The Dubs are coming to town next weekend or are they. We have no pitch so we are like the farmer that sold the cows to buy a milking machine
Anyway we have to get on with it where ever it is played. We wont have our u21 players available so we are down to the team that started today. The week will be a long one for those lads and I am sure they will want to get back out on the field and play some football. Playing the dubs is not a great place to be looking for solace so lets hope our lads can get moving again and put up a respectable performance.
My guess is the game could be in Tullamore as Offaly are away in Limerick and it is really that or Tuam.
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 28, 2016, 12:59:17 AM
The Dubs are coming to town next weekend or are they. We have no pitch so we are like the farmer that sold the cows to buy a milking machine
Anyway we have to get on with it where ever it is played. We wont have our u21 players available so we are down to the team that started today. The week will be a long one for those lads and I am sure they will want to get back out on the field and play some football. Playing the dubs is not a great place to be looking for solace so lets hope our lads can get moving again and put up a respectable performance.
My guess is the game could be in Tullamore as Offaly are away in Limerick and it is really that or Tuam.
Does this game matter? Aren't both in the semis anyway given Cork's scoring deficit, assuming Ros don't lose by something ridiculous?
Tullamore is a grand venue. What's the capacity in Tuam?
Quote from: J70 on March 28, 2016, 01:06:41 AM
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 28, 2016, 12:59:17 AM
Does this game matter? Aren't both in the semis anyway given Cork's scoring deficit, assuming Ros don't lose by something ridiculous?
It doesn't matter a dead rubber game.
I have a bad feeling the money at stake may force the CB's hand and mean this goes ahead at the Hyde if at all possible. We don't have Dublin's super bucks. It would probably absolutely ruin the game as a spectacle. It certainly did today.
Quote from: Beffs on March 28, 2016, 01:09:47 AM
What's wrong with Croker? ;)
It wont be in Roscommon, rain all week especially near weekend. Longford is out, Carrick too small, Tuam not suitable really as you need big seating capacity. Portlaoise is out, Mullingar is out, which leaves Tullamore, or maybe Croke Pk. No matter it has to be played and lovely venue it might be but Dr Hyde Pk is not playable.
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on March 28, 2016, 09:42:07 AM
Croker or Parnell Park have to be considered.
Why?
How many expected at this dead rubber game? 6 or 7k?
Carrick will easily hold the crowd if available?
I don't think a huge crowd will turn up for this.
Carrick would hold the crowd.
By moving the game from the Hyde it's a €50,000 hit at least for county board and then local businesses losses.
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 28, 2016, 10:20:02 AM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on March 28, 2016, 09:42:07 AM
Croker or Parnell Park have to be considered.
Nah Dublin don't fancy an away game. :D
Are the Roscommon players allowed to wear protective glasses for this game? It won't save them from the biting but it might save their eyes.
Ros could kill 2 birds by togging out in swimming gear and anti gouge goggles, playing in HP and declaring the mode of play to be water polo. If Indiana agrees it should be grond.
Quote from: T Toatler on March 28, 2016, 09:50:14 AM
It wont be in Roscommon, rain all week especially near weekend. Longford is out, Carrick too small, Tuam not suitable really as you need big seating capacity. Portlaoise is out, Mullingar is out, which leaves Tullamore, or maybe Croke Pk. No matter it has to be played and lovely venue it might be but Dr Hyde Pk is not playable.
There is no need to go running about like a headless chicken trying to find pitch anywhere when the best pitch in the province can be had for the asking. Mayo, magnanimous as always, would be glad to help heir neighbours in their hour of need. Castlebar is only 30 miles or so from Roscommon and would be well capable of holding whatever number turns up.
Quote from: seafoid on March 28, 2016, 12:52:29 PM
Ros could kill 2 birds by togging out in swimming gear and anti gouge goggles, playing in HP and declaring the mode of play to be water polo. If Indiana agrees it should be grond.
Indiana has 5 All-Irelands, €6 and 7 O'limpiks medals at water polo.
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 28, 2016, 01:12:54 PM
There is no need to go running about like a headless chicken trying to find pitch anywhere when the best pitch in the province can be had for the asking. Mayo, magnanimous as always, would be glad to help heir neighbours in their hour of need. Castlebar is only 30 miles or so from Roscommon and would be well capable of holding whatever number turns up.
Are ye lot home or away next Sunday?
All the last round games start at the same time.
Quote from: Rossfan on March 28, 2016, 01:34:01 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 28, 2016, 01:12:54 PM
Are ye lot home or away next Sunday?
All the last round games start at the same time.
At home in Castlebar for the next three games with London excluded , v Down, v Galway and then your lot come to town for a day out.
It can't be in Mayo. Mayo are hosting Down in Castlebar and all the last round games have to start at the same time.
Quote from: Beffs on March 28, 2016, 01:48:29 PM
It can't be in Mayo. Mayo are hosting Down in Castlebar and all the last round games have to start at the same time.
We could play across the pitch and play both games at the same time in Castlebar.
Quote from: muppet on March 28, 2016, 01:13:20 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 28, 2016, 12:52:29 PM
Indiana has 5 All-Irelands, €6 and 7 O'limpiks medals aat water polo.
He also introduced football to Crossmaglen
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 28, 2016, 01:53:29 PM
Quote from: Beffs on March 28, 2016, 01:48:29 PM
We could play across the pitch and play both games at the same time in Castlebar.
That might actually work, if Donegal were one of the 4 counties involved. ::)
It's hard to imagine any dainty Dublin boot setting itself down in that muck. Funny how Hound or Indy haven't weighed in yet. They must be in O'Connell Street, marching. Hopefully they'll post once they get back.
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on March 28, 2016, 03:21:29 PM
It's hard to imagine any dainty Dublin boot setting itself down in that muck. Funny how Hound or Indy haven't weighed in yet. They must be in O'Connell Street, marching. Hopefully they'll post once they get back.
Indy's out in Syria for the weekend to end the war.
It's bleedin' obvious, play it in Croke Park,
Surely every Ross player would sell their turf allotment in order to play a game on the hallowed ground and take in the wonderful atmosphere emanating from Hill 16.
As both teams will be in division 1 next year would it not make sense to play it in Croke Park and have next year's game in Roscommon?
What's with all the Croke Park stuff?
Even the usually sensible Zulu at it now ???
Enough money spent already going to Kerry, Cork and Donegal without havingto go to rip off Dublin twice in successive weeks.
Quote from: Zulu on March 28, 2016, 05:26:41 PM
As both teams will be in division 1 next year would it not make sense to play it in Croke Park and have next year's game in Roscommon?
I would agree, should have considered the same thing with Mayo.
Quote from: Rossfan on March 28, 2016, 05:45:04 PM
Enough money spent already going to Kerry, Cork and Donegal without havingto go to rip off Dublin twice in successive weeks.
Ye lost in Hyde Park yesterday and Kiltoom the first day. Ye must like travelling in the bus as all 8 points have been collected outside Roscommon's borders!
True Farr
But we don't need any more points now ;)
QuoteQuote from: Rossfan on March 28, 2016, 05:45:04 PM
Mentioned in obvious jest.
It might be 3 weeks in a row, if you make the league final.
You are dining at the top table now. (Insert another cliche of your own choosing, if you so prefer.) So you have a lot of trips to rip off Dublin to look forward to, if the Rossie's future is as (prim)rosy as you would like to believe.
Can't have it both ways ya know !
But if you can't play it at home and get the reverse fixture next year at home, is that not better than going to a halfway house venue? So you lose the home venue and might still have to go to Dublin next year. If I was a Rossie I think I'd prefer play Dublin in Croke Park and have a home game next year than in most of the venues mentioned and lose out on a home fixture v Dublin altogether.
Quote from: Zulu on March 28, 2016, 07:27:20 PM
But if you can't play it at home and get the reverse fixture next year at home, is that not better than going to a halfway house venue? So you lose the home venue and might still have to go to Dublin next year. If I was a Rossie I think I'd prefer play Dublin in Croke Park and have a home game next year than in most of the venues mentioned and lose out on a home fixture v Dublin altogether.
What if they split Dublin next year?
Quote from: Beffs on March 28, 2016, 07:15:39 PM
It might be 3 weeks in a row, if you make the league final.
o you have a lot of trips to rip off Dublin to look forward to, if the Rossie's future is as (prim)rosy as you would like to believe.
Yes but we don't want an unnecessary trip for a "home" dead rubber League game.
And there's New York 1st May and hopefully 3 u21 games.
Quote from: Main Street on March 28, 2016, 05:15:36 PM
It's bleedin' obvious, play it in Croke Park,
Surely every Ross player would sell their turf allotment in order to play a game on the hallowed ground and take in the wonderful atmosphere emanating from Hill 16.
You'd be happy to get the invitation to play there you play there so little. Bar your annual hiding in the AI Quarter Final
James McCarthy won't be needing to worry about where it's played anyways.
Quote from: Syferus on March 28, 2016, 08:15:01 PM
You should come up and play in it Syferus. It's the only time you'll get to see the inside of the place this year
Quote from: INDIANA on March 28, 2016, 08:40:33 PM
You should come up and play in it Syferus. It's the only time you'll get to see the inside of the place this year
You do know we're in the league semis, right?
Quote from: Syferus on March 28, 2016, 08:41:39 PM
Ah good. It's nice to see the GAA opening up the place for the minnows
Quote from: Zulu on March 28, 2016, 07:27:20 PM
That would mean Dublin playing 5 away games next year Corporate GAA would not allow that.
Quote from: Syferus on March 28, 2016, 08:41:39 PM
A few weeks ago INDIANA thought Roscommon were still in division three.
Has Indiana got issues or does he sometimes forget to take his tablets?
Quote from: Rossfan on March 28, 2016, 10:42:34 PM
Bit of both.
Quote from: Rossfan on March 28, 2016, 10:42:34 PM
Alot of disrespect shown to a fella that has won senior all irelands and club all irelands and is best friends with Dermo and the only one to predict Ballyboden would beat Castlebar
You're dead right. The Hyde is alright for a heap of culchies, but surely there's no way the GAA will make the Dubs play in conditions like that.
