2008 Ballinderry (Derry)
2009 Omagh (Tyrone)
2010 Lámh Dhearg (Antrim)
2011 Glen Watty Grahams (Derry)
2012 Glen Watty Grahams (Derry)
2013 Glen Watty Grahams (Derry)
Minor crown heads to Belleek
Erne Gaels 3-10 Derrygonnelly Harps 2-10
A goal, their third of the evening, flicked home by centre half forward Darragh Dolan in the dying moments delivered the minor championship A title to Erne Gaels in what had been a rousing contest played on a splendid Brewster Park.
It was an electric finale to a tussle which had served up rich entertainment all the way through from what had been an explosive start.
That explosive start had seen both teams raid in for a goal inside the opening two minutes and with a handful of points immediately added on, the tone for the remainder of the game had been set.
The scoring bonanza didn't quite maintain that initial sizzling pace, the sides reached the break with Erne Gaels leading by 2-4 to 1-4, but the quality of the game hadn't dipped.
And over the second half the sizeable attendance was to be captivated by a see saw struggle between two well matched sides.
The lead over those closing thirty minutes was to be exchanged on a number of occasions but when Derrygonnelly struck for a goal and a point inside sixty seconds on the threequarter mark, the initiative appeared to have edged in Derrygonnelly's favour.
But Erne Gaels were to produce a resolute final quarter effort and in the end it was the Belleek side who were to poach the crucial late scores that got them over the winning line.
A dramatic finish to a pulsating tussle, one of the best minor deciders of recent seasons.
Within seconds of the throw in the game detonated into life with a penalty goal hammered home for Erne Gaels by full forward Shane Rooney who had been hauled down.
No time for Erne Gaels however to celebrate this tonic start as their defence was promptly sliced open by an incisive Derrygonnelly raid and Colm Jones ripped a shot into an unprotected Belleek net.
Within another three minutes three points had been fired over, two for Erne Gaels one from the elusive Rooney and Rory McGarrigle, the Harps responding with a shot from Nathan Jones.
Things did settle down somewhat after that blitz of scoring but the game was to stay finely pitched with neither side able to establish any period of command.
A worrying aspect for Erne Gaels however was their slipshod short passing which regularly had possession handed over to the opposition.
In mid half Derrygonnelly clawed back to parity with good scores taken by Garvan and Leigh Jones and they began to shade the possession but they were unable to translate that into scores, just one more point to be collected prior to the changeover.
Erne Gaels on the other hand were to snap up a second goal, a trifle fortunate perhaps as a spilled ball fell kindly for them and Darragh Dolan stabbed home. In fact Dolan might well have nabbed another goal but his fly kick clipped back off the upright.
Erne Gaels a goal to the good heading into the second half and they resumed on a positive note with the opening two points, Shane Rooney hitting a placed kick, Rory McGarrigle converting from open play.
But there was no question of them being able to totally dictate and a committed Derrygonnelly struck back with perhaps their most forceful spell of the game.
Points from Colm and Garvan Jones had them hot on the heels of the leaders and they then grabbed their second goal, Oran McBrien coming in onto the end of a centre from the left wing to fist home at the post.
Garvan Jones rifled over a levelling point in the very next attack and the game was heading into a frantic finale.
Shane Rooney who had led the Belleek line with drive and purpose edged his side ahead, Garvan Jones who was equally purposeful for the Harps levelled and over the next ten minutes it was score for score.
Colin Jones with two for Derrygonnelly, Luke Ryder and Shane Rooney for Erne Gaels as the teams slugged it out in a grandstand climax.
A draw now looking quite probable but there was to be a matchwinning score and it fell to Erne Gaels.
A long ball punted in from midfield cleared the Derrygonnelly full back line and in the chase into the open space, Darragh Dolan won the race with Jack Kelly to flick the ball over the advancing keeper.
The issue not quite decided with a couple of minutes left on the clock. Derrygonnelly made an all out effort to recover and they launched a series of attacks but Erne Gaels doggedly defended and a levelling goal chance arrived.
Moortown complete Minor double with victory over Ardboe
Moortown St Malachys 3-10 Ardboe O Donovan Rossa 3-07
The loughshore derby more than lived up to its pre match billing, at Fr Campbell Park on Friday as rivals Moortown ended Ardboe's bid for a third successive Tyrone Grade One championship title in a cracking advertisement for underage football.
This game had everything and, while the contest was soured by the withdrawal of Tyrone minor starlet DD Mulgrew to a sickening injury midway through the second half, few among the two thousand strong crowd could begrudge Moortown their success as the St Malachys completed a unique league and championship double- their first since 1990.
Mulgrew was ferried away by ambulance just as the Rossa's appeared to be taking control and, his absence severely hindered their challenge as Moortown steadied the ship with a succession of breath taking scores before Connel McVey's three pointer cemented the outcome.
Moortown – Michael Donnelly, Eoin Kelly, Christopher McGuigan, Daire Quinn, Rian McLernon, Tiernan Corr, Ronan McGuigan, James Devlin, Jack McGuigan, Callum Gallagher, Connel McVey, Shane McKeown, Shaun Conway, Conan McLernon, Daragh McVey. Subs – Tiarnan Hurl for Gallagher
SCORERS – Conan McLernon 2-3, James Devlin 0-5, Connel McVey 1-0, Shane McKeown 0-1, Daire Quinn 0-1
Ardboe – Ronan Cassidy, Jordan Bell, Eoin Lynn, Manus Teague, Conall Devlin, Paddy Sheeky, Aidan O'Neill, David Mulgrew, Michael O'Neill, Gary Hagan, Nathan Bell, Odhran Devlin, Caolan Mallaghan, Callum McGuigan, Kevin Coney. Subs – Stefan O'Hare for C McGuigan, Adam Coney for Mulgrew
SCORERS - David Mulgrew 2-0, Nathan Bell 0-4, Kevin Coney 1-0, Caolan Mallaghan 0-1, Aidan O'Neill 0-1, Michael O'Neill 0-1
Referee – Martin Sludden, Dromore
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/56_zps6148a792.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/57_zps4c956707.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/58_zps05bbd0d3.png)
Antrim
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/59_zps88cc6397.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/60_zps24f7895b.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/61_zps5eb88f26.png)
Antrim
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/59_zps88cc6397.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/71_zps5332bc34.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/64_zps119ce2fe.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/60_zps24f7895b.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/61_zps5eb88f26.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/70_zps4ab6e132.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/79_zpse608021b.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/72_zps07d49ea9.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/83_zps3af68a52.png)
Glen still unbeaten in Derry since 1888
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/86_zpsd749cf6b.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/87_zpsf7f35ebb.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/88_zpsef3232a6.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/90_zps9da24c05.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/89_zps000a8054.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/91_zps47d7a81d.png)
Aontroim agus Árd Macha
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/94_zps821abcda.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/95_zpsf432f427.png)
Misneach agus mórtas a' líonadh ár gcroi
http://www.youtuberepeater.com/watch?v=K-g1kNO1MWQ
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/96_zpsc34e936a.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/97_zps769d5034.png)
County ones blamed an cúl baire but no blame attached dispite the near post claims.
This is the slowest and clearest possible to understand Odhrán's 'sweet left foot.'
And as for the eejits on the Free State teilifís - try saying Mac - yeah youse have that bit and try saying nail-ish - then try nyail-ish you no railway goes our way foreigners.
Stick your béarla.
Oh aye
http://www.youtuberepeater.com/watch?v=K-g1kNO1MWQ
YeeHa
?????????!!
Sorry I'm not sure what this is about at all
Are you,i.e. drici, the full shilling?
Quote from: Nigel White on September 10, 2014, 10:17:24 PM
Plain English please. I haven't a clue what you're on about
Quote from: Nigel White on September 17, 2014, 05:45:31 PM
Are you,i.e. drici, the full shilling?
A sterling response.
Best ones were Whacker and The Real Whacker and their third party who would all arrive together onto a thread where any particular one of them's views were questioned.
Following that however, the thread would immediately descend into whether they were all the same person with them already having started the conversation about whether they were or not despite a lack of accusations online.
