Great win for Galway yesterday with what I believe was a rather inexperienced lineup
Tyrone struggled a lot to break down a very defensive Cavan team but played in terrible conditions I wasn't so worried about the performance.
Hopefully its a dry day anyway and a few of us are going down to Galway the night before from Dublin for the craic.
We used to have some amazing games in the league back in the mid noughties against Galway and Kerry with high scoring and some good draws.
Throne were imperious in D2 a few years ago but obviously couldn'T stay in D1. We should give them a rattle.
I'm looking forward to seeing how we do around the middle against Tyrone, big test for Conroy, O'Currain & Flynn. A wet and windy day in Salthill might suit us, I see a few Tyrone posters think their forwards are a bit lightweight.
Any news on Bradshaw, Sice & Hanley?
Tyrone use the short kick out a lot but Colm Cavanagh has been playing well in the middle any time it does go long
We do have a few smaller nippy wee forwards like yesteryear than struggle in the heavy underground conditions
Will be interesting to see how many changed Mickey makes for this game. A lot of players played well in the McKenna cup.
Any predictions on the lineup this week. Richie Donnelly didn't play for UUJ this week so I will assume he will miss out along with Cavanagh who has a calf injury and is doubtful.
I'd like us to go something like this:
1. Morgan
2. HP McGeary
3. McNamee
4. McCarron
5. McCann
6. Justy
7. R Brennan
8. C Cavanagh
9. McNulty
10. M Donnelly
11. Harte
12. Meyler
13. McCurry
14. McAliskey
15. Bradley
Probably our strongest XV available at present, in what is our toughest league game on paper along with the Derry tie.
Any word on how McKenna and Joe McMahon are coming along? Will they be in contention soon?
I thought the dilemma of where to play Peter Harte was resolved with his performances last year at wing back. Seems like he might be getting a shot at CHF again. Are there any McKennas in the squad at the minute?
Quote from: tiempo on February 04, 2016, 12:08:02 PM
I thought the dilemma of where to play Peter Harte was resolved with his performances last year at wing back. Seems like he might be getting a shot at CHF again. Are there any McKennas in the squad at the minute?
His best games last year came in the half forward line. He played there against Donegal and Tipperary.
Hanley was apparently a sub last week against Laois so I'd expect him to come on as a sub at some point. Sice & Cummins could be well back on the bench too.
Peter Cooke will probably be pushing for a starting place, can see him possibly starting ahead of Tierney. I'm fully expecting a similar team to last Sunday with perhaps only 1 or 2 changes.
I think I might pop in for a look on Sunday. I have a hurling jersey but it will probably be too cold for the short sleeves
It's a crime against humanity playing a game of football in Salthill in this weather.
Quote from: Syferus on February 04, 2016, 07:26:38 PM
It's a crime against humanity playing a game of football in Salthill in this weather.
Was hoping it was in Tuam. Would have done the short trek. Salthill is such a turn off any time of the year!
In any weather
Quote from: seafoid on February 04, 2016, 07:53:04 PM
In any weather
And that weather will be windy in Salthill.
Tyrone dont beat Galway handy, more so when the match is in Co Galway.
1 - Niall Morgan - Éadan na dTorc - 45 Appearances
2 - Aidan McCrory - Aireagal Chiaráin - 73 Appearances
3 - Ronan McNamee - Achadh Uí Aráin - 46 Appearances
4 - Cathal McCarron - An Droim Mór - 75 Appearances
5 - Rory Brennan - Trí Leac - 10 Appearances
6 - Justin McMahon - An Omaigh - 94 Appearances
7 - Tiernan McCann - Coill an Chlochair - 32 Appearances
8 - Colm Cavanagh - An Mhaigh - 111 Appearances
9 - Padraig McNulty - Dún Geanainn - 22 Appearances
10 - Niall Sludden - An Droim Mhór - 6 Appearances
11 - Matthew Donnelly - Trí Leac - 70 Appearances
12 - Conor Meyler - An Omaigh - 7 Appearances
13 - Darren McCurry - Éadan na dTorc - 51 Appearances
14 - Connor McAliskey - Cluain Eo - 49 Appearances
15 - Ronan O Neill - An Omaigh - 44 Appearances
16 - Michael O'Neill - Cluain Eo - 12 Appearances
17 - Mark Bradley - Coill an Chlochair - 13 Appearances
18 - Lee Brennan - Trí Leac - 4 Appearances
19 - Conor Clarke - An Omaigh - 46 Appearances
20 - Pádraig Hampsey - Oileán a'Ghuail - 4 Appearances
21 - Hugh Pat McGeary - Cabhán a'Chaortainn - 3 Appearances
22 - Kieran McGeary - Cabhán a'Chaortainn - 5 Appearances
23 - Conall McCann - Coill an Chochair - 16 Appearances
24 - Cathal McShane - E R Uí Néill - 13 Appearances
25 - David Mulgrew - Ard Bó - 2 Appearances
26 - Barry Tierney - An Omaigh - 29 Appearances
Shit, I just realsied for the past while I have had seafoid and Syferus as the same poster.