However, there is a serious lack of alternative options. So we're trying to find our own culchies who will be more suited to playing in the muck and puddles, just in case it goes ahead in the Hyde Swamp. Word has already gone out to the likes of Garristown, Man o War and the Naul to make sure their men are ready!
Quote from: Hound on March 29, 2016, 08:18:35 AM
You're dead right. The Hyde is alright for a heap of culchies, but surely there's no way the GAA will make the Dubs play in conditions like that.
However, there is a serious lack of alternative options. So we're trying to find our own culchies who will be more suited to playing in the muck and puddles, just in case it goes ahead in the Hyde Swamp. Word has already gone out to the likes of Garristown, Man o War and the Naul to make sure their men are ready!
Don't forget Skerries and Balbriggan....sea culchies
Man o War. That's a great name for any club.
U21 Final moved to Markypark so I think the Jackeens better start buying wellies as they will be Hydebound Sunday come Hell or high water( sorry).
Quote from: Rossfan on March 29, 2016, 11:17:41 AM
U21 Final moved to Markypark so I think the Jackeens better start buying wellies as they will be Hydebound Sunday come Hell or high water( sorry).
I hope the Dubs enjoy Hydro (p)Ark
Lot of rain on the way, Fri/Sat night and Sunday looking bad. Can see it being moved to Tullamore, pitch could be flooded again.
Aye and Mayowestros could be relegated to Division 2 ;D.
Do they know what wellies are?
Be a nice thing for the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick to get a twist.
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 29, 2016, 02:53:03 PM
It is what our forwards wear for shooting practice.
I'm not sure I want to know what they are
Do they know the way from Ros Town to Carrick? ;)
The match on Sunday should never have gone ahead. Lucky no one injured on the day. Can criticise the dubs and the money they get, but the only reason that game was played was for financial reasons. Didn't want to have turn people away or give out refunds.
Would have thought Roscommon would switch the game to croke park. Give them another chance to show off their team bus.
Can see the same fiasco next Sunday. County board won't want to give up the gate receipts. Might as well just play it on a bog somewhere in the county at this stage.
If my recollection of junior cert geography is correct, the landscape of Roscommon is basically a giant sink and Hyde Park is the plughole.
Quote from: dublin7 on March 29, 2016, 08:11:03 PM
The match on Sunday should never have gone ahead. Lucky no one injured on the day. Can criticise the dubs and the money they get, but the only reason that game was played was for financial reasons. Didn't want to have turn people away or give out refunds.
Would have thought Roscommon would switch the game to croke park. Give them another chance to show off their team bus.
Can see the same fiasco next Sunday. County board won't want to give up the gate receipts. Might as well just play it on a bog somewhere in the county at this stage.
Ah yeah. You're on the money there comparing the finances of Dublin and Roscommon. A match with a 100k gate is a financial lifeline for Roscommon, it's the pocket money AIG lost behind the couch for Dublin.
If the GAA wanted a better pitch at the Hyde maybe they should have stumped up the Euros themselves.
The price of that fancy bus would pay for a few mole drains, I'd say.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 29, 2016, 08:24:17 PM
The bus is a sponsored lease hire. By the end of the arrangement the county will own the bus but there wasn't never a massive up front outlay. Easier to sell a bus with branding to sponsors than a patch of grass.
Quote from: Syferus on March 29, 2016, 08:28:14 PM
The bus is a sponsored lease hire. By the end of the arrangement the county will own the bus but there wasn't never a massive up front outlay. Easier to sell a bus with branding to sponsors than a patch of grass.
You could have made money though on Sunday after the match tough from the patch of grass with a cow-pat competition. Twas all the field was fit for
Quote from: blast05 on March 29, 2016, 08:40:31 PM
You could have made money though on Sunday after the match tough from the patch of grass with a cow-pat competition. Twas all the field was fit for
Do you think we need to be told. We have a pitch that is exactly the opposite of what our style of football suits now. Even on a good day it's a heavy pitch.
Quote from: Syferus on March 29, 2016, 08:43:05 PM
Quote from: blast05 on March 29, 2016, 08:40:31 PM
Do you think we need to be told. We have a pitch that is exactly the opposite of what our style of football suits now. Even on a good day it's a heavy pitch.
(http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71ZF5Vzxt2L.jpg)
Does the bus spend all its time being followed around by camera crews from TG4, Setanta and RTE?
(Nothing would surprise me with that yoke. ::) )
Unless it does, I'm having a hard time seeing how slapping their name on the side of a bus, gives a company more advertising bang for their buck, than big billboards and hoardings in county grounds. County grounds where thousands of people are attending games, or are watching them on nationwide TV. If I'm the marketing manager of the Hodson Bay Hotel or whatever, I know which exposure I'd chose & it's not the one on wheels.
Stick up a water slide down the graveyard end.
Quote from: Beffs on March 29, 2016, 08:53:02 PM
Does the bus spend all its time being followed around by camera crews from TG4, Setanta and RTE?
(Nothing would surprise me with that yoke. ::) )
Unless it does, I'm having a hard time seeing how slapping their name on the side of a bus, gives a company more advertising bang for their buck, than big billboards and hoardings in county grounds. County grounds where thousands of people are attending games, or are watching them on nationwide TV. If I'm the marketing manager of the Hodson Bay Hotel or whatever, I know which exposure I'd chose & its not the one on wheels.
Exactly how many live games from the Hyde can you remember?
Well, last Sundays for starters. I have seen the Hyde on RTE News bulletins, the Sunday Game highlights shows & games during the Connaught champo, dozens of times. If the pitch at the Hyde wasn't in such a state, I would have probably seen another one of their home games on TG4, either live, on deferred coverage on Sunday, or on the extended highlights show on Monday.
Quote from: Beffs on March 29, 2016, 09:14:49 PM
Well, last Sundays for starters. I have seen the Hyde on RTE News bulletins, the Sunday Game highlights shows & games during the Connaught champo, dozens of times. If the pitch at the Hyde wasn't in such a state, I would have probably seen another one of their home games on TG4, either live, deferred coverage on the Sunday, or on the extended highlights show on Monday.
And if they had lights they'd be on setanta this weekend . Their head is up their hole but it's best you just tell that buckeeen they are doing everything right . The Hyde pitch has always been a shithole and now the ground itself is 30 years out of date . Sometimes I think it's because they still long for the 70s of the glorious Roscommon team that bet Mayo a lot .
Mayowestros won no Connacht titles in the 70s but haven'tlost in the Hyde since the pitch became a sh1te one.
Quote from: Rossfan on March 29, 2016, 09:52:58 PM
Mayowestros won no Connacht titles in the 70s but haven'tlost in the Hyde since the pitch became a sh1te one.
[/quote
We lost in 01 and 91 and it was a terrible pitch for sure in early to mid 90s for sure , believe it or not I played on it as a gasuan for nathys and I categorically remember thinking what an awful pitch and this a county ground.
Dublin -3 @10/11 , surely that's a good thing .
Pairc Sean Carrick on stand by for next Sundays game, If the weather forecast is right then its sure to be there.
I suspect we'll be crossing the Shannon to east Cortober alright :-[
Quote from: mayo.mick on March 29, 2016, 12:50:10 PM
Lot of rain on the way, Fri/Sat night and Sunday looking bad. Can see it being moved to Tullamore, pitch could be flooded again.
(http://i1195.photobucket.com/albums/aa382/mayomick/Weather%20Charts-Screenshots/rain%20apr%201_zpsxwlluog0.jpg) (http://s1195.photobucket.com/user/mayomick/media/Weather%20Charts-Screenshots/rain%20apr%201_zpsxwlluog0.jpg.html)
Quote from: mayo.mick on March 30, 2016, 01:00:21 AM
Quote from: mayo.mick on March 29, 2016, 12:50:10 PM
(http://i1195.photobucket.com/albums/aa382/mayomick/Weather%20Charts-Screenshots/rain%20apr%201_zpsxwlluog0.jpg) (http://s1195.photobucket.com/user/mayomick/media/Weather%20Charts-Screenshots/rain%20apr%201_zpsxwlluog0.jpg.html)
That system will have burned itself out by Sunday. Pitches in Stockholm, Rome and Munich should be playable.
Wednesday, 30 March, 2016
Forecasts for Ireland
TODAY ... Showers will advance once again from western counties this morning to provide hit or miss coverage of all regions later on, and one or two could once again produce hail or thunder. The westerly to northwesterly breezes today will be rather gentle, 30-50 km/hr at times but there will be intervals of slack winds, if these combine with any sunshine then it may feel warmer than the actual high temperature which will be 8 to 11 C.
TONIGHT ... Widespread clearing but still a few isolated showers persisting near west coast. Lows inland -3 to +2 C.
THURSDAY ... Morning sunshine, afternoon cloud increasing from west to east, and highs of 8 to 12 C. Winds rather light at first, then south to southwest increasing to 40-60 km/hr later.
FRIDAY ... Periods of rain from early morning in west, spreading to east by late morning or mid-day, but remaining heavier in western counties (15-25 mm potential there, 5-15 mm east). Moderate southerly winds 50-70 km/hr and highs 10-12 C.
SATURDAY ... Overcast, some fog or mist, light rain or drizzle redeveloping and becoming more of a heavy downpour by the overnight hours into Sunday morning. About 20-40 mm rain could fall in that time frame, with temperatures steady 9-12 C. Rain may be heaviest in western counties and there is some risk of flooding resuming.
SUNDAY ... Morning rain or showers slowly moving away to north with slight clearing by late in the day, lows near 7 C and highs near 13 C.
As long as there's no more rain between now and Christmas, the Hyde should be ready for the league in 2017.
Bit of a joke really at this stage. Everyone, teams included, need certainty. There is no way that match will take place considering the graphics attached. Nothing but rain as usual in this country.
Should the Mayo county board give Ballaghaderreen permission to allow Roscommon play this game on their pitch? Be a nice neighbourly gesture.
