Despite yesterday's encouraging win, Mayo have to win once more to be sure of safety. Should do it, but Down won't want to 'do a Westmeath' and lose all their games I'm sure.
Don't want to lose but we will. We're badly out of our depth in division 1 and morale in the county is at an all time low. Depressing times to be a down supporter. Mayo by 7 or 8.
I can t remember Down ever being at such a low ebb before. It should be a banker but you never know.
Mayo have struggled so far to convert possession into scores. Because of this the other team always have a chance. Roscommon had about 20% possession and 10 decent minutes the last day and only lost by 4 and nearly got closer. It's just not adding up for Mayo. We have forwards that can finish but our use of possession is very poor and we have no top class kick passer in the middle third of the pitch. Likes of Freeman, O Connor and Regan will do damage if they get good ball.
Mayo need to make sure of a win here and probably will go about it like they did in The Hyde. Basically throw everything at it and hope enough sticks to get over the line. If we survive there will be enough long evenings for fine tuning before we go to London.
Selection will be interesting. I expect Freeman to start again. I also thought Patrick Durkan added a lot.
Yep I agree with ya moy re kick passing is not of good quality into ff line , is there anything to be lost by bringing Cillian out to the 40 to fill a role of distribution in.
Quote from: moysider on March 28, 2016, 09:42:57 PM
I can t remember Down ever being at such a low ebb before. It should be a banker but you never know.
Mayo have struggled so far to convert possession into scores. Because of this the other team always have a chance. Roscommon had about 20% possession and 10 decent minutes the last day and only lost by 4 and nearly got closer. It's just not adding up for Mayo. We have forwards that can finish but our use of possession is very poor and we have no top class kick passer in the middle third of the pitch. Likes of Freeman, O Connor and Regan will do damage if they get good ball.
Mayo need to make sure of a win here and probably will go about it like they did in The Hyde. Basically throw everything at it and hope enough sticks to get over the line. If we survive there will be enough long evenings for fine tuning before we go to London.
Selection will be interesting. I expect Freeman to start again. I also thought Patrick Durkan added a lot.
I think it tells you Mayo lack scoring forwards from play. Why were Mayo in a relegation battle to begin with, strength in depth not as good as original thought?
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 28, 2016, 09:57:05 PM
I think it tells you Mayo lack scoring forwards from play. Why were Mayo in a relegation battle to begin with, strength in depth not as good as original thought?
The amount of Mayo lads studying/working in Dublin has a baring on how Mayo get on during the early stages of the league. Collective sessions are at a minimum this time of the year.
Quote from: ballinaman on March 28, 2016, 10:14:41 PM
The amount of Mayo lads studying/working in Dublin has a baring on how Mayo get on during the early stages of the league. Collective sessions are at a minimum this time of the year.
We have both more young lads studying around the country and more injuries than Mayo. That's no excuse.
We were in a relegation battle because of our inability to make the most of possession. It is my belief that if the approach work is right the scores will come. Since the beginning of the league we have shown little respect for possession. Loose and lazy passes, poor option taking and woeful attempts to kick pass to the inside forwards. You could put McManus, Gooch and Brogan in the Mayo team and they would look like shite with the ball they would get.
Plenty of strength in depth. As usual with us it is a tactical thing rather than a personnel thing.
Quote from: larryin89 on March 28, 2016, 09:52:02 PM
Yep I agree with ya moy re kick passing is not of good quality into ff line , is there anything to be lost by bringing Cillian out to the 40 to fill a role of distribution in.
I'm sure it s something they will look at. Play with just the 2 inside.
Quote from: Syferus on March 28, 2016, 10:18:44 PM
We have both more young lads studying around the country and more injuries than Mayo. That's no excuse.
The giddiness and excitement of playing in division 1 would have helped the Roscelona cause no doubt.
Sure you can say that about half the country. Anyway, Mayo have the longest current stint in Division one. It's something like 15 years and counting. So the amount of lads living/working in Dublin, can't be that harmful to their Spring form.
Quote from: Beffs on March 28, 2016, 10:32:41 PM
Sure you can say that about half the country. Anyway, Mayo have the longest current stint in Division one. It's something like 15 years and counting. So the amount of lads living/working in Dublin, can't be that harmful to their Spring form.
Must be great for the Dubs not having to worry about players studing/working in Dublin. Another advantage - Is there anything going against the present Dublin set-up? They seem to have all the Ace cards!
Quote from: ballinaman on March 28, 2016, 10:29:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 28, 2016, 10:18:44 PM
The giddiness and excitement of playing in division 1 would have helped the Roscelona cause no doubt.
Talking about giddiness when yer boys were so hopped up on cola and jelly babies they threw the ship's captains over board in the Autumn ;D
Quote from: moysider on March 28, 2016, 10:26:06 PM
Just play with the one inside, Regan the Messiah, no defence will be able for him, greatest prospect since Cooper now after his cameo yesterday. Regan for POTY and Mayo for Sam, you read it here first :-)
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 28, 2016, 10:45:02 PM
Must be great for the Dubs not having to worry about players studing/working in Dublin. Another advantage - Is there anything going against the present Dublin set-up? They seem to have all the Ace cards!
Dublin players circumstances don't have anything to do with Mayo trying to claim some sort of special dispensation for their Spring form, due to having so many players living in Dublin. Half the counties in Ireland can say the very same thing. Mayo's players are no way different to a lad from Donegal or Sligo or Tipp, who are also having to make a long trek home to train.
Looks like Ger Caff. gone for this one. McLoughlin probably still out as well.
Thought I saw Keane on the bench the last day. He might be in the running for fb or they might go with Cunniffe, Barrett and Harrison?
Vaughan seems to be in limbo a bit with this new management. Was his substitution the last day injury or tactical I wonder?
Doc a bit out of sorts as well with form but maybe management happy with his general workrate and stuff he does when not on the ball?
If Higgins is able to play a bit, where will he be played?
