GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: smelmoth on January 24, 2016, 09:56:17 PM

Title: NFL Division 2
Post by: smelmoth on January 24, 2016, 09:56:17 PM
Whats going to happen here?

Travelling to Navan next Sunday. Have absolutely no idea whether we are travelling in hope, expectation or fear? Armagh's squad is better than many ouside Armagh would give it credit for but its hard to know if the whole thing will click.
Title: Re: NFL Division 2
Post by: seafoid on January 24, 2016, 10:01:58 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on January 24, 2016, 09:56:17 PM

Travelling to Navan next Sunday. Have absolutely no idea whether we are travelling in hope, expectation or fear? Armagh's squad is better than many ouside Armagh would give it credit for but its hard to know if the whole thing will click.
Tyrone to go up.
Any one of 3 or 4 could join them. Mediocre enough selection
Post by: Throw ball on January 24, 2016, 10:04:29 PM

Have the same thoughts myself.

People outside feel Armagh are this tough physical team with no forwards. I have more the thought that, bar a couple of exceptions, we do not have enough physique in defence or midfield to give a platform to forwards who have promise.

Travelling with hope if not confidence.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 24, 2016, 10:05:57 PM
Tyrone and Derry will go up.

Tyrone have the best team in the division and Derry are a winter football team.
Post by: smelmoth on January 24, 2016, 10:08:32 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 24, 2016, 10:05:57 PM

The only thing that seem to be certain on is that Tyrone will go up. Their depth means they can cope with injury of an individuals lack of form and still get through.

Derry are probably favorites to go up with them. But who will go down?
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 24, 2016, 10:13:18 PM
Tyrone will go up as winners, Galway as runners up, based on talent. Hopefully Fermanagh and Cavan will go down.

We could finish second or seventh, but we probably won't.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 24, 2016, 10:14:26 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on January 24, 2016, 10:08:32 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 24, 2016, 10:05:57 PM

The only thing that seem to be certain on is that Tyrone will go up. Their depth means they can cope with injury of an individuals lack of form and still get through.

Derry are probably favorites to go up with them. But who will go down?

It will be tight.

Cavan, Fermanagh and Laois have the three weakest squads you'd assume.

Cavan and Fermanagh will be very dogged though and will not go down easy. Laois have some decent players but I think they seem to be a county at odds with each other.

Armagh, Galway and Meath are teams that have some quality there but seem to be very enigmatic in what they make of it.

What is McGeeney at playing forwards in defence the whole time? Are there no defenders in Armagh or is he just not calling them up?

Will Hughes and Rushe of Cross join the county panel later on in the year?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 24, 2016, 10:17:10 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 24, 2016, 10:13:18 PM
Tyrone will go up as winners, Galway as runners up, based on talent. Hopefully Fermanagh and Cavan will go down.

Galway seem to be depleted at the minute, they have Laois away first which I could see them losing followed up by welcoming Tyrone.

0 points from those two games and they'll then be in a battle to stay up. It's a very competitive Division 2 - I'd say at least 4 of the Div 2 teams are better than Roscommon or Down. The first two rounds of games will be decisive I think in terms of who is going for promotion and who is battling for relegation.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 24, 2016, 10:20:15 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 24, 2016, 10:17:10 PM

Galway seem to be depleted at the minute, they have Laois away first which I could see them losing followed up by welcoming Tyrone.

0 points from those two games and they'll then be in a battle to stay up. It's a very competitive Division 2 - I'd say at least 4 of the Div 2 teams are better than Roscommon or Down. The first two rounds of games will be decisive I think in terms of who is going for promotion and who is battling for relegation.

Tyrone will go up. Galway, Meath and ourselves capable of promotion.
Ourselves and the other four capable of relegation.
Watched Galway and Laois against Down in NFL last year. Galway were a far better team than down, but lost; Laois were awful.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 24, 2016, 10:22:52 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 24, 2016, 10:20:15 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 24, 2016, 10:17:10 PM

Tyrone will go up. Galway, Meath and ourselves capable of promotion.
Ourselves and the other four capable of relegation.
Watched Galway and Laois against Down in NFL last year. Galway were a far better team than down, but lost; Laois were awful.

Laois beat Galway last year.

Galway seem to be depleted at the minute. Laois will be looking at this game, a home game against a Galway side minus a few players and targeting it as one of their best bets for points.

Post by: bennydorano on January 24, 2016, 10:26:28 PM
Armagh have to hit the ground running, lose in Meath and it's an automatic relegation dogfight. Hard to know who is actually fit or available at the minute. Time for a few boys to stand up & make a name for themselves.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 24, 2016, 10:32:16 PM
Tyrone will run away with the division.   Derry and Galway should be favourite for second.  After that it is down to the usual middle of the road teams who could go either way and Fermanagh to be relegated.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 24, 2016, 10:40:53 PM
Derry,Tyrone to be promoted straight back to Divsion one. Relegation harder to call as anyone of Galway,Armagh,Laois,Meath,Cavan and Fermanagh could fall through the trap door.
Post by: Syferus on January 24, 2016, 10:41:57 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 24, 2016, 10:40:53 PM
Derry,Tyrone to be promoted straight back to Divsion one. Relegation harder to call as anyone of Galway,Armagh,Laois,Meath,Cavan and Fermanagh could fall through the trap door.

This one is far from an obvious call.
Post by: Itchy on January 24, 2016, 10:46:08 PM
Derry will do nothing. Not a set of balls in the whole team. Anyone who is basing league on the McKenna cup needs a reality check. It's very level and I think anyone could go up or down.
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 24, 2016, 11:00:51 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 24, 2016, 10:46:08 PM
Derry will do nothing. Not a set of balls in the whole team. Anyone who is basing league on the McKenna cup needs a reality check. It's very level and I think anyone could go up or down.
Derry reached the div one final two years which is something all bar Tyrone wouldnt do in this division if they were promoted.
Post by: Rudi on January 24, 2016, 11:13:26 PM
Tyrone and Derry to go up, although Armagh might upset this. Cavan will surely go down, along with Meath. Hope Fermanagh and Galway go well. Laois always seem to do enough to stay up.
Post by: Hardy on January 25, 2016, 12:05:09 AM
Fuckit, this is the first time I've realised we're sharing a division with Cavan again. There goes all the fun.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 25, 2016, 12:20:21 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 24, 2016, 10:41:57 PM

Another far from an obvious call is Down and Roscommon to get relegated straight back to division two.
Post by: Syferus on January 25, 2016, 12:28:54 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 25, 2016, 12:20:21 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 24, 2016, 10:41:57 PM

Another far from an obvious call is Down and Roscommon to get relegated straight back to division two.

?
Post by: tonto1888 on January 25, 2016, 07:18:21 AM
Id love Armagh to go up but it wont happen. As long as we dont get relegated, we need to be playing division 2 football at least to develop
Post by: FermGael on January 25, 2016, 09:10:56 AM
Fermanagh's aim will be very simple.
To stay up.
4 home games so we have a good chance.
Good enough McKenna cup campaign but the semi final against Tyrone highlighted a few issues, especially in the second half.
We have had a few key men unavailable so far.
They will be needed back if we are to compete in this division.

Think it will be between ourselves, Armagh and Laois to stay in the division.
Tyrone and Derry to go straight back up.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 25, 2016, 09:53:19 AM
Very Ulstercentric division, Tyrone, Derry, Armagh, Cavan and Fermanagh. Galway, Eastmeath and Laois could do better then expected while the others are worn out from all the local derbies. Expect Tyrone to be promoted but fancy Galway to sneak the second spot, they need to get to 1 if they are going to challenge Mayo in Connacht.
Post by: Jinxy on January 25, 2016, 10:15:16 AM

Don't worry.
Our lads will be on the beer all week after winning the O'Byrne Cup.
Post by: Itchy on January 25, 2016, 12:08:43 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 25, 2016, 12:05:09 AM
Fuckit, this is the first time I've realised we're sharing a division with Cavan again. There goes all the fun.

Have you been asleep for a few years?
Post by: WT4E on January 25, 2016, 12:42:36 PM
Kind of glad Tyrone are in Div 2 this year as I expect them to make the final which would be unlikely to happen in Div 1 so the supporters should get a good day out at the Easter Rising Commeration Show the GAA are putting on that day.

Also was just thinking after reading through the comments how come Cavan never pushed on considering they won 4 Ulster U21 titles in a row. Surely those boys could manage to get the seniors to an ulster final or even up to div 1?
Post by: rodney trotter on January 25, 2016, 01:00:37 PM
Cavan didn't have an experienced group of players already there to work alongside the u21's. Still a young enough panel.

Johnston is back on the panel this year. Himself and Corr are the only players over 30. You need experience along with youth. The likes of Kerry and Donegal have 6/7 over 30. O Mahony and Marc O Se still playing on this year at 35.

Post by: Walter Cronc on January 25, 2016, 01:13:26 PM

Sure maybe you's can amalgamate. Might get you further than these famed U21 panels.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 25, 2016, 01:29:19 PM
We're missing too many players to challenge for promotion IMO. Would take the young players to really kick on to the next level to have a chance. Asking a lot. Would settle for staying up this year. On the plus side it's like a mini Ulster championship and we generally do well against Ulster sides. Well apart from Tyrone.
Post by: illdecide on January 25, 2016, 02:30:06 PM
1) Tyrone
2) Derry
3) Armagh
4) Galway
5) Fermanagh
6) Cavan
7) Meath
8) Laois

For consistency Tyrone should win the Division, Derry have a few injuries from yesterday which could impact their promotion but i think they'll sneak it from Armagh or Galway...TBH the rest of them could finish anywhere so i put them in order i'd like them to finish (Bar Armagh finishing in the top 2)
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 25, 2016, 02:31:15 PM
Division 3 is the new Division 2.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 25, 2016, 02:33:10 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 25, 2016, 02:31:15 PM
Division 3 is the new Division 2.

Division 3 is the new unofficial Midlands championship. Kildare, Westmeath, Longford, Offaly. Sure Laois might be down to us next year as well.
Post by: Jinxy on January 25, 2016, 03:20:56 PM
I miss division 3.
It's like junior C football insofar as the players and fans know it's just a bit of fun really.
The full forward and fullback can slag each other about how much weight they put on over the Christmas.
The subs can cheer ironically when the notoriously inaccurate wing forward balloons the ball wide.
Division 2 is a bit too serious.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 25, 2016, 03:48:02 PM
I miss Junior B, hopefully Div 3 lives up to the hype.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 25, 2016, 03:48:32 PM
Laois seem to be eveyone's favourites to go down but they have been in the top two divisions for a long long time now and play a brand of football that see's them squeez out results in the most unlikely of games.

We have Galway,Tyrone,Derry and Meath at home so could get 2-4 points there.

Cavan ,Armagh and Fermanagh away wouldn't hold that much fear either the fixtures have been kind to Laois and Fermanagh to be fair which gives both counties a fighting chance.

Galway and Meath are hard to predict but come in to the league next week in great form winning silverware which will boost them in what are important first games for both counties.

Derry are always decent in the league and usually are in division one which they have done well in most years apart from last year.I think they will push hard for top spot.

Tyrone are the obvious standout team and i'd be suprised if they didn't win it or at least finish 2nd.

Armagh might be in trouble they have a few injuries and they will miss the cross players for 3 games there first two matches must yield a return of points .

Very very interesting division with five ulster teams the unpredictable but old forces of Gaelic football in Galway and Meath and then the very consistent(as regards staying in the top two divisions)Laois...

Bring it on I for one can't wait!
Post by: seafoid on January 25, 2016, 07:41:43 PM
Fermanagh have Pete McGrath in charge so could be worth a few points.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 26, 2016, 10:15:13 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 25, 2016, 07:41:43 PM

Good point Seafoid he is a wiley auld fox who certainly knows how to get the best out of players and make teams hard to beat while still playing a decent brand of football.
Post by: illdecide on January 26, 2016, 10:48:44 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 26, 2016, 10:15:13 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 25, 2016, 07:41:43 PM

Good point Seafoid he is a wiley auld fox who certainly knows how to get the best out of players and make teams hard to beat while still playing a decent brand of football.

A good chef with bad ingredients still gets you a bad cake...having said that the ingredients are okay, certainly not the worst.

As you all know a lot will be riding on the first 2 league matches and if Armagh loose them they'll be relegated, same if Laois and Meath loose their first 2 matches they'll be for the chop...

