GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: From the Bunker on April 14, 2014, 07:46:58 PM

Title: PRELIMINARY ROUND: New York v MAYO (Gaelic Park, New York, 4th May)
Post by: From the Bunker on April 14, 2014, 07:46:58 PM
Anybody on this board heading over, already over there or been over for this fixture?

One lad from Ballyvary (Mayo) my home village on the NY Panel. Parke would have been his home club.
Title: Re: PRELIMINARY ROUND: New York v MAYO (Gaelic Park, New York, 4th May)
Post by: rodney trotter on April 14, 2014, 08:26:56 PM
Nicky Joyce, Brendan Quigley, Ross Wherrity, Donegal Senior panelist last year, Brian Connor of Offaly,a few decent players with New York this year. Conor Lynam is out injured though, classy player.
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2014, 08:28:19 PM
Do we get to go on holidays anywhere next year?
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 14, 2014, 09:37:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 14, 2014, 08:28:19 PM

Ask your parents.
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2014, 09:39:13 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 14, 2014, 09:37:24 PM

Ask your parents.

I rang John Prenty but I couldn't understand him with all the cigars in his mouth.
Post by: Rossfan on April 15, 2014, 10:58:36 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 14, 2014, 09:37:24 PM

Ask your parents.

;D ;D ;D
He'll be preparing for starting Secondary School next year.
Post by: muppet on April 15, 2014, 01:45:28 PM
Well what did we learn from the League?

We learned that Jason Gibbons has really stepped up but will be sacrificed when we need a change.
We learned that Adam Gallagher is one the fans rate, a bit like Evan Regan, but we mightn't see him again this year, a bit like Evan Regan.
We learned that Enda Varley is our go-to sub in the forwards come what may.
We learned that we find it very difficult to win tight games even if we have a lead late on.
We learned that if Cafferkey goes off, it is extremely difficult for us to defend.
We learned that Kevin McLaughlin shouldn't play in the corner.
We learned that our best midfielder in 2012, is now our 5th choice midfielder at best.

I think our selectors have tough calls to make with a senior player or two.

We learned that carrying the ball into contact is the new blanket defence. Our half backline last year was the best in the country for carrying (Jack McCaffrey excepted) but they seem to have lost their way a bit in the League.

Keith Higgins seems out of sorts but is far too good a player to stay out of sorts and expect I him to kick on in the next couple of months. Alan Freeman is becoming a bit too enigmatic and needs to find some consistency, as when he is good, he is very good.

Finally the new rules have obviously made a difference, for better or for worse. I hope the management really sit down and analyse as many games as possible, played under these rules, as I am sure a bright spark can come up with something new to really take advantage of changes. Packing the square with runners from the HF line while defending (to stop goals) might be part of it but I will leave suggestions to those closer to the game than I am these days. I would love to see something clever done with our attack.
Post by: REDCOL on April 15, 2014, 04:18:11 PM
What We learned in the league part two.

Lee Keegan has become one of the finest footballers in the country.

Adam Gallagher has a chance of making it, but needs to step up on his U21 championship form

Our own supporters who turned on Rob Hennelly when he missed a few frees, and Enda Varley because he was brought on for Adam Gallagher would want to have a good look at themselves.

Andy Moran may touch the ball 30 times in a game but is he slowing up our game.

Our goalkeeper is an outstanding shot stopper, but is prone to erratic moments.

Ballina supporters will not get over their fixation with Evan Regan, the young lad opted out himself. Move On.

Aidan O Se is a wonderful fielder but needs to stop running into contact, he is taking too much punishment.

We need to try and develop some forwards that are physically bigger and stronger than our current crop

Post by: joemamas on April 15, 2014, 04:33:16 PM
Quote from: REDCOL on April 15, 2014, 04:18:11 PM

Adam Gallagher has a chance of making it, but needs to step up on his U21 championship form

Our own supporters who turned on Rob Hennelly when he missed a few frees, and Enda Varley because he was brought on for Adam Gallagher would want to have a good look at themselves.

Ballina supporters will not get over their fixation with Evan Regan, the young lad opted out himself. Move On.

Aidan O Se is a wonderful fielder but needs to stop running into contact, he is taking too much punishment.

We need to try and develop some forwards that are physically bigger and stronger than our current crop

Incredibly accurate summation. Especially last point, that stood out to me as I watched both games last Sunday.

A good time to take a time out and refocus at task at hand. I still have confidence in James Horan, even though to be honest it has dropped a little. He has brought Mayo to a new level and he is not the one making silly decisions on the field.

As for E Regan, a pity he has not committed, I hope he does not regret in years to come when he may be one of the best footballers on a Mayo team probably not anywhere near as good as this one.
Post by: Crete Boom on April 15, 2014, 04:38:11 PM

What we have learned from the last 63 years is the rest of Mayo need to listen to the wise Ballina football men and have 14 more Stephenites men in the starting line up and we would have 10 extra All Ireland titles by now ;).
If only we could kick points like we can come out out with shitehawk petty club rivalry arguments ( Ballina men included) even the financial powerhouse of Dublin wouldn't be able to touch us ;D ;D
Post by: Syferus on April 15, 2014, 04:55:52 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 15, 2014, 04:33:16 PM

Incredibly accurate summation. Especially last point, that stood out to me as I watched both games last Sunday.