Quote from: Beffs on March 28, 2016, 11:16:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 28, 2016, 10:45:02 PM
Dublin players circumstances don't have anything to do with Mayo trying to claim some sort of special dispensation for their Spring form, due to having so many players living in Dublin. Half the counties in Ireland can say the very same thing. Mayo's players are no way different to a lad from Donegal or Sligo or Tipp, who are also having to make a long trek home to train.
Yeah agreed, just an idle comment!
Quote from: moysider on March 28, 2016, 10:21:24 PM
We were in a relegation battle because of our inability to make the most of possession. It is my belief that if the approach work is right the scores will come. Since the beginning of the league we have shown little respect for possession. Loose and lazy passes, poor option taking and woeful attempts to kick pass to the inside forwards. You could put McManus, Gooch and Brogan in the Mayo team and they would look like shite with the ball they would get.
Plenty of strength in depth. As usual with us it is a tactical thing rather than a personnel thing.
I have seen plenty of Mayo on television this spring and it was the same theme in each game, Mayo creating more scoring opportunities from play than scores, the type of chances McManus, Gooch and Brogan would have converted far easier than the Mayo forwards that played in those games.
For a team that has been regularly getting to All Ireland semi finals it shouldn't take much tactics to avoid a relegation battle.
I think part of the problem is that our players always take a solo or two when they receive the ball instead of looking up immediately for the kickpass. That and the timing / angles of the runs inside means there are no options when they do look up imo
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 28, 2016, 11:38:09 PM
I have seen plenty of Mayo on television this spring and it was the same theme in each game, Mayo creating more scoring opportunities from play than scores, the type of chances McManus, Gooch and Brogan would have converted far easier than the Mayo forwards that played in those games.
For a team that has been regularly getting to All Ireland semi finals it shouldn't take much tactics to avoid a relegation battle.
Tyrone and Donegal have both been relegated in recent years. All it takes is a few games to go against ye in a league of 7 games.
It s not like we were being hammered in those games we lost - apart from the opening round in Cork.
You will find that opportunities we missed were forced and hurried at times. If the approach work is fluid you score with the finisher in space. Poor passing and stuff ended up with rushed attempts and misses.
McManus did not score from play against us. He got no good opportunities. If he was in the Mayo team that would be his lot, week end, week out this Spring.
Quote from: moysider on March 28, 2016, 11:53:39 PM
Tyrone and Donegal have both been relegated in recent years. All it takes is a few games to go against ye in a league of 7 games.
It s not like we were being hammered in those games we lost - apart from the opening round in Cork.
You will find that opportunities we missed were forced and hurried at times. If the approach work is fluid you score with the finisher in space. Poor passing and stuff ended up with rushed attempts and misses.
McManus did not score from play against us. He got no good opportunities. If he was in the Mayo team that would be his lot, week end, week out this Spring.
Donegal would be the first to admit they don't have strength in depth and need their strongest fifteen or close to it to compete on both fronts and Mickey Harte is just building another Tyrone panel to do that now. We will have to agree to disagree on your forwards.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 29, 2016, 02:11:38 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 28, 2016, 11:53:39 PM
Donegal would be the first to admit they don't have strength in depth and need their strongest fifteen or close to it to compete on both fronts and Mickey Harte is just building another Tyrone panel to do that now. We will have to agree to disagree on your forwards.
I know. You could also pick holes about our vulnerability at the back. So how do we manage to compete at all at the level we do?
In the last 30+ years I don't think any other county has been consistently up there without winning an AI. That's several generations as regards players. Yet the old chestnuts about forwards are thrown out to explain it all away.
It doesn't add up.
Several years ago Kevin McStay said Mayo needed a coach rather than manager. More recently he pointed out that we don t respect possession enough.
I'd go along with that. As a Mayoman I find us frustrating in the extreme to watch. Maybe it's our culture. We have had so many good teams underage, county and club but ridiculous product. We managed to lose 3 club finals this year alone.
We have never had anybody like an O Dywer, Heffernan, McGuiness or Harte to put a stamp on things. None of our good club teams had a manager that you could take a step up. Horan and Maughan made us very competitive but had blind spots when it counted. Horan dismissed Parsons for about 3 of his 4 years and did not entertain Regan at all. And that is just selection - not tactics.
Remains to be seen if Rochford can get it right. I m more than hopeful he can.
But you need reliable score-takers closer to goal.
Diarmuid O'Connor has been super at wing forward, but I was wondering would he be even better closer to goal?
Put the two brothers as a 2 man full forward line, then any clean ball they get will be 80% likely to be put over the bar? (I know Regan was very good v Rossies, but assuming for the moment he's not quite ready to be depended on, so leaving in reserve for championship)
Orthodox full back line and midfield. AOS as a third midfielder but with freedom to roam and little in the way of defensive duties.
That leaves 6 others who are all half back type players who do loads of work funnelling back and forward as play dictates(Keegan, Boyle, Durkan, Higgins, O'Loughlin, 1 other). Very important to identify the pass foot passers of the middle 9, and the best 2 or 3 should be delivering 90% of the balls into the brothers.
That would be a team that's not carrying any weak links (and Mayo usually have 1, and more often 2, players who are being carried in the forwards in the hope, rather than expectation, that today will be a good day)
Quote from: Beffs on March 28, 2016, 10:32:41 PM
20 years I think.
For most of them we hit the ground running in the first few league games. We always seemed to be able to get points off Kerry handy if we played them first, even in Tralee. But this year we were behind the others because of the players heave against management. And we are very dependant on 3 or 4 keys players. Cillian is obviously one of them and has only just returned.
Regarding playing a 2 man FF line, whoever they are they must be quick. I like the look of Regan in that regard. We could play Cillian behind them. I think AOXI needs to be further out the field. He is well able to kick pass, but is inclined not to send it in quickly. A 2 man FF line would need very quick ball.