Hard to beat Y.A.I.C. though formerly Your All Ireland Champions on the Football Injuries thread which laboriously consisted of cruciates, backs and hamstrings until he came along explaining how he had to get stitches in his knee after falling down the steps in the Creighton Hotel in Clones whilst being half tore before an Ulster Senior Football Final.
A geg.
Anyway - the other Down Semi Final result.
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/98_zps61b6e220.png?1411001819379&1411001820593)
Video: See the best of 5 first-half goals by Watty Grahams in today's Derry Minor Final win vs Magherafelt https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edkqgRc4HBI
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/101_zps402bf1be.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/102_zps630a3711.png)
Video: Here's more goals from both Watty Grahams & Magherafelt in today's high-scoring Derry Minor Championship Final http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201314/Glen/Goals---Watty-Grahams-v-Magherafelt-1339 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201314/Glen/Goals---Watty-Grahams-v-Magherafelt-1339)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/104_zpsa3413ec9.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/105_zps0f79b67e.png)
Match in Newry abandoned.
Quote from: outinfront on October 05, 2014, 05:56:21 PM
Match in Newry abandoned.
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BzMQUk8IIAAlBMJ.jpg)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/102_zps630a3711.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/106_zps75bd4aad.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/107_zpsf03ca589.png)
The draw for the Ulster Minor Football Club Championship will take place on Tuesday 11th November.
Dún na nGall
QuoteIt is hoped but in no way guaranteed that the Minor Championship will resume in the first weekend of November.
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/108_zps5b3df77f.png)
Put back to Tuesday.
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/110_zps6bdf743e.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/115_zps16f9aace.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/114_zps4a1e5508.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/117_zps1643ceb7.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/118_zps19c44e3d.png)
Looks like that is everybody in that is going to be in:
Fermanagh: Erne Gaels
Tyrone: Moortown St Malachys
Armagh: Crossmaglen Rangers
Antrim: O'Donovan Rossa
Derry: Glen Watty Grahams
Monaghan: Donaghmoyne Fontenoys
Down: Burren St Marys
Cavan: Southern Gaels
will the Donegal championship not be concluded in time?
They're just right. It's a poor tournament, badly run, in a location with minimal facilities for players and spectators at the most unsuitable time of the year and where competing teams have to pay for their food. It's a pure shambles
Quote from: the dodger on October 19, 2014, 10:17:52 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on October 20, 2014, 10:33:49 PM
They're just right. It's a poor tournament, badly run, in a location with minimal facilities for players and spectators at the most unsuitable time of the year and where competing teams have to pay for their food. It's a pure shambles
What? Donegal's not that bad!
Unconfirmed - jigsawed this together.
Sunday 30th November
Preliminary Round
Moortown St Malachys(Tyrone) v Southern Gaels(Cavan)
Quarter Finals
Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan) v Erne Gaels(Fermanagh)
O'Donovan Rossa(Antrim) v Glen Watty Grahams(Derry)
Burren St Marys(Down) v Donegal Champions
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) v Moortown St Malachys/Southern Gaels
Preliminary Round
Sunday 30th November
1-30pm
Quarter Finals
Saturday 6th December
1-30pm
Sunday 7th December
1-30pm
Saturday 13th December
1-30pm
Sunday 14th December
1-30pm
Here's a video from the draw tonight in Belfast City Hall http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201314/Glen/St-Pauls-Draw-in-Belfast-City-Hall-1369 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201314/Glen/St-Pauls-Draw-in-Belfast-City-Hall-1369)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/126_zps13eeaed8.png)
A bunch of cheeky hoors
Quote from: theticklemister on November 12, 2014, 12:40:15 PM
A bunch of cheeky hoors
Well one of them won't need to remember it for a second trip anyway!!!
Quote from: the dodger on October 19, 2014, 10:17:52 PM
Back in with a shout.
Donegal Minor Football Championship Regional Finals22 - 11 - 2014
Naomh Conaill v
An Clochán Liath/Na RossaEdit: Game brought forward from 7-00pm to 3-00pm - venue still Naomh Muire.
23 - 11 - 2014
Gaoth Dobhair v
Naomh Adhamhnáin12-30pm
Quarter Final
Saturday 6th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Preliminary Round
Saturday 6th December
3-00pm The Dub
Quarter Finals
Sunday 7th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Saturday 13th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Sunday 14th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Has a club done an u16 and minor double in the one year? Burren have a great chance of doing it being strong favourites for the u16s and having a very strong minor team as well.
Still in with a chance of having a team for Ulster.
Donegal Minor Football Championship Regional FinalNaomh Conaill
0-08 An Clochán Liath/Na Rossa
0-14An Clochán Liath/Na Rossa through to the Semi Finals as Winners - Naomh Conaill as Runners Up.
QuoteThe Donegal GAA Minor Football Team Banquet will be in the Mount Errigal Hotel, Letterkenny on Saturday 29th November
This also comes into play now.
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/131_zps1915f7b1.png)
Donegal Minor Football Championship Regional Final
Gaoth Dobhair 2-14 Naomh Adhamhnáin 0-09
Donegal Minor Football Championship Semi Finals
An Clochán Liath/Na Rossa v Naomh Adhamhnáin
Gaoth Dobhair v Naomh Conaill
Drici can Gweedore make the St Pauls tournament??
Gaoth Dobhair can.
Waiting for times and venues for the Donegal Semi Finals - hopefully the banquet won't delay the matches.
Six Gaoth Dobhair players to get their Ulster medals.
Donegal Minor Football Championship Semi Finals
29 - 11 - 2014
Noon
29 - 11 - 2014
Gaoth Dobhair v Naomh Conaill
2-15pm
Donegal Minor Football Championship Semi Final
29 - 11 - 2014
Noon
Postponed.
Gaoth Dobhair 2-17 Naomh Conaill 2-02
Quarter Final
Saturday 6th December
12-30pm St Pauls (change of time)
Jimmy McKee(Pearse Óg)
Preliminary Round
Saturday 6th December
3-00pm The Dub
B Toland
Quarter Finals
Sunday 7th December
1-30pm St Pauls
M McErlane
Saturday 13th December
1-30pm St Pauls
C Hemsworth
Sunday 14th December
1-30pm St Pauls
B Toland
Semi Finals
Sunday 21st December
Antrim/Derry v Fermanagh/Monaghan
1-30pm St Pauls
Jimmy McKee
Friday 26th December
Tyrone/Cavan/Armagh v Down/Donegal
1-30pm St Pauls
M McErlane
Final
Thursday 1st January
1-30pm St Pauls
05 - 12 - 2014
7-45pm
Friday night - both An Clochán Liath and Naomh Adhamhnáin in Donegal Under 21 Championship Quarter Finals on Saturday and the Minor Final would have to be on Sunday.
Edit: These two Under 21 Quarter Finals now moved to Sunday the 7th.
Edit 2: Donegal looking match v Burren moved to Sunday the 14th.
Watty Grahams missed out on the chance of playing this team two years ago when Donegal ran out of time and were excluded from the Competition though Killeavy benefitted most.
Cill Chartha 2-11
Kevin Boyle
Christopher Cunningham James Shovlin Andrew McClean
Cormac Cannon Ryan McHugh(0-1) Eoin McHugh(0-1)
Aodhán McGinley(0-1) Aaron Doherty(1-1)
Chris Doogan(0-1) Matthew McClean(0-2) Kevin Gallagher
Michael Cunningham(0-1) Stephen McBrearty(0-2) Conor Doherty(1-1)
Eoghan Ó Léime for K Gallagher(49) Jordon Mooney for C Doogan(57) James Carr for M Cunningham(57)
Video: Cathal Mulholland & James Connolly preview tomorrow's opener at St Paul's.. can Rossa stop Watty's march towards 4 in-a-row? http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201314/Glen/Watty-Grahams-v-Rossa---Preview-1389 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201314/Glen/Watty-Grahams-v-Rossa---Preview-1389)
An Clochán Liath/Na Rossa 1-13 Naomh Adhamhnáin 1-10
An Clochán Liath/Na Rossa v Gaoth Dobhair in the Final.
