GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Estimator on June 29, 2015, 10:46:49 PM

Title: Derry v Wexford 11th July 2015
Post by: Estimator on June 29, 2015, 10:46:49 PM
Derry scrapped by 14man Down by a solitary score at home.
Wexford destroyed Down at home.

It's clear who must be the favourites for this one.
Title: Re: Derry v Wexford 11th July 2015
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 29, 2015, 11:09:37 PM
dodgy enough spin up for Wexford on the 11th Night, maybe Derry take you`s to Owenbeg, save you the need to see the city of culture and its bonfires on the 11th nite
Post by: thebuzz on June 29, 2015, 11:19:42 PM
Unfortunately in spite of this we'll probably still get the favourites tag which we have never worn very well. We can't afford to have too many injuries going into this one.

Someone said on the Derry thread that PJ McCloskey was back in training. I hope it's true. He'd be a major asset.

It would be great to have the game in Owenbeg. The 11th night in Derry wouldn't be much fun for the Boys of Wexford   :-)
Post by: Kid Twist on June 29, 2015, 11:23:04 PM
The bonfires are usually done on the 11th of August in the 'city of culture'
Post by: theticklemister on June 29, 2015, 11:32:39 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 29, 2015, 11:09:37 PM
dodgy enough spin up for Wexford on the 11th Night, maybe Derry take you`s to Owenbeg, save you the need to see the city of culture and its bonfires on the 11th nite

More bonfires in your neck of the woods on that date that mine mucker!
Post by: theticklemister on June 30, 2015, 06:08:27 AM
Derry are 1/7 for this. Can't see why
Post by: southderryman on June 30, 2015, 08:19:21 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on June 30, 2015, 06:08:27 AM

Neither can I. Down should have beaten us and Wexford dismissed them handily enough by the sounds of things.  Johnson and McFaul ruled out too. Hope we don't lose anyone else before this game.
Post by: tbrick18 on June 30, 2015, 09:35:41 AM
Quote from: southderryman on June 30, 2015, 08:19:21 AM

Neither can I. Down should have beaten us and Wexford dismissed them handily enough by the sounds of things.  Johnson and McFaul ruled out too. Hope we don't lose anyone else before this game.

Why is MFaul ruled out?
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 30, 2015, 09:36:41 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on June 30, 2015, 09:35:41 AM
Quote from: southderryman on June 30, 2015, 08:19:21 AM

Why is MFaul ruled out?

Broke bone in hand making a block.
Post by: screenexile on June 30, 2015, 10:58:33 AM
Quote from: thebuzz on June 29, 2015, 11:19:42 PM
Unfortunately in spite of this we'll probably still get the favourites tag which we have never worn very well. We can't afford to have too many injuries going into this one.

Someone said on the Derry thread that PJ McCloskey was back in training. I hope it's true. He'd be a major asset.

It would be great to have the game in Owenbeg. The 11th night in Derry wouldn't be much fun for the Boys of Wexford   :-)

The lad hasn't played football in the best part of 2 years. . .
Post by: oakleaflad on June 30, 2015, 12:33:51 PM
Are there any Wexford posters on the board?
Post by: theticklemister on June 30, 2015, 12:44:58 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 30, 2015, 12:33:51 PM
Are there any Wexford posters on the board?

There's one here...

(http://wexfordpictureframing.ie/product_images/uploaded_images/poster-for-exhibition.jpg)
Post by: oakleaflad on June 30, 2015, 12:49:49 PM
Haha good lad Tickle.

With Johnston and McFaul injured who can we see dropping into their places? Sean Leo to WHB is an obvious one. What about the other?
Post by: twohands!!! on June 30, 2015, 01:49:37 PM

Even though they haven't been great they have a lot more experience of playing Division 1 football.

Far better to get relegated from Division 1 than get relegated from Division 3.

Also Wexford seem to be a team who have a much better record playing at home versus away. Haven't actually looked at this but from the top of my heads have a notion their record at home is a good bit ahead of their record on the road.

Wexford pulled off a shock the last day against Down, it's very rare in the GAA that sides manage to pull off 2 shocks in a row.
Post by: southderryman on June 30, 2015, 03:38:20 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 30, 2015, 12:49:49 PM
Haha good lad Tickle.

With Johnston and McFaul injured who can we see dropping into their places? Sean Leo to WHB is an obvious one. What about the other?

Maybe Aidan McAlynn? McKinless will have another couple of weeks under his belt too so could be an option.