Pretty much as strong as is available. Good chance for McNulty to stake his claim.
Would love to see that full-forward line start to click
McCrory still on - The more i see of him the more it angers me that he is still on that team. #puredirt. Give some young lad his chance Mickey for gods sake.
I hope its a more open game than last Sunday.
Felt a bit sorry for Lee Brennan, RoN and Skeet as terrible conditions and mass defence left them with very poor supply. Am very surprised Ronnie is getting another chance but maybe no harm.
Will expect Lee B to come in 2nd half. Rory Brennan seems to have really stepped up to the mark and already claimed his place in that half back line
Interesting young Sludden keeps his place though now in half forward line
Many going down on Sat night? PM if ye wanna meet up
Ca bhfuil Cabhán a'Chaortainn ?
I'd tell you to bring your brolly to this but I wouldn't like to see you go home with a broken one.
Quote from: Stad on February 05, 2016, 02:25:16 PM
I'd tell you to bring your brolly to this but I wouldn't like to see you go home with a broken one.
Put that umbrella down to f**k ye ignorant bastard, did ye come here to watch football or stay dry?
Quote from: Stad on February 05, 2016, 02:25:16 PM
he's not from throne
Galway team v Tyrone
Thomas Dolan (Athenry)
David Wynne (Moycullen)
Declan Kyne (An Fhairche)
Eoghan Kerin (Annaghdown)
Liam Silke (Corofin)
Gary O'Donnell (Tuam Stars)
Johnny Heaney (Killanin)
Paul Conroy (St James)
Fiontain O'Curraoin (Michael Breathnach)
Tom Flynn (Athenry)
Eddie Hoare (St Michael's)
Enda Tierney (Oughterard)
Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
Adrian Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks)
Eamon Brannigan (St Michael's)
Same team as against Laois. None of the injured players rushed back yet.
Should be a good battle at midfield.
Hope McNulty shows up well, particularly on kickouts.
Blowing a gale here among the bushes, dread to think what Salthill will be like! Another rotten day for football.
Galway 0-09 Tyrone 0-10.
Anyone post scorers etc? My WiFi Is down and data signal not good enough for teamtalk
Galway 0.02 to Tyrone 1.02 last time i heard
Tyrone 1.05 (or 6) Galway 0.02
Galway 0-05 Tyrone 1-06 at HT. Galway with the last 3 points of the half. Will be interesting to see how our lads manage the wind advantage in the 2nd half.
HT
Galway 0-5 Tyrone 1-6
Tyrone had the wind in the first half. Tom Flynn black carded for Galway.
Paul Conroy off. 2 yellow cards. Galway down to 14.
Tyrone 1.11 Galway 0.06, 6 mins to go
Galway have goaled
FT
Galway 1-9 Tyrone 1-11
Cheers for updates lads, managed to get the odd connection to teamtalk so can't comment at all on performance apart from it bejng good to have got four points on the board going into the three week break.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 07, 2016, 03:37:24 PM
FT
Galway 1-9 Tyrone 1-11
1-3 without reply in the final 5 mins did that comeback flatter Galway today? Galway still far from full strength if those players return they should be there or thereabouts for promotion.
