GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Any craic on November 24, 2014, 04:38:05 PM

Title: Benny Retires
Post by: Any craic on November 24, 2014, 04:38:05 PM
The great Benny Coulter has retired from playing for Down. This is classic Benny Coulter with a black eye & a goal in Ballybofey after his best game for Down, well that was according to Sean O'Neill who would know.. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JC0mB0pQcWE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JC0mB0pQcWE)
Title: Re: Benny Retires
Post by: Aristo 60 on November 24, 2014, 04:58:17 PM
Go raibh maith agat Benny for all the memories.

http://www.u.tv/Sport/Down-legend-Benny-Coulter-retires/393fb2d7-c251-4c37-90a6-6bbc821929c3 (http://www.u.tv/Sport/Down-legend-Benny-Coulter-retires/393fb2d7-c251-4c37-90a6-6bbc821929c3)

Our hearts are heavy too.

Post by: snoopdog on November 24, 2014, 05:15:19 PM
A True Down Legend who never got the medals he craved in the red and black.
Best of luck in your retirement Benny
Post by: Rossfan on November 24, 2014, 05:22:09 PM
Yet another good man hanging up the County boots.
Best wishes on retirement.
Post by: SHEEDY on November 24, 2014, 05:59:55 PM

STATEMENT FROM DOWN CO BOARD ON BEHALF OF BENNY COULTER
It is with a heavy heart that I have made the decision to retire from Inter County Football. I have enjoyed immensely my time as an Inter County Football but after 15 Seasons I have decided that the time has come to allow a younger breed of Down Footballer the chance to make their mark.
I would like to thank a number of people from the bottom of my heart for the support that they have given me over the years.
My Club Mayobridge first gave me my love of Gaelic Football and to all the mentors who spent time over the years moulding me into the player and person I became I am most grateful. I will continue to give of my best in the Sky Blue of Mayobridge for as long as Team Mentors feel I can make a positive contribution.
My Minor Manager Gerry Dougherty brought me to All Ireland Minor Glory and allowed me to sample what it was like to win an All Ireland Minor Medal.
Peter McGrath gave me my first taste of Senior Inter County Football and I will always thank Pete for that opportunity.
Paddy O Rourke was a great help to me in football terms and on a personal level and I have many fond memories of my time working with Paddy and his Management Team.
Ross Carr and DJ Kane were my next Managers and we too had many good days especially the victory over Tyrone in Newry in 2008.
In 2010 I was privileged and honoured to lead my County in the All Ireland Final and I will always regret that we failed to deliver on the day, I am indebted to James McCartan for the support he gave me in the five years that he was Team Manager. I had played with James and it was an absolute honour to have worked with him as Manager.
I would like to place on record my thanks to the Down County Board for supporting me throughout my playing career I was looked after at all times in the best possible manner.
To the Medical Teams over the years I thank you all for the care and attention given to me.
I thank the Down Supporters who always were there for me and lifted my spirits many times at crucial stages in games or when I was preparing to enter the fray.
To My family and in particular my mother and father who supported me all through my County career I offer a heartfelt thanks you certainly helped make it easy for me to be an Inter County Footballer.
I wish the present Down panel and Manager Jim McCorry every success in the season ahead, those boys are like my brothers and I will be supporting them fully throughout the year ahead
Post by: armaghniac on November 24, 2014, 06:20:02 PM
Great player, it is a pity he wasn't from the righteous side of the Clanrye.
Post by: macdanger2 on November 24, 2014, 06:20:45 PM
Class player
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 24, 2014, 06:42:50 PM
The over the top training nowadays has made it a young mans game. Happy retirement Benny.
Post by: Pangurban on November 24, 2014, 07:29:32 PM
One of the greats of Down football, has given his all ,and has now made the right decision to retire.
Post by: seafoid on November 24, 2014, 08:04:14 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on November 24, 2014, 05:59:55 PM