When the inevitable blankets appear we need our running game as an option. Despite Roscelona saying the pitch didn't suit their light players, it certainly didn't suit our running game. I like the idea of having Keegan and Durcan as wing backs with license to run just like the Dubs wing backs. We need Boyler or someone in the centre to stay put, maybe with an O'Shea detailed to hang around as well when the lads go forward.
Cafferkey is another of our key players along with Higgins. We need them flying fit come the summer. The defence isn't the same without either of them.
Bloody hell but do ye Mayo folk ever learn, after Regan scoring an illegal goal he is suddenly the greatest thing ever that will lead ye to Sam, yere levels of desperation at this stage are getting to a new low. Mayo will never win an all ireland with the limited players they have, that is a fact.
Quote from: Mclf on March 29, 2016, 09:15:59 AM
Bloody hell but do ye Mayo folk ever learn, after Regan scoring an illegal goal he is suddenly the greatest thing ever that will lead ye to Sam, yere levels of desperation at this stage are getting to a new low. Mayo will never win an all ireland with the limited players they have, that is a fact.
Never mind 'Mayo folk' learning, you might go and learn what a 'fact' is.
Am I right in thinking Mayo will qualify for the semis should Kerry beat Cork and Monaghan beat Donegal? Mayo are likely to have the best scoring difference (after trouncing Down) of the teams on 6 points - in this case Cork are most likely to go down.
It's just I was looking for odds on Mayo to win Div 1 as a decent outside bet but I couldn't find odds for them.
In this scenario the final table would look like:
1. Dublin
2. Kerry
3. Roscommon
4. Mayo
5. Donegal
6. Monaghan
7. Cork
8. Down
I do however think Cork (need at least a point to survive) will beat Kerry (nothing to play for) quite comfortably.
QuoteI'm sure it s something they will look at. Play with just the 2 inside.
The Moran and Morrison way.
Quote from: muppet on March 29, 2016, 09:09:53 AM
Regarding playing a 2 man FF line, whoever they are they must be quick.
That's a big misconception.
They must be able to kick the ball over the bar.
Pace is an added bonus, but speed of thought, intelligence, is far more important than raw pace. Bernard Brogan was never the quickest, and you could say the same about a lot of other top forwards.
Quote from: Hound on March 29, 2016, 09:32:12 AM
Quote from: muppet on March 29, 2016, 09:09:53 AM
Regarding playing a 2 man FF line, whoever they are they must be quick.
That's a big misconception.
They must be able to kick the ball over the bar.
Pace is an added bonus, but speed of thought, intelligence, is far more important than raw pace. Bernard Brogan was never the quickest, and you could say the same about a lot of other top forwards.
It was more a comment on our personnel. Sure you can play a 2 man FF line without pace, but it is obviously a lot better if you have it.
Can't see Mayo trouncing Down Bomber. Maybe if the players start using possession more wisely, yes. But our inability to kill off a poor Ros side, despite what Syf et al may say wouldn't fill me with confidence about making the league semis.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 29, 2016, 09:43:19 AM
Can't see Mayo trouncing Down Bomber. Maybe if the players start using possession more wisely, yes. But our inability to kill off a poor Ros side, despite what Syf et al may say wouldn't fill me with confidence about making the league semis.
The current points difference is only 5 points so even if the results go as needed for that particular scenario to unfold, the minimum of a 1 put Mayo win and 1 pt Donegal defeat would narrow the gap to 3. I think you underestimate how awful Down are at the minute. They'll be playing Div 3 in 2018. Mayo will beat them pulling up, if Monaghan and Kerry win then I would be shocked if Mayo don't make the top 4.
Lads,just you talk among yourselves there now,there'll hardly be anyone from Down going to
disturb on this internal discussion on Mayo Football.
Quote from: muppet on March 29, 2016, 09:21:46 AM
He can ask his teacher next week when he is back in school, seeing as he is in 6th class now, he should be able to grasp it.
The thing is that Down have been averaging a score of under 7.83 points a game, while conceding an average of 17.33 in their games for an average losing margin of 9.5 in the league this year so there is definitely a realistic possibility of a trouncing in the game.
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on March 29, 2016, 12:44:13 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 29, 2016, 09:21:46 AM
He can ask his teacher next week when he is back in school, seeing as he is in 6th class now, he should be able to grasp it.
No he was held back for a year there I heard, God bless
Looks like a semi final spot is a very real possibility which would be a real bonus, a shot at the dubs in Croker, obviously its out of our hands but I doubt Kerry will be rolling over for Cork. Donegal v Monaghan I'd say could go to Donegal though
Realistically the Down game should be a gimme, and if its not then we don't deserve to be in Division 1, as simple as
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on March 29, 2016, 02:38:32 PM
Looks like a semi final spot is a very real possibility which would be a real bonus, a shot at the dubs in Croker, obviously its out of our hands but I doubt Kerry will be rolling over for Cork. Donegal v Monaghan I'd say could go to Donegal though
Realistically the Down game should be a gimme, and if its not then we don't deserve to be in Division 1, as simple as
The 2 other sides who are in the battle for relegation are the two teams with the worst results versus Down - Monaghan only beat Down by 2 points and Cork only beat them by 5 points. I really wouldn't be surprised to Mayo go to town on Down and I can't see a loss.
Is Tom Cunniffe withdrawing from the panel a surprise?
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 29, 2016, 10:07:52 AM
The current points difference is only 5 points so even if the results go as needed for that particular scenario to unfold, the minimum of a 1 put Mayo win and 1 pt Donegal defeat would narrow the gap to 3. I think you underestimate how awful Down are at the minute. They'll be playing Div 3 in 2018. Mayo will beat them pulling up, if Monaghan and Kerry win then I would be shocked if Mayo don't make the top 4.
According to the GAA website, Mayo have a points difference of -12 while Donegal's difference is +13. So even if Monaghan managed to beat Donegal by 13 points, Mayo would then have to beat Down by a similar margin. Very unlikely that both results will come to pass.
http://www.gaa.ie/football/national-football-league/tables
Quote from: Maroon Manc on March 29, 2016, 04:29:15 PM
The way he played against Crossmaglen,Ballyboden it's probably best he has a break away from football.