A good time to take a time out and refocus at task at hand. I still have confidence in James Horan, even though to be honest it has dropped a little. He has brought Mayo to a new level and he is not the one making silly decisions on the field.

As for E Regan, a pity he has not committed, I hope he does not regret in years to come when he may be one of the best footballers on a Mayo team probably not anywhere near as good as this one.

People are assuming he would be featuring but with Horan's general conservatism, how he didn't use Regan last year and indeed how he's used Gallagher this year I would be surprised if Regan would even get much time off the bench this year regardless.

The Mayo team in 2015 should be a better one than the one in 2014, in all honesty. Fatigue is temporary.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 15, 2014, 06:10:52 PM
How about this for something a bit different - probably too late in the year now for trying though

Hennelly
Higgins Caff Cunniffe
Keegan SOS Boyle
Gibbons AOS / Moran / Parsons
Vaughan COC McLoughlin
Freeman AOS / Moran Sweeney/Moran/Doc/Gallagher/AN Other

SOS would be more of a stopper than our current options at 6 and his lack pace would mean he'd have to sit fairly deep which mightn't be a bad thing.
Post by: muppet on April 15, 2014, 06:59:14 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on April 15, 2014, 06:10:52 PM
How about this for something a bit different - probably too late in the year now for trying though

Hennelly
Higgins Caff Cunniffe
Keegan SOS Boyle
Gibbons AOS / Moran / Parsons
Vaughan COC McLoughlin
Freeman AOS / Moran Sweeney/Moran/Doc/Gallagher/AN Other

SOS would be more of a stopper than our current options at 6 and his lack pace would mean he'd have to sit fairly deep which mightn't be a bad thing.

SOS at 6 is worth a try depending on who we play. For example if it were Kerry nd the Gooch was there we might think better of it, but a Paul Conroy or someone like that might suit him. As you said he should stay at home and cover the wing backs.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 15, 2014, 07:15:06 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 14, 2014, 08:26:56 PM
Nicky Joyce, Brendan Quigley, Ross Wherrity, Donegal Senior panelist last year, Brian Connor of Offaly,a few decent players with New York this year. Conor Lynam is out injured though, classy player.

I was wondering where the bould Nicky was. Very talented player. When he can be bothered.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 21, 2014, 02:07:38 AM
Anybody know why this game is on half an hour earlier than usual? I.e 7.30 instead of 8.00 Irish time? The cameras are hardly going out as well!?
Post by: Syferus on April 21, 2014, 02:10:02 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 21, 2014, 02:07:38 AM
Anybody know why this game is on half an hour earlier than usual? I.e 7.30 instead of 8.00 Irish time? The cameras are hardly going out as well!?

The camera will. TG4 have highlights on the Monday evening as usual, I assume. Have the clocks changed in the States yet?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on April 21, 2014, 03:16:03 PM
Clocks changed in the states a few weeks before they changed in Ireland.
Post by: Ed Hardy on April 21, 2014, 03:37:07 PM
Think Keith Quinn from Down is over playing there also. Good footballer, would be starting for Down if he was home.
Post by: BennyCake on April 21, 2014, 05:56:15 PM
Why is Mayo in capitals?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 21, 2014, 08:08:56 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 21, 2014, 05:56:15 PM
Why is Mayo in capitals?

I don't know! Does it matter? I just copied and pasted it from this http://mayogaablog.com/?page_id=218 (http://mayogaablog.com/?page_id=218)
Post by: magpie seanie on April 22, 2014, 08:49:07 AM
New York probably going up to Boston for their annual pre-championship beating next weekend. That said, if the names quoted on this thread are tuned in committed to the cause NY should be decent and certainly a bit better than most years.
Post by: AMayoFan on April 22, 2014, 11:25:25 AM
New Note 185

Quote from: From the Bunker on April 14, 2014, 07:46:58 PM
Anybody on this board heading over, already over there or been over for this fixture?

One lad from Ballyvary (Mayo) my home village on the NY Panel. Parke would have been his home club.

I'm going over for the match (and to take in a few sites, food ... etc  ;) ).  Who is the chap from Ballyvary that is on NY team? I'm come from not far from there myself (Keelogues / Breaffy)!

Mayo are definitely spoiled with choice at midfield and all options have merits to be picked. So I really like the suggestion to try AOS at 6 (although I would worry about his ability to stop guys running at him with pace).   Possible rotate him in and out of that position through out the game.  I hope to see Mayo push on from the league and learn a few lessons in particular being able to tackle harder without coinciding Black Cards.  Dublin appear to be the masters here without loosing there physicality and we need to catch up.

In any case, I'm not sure how much we learn about Mayo with this match.  I hope the lads have fun, we get to try something new on the pitch, and get the win.  Imagine how long the flight home would feel if we lost  :o
Post by: Syferus on April 22, 2014, 11:55:31 AM
AOS at 6!? My God, please do that.
Post by: muppet on April 22, 2014, 01:22:24 PM
Quote from: AMayoFan on April 22, 2014, 11:25:25 AM
New Note 185

Quote from: From the Bunker on April 14, 2014, 07:46:58 PM

I'm going over for the match (and to take in a few sites, food ... etc  ;) ).  Who is the chap from Ballyvary that is on NY team? I'm come from not far from there myself (Keelogues / Breaffy)!

