Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2014, 01:49:54 PM

Title: NCAA at Croke Park - Penn State v UCF
Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2014, 01:49:54 PM
Sorry for not putting this in the American Sports Thread, but given it's imminent date and the fact it's in Ireland I thought it merited a new thread. Anyone heading to this? UCF were good last year, won the Fiesta Bowl actually, but they've lost Blake Bortles. Penn State would obviously be one of *the* big names in US College Sports, but they've been hit by sanctions since the Jerry Sandusky incidents at Penn State, and this is really their bowl game you suspect.

Apparently 20,000 fans from the US making the trip. If it was in the Aviva it would probably sell out. Hard to see it topping 50k or so at Croker though, although it is nice of the Dubs to let these teams play there.
Title: Re: NCAA at Croke Park - Penn State v UCF
Post by: magpie seanie on August 12, 2014, 01:53:03 PM
Will it be on TV? Have a thing on here in Sligo that weekend but wouldn't mind a look. Probably ESPN I suppose.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2014, 02:00:36 PM
Yeah, it's on ESPN 2 in the states. Not sure about ESPN or BT Sports here, but wouldn't be surprised.
Post by: orangeman on August 12, 2014, 02:10:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 12, 2014, 01:49:54 PM
Sorry for not putting this in the American Sports Thread, but given it's imminent date and the fact it's in Ireland I thought it merited a new thread. Anyone heading to this? UCF were good last year, won the Fiesta Bowl actually, but they've lost Blake Bortles. Penn State would obviously be one of *the* big names in US College Sports, but they've been hit by sanctions since the Jerry Sandusky incidents at Penn State, and this is really their bowl game you suspect.

Apparently 20,000 fans from the US making the trip. If it was in the Aviva it would probably sell out. Hard to see it topping 50k or so at Croker though, although it is nice of the Dubs to let these teams play there.

Dont Matter doesn't need goaded like this !!  :)
Post by: Syferus on August 12, 2014, 03:41:12 PM
I'd head up if any of the lads around here had a bit of interest in it. If there's still life in UCF without Bortles this could be a very good game, the winners should be well on the path to being a top 20 team at least.
Post by: Rois on August 12, 2014, 04:10:10 PM
I got Mr Rois tickets for it for Christmas.  Seems so long ago now. 

We looked at the packages they were offering the college alumni on their websites - $10k before airfare to come and play four rounds of golf around the country or something like that. 

Anyone know if the premium ticket holders/box ticket holders have any benefits for this one?  If they had any options I suppose they'd have had to take up the offers by now.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2014, 04:15:55 PM
Dunno, but I'm in a premium box as well, so I hope so :)
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on August 12, 2014, 05:39:52 PM
I am taking my son to this - he has been waiting for this since Christmas, and is NFL mad!
Anyone know if there any events based around the match that I could take him to before/after?

Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2014, 05:59:52 PM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on August 12, 2014, 05:39:52 PM
I am taking my son to this - he has been waiting for this since Christmas, and is NFL mad!
Anyone know if there any events based around the match that I could take him to before/after?

There is alright. I saw something and I'm sure the marching bands will be there. I'll take a look for you.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 12, 2014, 07:41:10 PM
http://www.crokepark.ie/crokeparkclassic/about/croke-park-to-be-transfromed-into-an-american-spec.aspx
Post by: laoislad on August 12, 2014, 08:59:45 PM
Time for another residents protest.
Post by: orangeman on August 12, 2014, 09:54:20 PM
Dublin should start a NFL franchise to allow players not good enough for the Gaelic and hurling teams to play.