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 07, 2016, 06:54:05 PM
FT
Galway 1-9 Tyrone 1-11
1-3 without reply in the final 5 mins did that comeback flatter Galway today? Galway still far from full strength if those players return they should be there or thereabouts for promotion.
Flynn getting black carded in the first half and Conroy being sent off early in the second were big losses. Tyrone always had a lead from early on though and kept Galway at arms reach. Very well drilled side and would expect them to win all their games in this division unless they take their eye off the ball.
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 07, 2016, 06:54:05 PM
FT
Galway 1-9 Tyrone 1-11
It does fairly flatter them I think. Shane Walsh coming on did make a big difference when he settled, you'd have to wonder why he wasn't brought on sooner especially with Varley and Comer well marshalled. We seem to be stuck with the same goalkeeper problem as last year, no strategy at all, hoof it out and hope for the best, needs to be sorted out badly. Don't think Declan Kyne is the answer at full back, he looked vulnerable any time the ball came in, not sure what other options we have though, Cathal Silke might be a bit small and the only other option on the bench at the moment is Finian Hanley. Eoghan Kerin is doing well in the corner, I'd expect to see himself and Cathal Sweeney in the corners come championship time.
Jaysus is salthill ever warm?? Rain, wind, more rain, hail, freeze.....took me hours to thaw out.
Real curates egg of a game. Tyrone laboured going forward for long parts but were reasonably sound at the back (assume mcCarron was taken off due to being on a yellow).
Tyrone didn't make great use of the wind however it really wasn't a huge factor in the first half, it picked up much more in the second though especially near the end making kick outs very difficult.
Some of the passing from Tyrone was very errant, even under no pressure, giving the ball back to Galway far too cheaply, also a lot of running up blind alleys or directly into 2 man coverage. We seem to do everything to avoid kick passing the ball over 20yards.
The extra man didn't really help Tyrone much in that we just continued to play defensively, rather than pour on the pressure, instead we stood off allowing Galway to kick out short on several occasions uncontested.
When Galway pushed up on us (too late) they forced Morgan into some real 50-50 hoofs and put us under real pressure. I think time is up on Morgan and free taking too.
Midfield broke even but it was noticeable that when Colly went off we were opened up very easily.
Bradley was very good when he came on. Game as a pheasant and playing some real lung bursting end to end stuff.
Brennan has surely nailed down a half back slot and it was good to see RoN get a full game and put a solid shift in.
Galway were pretty average to be fair, the late burst really flattered them as did the 3 points before HT which were more down to Tyrone taking wrong options / being sloppy than anything else.
Worrying for Tyrone was the scoring drought of around 15-20 min either side of the half and letting 2 very comfortable leads slip away. Should never have been in a position of hanging on at the end
Still.....4 points despite not playing particularly well is better than a kick in the ar$e and hopefully we will get better as MH settles on his main 15.
How many Galway missing from last year champ team?
Quote from: the goal was on on February 07, 2016, 10:10:44 PM
How many Galway missing from last year champ team?
8ish I'd say. Hanley, Sweeney, Duane, Paul Varley, Bradshaw, Micheál Lundy, Danny Cummins, Gary Sice all played last year but we're missing today.
The Tyrone number 7 was very tanned looking for February. Not much between the teams, I thought. Galway had a few bad wides. Once they started running at the Tyrone backs they got motoring. Tyrone were 8 points up halfway through the second half but let their concentration go. The second Galway goal was class.
Second Galway goal? :o
Where you watching another game Seafoid? Haha
Thanks for the lift to the railway station. Just made it.
Great stadium Pearse and unlike Healy park good toilet facilities with actual hot water
Thought the Galway fans were a bit harsh towards Sean Cavanagh and Morgan
Quote from: seafoid on February 08, 2016, 12:54:18 AM
The Tyrone number 7 was very tanned looking for February. Not much between the teams, I thought. Galway had a few bad wides. Once they started running at the Tyrone backs they got motoring. Tyrone were 8 points up halfway through the second half but let their concentration go. The second Galway goal was class.
His father is from Kenya.
Quote from: Keyboard Warrior on February 08, 2016, 01:08:58 PM
I thought it was because he is the Devil incarnate and his color was from the sitting to close to the smoking fires of h3ll. Maybe I am listening to Brolly too much.