O'Donovan Rossa(Antrim) 0-06 Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) 0-08
Half Time
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B4LL0ruCIAA_IIj.jpg)
O'Donovan Rossa(Antrim) 0-06 Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) 1-13
Cathal Mulholland 1-0
2nd Half
O'Donovan Rossa(Antrim) 0-06 Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) 2-15
Danny Tallon 1-0
O'Donovan Rossa(Antrim) 0-07 Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) 3-17
Sin é
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B4LaAKkCMAE_0tB.jpg:large)
Could have got the S in.
Moortown St Malachys(Tyrone) 1-06 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 2-07
Half Time
Moortown St Malachys(Tyrone) 2-11 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 2-14
Sin é
Half of Cavan through to the Quarter Finals.
Danny Tallon must be about 25 now I reckon
Quote from: drici on December 06, 2014, 04:39:01 PM
Sin é
?
Quote from: Westside on December 06, 2014, 05:06:50 PM
Sin é
?
Amalgamated team, I imagine.
Video: Moortown scored the best goal in today's Kukri Sports Ulster Minor Tournament http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201314/St-Pauls/Goal-Moortown-v-Southern-Gaels-1390 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201314/St-Pauls/Goal-Moortown-v-Southern-Gaels-1390)
Quote from: armaghniac on December 06, 2014, 05:42:11 PM
Quote from: Westside on December 06, 2014, 05:06:50 PM
Sin é
?
Amalgamated team, I imagine.
Southern Gaels are Gowna and Lacken amalgamated and are a relatively small area in reality.
Quote from: hardstation on December 06, 2014, 11:24:04 PM
People in Cavan must be starting to ask questions about these amalgamations.
It's becoming a bit of a joke that the Cavan minor champions every year is a throw together.
Surprised that neither Gowna nor Lacken could field on their own.
Very poor reflection on Cavan football
Quote from: hardstation on December 06, 2014, 11:24:04 PM
People in Cavan must be starting to ask questions about these amalgamations.
It's becoming a bit of a joke that the Cavan minor champions every year is a throw together.
Surprised that neither Gowna nor Lacken could field on their own.
Ramor United (not an amalgamation) won it last year, beating Templeport (a junior club with about 16 players) in the final. We've had a few amalgamations win in the last few years. Same happened in the late 90's for a few years before Cavan Gaels took over for the best part of a decade. There's always been amalgamations in Cavan. Why do you think this is a new phenomenon?
tyrone standards seem to be slipping at underage and college level
Amalgamations shouldn't be allowed in this tournament. Simple as that. I'm sure some of the Fermanagh and Monaghan clubs have a very limited pick. Hope Cross beat Southern Gaels.
Quote from: Walter Cronc on December 07, 2014, 10:07:18 AM
Amalgamations shouldn't be allowed in this tournament. Simple as that. I'm sure some of the Fermanagh and Monaghan clubs have a very limited pick. Hope Cross beat Southern Gaels.
What a load of horse shite!!
Amalgamations are part and parcel of the GAA just look at the Kerry senior championship if you need some evidence.
-There are many clubs that cannot field 15-20 players at an age level should they just be kicked out of all competitions then?
- Some clubs have a huge town or pick from versus some small rural parishes. In the example above, an amalgamation of Lacken and Gowna would still not have a quarter the pick of say Cavan Gaels. Yet you would ban Southern Gaels and allow Cavan Gaels compete?
- The Cavan minor entrants in this tournament have not fared that well in the past, whether one club or an amalgamation. We only hear the whinging when they have the audacity to beat a Tyrone Team.
- I'm not sure of Fermanagh but there have certainly been Amalgamations in Monaghan although I am sure poor wee Monaghan would be grateful for the pity from a super power like Derry.
The only caveat I would have is the abuse of the amalgamations. As hard station said there was one ridiculous case in Cavan in the past. Unfortunately it is up to County boards to make sure the piss is not taken by some clubs. That been said Southern Gaels are certainly not taking the piss and are a genuine amalgamation and I hope they go on to do well in the tournament.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 07, 2014, 11:17:01 AM
Amalgamations are part and parcel of the GAA just look at the Kerry senior championship if you need some evidence.
-There are many clubs that cannot field 15-20 players at an age level should they just be kicked out of all competitions then?
- Some clubs have a huge town or pick from versus some small rural parishes. In the example above, an amalgamation of Lacken and Gowna would still not have a quarter the pick of say Cavan Gaels. Yet you would ban Southern Gaels and allow Cavan Gaels compete?
- The Cavan minor entrants in this tournament have not fared that well in the past, whether one club or an amalgamation. We only hear the whinging when they have the audacity to beat a Tyrone Team.
- I'm not sure of Fermanagh but there have certainly been Amalgamations in Monaghan although I am sure poor wee Monaghan would be grateful for the pity from a super power like Derry.
The only caveat I would have is the abuse of the amalgamations. As hard station said there was one ridiculous case in Cavan in the past. Unfortunately it is up to County boards to make sure the piss is not taken by some clubs. That been said Southern Gaels are certainly not taking the piss and are a genuine amalgamation and I hope they go on to do well in the tournament.
If an amalgamation wins the Kerry championship they are not permitted to compete in Munster.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 07, 2014, 11:17:01 AM
Catch yourself on. I don't give a monkeys what you lot do in the Cavan championship. It just shouldn't be allowed in Ulster. As the poster below pointed out Kerry amalgamations aren't allowed into Munster. And don't give me the number crap. Every county in Ireland has big clubs and small clubs. Last week Slaughtneil beat Omagh. I'm sure the numbers difference in the 2 clubs is vast. Also Moortown wouldn't exactly be a big club!
Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan) 0-00 Erne Gaels(Fermanagh) 0-01
Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan) 0-03 Erne Gaels(Fermanagh) 0-02
Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan) 0-05 Erne Gaels(Fermanagh) 0-02
Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan) 1-05 Erne Gaels(Fermanagh) 0-03
Ronán McDonald 1-0
Half Time
Quote from: skeog on December 07, 2014, 05:06:13 AM
tyrone standards seem to be slipping at underage and college level
eh? schools doing ok/well relative to the other counties (Academy and CBS etc...) Moortown were slow out of the traps yesterday...i'd say that Glen will retain this competition...they looked class yesterday and far from a 1-man team...hard to believe that conor glass has another year at this level
Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan) 2-13 Erne Gaels(Fermanagh) 0-03
2nd Half
Another like this on the way.
Preliminary Round:
Saturday 7th December 2013
Derrygonnelly Harps(Fermanagh) 0-03 Ramor United(Cavan) 2-23
1-30pm
Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan) 3-13 Erne Gaels(Fermanagh) 0-03
Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan) 4-13 Erne Gaels(Fermanagh) 0-03
3 goals for Aaron Courtney
Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan) 5-16 Erne Gaels(Fermanagh) 1-03
Sin é
Donaghmoyne through to play Watty Grahams.
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B4QrhvtCcAETVjq.jpg)
Video: Here's one of Aaron Courtney's three goals http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Donaghmoyne/Goal-for-Donaghmoyne-1394 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Donaghmoyne/Goal-for-Donaghmoyne-1394)
Video: See 2 minutes highlights from Donaghmoyne v Erne Gaels.. very cold and a strong breeze as you'll see with the first score, while Donaghmoyne look pretty useful. Aaron Courtney (7) got three goals and the midfield is decent. http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Donaghmoyne/Match-Highlights---Donaghmoyne-v-Erne-Gaels-1395 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Donaghmoyne/Match-Highlights---Donaghmoyne-v-Erne-Gaels-1395)
Fantastic stuff as always Drici. That should be some semi final. Never seen underage dominance like that of Glen.
Whoever that gobshite was a few pages back giving out such about the tournament needs a boot in the balls.