Mayo are definitely spoiled with choice at midfield and all options have merits to be picked. So I really like the suggestion to try AOS at 6 (although I would worry about his ability to stop guys running at him with pace).   Possible rotate him in and out of that position through out the game.  I hope to see Mayo push on from the league and learn a few lessons in particular being able to tackle harder without coinciding Black Cards.  Dublin appear to be the masters here without loosing there physicality and we need to catch up.

In any case, I'm not sure how much we learn about Mayo with this match.  I hope the lads have fun, we get to try something new on the pitch, and get the win.  Imagine how long the flight home would feel if we lost  :o

the only suggestion I saw on this thread was SOS at 6.

I would definitely have AOS further up the field, midfield at the very least.
Post by: AMayoFan on April 22, 2014, 01:36:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 22, 2014, 11:55:31 AM
AOS at 6!? My God, please do that.

Quote from: muppet on April 22, 2014, 01:22:24 PM
Quote from: AMayoFan on April 22, 2014, 11:25:25 AM
New Note 185

the only suggestion I saw on this thread was SOS at 6.

I would definitely have AOS further up the field, midfield at the very least.

ah yes, typo on my part.
Post by: larryin89 on April 22, 2014, 11:22:25 PM
Hopefully it's the shock result of all time. More shame but less pain (than losin on 8th of June) ftr
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 23, 2014, 12:45:07 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 21, 2014, 02:10:02 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 21, 2014, 02:07:38 AM

The camera will. TG4 have highlights on the Monday evening as usual, I assume. Have the clocks changed in the States yet?

I think RTE want to show highlights later that night.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 23, 2014, 12:46:19 AM
Heard New York playing a friendly tonight so will take a run over for a look!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 23, 2014, 03:08:12 AM
False alarm just training.  Bar was opened so wasn't a total waste of a journey.
Post by: AMayoFan on April 23, 2014, 10:29:04 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 22, 2014, 11:22:25 PM
Hopefully it's the shock result of all time. More shame but less pain (than losin on 8th of June) ftr
Yip, unless other shock results, Ross will be a huge challenged this year, & we would meet them in Hyde Park!  I'm heading into Croker on Saturday to see how they get on against Cavan (and will be cheering Ross on too).  Anyway, I think I'll hold my thoughts for a little later and different thread.
Post by: AMayoFan on April 23, 2014, 10:31:01 AM
Carmen Stateside - Is there much going on before or after the game? 
Post by: MusclesMagoo on April 23, 2014, 11:27:28 AM
Carmen - any advice on travelling out to Gaelic Park from Manhatten? I recall the last time we took a cab which took forever and he ended up getting lost a few times as well...
Post by: joemamas on April 23, 2014, 01:00:53 PM
Quote from: AMayoFan on April 23, 2014, 10:31:01 AM

Tea and sandwiches before and after. !!!

It is a great occassion to meet up with friends, after half-time, it is little more than a training session, where hopefully no injuries occur.
Post by: joemamas on April 23, 2014, 01:02:16 PM
Quote from: MusclesMagoo on April 23, 2014, 11:27:28 AM
Carmen - any advice on travelling out to Gaelic Park from Manhatten? I recall the last time we took a cab which took forever and he ended up getting lost a few times as well...

if you are staying in midtown or westside then 1 or 9 train to second last stop. walk three blocks to Gaelic Park. Train should take no more than 45 mins from midtown.
Post by: MusclesMagoo on April 23, 2014, 01:06:58 PM
Fair play - thanks
Post by: mayo.mick on April 23, 2014, 01:19:18 PM
Quote from: MusclesMagoo on April 23, 2014, 11:27:28 AM

Loads of info here, http://mayoclub51.com/new-york-new-york/

Will be more info on events and meet ups towards the weekend.

1 train uptown, about 40/50 mins, hop off at 238th st, about 2 blocks.
Post by: AMayoFan on April 23, 2014, 03:38:48 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 23, 2014, 01:00:53 PM
Quote from: AMayoFan on April 23, 2014, 10:31:01 AM

Tea and sandwiches before and after. !!!

It is a great occassion to meet up with friends, after half-time, it is little more than a training session, where hopefully no injuries occur.

Sounds great. Thanks
Post by: 5 Sams on April 23, 2014, 04:21:39 PM
This fixture should be rotated around the provinces...I would love a trip to NYC to see Down playing. (probably a banana skin for us though :( :()
Post by: Syferus on April 23, 2014, 04:51:00 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 23, 2014, 04:21:39 PM
This fixture should be rotated around the provinces...I would love a trip to NYC to see Down playing. (probably a banana skin for us though :( :()

To hell or to Connacht (if you want to play New York)
Post by: muppet on April 23, 2014, 05:13:39 PM
Quote from: MusclesMagoo on April 23, 2014, 01:06:58 PM
Fair play - thanks

Welcome back MM.

Long time I think.
Post by: AMayoFan on April 23, 2014, 07:45:09 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 23, 2014, 04:21:39 PM

Yeah a novel team to play (as is London, whom are probably less novel and more dangerous nowadays).  In any case isn't NY in Ulster for Hurling .. i think i remember they even made it to Ulster final recently but Antrim (or GAA) wouldn't agree to change location and play them over there. 
Post by: MusclesMagoo on April 23, 2014, 08:02:35 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 23, 2014, 05:13:39 PM
Quote from: MusclesMagoo on April 23, 2014, 01:06:58 PM
Fair play - thanks

Welcome back MM.

Long time I think.