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 08, 2016, 12:10:10 PM
Great stadium Pearse and unlike Healy park good toilet facilities with actual hot water
I think I dreamt it.
What I liked was what Kevin Walsh described in the indo
"If they get on top of you they can come in droves and run at you."
That is the essence of Galway football. It is nice to see it again.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kE_maOQWTOk
I feel sorry for Mayo . They hafta win this year.
Quote from: Keyboard Warrior on February 08, 2016, 01:08:58 PM
If the men up there are so much into the fake tan god only knows what the women must be like. Aye
Quote from: seafoid on February 08, 2016, 03:55:12 PM
I think I dreamt it.
I don't even feel sorry for Galway anymore! ;D
good result glad to see ronan o neill do well and thought hugh pat mcgeary was excellent when he came on.
Lads your going to have to get over Tiernan mc canns colour of skin, I've seen it referenced here now several times on the board and it's a bit pathetic. I've known him since he was a kid and he has always been very tanned, in fact he took quite a bit of stick for it as a tennager, most of it based around insinuating a questionable parentage. It was nothing but sheer bullying back then and I don't see it any different now.
Quote from: trileacman on February 08, 2016, 07:31:12 PM
Lads your going to have to get over Tiernan mc canns colour of skin, I've seen it referenced here now several times on the board and it's a bit pathetic. I've known him since he was a kid and he has always been very tanned, in fact he took quite a bit of stick for it as a tennager, most of it based around insinuating a questionable parentage. It was nothing but sheer bullying back then and I don't see it any different now.
I was informed by 2 very credible Throne posters that it was fake tan.
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 08, 2016, 06:06:48 PM
I think I dreamt it.
Mallacht Mhaoigh Eo. I was talking to a fella at the match yesterday. He also thinks Galway will win Sam before Mayo.
That would be sickening considering all the effort Mayo have put in. Same number of all Irelands in 1952.....
Are you a relation of Enda Kenny seafoid, your told a lot of things by anonymous people.
Quote from: seafoid on February 08, 2016, 07:35:36 PM
Seafoid, your letting yourself down a bit on this thread. I appreciate the hilarious idea of you thinking McCann has fake tan on but seriously, how old are you?
Quote from: seafoid on February 08, 2016, 07:37:56 PM
I think I dreamt it.
Mallacht Mhaoigh Eo. I was talking to a fella at the match yesterday. He also thinks Galway will win Sam before Mayo.
That would be sickening considering all the effort Mayo have put in. Same number of all Irelands in 1952.....
That was the old line back in the '90's when we were knocking on the Door and ye were hanging off our coat tails. Ye, fair play to ye, got past us and showed us how it was done. And ye let us know and have doing it since. And sure why wouldn't ye! I'm afraid them days are no longer. You are without a connacht title for eight years. Ye have not been within a arses roar of us for 4 years now and taken some hidings. Sligo have had the better of ye a couple of times the last couple of years. Have ye won a game in Croker since 2001? Even the back door has been a disaster. Have ye beaten a decent side since 2001? How long are ye in Division 2 now? Feck, they say the first step to failure is trying and at the moment at least we are!
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 08, 2016, 07:51:39 PM
Seafoid, your letting yourself down a bit on this thread. I appreciate the hilarious idea of you thinking McCann has fake tan on but seriously, how old are you?
I honestly thought it was FT. If it isn't I apologise. He's a nice player BTW
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 08, 2016, 07:54:06 PM
I think I dreamt it.
That was the old line back in the '90's when we were knocking on the Door and ye were hanging off our coat tails. Ye, fair play to ye, got past us and showed us how it was done. And ye let us know and have doing it since. And sure why wouldn't ye! I'm afraid them days are no longer. You are without a connacht title for eight years. Ye have not been within a arses roar of us for 4 years now and taken some hidings. Sligo have had the better of ye a couple of times the last couple of years. Have ye won a game in Croker since 2001? Even the back door has been a disaster. Have ye beaten a decent side since 2001? How long are ye in Division 2 now? Feck, they say the first step to failure is trying and at the moment at least we are!
