Some result tonight with westmeath beating Kilkenny.
Carlow beat Laois ( a shock in its own regard)
Offaly beat Kildare
Just came in to say the same. What a bloody win. After beating Wexford at minor last year, and now that result tonight Westmeath hurling is on the crest of a wave. Galway coming to Mullingar Sunday week. Could be interesting
Great result for Westmeath and also for Carlow. Both counties obviously doing good work at underage.
Brilliant result for Westmeath. Well done to them. And Carlow also. And Offaly!
Massive scalp for Westmeath. KK missed a penalty late on.
Quote from: orangeman on May 25, 2016, 10:52:12 PM
In the 6th minute of injury time. Literally the last puck.
Quote from: shark on May 25, 2016, 11:18:44 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 25, 2016, 10:52:12 PM
In the 6th minute of injury time. Literally the last puck.
Shark
The tension must have been unbearable for the penalty ???
Some win for Westmeath!
Look at what the goalscorer went through!
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CjVZcxZXAAACZ8u.jpg:large)
Quote from: muppet on May 25, 2016, 11:36:21 PM
Some win for Westmeath!
Look at what the goalscorer went through!
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CjVZcxZXAAACZ8u.jpg:large)
Cody: hurling is a man's game.
Yeah Brian, especially when being assaulted by hurleys
Fecking delighted. They may stick to the football from now on.
Well done to Westmeath. Incredible.
How did that injury even happen, with a helmet and faceguard?
Always brilliant to see KK beaten at any level, but knowing them, they'll still get four or five All-Ireland winners and all-stars from this team.
Looks to me like it was the faceguard that did it. Maybe his helmet was driven back into his face?
Great wins for Westmeath and Carlow, I suspect that the GAA after seeing these two great wins will decide more investment is needed................for Dublin..
15 hurling clubs in Westmeath.
Imagine what they could do with some proper coaching funding.
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on May 26, 2016, 11:16:44 AM
15 hurling clubs in Westmeath.
Imagine what they could do with some proper coaching funding.
Fair point. A lot of the recent successes (last year's minors, plus very competitive minor and u21 teams the past 5 years) have been down to a few strong clubs (Clonkill, Raharney, Castletown-geoghegan) producing a number of quality players. It hasn't really been a coordinated approach. The Mullingar town team, St.Oliver Plunketts haven't been able to field underage teams for a number of years, after being the top underage team in the county for ten years from the mid 90's. And Athlone is a black hole for hurling.
Are Southern Gaels still going? They're the only hurling club I can think of from the West of the county.
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 26, 2016, 11:53:10 AM
Are Southern Gaels still going? They're the only hurling club I can think of from the West of the county.
They are, but comfortably the weakest team in the county. Think they had 1 on the panel last night, and have 1 on the senior panel. West of Mullingar there are only 3 teams; Castletown-geoghegan, Southern Gaels and Fr.Dalton's (Ballymore).
What about Saint Brigids? They'd be west of Mullingar wouldn't they? My father hurled with Brigids. They'd be a neighbour of Castletown.
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 26, 2016, 12:30:27 PM
What about Saint Brigids? They'd be west of Mullingar wouldn't they? My father hurled with Brigids. They'd be a neighbour of Castletown.
Yep, fair call. Technically, they are south of Mullingar so that's my excuse for forgetting them 🙈. They always produce a few decent hurlers despite pulling from 3 predominantly football villages.
Historically I suppose a lot of their hurlers would have been from Dalystown. It's funny actually, I always remember Dalystown as being pure hurling, and they only played with the Bridge to have a bit of football to play. As opposed to their hurling team being made up of footballers, if you know what I mean. Mind you, I was being somewhat facetious. I wouldn't count Dalystown or Castletown as 'west of Mullingar', even though they obviously are. I think the hurling line is west of Castletown. I'd always think of Castletown and Dalystown as essentially Mullingar.
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 26, 2016, 12:52:36 PM
Historically I suppose a lot of their hurlers would have been from Dalystown. It's funny actually, I always remember Dalystown as being pure hurling, and they only played with the Bridge to have a bit of football to play. As opposed to their hurling team being made up of footballers, if you know what I mean.
Yeah I know what you mean. Not having their own pitch in Dalystown hampers that sense of identity I guess. Most of their team are footballers first.