The Rossies and the Saffrons have fairline went in different trajectories since 'Umbrellagate' a few years back
Div 3 for us next year and hope to keep climbing to get back to the Hyde and tore into ye in the not very distant future!
This match thread has become a weather thread. Omagh had more puddles of water on it Saturday night than Hyde park.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 30, 2016, 05:18:18 PM
This match thread has become a weather thread. Omagh had more puddles of water on it Saturday night than Hyde park.
Not sure this is as relevant as the Roscommon County Board think it is, but from watching on TV, I thought Omagh seemed bad, but Hyde seemed a lot worse
Quote from: Hound on March 30, 2016, 05:30:10 PM
Not sure this is as relevant as the Roscommon County Board think it is, but from watching on TV, I thought Omagh seemed bad, but Hyde seemed a lot worse
The more I think about it the better it would be to force Dublun to play at the Hyde. The contrast of how the other half lives will be too obvious to ignore.
If played on a good surface this could be quite an enjoyable match but honestly with nothing at stake getting the money from the gate is more important.
Omagh looked worse IMO. No pitch good or bad could have coped with the amount of rainfall we got last weekend.
You'd think with all the queen's money that has been spent, they could have done something with the pitch and drainage up there.
Disgraceful.
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on March 30, 2016, 06:25:19 PM
You'd think with all the queen's money that has been spent, they could have done something with the pitch and drainage up there.
Disgraceful.
They have, this is a typical pitch in Tyrone.
(http://i2.belfastlive.co.uk/incoming/article10563840.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/JS78260456.jpg)
Looks like swimmimg goggles will be standard equipment on Sunday. Actually probably will be worn by all teams facing the Dubs to protect from eye gouging
Quote from: criostlinn on March 30, 2016, 07:39:54 PM
Looks like swimmimg goggles will be standard equipment on Sunday. Actually probably will be worn by all teams facing the Dubs to protect from eye gouging
Or maybe staying at home because none of you can beat us.
Quote from: Syferus on March 30, 2016, 05:42:40 PM
The more I think about it the better it would be to force Dublun to play at the Hyde. The contrast of how the other half lives will be too obvious to ignore.
Our own fault we live the way we do. Leitrim and Sligo with a lot less resources have grounds you can actually play on. The ownership dispute between county board and Ros Gaels is reason no investment in Hyde Park. In addition, the last time we got money from HQ back in the 90s, it was poorly spent. So don't think there will be much sympathy. It's unforgivable too that we are trying to play Sunday's game in the Hyde to keep local business happy. Player welfare should be the only criteria and Hyde Park is not fit for purpose. We got very lucky that no player got seriously injured last Sunday. Cannot be allowed happen again. Hopefully saner heads will prevail and this game will be moved.
If played on a good surface this could be quite an enjoyable match but honestly with nothing at stake getting the money from the gate is more important.
I agree it's a foregone conclusion if played on a good pitch. It needs to be on a mudbath to make it competitive and give you a chance.
We've technically in breach of a Corporate Social Responsibility Footprint thus far to allow one minnow to beat us in the league. So Santa Claus may arrive for Rsocommon this weekend.
Quote from: INDIANA on March 30, 2016, 11:20:49 PM
I agree it's a foregone conclusion if played on a good pitch. It needs to be on a mudbath to make it competitive and give you a chance.
We've technically in breach of a Corporate Social Responsibility Footprint thus far to allow one minnow to beat us in the league. So Santa Claus may arrive for Rsocommon this weekend.
You do realise this game is a dead rubber for both teams?
The safety of the players is far more important than turning all this into a statement about The Poor Downtrodden Rossies vs The Big City Slickers. People would have a lot more respect for how Roscommon go about their business, if they just accepted that the pitch is in no fit state to be played on and moved on from there.
Quote from: Beffs on March 30, 2016, 11:59:36 PM
The safety of the players is far more important than turning all this into a statement about The Poor Downtrodden Rossies vs The Big City Slickers. People would have a lot more respect for how Roscommon go about their business, if they just accepted that the pitch is in no fit state to be played on and moved on from there.
I don't think anyone in Roscommon could give a flying fúck what outsiders think. It's our home game and if the Hyde is playable it's playable. If not, then we'll go to plan b.
Yes, God forbid your co board get kudos for handling all this, in a sensible, player centric and professional manner. They've been f**king up their management of the Hyde for years, why stop now? ::)
Quote from: Beffs on March 31, 2016, 12:28:59 AM
Yes, God forbid your co board get kudos for handling all this, in a sensible, player centric and professional manner. They've been f**king up their management of the Hyde for years, why stop now? ::)
The entire board has changed in the last 24 months. They had nothing to do with the mismanagement of the Hyde. The men in there now are doing a very good job so far.
No running water in the ladies toilets. No functioning telephone/data lines in the press area, so the assembled media couldn't even do their job. Having to send out a tannoy request for any Eircom staff in the ground, to come to the press area to help sort it out. Pitch an utter mud bath. Yeah, they are doing a real good job so far.
Quote from: Beffs on March 31, 2016, 12:46:46 AM
No running water in the ladies toilets. No functioning telephone/data lines in the press area, so the assembled media couldn't even do their job. Having to send out a tannoy request for any Eircom staff in the ground, to come to the press area to help sort it out. Pitch an utter mud bath. Yeah, they are doing a real good job so far.
Jesus Beffs if I catch you going the ladies toilets on Sunday I'll have to f**k you out of there.
Any port in a storm my good chap. Quite literally ! ;)
6 changes from last Sunday's starting 15 on the "announced" team.
Cathal Shine named at midfield.
Quote from: Rossfan on March 31, 2016, 09:35:48 PM
The Tank is back. Best news all week.
Donie and Corcoran on the bench too.
"The tank is back" :D :D :D :D ;D ;D >:( 8) ??? ::) :-[ :'( :'( :'(
Quote from: Syferus on March 31, 2016, 09:38:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 31, 2016, 09:35:48 PM
The Tank is back. Best news all week.
Donie and Corcoran on the bench too.
A better midfield pairing than what played against Mayo however that Roscommon half forward and half back line still looks a little lightweight.
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 30, 2016, 11:30:28 PM
This would be the biggest win in Roscommon's history in fairness. We've nothing to play for.
Quote from: INDIANA on March 31, 2016, 10:33:26 PM
This would be the biggest win in Roscommon's history in fairness. We've nothing to play for.
In fairness it's a dead rubber game if ever there was one however Dublin will be looking to maintain their unbeaten run.
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 31, 2016, 10:41:00 PM
In fairness it's a dead rubber game if ever there was one however Dublin will be looking to maintain their unbeaten run.
Not really no. Unbeaten runs are an occupational hazard when you're as good as we are
If Dublin were to lose their unbeaten record against Roscommon would Jim Gavins unbroken smirk become a frown?
Yep, would make their two All Ireland wins in front of 80000+ people back in the day pale into insignificance.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 31, 2016, 11:20:08 PM
If Dublin were to lose their unbeaten record against Roscommon would Jim Gavins unbroken smirk become a frown?
botox sells well in dublin . Not only are we the best football team but we're the best looking too
Quote from: INDIANA on March 31, 2016, 11:46:38 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 31, 2016, 11:20:08 PM
botox sells well in dublin . Not only are we the best football team but we're the best looking too
Keep takin th'oul tablets.
The Dubs Supporters page.
6 hrs ·
****EXCLUSIVE****
Sources close to the Dublin team have revealed to this page that due to worries about the playing surface at Dr Hyde Park and with heavy rain forecast, the Dublin footballers have this week been put through their paces at the National aquatic centre in preparation for the clash against the Rossies. It was also revealed that should Dublin win the toss before the match, they will defend the deep end in the first half.
Plenty of water for them round Carrick ( on Shannon) too. ;)
Quote from: Declan on April 01, 2016, 08:11:20 AM
The Dubs Supporters page.
6 hrs ·
****EXCLUSIVE****
Sources close to the Dublin team have revealed to this page that due to worries about the playing surface at Dr Hyde Park and with heavy rain forecast, the Dublin footballers have this week been put through their paces at the National aquatic centre in preparation for the clash against the Rossies. It was also revealed that should Dublin win the toss before the match, they will defend the deep end in the first half.
LOL 8)
Croke Park?
Quote from: ballinaman on April 01, 2016, 05:33:29 PM
Croke Park?
Dr. Hyde Park.
Any change will be decided tomorrow morning with Carrick the venue.
On the official Roscommon GAA Twitter account.
Forget the April Fools Rubbish you've heard. Roscommon Dublin is in the Hyde at 2pm Sunday.
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 01, 2016, 06:18:51 PM
Forget the April Fools Rubbish you've heard. Roscommon Dublin is in the Hyde at 2pm Sunday.
In fairness economically this is the biggest event in Roscommon since the last time Enda drove through it on his way to mayo
13,000 plus last Sunday and also the Easter parade.
So biggest event in 7 days.
I'd be surprised if the Dublin game gets a bigger crowd than the Mayo one. Dublin & Roscommon are not traditional rivals. Neither county are facing relegation, so nothing is really at stake.
Quote from: INDIANA on April 01, 2016, 07:12:25 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 01, 2016, 06:18:51 PM
In fairness economically this is the biggest event in Roscommon since the last time Enda drove through it on his way to mayo
That's why I had my shopeen stacked up with Celtic and ManU tracksuits when I heard the Dubs were coming to town.
Quote from: Beffs on April 01, 2016, 07:53:08 PM
I'd be surprised if the Dublin game gets a bigger crowd than the Mayo one. Dublin & Roscommon are not traditional rivals. Neither county are facing relegation, so nothing is really at stake.
8,000 max I'd say.
I don't think I'll ever forget reading this.
Quote from: Conallach on April 01, 2016, 09:01:02 PM
If I was from Roscommon, I'd settle for not getting my arse handed to me by the likes of Sligo & Fermanagh again, over beating the Dubs in a meaningless league game, that Jim Gavin and Co will have forgotten about 5 minutes after the final whistle.
This isn't even the biggest game Roscommon are playing this weekend.