Round 1 - Portlaoise
Laois  14:00 Galway

Round 1 - Omagh
Tyrone  14:00 Cavan

Round 1 - Páirc Tailteann
Meath  14:00 Armagh

Round 1 - Owenbeg
Derry  14:00 Fermanagh

Saturday, February 06, 2016
Round 2 - Athletic Grounds
Armagh  19:00 Laois

Round 2 - Kingspan Breffni Pk
Cavan  19:00 Derry

Sunday, February 07, 2016
Round 2 - Brewster Park
Fermanagh  14:00 Meath

Round 2 - Pearse Stadium
Galway  14:00 Tyrone

Saturday, February 27, 2016
Round 3 - Athletic Grounds
Armagh  19:00 Fermanagh

Sunday, February 28, 2016
Round 3 - Celtic Park
Derry  14:00 Galway

Round 3 - Portlaoise
Laois  14:00 Tyrone

Round 3 - Páirc Tailteann
Meath  14:00 Cavan

Saturday, March 05, 2016
Round 4 - Omagh
Tyrone  19:00 Derry

Round 4 - Kingspan Breffni Pk
Cavan  19:00 Armagh

Sunday, March 06, 2016
Round 4 - Pearse Stadium
Galway  14:00 Meath

Round 4 - Brewster Park
Fermanagh  14:00 Laois

Saturday, March 12, 2016
Round 5 - Brewster Park
Fermanagh  19:00 Cavan

Sunday, March 13, 2016
Round 5 - Páirc Tailteann
Meath  14:00 Tyrone

Round 5 - Portlaoise
Laois  14:00 Derry

Round 5 - Athletic Grounds
Armagh  14:00 Galway

Saturday, March 26, 2016
Round 6 - Omagh
Tyrone  19:00 Armagh

Sunday, March 27, 2016
Round 6 - Kingspan Breffni Pk
Cavan  14:00 Laois

Round 6 - Tuam Stadium
Galway  14:00 Fermanagh

Round 6 - Celtic Park
Derry  14:00 Meath

Sunday, April 03, 2016
Round 7 - Brewster Park
Fermanagh  14:00 Tyrone

Round 7 - Kingspan Breffni Pk
Cavan  14:00 Galway

Round 7 - Athletic Grounds
Armagh  14:00 Derry

Round 7 - Portlaoise
Laois  14:00 Meath

Allianz Football League Roinn 2
Sunday, April 24, 2016
Final - Páirc an Chrócaigh
1st Placed Team TBC 2nd Placed Team
Post by: thejuice on January 26, 2016, 03:01:50 PM
We usually have a shakey start to the league. It's a good time for Armagh to get us but you never know what way we'll go at the minute.

A good few missing from the team that lost to Armagh two years ago, the two Brays, Wallace, K Reilly, Menton, Shane O'Rourke, Harrington, Damien Carroll and Seamus Kenny.
Post by: seafoid on January 26, 2016, 03:57:43 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 26, 2016, 03:01:50 PM
We usually have a shakey start to the league. It's a good time for Armagh to get us but you never know what way we'll go at the minute.

A good few missing from the team that lost to Armagh two years ago, the two Brays, Wallace, K Reilly, Menton, Shane O'Rourke, Harrington, Damien Carroll and Seamus Kenny.
2 bald men competing for tokens for a comb
Post by: illdecide on January 26, 2016, 04:15:26 PM

I think Armagh will beat Meath by 2-3pts...but then again what do i know.
Post by: FermGael on January 27, 2016, 11:08:29 AM
Fermanagh v Derry moved to Celtic Park.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 27, 2016, 04:24:36 PM
Predictions for the weekend?

Laois vGalway Laois by 3

Tyrone vCavan- Tyrone by 4

Meath v Armagh-Meath by 2

Derry vFermanagh-Derry by 6
Post by: thejuice on January 27, 2016, 04:49:05 PM
Laois v Galway - Galway by 4

Tyrone v Cavan - Tyrone by 3

Meath v Armagh - Draw

Derry v Fermanagh - Derry by 8
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 27, 2016, 04:56:41 PM
Laois v Galway - Galway by 2

Tyrone v Cavan - Tyrone by 5

Eastmeath v Armagh - Eastmeath by 2

Derry v Fermanagh - Derry by 2
Post by: FermGael on January 27, 2016, 08:48:42 PM
Galway by 1
Tyrone by 4
Meath by 6
Fermanagh by 2
Post by: Oraisteach on January 27, 2016, 09:02:55 PM
Galway by 4
Tyrone by 4
Armagh by 1 (if not, hope they keep our seat warm in Div 3)
Derry by 5
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 27, 2016, 10:14:57 PM
Galway by 3
Tyrone by as much as they choose
Meath by 2
Derry by 4
Post by: Itchy on January 27, 2016, 10:36:36 PM
Sad to see a Derry man big up Tyrone that much. Is that how Derry men feel better about themselves now, big up Tyrone so it feels better when they beat Derry again and again. Sad. I wouldn't big up Monaghan if they were playing a junior b team from Kilkenny.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 27, 2016, 10:50:57 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 27, 2016, 10:36:36 PM
Sad to see a Derry man big up Tyrone that much. Is that how Derry men feel better about themselves now, big up Tyrone so it feels better when they beat Derry again and again. Sad. I wouldn't big up Monaghan if they were playing a junior b team from Kilkenny.

You haven't seen my prediction yet for when Derry play Cavan, nor when Tyrone play any other div 2 team.
Tyrone will win Division 2 by as much as they choose.
But keep fighting the good fight and try to sort your itch out.
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 27, 2016, 10:56:30 PM

Poor itchy has a gripe with Derry football. Not 'big up' Monaghan but happy to amalgamate at club level. Good lad!!
Post by: Itchy on January 27, 2016, 11:12:54 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 27, 2016, 10:56:30 PM

Poor itchy has a gripe with Derry football. Not 'big up' Monaghan but happy to amalgamate at club level. Good lad!!

What are you on about ya plonker. You Derry boys have Stockholm syndrome when it comes to Tyrone.  As I said with the exception of 1 or 2 top class players, Tyrone are as ordinary as they've been for decades. As for Derry, what the hell have ye achieved in the past few years - f**k all is what. Tyrone and Derry in Div 2 because they weren't good enough for Div 1, that's how it works. Whether either is good enough to get out remains to be seen, this division is always very tight.
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 27, 2016, 11:15:45 PM
Haha ah yes I forgot how successful Cavan have been of late. You really believe Derry have an inferiority complex to Tyrone? Wise up.
Post by: Itchy on January 27, 2016, 11:18:55 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 27, 2016, 11:15:45 PM
Haha ah yes I forgot how successful Cavan have been of late. You really believe Derry have an inferiority complex to Tyrone? Wise up.

Yes I do. I believe ye are Tyrones little bitches. Yer man above thinks Tyrone will beat everyone by whatever they like and win the group by whatever they like.
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 27, 2016, 11:21:55 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 27, 2016, 11:18:55 PM

Yes I do. I believe ye are Tyrones little bitches. Yer man above thinks Tyrone will beat everyone by whatever they like and win the group by whatever they like.

Well if we're Tyrone's bitches you lot must be Monaghans rent boys. Anyway I'm done talking to a mug like you. There are decent Cavan posters in here like Rodney. Get the orange out of the pocket and get to bed son!
Post by: general_lee on January 28, 2016, 09:31:39 AM
Ladies!

Back on topic...

Laois v Galway Galway by 1

Tyrone v Cavan Tyrone by 4

Meath v Armagh draw

Derry v Fermanagh Derry by 1

Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on January 28, 2016, 09:37:42 AM
Naw, general_lee, no fun in that.

Quote from: Itchy on January 27, 2016, 11:18:55 PM

Not just me, I would think. Paddy Power has Tyrone odds on to be promoted and very clear favourites to win the division outright. Tyrone have reached the All-Ireland semi-final in two of the last three years, a level of ordinariness that most counties would love to achieve. In fact it's a level of ordinariness that Tyrone have rarely achieved themselves in the past few decades (84-86, 95-96 and 03-05 being a few possible examples). Tyrone are shorter odds to win the All-Ireland than several division 1 teams. They will start each match in div 2 as favourites; this weekend, they start with the second shortest price in all four divisions, behind Louth who play London. It will take an extraordinary set of circumstances for Tyrone not to go up. The only circumstances where I can see Tyrone losing points are in a niggly draw with Derry (with a referee who is clued into Tyrone's skulduggery), or if Meath play their 96 team or if Tyrone have already qualified for the final and play a shadow team against Fermanagh.

As I said earlier in the thread, Tyrone will go up and could be joined by any one of three others and any two from five could go down. Nothing about being anyone's bitches, just realism.
Post by: FermGael on January 28, 2016, 09:47:14 AM
Tyrone are rightly favourites.
The last time they were relegated  they came straight back up.
There pre season form has been brilliant and they have a crop of talented All Ireland winning Under 21's coming through.

But last years All Ireland run did paper over a lot of cracks.
The only team  of any quality Tyrone beat on that run was Monaghan.
Talk of rotating players seems to be coming mostly from supporters and Division 2 will be a complete dog fight.

I think there odds for winning the division are very short. Games will be tight due to the parochial nature of the division but they are rightly favourites
Post by: Unlaoised on January 28, 2016, 09:58:58 AM
Quote from: FermGael on January 28, 2016, 09:47:14 AM
There pre season form has been brilliant and they have a crop of talented All Ireland winning Under 21's coming through.

Talk of rotating players seems to be coming mostly from supporters and Division 2 will be a complete dog fight.

I think there odds for winning the division are very short. Games will be tight due to the parochial nature of the division but they are rightly favourites
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Decent post Fermgael you summed up Tyrone well they got Monagahn on an off day as well and they have the vodooo over them saying that they gave Kerry a right good game and came up not far away.

Be interesting watching Mickey Harte build this team this year with the influx of the new blood he has at his disposable .

They are rightly the team to beat in this division and to be honest I can't see them loosing a game!
Post by: fearsiuil on January 28, 2016, 10:24:11 AM

Bray retired
Wallace injured?
Reilly finished?
Menton?
O'Rourke injury be a decent guess
Harrington?
Carroll?
Kenny retired?
Post by: general_lee on January 28, 2016, 10:33:01 AM
Armagh are without ten that played that day
McEvoy
Morgan
A Kernan (0-2)
S Harold
T Kernan (0-3)
J Clarke (0-1)
K Dyas  (0-1)
K Carragher (0-1)
B Mallon  (0-2)
F Moriarty
Post by: Itchy on January 28, 2016, 12:34:04 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on January 28, 2016, 09:58:58 AM
Quote from: FermGael on January 28, 2016, 09:47:14 AM

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Decent post Fermgael you summed up Tyrone well they got Monagahn on an off day as well and they have the vodooo over them saying that they gave Kerry a right good game and came up not far away.

Be interesting watching Mickey Harte build this team this year with the influx of the new blood he has at his disposable .

They are rightly the team to beat in this division and to be honest I can't see them loosing a game!

I agree with the Fermanagh man. I never said Tyrone are not favourites, of course they are. I tipped them to beat Cavan earlier. I just find it ridiculous that people (or a person) thinks they will beat every team by whatever score they like. Div 2 is a dogfight and Tyrone are no Kerry or Dublin. I'll hazard a guess they will lose a game or two. Bizarre seeing Derry men bend over for Tyrone, thought that Derry would have a bit more spunk than that.

Cavans young players will also have no fear of the Tyrone new blood as they have routinely beaten the same lads for the past 3/4 years at U21 level. Like I said the difference is the likes of Cavanagh who is a top player, a player that is probably Irelands best in his position.
Post by: thejuice on January 28, 2016, 02:50:02 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on January 28, 2016, 10:24:11 AM

Bray retired
Wallace injured?
Reilly finished?
Menton?
Harrington?
Carroll?
Kenny retired?

Menton, Wallace and Carroll dropped themselves off the panel as far as I know.
Harrington dropped by management I think. Kenny retired.
Shane O'Rourke still battling injuries but I'd doubt if he'll be back playing for Meath again. But you never know.
Post by: thejuice on January 28, 2016, 06:10:32 PM
Actually just noticed Shane O'Rourke played in a challenge match against Down before the championship but broke his hand in a club match and missed the whole summer.
Post by: Tara Na Rí on January 28, 2016, 11:07:53 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 28, 2016, 02:50:02 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on January 28, 2016, 10:24:11 AM

Bray retired
Wallace injured?
Reilly finished?
Menton?
Harrington?
Carroll?
Kenny retired?

Menton, Wallace and Carroll dropped themselves off the panel as far as I know.
Harrington dropped by management I think. Kenny retired.
Shane O'Rourke still battling injuries but I'd doubt if he'll be back playing for Meath again. But you never know.

Eamon Wallace dropped himself off the panel??? I heard about Menton and Carroll alright but Wallace is news to me. Menton is taking a bit of a break but chances are he'll appear before the end of the league. Carroll never really established himself. Had the talent but just didn't progress.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 29, 2016, 12:07:37 AM
I hope Fermanagh stay up. Usually I would have Galway favourites for promotion (at the start of the league), but I don't know about them this year. They will still be there or thereabouts. They missed the Corofin contingent for a lot of last year's league campaign. It will be interesting to see if they can upset the Tyrone applecart.
Post by: FermGael on January 29, 2016, 11:48:23 AM
Fermanagh team v Derry has been named
1.   Christopher Snow (Ederney)
2.   Michael Jones (Derrygonnelly)
3.   Aidan Breen (Tempo)
4.   Che Cullen (Belnaleck)
5.   Declan McCusker (Ederney)
6.   James McMahon (Roslea)
7.   Damian Kelly (Tempo)
8.   Eoin Donnelly, Captain (Coa)
9.   Conall Jones (Derrygonnelly)
10.   Barry Mulrone (Devenish)
11.   Ruairi Corrigan (Kinawley)
12.   Paul McCusker (Ederney)
13.   Ciaran Flaherty (Belcoo)
14.   Sean Quigley (Roslea)
15.   Tomas Corrigan (Kinawley)

Still missing a few of our bigger men which is a worry especially around the middle.
Eoin Donnelly has been probably our best player for the last 2 years so he should be able to get enough ball around there.
Our full back line would also be a bit small if they line out as selected.
Derry have a few big men in there.

