GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: longballin on July 22, 2015, 04:36:32 PM

Title: Gender inequality... is there?
Post by: longballin on July 22, 2015, 04:36:32 PM
Interesting article about Poc Fada and different prizes for men and women. Thoughts? Are women second class in GAA?... footballers certainly are.  http://gaeliclife.com/2015/07/fionnuala-carr-equality-must-be-more-than-lip-service/
Title: Re: Gender inequality... is there?
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2015, 04:49:27 PM
Of course they are. Even a lot of die-hard GAA supporters don't give the women's' game any respect and it regularly devolves into sexist comments about looks or laughing at the game in general.

Ladies' football is not of a great quality and will never be anything close to as popular as the mens' game but if someone loves football they shouldn't be made feel bad for wanting to play it because they happened to be born female.
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 22, 2015, 05:20:42 PM
And to add insult to injury the competition was on hen mountain rather than the neighbouring c**k mountain. True story folks. You couldn't make it up.

Post by: Aristo 60 on July 22, 2015, 05:22:00 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on July 22, 2015, 05:20:42 PM
And to add insult to injury the competition was on hen mountain rather than the neighbouring c**k mountain. True story folks. You couldn't make it up.

That's the first I've come across the automatic censorship function. f**k it's brilliant!
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 22, 2015, 05:22:26 PM
Shit
Post by: thewobbler on July 22, 2015, 05:38:34 PM
Of course there is inequality.

When it comes to raw athleticism and strength, men have a distinct natural advantage. This this doesn't mean that all men are stronger and quicker than all women, but when the strongest and quickest men are put up against their female counterparts, it's never a contest.

So we are actually starting off on an unequal footing when it comes to sport.

Ironically the only way to redress this imbalance is actually by forced inequality i.e. by creating competitions that men cannot enter.

The bit that always gets me though is why people believe these competitions should be given equal footing in terms of exposure, prizes, and public stature, when one of the competitions has been formed to preclude an entire gender from winning.

Believe me I'm not trying to be sexist with these comments. It's one of the oddities of equal rights that you will get lambasted for pointing out that equality is about equal opportunities, not egalitarian outcomes.

Post by: rrhf on July 22, 2015, 07:30:25 PM
Whats a woman gonna do on a skiing holiday anyway but make trouble...
Post by: Santino on July 22, 2015, 07:33:01 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 22, 2015, 07:30:25 PM

LOL Winner! Close the thread
Post by: Orior on July 22, 2015, 10:13:08 PM
Quote from: Santino on July 22, 2015, 07:33:01 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 22, 2015, 07:30:25 PM

LOL Winner! Close the thread

I don't get it  :(
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 23, 2015, 03:59:57 AM
So what if the competition was set up like this - various sections, with the prize being a medal. Could be U-18 male, U-18 female, Adult male, Adult female etc

Then the overall winner, regardless of what section he(or she) competes in, receives a
Quotelarge shiny trophy, and the small matter of a voucher for a ski holiday

The higher prize may still go to the winner of the men's title, but there could surely be no claims of bias here?
Post by: longballin on July 23, 2015, 09:33:25 AM
I see Gaelic Life has stepped in to give female Poc Fada winner Catherine McGourty the holiday that the men's winner got. The organisers should also get a similar cup for the female champion.   
Post by: deiseach on July 23, 2015, 09:35:07 AM
I can understand the irritation. I'd have more time for the argument though if she didn't throw in the "This isn't about a ski holiday" line. It's ALL about the ski holiday.
Post by: longballin on July 23, 2015, 09:56:46 AM
yeah there is no complaint about the different trophies they receive... seems to be all about the holiday.   
Post by: deiseach on July 23, 2015, 10:05:35 AM
If Waterford win the All-Ireland, I'm going to object that the footballers get a bigger, prettier pot.
Post by: longballin on July 23, 2015, 10:37:15 AM
Can't see you having that problem somehow...  :P
Post by: deiseach on July 23, 2015, 10:53:49 AM
I'll let it slide. In the national interest.
Post by: longballin on July 23, 2015, 10:59:00 AM
Winding you up lad... would love to see youse win it!
Post by: deiseach on July 23, 2015, 11:14:36 AM
I'd love to see us win it too. We have so much in common! ;)
Post by: ck on July 23, 2015, 11:22:29 AM
Gender inequality my arse. She wants a holiday and is causing a row to get it.
Equality is great but when the Sunday game says "..and now for Camogie" I can't get the remote quick enough to turn it over!
Post by: general_lee on July 23, 2015, 11:30:55 AM
Quote from: ck on July 23, 2015, 11:22:29 AM
Equality is great but when the Sunday game says "..and now for Camogie" I can't get the remote quick enough to turn it over!
Camogie is an affront to hurling, just like ladies football is an affront to the men's game.