Nowadays I know they are. I'm thinking back to when my father played. His family alone probably provided a fair chunk of the team, and they would be hurlers first. I think the like of Olle Egan, Ollie Gallagher and a pile more would have been hurlers first. I suppose it speaks to that identity thing, they were always a bit homeless even back then. Their pitch was a kind of farmer's field with no dressing rooms.
Are Brownstown gone back a bit .
They were a fine side in the eighties . Competitive in Leinster .
Quote from: ashman on May 26, 2016, 01:04:25 PM
Yeah they have been between senior and inter for the past 15 years. Still producing individual players of county standard though. Clonkill, Raharney and Castletown-geoghegan are the only senior winners since about 2002 or 2003. I don't see anyone else breaking that anytime soon.
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 26, 2016, 01:00:10 PM
Nowadays I know they are. I'm thinking back to when my father played. His family alone probably provided a fair chunk of the team, and they would be hurlers first. I think the like of Olle Egan, Ollie Gallagher and a pile more would have been hurlers first. I suppose it speaks to that identity thing, they were always a bit homeless even back then. Their pitch was a kind of farmer's field with no dressing rooms.
Before my time, but I have heard they were strong back then alright.
They won 4 Senior Championships out of 5 from 1968 to 1972.
Quote from: shark on May 26, 2016, 01:08:55 PM
Quote from: ashman on May 26, 2016, 01:04:25 PM
Yeah they have been between senior and inter for the past 15 years. Still producing individual players of county standard though. Clonkill, Raharney and Castletown-geoghegan are the only senior winners since about 2002 or 2003. I don't see anyone else breaking that anytime soon.
Brownstown were a great side in Westmeath. Ringtown and Cullion as well.
Incredible result. I didn't see that coming. There's a bit of momentum growing in WH hurling. Offaly at senior level and KK at U21 are significant scalps so far this year. Last year's minor defeat of Wexford and the recent strong senior performance against Limerick were also notable. The U21's were unfortunate to lose narrowly to Dublin U21's in 2014 and the minors had a close run against KK a few years ago. We're becoming more difficult to beat in Mullingar which augurs well. There is a significant amount of good work being done but an overall strategy is required to ensure this isn't a cyclical blip.
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 26, 2016, 11:53:10 AM
They are. Great numbers at the very youngest but seem to lose them along the way. I think the lack of tradition in the area cause that. A strong rugby and soccer scene too. Also can't discount the pull of the big ball with both Athlone and Garrycastle.
They were merged at underage with Father Dalton's for a while in early to mid-noughties. Won a few titles at U-16 and Minor but went their separate ways short after.
/Jim.
St Brigids have no underage section of their own. But yet they are senior. Baffling.
Castletown basically pull all in players all the way from mullingar to Moate. They have a huge pick and that keeps them competitive
Fr Dalton's pull in anyone from Loughnavalley to Drumraney and Tang that wants to hurl. Its all football clubs, but they have a huge pick.
Southern Gaels is based in Athlone, a town where GAA isn't very popular and there has been no urban development GAA strategy or funding for the same. S Gaels seem to try their best at underage, but there's no real backing from the county board to follow it through into schools etc
Mullingar town is similar with Oliver Plunketts. Two towns with population of 20,000 and neither have any plans for developing hurling or football. Crazy stuff.
Well done to Westmeath, that's no mean feat beating a Killkenny team who as minors won an AI in 2014. A bad start into management for Eddie Brennan...
They had desire but not REAL desire
Great win alright. Hopefully the start of some real challengers starting to emerge in Leinster. Westmeath have been on a steady upward curve over the last 5 or so years.
Poor game last night between the Dubs and Offaly, some very sloppy hurling, but in fairness to the Dubs they look as if they have a bit of scope for improving come an AI semi-final against whoever.
When does the Munster U21 championship get going?
Quote from: johnneycool on July 07, 2016, 10:25:44 AM
Poor game last night between the Dubs and Offaly, some very sloppy hurling, but in fairness to the Dubs they look as if they have a bit of scope for improving come an AI semi-final against whoever.
When does the Munster U21 championship get going?
Limerick beat Cork last week so the Semis are -
Limerick v Tipp 14/7/16
Waterford v Clare 13/7/16
Fine display by Waterford tonight . They will take serious stopping .
Munster final on now TG4 : Waterford big favourites .