A combined Dublin colleges team would have a decent pick.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on August 12, 2014, 10:35:38 PM
Thanks Lads - I have a wedding on the Friday so won't be able to get to the events there, but the Temple Bar thing sounds like a good shout
Post by: donelli on August 13, 2014, 12:14:57 AM
This game starts at 1.30. How long does it last/time expected to be over at?
Post by: Rossfan on August 13, 2014, 10:55:49 AM
Will this load of armour plated foreign game sh1te not eff up the pitch the day before an All Ireland Semi final? >:( >:(
If we must have this stuff in a GAA Ground why not hive it off to Limerick where there's a fine Stadium which has been filled about twice since redevelopment?
Post by: magpie seanie on August 13, 2014, 11:11:57 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 13, 2014, 10:55:49 AM
Will this load of armour plated foreign game sh1te not eff up the pitch the day before an All Ireland Semi final? >:( >:(
If we must have this stuff in a GAA Ground why not hive it off to Limerick where there's a fine Stadium which has been filled about twice since redevelopment?

Not a clue, have you?
Post by: Hardy on August 13, 2014, 11:18:05 AM

Interestingly enough, during our decades of cringing obsession with bans and prohibitions, American throwball was played several times at Croke Park and was never considered a "foreign game".  On the other hand, soccer and rugby, played by hundreds of thousands of our own people, were officially "foreign".
Post by: Rossfan on August 13, 2014, 11:49:50 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 13, 2014, 11:11:57 AM

Not a clue, have you?

Enlighten me please.

Hardy I think we all know that "foreign" meant of British origin. Americans were more or less Irish to the banning crowd .......
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 13, 2014, 11:50:43 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 13, 2014, 11:18:05 AM

Interestingly enough, during our decades of cringing obsession with bans and prohibitions, American throwball was played several times at Croke Park and was never considered a "foreign game".  On the other hand, soccer and rugby, played by hundreds of thousands of our own people, were officially "foreign".
The word "foreign" has never been mentioned in any GAA rule book, statute or guideline that I'm aware of. At some stage, in the scramble for the high moral ground, the quotations were added to slyly suggest that they are.

(http://www.middleclasshandbook.co.uk/storage/drevillaser.gif?__SQUARESPACE_CACHEVERSION=1349192979012)

Post by: Hardy on August 13, 2014, 12:41:14 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on August 13, 2014, 11:50:43 AM

The word "foreign" has never been mentioned in any GAA rule book, statute or guideline that I'm aware of. At some stage, in the scramble for the high moral ground, the quotations were added to slyly suggest that they are.

You're right in so far as I shouldn't have said "officially". But the words "foreign games" were part of the vocabulary of the official GAA and the concept part of the DNA.
Post by: deiseach on August 13, 2014, 01:01:55 PM

After all these years, you find that interesting?
Post by: Hardy on August 13, 2014, 01:44:43 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 13, 2014, 01:01:55 PM

After all these years, you find that interesting?

I'm easily interested and it's not that many years since we were hotly debating Rule 42 here.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 13, 2014, 04:58:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 13, 2014, 12:41:14 PM

You're right in so far as I shouldn't have said "officially". But the words "foreign games" were part of the vocabulary of the official GAA and the concept part of the DNA.
If I were to invent a machine analyse it, those who coined the term were more likely to be outside the tent peeing in, than inside the tent peeing on themselves.

And as for those who prefix it "so called"!
Or those who prefix anything with "so called". Like "so called weaker counties". Happy to use the term to advance their argument, but playing to the gallery by pretending they don't like it.
It's usually so called experts who do this!
Post by: The Biff on August 13, 2014, 05:37:24 PM
I'm bringing Biff Junior and a few of his pals along.  I was at a few of the past instalments of these events here, including in the old Landsdowne Rd stadium and in the old Croker too.  It amazed me the amount of people who are pitch-side for each team, and the whole warm-up routines before the game.  The Americans sure know how to put on a real spectacle.

So who should we be cheering for?  Who is the underdog?  Is Penn State "perceived" to have the greater Irish connections?
Post by: Rossfan on August 13, 2014, 05:43:47 PM

Can anyone find what was the actual wording of the oul Rule 27 abolished in 1971?
Post by: magpie seanie on August 13, 2014, 06:08:40 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 13, 2014, 11:49:50 AM

Not a clue, have you?

Enlighten me please.

Hardy I think we all know that "foreign" meant of British origin. Americans were more or less Irish to the banning crowd .......