Post by: Captain Obvious on January 29, 2016, 01:42:20 PM
Laois by a point
Tyrone by six points
Meath by two points
Derry by three points.
Post by: illdecide on January 29, 2016, 02:10:13 PM
Laois v Galway Galway by 3

Tyrone v Cavan Tyrone by 2

Meath v Armagh Meath by 3 (i've changed my mind 10 times on this...i'll think Armagh by 2pts later...lol)

Derry v Fermanagh Draw
Post by: No wides on January 29, 2016, 02:27:32 PM

Tyrone v Cavan Tyrone by 3+

Meath v Armagh Meath by bagful Armagh can neither score or defend

Derry v Fermanagh Derry by 5+
Post by: Tara Na Rí on January 29, 2016, 02:43:26 PM
Laois v Galway Galway by 2

Tyrone v Cavan: Tyrone by 8

Meath v Armagh: Meath by 5

Derry v Fermanagh: Derry by 4
Post by: illdecide on January 29, 2016, 04:41:33 PM
Quote from: No wides on January 29, 2016, 02:27:32 PM

You're setting yourself up nicely...just saying
Post by: No wides on January 29, 2016, 05:14:41 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 29, 2016, 04:41:33 PM
Quote from: No wides on January 29, 2016, 02:27:32 PM

You're setting yourself up nicely...just saying

Calling it as it is, though as an Armagh man I hope I am wrong.  ;)
Post by: FermGael on January 31, 2016, 05:04:51 PM
Excellent first half .
Should have been more in front against a sloppy derry team.

Second half we just didn't turn up.
Derry had the better subs and we were struggling at full back.

Meath next week.
We need to win our home games.

Post by: Jinxy on January 31, 2016, 06:33:52 PM
How many Quigleys will be playing next week?
Post by: FermGael on January 31, 2016, 07:08:03 PM
Just the one.
Sean
Post by: galwayman on January 31, 2016, 10:17:42 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 29, 2016, 12:07:37 AM
I hope Fermanagh stay up. Usually I would have Galway favourites for promotion (at the start of the league), but I don't know about them this year. They will still be there or thereabouts. They missed the Corofin contingent for a lot of last year's league campaign. It will be interesting to see if they can upset the Tyrone applecart.
We won't have many Corofin lads involved Farr I would say. Liam Silke & Gary Sice (who is only just about to return to county training now I think) are about it.
Lundy gone to New York and Daithi Burke playing with the hurlers again this year.
I would doubt if any other Corofin lads will force themselves in. Guys like the Farraghers & Ronan Steede whilst very good players are a step below county senior standard in my personal opinion.
Post by: Mclf on February 01, 2016, 08:00:08 PM
Quote from: galwayman on January 31, 2016, 10:17:42 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 29, 2016, 12:07:37 AM
We won't have many Corofin lads involved Farr I would say. Liam Silke & Gary Sice (who is only just about to return to county training now I think) are about it.
Lundy gone to New York and Daithi Burke playing with the hurlers again this year.
I would doubt if any other Corofin lads will force themselves in. Guys like the Farraghers & Ronan Steede whilst very good players are a step below county senior standard in my personal opinion.

What about Ian Burke?  Is he involved with Galway? Always looked lively for his club but might be too light for county
Post by: thejuice on February 06, 2016, 01:07:44 AM
Armagh v Laois - Armagh by < 3

Cavan v Derry - Derry by 2

Fermanagh v Meath - Meath by < 3

Galway v Tyrone - Galway by 2 (for the craic)
Post by: Itchy on February 06, 2016, 09:23:03 AM
Interesting games today...

Cavan  v Derry - I'm quite confident Cavan can win so I'll say Cavan by 3
Fermanagh v Meath - Fermanagh by 1. They need a win and they love a scrap
Armagh v Laois - two poor teams, Armagh by a goal
Galway v Tyrone - Galway to beat the unbeatable Tyrone by a goal
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 06, 2016, 10:15:52 AM
Quote from: Itchy on February 06, 2016, 09:23:03 AM

Meath love a good scrap too!
Post by: Itchy on February 06, 2016, 11:44:34 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 06, 2016, 10:15:52 AM

Meath love a good scrap too!

I think you are mistaking Meath of today with Meath if yesteryear
Post by: seafoid on February 06, 2016, 12:20:59 PM
Laois
Cavan
Draw
Galway
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 06, 2016, 06:27:41 PM
Laois
Meath
Cavan
Tyrone handy
Post by: Itchy on February 06, 2016, 08:10:17 PM
Derry up by a goal 5 mins into 2nd half, Derry now with strong wind. Cavan extremely wasteful in 1st half. Doesn't look like Cavan can win this now.
Post by: Itchy on February 06, 2016, 08:21:40 PM
Cavan goal, back in it now.
Post by: Itchy on February 06, 2016, 08:39:48 PM
Derry win by 1 point, referee a disgrace by all accounts. Neilan from Roscommon.
Post by: Westside on February 06, 2016, 08:43:34 PM
Ref was a disgrace. Particularly in the last 5 minutes. Denied Cavan a penalty and at least 3 clear frees. Didn't deserve to lose that.
Post by: Walter Cronc on February 06, 2016, 08:43:49 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 06, 2016, 08:39:48 PM
Derry win by 1 point, referee a disgrace by all accounts. Neilan from Roscommon.

:-X :-*
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 06, 2016, 08:44:11 PM
Derry will do nothing. Not a set of balls in the whole team.

Post by: seafoid on February 06, 2016, 08:44:39 PM
Laois bate Armagh.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 06, 2016, 08:46:40 PM
Derry beat Cavan by a point, Derry missed a goal and give away a very poor goal when head by 3, Cavan missed alot apparently and could have equalised at the end
Post by: Itchy on February 06, 2016, 08:54:52 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 06, 2016, 08:44:11 PM
Derry will do nothing. Not a set of balls in the whole team.

Happy enough with my prediction sure you can't account for the referee giving all 50:50 decisions to one team. Then he was from Roscommon so maybe I should have taken that into account!
Post by: Walter Cronc on February 06, 2016, 08:58:57 PM
You know a lot for a man not at the game!
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 06, 2016, 09:03:05 PM
Sometimes you're better saying fcuk all. As Ronan Keating once said. Sort of.
Post by: Itchy on February 06, 2016, 09:05:04 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on February 06, 2016, 08:58:57 PM
You know a lot for a man not at the game!
Where was I then?
Post by: Walter Cronc on February 06, 2016, 09:11:21 PM

Not at the game......by all accounts
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 06, 2016, 09:24:59 PM
So Kieran McGeeney is he a false prophet?

Looking ominous for Armagh already with 4 Ulster derbies and Galway to come.

Personally I, outside his complete inability to affect change in a game, rated him. He turned Kildare into a real championship team but dare I say he probably had better players with Kildare.

Post by: Jinxy on February 06, 2016, 10:22:41 PM
He had serious oil money behind him in Kildare though.
Post by: armaghniac on February 06, 2016, 10:29:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 06, 2016, 10:22:41 PM
He had serious oil money behind him in Kildare though.

That's a load of horse.
Post by: thejuice on February 06, 2016, 10:55:53 PM
Armagh just aren't able to handle the toughness as well as the speed and precision of Leinster football. If you can't stand the heat go back to division 3.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 06, 2016, 10:56:06 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 06, 2016, 09:24:59 PM
So Kieran McGeeney is he a false prophet?

Looking ominous for Armagh already with 4 Ulster derbies and Galway to come.

Personally I, outside his complete inability to affect change in a game, rated him. He turned Kildare into a real championship team but dare I say he probably had better players with Kildare.

Northern robots are just not as advanced as their Free State equivalents.
Post by: JoG2 on February 06, 2016, 11:34:07 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 06, 2016, 08:46:40 PM
Derry beat Cavan by a point, Derry missed a goal and give away a very poor goal when head by 3, Cavan missed alot apparently and could have equalised at the end

Cavan didn't equalise because our boys defended well.  I counted half a dozen blocks in about a minute period in added on time.  Ref wasn't great,  but didn't favour either side.  Questionable frees given to both.  Decent enough match played in fairly poor conditions.  Grass extremely long and fairly bumpy and a bitterly cold wind blowing down towards the car park end.  A big 2 points.  Cavan have ended on the wrong side of 2 very close games but they should stay up I reckon
Post by: Westside on February 07, 2016, 12:32:15 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on February 06, 2016, 11:34:07 PM

Cavan didn't equalise because our boys defended well.  I counted half a dozen blocks in about a minute period in added on time.  Ref wasn't great,  but didn't favour either side.  Questionable frees given to both.  Decent enough match played in fairly poor conditions.  Grass extremely long and fairly bumpy and a bitterly cold wind blowing down towards the car park end.  A big 2 points.  Cavan have ended on the wrong side of 2 very close games but they should stay up I reckon

Did you count the fouls that were ignored by the ref or just the blocks in those final few minutes? Referee was atrocious and we were badly let down by the balance of the decisions. Hyland isn't a prima donna or one to slate referees after games but he refused to speak to the media after the game.

Derry looking good to go up now, ourselves and Armagh into a dogfight for relegation. We've performed well though and if we continue to put in shifts like we did tonight we can still do enough to stay up.
Post by: Itchy on February 07, 2016, 12:49:11 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on February 06, 2016, 09:11:21 PM

Not at the game......by all accounts
Wrong by all accounts
Post by: Itchy on February 07, 2016, 01:00:01 AM
Look Cavan were well fucked by the ref tonight but on the other hand they had more than enough chances and didn't take them. You make your own luck but I suppose on another day and another ref we would have won that game. Now we are in the shit.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 07, 2016, 01:06:41 AM
Derry had led by 3 and some shocking defending lead to Cavan score a goal u normally wouldn't seen at this level. Take in a very poor penalty miss and there was enough there in Derry to in Cavan. the ref cant kick the ball over the bar for you and u had  alot of wides, but lets blame the ref not that fact that u forwards cant take scores.
Post by: seafoid on February 07, 2016, 08:59:31 AM
Quote from: thejuice on February 06, 2016, 10:55:53 PM
Armagh just aren't able to handle the toughness as well as the speed and precision of Leinster football. If you can't stand the heat go back to division 3.
Is Leinster football still alive?
Post by: JoG2 on February 07, 2016, 09:22:22 AM
Quote from: Westside on February 07, 2016, 12:32:15 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on February 06, 2016, 11:34:07 PM

Did you count the fouls that were ignored by the ref or just the blocks in those final few minutes? Referee was atrocious and we were badly let down by the balance of the decisions. Hyland isn't a prima donna or one to slate referees after games but he refused to speak to the media after the game.

Derry looking good to go up now, ourselves and Armagh into a dogfight for relegation. We've performed well though and if we continue to put in shifts like we did tonight we can still do enough to stay up.

2 of your first 3 points were from handy frees along the stand end.  Tell me who fouled who for the penalty claim at the end as I didn't see it.  The Derry defenders were tenacious in the final minutes,  because a man goes to ground doesn't mean it's a foul.  Our men were tackling the ball,  blocking shots left right and centre.  As I've said,  Cavan will stay up, youse could be sitting on 4 points if youd taken your chances,  not if the refs had given you more frees
Post by: Westside on February 07, 2016, 09:28:30 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 07, 2016, 01:06:41 AM
Derry had led by 3 and some shocking defending lead to Cavan score a goal u normally wouldn't seen at this level. Take in a very poor penalty miss and there was enough there in Derry to in Cavan. the ref cant kick the ball over the bar for you and u had  alot of wides, but lets blame the ref not that fact that u forwards cant take scores.

So we can count Derry's missed penalty and poor defending for the goal in the reasons why they deserved their win but being denied 3 blatant frees by the ref which would almost certainly have drawn the game cant be a factor in why we deserved a point because our shooting was poor? Logical.
Post by: redzone on February 07, 2016, 09:29:06 AM
Quote from: Itchy on February 07, 2016, 01:00:01 AM
Look Cavan were well fucked by the ref tonight but on the other hand they had more than enough chances and didn't take them. You make your own luck but I suppose on another day and another ref we would have won that game. Now we are in the shit.

Hate spoofers like u. As a few others will have noted u weren't at the game but seem fit to judge the ref
Post by: Itchy on February 07, 2016, 09:29:37 AM
Penalty claim was for a foot block but that would have been harsh. There were certainly a free or two at the end that we should have got though. But u are right, we wasted far too many chances.
Post by: Itchy on February 07, 2016, 11:50:31 AM
Quote from: redzone on February 07, 2016, 09:29:06 AM
Quote from: Itchy on February 07, 2016, 01:00:01 AM

Hate spoofers like u. As a few others will have noted u weren't at the game but seem fit to judge the ref

Hating people on the Internet. Very wise.
Post by: seafoid on February 08, 2016, 09:05:12 AM
4 teams on 2 points. Armagh and Cavan have to start winning
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 08, 2016, 11:08:10 PM

Very good juice.
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2016, 12:03:29 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 08, 2016, 11:08:10 PM

Very good juice.