Some 10 mins of hurling either side of that goal. Was great to watch!. Gleeson was lucky to stay on the pitch, although punching someone with a helmet was a strange sight. I thought the other Waterford fella was lucky to stay on too. Is pulling a faceguard not a straight red?. Would have changed the gamed entirely if they both went.
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on July 28, 2016, 05:45:22 PM
Some 10 mins of hurling either side of that goal. Was great to watch!. Gleeson was lucky to stay on the pitch, although punching someone with a helmet was a strange sight. I thought the other Waterford fella was lucky to stay on too. Is pulling a faceguard not a straight red?. Would have changed the gamed entirely if they both went.
Pulling a face guard is indeed meant to be a straight red, but after Shane O'Donnell got one a few years back, no one has ever got once since, well not in any of the big counties.
Davy fitz rightly highlighted this fact, but IIRC he believed it was Clare being harshly treated.
Quote from: johnneycool on July 29, 2016, 08:41:34 AM
Pulling a face guard is indeed meant to be a straight red, but after Shane O'Donnell got one a few years back, no one has ever got once since, well not in any of the big counties.
Davy fitz rightly highlighted this fact, but IIRC he believed it was Clare being harshly treated.
It was Podge Collins who got sent off that time
Great win for Waterford in midweek and games in under 21 are generally a lot better than senior games these days as managers don't have much time with under 21's as Sean Power admitted so not much time for over analysis or defensive tactics. It's usually a case of go out and hurl. Waterford fans after the game were happy with longer balls being played direct into forwards and more off the cuff plays like Bennett's overhead pass to set up Hogan for the crucial 2nd goal.
Dublin v galway is a decent contest.
Quote from: ashman on August 20, 2016, 06:36:16 PM
Dublin v galway is a decent contest.
Hard to tell how either team will fare against Waterford though, before Dublin equalised in 60 mins, Galway had a free (in my opinion) not given, a free one in my book, went up field and scored then
Not bad for our first day out!!! Don't know how we won that, Dub very wasteful in normal time and we lost most of the physical battles, at least until Brannigan came on and made a bit of a difference. Molloys free taking into the wind was superb and he really stood up as a leader there in ET.
System needs to change though. Rockin up for an AISF for your first game is pure stupidity, need to bring the underage teams into Leinster or just go to an open draw championship of 2 groups or something.
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on August 20, 2016, 08:02:34 PM
Not bad for our first day out!!! Don't know how we won that, Dub very wasteful in normal time and we lost most of the physical battles, at least until Brannigan came on and made a bit of a difference. Molloys free taking into the wind was superb and he really stood up as a leader there in ET.
System needs to change though. Rockin up for an AISF for your first game is pure stupidity, need to bring the underage teams into Leinster or just go to an open draw championship of 2 groups or something.
Yeah you have Galway straight into a semi on one side and Antrim pretty much straight into one on the other side of the draw, where they then get a slaughtering (almost) every year
If ye want games, go into Munster
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on August 20, 2016, 08:37:24 PM
Okay! So your solution is for our seniors to play in Leinster and the rest to play in Munster?!! Brilliant!
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on August 20, 2016, 08:57:20 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on August 20, 2016, 08:37:24 PM
Okay! So your solution is for our seniors to play in Leinster and the rest to play in Munster?!! Brilliant!
May not be a bad idea, Leinster have said to no to your under age so why not ask Munster. At least it will force the Munster counties to give their opinion on the idea. If they also say no then there will be question marks over their commitment on allowing hurling to prosper outside their own borders.
On a seperate topic, if people want the GAA to go down the route of open draw or champions league formats, then the hurling u-21 is probably the most logical place to start this.
Galway should be in Leinster at underage level. It's a no brainer. I'm not sure of the politics, but I seem to remember that initially it was Galway who wanted to stay outside at underage level.
It would be mental having them in Munster. The Leinster council should be told that if they want to keep Galway at Senior level, they have to bring in the underage too. And give Galway some f**king home fixtures as well.
Antrim should be in leinster too. If you had them in leinster at minor i think that would be a big help.
Yes. True. Any county that has been taken into the Leinster Championship, should be in the Leinster underage championships as well. Kerry also.
Yep, remember hearing years ago that Galway weren't keen to go into underage in Leinster. Counties in Leinster now not so keen to have them now seeing that most years it would mean one less Leinster county in the AI series.