QuoteCatch yourself on. I don't give a monkeys what you lot do in the Cavan championship. It just shouldn't be allowed in Ulster. As the poster below pointed out Kerry amalgamations aren't allowed into Munster. And don't give me the number crap. Every county in Ireland has big clubs and small clubs. Last week Slaughtneil beat Omagh. I'm sure the numbers difference in the 2 clubs is vast. Also Moortown wouldn't exactly be a big club
This is NOT an official GAA competition. It is a tournament run by the St Pauls club in Belfast(that has got permission from the GAA to do so). It is up to them who they invite into it, and the criteria used, not some opinionated Derry folk.
Personally, I am against amalgamations. I prefer when my own club goes alone even if it means a heavy defeat is inevitable. It keeps players that might drift away about a bit longer. However, if the numbers don't add up then clubs have to amalgamate.
Minor Football:
Our Minors made the now annual journey to St Paul's on the Shaw's Road on Saturday for the Quarter Final of the Ulster Championship against Rossa from Belfast.
Played on a vastly improved pitch, Glen faced the breeze in the first Half however started brightly with a fine Conall Darragh point from play. The next score followed a good move involving Cathal Mulholland, Mark Doole and was finished over the bar by Danny Tallon. Rossa then missed a scoring chance by sending a free wide. Aidan Hughes then added a fine point from play, followed by Conor Glass's first point of the game.
Rossa then opened their account with a point from play. Conor Glass pointed a free after Tiarnan Flanagan was fouled. Rossa then got two consecutive points, one from a free and a rather dubious point from play. Rossa were soon forced to make a substitution when one of the players got a black card after Danny Tallon was tripped. Mark Doole added another point from a free when Danny Tallon was yet again fouled.
Rossa counterattacked and forced a save from Calum Mullan Young who palmed the ball over the bar. Glen responded with a great point after good approach play involving Oran McGill, Cathal Mulholland, Tiarnan Flanagan and was well finished by Danny Tallon. Jack Doherty got his first point of the game but Rossa finished the Half with two points one from play and the other from a free leaving the Half Time score:
Glen 0-08 Rossa 0-06
The second Half was much more comfortable for Glen. Danny Tallon opened the scoring with a point from play and was soon followed by another when Mark Doole converted another point after good work by Conall Darragh. Mark pointed another free and JD got his second score. The game was then really over as a contest when Cathal Mulholland scored the first goal of the game.
Mark Doole, Conall Darragh and Cathal Mulholland added points before Rossa got their first point of the Half. Darragh Higgins entered the fray replacing Tommy Mullan who was black carded. Jordan Martin replaced Tiernan McCusker before Danny Tallon got his first goal. Niall Gallagher replaced Aidan Hughes. The impressive Danny Tallon pointed again followed by Rossa's last point of the game. Mark Doole increased his tally pointing from play. Glen finished with a flurry when Tiarnan Flanagan did great approach work to give Danny Tallon the easiest of finishes to the net leaving the final score Glen 3-17 Rossa 0-08. Glen will now face Donaghmoyne from Co Monaghan in the Semi Final on Sunday 21st December.
Team and scorers:
Calum Mullan Young, Oran Magill, Declan McCusker, Shane Turner, Aidan Hughes(0-1), Tommy Mullan, Tomas Convery, Conor Glass(0-2), Jack Doherty(0-2), Conall Darragh(0-2), Mark Doole(0-5), Tiernan McCusker, Cathal Mulholland(1-1), Tiarnan Flanagan Danny Tallon(2-4). Subs used Darragh Higgins, Jordan Martin Niall Gallagher.
Serious arrogance!!!
That Tallon boy is serious
Dia Sathairn 13 - 12 - 2014
Donegal Minor Football Championship Final
Gaoth Dobhair v An Clochán Liath/Na Rossa
1-00pm
Donegal excluded from the Ulster Minor Football Championship (again).
Burren St Marys go through to play Crossmaglen Rangers or Southern Gaels on 26th of December at 1-30pm.
(It would have been better to automatically place the Donegal Champions in the Preliminary Round)
Arrogance?
Huh?
The cup is a given at this stage at the now annual trip. You should have an annual booking in the Balmoral Hotel at this stage! :P.
4 years in a row seems pretty annual to me ! Some outfit to be fair to them. Didnt read much arroagance there
Quote from: gallsman on December 07, 2014, 07:05:10 PM
Fantastic stuff as always Drici. That should be some semi final. Never seen underage dominance like that of Glen.
Whoever that gobshite was a few pages back giving out such about the tournament needs a boot in the balls.
It was me and I stand by what I said. A crappy tournament, run at an awful time of the year on pitches that border on being dangerous. As I understand it teams pay to enter and then have to pay for the post match meal
Did anyone work out how many minor championship games (Derry and Ulster) Glen are unbeaten for? Undefeated since 2010?
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 08, 2014, 04:19:14 PM
Serious arrogance!!!
You'd be well placed to talk about serious arrogance!
Omagh beat us because a lot of things went in their favour on the day. 9 games out of 10 we would have beaten them and be sitting in an Ulster final.
Having watched Ardboe play Glen in the 2012 and 2013 semi finals and suffering heavy defeats against them I would describe them as anything but arrogant.They are very grounded and level headed and I think that's a big reason why they are closing in on 4 in a row.The attitude and mindset in their players shows a maturity beyond their years.It would be very easy for young fellas to let arrogance and cockiness creep into their way of thinking.
Quote from: Nigel White on December 08, 2014, 11:28:58 PM
It was me and I stand by what I said. A crappy tournament, run at an awful time of the year on pitches that border on being dangerous. As I understand it teams pay to enter and then have to pay for the post match meal
It's an absolutely brilliant tournament that is loved within the GAA in Ulster. I have no idea about paying to enter and what not but everyone certainly wants to win it. If you fancy doing a better job, set your own tournament up.
Quote from: gallsman on December 09, 2014, 10:55:50 AM
Quote from: Nigel White on December 08, 2014, 11:28:58 PM
It's an absolutely brilliant tournament that is loved within the GAA in Ulster. I have no idea about paying to enter and what not but everyone certainly wants to win it. If you fancy doing a better job, set your own tournament up.
The continuity Nigel White Minor football club championship 2015!
Do Ulster Council not run this competition? If not, why not?
Here's a full report on the Southern Gaels-Moortown game... the Cavan lads play Crossmaglen this Sunday.
http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Southern-Gaels/Report--Interviews---Southern-Gaels-2-14-Moortown-2-11-1398 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Southern-Gaels/Report--Interviews---Southern-Gaels-2-14-Moortown-2-11-1398)
Quote from: DennistheMenace on December 09, 2014, 12:01:58 PM
There isn't one of these in other provinces. It was st pauls initiative years ago. Just like Creggan and the u21, the paul mcgirr u16 etc etc. Without the clubs running them there'd be no such competitions.
Quote from: DennistheMenace on December 09, 2014, 12:01:58 PM
Same as the Paul mCGriir Tournament but i have heard that both tournaments may well be under pressure due to an ulster council report on player burn out?
Glen are exceptionally modest set of lads as is their management team...no sense of entitlement there at all and they all work hard to get to where they're at...serious approach to what they do, should be envied and copied rather than slagged of
Quarter Final
Saturday 6th December
O'Donovan Rossa(Antrim) 0-08 Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) 3-17
12-30pm St Pauls
Jimmy McKee
Preliminary Round
Saturday 6th December
3-00pm The Dub
B Toland
Quarter Finals
Sunday 7th December
1-30pm St Pauls
M McErlane
Saturday 13th December
Burren St Marys(Down) v Donegal Champions Walk Over for Burren St Marys
1-30pm St Pauls
C Hemsworth
Sunday 14th December
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) v Southern Gaels(Cavan)
1-30pm St Pauls
B Toland
Semi Finals
Sunday 21st December
Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) v Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan)
1-30pm St Pauls
Jimmy McKee
Friday 26th December
Armagh/Cavan v Burren St Marys(Down)
1-30pm St Pauls
M McErlane
Final
Thursday 1st January
1-30pm St Pauls
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/135_zpsd8fb19fc.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/136_zpsbae53ad9.png)
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/137_zpsf345d6f5.png)
He's not a man for the comma.