Thanks Muppet, been a while surely. Have been keeping a regular eye on ye though don't worry...
Post by: Shrewdness on April 23, 2014, 09:49:32 PM
Am i the only one who thinks that this game is a non event and a waste of time. Yes, i accept from a cultural point of view that it's a big weekend annually for the Irish in New York. But from a football point of view, it's an absolute waste of time. At least London made their mark on the Connacht championship last year. But New York aren't even competitive. In the last 2 years, Roscommon and Leitrim hammered New York, ironically by the same scoreline each year. Mayo should win this by at least 15 points, but what's the point of it all?
Post by: Syferus on April 23, 2014, 10:33:43 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on April 23, 2014, 09:49:32 PM
Am i the only one who thinks that this game is a non event and a waste of time. Yes, i accept from a cultural point of view that it's a big weekend annually for the Irish in New York. But from a football point of view, it's an absolute waste of time. At least London made their mark on the Connacht championship last year. But New York aren't even competitive. In the last 2 years, Roscommon and Leitrim hammered New York, ironically by the same scoreline each year. Mayo should win this by at least 15 points, but what's the point of it all?

Solidarity with the Irish diaspora. One of the pillars of the Irish ethnic identity is how it has continually been scattered to the four winds.

It means a hell of a lot to New York and for the sake of an Aer Lingus flight it's a small price to pay. Sure, some officials treat it as a junket but it is one of the aspects of the GAA that is unique and it should be protected from short-sighted cuts.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 23, 2014, 11:41:35 PM

There is more point to this than that piece of Sh1t in November. Anyway it does no harm. The good folk abroad get to see an inter county team in the flesh.
Post by: Shrewdness on April 24, 2014, 12:15:40 AM
Yes, i take your point.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 24, 2014, 09:38:59 AM
I don't think there's any harm in this but I do believe that New York should have to win their right to play the visitors. I understand that the county board structure in the US doesn't help in this regard but I think that if for example Boston, Chicago, etc felt they would be competitive that here should be a US qualifying championship. Might prove difficult and those who are over there might tell me I'm talking through my hat but would surely improve the eventual participants.
Post by: muppet on April 24, 2014, 09:43:42 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 24, 2014, 09:38:59 AM
I don't think there's any harm in this but I do believe that New York should have to win their right to play the visitors. I understand that the county board structure in the US doesn't help in this regard but I think that if for example Boston, Chicago, etc felt they would be competitive that here should be a US qualifying championship. Might prove difficult and those who are over there might tell me I'm talking through my hat but would surely improve the eventual participants.

Good idea, imagine the interest in Boston for a Championship match.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 24, 2014, 04:17:35 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 23, 2014, 10:33:43 PM

Solidarity with the Irish diaspora. One of the pillars of the Irish ethnic identity is how it has continually been scattered to the four winds.

It means a hell of a lot to New York and for the sake of an Aer Lingus flight it's a small price to pay. Sure, some officials treat it as a junket but it is one of the aspects of the GAA that is unique and it should be protected from short-sighted cuts.
Yeah, I can understand the emotional overtones alright but I wonder if the gains outweigh the losses. I think it costs a bit more than a few  Aer Lingus tickets to get a county team over and back. When Mayo  jibbed at the cost of going there a couple of years ago, the main reason for refusing to fulfil the fixture was the cost, which was estimated to be over €40,000.
Not many counties, especially Connacht ones, can shell out that sort of cash without cutting back on more immediate expenses.Furthermore, there's always the risk of injuries and with the championship  starting so soon afterwards, I imagine most managers would be happier if they didn't have to make the trip to the Big Apple- at least not just before the start of the championship.
Post by: commonman on April 24, 2014, 05:13:41 PM
the total cost of the championship trip to NY for the Connacht counties, based on a travelling party of 50, works out at around 75K to 80k, of which NY/Croke Park/Connacht Council stump up €50k. The county travelling must come up with the balance.
Post by: mayo.mick on April 24, 2014, 11:07:17 PM
Quote from: commonman on April 24, 2014, 05:13:41 PM
the total cost of the championship trip to NY for the Connacht counties, based on a travelling party of 50, works out at around 75K to 80k, of which NY/Croke Park/Connacht Council stump up €50k. The county travelling must come up with the balance.

http://gaanewyork.com/news/311471/the_first_sunday_in_may
Post by: moysider on April 24, 2014, 11:40:17 PM

Ballina supporters will not get over their fixation with Evan Regan, the young lad opted out himself. Move On.Aidan O Se is a wonderful fielder but needs to stop running into contact, he is taking too much punishment.

Bit of a contradiction there REDCOL.

Post by: Farrandeelin on April 29, 2014, 10:05:50 PM
I suppose we'll hear a team before they head over?
Post by: moysider on April 29, 2014, 11:01:13 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 29, 2014, 10:05:50 PM
I suppose we'll hear a team before they head over?

Hard to get excited about this but I wish I was heading over for the weekend. Who knows I might even go to the game if I did ;)
Post by: Pangurban on April 29, 2014, 11:45:52 PM
You would have to fancy NY to win this, Mayo dont travel well, especially to big cities
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 30, 2014, 01:40:27 AM
Mayo will win this by about 20 points! Joyce not playing either is Paddy Kelly or the big Conner lad from Offaly. New York spent last weekend at West Point military academy! Should help with their shooting.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 30, 2014, 02:09:52 AM
Last meeting. October 2011.