Having said that in this particular instance both winners deserve the same prize.
Post by: longballin on July 23, 2015, 11:46:09 AM
football is an affront to hurling
Post by: general_lee on July 23, 2015, 11:48:57 AM
Quote from: longballin on July 23, 2015, 11:46:09 AM
football is an affront to hurling
Hurling outside of the big counties is an affront to hurling.
Post by: longballin on July 23, 2015, 12:05:08 PM
outside of Kilkenny and Tipperary you mean?
Post by: johnneycool on July 23, 2015, 01:28:06 PM
Quote from: ck on July 23, 2015, 11:22:29 AM

In fairness to Catherine it wasn't her who complained, it was Fionnula Carr, who was also competing and via her column in the Gaelic Life had a go at the organisers. Poor Jimmy Darragh can't do right for wrong.

At the same time, it was a bit stupid to offer one competitor a holiday and not the other at the very same event, left them very open to this stuff even if in theory the GAA and the Camogie board are still separate organisations still.

A wee girl from our club won the U16 event, think she should get a Ski holiday as well   ;D

Post by: ck on July 23, 2015, 01:31:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 23, 2015, 12:58:32 PM
Men and women should play in the one competition, not separate ones. That's equality.

yeah I agree. This McGourty girl should compete against the men and see how many holidays she wins
Post by: sligoman2 on July 23, 2015, 01:55:47 PM
Very sad to read the chauvinist pig attitude on this thread.  Some of ye are still in the dark ages in my opinion.  I am a big fan of ladies football, my two daughters and my son all play it and enjoy it.  I have watched some great ladies games and feel the men's game could learn a few things from it like

A) time clock
B) sin bin
C)no blankets (generally)
D) No sledging
E) No racism

Reading this thread has really ticked me off to be honest.  Go back to your caves boys and stay there.
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2015, 02:01:02 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on July 23, 2015, 01:55:47 PM
Very sad to read the chauvinist pig attitude on this thread.  Some of ye are still in the dark ages in my opinion.  I am a big fan of ladies football, my two daughters and my son all play it and enjoy it.  I have watched some great ladies games and feel the men's game could learn a few things from it like

A) time clock
B) sin bin
D) No sledging
E) No racism

Reading this thread has really ticked me off to be honest.  Go back to your caves boys and stay there.

+1. Thread is totally cringy with few if anyone taking what was quite an eloquent article even seriously enough to discuss it. Base sexism is alive and well on GAABoard.
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on July 23, 2015, 02:07:39 PM
Absolute load of bollocks.

There is more money prizes exposure and everything else for men's football/hurling because there is more interest. The standard is better. There's 80,000 people goin to Croker for the Men's All Ireland Final and there wouldn't be a tenth of that for women's.... yes I know Im stating the obvious. But why then do they feel they should be on equal level to share in the spoils? The sponsers were drawn in because of the interest generated - largely due to hurling - and so they sponsored the hurling poc fada... Hard truth is, women are not treated equally in terms of prizes because they simply are not equal in creating exposure

as they say - standing on the shoulders of better *men and calling yourself tall....