You shouldn't in fairness. The best team of the modern era is coming to town
Quote from: INDIANA on April 01, 2016, 09:30:05 PM
No, they're not. The best team of the modern era, will be at home watching Galway vs Cavan, along with everyone else. Fringe panelists & lads that need game time, will make the trip to Roscommon for the most part. Gavin isn't going to risk his A listers for a meaningless game in April, in the middle of a lake. He has bigger fish to fry, if you'll pardon the terrible pun.
Quote from: Beffs on April 01, 2016, 10:05:55 PM
No, they're not. The best team of the modern era, will be at home watching Galway vs Cavan, along with everyone else. Fringe panelists & lads that need game time, will make the trip to Roscommon for the most part. Gavin isn't going to risk his A listers for a meaningless game in April, in the middle of a lake. He has bigger fish to fry, if you'll pardon the terrible pun.
He's not the only manager thinking like that.
Quote from: Beffs on April 01, 2016, 10:05:55 PM
O Lord its so hard to be humble, when your perfect in every way.
Us poor Rossies will look on in awe at the great, the unbelievable, most fabulous swashbuckling Dubs playing live in our very own backyard {or Carrick}, what an honour, and you expect us to stay at home and watch Cavan v Galway. ah come on, wheres me efin wellies. :D
Word from the Rossie's camp is they want to finish strong in the last 15 mins so they're going to play against the current in the first half.
Enjoy Division 3.
Quote from: Jinxy on April 01, 2016, 10:44:29 PM
Word from the Rossie's camp is they want to finish strong in the last 15 mins so they're going to play against the current in the first half.
History is upon us on Sunday as the Rossies are set to create history. Must be good odds in the bookies for this. Roscommon should win
The tide is with Roscommon.
Quote from: armaghniac on April 02, 2016, 03:24:35 AM
The tide is with Roscommon.
the tide is sweeping Armagh down to Division 3
Roscommon getting to and/or winning a League final would be huge for them in year one of their current cycle
Pitch playable as it stands, final decision being taken at 6pm this evening.
Quote from: heffo on April 02, 2016, 10:19:20 AM
Roscommon getting to and/or winning a League final would be huge for them in year one of their current cycle
Year 2 will do grand as we have to be in New York a few days after the League Final.
Looks like we're going to play the game in the Hyde no matter what.
Decision has been deferred until early tomorrow morning.
Not a good sign for it going ahead at the Hyde tomorrow, been raining most of the bloody day there. Pitch must look like the feckin Florida Everglades by now. Ground officials gone off to get an Airboat to conduct the pitch inspection in the morning :P.
Meanwhile, the Dubs supporters are all in their Roscommon hotels and B& B`s tonight spending their money
which keeps local businesses happy.
Then, in the morning, they can all go off to Carrick if necessary or visit the Hyde.
As Delboy used to say, ``everyone`s a winner``
It's the day of the match now and the thread title is still relevant.
All jokes aside, I was at a club game yesterday where a player got a very bad injury landing on a mudbath.
If the pitch isn't perfect, it shouldn't go ahead.
Game switched to Carrick.
They should close Hyde Park now until the pitch and facilities are brought up to scratch.
Quote from: Tubberman on April 03, 2016, 09:35:56 AM
Game switched to Carrick.
They should close Hyde Park now until the pitch and facilities are brought up to scratch.
Just wondering what Dublin supporters who have train tickets (from last night and today) and B & B's booked will do?
Have ye Rhubarbs not got a relegation game to be going to? ;D
This decision should have been made early last night.
Time to head off to avoid the queue at Clancy's mini roundabout.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 03, 2016, 10:31:39 AM
Just wondering! If I had traveled from Dublin by train. Then i would be stranded in Roscommon, unless i get a taxi to Carrick and back. Has to be better lead time in cancelling a game such as this.
Very poor from Roscommon they way this was handled.
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 03, 2016, 10:42:10 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 03, 2016, 10:31:39 AM
Just wondering! If I had traveled from Dublin by train. Then i would be stranded in Roscommon, unless i get a taxi to Carrick and back. Has to be better lead time in cancelling a game such as this.
Especially given this was entirely foreseeable
Joe Duffy will get a good week out of this one feels .
Good boost for Carrick, Carlow hadn't many fans at the last match there.
When would the Dubs last have played in Pairc Sean?
Roscommon county board should now make sure they take care of the away supporters in light of this debacle. The team bus should be immediately sent to start shuttling Dublin supporters from the train station to Carrick. 8)
County p r o posted on facebook this morning "time to head for the bunker" if its a joke its in very bad taste, TIME TO STAND UP I say.
Dubs going crazy on social media, extra oxygen in the air going to their heads ;D, they have 90% of their games in Croker so let them suck up the inconvenience for once,.
Going to get slated in dub media but we are well used to that.
Come on the Rossies.
There's a perverse joy in codding the Dubs like this. Kerry aren't the only cute hoors on the go.
Quote from: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2016, 11:31:33 AM
2004 qualifier I'd say. Back in the days when Dublin actually suffered the human rights abuse of playing championship games outside Croke Park.
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2016, 11:57:13 AM
There's a perverse joy in codding the Dubs like this. Kerry aren't the only cute hoors on the go.
What ??
Quote from: Owenmoresider on April 03, 2016, 11:57:43 AM
2004 qualifier I'd say. Back in the days when Dublin actually suffered the human rights abuse of playing championship games outside Croke Park.
I remember sitting on an uncovered bench that day in torrential rain
More like back in the day when we'd lose in Leinster and have to go through the qualifiers
Codding the genuine Dublin supporters travelling for a nothing league game?? :o Awful cute alright
Quote from: Hound on April 03, 2016, 12:24:55 PM
More like back in the day when we'd lose in Leinster and have to go through the qualifiers
Didn't happen ye in 2010 when exiting Leinster.
Quote from: macdanger2 on April 03, 2016, 12:32:52 PM
Codding the genuine Dublin supporters travelling for a nothing league game?? :o Awful cute alright
Ye could have done with s bit of that cuteness when Kerry dragged ye to Fortress Limerick.
Part of the fun in playing the Rossies is not knowing where the game will be on until the last minute.
It's like going on a magical mystery tour of the West.
Traffic jam about a km before you hit Cortober with people abandoning cars miles away from the ground.
This really was very poorly handled by Roscommon CB.
That's very unfair.
Nobody could have anticipated that a weeks worth of rain on top of an already waterlogged pitch would make it unplayable.
MORE unplayable, I mean.
Quote from: Jinxy on April 03, 2016, 01:44:35 PM
MORE unplayable, I mean.
Carrick was chosen because most Dublin lads were intimately aquinted with it from their stag nights.
They might get in a bit of paintball before the game.
All weather pitch cheaper than a bus.
*Runs out of thread*
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 03, 2016, 01:55:28 PM
All weather pitch cheaper than a bus.
*Runs out of thread*
The pitch is going to cost 300k to do.
Small money for a playable county ground.
10 euro for the complimentary bus
Quote from: mrdeeds on April 03, 2016, 02:31:31 PM
Seriously ??? Someone needs a good kicking if that's true.
Roscommon : 0-2(2) Dublin: 0-3(3)
That's taking the piss if true. I'd love to see Roscommon challenge for major honours but their CB have behaved shamefully if what we're hearing is true.
Reporters and supporters group said so. Disgraceful
Very bad form
They change the venue when half the support is on the way on the train and they charge for the complimentary bus?
Dublin 0-9 (9) 0-3 (3)
Ref riding us like a Christmas pony.
Black carded Seanie for a fair shoulder and Cathal Cregg for something that was barely a foul.
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2016, 02:59:49 PM
Black carded Seanie for a fair shoulder and Cathal Cregg for something that was barely a foul.
Frankie Dolan on the radio said Cregg's was a cast iron black.
Frankie did disagree with the first black, but otherwise he said Ros should have no complaints and they're doing far too much fouling, but conditions really don't suit them
When Carrick is a better alternative than your own ground you have serious problems.
Quote from: Hound on April 03, 2016, 03:02:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2016, 02:59:49 PM
Frankie Dolan on the radio said Cregg's was a cast iron black.
Frankie Dolan isn't the man to listen to for disciplinary advice.
Have the wheels come off the Roscommon fun bus?
They've done brilliantly to survive in Division 1.
To be fair I'm not sure a ref has ever done anything but ride a Roscommon team if you were to be listened to. Not sure what Frankie's disciplinary record has to do with his ability to see.
Quote from: Zulu on April 03, 2016, 03:07:24 PM
To be fair I'm not sure a ref has ever done anything but ride a Roscommon team if you were to be listened to. Not sure what Frankie's disciplinary record has to do with his ability to see.
Nonsense as usual from you Zulu. I rarely mention the ref.
Switch, rarely with usually, and you'd be bang on.
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 03, 2016, 02:35:03 PM
Seriously ??? Someone needs a good kicking if that's true.
Roscommon : 0-2(2) Dublin: 0-3(3)
Priceless if true. Fair play to the Rossies, entertainment value alone worth the €10 :D
Ros 7 Dubs 10
Dubs plenty of wides (11) and missed goal chances. Ros right back in it
http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/roscommon-gaa-to-launch-investigation-after-dublin-fans-charged-10-for-free-bus-34594626.html
Once you cross the Shannon, it's every man for himself.
They don't call it the Wild West for nothing.
Goals for both sides, Rock and Kilbride. Dubs by 2 with 6m left. Melting pot
Goal for the Rossies disallowed for square ball. But point afterwards for Ros leaves 1 in it. Couple of mins of inj time left
Free awarded for Ros with easy chance to equalise
Ciaran Murtagh......wide. Slipped
FT: Dublin 1-13 Roscommon 1-12
Dubs poor in 2nd half
Quote from: Jinxy on April 03, 2016, 01:40:21 PM
That's very unfair.
Nobody could have anticipated that a weeks worth of rain on top of an already waterlogged pitch would make it unplayable.
That's known as Roscommon cuteness, same name as the kerry kind but seems to be entirely different in practise
Quote from: Jinxy on April 03, 2016, 03:39:20 PM
Once you cross the Shannon, it's every man for himself.
