T Fearon on January 24, 2017, 10:09:50 PM
It is worse than vanity it is leading the misguided into heresy.
Post by: Take Your Points on January 24, 2017, 11:43:14 PM

Tony, you are like the modern church and its 922 pages of catechism - focused on sin and wrongdoing and punishment of the sinner.  The teaching of Jesus focused on praise and encouragement which nowadays we know is the best way to teach and to develop people and not the fear and punishment preferred by the Church.  If you want sinners to repent, you will do better by praise and encouragement.  The Church's methods of dealing with us sinners are clearly no longer working.

If so many have decided that God doesn't exist what does this say for the passing on of the faith in Catholic schools and the work of the clergy in ensuring that the faith is growing?  It is failure all around.  In many of our Catholic primary schools children are prepared for confession and communion by dedicated teachers and every child will receive these sacraments.  However, less than a third of the children attend Mass during this time and even fewer after the sacraments.  At the same time we have Archbishop Martin telling his superiors in Rome that the faith is growing in Ireland.  He and his fellow bishops are living in La La Land deliberately oblivious of the Church disintegrating beneath them as long as they flounce around in their robes and garb and live in their bishop palaces around the country. The clergy and hierarchy are the modern pharisees.
Post by: J70 on January 25, 2017, 01:05:21 AM

Is belief in a god a choice or a judgement call?
Post by: T Fearon on January 25, 2017, 01:08:30 AM
People reject God nowadays due to fear,and inability to make the sacrifices real faith demands.

In terms of compassion the Church today is largely non judgemental and in my opinion too soft (you rarely if ever hear of Hell now). What about the great work done by Church affiliated organisations such as Trocaire,St Vincent De Paul, Scouts etc.

I see nothing wrong with advocating atonement and penance for sins and emphasising the need for repentance.

Belief in God is necessary and non optional for salvation.Scripture makes this very clear.
Post by: J70 on January 25, 2017, 02:12:28 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 25, 2017, 01:08:30 AM
People reject God nowadays due to fear,and inability to make the sacrifices real faith demands.

Fear of what?

Surely if fear is a factor, Pascal's Wager would dictate that most would be cowed into believing, just to be on the safe side (assuming such a choice could be honestly made)?

But it doesn't make any logical sense for someone to be penalized and eternally damned to hell or wherever by a god just because he or she came to the honest conclusion that the existence of said god was all a load of bollocks. That's the kind of narcissism and megalomania that Trump suffers from!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 25, 2017, 07:57:45 AM
Until recently, in my previous profession I would have been in favour of religion being taught in schools but a simple sentence from Baroness May Blood on Talkback over Christmas has caused me to reconsider. (I paraphrase as I cannot recite it word for word) May Blood was asked about her favour of Integrated education in N.Ireland and the preference for people to have faith handed on in schools.  She replied that after religion being taught in Catholic and Protestant faith schools for many decades in this country the numbers attending church services appears to be in terminal decline and as a measure of success of such teaching in schools it show it has failed.  Therefore, schools should not be based on their teaching of religion to pass on faith.

Or alternatively you could argue that but for the teaching of religion in school, the decline that we see might be even greater, and thus it is having a positive, if limited impact on religious participation.

In 2017, the number of Catholics in Ireland who are now in awe of the clerical hierarchy is at an all time low and it is now left with those in their autumn years who still regularly attend Mass beyond funerals, christenings, weddings, etc.

The inference being that all regular Mass goers are in awe of the Clerical Hierarchy? Disappointed with that sort of argument from yourself TYP.

I absolutely accept that there has, and continues to be, a sharp decline in Mass attendances, but as someone who regularly attends Mass I would take issue with a further inference that it is only those in their 'autumn years' who are attending. I see all seasons well represented.
Post by: longballin on January 25, 2017, 09:18:21 AM

while on the Deaths thread wringing your hands when a local person dies and making all sorts of sick jokes when it is a celebrity... St Anthony of Armagh patron saint of bullsh*t and hypocrites.
Post by: No wides on January 25, 2017, 09:24:04 AM

In terms of compassion the Church today is largely non judgemental and in my opinion too soft (you rarely if ever hear of Hell now). What about the great work done by Church affiliated organisations such as Trocaire,St Vincent De Paul, Scouts etc.

I see nothing wrong with advocating atonement and penance for sins and emphasising the need for repentance.

Belief in God is necessary and non optional for salvation.Scripture makes this very clear.

Maybe they realise it's a pile of shite?

Is this the scripture written by folk who never met Jesus?
Post by: magpie seanie on January 25, 2017, 09:45:47 AM

Some people a rejecting God but I believe most are rejecting the church but not God. The Church has become obsolete to them and a complete perversion of the truth of the message of Jesus Christ. It's not about rules and regulations or at least it shouldn't be. They are man made and artificial. The truth has been lost along the way and if you cannot see that I'm sorry for you. Wake up and smell the coffee. Enjoy your life to the fullest, do good things - don't waste time tut tutting about others and trying to live their lives for them. Live your own life.