It is to me anyway.
Quote from: moysider on March 29, 2016, 09:30:29 PM
It is to me anyway.
No! Been shagged for years with injury. Never played more than one half for Mayo, the last couple of years.
The real question for Sunday is how much will Evan almighty score (both legally and illegally)? It's so ironic that ye slag roscommon for getting excited about their genuine forward talent and ye then lose the run of yereselves over one of yere own who took about 20 steps for one goal, clutching at straws springs to mind.
There really isn't a need for this thread.
Its probably just for the Mayo wans to hang out in the lead up to the game.
The worst Down panel in living memory wont present a challenge in any shape or form to Mayo.
Mayo by at least 9pts.
Quote from: Mclf on March 29, 2016, 10:33:55 PM
The real question for Sunday is how much will Evan almighty score (both legally and illegally)? It's so ironic that ye slag roscommon for getting excited about their genuine forward talent and ye then lose the run of yereselves over one of yere own who took about 20 steps for one goal, clutching at straws springs to mind.
Sour grapes springs to mind.Ye lost a league game in March its hardly the end of the world.Or maybe it was more than that to ye.A mayo team in freefall and ye having the 6 best forwards in the country and ye still couldnt beat us.For a team that was beat by sligo in the championship last year ye have some ideas about yerselves
Quote from: mayoman dan on March 30, 2016, 05:18:14 PM
Quote from: Mclf on March 29, 2016, 10:33:55 PM
Sour grapes springs to mind.Ye lost a league game in March its hardly the end of the world.Or maybe it was more than that to ye.A mayo team in freefall and ye having the 6 best forwards in the country and ye still couldnt beat us.For a team that was beat by sligo in the championship last year ye have some ideas about yerselves
Read back on his previous posts and you will see he is a troll that needs to be ignored.
What's this bull going around about the Mort?
Quote from: highorlow on March 30, 2016, 06:57:10 PM
What's he done now?
Look up GAA Mayo on facebook I think they were the first to report it
https://m.facebook.com/Gaa-Mayo-1505938419671831/
This surely can't end well...
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 28, 2016, 11:38:21 PM
I think part of the problem is that our players always take a solo or two when they receive the ball instead of looking up immediately for the kickpass. That and the timing / angles of the runs inside means there are no options when they do look up imo
You have it solved macdanger, ring Rochford straight away ;D
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on March 30, 2016, 09:29:46 PM
If that story appeared on Friday, I don't think very many would get excited about what Conoreen may or may not plan to do but as it ain't April's Fool Day yet so I dunno what to think. At 33 or thereabouts I don't think he would be the answer to Mayo's scoring problems but let's see what happpens...
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 30, 2016, 09:53:09 PM
If that story appeared on Friday, I don't think very many would get excited about what Conoreen may or may not plan to do but as it ain't April's Fool Day yet so I dunno what to think. At 33 or thereabouts I don't think he would be the answer to Mayo's scoring problems but let's see what happpens...
He had a right go at the players (rightly) for throwing H&C under the bus for their own failings on the field. It's going to be a strange world where Conoreen is the Mayo player with his head screwed on right.
Jesus, Mary and Joseph!
We re the gift that keeps on giving.
Ah lads, it's a piss-take, has to be! That Facebook page is gaa mayo, not Mayo GAA.
Quote from: Tubberman on March 30, 2016, 10:13:33 PM
Ah lads, it's a piss-take, has to be! That Facebook page is gaa mayo, not Mayo GAA.
Sure didn't Higgins retire last year ::)
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 30, 2016, 09:12:17 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 30, 2016, 07:50:44 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 30, 2016, 07:37:04 PM
Quote from: highorlow on March 30, 2016, 06:57:10 PM
What's he done now?
Answered the call
Has 'Resurrection. 🙋' written in his Twitter a/c.
(http://i1195.photobucket.com/albums/aa382/mayomick/GAA/conor_zpsid53k9um.jpg) (http://s1195.photobucket.com/user/mayomick/media/GAA/conor_zpsid53k9um.jpg.html)
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Played in the AI minor final in 2000. So is around the 34 mark?
(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/2b/7a/16/5c5fe173195232870269c5a763863363c5ef49fa12/INPHO_00041004.jpg)
Quote from: Syferus on March 30, 2016, 09:55:57 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 30, 2016, 09:53:09 PM
He had a right go at the players (rightly) for throwing H&C under the bus for their own failings on the field. It's going to be a strange world where Conoreen is the Mayo player with his head screwed on right.
I thought you know everything Syferus :D. If you do then you would well know like a lot of the Mayo posters here I am sure do , that the failings on the pitch were as far from the reason the players made their move against Pat & Noel as you could possibly get.
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 30, 2016, 10:42:48 PM
(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/2b/7a/16/5c5fe173195232870269c5a763863363c5ef49fa12/INPHO_00041004.jpg)
32/3
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on March 30, 2016, 10:50:00 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 30, 2016, 10:42:48 PM
32/3
Don't think that haircut will sit well with Jinxy...
Tis 19 years or so since I saw him play first. He was with St. Mary's in Galway. He was a scamp then and probably still is. Smallest lad on the pitch (trying to bulk up with several layers of jerseys) and by far the best in decent company. A freak when you think about it. In an era of gym monkeys I doubt he ever hit more than 11 stone.
Quote from: moysider on March 30, 2016, 11:30:33 PM
Tis 19 years or so since I saw him play first. He was with St. Mary's in Galway. He was a scamp then and probably still is. Smallest lad on the pitch (trying to bulk up with several layers of jerseys) and by far the best in decent company. A freak when you think about it. In an era of gym monkeys I doubt he ever hit more than 11 stone.
Will there ever come a point when Mayo supporters take Conor back into the green and red bosom and celebrate his achievements and efforts for his county rather than just knock him, Moy?