I'd assume Benny Heron would come in as a starter if sean Leo drops back, although he could maybe go with the likes of McAtamney. They way we set up i suppose actual starting positions don't mean all that much
Post by: southderryman on June 30, 2015, 03:41:59 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 30, 2015, 01:49:37 PM

Even though they haven't been great they have a lot more experience of playing Division 1 football.

Also Wexford seem to be a team who have a much better record playing at home versus away. Haven't actually looked at this but from the top of my heads have a notion their record at home is a good bit ahead of their record on the road.

Wexford pulled off a shock the last day against Down, it's very rare in the GAA that sides manage to pull off 2 shocks in a row.

Longford have beaten us 3 times in the qualifiers, league positions mean very little when you consider that

Last year's debacle should be firmly planted in this teams memory so hopefully they can get the job done this time.

Get over this one with no more injuries and a few more lads available and hopefully we can go on a bit of a run.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 30, 2015, 04:32:11 PM
Quote from: southderryman on June 30, 2015, 03:41:59 PM

Longford have beaten us 3 times in the qualifiers, league positions mean very little when you consider that

Last year's debacle should be firmly planted in this teams memory so hopefully they can get the job done this time.

Get over this one with no more injuries and a few more lads available and hopefully we can go on a bit of a run.

34 games played in the championship so far this year and only 3 teams have beaten a side who played in a higher division than them.

Derry v Longford last year was very much the exception to the usual rule - Derry were missing a serious chunk of their team with injuries ( I think it was something like 7 players wernt available who'd played in the Donegal loss) while Longford had one of those days in terms od shooting (ended up with 9 different scorers) and yet Derry only lost by 2 points.

Derry's form over the last while in championship compared to the league means that Derry folk probably don't think there is a very high correlation between the league position and championship, but the bookies are looking at the data and it's pretty clear that it exists.
Post by: southderryman on June 30, 2015, 04:50:54 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 30, 2015, 04:32:11 PM

34 games played in the championship so far this year and only 3 teams have beaten a side who played in a higher division than them.

Derry v Longford last year was very much the exception to the usual rule - Derry were missing a serious chunk of their team with injuries ( I think it was something like 7 players wernt available who'd played in the Donegal loss) while Longford had one of those days in terms od shooting (ended up with 9 different scorers) and yet Derry only lost by 2 points.

Derry's form over the last while in championship compared to the league means that Derry folk probably don't think there is a very high correlation between the league position and championship, but the bookies are looking at the data and it's pretty clear that it exists.

I am talking specifically about Derry, not the country as a whole. Having followed the team for 20+ years, I can assure you that when it comes to league form, it means very little to derry in championship football, we've had enough collapses, poor defeats and early exits to not put any stock into league performance
Post by: twohands!!! on June 30, 2015, 05:32:41 PM
Quote from: southderryman on June 30, 2015, 04:50:54 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 30, 2015, 04:32:11 PM

I am talking specifically about Derry, not the country as a whole. Having followed the team for 20+ years, I can assure you that when it comes to league form, it means very little to derry in championship football, we've had enough collapses, poor defeats and early exits to not put any stock into league performance

Fair enough Derry seem to be a massive exception in terms of league v championship.

Any ideas why Derry are so unusual over so long?
I did hear someone say one time that Derry seem to select players more suited to winter football but it seems a bit flimsy to me and it's one of those things that you'd say is almost impossible to disprove. Odds are there is no one single cause but lots of little things over a while - like last year the injuries were hugely significant, other times maybe complacency/attitude's not being right, maybe other year's it was overachieving in the league (people say that league tables don't lie but when you've only 7 games and some years they don't exactly give the full picture)

[I think Cork this year are a good example of where the league table while not exactly lying can paint a bit of a false picture in that they won 3 games by 1 point and another game by 2 to top the table this year - all it would have taken for their league campaign to paint a completely different scenario would have been 5 points which over 4 games is very little]

Overall I just think the key thing driving the odds for the game is that Wexford are extremely unlikely to pull two shocks in a row, especially away from home.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 30, 2015, 11:11:51 PM
Liam McGoldrick will be the other half back, he going to be a good one!!
Post by: general_lee on July 03, 2015, 12:07:06 PM
What's the story with skinner now that he's back with glenavon?
Post by: boro on July 05, 2015, 09:54:16 PM
Rumours in Wexford that this game may be fixed for Clones?
Post by: JoG2 on July 05, 2015, 10:31:29 PM
Quote from: boro on July 05, 2015, 09:54:16 PM
Rumours in Wexford that this game may be fixed for Clones?