Same happens in every sport, take golf this week just for example, am sure the women's winner at the Open didn't get half of the men's...

simply put... nobody cares daughter
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2015, 02:10:13 PM
Quote from: Soup an Samajiz on July 23, 2015, 02:07:39 PM

There is more money prizes exposure and everything else for men's football/hurling because there is more interest. The standard is better. There's 80,000 people goin to Croker for the Men's All Ireland Final and there wouldn't be a tenth of that for women's.... yes I know Im stating the obvious. But why then do they feel they should be on equal level to share in the spoils? The sponsers were drawn in because of the interest generated - largely due to hurling - and so they sponsored the hurling poc fada... Hard truth is, women are not treated equally in terms of prizes because they simply are not equal in creating exposure

as they say - standing on the shoulders of better *men and calling yourself tall....

Same happens in every sport, take golf this week just for example, am sure the women's winner at the Open didn't get half of the men's...

You seem to care plenty.
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on July 23, 2015, 02:14:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 23, 2015, 02:10:13 PM

You seem to care plenty.

Yes the crying about it really does anoy me, reading comments about "the men kickin the girls off the big field" and the likes has long worn thin
Post by: HiMucker on July 23, 2015, 02:23:55 PM

A) time clock
B) sin bin
D) No sledging
E) No racism

I bet he enjoys it!  Howd he manage that?  I may give it a go myself?  ;)
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on July 23, 2015, 02:29:12 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on July 23, 2015, 02:23:55 PM

A) time clock
B) sin bin
D) No sledging
E) No racism

Ah here boys.. now now
Post by: deiseach on July 23, 2015, 02:30:31 PM

Is that you, Dessie?
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on July 23, 2015, 02:40:05 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 23, 2015, 02:30:31 PM

Is that you, Dessie?

Big Des? No boy this is Soup an Samajiz
Post by: Keyser soze on July 23, 2015, 03:03:15 PM
This is a disgrace. They should just have one competition and let everyone enter it on an equal basis. To the victor/ess the spoils.

PS I read the article in the IN and she pointed out that it took her 35 strokes to complete the course whilst the winner completed it in 25.
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on July 23, 2015, 03:23:39 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on July 23, 2015, 03:03:15 PM
This is a disgrace. They should just have one competition and let everyone enter it on an equal basis. To the victor/ess the spoils.

PS I read the article in the IN and she pointed out that it took her 35 strokes to complete the course whilst the winner completed it in 25.

.... and so her complaint is???
Post by: johnneycool on July 23, 2015, 03:28:49 PM

And her using a size 4 sliothar as well, absolute disgrace, back to making the tea and sandwiches for the lads, isn't that their place Keyser?
Post by: Keyser soze on July 23, 2015, 03:37:29 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 23, 2015, 03:28:49 PM

And her using a size 4 sliothar as well, absolute disgrace, back to making the tea and sandwiches for the lads, isn't that their place Keyser?

I never mentioned tea and sandwiches.
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on July 23, 2015, 04:05:54 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on July 23, 2015, 03:37:29 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 23, 2015, 03:28:49 PM

I never mentioned tea and sandwiches.

Always did like soup and samajiz after a game funny enough, fair play t them
Post by: longballin on July 23, 2015, 04:31:32 PM
There is a pecking order with all ladies and the mens club players at the bottom... they should know that. Its all about the big summer carnival days in Croke Park  8)
Post by: Jinxy on July 23, 2015, 05:38:00 PM
Should she not be having a go at the camogie association?
Post by: bridgegael on July 23, 2015, 06:27:41 PM
Next year just have the one competition male and female  together.  That would solve this problem.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 24, 2015, 05:18:28 PM
Quote from: Soup an Samajiz on July 23, 2015, 02:29:12 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on July 23, 2015, 02:23:55 PM

A) time clock
B) sin bin
D) No sledging
E) No racism

Ah here boys.. now now

I think you know what I mean, all my kids play gaelic football.
We all know ladies football doesn't have the same following as mens football, but it is growing rapidly and that is a very good thing.  Some of the ladies I have seen are incredible - Cora Staunton for example..

Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 24, 2015, 06:21:24 PM
Ladies football is as entertaining as 2 snails trying to tie their shoe laces. Let's be honest. Its crap. Will never be near the level of the male version.