Whatever sort of good juice that is, you probably should give it up during Lent.
Post by: thejuice on February 26, 2016, 02:43:22 PM
Meath (FL Div 2 V Cavan):

Paddy O'Rourke;

Donal Keogan, Conor McGill, Mickey Burke;
Brian Power, Padraic Harnan, Darragh Smyth;

Harry Rooney, Donnacha Tobin;

Sean Tobin, Cillian O'Sullivan, Graham Reilly;
Eamon Wallace, Michael Newman, Donal Lenihan.

Wallace back for the first time, Tobin to midfield to replace Tormey.
Post by: thejuice on February 28, 2016, 02:51:05 PM
Meath 1-09
Cavan 0-05

HT
Post by: Jinxy on February 28, 2016, 03:17:33 PM
Here comes the 2nd half collapse.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 28, 2016, 03:43:30 PM
It did thankfully.  What happened with O'Roarke to ge the Red?
Post by: Itchy on February 28, 2016, 03:45:01 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 28, 2016, 03:17:33 PM
Here comes the 2nd half collapse.
Wasn't able to go, was their a big wind? Some comeback by Cavan and the prodigal son seems to have done a lot of scoring.
Post by: seafoid on February 28, 2016, 03:52:50 PM
That is a big win for Cavan. Tyrone not much better than Laois. A huge win for Galway.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 28, 2016, 03:55:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 28, 2016, 03:52:50 PM
That is a big win for Cavan. Tyrone not much better than Laois. A huge win for Galway.

Don't read too much into the small margin of Tyrone's win, we were 7/8 up and scoring for fun and took the foot of the gas. Could've paid the price for their lackadaisical approach for the second game in a row!
Post by: FermGael on February 28, 2016, 04:14:24 PM
Derry could get pulled into the relegation mess yet.
They play Tyrone next and then have Armagh , Laois and Meath to play yet.
If they want to get promoted they will have to beat Tyrone next weekend.
A big win for Galway away from home and one that sets them up well.
Tyrone are well on the way to being promoted.

Great result for Cavan today as they looked well out of it at half time.
Meath are now in bother as well.

Cavan play Armagh next weekend,Fermanagh play Laois and Meath play Galway.

Every team needs to win next weekend
Post by: seafoid on February 28, 2016, 04:59:25 PM
Quote from: FermGael on February 28, 2016, 04:14:24 PM
Derry could get pulled into the relegation mess yet.
They play Tyrone next and then have Armagh , Laois and Meath to play yet.
If they want to get promoted they will have to beat Tyrone next weekend.
A big win for Galway away from home and one that sets them up well.
Tyrone are well on the way to being promoted.

Great result for Cavan today as they looked well out of it at half time.
Meath are now in bother as well.

Cavan play Armagh next weekend,Fermanagh play Laois and Meath play Galway.

Every team needs to win next weekend
It is getting very interesting. Derry have  to beat Tyrone. Lots of teams on a similar level. Relegation might come down to head to head.
Post by: Syferus on February 28, 2016, 05:10:19 PM
Some statement of intent by Seanie Johnston. More performances like that and the support won't be long forgetting the past.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 28, 2016, 06:13:51 PM
Derry level is division 2 at the moment and  they seem to be not too worried if they go up, if the attitude of the days game  is anything to go on, I expect Tyrone to beat them well, though they will beat Laois and Meath, after that the Armagh game will not matter much
Post by: Denn Forever on February 28, 2016, 06:14:45 PM
The past is  forgotten already as long as he keeps the way he is at training with the team *(no prima donna stories so far). During the whole debacle I just felt sorry for him as I never thought Kildare was going to do any thing for him,
Post by: skeog on February 28, 2016, 06:35:41 PM
derry not bothered about promotion is incorrect barton wants div 1 for 2017 imo tyrone home and hosed for return to div 1
Post by: thejuice on February 28, 2016, 08:41:03 PM
Depressing seeing the full time score there.

I don't know what these lads are capable of but it seems to be not much. I know it's only the league but a good team doesn't go in at half time 7 points up and then lose by the same margin irrespective of the opposition.

I don't expect anything of Mick O'Dowd other then to leave when asked but you'd think he'd have the lads playing with the fear of God in them after last years debacle against Westmeath.

I usually don't let league games get to me but shite like that today just leaves feeling like Michael Douglas in Falling Down.
Post by: Jinxy on February 28, 2016, 09:17:35 PM
I know I'm banging this drum for years but if you repeatedly blow significant leads and collapse in a heap at the business end of big games, that's down to two things for me.
1. Fitness
2. Character
The first one should be a given in this day and age but we never seem to be as fit as our opponents and always seem to carry a few lads, particularly in the league, who are carrying a bit themselves.
The second part is down to the individual to some extent but it's also a massive indictment of the management set-up.
We have too many players who are flat-track bullies that fold like a deck of cards when the pressure comes on.
It's up to the management to build people up mentally as well as physically and make them believe in themselves and each other.
I watched the Donegal v Mayo game on the telly, and it was a game between MEN.
Men with fire in their bellies, who played on the edge and gave everything they had for their team.
We used to churn out players like that.
A long, long time ago.
Time to rip it up and start again.
Post by: agorm on February 28, 2016, 09:32:08 PM
Horrendous performance, I repeat horrendous performance. Mick O'Dowd is by far the worst manager in the 30 years I have been watching Meath football. Totally clueless, not even any indication on the sideline that he has any clue as to how to see a tide turning.

he started Donnacha Tobin today and persisted with the guy in his first game in I dont know how long when the guy was totally out of it. His direct man contributed to crucial scores in the 2nd half. He has persisted with Lenihan who I dont think has scored in the league so far, he made the mistake of moving G Reilly to midfield again, he persists n playing light players that only handpass the ball on the half back line- no surprise that two got injured, just not u to it physically. It mightnt be MO's fault but the full back was roasted and no attempt to do anything about it, bring back cover by replacing a non performing forward. The list could go on but I wont waste my time.

We reappointed him after more horrendous displays last year, his selectors that were the only reason he got the job in the first place quit and he was reappointed without selectors.

And to think that the Meath purists just wanted rid of Banty beause he wasnt from meath, all they wanted was a Meath man. The arrogance, the lunacy of it all. The mind boggles. Unfortunately I have already booked and paid for my accomodation next weekend. Another repeat of the same mistakes and I promise I wont go to another game under MOD.
Post by: Itchy on February 28, 2016, 09:34:36 PM
Ah cheer up Meath men.
Post by: seafoid on February 28, 2016, 09:35:14 PM
Looking forward to Galway vs Meath
Post by: agorm on February 28, 2016, 09:49:20 PM
Well at least it has made up some minds in our household, we try to work our holidays around the schedule and try not to be away for a Meath Dublin game. Not any more.

And next weekend will be based around a visit to Galway than watching that rubbish. I wouldnt even blame Paddy ORourke too much even though it was his 3rd red card in a Meath jersey, himself Keoghan and Eamonn Walace were about all that played up to par in the game and he saved at least two goals.

Meath co board need to bring an end to the farce that is Mick O'Dowd's management of this team.
Post by: thejuice on February 28, 2016, 09:58:29 PM
What did POR do to get sent off?
Post by: agorm on February 28, 2016, 10:15:55 PM
We were leaving at the time but he seemingly followed through on a Cavan player after he scored a point. Unforgivable of course but I could understand how frustrated he would have been.
Post by: Jinxy on February 28, 2016, 11:04:18 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 28, 2016, 09:58:29 PM
What did POR do to get sent off?

Kicked out at one of the Cavan lads while he was coming out to take the kick-out.
An utterly pointless and utterly predictable act.
Again.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 28, 2016, 11:31:16 PM
Meath the new Kildare
Post by: thejuice on February 28, 2016, 11:46:44 PM
Are you tipping us for more O'Byrne Cup success is it?
Post by: seafoid on February 29, 2016, 06:55:59 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 28, 2016, 11:31:16 PM
Meath the new Kildare
Sean Boylan has to go. Everything will be fine afterwards.
Post by: LilySavage on February 29, 2016, 08:32:38 AM
15 point turnarounds against average teams like Westmeath and Cavan...i thought Meath were going for Promotion this year.  Better chance next year from Div 3.
Post by: seafoid on February 29, 2016, 09:57:53 PM
5 teams on 2 points. Very tight division this year
Post by: Cunny Funt on February 29, 2016, 10:18:47 PM
I think Galway will get promoted along with Tyrone. Galway have now played two of their hardest games on paper in Derry away and Tyrone at home and their squad should become stronger now with more championship starters to return.
Post by: Orior on February 29, 2016, 10:40:33 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 29, 2016, 10:18:47 PM
I think Galway will get promoted along with Tyrone. Galway have now played two of their hardest games on paper in Derry away and Tyrone at home and their squad should become stronger now with more championship starters to return.

I am gonna get caught in work some day laughing at your name  :(
Post by: seafoid on March 01, 2016, 06:19:15 AM
If Derry beat Tyrone it would shake things up a bit.
Post by: Angus on March 01, 2016, 07:13:57 AM
Apparently, Tyrone and Galway are close to be on their way to Division 1. But, if Derry happen to beat Tyrone when they meet soon, then Derry have a huge chance to progress as well.
Post by: seafoid on March 02, 2016, 05:02:57 PM
Are Armagh and Meath the weakest so far?
Post by: Maroon Manc on March 05, 2016, 08:59:20 PM
Cavan are certainly in the hunt for promotion now although they'll probably need to win their remaining 3 games to be in with a chance of going up.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 05, 2016, 09:02:19 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on March 05, 2016, 08:59:20 PM
Cavan are certainly in the hunt for promotion now although they'll probably need to win their remaining 3 games to be in with a chance of going up.

Cavan Galway on the last day could be a promotion playoff.
Post by: Maroon Manc on March 05, 2016, 09:06:52 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 05, 2016, 09:02:19 PM

What happens should Galway, Derry & Cavan finish on 10 points and with Cavan beating Galway as they'd all have a win and a defeat from the games  against each other?
Post by: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 09:10:01 PM
2 teams on same points goes by head to head. 3 teams on same points means it's score difference.
Post by: seafoid on March 05, 2016, 10:25:16 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on March 05, 2016, 09:06:52 PM

What happens should Galway, Derry & Cavan finish on 10 points and with Cavan beating Galway as they'd all have a win and a defeat from the games  against each other?
have Cavan played Derry already?
Post by: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 10:27:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 05, 2016, 10:25:16 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on March 05, 2016, 09:06:52 PM

have Cavan played Derry already?

Yes lost by 1 point to Derry in 2nd game, so Derry would have the head to head on that one
Post by: FermGael on March 06, 2016, 10:40:35 AM
Must win now for us today after the Cavan result.
They seem to have hit a rich vein of firm at the right time.
4 points could actually be enough to stay up if we beat Laois today.
We have Cavan, Galway and Tyrone for our last 3 games.
Very difficult to expect anything out of those 3 games.

Post by: seafoid on March 06, 2016, 05:11:10 PM
Good win for Fermanagh. Armagh are dreadful. Laois would want to buck up. Derry disappointing.
Cavan should be safe. Meath need wins.
Post by: FermGael on March 06, 2016, 08:30:17 PM
Great result for us today.
We dominated the game from start to finish and the game was over as a contest at half time.
Corrigan was excellent but I cannot stress how poor Laois were.
That's our biggest victory at fortress Brewster under Pete and without Sean Quigley as well who was suspended.  Laois looked like a team that had not studied us properly and didn't have a clue how to deal with a blanket defence and our quick running game.
We dominated midfield and nullified Kingston very effectively.
Defensively we were never really tested and up front we were full of energy and we were very clinical, unlike last week.
Great response after the Armagh game.
I now believe we are approaching having everybody available which is vital for us.
Cavan up next on Saturday night in Brewster.
Big test and it's time we beat an ulster team in this division.
Post by: FermGael on March 13, 2016, 05:05:48 PM
Tyrone  10
Cavan 6
Galway 6
Derry 5
Fermanagh 4
Armagh 3
Meath 3
Laois 3

That's Tyrone promoted.
Cavan win there last 2 games they will also be promoted.
Same applies to Galway.

As for who gets relegated it's anybodys guess.
I believe who ever loses the meath v Laois game on the last day will be relegated .

Post by: seafoid on March 13, 2016, 05:07:36 PM
Quote from: FermGael on March 13, 2016, 05:05:48 PM
Tyrone  10
Cavan 6
Galway 6
Derry 5
Fermanagh 4
Armagh 3
Meath 3
Laois 3

That's Tyrone promoted.
Cavan win there last 2 games they will also be promoted.
Same applies to Galway.