Donegal Minor Football Championship Final
Gaoth Dobhair 0-11 An Clochán Liath/Na Rossa 0-06
Two years ago the timing of the Donegal Minor Football Championship cost a Cill Chartha side that included Eoin and Ryan McHugh and Stephen McBrearty the chance of competing in the Ulster Club Championship.
This year Gaoth Dobhair with six Ulster Minor Football Championship 2014 medal winners - four of whom played in the All Ireland Minor Football Final have lost out.
A great day out as well as the match was lost this year as Gaoth Dobhair's Rónán Mac Aodha Bhuí with the advantage of the popularity of his radio show would have bolstered the crowd with many of Belfast's Irish speakers who would have gone for the occasion.
Disappointment all round and most of it coming from Gaoth Dobhair at the moment.
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-07 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 0-07
Half Time
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B40lN65CMAAide7.jpg:large)
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-07 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 0-10
Extra Time to be played
Cross will be back to 15
Two black cards for Southern Gaels
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-09 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 0-11
Half Time in Extra Time
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-10 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 0-13
After Extra Time
Quarter Final
Saturday 6th December
12-30pm St Pauls
Jimmy McKee
Preliminary Round
Saturday 6th December
3-00pm The Dub
B Toland
Quarter Finals
Sunday 7th December
1-30pm St Pauls
M McErlane
Saturday 13th December
1-30pm St Pauls
C Hemsworth
Sunday 14th December
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-10 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 0-13 After Extra Time
Full Time: Crossmaglen Rangers 1-07 Southern Gaels 0-10
1-30pm St Pauls
B Toland
Quarter Final Replay
Saturday 20th December
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) v Southern Gaels(Cavan)
1-30pm St Pauls
Semi Finals
Sunday 21st December
Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) v Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan)
1-30pm St Pauls
Jimmy McKee
Friday 26th December
Armagh/Cavan v Burren St Marys(Down)
1-30pm St Pauls
M McErlane
Final
Thursday 1st January
1-30pm St Pauls
Video: How about this for a pressure kick at the end of extra-time at St Paul's today, Southern Gaels v Cross Rangers http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Southern-Gaels/Pressure-Kick--1401
Video: See 2nd Half highlights from Crossmaglen v Southern Gaels today at St Paul's with some brilliant scores. The first one has some 11 passes and then a great save by the Cross keeper..
http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Crossmaglen/Crossmaglen-1-10-Southern-Gaels-0-13---Highlights-Part-Two-1403 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Crossmaglen/Crossmaglen-1-10-Southern-Gaels-0-13---Highlights-Part-Two-1403)
Southern Gaels missed some amount of Goal chances, still lucky to come away with the draw. Serious pressure kick to level the game at the death. Hopefully they can put in another performance in the replay.
Paul Leddy would have buried one of those goal chances, was black carded in the first half.
Less whinging about amalgamations this week, suppose if they win the replay the moaning will recommence.
All seems to be a matter of who this Derry team will beat in the final anyway...
Still nice to be competitive in an Ulster Club tournament. Is Thomas Galligan still in Pat's rodney? Looks like a player..
He is yeah, midfield on the MacRory team. Himself and leddy are key players on that team. Leddy is Minor again next year, hopefully he makes himself available for co minors in 2015
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 15, 2014, 10:14:13 PM
Less whinging about amalgamations this week, suppose if they win the replay the moaning will recommence.
Serious question - why the need for all these amalgamations at minor level in Cavan? From what I remember a few years ago a team won the league on their own before joining forces with another club for the championship. I can understand the need if the numbers aren't there but surely the top teams can stand on their own?
Why the issue with it? It gives players a chance of playing at a high standard rather then going alone in Divison 2 or Divison 3 Minor Championship.
Not all Clubs are amalgamted - Ramor weren't an amalgamation last year. They were hit by a flu bug before the Silverbridge Semi last year, I think they would have the Ulster Minor Club otherwise
It also helps the County Minor and U21 teams - amalgamations..
Quote from: rodney trotter on December 16, 2014, 02:06:45 PM
Why the issue with it? It gives players a chance of playing at a high standard rather then going alone in Divison 2 or Divison 3 Minor Championship.
Not all Clubs are amalgamted - Ramor weren't an amalgamation last year. They were hit by a flu bug before the Silverbridge Semi last year, I think they would have the Ulster Minor Club otherwise
Maybe so but I doubt it. Glen played Ramor in a challenge last year and put 20 points on them.
They did - but that was a challenge game, I also doubt Ramor weren't at full strenght as good as Glen are were..
Quote from: rodney trotter on December 16, 2014, 02:27:44 PM
They did - but that was a challenge game, I also doubt Ramor weren't at full strenght as good as Glen are were..
Come on now Rodney. Yes we may have beat Silverbridge by 5 or so in the final but we were miles the better side and bar a dubious penalty would have won by more!
maybe had a flu bug as well?
No real issue with it - don't care either way.
Just think it goes against the ethos of the our games. Some clubs have no choice due to lack of numbers - that's fair enough.
Glen weren't getting beat by anybody last year.
Quote from: the dodger on December 16, 2014, 03:14:30 PM
No real issue with it - don't care either way.
Just think it goes against the ethos of the our games. Some clubs have no choice due to lack of numbers - that's fair enough.
Neither club would be fielding a minor team alone, Lacken or Gowna. Same with a few amalgamations in Cavan. Dernacrieve are the same every year and Drumport in recent years.
Quote from: bigball on December 16, 2014, 03:07:44 PM
maybe had a flu bug as well?
Flu during the summer?
Quote from: Walter Cronc on December 16, 2014, 02:36:05 PM
Come on now Rodney. Yes we may have beat Silverbridge by 5 or so in the final but we were miles the better side and bar a dubious penalty would have won by more!
well i wasn't at the final. Ramor were unlucky to lose to Silverbridge after extra time, w, they were unlucky to have been hit by that bug beforehand so would have been interesting if they were at full health ,anyways thats all in hindsight.
Looked the better team against Silverbridge
Will these boys finally beat Wattys? See match action, in-goal shots and interviews from Donaghmoyne and Erne Gaels, and a look ahead to Sunday's Semi-final with Watty Grahams..
http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Donaghmoyne/Donaghmoyne-are-up-for-Wattys-1405 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Donaghmoyne/Donaghmoyne-are-up-for-Wattys-1405)
Video Replay Preview: Crossmaglen v Southern Gaels on Saturday at 1.30pm http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Crossmaglen/Replay-Preview---Crossmaglen-v-Southern-Gaels-1406 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Crossmaglen/Replay-Preview---Crossmaglen-v-Southern-Gaels-1406)
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 0-00 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 0-00
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B5TVNKEIgAAceH7.jpg)
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-00 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 1-02
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-00 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 1-03
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-01 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 1-03
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-02 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 1-04
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-02 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 1-05
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-03 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 1-05
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-03 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 2-05
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 1-03 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 2-06
carta dubh - Cross
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 2-04 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 2-06
Half Time
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 2-05 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 2-06
2nd Half
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 2-05 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 3-06
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 2-05 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 3-07
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 2-06 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 3-07
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 2-06 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 3-08
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 2-06 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 3-09
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 2-06 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 3-10
Crossmaglen Rangers(Armagh) 2-07 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 3-10
Near the death
Sin é
Southern Gaels through to play Burren St Marys in the Semi Final this Friday.
Any day you beat a Crossmaglen side is a good one. Well done lads.
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B5TsfIyIEAEoCs9.jpg)
Goal Video: See Southern Gaels from Cavan beat Crossmaglen today at St Paul's in their Ulster Minor QF replay.. http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Southern-Gaels/Goal-Southern-Gaels-Crossmaglen-1407 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Southern-Gaels/Goal-Southern-Gaels-Crossmaglen-1407)
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B4QrhvtCcAETVjq.jpg)
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B5TVNKEIgAAceH7.jpg)
See all 5 goals from today, it wasn't a great afternoon for the goalkeepers. The last score on the video is pretty impressive, I wonder could these boys beat Watty Grahams if it ends up in a Final between them.. http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Southern-Gaels/5-Goals---Southern-Gaels-3-10-Crossmaglen-2-7--1408 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Southern-Gaels/5-Goals---Southern-Gaels-3-10-Crossmaglen-2-7--1408)
Christ there's some clangers in there. Seems like Watty's are a class above going by what the rest of the lads here are saying. If they were 20 points better than Ramor last year it's hard to imagine Southern Gaels could get near them...