It is with a heavy heart that I have made the decision to retire from Inter County Football. I have enjoyed immensely my time as an Inter County Football but after 15 Seasons I have decided that the time has come to allow a younger breed of Down Footballer the chance to make their mark.
I would like to thank a number of people from the bottom of my heart for the support that they have given me over the years.
My Club Mayobridge first gave me my love of Gaelic Football and to all the mentors who spent time over the years moulding me into the player and person I became I am most grateful. I will continue to give of my best in the Sky Blue of Mayobridge for as long as Team Mentors feel I can make a positive contribution.
My Minor Manager Gerry Dougherty brought me to All Ireland Minor Glory and allowed me to sample what it was like to win an All Ireland Minor Medal.
Peter McGrath gave me my first taste of Senior Inter County Football and I will always thank Pete for that opportunity.
Paddy O Rourke was a great help to me in football terms and on a personal level and I have many fond memories of my time working with Paddy and his Management Team.
Ross Carr and DJ Kane were my next Managers and we too had many good days especially the victory over Tyrone in Newry in 2008.
In 2010 I was privileged and honoured to lead my County in the All Ireland Final and I will always regret that we failed to deliver on the day, I am indebted to James McCartan for the support he gave me in the five years that he was Team Manager. I had played with James and it was an absolute honour to have worked with him as Manager.
I would like to place on record my thanks to the Down County Board for supporting me throughout my playing career I was looked after at all times in the best possible manner.
To the Medical Teams over the years I thank you all for the care and attention given to me.
I thank the Down Supporters who always were there for me and lifted my spirits many times at crucial stages in games or when I was preparing to enter the fray.
To My family and in particular my mother and father who supported me all through my County career I offer a heartfelt thanks you certainly helped make it easy for me to be an Inter County Footballer.
I wish the present Down panel and Manager Jim McCorry every success in the season ahead, those boys are like my brothers and I will be supporting them fully throughout the year ahead
Lovely sentiment.
He must have been inspired by Mickey Linden as a gasur.
Post by: Mourne Rover on November 24, 2014, 08:55:21 PM
Benny said earlier this year that his body was taking several days to recover after big games, and he did not know how much longer he could keep going, so we should probably not be too surprised by today's announcement. However, when we remember how he completely changed the game from midfield after coming on at half-time against Tyrone in the championship this summer, and the way he dragged us back into the contest when he switched to full forward in the qualifier against Kildare, it is pretty clear that he was still our most important player. He was brilliant for Down throughout his career, from a match-winning performance in the 1999 AI minor final right through to the Kildare swansong, and we can only thank him for everything.  However, if he gets a long rest, and bangs in a few goals for Mayobridge in the spring, Jim McCorry should make sure he keeps his number handy.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 24, 2014, 09:33:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 24, 2014, 08:04:14 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on November 24, 2014, 05:59:55 PM

Lovely sentiment.
He must have been inspired by Mickey Linden as a gasur.

Who wouldn't be Seafóid....him and Mickey would be close.
Post by: NP 76 on November 24, 2014, 10:00:56 PM
The word legend is fired about to much in these times but I have to say Benny Coulter was a legend. An absolute gentleman both on and off the field. He can hold his head up high for he never let us down. When times were bleak he carried us on his back numerous times. A real pity he left without the big medal he truly deserved. Good luck Benny
Post by: John o connor on November 24, 2014, 10:08:21 PM
Great great player ! Just such a pity we didn't get him an all Ireland in 2010. Could have walked onto any county side in most positions but in full forward I don't think anyone was better at getting you a goal . Never forget the replay in Newry with Tyrone when he punched in a goal near the end , magical night some atmosphere . Thanks Benny ,legend .
Post by: rrhf on November 24, 2014, 10:29:56 PM
Wonderful player. Always great excitement in the championship air when Coulter went for broke.
Post by: ONeill on November 24, 2014, 10:35:49 PM
Brilliant player. Plucked balls from the heavens.
Post by: T O Hare on November 25, 2014, 02:28:26 AM
We are very lucky in Mayobridge to have him. Thirds and u21 manager along with u14 coach. Also chairman of our strictly committee which is taking place in February. A great role model for our club, county and our organisation.
Post by: omaghjoe on November 25, 2014, 03:24:01 AM
Benny really was a great footballer.