As for who gets relegated it's anybodys guess.
I believe who ever loses the meath v Laois game on the last day will be relegated .
Meath and Armagh to get relegated.
Post by: Jinxy on March 13, 2016, 08:10:46 PM
Division 2 is stupid anyway.
Post by: seafoid on March 13, 2016, 09:20:36 PM
It's only the league anyway
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 13, 2016, 09:52:41 PM
Fermanagh in big diffs, with Galway and Tyrone to come.

Any one of four others could join them, not looking great for Armagh, who have to go to Omagh.

I fancy Cavan to beat Laois and Meath could get a result in Celtic Park. Laois could beat Meath and Armagh could beat Derry, which would leave four teams on five points. One more point should leave us safe, but I'm not confident of where it will come from. I wouldn't want a winners takes all in the Athletics Grounds in the last round.
Post by: Stad on March 14, 2016, 01:08:59 PM
Tyrone are promoted and I think it'll be a last day showdown between Cavan and Galway to see who joins them. Cavan at home so they are favorites to go up in my book.
As has been said above, the relegation battle is between 4 teams. Derry should be fine I think. Here's the remaining fixtures for all the candidates, their points and score difference.

__________Pts__SD____Fixtures
Fermanagh    4      -2         Galway (away) Tyrone (home)
Meath            3      -12       Derry (away) Laois (away)
Laois             3      -20        Cavan (away) Meath (home)
Armagh         3       -22       Tyrone (away) Derry (home)

It's very hard to call. I think Fermanagh, Laois and Armagh will lose their next round, Meath have a chance in Derry. Fermanagh will hope Tyrone are trying out players in the last round, the winnrs of Laois and Meath will probably stay up and Armagh have to hope Fermanagh lose both games as they lost to both Laois and Meath so would be relegated on head to head record.
Post by: Dire Ear on March 14, 2016, 01:39:11 PM
Tyrone 4-11 , seems handy money ??
http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports/gaa-football/nfl-division-2
Post by: omagh_gael on March 14, 2016, 02:14:59 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 14, 2016, 01:39:11 PM

Is that to top division or win the 'final" in Croke Park?
Post by: sambostar on March 14, 2016, 03:25:59 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 14, 2016, 02:14:59 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 14, 2016, 01:39:11 PM

Is that to top division or win the 'final" in Croke Park?
Has to be to win in Croker, they are guaranteed top spot as Cavan & Galway meet in the final round so can't both get to 10pts. In event of a tie on 10pts Tyrone would finish ahead of either as they've beat both already
Post by: sambostar on March 14, 2016, 03:32:28 PM
Quote from: Stad on March 14, 2016, 01:08:59 PM
Tyrone are promoted and I think it'll be a last day showdown between Cavan and Galway to see who joins them. Cavan at home so they are favorites to go up in my book.
As has been said above, the relegation battle is between 4 teams. Derry should be fine I think. Here's the remaining fixtures for all the candidates, their points and score difference.

__________Pts__SD____Fixtures
Fermanagh    4      -2         Galway (away) Tyrone (home)
Meath            3      -12       Derry (away) Laois (away)
Laois             3      -20        Cavan (away) Meath (home)
Armagh         3       -22       Tyrone (away) Derry (home)

It's very hard to call. I think Fermanagh, Laois and Armagh will lose their next round, Meath have a chance in Derry. Fermanagh will hope Tyrone are trying out players in the last round, the winnrs of Laois and Meath will probably stay up and Armagh have to hope Fermanagh lose both games as they lost to both Laois and Meath so would be relegated on head to head record.
I'd fancy Cavan now to get 2nd promotion slot - 2 home games against Laois & Galway. Fermanagh could be in trouble now having to play Galway away & Tyrone at home - could be stuck on 4pts. Meath & Laois play each other so likely 1 of those will get to 5pts. Armagh should be able to pull out a last day performance at home to Derry (especially if Derry have nothing to play for) & also get to 5pts. Was in Navan yesterday & didn't think Meath were that bad, certainly better than Derry looked in Omagh so I'd say Fermanagh & Laois to go down 
Post by: Maroon Manc on March 14, 2016, 04:07:11 PM
If at the beginning of the campaign I was told that Galway had to beat Fermanagh & Cavan to secure promotion I'd have taken that although I'm disappointed not to have beaten Armagh & Meath although these are the types of games Galway would have lost last year son there are positives to take from both games.There's probably a few twists along the way though so don't rule out Derry.
Post by: Itchy on March 14, 2016, 10:42:48 PM
Armagh look frigged. They lost head to head with Laois and Meath didn't they? Tyrone will wallop them so even two points against Derry might not be good enough.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 23, 2016, 07:23:13 AM
You'd imagine Derry will have enough to beat one of Meath or Armagh.
Post by: FermGael on March 23, 2016, 10:33:56 AM
Derry could be in a spot of bother if they lose against Meath.
An Armagh victory against Derry would probably be enough to relegate Derry and keep Armagh up.
Post by: Tara Na Rí on March 23, 2016, 12:31:18 PM
I'd expect the loser of the Meath vs Laois game on the last day to go down, possibly joining Armagh. That could look a whole lot different after this weekend though as always seems to be the case with this division!
Post by: FermGael on March 26, 2016, 09:07:44 AM
Fermanagh manager Pete McGrath has made four changes to his starting line up for tomorrow's game against Galway at Tuam Stadium.

Fermanagh were disappointing against Cavan in their last outing and it was a result that left the Ernemen facing a relegation scrap at the foot of the table.

McGrath has handed a first start of the season to experienced defender Ryan McCluskey while Damian Kelly comes into midfield for the injured Richie O'Callaghan.

There is also two changes to the personnel in attack with Sean Quigley coming in at full forward and there's a first start for Erne Gaels Ryan Lyons at centre half forward.

The players to make way are Paddy Reihill, Declan McCusker and Paul McCusker.

Fermanagh

C. Snow; M. Jones, C. Cullen, N. Cassidy; J. McMahon, R. McCluskey, A. Breen; E. Donnelly, D. Kelly; B. Mulrone, R. Lyons, R. Jones; R. Corrigan, S. Quigley, T. Corrigan
Post by: cornetto on March 26, 2016, 09:21:19 AM
Galway (NFL v Fermanagh): Manus Breathnach; David Wynne, Declan Kyne, Cathal Sweeney; Liam Silke, Gary O'Donnell, Johnny Heaney; Fiontan O Curraoin, Paul Conroy; Thomas Flynn, Eddie Hoare, Gary Sice; Shane Walsh, Adrian Varley, Damien Comer.
Post by: Itchy on March 26, 2016, 09:46:28 AM
Cavan same starting team as last day but Keating back on the bench.

Intriguing weekend ahead as things are very close. For example Derry could go into the last weekend as a promotion or relegation candidate depending on how they get on.
Post by: Gael85 on March 26, 2016, 10:00:48 AM
Quote from: cornetto on March 26, 2016, 09:21:19 AM
Galway (NFL v Fermanagh): Manus Breathnach; David Wynne, Declan Kyne, Cathal Sweeney; Liam Silke, Gary O'Donnell, Johnny Heaney; Fiontan O Curraoin, Paul Conroy; Thomas Flynn, Eddie Hoare, Gary Sice; Shane Walsh, Adrian Varley, Damien Comer.

Is there any other Corofin players on Galway panel other than Silke and Sice?
Post by: seafoid on March 27, 2016, 05:32:15 PM
3 draws make it very interesting. Cavan v Galway to decide who goes up.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 27, 2016, 05:40:27 PM
I reckon Derry are safe as long as they don't lose to Armagh by more than 10 points. Even then Meath would have to beat Laois and Fermanagh get at least a point against Tyrone.
One of Meath or Laois definitely gone, possibly both. Reckon Laois and Fermanagh to go down.
Post by: FermGael on March 27, 2016, 06:06:18 PM
Fantastic result for fermanagh today especially after Armagh and meath picked up a point.
Played most of the second half with 14 men and Pete got the subs spot on in the second half. 
Great deal of character shown by the fermanagh players.
5 points on the board now which isn't bad considering and everything to play for in the last game.
Post by: JoG2 on March 27, 2016, 06:10:09 PM
Quote from: AFS on March 27, 2016, 05:59:51 PM
Results not kind to Armagh today. Gone from a situation where we might have stayed up even in defeat next weekend to one where a win might not be enough. Only an 11 point win against Derry guarantees safety. Confident of getting a win, but not by that much. Would expect Meath to beat Laois to potentially join Armagh and Derry on 6 points, but in that case we'd have to rely on Tyrone beating Fermanagh to keep us up.

Some amount of Armagh men are confident of beating Derry next week.  I wouldnt be confident of a Derry win,  but can't see where you boys confidence is coming from!
Post by: general_lee on March 27, 2016, 06:19:25 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on March 27, 2016, 06:10:09 PM
Results not kind to Armagh today. Gone from a situation where we might have stayed up even in defeat next weekend to one where a win might not be enough. Only an 11 point win against Derry guarantees safety. Confident of getting a win, but not by that much. Would expect Meath to beat Laois to potentially join Armagh and Derry on 6 points, but in that case we'd have to rely on Tyrone beating Fermanagh to keep us up.

Some amount of Armagh men are confident of beating Derry next week.  I wouldnt be confident of a Derry win,  but can't see where you boys confidence is coming from!
Well Derry never cease to amaze me considering the players they have. Before the championship i thought they'd be challenging for Div 1. They've descended into a real middling team in ulster in my view. Armagh at home when the chips down are in with a shout.
Post by: JoG2 on March 27, 2016, 06:21:27 PM
Quote from: general_lee on March 27, 2016, 06:19:25 PM

Well Derry never cease to amaze me considering the players they have. Before the championship i thought they'd be challenging for Div 1. They've descended into a real middling team in ulster in my view. Armagh at home when the chips down are in with a shout.

Tell me about it,  I can see the game go either way, but confident?  No chance! 
Post by: seafoid on March 27, 2016, 08:27:03 PM
Derry have been very disappointing. 
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2016, 08:46:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 27, 2016, 08:27:03 PM
Thought Galway would have beaten Fermanagh today, although home games haven't been Galway's forte lately. Any report from DE, AnFhairche or anybody? From a Galway perspective. FermGael summarised it from Fermanaghs pov.
Post by: Estimator on March 27, 2016, 09:48:51 PM

What are you basing this on?
Derry last won the Ulster Championship in 1998.
Have been in two Ulster finals between that victory and now.
Two All Ireland semi final appearances since 2000
Last won the NFL in 2008.
Were completely destroyed in Div 1 last year.
Many embarrassing defeats in the qualifiers in the last few years (including 3 times to Longford).
Post by: Itchy on March 27, 2016, 11:07:28 PM
Solid win for Cavan today but it was far from easy. I think Laois are better than Meath and will beat them next Sunday. Cavan v Galway is a real 50:50 match, I'm hoping home advantage will be enough for us to sneak it.
Post by: general_lee on March 27, 2016, 11:13:55 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on March 27, 2016, 06:21:27 PM
Quote from: general_lee on March 27, 2016, 06:19:25 PM

Tell me about it,  I can see the game go either way, but confident?  No chance!
Armagh fans are a rare breed. Few half decent performances and optimism goes through the roof. Get a hammering or two and we're the worst team in ulster/div 4 material
Post by: Throw ball on March 28, 2016, 01:32:05 AM
On what I have seen I feel Cavan will have too much for Galway - but only just. If Tyrone want to play they will beat Fermanagh. Meath and Laois is 50:50. On the 2 Laois looked the better when they played Armagh. I hope Armagh can beat Derry but again this could go either way. Given how the table sits it looks like Laois and either Fermanagh or Armagh for the drop.
Post by: galwayman on March 28, 2016, 10:37:38 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2016, 08:46:29 PM
Thought Galway would have beaten Fermanagh today, although home games haven't been Galway's forte lately. Any report from DE, AnFhairche or anybody? From a Galway perspective. FermGael summarised it from Fermanaghs pov.
I was in Tuam.it wasn't a good Galway performance.
Fermanagh fully deserved a draw out of the game.
This just continued our trend in this league of hot and cold displays.
You never know what you're going to get from this team.
Fermanagh caused us all sorts of bother in the 2nd half when they ran at our defence in droves.
Every time they attacked they looked like they were going to get a score.
We played into their hands with indisciplined tackling & Corrigan punished most of those indiscretions.
I felt we weren't clinical enough up front.there were a number of occasions where an attacker could have gone for the jugular (ie a goal) but took ghe handy point instead.
Issues for us are recurring from previous years and don't seem to have been addressed.
Our goalkeeper is still a huge problem.
He gave away several balls with inaccurate attempted short kick outs & allowed a long ball into his square to hop over the bar for a soft point.
I have said it 100 times before on here he is simply not up to the required standard.this problem has been there since Adrian Faherty played for us a good few years back.
Also our free taking is hugely problematic.
Several different players took them and a lot were missed.
Eddie Hoare missed a 14 yard free ffs.unacceptable at club level never mind county.
Our build up play is very slow and lateral.nobidy coming into the ball at pace to break the defensive line.
We persisted with this tactic and not delivering in early ball even after Fermanagh had a man sent off and were forced to go man on man in the fullback line at times.
We didn't take advantage of that.
Positives were few and far between.
Eamon Brannigan did very well when he came on near the end.Shane Walsh unfortunately injured his knee.Adrian Varley is a frustrating player to watch.his finishing isn't up to standard.
Conroy and Sice were good.young Wynne also had a decent enough game.
But too many average performances throughout the team.