"Armour plated"? Do I need to explain that no-one is wearing plate armour? "Foreign game" - correct, the game does not originate in Ireland but I thought we had got over the use of that term a long time ago. "sh1te" - opinions are like arseholes etc but many, many hundreds of thousands of people would disagree with you. College football is hugely popular in the US and NFL is miles ahead as the most popular sport there. The popularity extends beyond the US. To refer to it as "armour plated foreign game sh1te" or "this stuff" indicates it's some sort of freak show, not the most popular sport in one of the biggest countries in the world.

As for whether it will "eff up the pitch the day before an All Ireland Semi final?" - this shows a complete ignorance again of the game and Croke Park. Perhaps you are thinking of rugby with scrums etc and the old Lansdowne Road pitch? American football is quite different. It has no rugby scrums (they are in rugby - are you still with me?). It is another foreign game but it is not the same. Also the surface of Croke Park is of the highest standard and well able to take multiple matches in a short space of time.

As for sending the game to Limerick again just an insulting comment in line with the rest of your post. It was mentioned earlier over 50,000 will attend including 20,000 visitors from the US so for that reason alone (though there are many others) Limerick would of course be a silly idea.

I hope this helps you avoid making a fool of yourself again.
Post by: Syferus on August 13, 2014, 06:09:44 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 13, 2014, 05:43:47 PM

Can anyone find what was the actual wording of the oul Rule 27 abolished in 1971?

Hope your Leaving Cert results went well today, Ross.
Post by: Rossfan on August 13, 2014, 07:24:42 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 13, 2014, 06:08:40 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 13, 2014, 11:49:50 AM

Not a clue, have you?

Enlighten me please.

"Armour plated"? Do I need to explain that no-one is wearing plate armour? so they wear just jerseys and shorts like GAA or Soccer teams?"
Foreign game" - correct, the game does not originate in Ireland but I thought we had got over the use of that term a long time ago.
"sh1te" - opinions are like arseholes etc but many, many hundreds of thousands of people would disagree with you. College football is hugely popular in the US and NFL is miles ahead as the most popular sport there. The popularity extends beyond the US. To refer to it as "armour plated foreign game sh1te" or "this stuff" indicates it's some sort of freak show, not the most popular sport in one of the biggest countries in the world. - George W Bush was very popular there too

As for whether it will "eff up the pitch the day before an All Ireland Semi final?" - this shows a complete ignorance again of the game and Croke Park. Perhaps you are thinking of rugby with scrums etc and the old Lansdowne Road pitch? American football is quite different. It has no rugby scrums (they are in rugby - are you still with me?). It is another foreign game but it is not the same. Also the surface of Croke Park is of the highest standard and well able to take multiple matches in a short space of time. - We'll see on that one
As for sending the game to Limerick again just an insulting comment in line with the rest of your post. It was mentioned earlier over 50,000 will attend including 20,000 visitors from the US so for that reason alone (though there are many others) Limerick would of course be a silly idea. - So all visitors should only go to Dublin??? Sending people to Limerick is an insult??? Gaelic Grounds can hold up to 50,000 by the way.

I hope this helps you avoid making a fool of yourself again. - The only fools are those who will pay money to watch that shtuff
I'll be praying for rain in Dublin that day  :P
Post by: Rossfan on August 13, 2014, 07:26:27 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 13, 2014, 06:09:44 PM
Hope your Leaving Cert results went well today, Ross.