Fast, strong, magnificent fielder and a real killer instinct. He also had the heart of a lion and he could really lift Down when he got going. Lit up some great championship games against Tyrone when we were at our prime and while some teams meekly stood aside against Tyrone back then Benny and subsequently Down reveled in the challenge.

Top chap and attitude to boot, a real example to younger players.
Post by: ApresMatch on November 25, 2014, 05:21:13 AM
Favourite performance from Benny was against Ardara for Mayobridge in Ulster club replay in Newry one day. Did everything that day but he caught a ball while practically standing on a poor lads shoulders (who was subsequently flattened). Gasps in the stand at it. The keeper saved his shot afterwards but it would have been the best goal I'd ever seen.
Post by: ardtole on November 25, 2014, 07:07:22 AM
I remember that game apresmatch, it was a fantastic performance, I think Damien Diver was marking Benny as well that day, and he was no bad player. Even when Down were struggling, going to any game you would still have a feeling inside that Benny could grab a couple of goals and see us home.
It must have been unreal for Mayobridge supporters to have Mickey Linden and then Benny  Coulter playing week in week out for them, they have been spoilt with two of the best forwards in Ireland, some of the performances in club games over them years must have been very memorable. Thanks Benny.
Post by: charlieTully on November 25, 2014, 08:33:54 AM
The undisputed king of Down football for the past 14 years. will be sorely missed.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 25, 2014, 08:39:46 AM
A fine player and very much a natural footballer,  he had all the physical attributes and in someways was a throw back to how football should be played.  He is the on player from Down over the last 15 years who you would say would walk onto any team in Ireland with his consistent level of play. 
Post by: DennistheMenace on November 25, 2014, 09:32:38 AM
Super player, and a gentleman to boot.
Post by: orangeman on November 25, 2014, 09:48:17 AM
I seen Benny go into what seemed like an orbit many days and go so high that you feared the worst when landing, such was the height he was up - he was in the clouds as they say. The leap he had was a joy to behold. But it didn't end there. He had it all and he'll be a huge miss to Down and to the game in general.

It's hard to hold back time and the training regime en vogue now means that careers are short.

Has anyone any good pictures of Benny coming down from the clouds ? Those catches were worth the admission fee alone.
Post by: yellowcard on November 25, 2014, 10:12:15 AM
Brilliant player at his best though I think injuries have blunted him in recent years and he has probably made the right decision in quitting. As a young player he was brilliant to watch, very explosive, great high fielder and his first thought always appeared to be how he could score a goal no matter where he won the ball.
Post by: tonto1888 on November 25, 2014, 10:15:11 AM
Best of luvk to him. Fantastic player
Post by: rory on November 25, 2014, 10:35:16 AM
Quote from: T O Hare on November 25, 2014, 02:28:26 AM
We are very lucky in Mayobridge to have him. Thirds and u21 manager along with u14 coach. Also chairman of our strictly committee which is taking place in February. A great role model for our club, county and our organisation.

That leaves you as the only legend still playing for the 'Bridge......
Post by: 5 Sams on November 25, 2014, 10:56:02 AM
Quote from: orangeman on November 25, 2014, 09:48:17 AM
I seen Benny go into what seemed like an orbit many days and go so high that you feared the worst when landing, such was the height he was up - he was in the clouds as they say. The leap he had was a joy to behold. But it didn't end there. He had it all and he'll be a huge miss to Down and to the game in general.

It's hard to hold back time and the training regime en vogue now means that careers are short.

Has anyone any good pictures of Benny coming down from the clouds ? Those catches were worth the admission fee alone.