What about Burren will they fancy their chances?
cant see Burren stopping the Wattys
Well done Southern Gaels. It will take a good team to stop them.
Burren won the U16 Paul McGirr recently so have some pedigree. 3 tough games should be a help for Southern Gaels, Burren got a bye into the Semis due to Donegal not having a team in the Ulster Minor - due to it dragging on for so long
Happened to be in Belfast yesterday and went to the cross match as a neutral, Southern Gaels played very well. Cross don't like been beat, SG didn't allow themselves get bullied
Quote from: hardstation on December 20, 2014, 11:37:12 PM
I'm hearing Glen and Donaghmoyne are putting a select 15 through to the final, just to even things up.
Yawn.
Does not knowing what you are talking about ever stop you from posting?
Glen Watty Grahams will obviously be the favourites again - Maghera have won the last 2 MacRory Cups and won a Hogan and beaten in the final this year good bulk of players from those teams - going for 4 in a row Ulster Minor Clubs
It's gas the way posters from Belfast and the like are having digs at Cavan clubs amalgamating. Lacken and Gowna are small rural areas - Maghera would be a fair size town with a lot players.
Watty Grahams 2-04 Donaghmoyne Fontenoys 0-03
8 minutes gone in 2nd Half
3-04 0-03
3-04 0-04
Donaghmoyne going for goals.
Watty's defence and goal keeper holding strong.
Another save.
Wattys break out and it's 4-04 to 0-04
4-04 0-05
4-04 1-05
4-04 1-06
4-04 1-06
All over
Wattys through to the Final.
Serious side again, restricted to only 8 scores, the opposition score 7 times and Glen win by 7.
Hats off to them. Teams like these come around very few time in life and should be acknowledged and credit given to them. Getting them to be force in senior football is now the challenge.
Here's video highlights from a very windy St Paul's today.. http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Watty-Grahams/Match-Highlights---Watty-Grahams-4-4-Donaghmoyne-1-6-1409 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Watty-Grahams/Match-Highlights---Watty-Grahams-4-4-Donaghmoyne-1-6-1409)
Quarter Final
Saturday 6th December
12-30pm St Pauls
Preliminary Round
Saturday 6th December
3-00pm The Dub
Quarter Finals
Sunday 7th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Saturday 13th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Sunday 14th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Quarter Final Replay
Saturday 20th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Semi Finals
Sunday 21st December
Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) 4-04 Donaghmoyne Fontenoys(Monaghan) 1-06
1-30pm St Pauls
Friday 26th December
Southern Gaels(Cavan) v Burren St Marys(Down)
1-30pm St Pauls
M McErlane
Final
Thursday 1st January
Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) v Cavan/Down
1-30pm St Pauls
Quote from: Blue06 on December 07, 2014, 07:15:37 PM
QuoteCatch yourself on. I don't give a monkeys what you lot do in the Cavan championship. It just shouldn't be allowed in Ulster. As the poster below pointed out Kerry amalgamations aren't allowed into Munster. And don't give me the number crap. Every county in Ireland has big clubs and small clubs. Last week Slaughtneil beat Omagh. I'm sure the numbers difference in the 2 clubs is vast. Also Moortown wouldn't exactly be a big club
This is NOT an official GAA competition. It is a tournament run by the St Pauls club in Belfast(that has got permission from the GAA to do so). It is up to them who they invite into it, and the criteria used, not some opinionated Derry folk.
Personally, I am against amalgamations. I prefer when my own club goes alone even if it means a heavy defeat is inevitable. It keeps players that might drift away about a bit longer. However, if the numbers don't add up then clubs have to amalgamate.
Exactly.
Played throuh December with the final on new years day. Nothing cheap about running a bus from Cavan to Belfast 3/4 times as well as feeding the Squad and management.
If I was from a club that won the tournament for the past 3 years i wouldn't care what any other County club was doing in all fairness.
Quote from: rodney trotter on December 21, 2014, 11:36:09 PM
Quote from: Blue06 on December 07, 2014, 07:15:37 PM
Exactly.
Played throuh December with the final on new years day. Nothing cheap about running a bus from Cavan to Belfast 3/4 times as well as feeding the Squad and management.
If I was from a club that won the tournament for the past 3 years i wouldn't care what any other County club was doing in all fairness.
So the jokes about Cavan people being tight with money are true after all. Having to pay the costs of having a team in Ulster is a great problem to have!
The man's right mind you about the expense involved. Meaningless expensive waste of time
Some amount of bullshit recently.
At the start of 2015 how many clubs would wish they wouldn't need the expense of having to fund two or three trips to Belfast in persuit of the title of best minor team in Ulster. I'd bet 95% of clubs would settle right now for that type of problem.
St Paul host a good competition that has the respect of the vast majority of teams who are considered good enough to receive an invitation to take part. It's small beer to complain about the cost of running buses etc and says more about the ambitions of a club who wouldn't look forward to taking part in it.
Yes BS I don't understand the negativity round this competition. Fantastic tournament and I'm sure the players would agree. St Pauls took on something which didn't exist and have done a fantastic job of it.
Fantastic Tournament, the quality of some of the games in absolutely shocking conditions over the years has been amazing.
A fantastic tournament. Have great memories of it. Watching what you ate over Christmas. Training with your club at a time of year when you never ever did. Frost on your laces. It created a great bond between the lads and is still something we talk about today.
Quote from: bennydorano on December 24, 2014, 02:01:56 PM
Fantastic Tournament, the quality of some of the games in absolutely shocking conditions over the years has been amazing.
You hit the nail on the head. Absolutely shocking conditions! Borders on child abuse
Southern Gaels 2-07 Burren 0-06
15 minutes gone in 2nd Half
There'll be time added for an injury.
Burren with the wind.
2-08 0-06
2-08 0-07
2-08 0-08
Southern Gaels down to 14
2-08 1-08
2-08 1-08
All over
Southern Gaels v Watty Grahams in the Final
Well done Southern Gaels. Hopefully they'll be able to keep the ball kicked out to Watty Grahams in the final.
Was it a straight red for the sending off?
A 2nd yellow.
Defrosting.
Really hate to see amalgamations in a competition like this. Hope St Paul's do the right thing and don't allow amalgamated winners entry in the future.
Video: See a brilliant individual goal for Southern Gaels in today's Ulster semi vs Burren at St Paul's by Thomas Galligan http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Southern-Gaels/Goal-Classy-Cavan-reach-Ulster-Final--1413
Quote from: DownFanatic on December 26, 2014, 03:31:41 PM
Really hate to see amalgamations in a competition like this. Hope St Paul's do the right thing and don't allow amalgamated winners entry in the future.
More soar losers. Take your bearing like a man and stop crying.
Population co down, 530,000. Assumed half are unionist = 265,000. 48 clubs in Down so 5500 per each club.
Population Cavan 73,000. 39 clubs so 1870 per club.
Clearly Down have can unfair advantage on Cavan and should be kicked out of all these tournaments as their clubs are on average 4 times larger than their Cavan equivalent.
Quote from: Itchy on December 26, 2014, 04:41:49 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on December 26, 2014, 03:31:41 PM
More soar losers. Take your bearing like a man and stop crying.
Population co down, 530,000. Assumed half are unionist = 265,000. 48 clubs in Down so 5500 per each club.
Population Cavan 73,000. 39 clubs so 1870 per club.
Clearly Down have can unfair advantage on Cavan and should be kicked out of all these tournaments as their clubs are on average 4 times larger than their Cavan equivalent.
40 Clubs Itchy,so your maths are wrong ;D
2 small country clubs, with barely a decent pick between them(with half of Gowna's parish playing in Longford) and they have an unfair advantage.