They don't call it the Wild West for nothing.
Isn't the pitch on the less wild side of the Shannon?
Quote from: macdanger2 on April 03, 2016, 04:05:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 03, 2016, 01:40:21 PM
That's very unfair.
That's known as Roscommon cuteness, same name as the kerry kind but seems to be entirely different in practise
In the Kerry version, they're usually only pretending to be thick.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 02, 2016, 12:07:00 AM
Enjoy Division 3.
In your face Rossfan. ;D
Now, I'm off down to PT to have a roll around on our lovely, bone dry pitch.
Might even build a sandcastle while I'm there.
Good response in the second half when it looked like a trimming was likely. Wouldn't be too worried about the miss at the end, it was a glorified challenge match with both teams rotating players early. Donie Shine looked well on his return in particular. Mulhooly put in a quality shift after last night's disappointment. Niall Mc cleaned out Cathal McHugh twice while isolated inside one-on-one which was excellent to see from a young lad who is making a hell of a fist at his first season starting.
League overall has been excellent for us. Hung with the big boys and were competitive in just about every match.
Tyrone Cant wait to get a rattle at ye...
Quote from: rrhf on April 03, 2016, 04:20:37 PM
Tyrone Cant wait to get a rattle at ye...
Rattle sounds about right.
You are talking tru your rear end as usual syf if you think that was a glorified challenge match. it was full blooded right from start to finish, were you at the game? if you were you were doing a hell of a lot of posting or maybe you were at home in Mchale park.
Syferus was below in the Hyde with his pitchfork.
(http://bloximages.chicago2.vip.townnews.com/parisbeacon.com/content/tncms/assets/v3/editorial/d/11/d119147e-3723-11e5-b079-8777c13d3a04/55bad001b8687.image.jpg?resize=300%2C207)
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2016, 04:17:44 PM
Good response in the second half when it looked like a trimming was likely. Wouldn't be too worried about the miss at the end, it was a glorified challenge match with both teams rotating players early. Donie Shine looked well on his return in particular. Mulhooly put in a quality shift after last night's disappointment. Niall Mc cleaned out Cathal McHugh twice while isolated inside one-on-one which was excellent to see from a young lad who is making a hell of a fist at his first season starting.
League overall has been excellent for us. Hung with the big boys and were competitive in just about every match.
To conclude you lost minor, u21 and senior games this weekend.
If that's something to celebrate then it says everything. Dublin had half a team out today- you moved the venue this morning, pissed off all our fans and you still couldn't beat us.
Quote from: INDIANA on April 03, 2016, 05:58:37 PM
If that's something to celebrate then it says everything. Dublin had half a team out today- you moved the venue this morning, pissed off all our fans and you still couldn't beat us.
Don't you come in here and make me side with the Rossies - I won't have it!
Quote from: Tubberman on April 03, 2016, 06:00:49 PM
Don't you come in here and make me side with the Rossies - I won't have it!
This guy (Syferus) is absolutely delusional.
I could have sworn the dubs had 15 players on the field at all times today indianna, and what about that super panel of players ye have? ye looked a very ordinary lot today when the presure was on, I hope the train was not clamped when ye got back to it ;D
Roscommon should be made all their league games away from home next season. County board didn't switch the game until this morning so the pubs/hotels could get the dubs money.
Charging €10 for buses was the ultimate insult. On the game itself a second string dublin did there best to throw away victory. Messed up 4 goal chances in the 2nd half and kicked some shocking wides. Mannion played well and McHugh won a lot of ball. Savage struggled under high balls and at fault for rossies goal. Pitch was poor and big Dublin crowd travelled up
Quote from: dublin7 on April 03, 2016, 06:31:40 PM
Roscommon should be made all their league games away from home next season. County board didn't switch the game until this morning so the pubs/hotels could get the dubs money.
Charging €10 for buses was the ultimate insult. On the game itself a second string dublin did there best to throw away victory. Messed up 4 goal chances in the 2nd half and kicked some shocking wides. Mannion played well and McHugh won a lot of ball. Savage struggled under high balls and at fault for rossies goal. Pitch was poor and big Dublin crowd travelled up
The Dubs money? Judging by the outrage over the e10 charge for the bus, I cant imagine the dubs spent too much in Roscommon last night.
Quote from: giveballaghback on April 03, 2016, 06:21:20 PM
I could have sworn the dubs had 15 players on the field at all times today indianna, and what about that super panel of players ye have? ye looked a very ordinary lot today when the presure was on, I hope the train was not clamped when ye got back to it ;D
4 championship starters today. And we still won.
Extraordinary
Quote from: mup on April 03, 2016, 06:40:38 PM
The Dubs money? Judging by the outrage over the e10 charge for the bus, I cant imagine the dubs spent too much in Roscommon last night.
If Roscommon co board or yourself can come up with a fair and reasonable reason to justify charging fans for transport from roscommon to carrick today please tell us all. It would be the 1st time this week they showed any sign of intelligence
Seems the Roscommon CB didn't want the bus company to charge and were going to foot the bill themselves. Where the confusion lies I don't know but it seems the buses were meant to be complimentary. Doesn't mean the CB didn't make a mess of the organisation though, they did.
Quote from: dublin7 on April 03, 2016, 07:03:11 PM
Quote from: mup on April 03, 2016, 06:40:38 PM
If Roscommon co board or yourself can come up with a fair and reasonable reason to justify charging fans for transport from roscommon to carrick today please tell us all. It would be the 1st time this week they showed any sign of intelligence
It was an attempt at humour on my behalf. Perhaps it wasn't the right time.
But indeed you are right. It was a monumental c**k up and shouldn't have happened.
It's like the County management committee went on holidays for the whole weekend and left Syferus in charge.
the extra oxygen in the air must have gone to your head indianna, go home and rest a while it will do you good.
Both teams ran the rule over their panels and but for slip on a free with the last kick of game this match would have finished in draw. Hardly a surprising outcome from a dead rubber game.
Quote from: giveballaghback on April 03, 2016, 08:00:30 PM
the extra oxygen in the air must have gone to your head indianna, go home and rest a while it will do you good.
4 championship starters .
The halycon years
Hollywood has Indiana Jones, whilst here on this forum,we get Indiana Moans.
Quote from: Zulu on April 03, 2016, 07:18:12 PM
Seems the Roscommon CB didn't want the bus company to charge and were going to foot the bill themselves. Where the confusion lies I don't know but it seems the buses were meant to be complimentary. Doesn't mean the CB didn't make a mess of the organisation though, they did.
Sounds like a p***k of bus driver that thought It was a good idea to charge for a free bus. No doubt he will be tracked down and named and shamed.
His name might have been Derek Trotter ;D
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 03, 2016, 08:25:30 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 03, 2016, 07:18:12 PM
Sounds like a p***k of bus driver that thought It was a good idea to charge for a free bus. No doubt he will be tracked down and named and shamed.
Sounds like he pulled a genius stroke on the gullible Dubs.
Hound would surely appreciate his entrepreneurial guile.
Pleased with our second half showing and the whole panel must have got a bit of action at this stage.
Pleased with the League overall and good to be getting a semi final run out.
Most of our better players today weren't even on the panel last year or weren't getting games.
D Murtagh and Harney, the 2 Dalys, Donie and Enda Smith , Claffey to add to today's lot and we're not doing too bad.
Less said about the pitch and switch the better but I think if ye loom back the thread I told ye Monday or Tuesday to head for Carrick.
Onwards and upwards the best is yet to come.
Dev adds so much to the structure of our attack with his passing and his interplay. Found a few new lads and found a few old faces too. Coming out of the league with a deeper panel than we went in with, that's the best thing of all.
It's a disgrace we have no county pitch fit to host a Division 1 league game in April. However I wouldn't be crying too much over the Dublin supporters plight. The very reason they get all games in Croke Park, supposedly the national venue, a neutral venue, is so they can all be accommodated. How can they be expected to play down in Longford or Mullingar or Navan when all the summer supporters wouldn't fit in? So every GAA convention or tradition is abandoned when it comes to the fair weather Dub fan because he must get in to the game so the GAA can rake in his money. This money is then redistributed throughout the capital in order to create a hurling team out of nothing and keep the Boys In Blue footballers a box office entity. So f**k them, basically. They are in an almost permanent state of special treatment so I'm delighted a late change from one waterlogged bog of a kip of a pitch to another cabbage patch has them so put out. This is GAA down the country. Driving home past Kilmore's pitch I almost wished we'd brought them to that beautiful place instead!
On the game. Best team won. Though we showed admirable fight in the second half. Mannion is a class act. I cannot stand McManamons style of play. Bulling through taking 10 steps and manufacturing frees out of nowhere. Ref was a bolox today. Black card rule has to be binned ASAP. The ginger corner forward is a nice wee player for Dublin too. Though I did laugh when he nearly sank in swallow hole near the corner flag while trying to foot pass and ended up on his arse.
What about the ten euro we have to pay the lockhards or our car wont be there when we get back to it.
Dont cry too hard or too long for them poor dubs, they are a 2 euro spin away from most of their matches.
Roscommon Co Board have tonight stated that nobody was charged any money for the complimentary transport provided by them. However, they are aware that a number of other buses were hired privately.
The matter should now be over.
To be fair, that was terribly handled by the Roscommon County Board. That game should have been moved during the week. The pitch was borderline unplayable last weekend, and this wasn't exactly a great week weather wise. At the the very least, it should have been moved yesterday evening. What did they think was going to happen with the forecast as it was?
Dessie said it was playable on Friday which scuppers a lot of the talk of making the decision before the weekend. Only change that should have been made was making the call yesterday rather this morning.
Syferus, it was barely playable last weekend. It was 'borderline' at the inspection on Saturday morning, and with heavy rainfall, how was it going to improve. It's not ready for football, in this weather, and they should have bit the bullet. It was irresponsible to do otherwise, and I do feel sorry for any die hard Dub fans that got the train down to Roscommon. That's just not good enough.