I believe I was there with you Moysider at that game. A fair few county lads on show but Mort was in deed the star. Have always been a fan. Cannot be blamed for Mayo's failings in the past.
Quote from: Syferus on March 30, 2016, 11:41:25 PM
Will there ever come a point when Mayo supporters take Conor back into the green and red bosom and celebrate his achievements and efforts for his county rather than just knock him, Moy?
Sure didn't Cavan take Seanie Johnson back into the fold and his indiscretions were far worse than Conor's in my view? If he's still fit and up for it why shouldn't he be given another chance? He would do no harm as an impact sub. He gave his all for Mayo for years and deserves another chance if he's still good enough and can blend into the team again.
Quote from: saffronandblue on March 30, 2016, 11:50:59 PM
I believe I was there with you Moysider at that game. A fair few county lads on show but Mort was in deed the star. Have always been a fan. Cannot be blamed for Mayo's failings in the past.
You were too. That was some day! there was mopping up that lasted weeks!! lol.
You're right. Never a dull moment with him. For a lad his size he was game as could be and had an unbelievable radar for a ball and deadly. Later on he seemed to get a bit conservative with goal chances, but as a kid he was deadly for goals. Ah yeah, he is up there with the best kids I ve seen. McDanger, Meehan, Boyle, Breheny and Hanley were others that were special quality as kids. But Conoreen size probably made him the biggest jaw-dropper of them all.
Quote from: Syferus on March 30, 2016, 11:41:25 PM
Short answer, no.
I think his career could have been handled better when he was a kid and he could have done some things different himself maybe. But if he wasn't that scamp character he would not have cut it with the limitations he had in stature maybe? He was what he was. A biteen spoiled maybe when he was younger on the back of his brothers.
But he will never be forgiven for walking away before that Connacht final. He will never be forgiven for that I'd say in the general population.
I don t hold it against him personally. It didn t surprise me.
What does surprise me though is that he didn t have people close to him to tell him that this was a no-no. If I recall family backed him up as being mistreated? As I say it is complicated but probably could have been minded better. Boarding school probably a mistake for a start. He was dropped off a minor team in his first year for 'insubordination'. But then the coach ( a top coach imo) was the one that ended up dumped for the following year when we lost AI final. He was scamp and spoiled rotten it seems but he was one hell of a player.
only Question in my opinion is wheter he is still up to it or not , any one know what his club form is like?
if he could give mayo six months and mayo Kept no one would give a dhit what way he came into the Squad except Evan regan if he was Dropped for him.
funny that when it looks like Mort is finally replaced he decides to come back
BTW
I don't believe the roumours but the may be a Dublin coaching Role for him or something??I mean of course for mayo players
Quote from: rosnarun on March 31, 2016, 10:30:20 AM
only Question in my opinion is wheter he is still up to it or not , any one know what his club form is like?
if he could give mayo six months and mayo Kept no one would give a dhit what way he came into the Squad except Evan regan if he was Dropped for him.
BTW
I don't believe the roumours but the may be a Dublin coaching Role for him or something??I mean of course for mayo players
Think he's playing for parnells, not sure.
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on March 31, 2016, 10:33:09 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 31, 2016, 10:30:20 AM
BTW
Think he's playing for parnells, not sure.
Don't think he's played any this year, and missed plenty last year. 2 years ago he was playing quite well in a centre forward playmaking role. Think I heard he's been playing some soccer this year. He's still running the gym in Parnells I understand.
So the chances of him making a playing comeback for Mayo are utterly remote, I would say
Was just a rumour that got the pulses racing,he confirmed it on Twitter there
Ah well, that was a bit of a distraction while it lasted.
Mayo Team for Sunday :
1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
4. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. Shane Nally (Garrymore)
8. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
9. Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
10. Conor O'Shea (Breaffy)
11. Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Alan Freeman (Aghamore)
15. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber).
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 01, 2016, 09:14:01 PM
Mayo Team for Sunday :
1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
4. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. Shane Nally (Garrymore)
8. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
9. Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
10. Conor O'Shea (Breaffy)
11. Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Alan Freeman (Aghamore)
15. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber).
It will be interesting to see how that half forward line gets on without McLoughlin and Diarmuid O Connor.
Doherty will cover a lot of ground but seems to be well off his best. Not sure the younger O Shea has the radar for it but has time on his side. Caff. and Higgins gone as well. I hope this doesn t get hairy.
Anything could happen with that line up, should get over the line though you would think. Last throw of the dice for Doc I'd say
Quote from: Mayoffs on April 02, 2016, 10:47:17 PM
Anything could happen with that line up, should get over the line though you would think. Last throw of the dice for Doc I'd say
I doubt that tbh.
He's being trying hard and maybe trying stuff that wasn t on. I thought playing him inside again did not help. For championship he is not an inside player unless we have a real bad time with injuries.
But he is badly needed as an option for the grafting role at 10/12, Lads that cover a lot of ground, defend link and chip in with an odd score. Realistically we need 4 of those. Diarmuid, Kevin Mac and Doc have shown already they can do the business there in the summer time.
I don't think Doc is a big concern as such.
There are scores in that inside line and if this management can organise things that those 3 get ball in space or even one-on-one we will do alright.
Quote from: moysider on April 02, 2016, 11:42:40 PM
I doubt that tbh.
He's being trying hard and maybe trying stuff that wasn t on. I thought playing him inside again did not help. For championship he is not an inside player unless we have a real bad time with injuries.
But he is badly needed as an option for the grafting role at 10/12, Lads that cover a lot of ground, defend link and chip in with an odd score. Realistically we need 4 of those. Diarmuid, Kevin Mac and Doc have shown already they can do the business there in the summer time.
There are scores in that inside line and if this management can organise things that those 3 get ball in space or even one-on-one we will do alright.
From frees, Moy.
Quote from: Syferus on April 02, 2016, 11:46:55 PM
I doubt that tbh.
From frees, Moy.
So what? Frees are for a foul and fouls are given up for a reason. To stop a score from play. A point from play or possibly worse.