Tony I worry that your so judgemental. Why do you want mentions of hell? Why do you want to threaten people? The God I believe in and was brought up to know is a God of compassion and love and that's what I'll pass on to my kids. They can make up their own minds then, just as I was encouraged to do.
Post by: Take Your Points on January 25, 2017, 11:13:20 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on January 25, 2017, 07:57:45 AM

Or alternatively you could argue that but for the teaching of religion in school, the decline that we see might be even greater, and thus it is having a positive, if limited impact on religious participation.

Certainly the primary school teachers are doing their best in a situation where a majority of the parents see sacraments as ceremonial rather than key development in the establishment of the faith in their children.  In this situation they are providing the Church with a major line of defence in the battle to remain relevant to the community.  However, by handing the role to the primary school teachers and in reality a very few of the teachers in any school, i.e. perhaps between 2 and 4 in the majority of schools in this country, the Church is giving the parents an opt out.  So, while primary school religion and preparation for sacraments is fighting a battle for the Church, it is also creating the circumstances that are leading to separating parents from the Church.  A Church community should be striving to bring its community together in developing the faith in its children.  The In Memory of Me Masses during the preparation for First Communion can be quoted as an example of community involvement but it is a separate event from the work of the teacher in the classroom who really does the work and often with only one or two visits from the local clergy.

The situation of religion teaching in secondary schools is just another matter on its own.  Too many schools have opted out of really teaching and challenges of handing on the faith by delivering GCSE RE for Catholics.  It may well provide more and better grades for schools but it is no substitute for work that needs to be done with those who are in their early teenage years who have experiences in life through all forms of media and in reality that used to be the preserves of those many years older.  This is where the real loss to the Church is concreted in place if the quality of teaching beyond the GCSE qualification is not in place.

Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on January 25, 2017, 07:57:45 AM
The inference being that all regular Mass goers are in awe of the Clerical Hierarchy? Disappointed with that sort of argument from yourself TYP.

I absolutely accept that there has, and continues to be, a sharp decline in Mass attendances, but as someone who regularly attends Mass I would take issue with a further inference that it is only those in their 'autumn years' who are attending. I see all seasons well represented.

I also regularly attend Mass on a weekly basis and I have described my own observation of those attending.  The demographic of those attending Mass at a weekend will depend on how and what is presented by the clergy.  My own grown up children still attend on most occasions but I can see how they could easily drift away given how little they get from it depending on who is saying it.  In this area the number of teenage and older rapidly decreased when a relatively young priest, from my standpoint, decided to enforce a one hour Mass and obviously revelled in doing so.  When he moved on those young people left.  In this area we have Integrated primary and secondary schools that are growing while their Catholic alternatives are declining in return, this is also a sign of decline in the influence of the Church that is not found in other areas.  Neither school receives the same service from the Church as their CCMS counterparts, talk about shooting yourself in the foot.

In terms of holding the clerical hierarchy in awe, I perhaps should have been more precise and said that this is the situation for those in the generation above us or the demographic that we are beginning to replace. 
Post by: magpie seanie on January 25, 2017, 11:18:06 AM
You know when they changed the words in Mass a few years ago - what was that all about? Don't think that helped.....certainly made me feel more alienated anyway and I'm sure I'm not alone.
Post by: johnneycool on January 25, 2017, 11:40:01 AM
Quote from: J70 on January 25, 2017, 01:05:21 AM

Believing in a God isn't the sole preserve of the main organised religions and neither does the act of attending Mass and the sacraments make you a better person and if you think that doing so is the be all and end all of being a good christian/catholic then I'd suggest you've missed the point entirely.
Post by: J70 on January 25, 2017, 11:55:19 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 25, 2017, 11:40:01 AM
Quote from: J70 on January 25, 2017, 01:05:21 AM

Believing in a God isn't the sole preserve of the main organised religions and neither does the act of attending Mass and the sacraments make you a better person and if you think that doing so is the be all and end all of being a good christian/catholic then I'd suggest you've missed the point entirely.

I didn't make any comment on any of that.

Tony made a point about what happens to unbelievers if they're wrong.

In response I asked whether disbelief is a choice.
Post by: No wides on January 25, 2017, 12:30:50 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 25, 2017, 11:18:06 AM
You know when they changed the words in Mass a few years ago - what was that all about? Don't think that helped.....certainly made me feel more alienated anyway and I'm sure I'm not alone.