Done and dusted before you were born a Shyfín  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 25, 2014, 01:31:26 PM
Well fellow heathens, who is still going to this? I'm looking forward now. Heading up on Friday to get the high school game at UCD, and then the big one on Saturday. After the match then, find a pub and watch Kerry - Mayo. Actually, if the GAA had cop on, they should show Kerry Limerick on the big screen and keep the people in the ground drinking GAA beer.
Post by: Syferus on August 25, 2014, 01:37:21 PM
Not a hope of me going to this one now. College football is all well and good but even the novelty isn't worth missing an AISF for.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 25, 2014, 01:42:40 PM
I hope you don't get a ticket for Limerick :D
Post by: dec on August 25, 2014, 02:29:42 PM

"Any member of the Association who plays or encourages in any way rugby, football, hockey or any imported game which is calculated to injuriously affect our National Pastimes, is suspended from the Association."
Post by: Rossfan on August 25, 2014, 03:25:40 PM
Quote from: dec on August 25, 2014, 02:29:42 PM

"Any member of the Association who plays or encourages in any way rugby, football, hockey or any imported game which is calculated to injuriously affect our National Pastimes, is suspended from the Association."
Football !!!!!!???
Post by: magpie seanie on August 25, 2014, 04:36:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 25, 2014, 03:25:40 PM
Quote from: dec on August 25, 2014, 02:29:42 PM

Football !!!!!!???

Must have been written by some of Cyril Farrell's "hurling people" friends.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 29, 2014, 04:51:39 PM
Some crowd for the pep rally

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BwN3peuCcAEY79Q.jpg:large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BwN1YX8CcAAiNgK.jpg:large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BwN6As5IQAAHcSy.jpg:large)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 30, 2014, 12:06:54 AM
Yeah there was a great crowd in at it. Bit of craic.
Post by: heffo on August 30, 2014, 08:02:40 AM
Was at it, enjoyed it. What was the story with the crowd shouting 'you're welcome' whenever a speaker thanked them?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 30, 2014, 08:08:23 AM
No, that's their chant. It's very funny/strange/American.

Speaker : we are....
Crowd : Penn State

S: We Are
C: Penn State

S: WE ARE
C: PENN STATE

S: THANK YOU!
C: YOU'RE WELCOME.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on August 30, 2014, 08:51:33 AM
Who are you supporting AZ?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 30, 2014, 09:34:52 AM
More of an onlooker, but given Penn States tradition, the fact that their players have had a very hard time these past few years due to events completely out of their control, and given that UCF won a BCS bowl game last year, I think I'll go for Penn State.

UCF are slight favourites too. 4/5 versus 21/20 on Paddy Power. The Vegas line is ucf a. 1 to 2 point favourite.
Post by: Hardy on August 30, 2014, 10:20:50 AM
Is that plonker Feherty going to be on the telly again, patronising his native country and generally acting the root?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 30, 2014, 10:53:42 AM
Doubt it. The ballix.
Post by: rrhf on August 30, 2014, 11:00:10 AM
i think we can win this.  hopefully we get plenty of first and second downs.. if we throw the ball longer and better than them i think we might have an edge.  if we start the game crap we can bring on our 15 subs at the one time and see how they deal with mass substitution.
Post by: orangeman on August 31, 2014, 12:50:37 AM
All didn't go to plan :

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/touchdown-skydiver-misses-the-stadium-prior-to-croke-park-classic-30549042.html
Post by: Hardy on August 31, 2014, 09:21:10 AM
I noticed they had about 18 referees on the pitch. Maybe that's the way we should go in the GAA.
Post by: orangeman on August 31, 2014, 12:30:27 PM
Some razmatazz in Croke Park yesterday. The hallowed turf with cleats in. The place full to the steel rafters. F16 fighter jets with sonioc booms deafening the local residents and not a sign of the Dublin city environmental deptartment with their sound meters. Special dispensation given to take all the alcohol you wanted to your seat ( although the previous week this wasn't on ).Cheerleaders on the grass.

I can see a proper NFL game coming shortly.