I thought only Dublin had the power to move a 'home' team to a neutral venue 2 hours away !
Post by: T Fearon on July 05, 2015, 10:33:37 PM
Skinner playing in Belarus on Thursday night.Great achievement if he can keep his eyes open on Saturday never mind play for Derry
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 06, 2015, 12:39:12 AM
Probably not start, Emmett McGuckin be obvious replacement if anyone can find him, McKinless and L McGoldrick will come into the half back line, B Heron might slip in again for Lynn. Any word on how far away E Bradley, P Bradley,  from fitness
Post by: Estimator on July 06, 2015, 01:48:46 PM
So it's Saturday afternoon then:
2pm at Owenbeg.
Post by: Real Talk on July 06, 2015, 02:56:55 PM
Assuming shinner doesnt start i would like to see Nial Loughlin get a run out along side O Boyle ....he can give us a real scoring threat
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 06, 2015, 04:27:41 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 06, 2015, 12:39:12 AM
Probably not start, Emmett McGuckin be obvious replacement if anyone can find him, McKinless and L McGoldrick will come into the half back line, B Heron might slip in again for Lynn. Any word on how far away E Bradley, P Bradley,  from fitness

E Bradley has played the last 2 league games for Glen and is motoring well.
Post by: oakleaflad on July 06, 2015, 04:37:09 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on July 06, 2015, 02:56:55 PM
Assuming shinner doesnt start i would like to see Nial Loughlin get a run out along side O Boyle ....he can give us a real scoring threat
He isn't ready for senior intercounty football in my opinion. There are better inside forwards playing intermediate club football. Even playing Lynn inside would be a better option. The lad is still U21 and has potential but better coming off the bench if used. 
Post by: Real Talk on July 06, 2015, 06:18:33 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on July 06, 2015, 04:37:09 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on July 06, 2015, 02:56:55 PM
He isn't ready for senior intercounty football in my opinion. There are better inside forwards playing intermediate club football. Even playing Lynn inside would be a better option. The lad is still U21 and has potential but better coming off the bench if used. 
[/quote
I agree it would be better if he was used (if the game was not in the balance in the second half. Who are the untried better inside forwards  ? If he's good enough he is old enough ..... im looking ahead
Post by: This Years Model on July 07, 2015, 02:32:08 PM
Quote from: Estimator on July 06, 2015, 01:48:46 PM
2pm at Owenbeg.
Whereaboots is this lads? Coming from Omagh, say ...
Post by: theticklemister on July 07, 2015, 02:33:13 PM
Quote from: This Years Model on July 07, 2015, 02:32:08 PM
Quote from: Estimator on July 06, 2015, 01:48:46 PM
2pm at Owenbeg.
Whereaboots is this lads? Coming from Omagh, say ...

tis in dungiven lad
Post by: theticklemister on July 11, 2015, 11:55:23 AM
Any radio stations in Wexford gonna cover this?
Post by: andoireabu on July 11, 2015, 12:07:21 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 11, 2015, 11:55:23 AM
www.southeastradio.ie (http://www.southeastradio.ie)
Post by: theticklemister on July 11, 2015, 02:07:21 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on July 11, 2015, 12:07:21 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 11, 2015, 11:55:23 AM
www.southeastradio.ie (http://www.southeastradio.ie)

good man
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 11, 2015, 02:58:15 PM
HT Derry 1-8 Wex 0-4. Derry had the wind.
Post by: theticklemister on July 11, 2015, 03:31:09 PM
yer man on the radio is some craic
Post by: screenexile on July 11, 2015, 04:43:23 PM
Never out of second gear really and weren't troubled in defence save for a couple of excellent Ciaran Lyng scores.

Caolan O'Boyle excellent whilst our whole defence were very good. I hope we don't get Tipperary as I think it would be difficult for our lads to get up for it compared to a Tyrone or Armagh game.

Our attacking play is still way too slow and ponderous and our kickouts are still a worry so plenty to work on for the next day. Hon Derry!

PS. The Wexford manager is clean mad Paudie Hughes' ears must be sore from listening to all that shite!!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 11, 2015, 06:01:15 PM
Paudie used to it after the cork hordes after him last week lol, The ref started firing out 2/3 yellow cards early in the 2nd half for nothing