Normally you wouldn't have much hope for Cavan after a performance like that.
With this Galway team though you never know they could pull something out of the bag when you least expect it.
Post by: Stad on March 28, 2016, 12:42:37 PM
The point both Fermanagh and Armagh got over the weekend is absolutely vital. It means Fermanagh are now safe unless Armagh draw and Meath or Laois hammer the other team by 15+ points. Armagh now just have to beat Derry, without the point v Tyrone they would have had to beat Derry, hope Fermanagh lost to Tyrone and beaten Laois or Meath on score difference. For Laois and Meath they have to beat each other and hope Derry can beat Armagh in Armagh. Derry have nothing to play for, can't get promoted or relegated so it looks likely that Laois and Meath are heading to division 3.
Post by: seafoid on March 28, 2016, 12:55:25 PM
Quote from: Stad on March 28, 2016, 12:42:37 PM
The point both Fermanagh and Armagh got over the weekend is absolutely vital. It means Fermanagh are now safe unless Armagh draw and Meath or Laois hammer the other team by 15+ points. Armagh now just have to beat Derry, without the point v Tyrone they would have had to beat Derry, hope Fermanagh lost to Tyrone and beaten Laois or Meath on score difference. For Laois and Meath they have to beat each other and hope Derry can beat Armagh in Armagh. Derry have nothing to play for, can't get promoted or relegated so it looks likely that Laois and Meath are heading to division 3.
I think the negativity of the meath fans in the earlier round will be deemed crucial if they do get relegated. Fragile confidence needs better online support really
Post by: FermGael on March 28, 2016, 01:53:27 PM
Would agree with everything you say there Galwayman
Galway had a couple of chances to go for goal especially in the second half and opted for the point instead.
A goal in the second half would have killed us off especially with 14 men.
Your keeper was very poor.
The bounced point was poor and quite a few of his attempted short kickouts either went over the sideline or put the Galway player he had picked out under serious pressure and lead to cheap turnovers for Fermanagh at crucial times in the match.Galway didn't look like a team that knows how to play the blanket defence. Your players were funneling back but not really doing anything except standing there .

We played well when we ran at Galway and kept the ball in the hands and don't kick it away. Tyrone next up and that will be a massive test for Fermanagh. The full back line will be Fermanaghs biggest concern as we will be missing both our corner backs. Cassidy will be suspended due to the straight red and Michael Jones looked to have picked up a nasty injury as he didn't reappear for the second half.  Aidan Breen will also be unavailable because he picked up his second consecutive black card so I think that means he's suspended
Hopefully Tyrone will be as charitable to us as they were to their Armagh neighbours on Saturday night.
Post by: Duine Eile on March 28, 2016, 03:16:56 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2016, 08:46:29 PM

Not a whole pile to add to what the others have said about Galway, very poor performance. The goalkeeping issues are still a huge problem, we gave away so many scores through misplaced kick outs, bad communication etc. Not sure what the answer is though, Brian Donoghue doesn't fill me with confidence and Tom Healy seems to be gone from the panel altogether this year. We could have won this game by about ten points if we had someone willing to take a point but too many looking to pass the responsibility on to someone else. Eddie Hoare was completely anonymous yesterday and compounded his day by missing a 14 yard free which is just unforgivable. Conroy had a lot of misses too but he's still one of our better players along with Gary Sice. All in all a bad day out performance wise but in the grand scheme of things the draw makes no difference to our promotion chances, it's still in our own hands, we have to win in Cavan next week and this team seem to do better on the road than at home. It'll be a busy weekend to be a Galway GAA supporter!
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2016, 04:43:27 PM
What do we have to do to stay in this joke of a division?
Post by: armaghniac on March 28, 2016, 04:45:59 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2016, 04:43:27 PM

Pray!
Post by: Stad on March 28, 2016, 05:13:33 PM

I somehow forgot that Meath picked up a point against Derry. This gives them a better chance of staying up and puts Armagh in more trouble. If Meath and Fermanagh win then Armagh will be relegated no matter what they do against Derry.
Post by: Throw ball on March 28, 2016, 05:28:09 PM
Quote from: Stad on March 28, 2016, 05:13:33 PM

I somehow forgot that Meath picked up a point against Derry. This gives them a better chance of staying up and puts Armagh in more trouble. If Meath and Fermanagh win then Armagh will be relegated no matter what they do against Derry.

Not quite. If they beat Derry in that scenario by as little as 11 points Derry go down. Easy!
Post by: tintin25 on March 28, 2016, 05:37:51 PM

Can't see Fermanagh beating Tyrone, so hoping for either a Laois victory or a Derry victory.  A draw in the Laois/Meath game would suit also.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 28, 2016, 06:04:32 PM

Beat Laois and you stay up. Very simple.
Lose and you're down. Very simple.
It only gets complicated if you draw.
Post by: clawaddy on March 28, 2016, 06:14:10 PM
If Derry lose and Meath win that puts Derry, Armagh and Meath on 6 points where score difference decides outcome.  Currently Derry(-2), Armagh(-22) Meath(-12).  In this scenario Laois would be down plus one of these three.  It would take a fairly unlikely set of results for Derry to be the worst scoring average
Post by: Armamike on March 28, 2016, 09:20:56 PM
Quote from: clawaddy on March 28, 2016, 06:14:10 PM
If Derry lose and Meath win that puts Derry, Armagh and Meath on 6 points where score difference decides outcome.  Currently Derry(-2), Armagh(-22) Meath(-12).  In this scenario Laois would be down plus one of these three.  It would take a fairly unlikely set of results for Derry to be the worst scoring average

And Fermanagh?
Post by: Orior on March 28, 2016, 09:48:22 PM
It would have been real nice if someone posted the table and the remaining matches instead of me having to go search for it.

Pos   Team          P   W   L   D   F   A   Pts
1   Tyrone   6   5   0   1      95   73   11
2   Cavan   6   4   2   0   107   75   8
3   Galway   6   2   1   3   102   93   7
4   Derry     6   2   2   2   110   112   6
5   Fermanagh6   2   3   1   79   81   5
6   Meath   6   1   3   2   82   94   4
7   Armagh   6   1   3   2   77   99   4
8   Laois           6   1   4   1   93   118   3

Fermanagh v Tyrone
Cavan v Galway
Armagh v Derry
Laois v Meath
Post by: clawaddy on March 28, 2016, 10:52:41 PM
If Ferm win then it is the same set of outcomes I outlined in my last post.  It gets complicated if Ferm lose then it is as follows(I think)

Ferm loses, Derry loses, Meath wins, Armagh wins, Laois loses : Ferm /Laois down
Ferm loses, Derry loses, Meath loses, Armagh wins, Laois wins : Meath /Laois down
Ferm loses, Derry wins, Meath loses, Armagh loses, Laois wins : Meath /Armagh down
Ferm loses, Derry wins, Meath wins, Armagh loses, Laois loses : Armagh /Laois down

If Ferm draw their score diff would remain at -2  and would be on 6 points so it would take a 20 point win for Armagh to avoid joining Laois for the drop
Post by: seafoid on March 28, 2016, 11:06:46 PM
5 decades of the rosary and promise publication. Never known to fail
Post by: clawaddy on March 29, 2016, 08:07:52 AM
Correction
Yes AFS an 11 point win for Armagh and Ferm win/draw and Meath 2 point win would see Derry down
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 31, 2016, 11:38:46 AM
I missed this old place, good to be back. Any craic?
Post by: armaghniac on March 31, 2016, 01:16:14 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 31, 2016, 11:38:46 AM

Feck all, I think we'll leave.
Post by: illdecide on March 31, 2016, 02:21:19 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 31, 2016, 11:38:46 AM

aye there's plenty of craic alright but wait until about 3:45 on Sunday and there might not be as much banter if you're from Fermanagh and Laois ;). Kildare and Down will be good editions next season
Post by: Fuzzman on April 03, 2016, 02:56:57 PM
Still looking very close with Meath and Laois drawing and Fermanagh still in with a good shout.
Armagh look as if they will be safe.
Cavan v Tyrone final probably
Post by: Jinxy on April 03, 2016, 03:37:39 PM
Never in doubt.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2016, 03:39:41 PM
Tyrone and Femanagh finishes level.
Post by: Nigel White on April 03, 2016, 03:43:33 PM
Armagh relegated

Post by: Fuzzman on April 03, 2016, 03:44:04 PM
Is that 4 teams on 6 points then after those results?
Who has the worst score difference?
Post by: GlenMan on April 03, 2016, 03:45:07 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on April 03, 2016, 03:43:33 PM
Armagh relegated

Good.
Post by: general_lee on April 03, 2016, 03:47:49 PM
I'm sure tyrone worked their balls off for that point today. They'll be there or there abouts come August.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 03, 2016, 03:50:09 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on April 03, 2016, 03:43:33 PM
Armagh relegated

Well McGeeney did say he was going to get them out of Division 2 in the 2nd year of the 5 year plan.  :P
Post by: GlenMan on April 03, 2016, 03:51:53 PM
Quote from: general_lee on April 03, 2016, 03:47:49 PM
I'm sure tyrone worked their balls off for that point today. They'll be there or there abouts come August.

Sarcasm? I wouldn't read into Tyrone's last two results that much. They'll be a different team come the Championship. Seem to be making more than a few mistakes at the minute.
Post by: general_lee on April 03, 2016, 03:59:55 PM
Quote from: GlenMan on April 03, 2016, 03:51:53 PM

Sarcasm? I wouldn't read into Tyrone's last two results that much. They'll be a different team come the Championship. Seem to be making more than a few mistakes at the minute.
Sarcasm alright. If it was Derry or Armagh they were playing today with the chance to relegate do you think they'd have hit as many wides?
Post by: JP on April 03, 2016, 04:21:09 PM
Can't rely on Tyrone for anything. If we didn't concede the last minute goal against Galway we would be 3rd in the table. Very fine margins.

As it is I am alot more optimistic then I was at the start of the campaign. We should be able to give Cavan a good rattle.
Post by: T Fearon on April 03, 2016, 04:42:36 PM
Optimistic? Why? That result flattered Armagh today.Nothing to be optimistic,no identifiable game plan, no progress and unable to retain Div 2 status unlike Fermanagh.Few managers would survive relegation after a disastrous championship campaign.
Post by: armaghniac on April 03, 2016, 04:43:04 PM
Armagh paid the price for throwing in the towel against Cavan and not putting Galway away. A bit of graft against Cavan would have limited the margin there and that performance wasn't acceptable. At least they ended with a decent performance today.
Post by: No wides on April 03, 2016, 05:04:10 PM
Allianz Football League Roinn 2

Pos   Team   P   W   L   D   F   A   Pts
1   Tyrone   7   5   0   2   107   85   12
2   Cavan   7   5   2   0   126   90   10
3   Galway   7   2   2   3   117   112   7
4   Fermanag   7   2   3   2   91   93   6
5   Meath   7   2   3   2   100   106   6
6   Derry   7   2   3   2   125   133   6
7   Armagh   7   2   3   2   98   114   6
8   Laois   7   1   5   1   105   136   3

Agree Armagh have no one to blame but themselves, Cavan debacle and not closing the Galway game out cost them, what they are going learn to get in division 3 football is absolutely nothing.
Post by: JP on April 03, 2016, 05:04:36 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 03, 2016, 04:42:36 PM
Optimistic? Why? That result flattered Armagh today.Nothing to be optimistic,no identifiable game plan, no progress and unable to retain Div 2 status unlike Fermanagh.Few managers would survive relegation after a disastrous championship campaign.

I disagree. If you can't see the progress from the Laois/Meath games then you are letting your negativity get in the way. There was an obvious gameplan for the last 3 games and its not McGeeneys fault if you can't see it. We drew with Galway, Tyrone and beat Derry. Plenty of new players have raised their hand and put their claim on the jersey. Onwards and upwards.

And how many gaa managers can you think of that has left after the national league but before the championship? Don't talk nonsense.
Post by: general_lee on April 03, 2016, 06:02:38 PM
Division 3 is a set back and I'm disillusioned from the point of view that 2017 will start off against poorer standard teams. People say the standard in Division 2 is poor; I'd beg to differ. It's a minefield and has proved to be a pretty competitive league. Hopefully Armagh can continue on an upwards curve and gear up for a proper assault on the championship
Post by: seafoid on April 03, 2016, 06:14:13 PM
I thought Laois would stay up. A very good league for Fermanagh.
Post by: Redhand Santa on April 03, 2016, 06:40:45 PM
Quote from: general_lee on April 03, 2016, 03:59:55 PM

Sarcasm alright. If it was Derry or Armagh they were playing today with the chance to relegate do you think they'd have hit as many wides?