Quote from: Canalman on August 23, 2016, 10:31:47 AM
Yep, remember hearing years ago that Galway weren't keen to go into underage in Leinster. Counties in Leinster now not so keen to have them now seeing that most years it would mean one less Leinster county in the AI series.
Graded open draw all the way, with the B championship type teams playing off for the right to play in an AI series rather than this lopsided Leinster/Munster mishmash that is foisted upon us by the hurling elite at senior level.
A graded open draw would be great . I think at this point players who played 2 senior championship games in the previous year would not be eligible either . This is an age where players are at greatest risk of burnout.
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 23, 2016, 09:58:23 AM
Galway should be in Leinster at underage level. It's a no brainer. I'm not sure of the politics, but I seem to remember that initially it was Galway who wanted to stay outside at underage level.
It would be mental having them in Munster. The Leinster council should be told that if they want to keep Galway at Senior level, they have to bring in the underage too. And give Galway some f**king home fixtures as well.
Actually think home fixtures for Galway is a little bit of a red herring. Any time they've played Leinster opponents outside of CP, it's nearly always been in Tullamore or Portlaoise. (Once v Wexford in Nowlan park? A couple of times in Mullingar v W'Meath?) Whatever about Portlaoise, I think Tullamore is just as accessible a ground for the majority of Galway hurling supporters as Pearse stadium is. If Galway manage to implement a home-and-away arrangement, they will most likely end up playing in more distant grounds such as Parnell park, Nowlan park, Wexford park, while the corollary is facing the slog of going through the city to Salthill.
If it's a case of not currently benefiting from gate receipts, then by all means press strongly for home fixtures.
I'd love to see Galway get home/away matches.
Say they are playing Kilkenny in Leinster semi-final -you'd have a great atmosphere in Pearse park (or Nowlan park)
Waterford too good ..
Well done to Waterford, as good a team as I have seen at this level for quite a while. Our lads tried but just weren't good enough.
Yes, Yes and Yes! The Fecking Gaa must be one of the most oppressive organisations. Why da f$£% do Galway (and Antrim) underage not get to play in Leinster? And get home matches? Do they not want to give some minute level of development to Ulster and Connacht? When is the last time a Hurling Championship game of any level was in Galway?
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on September 10, 2016, 07:08:13 PM
Well done to Waterford, as good a team as I have seen at this level for quite a while. Our lads tried but just weren't good enough.
Waterford have pretty much hammered everyone at this level this year. Galway could have set up the team to not concede so many chances but it wouldn't have changed the result in any way. Waterford were so much bigger and physically conditioned than our lads. So were Dublin in the semi-final but Waterford had the hurling to go along with the physical advantages.
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 10, 2016, 07:30:26 PM
Yes, Yes and Yes! The Fecking Gaa must be one of the most oppressive organisations. Why da f$£% do Galway (and Antrim) underage not get to play in Leinster? And get home matches? Do they not want to give some minute level of development to Ulster and Connacht? When is the last time a Hurling Championship game of any level was in Galway?
Think Galway played Tipp in Salthill in either 03 or 04. Can't remember exactly but I was at the game.
Great win for Waterford yesterday. 3 goals in first 15 minutes or so set us on our way and game was over at half time with 13 point lead. Galway got 5 points in a row early in 2nd half but never got closer than 8 points and 4th goal ended any chance of an unlikely comeback and then brilliant late Stephen Bennett goal put icing on cake. Hopefully more of these players can make step up to senior level too.
About 90% of the crowd were from Waterford with very few Galway fans there.
That is a huge win for the Deise. Last u21 was 92.
Quote from: seafoid on September 11, 2016, 07:51:15 AM
Who was on that team?
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 11, 2016, 09:08:24 AM
Who was on that team?
Tony Brown and Paul Flynn AFAIK.
They beat Offaly in the final. Offaly went on to win 2 all Irelands
The Waterford team were like a golden generation . Unlucky to come up against Cody
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 11, 2016, 09:08:24 AM
Who was on that team?
Paul Flynn still a minor . Tony Browne . Growler Daly . Johnny Brenner and Tom Fives. A few more lads played senior . They lost to Kerry the following year in Munster senior hurling .
Any one know when the 2017 U-21 Leinster & Ulster hurling fixtures will be announced? Had a look on GAA.ie, but nothing for 2017 is up yet.