FBD League final: Stroll in the Park for Mayo

Mayo rounded off a successful season when they hammered New York in the FBD Connacht League final at a balmy Gaelic Park in the Bronx.

Mayo 7-11
New York 2-8

A brace of goals from Young Footballer of the Year contender Cillian O'Connor and further three-pointers from Alan Freeman and Enda Varley had propelled the Connacht champions into a 4-5 to 0-3 lead by half-time. Centre forward Aidan O'Shea hit a brace after the restart, while Freeman added his second before Adrian O'Connor and substitute Mike Jim Fitzgerald scored consolation goals for the Exiles in the final quarter.

Teams - Mayo: K O'Malley; D Geraghty, G Cafferky, E Reilly; C Barrett, R Feeney, L Keegan; J Gibbons (0-1), S O'Shea (0-1); K McLoughlin, A O'Shea (2-0), A Campbell (0-2); E Varley (1-2), A Freeman (2-4), C O'Connor (2-1). Subs: T Howley, R McGarrity, J Kilcullen and M Ronaldson.

New York: A Hearty; J Bell, K Carden, P Lambe; L Maguire, R McGinley, D Keane; S Sheridan, A O'Connor (1-0), K Walsh (0-2), CJ Molloy, T Warburton; P Hatzer (0-2), J Kelly (0-2), J Moynagh. Subs: M Cregan, MJ Fitzgerald (1-0), B McGourty (0-2), K Rogers.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on April 30, 2014, 02:45:47 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on April 29, 2014, 11:45:52 PM
You would have to fancy NY to win this, Mayo dont travel well, especially to big cities

True, Mayo almost never win at Gaelic Park.
Post by: unitedireland on April 30, 2014, 04:01:13 PM
I find the New York championship game every year a missed opportunity for RTE to do some coverage on the Irish American aspect of the GAA.

Here is a podcast preview.
http://www.gaelicsportscast.com/

Here is a video setanta sports done a couple of years ago.
http://vimeo.com/65123212
Post by: highorlow on April 30, 2014, 04:07:20 PM
Any team news for the Stahtes game?

Hope all the lads come back in one piece, that plastic pitch will be tough.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 30, 2014, 04:28:00 PM
NY team as per hoganstand.

New York manager Ian Galvin has named his team for this Sunday's Connacht SFC clash against Mayo at Gaelic Park.

Just five players survive from last year's defeat to Leitrim with Gavin Joyce keeping his place in goal, Keith Scally moving from center-back to right half-back and Alan Raftery moving out to midfield from the half back line.

Gary O'Driscoll pushes forward from midfield to corner-forward while Jason Kelly will start once again at centre-forward.

There will be championship debuts in the colours of New York for captain Brendan Quigley, Down pair Gerard McCartan and Keith Quinn, former Donegal player Ross Wherity and former Cork player Denis O'Sullivan.

One Mayo native is among the substitutes - goalkeeper Ray Coyle.

Mayo, meanwhile, will reveal their starting line-out tonight after 10pm.

New York (Connacht SFC v Mayo) - Gavin Joyce (Cavan NY/Ballymartin, Down); Ronan McGinley (Cavan NY/Errigal Ciaran, Tyrone), Gerard McCartan (Kerry NY/Burren, Down), Kieran O Connor (Kerry NY/Listowel Emmett's, Kerry); Keith Scally (Westmeath NY/Tyrrellspass, Westmeath), Paul O'Connor (Cork NY/Kilmurry Ibrickane, Clare), Denis O'Sullivan (Cork NY/Clonakilty, Cork); Brendan Quigley (Captain, Donegal NY/Timahoe, Laois), Alan Raftery (Cork NY/Oranmore / Maree, Galway); Paddy Boyle (Donegal NY/Castlewellan, Down), Jason Kelly (Offaly NY/Shannonbridge, Offaly), Ross Wherity (Kerry NY/St Eunans, Donegal); Johnny McGeeney (Armagh NY/Culloville Blues, Armagh), Keith Quinn (Leitrim NY/Mayobridge, Down), Gary O Driscoll (Kerry NY/Skellig Rangers, Kerry).

Subs - Ray Coyle (Westmeath NY/Parke/Keelogues/Crimlin, Mayo), Conor McCormack (Kerry NY/St Mary's, Dublin), Hugh Curran (Cork NY/Newcestown, Cork), Shaun McNamee (Cork NY/Crossmaglen Rangers, Armagh), Niall Farrell (Kerry NY/Donaghmore, Ashbourne, Meath), Lonan Maguire (Leitrim NY/Clones, Monaghan), Tommy Warburton (Cavan NY/Castledaly, Westmeath), James Huvane (St Raymond's), Pauric Graham (Monaghan NY/Oram Sarsfields, Monaghan), Michael Reilly (Cavan NY/Shercock, Cavan), Richey Morgan (Armagh NY/Keady Micheal Dwyers, Armagh).
Post by: From the Bunker on April 30, 2014, 04:44:26 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 30, 2014, 04:28:00 PM
NY team as per hoganstand.

New York manager Ian Galvin has named his team for this Sunday's Connacht SFC clash against Mayo at Gaelic Park.

Just five players survive from last year's defeat to Leitrim with Gavin Joyce keeping his place in goal, Keith Scally moving from center-back to right half-back and Alan Raftery moving out to midfield from the half back line.