And the place coming down with green backs.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 01, 2014, 12:19:44 PM
Can't believe they misrepresented hurling with that Super Elevens BS at half time. It was an opportunity to showcase hurling. Instead they showcased a non-existent game that looks more like lacrosse.  >:(
Post by: AZOffaly on September 01, 2014, 12:21:42 PM
Eamonn, it actually looked brilliant. I was very impressed, and the American's there were very delighted with it. Don't worry though, I explained that this was just an exhibition thing, and the real game was even better. I told them to check ye out when they got home.
Post by: Hardy on September 01, 2014, 02:32:26 PM
I didn't watch much of it, but I did hear the American commentator at the start saying, "This place holds 82,000 for soccer". Sorta punctured the PR initiative for football and hurling.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 01, 2014, 02:34:42 PM
Did he? Dope :)
Post by: The Biff on September 01, 2014, 05:51:09 PM
I couldn't hear much of the stadium commentator, but it seems I didn't miss much.  Miscellaneous observations:

Post by: AZOffaly on September 02, 2014, 05:03:13 PM
A few of my takes on your observations.
Quote from: The Biff on September 01, 2014, 05:51:09 PM
I couldn't hear much of the stadium commentator, but it seems I didn't miss much.  Miscellaneous observations:

• Some crowd in Temple Bar beforehand, and it's great to have a part of the city like that to give a focus point for all the tourists.  Really buzzing down there.
Yup. I was in there on Friday and it was great. Decided against it on Saturday based on the fact that I thought the buses would be inadequate, so went to Croke Park hotel instead.
  • Shuttle buses from there to Croker were completely inadequate (take a bow of shame Dublin Bus) so we walked.
No Surprise.
  • Good chuckle at the parachutist missing the ground; I wonder was he Irish or from UCF?
Not sure. Jaysus I got a fright though, i thought he hit the back wall of the Hill. He could have killed himself. Apparently he landed on the train track.
  • The yanks don't sing their own anthem, leaving it to the choir.  We sang the Irish one though with the usual gusto.
No, they typically don't. They stand with their hand on their heart. We sing it with our hands behind our backs :)
  • Beer at your seat while watching the game - dont think it would really work with a GAA match as there would be too much action and much more lepping around.
Probably agree, although it was nice to be able to bring a pint in.
  • Very few of the fans around me got in any way animated about the game.  Only good quip was one guy shouting at the refs - "We know you're staying in the Radisson".
The crowd near me, mostly UCF, were into it alright but I thought the Irish fans were good too. Everyone knew what was going on, compared to 20 years ago.
  • Far far too many stoppages in play (TV ad breaks I presume).  I reckon the players must hate it if they would only admit it.
I think they are used to it. Probably doesn't even cross their minds. Plus they like the breather.
  • Really bad planning to let the two teams play in light colours (white vs pale gold/cream).  From a distance, you could tell nothing about what was happening in the scrimmages.
Agreed. I thought Penn State would have been in their Blues.
  • Quite enjoyed the Hurling 11's except that the Irish commentator didn't really know which team was which (Munster v Leinster), called both goalies "Nicky Quaid" at different times.  Definitely a concept worth pursuing to suit small pitches with only soccer goals available.
That guy did my head in. The hurling was great though.
  • UCF were really rubbish, ridiculous amount of "false-starts", couldn't play a rushing game to scratch themselves.  Replacement QB at half-time was way better.
They were missing their starting RB who apparently missed curfew. That probably explains the running game, although Penn States linebackers were good against the run. Yes, O'LEary made the wrong choice of starting QB, and I think that job is now with the lad that came in.
  • Penn State fans so much louder, and justice achieved with the final result.  They were so much better than UCF that it would have shown up badly if UCF had held out in the end.
Were you in the Cusack? I think that was the 'Penn State' side. UCF were loud where we were, but Penn State had far more fans.
  • Croke Park looked really well for the game.  With so many on the sideline, I dont know how this would fit in the Aviva.
the Aviva is perfect for it. Fits like a glove. The Notre Dame game there in 2012 was like it was made for American Football. Bear in mind the length of a soccer or rugby pitch is much closer to American Football which is 120 yards including the end zones. The American Football pitch is much narrower, so there is loads of room even in the Aviva.
  • Incredible to see the pitch on TV on Sunday without a trace of the previous day's action.
Absolutely. Credit to the groundstaff. I stayed in Croker to watch the Mayo game in the premium section, and they were doing the pitch and the goals at that time. Unreal job.
[/list]