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 03, 2016, 10:27:59 PM
To be fair, that was terribly handled by the Roscommon County Board. That game should have been moved during the week. The pitch was borderline unplayable last weekend, and this wasn't exactly a great week weather wise. At the the very least, it should have been moved yesterday evening. What did they think was going to happen with the forecast as it was?
I would agree they handled it badly. However the team are something to be proud of, very few gave them a chance of competing in this division. They had 8 pts with 2 to play. Not bad for a team that were playing Div 4 5 years ago.
Roscommon the team are making great strides, no doubt about it. But they've been a good league team this last few years. Big onus on them to have a Championship now.
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 03, 2016, 10:36:26 PM
Roscommon the team are making great strides, no doubt about it. But they've been a good league team this last few years. Big onus on them to have a Championship now.
Yes that is the challenge. Think we are better placed this year to make some impact, the management team regconise the football talent available and let them play. Offaly did pretty good in Div 3, wee bit unlucky not to make the jump to 2.
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 03, 2016, 10:17:43 PM
Roscommon Co Board have tonight stated that nobody was charged any money for the complimentary transport provided by them. However, they are aware that a number of other buses were hired privately.
The matter should now be over.
no it shouldn't. The team have more than proved they are div 1 standard but the co board and their infrasructure have proven to be woefully inadequate. Hows your typical fan who is in a hurry to a game supposed to know what buses are legit and what aren't. The co board should find a way to reimburse everyone without any arguing about it.
Offaly will be happy enough, but disappointed with Mullingar. Also, as the league unfolded, that defeat in Tipperary doesn't look as 'good'. Still safe, and I think Pat Flanagan will fancy his chances next year with Westmeath gone down to 4 and Kildare up to 2.
Quote from: giveballaghback on April 03, 2016, 10:05:19 PM
What about the ten euro we have to pay the lockhards or our car wont be there when we get back to it.
Dont cry too hard or too long for them poor dubs, they are a 2 euro spin away from most of their matches.
Exactly, and they got to see more of their neighbouring country this weekend than they did during the rest of their lives. If they looked out the windows they might have seen wee lambs, round bales and stuff. Yanks and other tourists pay hundreds of bucks to gawk out of coaches at that kind of stuff.
Quote from: moysider on April 03, 2016, 11:19:36 PM
Exactly, and they got to see more of their neighbouring country this weekend than they did during the rest of their lives. If they looked out the windows they might have seen wee lambs, round bales and stuff. Yanks and other tourists pay hundreds of bucks to gawk out of coaches at that kind of stuff.
But where is the man on the Sunday Game who hired a bus when there was free ones on the go going to get his tenner from, Moy? I expect Liveline will be hopping with cluchie hatin' tomorrow.
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2016, 11:34:54 PM
But where is the man on the Sunday Game who hired a bus when there was free ones on the go going to get his tenner from, Moy? I expect Liveline will be hopping with cluchie hatin' tomorrow.
Liveline! If this did not happen there would be something else to hate about.
Looks like at least one busman is going to be paid on the double. That's if the Ros. board cough up. lol.
M
Exactly, and they got to seemsr more of their neighbouring country this weekend than they did during the rest of their lives. If they looked out the windows they might have setttyyen wee lambs, round bales and stuff. Yanks and other tourists pay hundreds of bucks to gawk out of coaches at that kind of stuff.
ut
I travelled up to the game today and saw loads of fields full of water. Apparently the muppets who work for the Roscommonh CB didn't see any of that. Basil Fawlty would be proud of their leadership skills.
Quote from: dublin7 on April 03, 2016, 11:46:56 PM
M
Exactly, and they got to seemsr more of their neighbouring country this weekend than they did during the rest of their lives. If they looked out the windows they might have setttyyen wee lambs, round bales and stuff. Yanks and other tourists pay hundreds of bucks to gawk out of coaches at that kind of stuff.
ut
I travelled up to the game today and saw loads of fields full of water. Apparently the muppets who work for the Roscommonh CB didn't see and of that. Basil Fawlty would be proud of their leadership skills.
Lol. I wish salmon fishing was this easy.
Quote from: dublin7 on April 03, 2016, 11:46:56 PM
M
ut
I travelled up to the game today and saw loads of fields full of water. Apparently the muppets who work for the Roscommonh CB didn't see any of that. Basil Fawlty would be proud of their leadership skills.
Like Roscommon GAA can do an anti-rain dance ;D
Probably the game should have been cancelled after an inspection on Sun morn 9am , which is the appropriate time for a final inspection to take place. And failing that inspection, the game should have been cancelled and rescheduled for next week.
I do suppose Dublin GAA followers can browse the internet and interpret weather forecasts, just like any ordinary person can do before making a journey.
I usually avoid Rossie treads for obvious reasons, but this has been worthwhile.
Comical Ali stuff from Ros GAA on Friday tweeting that the April Fools jokes were rubbish and the game would definitely go ahead in Hyde Park. I would have thought our PRO who writes an astute political column for the Roscommon Herald every week forecasting how the government situation will pan out would have been able to employ those same forecasting skills from seeing the scuttering rain that started Friday to know that Hyde Park would be unplayable. However, the Dublin supporters, who must have thought a trip to Roscommon, which is a relatively easy 2hr drive on the motorway or a train trip on day of game, the equivalent of a soccer trip to Kazakhstan and booked hotels and B&Bs, only to find themselves the victims of local bus gougers have somewhat and equally comically diverted the attention from the ineptitude of the Roscommon County board. Why the Jackeens would even want to stay in Roscommon town for the weekend is even a mystery to those of us who dearly love our county, although for the real GAA fan there is some charm I suppose meeting some of the characters perched on their barstools regaling those within earshot of the glory days of the 70s. But apart from having to part with a tenner it was a great weekend for Dublin supporters with one delighted to tell a Roscommon man how he saw Bohs in Dublin on Friday and it would cap it off if the Dubs could win in Carrick for a perfect 7. The Roscommon man who gave him a lift said they were blessed to have such dry land in Leinster as it was too wet to let the Bó's out of their cattle sheds in Connacht yet, and they'd be lucky to see any from the Ros to Carrick drive, though plenty of spring lambs in the fields.
Quote from: weareros on April 04, 2016, 01:11:42 AM
Comical Ali stuff from Ros GAA on Friday tweeting that the April Fools jokes were rubbish and the game would definitely go ahead in Hyde Park. I would have thought our PRO who writes an astute political column for the Roscommon Herald every week forecasting how the government situation will pan out would have been able to employ those same forecasting skills from seeing the scuttering rain that started Friday to know that Hyde Park would be unplayable. However, the Dublin supporters, who must have thought a trip to Roscommon, which is a relatively easy 2hr drive on the motorway or a train trip on day of game, the equivalent of a soccer trip to Kazakhstan and booked hotels and B&Bs, only to find themselves the victims of local bus gougers have somewhat and equally comically diverted the attention from the ineptitude of the Roscommon County board. Why the Jackeens would even want to stay in Roscommon town for the weekend is even a mystery to those of us who dearly love our county, although for the real GAA fan there is some charm I suppose meeting some of the characters perched on their barstools regaling those within earshot of the glory days of the 70s. But apart from having to part with a tenner it was a great weekend for Dublin supporters with one delighted to tell a Roscommon man how he saw Bohs in Dublin on Friday and it would cap it off if the Dubs could win in Carrick for a perfect 7. The Roscommon man who gave him a lift said they were blessed to have such dry land in Leinster as it was too wet to let the Bó's out of their cattle sheds in Connacht yet, and they'd be lucky to see any from the Ros to Carrick drive, though plenty of spring lambs in the fields.
I know a Mayo man and his wife who spent last Saturday night in Roscommon and them a lot closer than 2 hours.....and not a huge man for porter either. I think as you said that some people revel in the atmosphere around town the night before
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2016, 11:34:54 PM
The country knew ye boyish were at it and the game wouldn't happen. Don't blame the dub supporter. Sell that flashy bus and sort out the basics..
We don't own the Bus and we can hardly expect our teams to walk to games.
Pitch is to be closed on 13th June for redevelopment.
The extremely wet winter and high water levels exacerbated the drainage problems that already existed.
The Co Board only got legal ownership of the Hyde last year after a long long story.
HQ wouldn't give any €s until the Co Board got the ownership.
Some craic in the wild wesht this weekend. Good pints in Beirne's of Strokestown with my friendly local host on Sat teatime followed by cards and more craic in the Silver Eel. It's a different world over that river lads. Once the word came though on Sunday morning after the breakfast it was a cross country trip through the bogs and lakes- quick recce of Kilmore's pitch - great set up and you should show the CB how its done and onto Carrick.
Rossies looked scared in the first half but played an awful lot better in the second though really we should have been home and hosed well before the frantic last 10 minutes. Good to see Kevin O'Brien and O'Gara back from injury - young McHugh showed glimpses and Davey Byrne and Carthy got on an awful lot of ball for us. Thought Mick Fitz did well and I really like Fenton as a midfielder - does the simple things well and rarely chooses the wrong option. Savage again showed his weakness under the high ball but unbeaten and the bandwagon rolls on. The craic about the tenner was just madness but a decent crowd none the less
I think O'Gara being back will be a big boost for Dublin (as if they need one), he's a great ball winner and gives them the option of the long ball
Quote from: moysider on April 04, 2016, 12:38:48 AM
I usually avoid Rossie treads for obvious reasons, but this has been worthwhile.
Great reading, especially having Jinxy and AZ there
I don't know if its funnier the Rossies making such a ham fisted job of it or the dubs having to pay €10 for a complimentary bus, the Rossies not being able to decide whether it was a challenge match or a cup final
The whole thing was a bit like a particularly good Fr Ted episode. All that was missing was the Lovely Girls Competition and a bit of Freak Pointing. That is probably either a massive insult, or a massive compliment, depending on your point of view, or how easily offended you are.