It's all about the future now. Who cares about connacht titles? When we get going again we'll stack them up.
We'll probably win an all Ireland in the next 5 years. I jusht wish Mayo could do it before that
Quote from: seafoid on February 08, 2016, 08:01:33 PM
I think I dreamt it.
It's all about the future now. Who cares about connacht titles? When we get going again we'll stack them up.
We'll probably win an all Ireland in the next 5 years. I jusht wish Mayo could do it before that
You think you will win a Title with Dublin and Kerry in the frame the next five years? When is the last time you beat either of them in the championship? God, I thought Mayo people were dreamers and living in fantasy land!
Tobin believes the Connacht championship will be extremely competitive this summer.
"My own county Galway I think are going in the right direction and can challenge strongly for promotion to Division One. Roscommon have the potential to be formidable. This will benefit Mayo as well and makes the championship something to look forward to."
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 08, 2016, 08:08:37 PM
I think I dreamt it.
You think you will win a Title with Dublin and Kerry in the frame the next five years? When is the last time you beat either of them in the championship? God, I thought Mayo people were dreamers and living in fantasy land!
Dubs win every 2 years. Kerry's strike rate is not what it was. Gooch has lost more than he has won
Quote from: seafoid on February 08, 2016, 08:36:04 PM
Tobin believes the Connacht championship will be extremely competitive this summer.
"My own county Galway I think are going in the right direction and can challenge strongly for promotion to Division One. Roscommon have the potential to be formidable. This will benefit Mayo as well and makes the championship something to look forward to."
He'd say that. As much as a former Mayo footballer will spin a tale of Mayos chances of making the breakthrough. What else would they say? What is the gauge for such a statement. Last year was a bit of a disaster for Ros, Galway, Sligo and Leitrim. The tale of a competitive Province to help win an AI does not hold. In fact it has helped Dublin having an easy passage out of Leinster. Where as a Competitive Ulster has burned out Donegal at the business end.
I think I dreamt it.
So hard to see it at the moment Seaf. Going by yesterday, (though for obvious reasons I wasn't at it!), we need a heck of a lot of new defenders (2 at least in the FB line alone); still not decided on a goalie or kick-out strategy; midfield seems to have reached a ceiling in terms of performance and a powerhouse CHF required also. All these don't come overnight.
The end must have been a sickener, Mo.
I think Walsh is doing good worth with them and they are going to go places.
Was I right in thinking that Tomas O'Se was talking cobblers last night on RTE when he was eulogising about Tyrone having 7 of last year's U-21 team playing? They only had a couple I think as it was a fairly settled experienced side they had out. Actually Galway had 6 U-21's from last year starting the game. Although I doubt he even noticed that to be honest.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 08, 2016, 09:21:13 PM
Was I right in thinking that Tomas O'Se was talking cobblers last night on RTE when he was eulogising about Tyrone having 7 of last year's U-21 team playing? They only had a couple I think as it was a fairly settled experienced side they had out. Actually Galway had 6 U-21's from last year starting the game. Although I doubt he even noticed that to be honest.
Agreed, looks like Tyrone only started with 2 u21's from last year whilst Galway started with 6 as you stated and brought on another 2 from the bench.
Galway will need to win in Derry if they are going to get promoted
Started with Rory Brenan and Conor Meyler. Mark Bradley came on as did Lee Brennan, and Cathal McShane. Conor Meyler was replaced by Sean. So five used altogether.
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 08, 2016, 08:49:43 PM
He'd say that. As much as a former Mayo footballer will spin a tale of Mayos chances of making the breakthrough. What else would they say? What is the gauge for such a statement. Last year was a bit of a disaster for Ros, Galway, Sligo and Leitrim. The tale of a competitive Province to help win an AI does not hold. In fact it has helped Dublin having an easy passage out of Leinster. Where as a Competitive Ulster has burned out Donegal at the business end.
In Connacht it does make a difference. It helped Galway in the 60s and again in the 90s. ;)
Quote from: Maroon Manc on February 08, 2016, 09:41:52 PM
Agreed, looks like Tyrone only started with 2 u21's from last year whilst Galway started with 6 as you stated and brought on another 2 from the bench.