I hope you all whingers(especially the Belfast one) enjoyed this result.
Great win for the Southern Gaels lads. And now a chance to test themselves against the very best in the final. Thomas Galligan with another commanding performance I hear. Jerome Quinn has marked him as his player of the tournament so far.
I have! He's been brilliant in all four games though he now has an injury. Here's my video report from today: Black cards, lucky goals, great goals & lots of rain. http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Southern-Gaels/Match-Report---Southern-Gaels-2-8-Burren-1-8-1414 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Southern-Gaels/Match-Report---Southern-Gaels-2-8-Burren-1-8-1414)
Itchy, your spelling of `soar losers' is about as reliable as your take on the GAA in Down. We officially have 48 clubs, but four are hurling only and one on the football side stopped fielding during the season, so 43 would be closer to the mark.
More to the point, it is difficult to see how you can assume that Down is 50/50 between unionists and nationalists. North Down borough council, for example, which includes the densely populated Bangor area, has one GAA club in its entire district.
Congratulations on Southern Gaels on their win today, but there are large parts of Co Down where it is very difficult to draw a valid comparison with a staunch GAA heartland like Cavan.
Mourne River,sorry about the spelling. Didn't have census to hand so split Down 50:50, should it be 60:40 well if so fair enough. By reducing the amount of clubs the ratio of people to club goes up making my case stronger. This idea that some howcsiutherb Gaels are at an advantage is a joke and its only when they win that the moaning starts here.
MR,don't think itchy was having a go at Down,but just replying to DF,using the numbers in Down as an example. And you'd have to say its hard to argue with his logic there. From the posts from Cavan it doesn't seem like these two clubs joined up in an opportunist manner,more that they had to in order to field. If that is the case,and the team happens to be strong,more power to them.(on a tangent,and I'm not trying to wind up cross or burren,but both have taken players from outside their parish boundaries in recent years.) Most of the negative comments re Southern Gaels come across as sour grades if you ask me.
As a member of the losing panel yesterday I think Down Fanatic needs to wise up. If an amalgamation has to be done, it has to be done. Congratulations to Southern Gaels and best of luck in the final.
Fair play to you young fella. Whoever you are you're a credit to your family and community for displaying such a sporting attitude.
(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/143_zps0089ba1b.png)
Quote from: OgraAnDun on December 27, 2014, 10:48:15 AM
As a member of the losing panel yesterday I think Down Fanatic needs to wise up. If an amalgamation has to be done, it has to be done. Congratulations to Southern Gaels and best of luck in the final.
Fair play.
On a more general note amalgamations are needed in many areas to enable players to get games. The problem is if these get manipulated for the win at all costs ideal.( I know nothing about Southern Gaels so am not saying anything against them). I feel the GAA should be able to put rules in place to counter this e.g. restricting amalgamations based on the number of registered players at that age group.
A club in an area with 16000 people is admired as a strong club, but if two clubs with 800 to pick from combine their minor team they are undermining the spirit of the GAA!
Amalgamations are sometimes necessary and highly unlikely that most commenting on southern gaels know anything about their needs...
Sean stinsons won four in a row minors in antrim and few batted an eyelid. Funny enough the smaller of the two clubs in the amalgamation has currently benefited most. (Though generally portglenone have benefited more). The clubs would barely be fit to field a team of their own at underage.
The St Paul's tournament is in essence a "club" tournament. Southern Gaels are not a club. They are an amalgamation and therefore I believe that amalgamations should not be allowed to enter a club tournament.
In Down there are 9-a-side and 13-a-side underage league and championships. This allows clubs with smaller picks to field on their own without having to join up with neighbouring clubs in order to get a 15-a-side team. Do Cavan provide for smaller sided leagues and championships within their competition structures?
The whole amalgamation route is open to abuse. What's to stop a couple of clubs in Cavan getting together next year with the sole aim of winning their county MFC and then making a go at the St Paul's tournament?
St Paul's are free to run their tournament any way they want. If they stipulate that all keepers must be lesbians then so be it.
Quote from: ONeill on December 27, 2014, 09:56:21 PM
St Paul's are free to run their tournament any way they want. If they stipulate that all keepers must be lesbians then so be it.
Superb retaliation there.
I played on an amalgamation for 4 years. If we didn't amalgamate one of the teams wouldn't have fielded at underage for a decade whilst the other would have been hammered in every game in the lowest grade.
They are now 2 independent small strong clubs.
I'm all for amalgamations as long as it's within the spirit of the rules - the top criteria being whether or not a club could reasonably field on their own. Now if this amalgamation gave a clearly unfair advantage to a team then maybe it should be reviewed.
The reality is that even the combined player base of both clubs still leave it hard enough to get 17/18 players for matches, and some of the teams we play have far more players available.
In our case Portglenone and Ahoghill join at underage level as Sean Stinsons, and the experiment has been a resounding success.
It's not that Stinsons are a major force all of a sudden. We win no more titles than most other clubs at underage level. It's at senior that the results are seen. Both Portglenone and Ahoghill play Division 1 next year, and before the amalgamation twenty years ago both clubs would be fluctuating between divisions two and four!
Quote from: ONeill on December 27, 2014, 10:06:47 PM
I played on an amalgamation for 4 years. If we didn't amalgamate one of the teams wouldn't have fielded at underage for a decade whilst the other would have been hammered in every game in the lowest grade.
I've nothing against amalgamations. My own club was amalgamated with our parish neighbours for 11 years at underage level.
I'm against amalgamations entering prestigious provincial "club" tournaments.
Then I go back to the lesbian comment. St Paul's had the hindsight to run a tournament years back for minor county champions. Now people are telling the club how to run it.
So, punish SG for having a decent side this year? Sure why don't we go through all the sides and see if anyone was poached/encouraged to change to the club a bit down the road.
Quote from: ONeill on December 27, 2014, 10:32:18 PM
Then I go back to the lesbian comment. St Paul's had the hindsight to run a tournament years back for minor county champions. Now people are telling the club how to run it.
So, punish SG for having a decent side this year? Sure why don't we go through all the sides and see if anyone was poached/encouraged to change to the club a bit down the road.
To reiterate my point: I think the tournament should be for clubs only as allowing amalgamations into the fold devalues it.
Surely imalgamations are born out of sheer necessity ?. I'd be confident that in most cases, clubs don't want to join up with other clubs, who are usually bitter rivals.
Quote from: orangeman on December 27, 2014, 10:45:01 PM
Surely imalgamations are born out of sheer necessity ?. I'd be confident that in most cases, clubs don't want to join up with other clubs, who are usually bitter rivals.
They are but it can be open to abuse.
Quote from: DownFanatic on December 27, 2014, 10:55:03 PM
Can you give an example?
Quote from: ONeill on December 27, 2014, 11:07:50 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on December 27, 2014, 10:55:03 PM
Can you give an example?
3 or 4 years ago an amalgamation won the Cavan minor championship. One of the amalgamated clubs won the league on their own before joining up with another to win the championship. Good enough example??
Glory-hunting amalgamations shouldn't happen.
But that example you mentioned - was it not the case of the weaker side not being able to compete without amalgamating?
Is anyone from cavan complaining about this or just people from outside their county?
Quote from: ONeill on December 28, 2014, 01:03:47 AM
Glory-hunting amalgamations shouldn't happen.
But that example you mentioned - was it not the case of the weaker side not being able to compete without amalgamating?
I think Strabane should almagalmate with the moon.
Can't understand what the hassle is about. As I've said before the tournament is sh1te. Just read the match reports. I'd love to have a quid for every time the term 'deplorable' 'miserable' 'terrible' 'awful' has been used to describe the conditions. It's a miracle some lad hasn't been seriously injured. Unfortunately it's only a matter of time before it does happen
Quote from: Nigel White on December 28, 2014, 03:14:55 AM
Can't understand what the hassle is about. As I've said before the tournament is sh1te. Just read the match reports. I'd love to have a quid for every time the term 'deplorable' 'miserable' 'terrible' 'awful' has been used to describe the conditions. It's a miracle some lad hasn't been seriously injured. Unfortunately it's only a matter of time before it does happen
Same conditions for Ulster Club championship and all Ireland club. More shit competition too then? I'm surprised with the weather sooo bad in Jan its played ...