Gary O'Driscoll pushes forward from midfield to corner-forward while Jason Kelly will start once again at centre-forward.

There will be championship debuts in the colours of New York for captain Brendan Quigley, Down pair Gerard McCartan and Keith Quinn, former Donegal player Ross Wherity and former Cork player Denis O'Sullivan.

One Mayo native is among the substitutes - goalkeeper Ray Coyle.

Mayo, meanwhile, will reveal their starting line-out tonight after 10pm.

New York (Connacht SFC v Mayo) - Gavin Joyce (Cavan NY/Ballymartin, Down); Ronan McGinley (Cavan NY/Errigal Ciaran, Tyrone), Gerard McCartan (Kerry NY/Burren, Down), Kieran O Connor (Kerry NY/Listowel Emmett's, Kerry); Keith Scally (Westmeath NY/Tyrrellspass, Westmeath), Paul O'Connor (Cork NY/Kilmurry Ibrickane, Clare), Denis O'Sullivan (Cork NY/Clonakilty, Cork); Brendan Quigley (Captain, Donegal NY/Timahoe, Laois), Alan Raftery (Cork NY/Oranmore / Maree, Galway); Paddy Boyle (Donegal NY/Castlewellan, Down), Jason Kelly (Offaly NY/Shannonbridge, Offaly), Ross Wherity (Kerry NY/St Eunans, Donegal); Johnny McGeeney (Armagh NY/Culloville Blues, Armagh), Keith Quinn (Leitrim NY/Mayobridge, Down), Gary O Driscoll (Kerry NY/Skellig Rangers, Kerry).

Subs - Ray Coyle (Westmeath NY/Parke/Keelogues/Crimlin, Mayo), Conor McCormack (Kerry NY/St Mary's, Dublin), Hugh Curran (Cork NY/Newcestown, Cork), Shaun McNamee (Cork NY/Crossmaglen Rangers, Armagh), Niall Farrell (Kerry NY/Donaghmore, Ashbourne, Meath), Lonan Maguire (Leitrim NY/Clones, Monaghan), Tommy Warburton (Cavan NY/Castledaly, Westmeath), James Huvane (St Raymond's), Pauric Graham (Monaghan NY/Oram Sarsfields, Monaghan), Michael Reilly (Cavan NY/Shercock, Cavan), Richey Morgan (Armagh NY/Keady Micheal Dwyers, Armagh).

Baring injury, I don't think Ray will get a run out against his native county. Where is Joyce? Injured?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on April 30, 2014, 04:49:24 PM
Brendan Quigley might have a decent half in him and give OShea a game
Post by: moysider on April 30, 2014, 09:48:58 PM

Now that Gavin Duffy has announced his retirement from rugby he might be asked along for the summer ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 30, 2014, 10:06:27 PM
The Mayo Senior Football Team open their 2014 Championship Campaign when they take on New York in the Connacht Senior Football Championship in the Big Apple. James Horan has selected an experienced side for this trip with no fewer than 12 of the starting 15 having featured in last years All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final. This match will also give a Championship Debut to last years All Ireland Minor Winner Diarmuid O'Connor. The Mayo Senior Football Team to face New York this Sunday 4th May at 2.30p.m. in Gaelic Park is as follows:

1)   Robbie Hennelly - Breaffy

2)   Tom Cunniffe - Castlebar Mitchels

3)   Kevin Keane - Westport

4)   Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis

5)   Lee Keegan - Westport

6)   Colm Boyle - Davitts

7)   Donal Vaughan - Ballinrobe

8)   Jason Gibbons - Ballintubber

9)   Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy

10) Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber

11) Seamus O'Shea - Breaffy

12) Jason Doherty - Burrishoole

13) Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore

14) Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen (Captain)

15) Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber

Manager - James Horan
Post by: Syferus on April 30, 2014, 10:14:47 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 30, 2014, 10:06:27 PM
The Mayo Senior Football Team open their 2014 Championship Campaign when they take on New York in the Connacht Senior Football Championship in the Big Apple. James Horan has selected an experienced side for this trip with no fewer than 12 of the starting 15 having featured in last years All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final. This match will also give a Championship Debut to last years All Ireland Minor Winner Diarmuid O'Connor. The Mayo Senior Football Team to face New York this Sunday 4th May at 2.30p.m. in Gaelic Park is as follows:

Manager - James Horan

What did Jason ever do to you??
Post by: muppet on April 30, 2014, 10:17:17 PM
SOS at 11?

No Freeman. Please tell me he is injured or ill?

I am delighted so see one of last year's minors make it.

I hope Kevin Mc plays out the field and Seamus plays behind the midfielders.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 30, 2014, 10:21:07 PM
Why such a strong Mayo line up for this glorified challenge game?
Post by: macdanger2 on April 30, 2014, 10:58:14 PM
Couple of strange calls, Keane @ FB ahead of McHale, SOS @ 11, no Freeman, young O'C ahead of Adam G
Post by: moysider on April 30, 2014, 11:29:13 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 30, 2014, 10:21:07 PM

It s actually a very strange team.

Take the hf line. Never would have played together before. A midfielder and an inside man and a kid. Very much an 'experimental' side. Looks like some positions ware picked outta a hat. Keith goes back to base but maybe we ll see him promoted again later.
No harm I suppose. A nice trip for everybody.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 30, 2014, 11:39:19 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 30, 2014, 11:29:13 PM

Take the hf line. Never would have played together before. A midfielder and an inside man and a kid. Very much an 'experimental' side. Looks like some positions ware picked outta a hat. Keith goes back to base but maybe we ll see him promoted again later.