Your point makes little sense given that Tyrone only drew with Armagh last week. If Fermanagh had scored a last minute goal today instead of Armagh last week you'd have said Tyrone wouldn't have allowed that to happen v Armagh.
Post by: T Fearon on April 03, 2016, 07:03:22 PM
But for a scoring spree at the end of both halves Armagh would have lost that game today.Div 2 is poor,not one team in it is serious provincial contenders never mind All Ireland contenders.We are now a yo yo team too good for Div 3 and not good enough for Div 2.
Post by: JP on April 03, 2016, 07:08:14 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 03, 2016, 07:03:22 PM
But for a scoring spree at the end of both halves Armagh would have lost that game today.Div 2 is poor,not one team in it is serious provincial contenders never mind All Ireland contenders.We are now a yo yo team too good for Div 3 and not good enough for Div 2.

Aye and if Derry scored 7 more points we would have lost also. Your argument doesn't make any sense.

What do you expect from McGeeney? to wave a wand and make it 2002 again?We are not a contender for Ulster or the AI. But that was never going to happen overnight. We have made significant progress over the last 3 games and that for me is enough reason to be optimistic for the summer. If your expectation was to be competiting for All Irelands then you will be sorely disappointed. Bit of perspective is needed here.
Post by: general_lee on April 03, 2016, 07:26:40 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on April 03, 2016, 06:40:45 PM
Quote from: general_lee on April 03, 2016, 03:59:55 PM

Your point makes little sense given that Tyrone only drew with Armagh last week. If Fermanagh had scored a last minute goal today instead of Armagh last week you'd have said Tyrone wouldn't have allowed that to happen v Armagh.
Tyrone went through the motions today. They were losing for much of the match and only equalised with last score of the game. Contrast that with Armagh who they wanted to beat and Derry who they love to beat. I'm sure they'd have been a lot more fired up. All irrelevant in the grand scheme of things, as ultimately Armagh are responsible for where they play ball next year.
Post by: naka on April 03, 2016, 07:35:42 PM
Armagh are developing some good young players at present
Thought Rafferty, mc ilroy, hefron Watters all had strong games.
We had strategies in place for kick outs,the throw ins etc
And we are developing.
Relegation is tough
But we are in a far better place than at start of the year.
Post by: T Fearon on April 03, 2016, 07:39:04 PM
Exactly.We shouldn't be relying on other teams on the last day of the league.Looking at it objectively we have regressed significantly in the last 18 months,when we were one point away from an AI semi final.Even last season in Div 3 we were far from convincing,had a disastrous Championship campaign and failed to stay in Div 2 amid a raft of mediocre sides.

No one is saying we should be in contention for All Irelands or even Ulster titles but we should have been able comfortably to stay in Div 2,ahead of the likes of one man teams like Fermanagh.

A review of football in Armagh needs to take place urgently,examining things like premature retirements,relationship with Crossmaglen etc.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on April 03, 2016, 07:50:29 PM
Long way from the glory days of 01 now. Cheerio Armagh!
Post by: JP on April 03, 2016, 08:02:11 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on April 03, 2016, 07:50:29 PM

Not every team has the resources of dublin. These things work in cycles.... We will be back.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on April 03, 2016, 08:22:47 PM
Massive congrats to Itchy and the rest of the Cavan folk on their well deserved promotion. Themselves and Fermanagh were my tips for relegation at the start of the league, so well done to both for proving me spectacularly wrong.
A functional, what we expected unbeaten campaign from a Tyrone team that was always far too good for this division.
A shocking campaign for each of the other five teams, in particular ourselves, despite Derry avoiding relegation.
Post by: FermGael on April 03, 2016, 09:28:45 PM
Another round of games and Derry would have been relegated.
Delighted to stay up.
We have a very young team and another year at this standard will help develop them even further.
Post by: Armamike on April 03, 2016, 10:04:14 PM

It's only the league.
Post by: Rudi on April 03, 2016, 10:11:56 PM
Fair play to Cavan had them down as relegation candidates, however they decided after 2 games to play positive attacking football and that has them playing Div 1 football next year. Have some decent looking forwards.
Post by: Westside on April 03, 2016, 10:41:54 PM
Quote from: Rudi on April 03, 2016, 10:11:56 PM
Fair play to Cavan had them down as relegation candidates, however they decided after 2 games to play positive attacking football and that has them playing Div 1 football next year. Have some decent looking forwards.

Your good wishes are well received, but please please don't buy into the narrative that Cavan "decided after 2 games to play positive attacking football"... It is simply not what happened.
Post by: seafoid on April 04, 2016, 10:50:49 AM
Armagh won nothing in 2001. It was the year after
Post by: Over the Bar on April 04, 2016, 12:08:17 PM
Good to see there will be 4 Ulster teams in Div 1 next season!
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 04, 2016, 12:13:32 PM
Next season will be like a who's who of underachieving counties. Kildare, Meath, Derry, Galway, Cork....
Post by: Jinxy on April 04, 2016, 05:13:29 PM
The division has quite an aristocratic look about it now.
Even with the flourbags back in it.
Post by: seafoid on April 04, 2016, 05:32:46 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 04, 2016, 05:13:29 PM
The division has quite an aristocratic look about it now.
Even with the flourbags back in it.
ancien regime
Post by: Itchy on April 04, 2016, 10:08:01 PM
So long suckers
Post by: armaghniac on April 04, 2016, 10:45:24 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 04, 2016, 10:08:01 PM
So long suckers

see you in 2018.
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2016, 07:17:11 AM
Westmeath got relegated 3 times in a row. Mad.
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2016, 07:18:25 AM
So long suckers
Could you send me a copy of this week's Celt, Itchy when it comes out?
Post by: Itchy on April 05, 2016, 10:15:20 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 05, 2016, 07:18:25 AM
So long suckers
Could you send me a copy of this week's Celt, Itchy when it comes out?

You can buy it online Seafood, 2.50 euro I think. No nipples on page 3, more like a picture of Brendan Smith TD.
Post by: Jinxy on April 05, 2016, 01:32:27 PM
So long suckers

We'll keep your seat warm for you, Itchy.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 05, 2016, 05:00:46 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 25, 2016, 09:53:19 AM
Very Ulstercentric division, Tyrone, Derry, Armagh, Cavan and Fermanagh. Galway, Eastmeath and Laois could do better then expected while the others are worn out from all the local derbies. Expect Tyrone to be promoted but fancy Galway to sneak the second spot, they need to get to 1 if they are going to challenge Mayo in Connacht.

Close but no cigar.
Post by: Unlaoised on April 06, 2016, 03:42:13 PM
Simple analysis of the League and the teams performances

Tyrone
Were everyone's tip to go up and went up with ease they pulled up in the last two games knowing they were in a final They did get some scares they were lucky in Laois to get all two points and scrapped by Cavan the first day.

They put in some good Performances against Derry and away to Meath to show the quality they had.

Cavan
Deserve to go up and can be proud of the progress they have made .Loosing the first two made it an uphill battle but a fantastic away win in Meath followed by big wins at home to Armagh and away in Fermanagh set them up for a great finish

They proved against Galway in the last game they were the second best side in the division.

Galway
Strange campaign for the tribesmen which is often the case started off well against a Laois team with so many players missing.
Gave Tyrone a decent game although in truth the scoreline doesn't show how comfortable Tyrone were that day.
A big win in Derry gave them breathing space.Then they drew three games in a row which could have went either way but they will be disappointed with the Meath and Fermanagh results .

Fermanagh
They will be delighted to still be in division two next year.Beating Meath and Laois at home was crucial and to be fair they blew away Laois in a game that was always going to be vital on who stayed up.
Great draw in Galway which took the pressure off them going into the last game a bit.They showed against Mickey Hartes men they are now a team that cannot be taken lightly.

Meath
Despite finishing fifth they are probably the team that can me most relieved in staying in the division.They started off with a win against a very under strenght Armagh team and having them at home the first day was the perfect draw and the bit of luck you need having Laois last worked in their favour as well as they were playing against a team already down at half time in the game.
Decent draws in Derry and Galway kept them up but only just.

Derry
Looked to be going for second spot early on after two very good wins against Cavan and Fermanagh ..Lost their way at home to Galway and Tyrone stuck the knife further in the back hammering them.
The draw in Laois in the end saved them but how they got a draw that day only Laois can answer. Laois played all the football but somehow Derry got 5 goals.
Scoring Goals seems to be easy for Derry 13 in 7 games is the best in the division

Armagh
Started so slow without so many key players loosing to the other tow weakest teams in Meath away and Laois at home meant it was going to be an uphill battle.
Beating Fermanagh gave them hope but the hammering away to Cavan seemed they were all but doomed with Laois and Meath struggling there was always a chance and two great draws in Galway and then with Tyrone gave them a shot in the dark.
They were seven points up against Derry at one stage and eleven would have have kept them up but alas it wasn't to be and on early form they deserved to go down.

Laois
Hard for me to say but overall we deserved to go down conceding 11-103 is nothing short of disgraceful and despite scoring more points than Tyrone and playing some lovely football there was no solid base to work from.
We were unlucky in two big home games when performances were good only a gret save at the death stopped them getting a point from Tyrone and to be five points up against Derry with time almost up was heart breaking.
Shambolic performances against Galway at home and Fermanagh away cost us and division 3 it is sadly.
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 06, 2016, 03:44:41 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on April 06, 2016, 03:42:13 PM

Tyrone
Were everyone's tip to go up and went up with ease they pulled up in the last two games knowing they were in a final They did get some scares they were lucky in Laois to get all three points and scrapped by Cavan the first day.

They put in some good Performances against Derry and away to Meath to show the quality they had.

Cavan
Deserve to go up and can be proud of the progress they have made .Loosing the first two made it an uphill battle but a fantastic away win in Meath followed by big wins at home to Armagh and away in Fermanagh set them up for a great finish

They proved against Galway in the last game they were the second best side in the division.

Galway
Strange campaign for the tribesmen which is often the case started off well against a Laois team with so many players missing.
Gave Tyrone a decent game although in truth the scoreline doesn't show how comfortable Tyrone were that day.
A big win in Derry gave them breathing space.Then they drew three games in a row which could have went either way but they will be disappointed with the Meath and Fermanagh results .

Fermanagh
They will be delighted to still be in division two next year.Beating Meath and Laois at home was crucial and to be fair they blew away Laois in a game that was always going to be vital on who stayed up.
Great draw in Galway which took the pressure off them going into the last game a bit.They showed against Mickey Hartes men they are now a team that cannot be taken lightly.

Meath
Despite finishing fifth they are probably the team that can me most relieved in staying in the division.They started off with a win against a very under strenght Armagh team and having them at home the first day was the perfect draw and the bit of luck you need having Laois last worked in their favour as well as they were playing against a team already down at half time in the game.

Derry
Looked to be going for second spot early on after two very good wins against Cavan and Fermanagh ..Lost their way at home to Galway and Tyrone stuck the knife further in the back hammering them.
The draw in Laois in the end saved them but how they got a draw that day only Laois can answer. Laois played all the football but somehow Derry got 5 goals.
Scoring Goals seems to be easy for Derry 13 in 7 games is the best in the division

Armagh
Started so slow without so many key players loosing to the other tow weakest teams in Meath away and Laois at home meant it was going to be an uphill battle.
Beating Fermanagh gave them hope but the hammering away to Cavan seemed they were all but doomed with Laois and Meath struggling there was always a chance and two great draws in Galway and then with Tyrone gave them a shot in the dark.
They were seven points up against Derry at one stage and eleven would have have kept them up but alas it wasn't to be and on early form they deserved to go down.

Laois
Hard for me to say but overall we deserved to go down conceding 11-103 is nothing short of disgraceful and despite scoring more points than Tyrone and playing some lovely football there was no solid base to work from.
We were unlucky in two big home games when performances were good only a gret save at the death stopped them getting a point from Tyrone and to be five points up against Derry with time almost up was heart breaking.
Shambolic performances against Galway at home and Fermanagh away cost us and division 3 it is sadly.

Sneaky bast@rds
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 06, 2016, 03:52:34 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 05, 2016, 05:00:46 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 25, 2016, 09:53:19 AM

Close but no cigar.
As it turned out point wise Galway were closer to relegation than the second spot.
Post by: Unlaoised on April 06, 2016, 04:12:20 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 06, 2016, 03:44:41 PM

Tyrone
Were everyone's tip to go up and went up with ease they pulled up in the last two games knowing they were in a final They did get some scares they were lucky in Laois to get all TWO points and scrapped by Cavan the first day.

Cavan

Galway

Fermanagh

Meath

Derry

Armagh

Laois

Sneaky bast@rds

Edited  :D :D :D :D
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 06, 2016, 04:41:09 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on April 06, 2016, 04:12:20 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 06, 2016, 03:44:41 PM

Tyrone
Were everyone's tip to go up and went up with ease they pulled up in the last two games knowing they were in a final They did get some scares they were lucky in Laois to get all TWO points and scrapped by Cavan the first day.