Likes of Murthagh will have a good day if he can win a few scorable frees in August/September against likes of Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone or Dublin. If he can get a goal and a point or two from play he is in All-Star territory. You might not like the cut of our forwards but they have been judged at a level Roscommon ladeens have not got to - and may not get to.
Quote from: moysider on April 03, 2016, 01:51:49 AM
I doubt that tbh.
From frees, Moy.
So what? Frees are for a foul and fouls are given up for a reason. To stop a score from play. A point from play or possibly worse.
Likes of Murthagh will have a good day if he can win a few scorable frees in August/September against likes of Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone or Dublin. If he can get a goal and a point or two from play he is in All-Star territory. You might not like the cut of our forwards but they have been judged at a level Roscommon ladeens have not got to - and may not get to.
I'd take
Murtagh before any of your inside lads, COC included. None of them are enough of a threat from play at this level, it's as simple as that. Regan only finding his feet at this level so maybe there's hope there but COC never made the next step to being a serious threat from play to score. And no one mention that glorified exhibition game against London.
Mayo forwards struggle for scores from play be it in league group games or in All Ireland finals however they make up for with a spread of scorers throughout the team and have the ability to win and convert numerous frees.
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2016, 03:04:21 AM
I doubt that tbh.
From frees, Moy.
I'd take Murtagh before any of your inside lads, COC included. None of them are enough of a threat from play at this level, it's as simple as that. Regan only finding his feet at this level so maybe there's hope there but COC never made the next step to being a serious threat from play to score. And no one mention that glorified exhibition game against London.
But its not one player that wins games - it's a team. And as Mayo proved twice in the past 6 days at two different grades, they're better than Roscommon.
So you can have Murtagh, we have the better team.
Murtagh hasn't done a thing yet at the highest level against a top side in summer time in Croke Park. Until he does he can't even be compared to Cillian. For example in 2014 in the two Kerry epics when Cillian was last injury free and going well. In the drawn game he scored 1-8 (1 pen and 5 frees). In the replay (before he was concussed for a large part of it) he scored 2-5 (1 pen and 3 frees). This was Shane Enright he destroyed, no bad feat for a guy not even in Murtaghs league. He has done a job on Kerry, Cork and several Donegal backs in the past when the real stuff is being played. Even last year against the dubs when he wasn't playing well he got some nice scores from play including that brilliant goal. Murtagh looks very handy but until he does what COC has done there's no comparison to make.
Quote from: Tubberman on April 03, 2016, 08:10:23 AM
I doubt that tbh.
From frees, Moy.
I'd take Murtagh before any of your inside lads, COC included. None of them are enough of a threat from play at this level, it's as simple as that. Regan only finding his feet at this level so maybe there's hope there but COC never made the next step to being a serious threat from play to score. And no one mention that glorified exhibition game against London.
But its not one player that wins games - it's a team. And as Mayo proved twice in the past 6 days at two different grades, they're better than Roscommon.
So you can have Murtagh, we have the better team.
Will ya stop Tubberman, the poor ladeens heart is about to shatter into a thousand pieces at any second. Tough times!
I doubt that tbh.
From frees, Moy.
3-4 against the All-Ireland Champions in Croke Park in August. Twice top scorer in the Championship, twice Young Footballer of the Year. Sounds like a bum alright. But he is only 24, so maybe Cillian has a year or two on the clock yet to maybe make something of himself.
only a goal in it at present. mayo ahead
1-09 to 0-10 at HT.
Relief - the overriding emotion right now.
Well done to the neighbours. Ye mad tough work of that one, though!!
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 03, 2016, 04:11:29 PM
Indeed. Frustrating to watch at times today. Still job done I suppose.
Found it sorta funny toward the end! Anyway job done. A lot of (Mayo) people losing the run of themselves around me.
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 03, 2016, 05:01:57 PM
Found it sorta funny toward the end! Anyway job done. A lot of (Mayo) people losing the run of themselves around me.
Yeah? How were they losing the run of themselves?
Quote from: giveballaghback on April 03, 2016, 05:19:55 PM
Nothing new about that.
Jesus give it a rest lad. I wouldn't mind but most of the Mayo lads here aren't bad sorts.
Quote from: moysider on April 03, 2016, 05:19:41 PM
Yeah? How were they losing the run of themselves?
Shouting abuse at players. Doherty got heaps! Disgraceful! Have been finding that lately at home matches especially. There is an expectation of players not making mistakes. Jez, do these people not realise the intensity of intercounty? There were a lot of players out there today well off the pace just now! Cillian and Barrett to name but two. They'll get their feet yet.
Played some great football early on, quick accurate kick passing into the FF that was sticking to the lads inside. When Parsons started to fade, grip of the game went. Boyle was a bit lost playing sweeper role, Down didn't kick many (if any) balls into him, totally bypassed.
Few of our lads, namely the usual suspects continue carry into traffic again and again, very disheartening.
Quote from: ballinaman on April 03, 2016, 06:50:59 PM
Played some great football early on, quick accurate kick passing into the FF that was sticking to the lads inside. When Parsons started to fade, grip of the game went. Boyle was a bit lost playing sweeper role, Down didn't kick many (if any) balls into him, totally bypassed.
Few of our lads, namely the usual suspects continue carry into traffic again and again, very disheartening.
Going on ego-trips as John Maughan called it on MWR there after the game.
Up to management to put a stop to that.
Good run out today! Nice to get a look at Clarke in goal, Keane at FB, Cillian get as close to 70. Before one can get too critical. We won the game. We avoided relegation. And we as metioned got to give game time to a few squad players. A good days work in any book. After the hype of last week and the talk of todays game. This was always going to be a hard sell for the players to get up for. Luckily they did enough and we will be dining at the top table come spring next spring.