One or two experiments however hardly an 'experimental' side when twelve of that side has started in All Ireland senior final.
Post by: Syferus on April 30, 2014, 11:46:44 PM
Non Connacht ladeens, we usually use the New York game to run the rule over panels. Don't read anything into that starting line-up.
Post by: moysider on April 30, 2014, 11:56:27 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 30, 2014, 11:39:19 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 30, 2014, 11:29:13 PM

One or two experiments however hardly an 'experimental' side when twelve of that side has started in All Ireland senior final.

It is though. Sure last years AI team was an experiment in itself. Mayo teams are in a constant state of slobbering about. I see damn all shape there in spite of the familiarity of the names. Keith probably put back to cover for Caff. Vaughan and Boyle reverse no s. Not sure what s that about either?  The forwards might be familiar but I don t see that set-up working later.
This years there were 2 forwards that could have changed things and for one reason or another it didn t happen. Adam Gallagher was one and it hasn t worked out for him but maybe he s injured?
Post by: moysider on May 01, 2014, 12:02:48 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 30, 2014, 11:46:44 PM
Non Connacht ladeens, we usually use the New York game to run the rule over panels. Don't read anything into that starting line-up.

I dunno. I think this selection is revealing in some respects. Even for a NY match I dont think this selection is much of a statement for later.
Post by: joemamas on May 01, 2014, 07:33:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 30, 2014, 10:14:47 PM

Manager - James Horan

Quote from: Syferus on April 30, 2014, 10:14:47 PM

Manager - James Horan

+1 lol

Not letting me forget, deservedly so
Post by: Shrewdness on May 01, 2014, 10:42:15 PM
My prediction for this match...MAYO 5-24, NEW YORK 0-6.
Post by: mayo.mick on May 01, 2014, 11:17:29 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 01, 2014, 10:42:15 PM

Will be an awful lot closer than that!  ;)
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 02, 2014, 10:52:46 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 30, 2014, 10:17:17 PM
SOS at 11?

I hope his omission is just a wake up call from JH.
He's a truly enigmatic individual who can be brilliant one day and then spend much of the next sitting on his posterior, giving out to all around him. He'll need to be at his best and stay that way for the tougher tests ahead if Mayo are to go anywhere this year.
Post by: Syferus on May 02, 2014, 11:07:01 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 02, 2014, 10:52:46 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 30, 2014, 10:17:17 PM
SOS at 11?

I hope his omission is just a wake up call from JH.
He's a truly enigmatic individual who can be brilliant one day and then spend much of the next sitting on his posterior, giving out to all around him. He'll need to be at his best and stay that way for the tougher tests ahead if Mayo are to go anywhere this year.

Never noticed much complaining from Alan. His treatment in the AI final last year was scandalous to be honest and it's Jamesy that needs the wake up call and not Freeman.

I would be beside myself with laughter if ye turn up at the Hyde with Freeman on the bench but surely Horan is too good a manager to make a mistake like that.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 02, 2014, 11:27:21 AM
Just looking at the New York side from 2009.

Mayo: D Clarke; L O'Malley, G Cafferkey, K McLoughlin; P Gardiner 0-01, T Howley, D Vaughan; T Parsons 0-01, R McGarrity 0-01; P Harte 1-00, T Mortimer 0-02, A Dillon 0-03; A Moran 0-04, A O'Shea 1-03, B Moran 0-1.

Connacht final v Galway same year

K O'Malley; L O'Malley, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; P Gardiner, T Howley, A Moran; D Heaney, R McGarrity; P Harte, T Mortimer (capt), A Dillon; A Kilcoyne, B Moran, A O'Shea.

Gas that O'Mahoney played B Moran and A O'Shea in the Full forward line together!
Post by: Tubberman on May 02, 2014, 12:22:14 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 02, 2014, 11:27:21 AM
Just looking at the New York side from 2009.

Mayo: D Clarke; L O'Malley, G Cafferkey, K McLoughlin; P Gardiner 0-01, T Howley, D Vaughan; T Parsons 0-01, R McGarrity 0-01; P Harte 1-00, T Mortimer 0-02, A Dillon 0-03; A Moran 0-04, A O'Shea 1-03, B Moran 0-1.

Connacht final v Galway same year

K O'Malley; L O'Malley, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; P Gardiner, T Howley, A Moran; D Heaney, R McGarrity; P Harte, T Mortimer (capt), A Dillon; A Kilcoyne, B Moran, A O'Shea.

Gas that O'Mahoney played B Moran and A O'Shea in the Full forward line together!

Remember when the full-forward line was Kilcoyne, O'Shea (or maybe it was B Moran) and Conor Mort.
I think it was muppet that came up with "The Killer, The Pillar and The Thriller" :)
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 02, 2014, 05:02:03 PM
http://www.rte.ie/archives/2014/0502/614794-the-home-of-the-gaa-in-new-york-1966/
Post by: rodney trotter on May 02, 2014, 09:07:56 PM

Don't know why you think it will be like that when New York have a lot of decent players in the side.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 02, 2014, 11:57:59 PM
Let's see how decent they are.
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2014, 07:28:49 PM

John Casey after clearing up some of the selection issues there on the radio.

Caff and Freeman carrying injuries.