And also when it was a sin to eat meat on a Friday and then it wasn't, babies still born or not baptised went to purgatory, then they didn't, holy days were holy days of obligation, then they weren't, people who committed suicide weren't allowed a christian burial, then they were etc. etc. 
Post by: T Fearon on January 25, 2017, 09:09:50 PM
The core doctrine has never changed even if some practices have.The basic fact is that Jesus came to save sinners and to persuade people to believe in him and turn away from sin.That means his compassion and love is very much conditional.
Post by: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 09:41:28 PM
Amongst numerous other things I don't know how the word 'fact' can be taken seriously in your context. 'Facts' from the bible in itself, 'facts' when you mean how you're interpreting his message.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 09:45:20 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 09:41:28 PM
Amongst numerous other things I don't know how the word 'fact' can be taken seriously in your context. 'Facts' from the bible in itself, 'facts' when you mean how you're interpreting his message.

When can the term "fact" be taken seriously?
Post by: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 09:49:47 PM
Eh, are u serious?? Most certainly not in a book of parables written down many years after the death of the main protagonist.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 09:50:56 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 09:49:47 PM
Eh, are u serious?? Most certainly not in a book of parables written down many years after the death of the main protagonist.

Well if your ruling that out when can the term "fact" be taken seriously?
Post by: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 10:02:48 PM
You getting facts and manipulating data mixed up again OJ?

Post by: Take Your Points on January 25, 2017, 10:07:49 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 25, 2017, 09:09:50 PM
The core doctrine has never changed even if some practices have.The basic fact is that Jesus came to save sinners and to persuade people to believe in him and turn away from sin.That means his compassion and love is very much conditional.

According to the catechism of the Catholic church you are wrong:

Para 2466 states that "To his disciples Jesus teaches the unconditional love of truth: "Let what you say be simply 'Yes or No."

Also check out here for a simple Q&A:  https://www.catholic.com/qa/is-gods-unconditional-love-without-limit (https://www.catholic.com/qa/is-gods-unconditional-love-without-limit)

I think you need to go back to the drawing board and study your faith especially in the Gospels.  The teaching of Jesus is based on premise that the unconditional love of God is the focus of Catholic Faith.

The teaching of the Church is that God loves us unconditionally before, during and after we sin. God cannot not love.

Take for example one of the Church's great theologians, St Thomas Aquinas.  He raised the question: If God is everywhere, is God in hell? His answer is, yes. God is in hell. Then, with his usual rigor, Thomas Aquinas asks the next question: what is God doing in hell? And he replies that God is in hell loving the damned. The damned may refuse to be loved and they may refuse to love in response, but the damned cannot cause God not to love them."

It looks like your understanding of being a Catholic is more aligned to being a member of a Protestant denomination where the fearful God and his retribution on the sinners that you espouse is the cornerstone of the faith.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 10:11:06 PM
 ;D ;D
I didnt get anything mixed up, if you remember I did post the meaning of the word after being told I should look it up,... but you read what you want to read. BTW I enjoyed your loyal cheerleading for ET benny during that episode, it was excruciatingly David Brent

Now... When in your book can we use the term "fact" seriously?
Post by: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 10:24:33 PM
Having a read and there is some great posts in here by TYPs.

I agree with you on Catholic education,n it leaves students completely unequipped to deal with the challenges of faith in the modern world

GCSE RE is basically a history lesson, completely useless for exploring and enriching ones faith. But useful for meeting the curriculum requirements as you say

In my own experience I had succumbed to those challenges for a few years in my late teens before rediscovering my faith in my early 20s and upon doing so discovered there is a massive resources in theology out there to help the faithful deal with those challenges.
Post by: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 10:33:16 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 10:11:06 PM
;D ;D
I didnt get anything mixed up, if you remember I did post the meaning of the word after being told I should look it up,... but you read what you want to read. BTW I enjoyed your loyal cheerleading for ET benny during that episode, it was excruciatingly David Brent

You heading off down your semantic rabbit hole agajn? I hope you enjoy your trip.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 10:37:17 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 10:33:16 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 10:11:06 PM
;D ;D

You heading off down your semantic rabbit hole agajn? I hope you enjoy your trip.

So not only do you cling to ET like a tennybobber you steal his silly terms as well to deflect from something you brought up.

When can we use the term "fact" seriously?

If your not gonna answer my question just say so it will save us all the time

Post by: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 10:42:56 PM
You use it whatever you want and I will correct you if necessary.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 10:47:14 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 10:42:56 PM
You use it whatever you want and I will correct you if necessary.

That's a no then....but I will oblige

Quote from: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 10:37:17 PM
So not only do you cling to ET like a tennybobber you steal his silly terms as well to deflect from something you brought up.

FACT!
Post by: bennydorano on January 25, 2017, 10:55:46 PM
It's teenybopper not teenybobber. So.... wrong again.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 11:01:20 PM
my apologies...