Wise up. The lads in it love it regardless of who they are playing. As exemplified by the burren poster above.
Thomas Galligan injured and could be out for Southern Gaels, be a huge blow. They'll need to be at full strength to have any hope.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2014, 11:04:47 AM
Quote from: Nigel White on December 28, 2014, 03:14:55 AM
Same conditions for Ulster Club championship and all Ireland club. More shit competition too then? I'm surprised with the weather sooo bad in Jan its played ...
Mill town, don't know where you have been living at, but to suggest the pitch conditions at shaws road is even closely comparable to the county ground stadia surfaces that the Ulster club is played on is like comparing The celebrations in Portrush on 12 th July to St Patrick's day celebrations in New York on the 17th. The shaws road pitch is shite, plain and simple
Quote from: http://www.wattygrahamsgac.com/Documents/Watty%20Graham%27s,%20Glen%20Notes%208t on December 08, 2014, 03:49:00 PM
Minor Football:
Our Minors made the now annual journey to St Paul's on the Shaw's Road on Saturday for the Quarter Final of the Ulster Championship against Rossa from Belfast.
Played on a vastly improved pitch, Glen faced the breeze in the first Half
Video: See the Top Ten Best Scores at the Kukri Sports St Paul's Ulster Minor Tournament & Vote for your favourite here.. http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/St-Pauls/Top-Ten-Best-Scores-at-St-Pauls-1415 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/St-Pauls/Top-Ten-Best-Scores-at-St-Pauls-1415)
Quote from: DownFanatic on December 27, 2014, 10:23:32 PM
I've nothing against amalgamations. My own club was amalgamated with our parish neighbours for 11 years at underage level.
I think you need to stop posting here until you realise how daft you are been.
Quote from: tommysmith on December 30, 2014, 10:01:32 AM
Tommy, your r the one who is daft, I understand precisely what he means
Quote from: shawshank on December 30, 2014, 03:08:54 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on December 30, 2014, 10:01:32 AM
Tommy, your r the one who is daft, I understand precisely what he means
I know well what he means.
Quarter Final
Saturday 6th December
12-30pm St Pauls
Preliminary Round
Saturday 6th December
3-00pm The Dub
Quarter Finals
Sunday 7th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Saturday 13th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Sunday 14th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Quarter Final Replay
Saturday 20th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Semi Finals
Sunday 21st December
1-30pm St Pauls
Friday 26th December
Southern Gaels(Cavan) 2-08 Burren St Marys(Down) 1-08
1-30pm St Pauls
Final
Thursday 1st January
Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) v Southern Gaels(Cavan)
1-30pm St Pauls
Jimmy McKee
Glen Watty Grahams 0-00 Southern Gaels 0-00
Watty Grahams always on the left for this.
Southern Gaels with the wind
2 minutes gone
0-01 0-00
Good defending by Wattys
0-01 0-01
0-01 1-01
Low loose ball kicked to the net
0-01 1-02
Watty forwards spilling ball against the wind
First yellow goes to Southern Gaels.
Wattys get one almost immediately
0-02 1-02
0-03 1-02
Is the wind bad? I expect Southern Gaels will need a decent lead at Half time.
12 mph wind
0-04 1-02
0-04 1-03
Watty Grahams 0-04 Southern Gaels 1-03
Half Time
Not a great lead with the wind. They'll need a goal or two if they're to have any hope. Watty's to lose now..
Southern Gaels back out first
Wattys appearing now.
Match back on this second.
0-05 1-03
Wind just as strong
0-05 2-03
Another loose ball booted in
0-06 2-03
0-07 2-03
0-08 2-03
0-09 2-03
0-10 2-03
0-11 2-03
0-11 2-04
0-11 2-05
Reads like a classic! Even in 12 mph winds.
Into the last ten of normal time
Great stuff here
0-12 2-06
Battery about to cut out
0-13 2-07
Extra 5ime to be played
No battery left
Get her charged in the press box.
Glen 0.13, SouthrenGaels 2.8.
Glen0.15 Southern Gaels2.8
Glen 0.16, Southern Gaels2.8, 66 gone
Glen 0.16 SouthernGaels 2.8 .
Glen 016.SouthernGaels 0.14, half time extra time.
Wattys with the wind in the 2nd Half
Glen 0.17 Southern Gaels 2.8
1-17 2-08
All over bar the whistle, well done to Glen Wattys Grahams. Superb achievement.
Digging match
1 red each
All over
Watty Grahams 1-17 Southern Gaels 2-08
After Extra Time
Sounds like it was a cracker
FULL TIME GLEN 1.17 SOUTHERN GAELS 2.8
Congratulations to Glen. What a team! Well done to all involved.
An unbelievable achievement from Glen,congratulations to them.
Congratulations to Wattys, a great set up at underage and will be some team if they push through to senior.
Drive for five starts tomorrow!
What a club.
Congrats to Watty Grahams, 4-in a row is some achievement.
Hard luck to Southern Gaels, great to see our representatives give this tournament a proper go. Well done to Watty's, fantastic achievement.
Congratulations to Watty Grahams on their 4th St Paul's Ulster Minor title, after extra-time. Great game. Video will follow.
Well done to Wattys, super club at this level. Three extra games for Gaels meant they probably struggled for legs in extra time. Fine achievement all the same.
Video: See Watty Graham's winning goal in today's Ulster Minor Final at St Paul's http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Watty-Grahams/Goal-for-Watty-Grahams--1419
Can't see any team ever doing what Glen have done and they're not finished yet.
Well done Glen and hard luck to Southern Gaels.
We'll done to the Glen Maghera club and to our resident poster Walter who is a proud Watties man.
Video: See 5 minutes highlights from today's Ulster Minor Final.. http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Watty-Grahams/Highlights---Watty-Grahams-1-17-Southern-Gaels-2-8-AET-1420 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Watty-Grahams/Highlights---Watty-Grahams-1-17-Southern-Gaels-2-8-AET-1420)
Quarter Final
Saturday 6th December
12-30pm St Pauls
Preliminary Round
Saturday 6th December
3-00pm The Dub
Quarter Finals
Sunday 7th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Saturday 13th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Sunday 14th December
(Full Time: Crossmaglen Rangers 1-07 Southern Gaels 0-10)
1-30pm St Pauls
Quarter Final Replay
Saturday 20th December
1-30pm St Pauls
Semi Finals
Sunday 21st December
1-30pm St Pauls
Friday 26th December
Southern Gaels(Cavan) 2-08 Burren St Marys(Down) 1-08
1-30pm St Pauls
Final
Thursday 1st January
Glen Watty Grahams(Derry) 1-17 Southern Gaels(Cavan) 2-08 After Extra Time
(Full Time: Watty Grahams 0-13 Southern Gaels 2-07)
1-30pm St Pauls
Video: See a new report with interviews & celebrations as Watty Grahams win the St Paul's Ulster Final.. http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Watty-Grahams/Bursting-with-pride---Wattys-Manager-1421 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/Watty-Grahams/Bursting-with-pride---Wattys-Manager-1421)
Wattys win Best Score of the Tournament from their only entry in the Top Ten... do you agree?
http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/St-Pauls/Top-Ten-Best-Scores-at-St-Pauls-1415 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/St-Pauls/Top-Ten-Best-Scores-at-St-Pauls-1415)
Quote from: Any craic on January 06, 2015, 10:24:50 PM
Wattys win Best Score of the Tournament from their only entry in the Top Ten... do you agree?
http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/St-Pauls/Top-Ten-Best-Scores-at-St-Pauls-1415 (http://jeromequinnmedia.com/video/St-Pauls-201415/St-Pauls/Top-Ten-Best-Scores-at-St-Pauls-1415)
Agreed! :)
Cavan comments defending the amalgamations... from Creggan on Sunday where St Joseph's (Arva, Drumlane & Killeshandra) beat Cullyhanna http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=230406 (http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=230406)