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 04, 2016, 12:19:46 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 04, 2016, 12:38:48 AM
Great reading, especially having Jinxy and AZ there
I don't know if its funnier the Rossies making such a ham fisted job of it or the dubs having to pay €10 for a complimentary bus, the Rossies not being able to decide whether it was a challenge match or a cup final
There is a saying in the West of Ireland "you cant tell a Mayo man anything"
looks like it maybe true for the entire west coast
John Prenty has come out in defence of the Roscommon Co Board.. He himself was at Hyde Park on Friday night and the pitch was playable.. It was inspected again on Saturday by a referee and a CCC official. Again it was passed fit.. Heavy overnight rain on Saturday night caused yesterday's postponement..Not our fault...Work on an All Weather pitch in Hyde Park will commence in June, with Ros Co Board and Croke Park funding.
What he actually said on Saturday was that there were some doubts about it, so they scheduled another inspection on Sunday morning, especially as there was heavy rain forecast. Now, to me, if the pitch is borderline playable, and there is more heavy rain forecast, and you know that people are travelling early the next morning, then you either cancel/postpone the game or you have alternate plans for a venue and you invoke them straight away, i.e. Saturday. Given they had to move the U21 final to even give it a chance, this is not rocket science.
I heard Prenty and the Roscommon Football Board Chairman (as he was called) on the RTE News this morning, and I don't think they were very convincing at all.
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 04, 2016, 01:27:30 PM
John Prenty has come out in defence of the Roscommon Co Board.. He himself was at Hyde Park on Friday night and the pitch was playable.. It was inspected again on Saturday by a referee and a CCC official. Again it was passed fit.. Heavy overnight rain on Saturday night caused yesterday's postponement..Not our fault...Work on an All Weather pitch in Hyde Park will commence in June, with Ros Co Board and Croke Park funding.
It was your fault. The excess sheep shite in Roscommon produces high levels of methane gas which is a factor in climate change.
Great to hear the head man and noted Roscommon supporter JP coming out with a bit of sense.
Ballinaman, i'll have to bow to your obviously excellent knowledge of shite.
It's just amazing , Roscommon are the masters of propaganda , everything is about Roscommon in the gaa world and they make sure of it , if it's not John Evan a last year making bould statements about winning all Ireland's it's something or another this year .
Will they be producing the news headlines in August or will they be parking up the bus for another year doesn't really matter as they will convince the gaa world 2017 the best is yet to come.
O poor larryn you still haven't forgave that rossie for giving you the black eye
Quote from: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 02:01:23 PM
Great to hear the head man and noted Roscommon supporter JP coming out with a bit of sense.
It only makes sense in Roscommon.
Hence you were beaten at minor, u21 and senior level last weekend.
But that's the Brains Trust for you
Quote from: INDIANA on April 04, 2016, 09:37:01 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 04, 2016, 02:01:23 PM
It only makes sense in Roscommon.
Hence you were beaten at minor, u21 and senior level last weekend.
But that's the Brains Trust for you
Take your tablets .
Sent you another pm mjg but I doubt you'll respond as per , coward.
I see the debacle made the 9 news tonight
Quote from: mayo.mick on April 04, 2016, 10:21:18 PM
The match itself didn't even warrant a second of highlights on the news last night. More nonsense.
Quote from: mayo.mick on April 04, 2016, 10:21:18 PM
Ross nation will be pleased. No such thing as bad publicity.
Bejases the Rhus are talking about us a lot these days.
I don't notice any if them thanking us for keeping them out of Div 2.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 04, 2016, 11:10:44 PM
Bejases the Rhus are talking about us a lot these days.
I don't notice any if them thanking us for keeping them out of Div 2.
Muchas Grasias, Tierra de los Amantes de la Oveja.
Lookit, this craic was too good not to nibble away at. Just a bit of daftness at the end of the day.
By Sunday evening we'll have played 8 NFL games at 8 different venues.
Must be a first!!
Quote from: Rossfan on April 04, 2016, 11:33:58 PM
Must be a first!!
In recent years anyway. I remember Mayo used to spread the league games around venues like Charlestown, Crossmolina, Knockmore (rarely), Ballina and Castlebar. Donegal did similar this year. The difference though is that Roscommon did not have a venue fit for purpose at all this year.
But that is fixable. Ye have a good team and that is the most important thing. Good management and players that can play. Up to the blazers on the board to sort out the housekeeping.
Quote from: moysider on April 05, 2016, 12:33:53 AM
Must be a first!!
In recent years anyway. I remember Mayo used to spread the league games around venues like Charlestown, Crossmolina, Knockmore (rarely), Ballina and Castlebar. Donegal did similar this year. The difference though is that Roscommon did not have a venue fit for purpose at all this year.
But that is fixable. Ye have a good team and that is the most important thing. Good management and players that can play. Up to the blazers on the board to sort out the housekeeping.
The way they managed everything this week, would not exactly inspire confidence. ::)
Quote from: Beffs on April 05, 2016, 12:57:50 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 05, 2016, 12:33:53 AM
Must be a first!!
The way they managed everything this week, would not exactly inspire confidence. ::)
The bus drivers of Roscommon would not agree in the slightest.
Which bus drivers? The ones that worked for free, or the ones that charged a tenner a head? ;D
The poor crathurs could have a enjoyed a nice, long lie in on Sunday morning, if the eegits in the Ros Co Board, got their heads out of their own arses a wee bit sooner.
Quote from: Beffs on April 05, 2016, 01:25:07 AM
Which bus drivers? The ones that worked for free, or the ones that charged a tenner a head? ;D
The poor crathurs could have a enjoyed a nice, long lie in on Sunday morning, if the eegits in the Ros Co Board, got their heads out of their own arses a wee bit sooner.
None of them worked for free. CB stumped up for buses but some geniuses in the Dublin support managed to arrange buses themselves but not find out about the free buses carting them to Carrick.
"" but some geniuses in the Dublin support managed to arrange buses themselves""
Very unfair , It is quiet obvious that the word didn't get out properly about the free buses and the Dublin supporters were determined to get to the game so they did what the could . Hard to blame them , No matter how you look it it was very poorly handled and as a Roscommon supporter I am ashamed , and hope this type thing never happens again , ;(
Quote from: fearbrags on April 05, 2016, 02:25:12 AM
"" but some geniuses in the Dublin support managed to arrange buses themselves""
Very unfair , It is quiet obvious that the word didn't get out properly about the free buses and the Dublin supporters were determined to get to the game so they did what the could . Hard to blame them , No matter how you look it it was very poorly handled and as a Roscommon supporter I am ashamed , and hope this type thing never happens again , ;(
CB did nothing wrong with regards the buses. Only error at all was not making the call on the switch Saturday night, eejits suggesting it be decided midweek haven't a clue tbh.
It won't happen again because barring disaster the new pitch will be in by Feburary. Good riddance to old rubbish.
Quote from: larryin89 on April 04, 2016, 07:18:42 PM
It's just amazing , Roscommon are the masters of propaganda , everything is about Roscommon in the gaa world and they make sure of it , if it's not John Evan a last year making bould statements about winning all Ireland's it's something or another this year .
Will they be producing the news headlines in August or will they be parking up the bus for another year doesn't really matter as they will convince the gaa world 2017 the best is yet to come.
John Evans was a prophet, Leiscommon are the good news story of 2016, Jamie Murtagh, Donie Mahrez, its going to be a huge summer
Quote from: Syferus on April 05, 2016, 02:28:10 AM
CB did nothing wrong with regards the buses. Only error at all was not making the call on the switch Saturday night, eejits suggesting it be decided midweek haven't a clue tbh.
It won't happen again because barring disaster the new pitch will be in by Feburary. Good riddance to old rubbish.
Quote from: Syferus on April 05, 2016, 02:28:10 AM
Nothing wrong? Lord above. The announcement of the venue switch came at 9.30. They didn't announce anything about buses until well after 11. In that intervening time frame, the Dublin supporters organized their own transport. What were they supposed to do....just sit around & scratch their arses? I believe a couple of Guards near the station on Sun morning helped out arranging the buses.
God forbid the co board arrange the buses on Sat night, have them on standby in the event of a venue switch & announce that they were running, along with the venue change. Sending someone from the co board, down to the train station to meet the inbound train & fill people in, might not have been a bad idea. Nor would sending someone down to the likes of the Abbey Hotel, which seemed to be a congregation point for a lot of Dubs wondering wtf was going on & how they were supposed to get to Carrick.
You know, all those hordes of Dubs who came down the night before. The ones with the big fat wallets that the Rossie hoteliers & shopkeepers were so eager to get their hands on, that led to this 11th hour pantomime in the first place.
The whole thing was an utter shambles. The more people try to defend or excuse the Ros Co board & don't hold them to account for their stupidity & stubbornness, the higher the chances that they'll fcuk up again, some time soon. It's just a matter of when & where.
Ok
These are the FACTS as they have emerged... The Roscommon Co Board didn't actually postpone the match at all. It was Croke Park officials.. An independent referee and a CCC official inspected the pitch on Saturday. Whilst not totally happy, they would inspect again Sunday morning.. The rest is history.....The Co Board provided one complimentary bus for which nobody was charged. Individuals hired other private buses for which they were charged.. These are the FACTS.
Ah Shrew don't be letting oul mere facts get in the way of a good old epic.
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 05, 2016, 03:46:46 PM
These are the FACTS as they have emerged... The Roscommon Co Board didn't actually postpone the match at all. It was Croke Park officials.. An independent referee and a CCC official inspected the pitch on Saturday. Whilst not totally happy, they would inspect again Sunday morning.. The rest is history.....The Co Board provided one complimentary bus for which nobody was charged. Individuals hired other private buses for which they were charged.. These are the FACTS.
[/b]
Maybe they are Shrew but that doesn't make them pretty.
Why the one complimentary bus and what way were those who got on the bus selected? A case of pot luck it sees; first come, first served and sod everybody else. People had travelled from Dublin and elsewhere by train and by road and they didn't find out about the switch until they arrived at the grounds. Did the county board make any arrangements to announce that the only way for those without cars to get to the game was by coach and that the unfortunate masses were going to have to make their own arrangements, find their own transport and pay for it?
Nobody to date has come forward to deny any of this so I'll take it for granted that your county board made a monumental cockup of things and the lest they should do is to issue a public apology to all those affected by their incompetence.