Check this out!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eg9AoIFET4E
Post by: 5 Sams on November 25, 2014, 11:02:34 AM
Quote from: ApresMatch on November 25, 2014, 05:21:13 AM
Favourite performance from Benny was against Ardara for Mayobridge in Ulster club replay in Newry one day. Did everything that day but he caught a ball while practically standing on a poor lads shoulders (who was subsequently flattened). Gasps in the stand at it. The keeper saved his shot afterwards but it would have been the best goal I'd ever seen.

I remember that game vividly. Cliona Foley was writing about it in the Indo the next day and said exactly what you said....audible gasps of amazement from the crowd!!!
Post by: imtommygunn on November 25, 2014, 11:13:08 AM
With many great forwards when they got the ball there was expectations there'd be a point when they got the ball. With Coulter you always thought there could be something big happen every time he got the ball. Always kept you on the edge of your seat.
Post by: Down Follower on November 25, 2014, 02:11:46 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 25, 2014, 10:56:02 AM

Check this out!

Thats just class  :)
Post by: speculative on November 25, 2014, 04:13:10 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uUFJroEo4BM

Probably the most under-rated goal ever scored in an Ulster Final, against one of the all time great defences; leaves Conor Gormley for dead, a fantastic dummy and walloped it past McConnell. Down's loss is Mayobridge's gain me thinks
Post by: 5 Sams on November 25, 2014, 04:42:01 PM
Quote from: speculative on November 25, 2014, 04:13:10 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uUFJroEo4BM

Probably the most under-rated goal ever scored in an Ulster Final, against one of the all time great defences; leaves Conor Gormley for dead, a fantastic dummy and walloped it past McConnell. Down's loss is Mayobridge's gain me thinks

2003 Ulster Final...the one that got away :-\ I would love to see that game again. So much happened in it. Gregory getting sent off for nothing, Canavan diving (whats new), Dan torturing the Tyrone defence, Benny's goal, Paddy O'Rourke getting all excited on the sideline in his ski pants!!!
Post by: Highlander3 on November 25, 2014, 08:46:23 PM
Great footballer, such a pity he never got a senior AI medal, maybe the best fielder for his size I have ever seen, I think that was proven in the compromise rules games were he consistentally outfielder the Australians
Post by: muppet on November 25, 2014, 09:45:24 PM
Quote from: Highlander3 on November 25, 2014, 08:46:23 PM
Great footballer, such a pity he never got a senior AI medal, maybe the best fielder for his size I have ever seen, I think that was proven in the compromise rules games were he consistentally outfielder the Australians

I'd say the frostbite got him in the end.

Class player and one you really enjoyed watching.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 25, 2014, 09:50:16 PM

Check this out!

More to the point that mayobridge goalie must be the biggest under 16 ever !
Post by: 5 Sams on November 25, 2014, 09:55:45 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 25, 2014, 09:50:16 PM

Check this out!

More to the point that mayobridge goalie must be the biggest under 16 ever !

I think the keeper is Decky O'Hare. Maybe some of the bridge lads can confirm that. Big lad alright but a brilliant keeper.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on November 25, 2014, 10:35:11 PM
Keeper is Colum lyncheaun
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 26, 2014, 03:40:47 PM
Benny not a fan of modern football tactics.

QuoteBenny Coulter is not a fan of modern day gaelic football.

The Mayobridge star retired from inter-county football this week after 15 years in the Mourne County jersey and, in a wide-ranging interview in today's The Irish Daily Star, he says the game is more about fitness nowadays than individual skill and flair.

"There are games you got to at club level where two teams are playing defensive systems and it is ridiculous at times," Coulter said.

"I was even reading stuff the other day, colleges games where they were playing two sweepers.

"When we were playing for St Mark's (Warrenpoint) in '96 or '97 you just went out and played football, and the better man won, but, now, even at minor level it's down to tactics and crap like that.

"There is too much time spent in the gym and crap like that, or in front of tvs watching stuff.

"Maybe the likes of 'Skinner' (Eoin) Bradley he'd be a player I'd pay in to watch because he is that unpredictable.