The Ulster derbies are all going to be super competitive. Derry could be beaten by Fermanagh or a desperate Armagh
Quote from: seafoid on February 08, 2016, 10:06:00 PM
In Connacht it does make a difference. It helped Galway in the 60s and again in the 90s. ;)
Didn't help them in the early 70's. ;)
Getting to D1 was far from a disaster. In fact before injuries derailed things it was quite a good year. We've had enough disasters to know what they are like.
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 08, 2016, 10:29:11 PM
Nothing seems to help Mayo. Not Knock Holy Water, not prayer, not the appeal of reason, not being 7 points ahead.
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 08, 2016, 07:51:39 PM
i thought the hilarious bit was the oxymoron, "2 very credible Throne posters"
Totally agreed about all these reference to skin colour, even supposedly jocular references.
This type of ignorance even became institutionalised in Monaghan with the continuous reference to the nickname Jap that was tagged onto Kieran Finlay since the time when he was a kid and that was just coming from 10 year old kids on the street who really did not know any better. And yet you had all these brainless references to Jap as if it was a term of affection, from people who had no excuse for their ignorance.
And now it even becomes a generational thing.
It's shameful
Quote from: seafoid on February 08, 2016, 11:18:34 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 08, 2016, 10:29:11 PM
Nothing seems to help Mayo. Not Knock Holy Water, not prayer, not the appeal of reason, not being 7 points ahead.
12 apostles? :)
I don't really think you should be bringing that kind of comment on to the board!
From what I hear of McCann he's a nice lad and well liked but he's a bit of a spice boy BUT there's nothing wrong with that - sure didn't Mugsy start it!
PS as was pointed out to me he's only that tanned cause he was in Oz for a month lately so he's generally not that tanned!
Quote from: seafoid on February 08, 2016, 10:07:15 PM
The Ulster derbies are all going to be super competitive. Derry could be beaten by Fermanagh or a desperate Armagh
We've already beaten Fermanagh Seafoid!!
Personally I think it's a 3 horse race between ourselves Galway and Throne.
Quote from: screenexile on February 09, 2016, 10:14:29 AM
We've already beaten Fermanagh Seafoid!!
Personally I think it's a 3 horse race between ourselves Galway and Throne.
Me too
If Derry beat Galway they would only need another 2 wins from 4 games to finish above Galway even if Galway won the remaining 4 games. Derry would certainly win 2 of their remaining games against Meath, Armagh, Tyrone & Laois.
7 of last year's U-21s were used the week before v Cavan with 5 starters.
Quote from: never kickt a ball on February 08, 2016, 09:45:23 PM
Started with Rory Brenan and Conor Meyler. Mark Bradley came on as did Lee Brennan, and Cathal McShane. Conor Meyler was replaced by Sean. So five used altogether.
Paddy Power odds on Promotion from Div 2
Tyrone 1/8
Derry 1/3
Galway 4/1
Meath 6/1
Cavan 7/1
Laois 9/1
Fermanagh 12/1
Armagh 16/1
Relegation
Armagh 2/5
Fermanagh evens
Laois 7/4
Meath 9/4
Cavan 5/2
Galway 9/2
Derry 50/1
Tyrone 100/1
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 10, 2016, 01:14:46 PM
Paddy Power odds on Promotion from Div 2
Tyrone 1/8
Derry 1/3
Galway 4/1
Meath 6/1
Cavan 7/1
Laois 9/1
Fermanagh 12/1
Armagh 16/1
Relegation
Armagh 2/5
Fermanagh evens
Laois 7/4
Meath 9/4
Cavan 5/2
Galway 9/2
Derry 50/1
Tyrone 100/1
How did they work the Meath and Cavan thing out?
Quote from: Maroon Manc on February 09, 2016, 04:15:32 PM
If Derry beat Galway they would only need another 2 wins from 4 games to finish above Galway even if Galway won the remaining 4 games. Derry would certainly win 2 of their remaining games against Meath, Armagh, Tyrone & Laois.
I think Laois could beat Derry. Throne probably will. Meath blow hot and cold . Armagh won't.