Ok
The following is an extract from my latest work "Cognitive Dissonance in the GAA"
"Bleedin' Dubs never travel....
Great to get the oul Dubs with the big wallets down the night before, the eejits....
Jaysis, have to move the match, sure stick the one bus on for them they'll be grand....
Wha, they got charged a tenner? Good enough for them, sure they never have to travel anyway....
Hope the train isn't clamped, ha, ha, ha....
Jaysis, those Dubs get lost when they get by the Red Cow, sure there is none of them down this year, bleedin' Dubs...."
Both sets of supporters who tried to attend the game deserve an apology and, when appropriate, a refund from the Roscommon County Board. That's just manners and they are cheap at the price. Ignorance is expensive.
Quote from: easytiger95 on April 05, 2016, 04:52:13 PM
The following is an extract from my latest work "Cognitive Dissonance in the GAA"
Great to get the oul Dubs with the big wallets down the night before, the eejits....
Jaysis, have to move the match, sure stick the one bus on for them they'll be grand....
Wha, they got charged a tenner? Good enough for them, sure they never have to travel anyway....
Jaysis, those Dubs get lost when they get by the Red Cow, sure there is none of them down this year, bleedin' Dubs...."
Both sets of supporters who tried to attend the game deserve an apology and, when appropriate, a refund from the Roscommon County Board. That's just manners and they are cheap at the price. Ignorance is expensive.
No one is owed a refund.
If supporters were given the wrong information that buses were complimentary, when only one bus actually was, and they kept their tickets, I believe they could ask for a refund. You'll notice I used the word if, because, at the very least, the situation needs to be investigated. And [bif[b after that investigation, it's found that the county board was not in any way responsible for the mix up with the buses, then you can say "No one is owed a refund." But not until then.
What is absolutely undeniable, is that on the day, the County Boards communication, in general, to paying customers was abysmal, quite apart from the rights and wrongs of even trying to play the game in the Hyde. And for that, they owe their paying customers, from wherever they came, an apology. And it doesn't have to be wrapped up in whataboutery either. If any other sporting organization had done the same thing, there'd be a queue of people on here to slag them off. The fact that it was Dublin supporters most discommoded is irrelevant.
Quote from: Syferus on April 05, 2016, 06:04:17 PM
No one is owed a refund.
Roscommon CB don't even think they have anything to apologize for. Chance of refunds for fans who hired their own buses is zero. Their arrogance and head in the sand refusal to accept responsibility is depressing but the typical approach by officials/leaders/politicians in this country.
Dublin 7 , You are spot on, I could not put it better myself ;)
Quote from: Syferus on April 05, 2016, 06:04:17 PM
No one is owed a refund.
Dead right, otherwise I and others who are nearer Carrick than Ros town will have to pay the Ci Board the difference.
Didn't those with tickets that couldn't get to Carrick get refunded?
Should we do a church gate collection or have Brendan Shine do a benefit gig? I fear the Jacks will be griping about this tenner forever.
Even if there was an offer to refund the 10 euro to those who paid it, there`s one big problem.
How can any individual Dublin supporter, at this stage, prove that they paid 10 euros.
Did they get a receipt?....No?...
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 06, 2016, 09:05:24 AM
Even if there was an offer to refund the 10 euro to those who paid it, there`s one big problem.
How can any individual Dublin supporter, at this stage, prove that they paid 10 euros.
Did they get a receipt?....No?...
I said in my original post that refunds should be made available if appropriate, so first of all you have to investigate whether it was the County Board's fault, and secondly, anyone applying for a refund must have receipts. That's only common sense and no one was suggesting blanket, non receipted refunds. But please, don't let that stop you implying that I was.
Quote from: weareros on April 06, 2016, 01:17:17 AM
Should we do a church gate collection or have Brendan Shine do a benefit gig? I fear the Jacks will be griping about this tenner forever.
Perhaps there would be less "griping" if the officials in Roscommon and also some posters on this board had displayed a modicum of manners. The county board should have apologized immediately and the posters on here should look at the title of the message board - "GAA Discussion". The people affected by this Omni-shambles were GAA fans and members, and shouldn't be looked on differently because they are from one particular county. I would say that the depth of the ignorance displayed is unbelievable - but sadly, given the way this board has gone over the past couple of years, it is just part of a growing trend.
People having a go because it is the 'Dubs' are missing the point. Roscommon (or the CCC) probably delayed over moving this game in order to try their best to get the game, and the monetary boost, into Roscommon GAA and Roscommon town. From a certain point of view that is understandable. However, on Saturday, when it became obvious that the ground was dodgy at best, and more rain was forecast, they should have bit the bullet then.
To not do so showed scant regard for people actually trying to attend a game of Football, and the same people would be some of the GAA's most dedicated fans (a league game in Roscommon in early April, with the game itself a dead rubber). Regardless of the county, to treat *those* people like that is fairly ramshackle in my view.
To be fair to some of the Roscommon posters here they haven't defended their CB's handling of this and as AZ said, you would have some sympathy for them trying to retain an economic boost within their county. However, it was still a shambles and poorly handled by the board and anyone not acknowledging that is being idiotic. An apology to all fans and a genuine effort to reimburse fans who need to be is the least Roscommon CB can do.
I presume anyone being flippant about this are just trying to wind up the Dub posters here, if not they need to wise up.
Over the years I travelled to a number of games that were called off at the last minute or close to throw in.
Am I entitled to refunds of the cost of petrol/ diesel used?
As for last Sundays game it really should have been officially switched Saturday evening.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 06, 2016, 11:05:25 AM
Over the years I travelled to a number of games that were called off at the last minute or close to throw in.
As for last Sundays game it really should have been officially switched Saturday evening.
That's all I'm saying. I don't blame them for trying their best to host in the Hyde, but the call should have (and easily could have) been made on Saturday evening.
Easytiger95, i wasn't implying that you called for blanket refunds. That's why i said receipts were needed, which was a problem...Somebody definitely messed up on Sunday. We're all agreed on that.
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 06, 2016, 11:20:20 AM
Easytiger95, i wasn't implying that you called for blanket refunds. That's why i said receipts were needed, which was a problem...Somebody definitely messed up on Sunday. We're all agreed on that.
Ok fair enough
Firstly, you would be entitled for a refund on your match ticket as the game was cancelled. This was not the case this weekend.
Secondly, you would not be entitled for a refund on your travelling cost to the original fixture, and no Dublin fan is going to the Roscommon County board with train tickets or petrol receipts.
Thirdly, as the game was refixed for the same time at a venue further away, the County Board does have a duty of care of transporting or arranging transport for the fans from the original venue. If this means good communication and travel advice, then they should do so. If they promised complimentary bus travel to the second venue and were unclear about the number of buses involved or who the official County Board bus operator was, then, again, there would be good grounds for a refund to the fans who availed of the paying service. But we don't know what the real story was, because the County Board is not investigating, far less apologizing, and if any other sports body in Ireland did it, we'd be laughing ourselves stupid.
That is the point, and no amount of straw man arguments like the one above, changes those facts.
The Ros board undoubtedly had a hard choice to make, and we can definitely argue with the timing of their decision, but once they made it, they should have been prepared to implement it. They weren't and if they'd had the cop on to admit it and apologize, most decent fans would have moved on very quickly.
To be fair Rossfan, not too many national league games get switched in the morning of a
the game and not every league game would have the crowd that was attending your game last Sunday. With the game in serious doubt all week a contingency plan for informing and transporting all fans that required it to Carrick should have been in place. Complimentary buses picking up fans from the train station and the town was the least that should have been done.
A guy with his kid travelling down from Dublin by train last Sunday may well have spent in the region of €100 on the day, those overnighting a good deal more. So if a last minute change, that was always likely, was made those people should have been treated with more consideration that the Roscommon CB seem to have done.
OK on your last para Zulu.
March 2015 our game v Meath was called off at 1 pm.
Many Meathies plus long distance Ros fans were in town or near it at that time.
Can sort of see where Roscommon CB were at here. They have probably "hit" local businesses in Roscommon town for donations etc over the years and couldn't be seen to transfer game away too early.
Thought they should have said well in advance that CoS was the alternate venue and that game in HP was subject to a pitch inspection. There could be no whingeing then .
Thing that grated Dubs (from what I hear) was the fact that all and sundry were telling them on the Saturday night that game was in Leitrim. Sort of laughing at them.
Quote from: Rossfan on April 06, 2016, 12:14:59 PM
OK on your last para Zulu.
March 2015 our game v Meath was called off at 1 pm.
Many Meathies plus long distance Ros fans were in town or near it at that time.
If so Rossfan, then I'd say the exact same thing about that game and the Meath CB. I don't know the background to the game you're referring to but my point is that CB's can't (or shouldn't) take a haphazard approach to staging major events like division 1 national league games. As Canalman said, if Roscommon CB said that Carrick was the backup venue and that there would be buses (which you could charge for it you like) to take people to the game, from the train station and the town centre, in the event of the Hyde being unplayable then nobody could have any complaints. If they did that then they would have kept the Dublin overnight supporters in Roscommon, kept all supporters informed of the contingency plan and avoided looking like lads making things up as they went along.
I don't think any of the above would have been difficult to do, would it?
As Canalman said, if Roscommon CB said that Carrick was the backup venue and that there would be buses (which you could charge for it you like) to take people to the game, from the train station and the town centre, in the event of the Hyde being unplayable then nobody could have any complaints. If they did that then they would have kept the Dublin overnight supporters in Roscommon, kept all supporters informed of the contingency plan and avoided looking like lads making things up as they went along.
Zula you are exactly right , And as a Rossie I cannot understand why some of our guys on here are trying to justify the unjustifiable . It was a shambles , and you think all the money spent on club pitches around the county , and our marque pitch is like this, begs belief , Yea and then we hide behind croke park etc and a dispute between local club v county board etc etc , But at least it seems like we have a half decent team and good management etc , I guess we cannot have every thing , baby steps i guess , Just sad to see our dirt laundry in the national media again