Fair dues to Reagan. He is growing. Great contribution today. I reckon as well as what he scored he contributed 1-02 in assists. Word of warning, both his good performances have been against Division one novice defences. But at least he's doing it and best of luck to him. One fault with him today he ran 50 yards to make a tackle on a Down player, ran about 20 yards with him and fouled him. From this play he was shagged for about 5 minutes. The ball was turned over from the resultant Down free. Reagan was shagged and could only watch play. He has to learn to conserve energy. Clarke was Clarke - did himself no harm either. Great save near the end.
Doherty covered a sight of ground and mixed the good with the bad. In fairness he had a lot of good for a change today.
Cillian is way off the pace (as was Barrett) but that should come. Thought Freeman should have got more time than Cillian
Nally probably lost a starting 15 place today. Got caught out a few times and left us open. He is still a good prospect, just not ready yet.
Barry and Paddy looked a bit lost when coming on. This is understandable considering being away up to now with Mitchels.
Sheamie - LET THE BALL GO SOONER!
Mayo were so naive with 10 minutes to go and 5 points up they looked like a team chasing the game. Instead of trying to get through Down's blanket they should have played keep ball drew them out and then probed. The crowd did not help them moaning and groaning that we should be beating this team by more. And the players should know better than to listen to the crowds moans. We were too urgent and we did not need to be!
The Maddest thing with Mayo at the Moment is we have no system. Just hard work, blood and guts. It's strange!
Hennelly, Cafferkey, McLoughlin and Higgins to come back. All key players for us!
Time now to go into hiding, clear injuries and get ready for London/Galway. Can't wait!
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 03, 2016, 06:55:54 PM
Johnno would be the expert when it comes to ego size-loada fukn nonsense
A bit too close for comfort for Mayo at the end. That win against Monaghan was a huge one and the rossies hammering Cork was a big help on the scoring difference.
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 03, 2016, 08:15:02 PM
A bit too close for comfort for Mayo at the end. That win against Monaghan was a huge one and the rossies hammering Cork was a big help on the scoring difference.
The Rossies hammering was so bad for Cork - an 18 point loss is effectively 2 points dropped plus one point subtracted from the points column
Looking at the other teams who finished on 6 points- Donegal's worst loss was by 5 points, Mayo's was a 9 point loss (to Cork), Monaghan's was a 7 point loss (to Cork)
Vital lesson for all teams in the league - if you are getting beaten, try to keep the margin of the loss as low as possible.
Quote from: sans pessimism on April 03, 2016, 08:05:03 PM
It's not though. This is one time I think he's dead right. Maybe 'ego trip' is a bit harsh but the same lads keep taking way way way too much out of the ball. It's going on so long now and it's unbelievably frustrating. Management need to get a hold of these lads and demand that they release the ball quicker. It seems that no manager has got through to them yet. When they let the ball in early today Regan and Freeman did damage.
Thought Nally was the pick of the backs, granted he gave away a terrible ball near the end when Clarke bailed him out. But won a tremendous ball in a ruck of players just after Paddy Durcan gave away the goal.
He won't be suited for every game but has s physical presence that Paddy lacks. Thought Boyler played too deep and is more suited to a man marking job than sweeper.
Agreed Seamus, needs to stop looking for contact. Jason Docs best game this year. Evan has really stepped up.
Quote from: REDCOL on April 03, 2016, 09:05:04 PM
Thought Nally was the pick of the backs, granted he gave away a terrible ball near the end when Clarke bailed him out. But won a tremendous ball in a ruck of players just after Paddy Durcan gave away the goal.
He won't be suited for every game but has s physical presence that Paddy lacks. Thought Boyler played too deep and is more suited to a man marking job than sweeper.
Agreed Seamus, needs to stop looking for contact. Jason Docs best game this year. Evan has really stepped up.
I like Nally. Has been a good addition this year. Has had a few Brain fart moments, but does not hide.
Quote from: Ballaghman on April 03, 2016, 09:03:00 PM
It's not though. This is one time I think he's dead right. Maybe 'ego trip' is a bit harsh but the same lads keep taking way way way too much out of the ball. It's going on so long now and it's unbelievably frustrating. Management need to get a hold of these lads and demand that they release the ball quicker. It seems that no manager has got through to them yet. When they let the ball in early today Regan and Freeman did damage.
whatever the malaise is,it certainly isn't ego driven.Mr Ego has been having a go since his buddy was deposed.Of course todays performance was poor but ego's are not the problem-James Horan nipped that shite in the bud and to suggest otherwise is inaccurate.
Quote from: sans pessimism on April 03, 2016, 09:32:56 PM
Quote from: Ballaghman on April 03, 2016, 09:03:00 PM
whatever the malaise is,it certainly isn't ego driven.Mr Ego has been having a go since his buddy was deposed.Of course todays performance was poor but ego's are not the problem-James Horan nipped that shite in the bud and to suggest otherwise is inaccurate.
His overall point should not be lost because of a poor choice of expression though. His main issue is we need to let the ball in much quicker and it's the same lads taking too much out of the ball. I agree he had his own ego issues but on this particular problem I agree with him (his reason for this over carrying excepted)
I'm inclined to agree. I think it's just bad habits tbh.
Today Seamie was mixing the very good and silly stuff within moments of each other. Surely coaching and video analysis is about getting rid of the silly stuff?
Anyway survival was a good result and overall I think we have come out of this league well, even if it was a close run thing at the end.
It will be interesting to see how we are tactically later.
Today we played a sweeper. This allowed Down to work the ball out from defence. The days of the high press and huge tackle rate from Horan's time has been replaced by a sweeper. This did not prevent Down putting up a big score today. The system today may have been a conservative approach to ensure survival. However it seemed to me that if we pressed up on this Down team we could have put them away. When they kicked long at the start we were winning everything - it was like monkeys picking cherries.
A bit more pace back in the side will do us no harm. Higgins and McLoughlin add more dash for a start.
QuoteToday we played a sweeper. This allowed Down to work the ball out from defence.
Sweeper doesn't suit our style of play plus we are useless at implementing it. We are better off going man to man against all teams and take our chances.