"He is the type of fella that just plays off the cuff and does his own thing.

"With a lot of county footballers it's more to do with how fit you are, stuff like that – it sickens me too at times."
Post by: yellowcard on November 26, 2014, 04:16:06 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 26, 2014, 03:40:47 PM
Benny not a fan of modern football tactics.

QuoteBenny Coulter is not a fan of modern day gaelic football.

The Mayobridge star retired from inter-county football this week after 15 years in the Mourne County jersey and, in a wide-ranging interview in today's The Irish Daily Star, he says the game is more about fitness nowadays than individual skill and flair.

"There are games you got to at club level where two teams are playing defensive systems and it is ridiculous at times," Coulter said.

"I was even reading stuff the other day, colleges games where they were playing two sweepers.

"When we were playing for St Mark's (Warrenpoint) in '96 or '97 you just went out and played football, and the better man won, but, now, even at minor level it's down to tactics and crap like that.

"There is too much time spent in the gym and crap like that, or in front of tvs watching stuff.

"Maybe the likes of 'Skinner' (Eoin) Bradley he'd be a player I'd pay in to watch because he is that unpredictable.

"He is the type of fella that just plays off the cuff and does his own thing.

"With a lot of county footballers it's more to do with how fit you are, stuff like that – it sickens me too at times."

Nothing new in that, its not exactly a recent phenomenon although it seems to be ramped up every year and Donegal have set the bar in taking it to new levels. Coulter himself has struggled with fitness and injuries for a good few years now and it probably frustrated him to see himself shunted out by inferior football players. However the way intercounty football is going players will soon have a playing lifespan between 20-28 and after that bodies will start breaking down and players will get fed up of the demands being placed on them.
Post by: T O Hare on November 26, 2014, 07:15:44 PM
The worrying thing for a Down perspective is that it will probably not be the only retirement for us this season. The demands of inter county football don't lend themselves to over 30s anymore. I honestly think we will struggle in the league and won't beat Derry in the championship. Jim has a tough job on his hands as I really can't see where he is going to get the players from.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on November 26, 2014, 10:53:09 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on November 26, 2014, 07:15:44 PM
The worrying thing for a Down perspective is that it will probably not be the only retirement for us this season. The demands of inter county football don't lend themselves to over 30s anymore. I honestly think we will struggle in the league and won't beat Derry in the championship. Jim has a tough job on his hands as I really can't see where he is going to get the players from.

100 % right lad. I wouldn't be convinced with what's happening thus far in terms of personell selected either. A deal should have been struck to allow Benny some leeway and have his experience about the place! Downs defence will be no better this year than it has been & we are not blessed with loads of midfielders. This won't be an easy year for down football.
Post by: Mourne Rover on November 27, 2014, 12:06:22 AM
Lads, it's a little early to be writing off Down's season. There are going to be a few debuts, plus a couple of familiar faces returning, and they will all need time to find their feet. However, that's what the league is for. Benny is a major loss, but it would not be a total surprise if, depending on his fitness, he was asked about a return around Easter. Even if he is not available, we have an opportunity to regroup.  People looked at our championship defeats by Fermanagh and Wicklow in 2009 and said James had very limited prospects as a new manager. He came in with a positive attitude, got the best out of his squad and the results began to follow. Jim McCorry has been an outstanding club coach for over a decade and there is nothing to prevent him making an impact at county level.
Post by: omaghjoe on November 27, 2014, 07:43:32 AM
Hmm been  watching old clips there of Benny and I know I have said it already but he really was a great player. He played the game it should be played with honesty, grit and confidence a great example to young fellas
Post by: T O Hare on November 27, 2014, 06:04:11 PM
It's not just Benny, the likes of Liam Doyle , big Dan, ambrose and Dan mccarten are not part of the new panel. Although they are not certain starters they have been around the set up for years and the experience they have  is immeasurable. I would not be betting on Clarke playing in 2015 either.