Cavan

Galway

Fermanagh

Meath

Derry

Armagh

Laois

Sneaky bast@rds

Edited  :D :D :D :D

You'd put nothing past them.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 06, 2016, 08:27:05 PM
So for 2017 it's

Cork
Down
Galway
Fermanagh
Meath
Derry
Kildare
Clare
Post by: From the Bunker on April 06, 2016, 09:05:40 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 06, 2016, 08:27:05 PM
So for 2017 it's

Cork
Down
Galway
Fermanagh
Meath
Derry
Kildare
Clare

With the loss of three Ulster teams - replaced by only one. There is a nice provincial mix. I'd expect Cork to go straight back up! The rest is (as goes with this division) a toss up as to promotion and relegation!
Post by: armaghniac on April 06, 2016, 09:21:40 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 06, 2016, 09:05:40 PM
So for 2017 it's

Cork
Down
Galway
Fermanagh
Meath
Derry
Kildare
Clare

With the loss of three Ulster teams - replaced by only one. There is a nice provincial mix. I'd expect Cork to go straight back up! The rest is (as goes with this division) a toss up as to promotion and relegation!

Kildare should be a natural Div2 team, you have to wonder about Clare though.
Perhaps Down will do a Westmeath!
Post by: twohands!!! on April 06, 2016, 10:01:58 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 06, 2016, 09:21:40 PM
So for 2017 it's

Cork
Down
Galway
Fermanagh
Meath
Derry
Kildare
Clare

Yeah it's fairly heady territory for the Clare footballers. I'm imagine they would be very pleased to avoid relegation in a Division with a lot of traditional heavy hitters.
Cork will be very short odds favourites to go up I'd imagine, given they weren't exactly miles off the pace in Division 1. Depending on what way the fixtures shake out , there could be some very small crowds at Cork's home games next year in the league - definitely not ideal with a €100million stadium to be paid for. Hard to see Down bounce back straight away after this year's campaign so they are likely to be a lot of contenders for the 2nd promotion spot
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 07, 2016, 09:29:55 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 06, 2016, 10:01:58 PM
So for 2017 it's

Cork
Down
Galway
Fermanagh
Meath
Derry
Kildare
Clare

Yeah it's fairly heady territory for the Clare footballers. I'm imagine they would be very pleased to avoid relegation in a Division with a lot of traditional heavy hitters.
Cork will be very short odds favourites to go up I'd imagine, given they weren't exactly miles off the pace in Division 1. Depending on what way the fixtures shake out , there could be some very small crowds at Cork's home games next year in the league - definitely not ideal with a €100million stadium to be paid for. Hard to see Down bounce back straight away after this year's campaign so they are likely to be a lot of contenders for the 2nd promotion spot
No change there then.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 07, 2016, 10:19:57 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 06, 2016, 10:01:58 PM
So for 2017 it's

Cork
Down
Galway
Fermanagh
Meath
Derry
Kildare
Clare

I wouldn't write off Clare's chances next year in Div 2, they are very impressive this year. There's a very good reason Podge Collins stuck to his guns with playing both apart from the fact his father is the manager. If they can make further improvements next year I can see them finishing in the top half of the table.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 07, 2016, 10:01:55 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on April 07, 2016, 09:29:55 AM
No change there then.

Should probably have said something along the lines of absolutely miniscule.

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 07, 2016, 10:19:57 AM

I wouldn't write off Clare's chances next year in Div 2, they are very impressive this year. There's a very good reason Podge Collins stuck to his guns with playing both apart from the fact his father is the manager. If they can make further improvements next year I can see them finishing in the top half of the table.

I think they are very reliant on a couple of players - if those players are missing/injured/off-form they would be in a lot of trouble.
It would be great for Clare football for them to survive next year but I think they will be massively up against it next year - they got promoted by getting wins over Sligo, Limerick, Westmeath, and Longford. They lost to Tipperary, Kildare and Offaly. Not a lot there to suggest that they won't be struggling in Division 2 next year.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 08, 2016, 09:55:58 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 07, 2016, 10:01:55 PM

I think they are very reliant on a couple of players - if those players are missing/injured/off-form they would be in a lot of trouble.
It would be great for Clare football for them to survive next year but I think they will be massively up against it next year - they got promoted by getting wins over Sligo, Limerick, Westmeath, and Longford. They lost to Tipperary, Kildare and Offaly. Not a lot there to suggest that they won't be struggling in Division 2 next year.

Gary Brennan & Podge are huge for them alright but they are a well drilled team who are working to a good plan and they have some fine players. Them wins were all landslides and only lost to Tipp and Offaly away by a single score. Will be interesting to see how they get on against Kildare in Croke Park in the final.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 08, 2016, 01:28:33 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 08, 2016, 09:55:58 AM

Gary Brennan & Podge are huge for them alright but they are a well drilled team who are working to a good plan and they have some fine players. Them wins were all landslides and only lost to Tipp and Offaly away by a single score. Will be interesting to see how they get on against Kildare in Croke Park in the final.

Kildare should be stronger in the final even allowing for Dan Flynn's hamstring injury, some of the u21s will be in contention and Clare have lost Turbidy to suspension, a big loss for them. I would expect Kildare to win 4-7 points.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 08, 2016, 03:55:51 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 08, 2016, 01:28:33 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 08, 2016, 09:55:58 AM

Kildare should be stronger in the final even allowing for Dan Flynn's hamstring injury, some of the u21s will be in contention and Clare have lost Turbidy to suspension, a big loss for them. I would expect Kildare to win 4-7 points.

Brave call Dinny, you should school some managers into how to give pre-match predictions.  :P Turbidy a loss alright and I expect Kildare to be going hard at this in the build up to championship. They will probably shade it but less than 4 for me, 1-2.
Post by: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 10:48:49 AM
I don't know what happened to the other discussion.  Maybe it was hijacked by the flourbags who were so pessimistic at the start.  Now the team has 8 points.

3 big matches . Can Meath continue their winning run ? Can Fermanagh pick up a win? Will Galway lose it again ?

1400 Cork v Meath, Páirc Uí Rinn
1400 Fermanagh v Clare, Brewster Park
1400 Galway v Derry, Tuam Stadium
Post by: thejuice on March 19, 2017, 11:52:06 AM
Our winning run? One in a row?

I'd go with

Meath Cork draw
Clare beat Fermanagh
Galway beat Derry.
Post by: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 12:25:34 PM
Quote from: thejuice on March 19, 2017, 11:52:06 AM
Our winning run? One in a row?

I'd go with

Meath Cork draw
Clare beat Fermanagh
Galway beat Derry.
I'll go for Cork, Fermanagh and Galway
Post by: Jinxy on March 19, 2017, 01:01:45 PM
We might win, we might draw, we'll probably lose.

Post by: cuconnacht on March 19, 2017, 01:46:33 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 10:48:49 AM
I don't know what happened to the other discussion.  Maybe it was hijacked by the flourbags who were so pessimistic at the start.  Now the team has 8 points.

3 big matches . Can Meath continue their winning run ? Can Fermanagh pick up a win? Will Galway lose it again ?

So if Galway or Clare lose the lillies are up,would that be right?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 19, 2017, 01:58:37 PM
Quote from: cuconnacht on March 19, 2017, 01:46:33 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 10:48:49 AM

So if Galway or Clare lose the lillies are up,would that be right?

No. Galway and Clare would still only be three points behind with a possible four to play for if they lose today.

1 Kildare         5   4   0   1   32   8
2 Galway         4   2   1   1   13   5
3 Clare            4   2   1   1   6   5
4 Meath          4   2   0   2   4   4
5 Down          5   2   0   3   -10   4
6 Cork            4   1   1   2   -6   3
7 Derry           4   1   1   2   -22   3
8 Fermanagh  4   1   0   3   -17   2
Post by: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 02:23:35 PM
Meath are taking in water
Post by: Jinxy on March 19, 2017, 02:59:41 PM
Looking like we'll need our fellow aristocrats Galway to get the finger out and do us a favour.
Post by: Jinxy on March 19, 2017, 03:21:46 PM
Only two points in it now.
It's the hope that kills you...
Post by: Main Street on March 19, 2017, 03:22:54 PM
 Meath  - the comeback.
Post by: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 03:25:52 PM
Galway v Derry is a real seesaw
Post by: Jinxy on March 19, 2017, 03:29:05 PM
Oh jesus, we're level!
I picked a bad day to give up smoking.
Post by: Jinxy on March 19, 2017, 03:32:38 PM
Galway with 5 goals now.  :o
Post by: Jinxy on March 19, 2017, 03:39:41 PM
Ends in a draw in Cork.
Much more than I would have expected 20 minutes ago.
Post by: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 03:41:11 PM
Fermanagh well ahead against Clare . Very significant .
Galway are in control of their own destiny.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 19, 2017, 03:43:08 PM
Entertainment in Tuam.

Galway 5-15 Derry 2-15
Post by: galwayman on March 19, 2017, 03:45:53 PM
If we win one of our last 2 games - we should be promoted.
Post by: Jinxy on March 19, 2017, 03:49:38 PM
Good to see all the fancy dans coming out of the woodwork now.  ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 19, 2017, 03:56:03 PM
Quote from: galwayman on March 19, 2017, 03:45:53 PM

You'd imagine so alright given the points difference advantage as well. If anyone can feck it up though I wouldn't put it past us yet.
Post by: FermGael on March 19, 2017, 04:05:09 PM
Much better.  Corrigan went off injured after 5 minutes and some of the younger fellas really stepped up.
Sean Quigley have an exhibition in free taking.
Fair play to Gary Brennan for playing today but he clearly wasnt match fit.

Leaves us Meath away and Derry at home now.
All to play for

Post by: An Fhairche Abu on March 19, 2017, 04:26:40 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 19, 2017, 03:56:03 PM
Quote from: galwayman on March 19, 2017, 03:45:53 PM

You'd imagine so alright given the points difference advantage as well. If anyone can feck it up though I wouldn't put it past us yet.

There's a fair margin for error still, at least relegation isn't going to be an issue.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 19, 2017, 04:28:17 PM
Kildare and Galway in the box seat for promotion especially when you look at the scoring differences (Kildare +32 Galway +22 Meath +4 Clare +1)

Should be some right interesting games down at the bottom of the table - Cork in Division 3 would be some laugh
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on March 19, 2017, 04:40:13 PM
Meath have Clare and Fermanagh left, could easily win both those matches. Meath also have the upper hand against Galway in the head to head record if came to that.
Galway need 3 points to be guaranteed.
Kildare are going to get the other place, only need a point from their last two matches.
Post by: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 04:46:24 PM
Galway have Down and Kildare. Flourbags may already have qualified. Down are not at their best.
Neither are Meath. A draw in the Meath v Clare match would be lovely.
Post by: Jinxy on March 19, 2017, 06:45:10 PM
Refreshing to hear how angry Andy McEntee was after the game about the poor decision-making when the game was there for the taking.
No interest in the, 'It was great to get the draw after being 9 points down' angle.
Post by: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 06:48:59 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 19, 2017, 06:45:10 PM
Refreshing to hear how angry Andy McEntee was after the game about the poor decision-making when the game was there for the taking.
No interest in the, 'It was great to get the draw after being 9 points down' angle.
Cork only had 3 points, Jinxy
Meath should have beaten them.
No wonder McEntee was angry
Post by: Maroon Manc on March 19, 2017, 07:01:15 PM
If Galway finish level with Meath on points then Meath go up on the head to head.
Post by: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 08:25:31 PM
Meath are 9/2 to be relegated. They might pull it off 

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports/gaa-football/nfl-division-2?ev_oc_grp_ids=1814542
Post by: Main Street on March 19, 2017, 10:54:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 08:25:31 PM

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports/gaa-football/nfl-division-2?ev_oc_grp_ids=1814542
Ditto  the odds on promotion -  9/2

Meath are 'standin' at the crossroads', ......... looking to make a deal with the devil
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 20, 2017, 06:22:12 AM
Renegotiate surely!!!
Post by: seafoid on March 20, 2017, 08:14:32 AM
Quote from: Main Street on March 19, 2017, 10:54:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 19, 2017, 08:25:31 PM

Ditto  the odds on promotion -  9/2

Meath are 'standin' at the crossroads', ......... looking to make a deal with the devil
You win some, lose some , it's all the same to me

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWB5JZRGl0U
Post by: Main Street on March 20, 2017, 03:52:46 PM
That's a typical Div 2 stroke, have 2 threads on the go, both official looking.
The omens for Meath are more optimistic in this one than the other.
Post by: seafoid on June 25, 2017, 02:49:31 PM
For a supposedly crap D2 the championship is going well so far. Kildare, Galway, Down and Cork going well while Donegal, Mayo, Monaghan and Cavan have to slum it in the qualifiers
Post by: twohands!!! on June 25, 2017, 07:28:33 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 25, 2017, 02:49:31 PM
For a supposedly crap D2 the championship is going well so far. Kildare, Galway, Down and Cork going well while Donegal, Mayo, Monaghan and Cavan have to slum it in the qualifiers

A 1 point win over Waterford followed by a one point win over a injury ravaged Tipp who lost their best player - strange definition of going well you have there  :o :o :o
Post by: seafoid on June 25, 2017, 08:14:43 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 25, 2017, 07:28:33 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 25, 2017, 02:49:31 PM

A 1 point win over Waterford followed by a one point win over a injury ravaged Tipp who lost their best player - strange definition of going well you have there  :o :o :o
Tipp are quality