I doubt that tbh.
From frees, Moy.
This level I presume meaning league in April. COC has consistently proved himself as one of the top tier of forwards in the country at the level required in August and September and would walk onto any team in Ireland. Murtagh is a good prospect but when it was put up to him last July he got three points from frees and was subbed off with 10 minutes left.
Quote from: highorlow on April 04, 2016, 09:06:38 AM
QuoteToday we played a sweeper. This allowed Down to work the ball out from defence.
Sweeper doesn't suit our style of play plus we are useless at implementing it. We are better off going man to man against all teams and take our chances.
You could just as easily argue that our style of play is why we have not got over the line so far. We seem to have a style that just does not protect our goals, as we always seem vulnerable to conceding majors in championship. Brolly had a good article on this last Summer and we went on to commit suicide against Dublin in the replay to emphasise his point.
Our attempts to play a sweeper in the past have been half-hearted and naive, but we seemed to do a bit better in the game against the Dubs in the league, although it neutralised our own threat and the weather conditions were so poor that it may not have been a good example to take. I have a feeling and hope that Rochford/McEntee and Donie Buckley will have something new up their sleeve for the Summer.
Rochford himself is on record saying that the style of play we see in the league will not be what we see later in the year.
Quote from: Chimley on April 04, 2016, 09:58:50 AM
Quote from: highorlow on April 04, 2016, 09:06:38 AM
You could just as easily argue that our style of play is why we have not got over the line so far. We seem to have a style that just does not protect our goals, as we always seem vulnerable to conceding majors in championship. Brolly had a good article on this last Summer and we went on to commit suicide against Dublin in the replay to emphasise his point.
Our attempts to play a sweeper in the past have been half-hearted and naive, but we seemed to do a bit better in the game against the Dubs in the league, although it neutralised our own threat and the weather conditions were so poor that it may not have been a good example to take. I have a feeling and hope that Rochford/McEntee and Donie Buckley will have something new up their sleeve for the Summer.
Rochford himself is on record saying that the style of play we see in the league will not be what we see later in the year.
I sincerely hop[e he means that; otherwise it will be a case of the same again one more time.
I'm talking about Mayo's tendency to play top class football and put clear between them and the opposition and then to lose all sense of purpose and allow their opponents back into the game again. This has been a trait of Mayo football since James Horan took over and yesterday was as good (or bad?) example of what I'm referring to as I can recall.
If Down had realised a bit earlier in the game that Mayo were so easy to be put off their stride we could well be the laughing stock of the country today. When Joe Brolly said on the TSG last summer that Mayo would never win an All-Ireland until they acquired the killer touch and kept the pressure on right to the final whistle, (or something like that) he got loads of abuse from Mayo supporters but for my money he was only stating the obvious.
Brolly also said that new defensive systems take months and months to prepare and perfect. He is probably right too.
The thing now is to work on new things in training. Counties have big panels and teams like Donegal and Tyrone perfect their systems/tactics in training. Horan's team did the same even though we took a more positive attacking approach rather than a defensive game plan. But there was nothing off the cuff with what Horan wanted us to do. I ve no doubt Rochford has plans for us for the championship. It's a silly team that will have revealed their hand at this stage. I remember Rochford saying that about the difference there would be between league and championship. I remember being struck by that at the time.
I suppose coming from where we were and the dreadful start v Cork it turned out a good league for us. The team as a whole struggled for fluency but on the other hand the form of several players was very good and we know from experience that others will be much sharper by championship. More positives than negatives about us imo. Far more in fact.
Mayo4sam, when was Murtagh subbed off last july? In the Sligo match he came off injured after 20 minutes {failed fitness test in morning and should not have been started}, against Cavan came on with ten minutes left when we were 6 points up and as a result of that madness missed the Fermanagh match and 3 months football. No wonder Evans was given the high road.
Murtagh is the complete footballer, get your facts right, I suppose thats a little too much to ask.
Against Fermanagh?
http://m.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0712/714297-fermanagh-v-roscommon/
Unless there's another Ciaran Murtagh?
I think it was Diarmuid Murtagh that was initially mentioned here.
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 05, 2016, 10:37:58 PM
Against Fermanagh?
He is talking about Diarmuid Murtagh you ignoramus, did it occur to you that there are actually three brothers involved with roscommon I believe, anyways should you not hyping up Evan almighty at every chance you get, Evan for POTY!!
Murtagh was what he said
Sure they all look the same to me
Quote from: Mclf on April 05, 2016, 10:47:47 PM
Against Fermanagh?
He is talking about Diarmuid Murtagh you ignoramus, did it occur to you that there are actually three brothers involved with roscommon I believe, anyways should you not hyping up Evan almighty at every chance you get, Evan for POTY!!
No need to get nasty about Regan is there?
I don't think anybody can question Diarmuid Murtagh's class.
Both have had a few injury setbacks. Hopefully they will both get a clear run and an opportunity to push on.
Regan has enough in his own county hoping he messes up without the Rossies hating on him as well for no reason, lol!
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 05, 2016, 10:59:16 PM
Murtagh was what he said
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/p180/Library/SF361/955487.jpg)
They look alike alright.
Quote from: moysider on April 05, 2016, 11:17:39 PM
Quote from: Mclf on April 05, 2016, 10:47:47 PM
Against Fermanagh?
No need to get nasty about Regan is there?
I don't think anybody can question Diarmuid Murtagh's class.
Both have had a few injury setbacks. Hopefully they will both get a clear run and an opportunity to push on.
Regan has enough in his own county hoping he messes up without the Rossies hating on him as well for no reason, lol!
I genuinely believe some of our own want him to start v Galway, have a stinker just so as they can turn round and say "now where's the fancy corner forward and his little dummies gone" they are rehearsing this in the mirror already.
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 06, 2016, 12:32:05 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 05, 2016, 10:59:16 PM
Murtagh was what he said
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/p180/Library/SF361/955487.jpg)
They look alike alright.
all I see is yellow