So not only do you cling to ET like a teenybopper you steal his silly terms as well to deflect from something you brought up.
FACT!

BTW I actually had tennybobber

Also when was I wrong the first time?
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 25, 2017, 11:23:50 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 25, 2017, 09:09:50 PM
Not if he's a Christian, it isn't!  ;D
His love is supposed to be unconditional; going after the lost sheep and all that craic.
BTW, I went into Knock Basilica lately and I saw a notice on the way in that stopped me in my tracks. This notice exhorted "pilgrims" to say a few Howse-yer-fathers or Our Fathers or whatever to the Sacred Heart of Jesus; in return for which, the soul of an aborted baby would be saved.
That to me is an abomination; a travesty of all Holy Mother Church's teachings.
So whether the soul of an innocent, unborn child wound up in Purgatory or was to be seated at the right hand of the Father depended on me mumbling a few prayers or incantations or the likes. If I didn't some poor little might would be denied the joys of everlasting life etc. etc.

Bejaysus, Martin Luther started the Reformation for less.
Post by: ONeill on January 25, 2017, 11:36:09 PM
TYP has ripped Tony to shreds here. I'm sure he didn't set out to do so, and doesn't want to, but he eloquently has managed it fairly swiftly.
Post by: T Fearon on January 25, 2017, 11:48:09 PM
Has he? Have I changed my views one iota? Faith is not logical therefore cannot be defeated by logical argument.

But if God's love was unconditional and his mercy the same,why did he send his Son into the world to be crucified?
Post by: omaghjoe on January 25, 2017, 11:52:08 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 25, 2017, 11:48:09 PM
Has he? Have I changed my views one iota? Faith is not logical therefore cannot be defeated by logical argument.

But if God's love was unconditional and his mercy the same,why did he send his Son into the world to be crucified?

HE wasnt challenging your faith ye eejit.

He challenged your understanding of doctrine which is logical and there in black and white, do you even have a copy?
Post by: ONeill on January 26, 2017, 01:03:09 AM

Does your first line not answer the second? That is, it's completely illogical.
Post by: Take Your Points on January 26, 2017, 11:02:52 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 25, 2017, 11:36:09 PM
TYP has ripped Tony to shreds here. I'm sure he didn't set out to do so, and doesn't want to, but he eloquently has managed it fairly swiftly.

Oh yes I did. It's funny what a bit of time to relax and think will do to someone in terms of clarifying their thinking. Tony should try it.

I was fed up with his interpretation of the Church teaching according to its documents, the Gospels and the Catechism while claiming to be some sort of Catholic avenger going after all of us sinning Catholics and condemning Protestants while espousing an understanding of Catholic teaching that is fully in line with the Protestant denominations.  He clearly does not understand that a fundamental difference between Catholic and Protestant Christianity is the God of unconditional love on one hand and the righteous God who will strike fear into sinners (i.e. all) and condemn them to an eternity in hell unless they repent. How often has he heard the parable for the Prodigal Son and not understood its them of unconditional love?

Also he has exhibited a total and unconditional loyalty to the clerical hierarchy of the modern Catholic church which is based on the hierarchy's attachment to the canonical law above and beyond the ideals set out in the teachings of Jesus in the Gospels which is the foundation of all Christianity.  In other words, from his postings, it is fairly clear that he holds the belief that the Church hierarchy and its reputation should be held above all else and can be excused of any of its actions current or past.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 26, 2017, 11:29:59 AM
Again - thanks to TYP's for that clinical destruction of Tony's completely incorrect assertion. You make your points on this thread really well and I think you for taking the time to do so.
Post by: Itchy on January 26, 2017, 09:52:16 PM

Sounds like you are turning against the teaching of the church with this blasphemous post. You should be expelled or at least moved to another parish.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 27, 2017, 08:24:45 PM
Faith is not logical

Finally a few words of truth from Tony. There's hope for you yet.
Post by: T Fearon on January 27, 2017, 08:25:34 PM
Am very impressed with Barry Mc Guigan's fearless profession of his faith and his long standing attachment to Poor Clare nuns and acknowledging the enoromous help and comfort they've been to him for decades
Post by: No wides on January 27, 2017, 09:17:09 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on January 27, 2017, 08:44:10 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 27, 2017, 08:24:45 PM
Faith is not logical

Finally a few words of truth from Tony. There's hope for you yet.

Perhaps you could enlighten us as to what is logical Eammon?

For Eammon it is hating anything not in his world, small children for example playing with their toys at Christmas and not giving the adopted yank the space and tranquility he needs to spout shit when visiting over the festive period.  Maybe if he ever gets a woman he'll change his views of children, though his stance on the not born that way doesn't bode well for that situation to change.