Dillon named in subs and flying apparently. Mikey Conroy and Adam Gallagher not listed among the subs.
Post by: Zulu on May 04, 2014, 07:34:15 PM
Mayo 0-2 New York 0-0. Vaughan and McLoughlln with the scores.
Post by: Zulu on May 04, 2014, 07:35:53 PM
Mayo 0-3 NY 0-1

http://www.midwestradio.ie/index.php/listen-live
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2014, 07:43:21 PM

The Bear O Sheas have switched positions. Seamie goes to midfield and Aidan to 11.
Post by: Zulu on May 04, 2014, 07:47:18 PM
Mayo up 6 - 2. There appears to be a few off the ball belts now, Quinn and Boyle at the centre of it. Both getting yellows.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2014, 07:55:45 PM
Mayo in 2nd gear. leading 0-9 to 0-2
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2014, 08:00:40 PM

Sounds dreadful fare.
Post by: Zulu on May 04, 2014, 08:04:09 PM
0-10 to 0-2 Mayo but they seem to be struggling with the NY blanket defence.
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2014, 08:07:00 PM

Blood sub on for McLoughlin. We ll do well to avoid injuries here.
Post by: ballinaman on May 04, 2014, 08:08:56 PM
New York parking the subway train by the sounds of it!
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2014, 08:09:16 PM
HT Mayo 0-11 New York 0-2.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2014, 08:31:27 PM
Mayo 1-12 New York 0-3  Diarmuid O'Connor with the goal.
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2014, 08:50:26 PM

12 mins to go. 2-15 to 7.

Parsons and Dillon among other subs on the field.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2014, 08:53:59 PM
Cillian O'Connor with two penalties Mayo 3-16 New york 0-07
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2014, 08:55:20 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 04, 2014, 08:50:26 PM

How fit is Dillon? Will it be a Moran situation again where Horan tries to slowly integrate him back into the starting line-up?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2014, 09:01:13 PM
FT Mayo 4-18 New York 0-8
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2014, 09:02:50 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 04, 2014, 08:55:20 PM

How fit is Dillon? Will it be a Moran situation again where Horan tries to slowly integrate him back into the starting line-up?

Apparently he s flying after the break and freshened up. Clearly injured all last year. Could well start semi.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 04, 2014, 09:11:03 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 04, 2014, 09:01:13 PM
FT Mayo 4-18 New York 0-8

Not far off the mark Shrewdness!
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 04, 2014, 10:04:35 PM
It seemed to be one of the longest games ever, listening to Mike Finnerty and John 'ooh aah' Casey. At least they won and hopefully Kevin Mc was rested and his nose is ok. I suppose we'll find out later when the entourage comes home. I found it kind of bizarre that Adam Gallagher wasn't on the bench at least. Then again, James Horan is manager.
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2014, 10:16:14 PM
5 weeks now to semi. We re spoiled for choice for midfielders but harder to figure out the shape and personnel from 8 up. I suspect the Higgins experiment is done for now. Glad he s thinking about Aidan at 11. Could Parsons do a job at 10 or 12? Then there s Barry Moran? We ll need them all. We ll need serious impact rather than shoring things up in second half.
The following would seem to be emerging as the top 20?

Hennelly, Cunniffe, Barrett, Caff, Higgins, Keegan, Harrison, Boyle, Vaughan, O Shea x2, Parsons, Gibbons, Barry M, McLoughlin, Andy, Cillian, Freeman, Doc and Richie.

I dunno what Gallagher has done to drop out of the reckoning. Things may change there.

O Malley back and I believe Clarkie is getting closer with only his kicking still a bit of a problem.
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2014, 10:25:15 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 04, 2014, 10:04:35 PM
It seemed to be one of the longest games ever, listening to Mike Finnerty and John 'ooh aah' Casey. At least they won and hopefully Kevin Mc was rested and his nose is ok. I suppose we'll find out later when the entourage comes home. I found it kind of bizarre that Adam Gallagher wasn't on the bench at least. Then again, James Horan is manager.

Does anybody know what the story is? The lad was as good as could be reasonably expected in early league games and since not a squeak. Was there an issue about the U21s and training?

Apart from a couple of exceptions Horan seems to lack confidence in the better younger players. As you say though he s the manager and the buck stops with him. I would have expected our attack to have developed along slightly different lines this year but that s not going to be the case. I be worried about lack of real pace in the forwards.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2014, 10:28:43 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 04, 2014, 09:02:50 PM

Apparently he s flying after the break and freshened up. Clearly injured all last year. Could well start semi.

Strange that he started every championship game last year if clearly injury?
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2014, 10:34:24 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 04, 2014, 10:28:43 PM

Very strange indeed. Apart from the Galway game he looked like he was struggling all summer long.
Post by: larryin89 on May 04, 2014, 11:01:33 PM
Baffled by the late announcement of dropping Gallagher from the bench. He showed well in his league appearances v Kildare and Tyrone , looked a bit unsure v Kerry but was promising overall .

Post by: moysider on May 04, 2014, 11:14:28 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 04, 2014, 11:01:33 PM
Baffled by the late announcement of dropping Gallagher from the bench. He showed well in his league appearances v Kildare and Tyrone , looked a bit unsure v Kerry but was promising overall .

Must be injured or recovering from a virus or something. Only thing that would make any sense. No point crying out for new talent and then leaving them to cool their heels when you find them. Oh wait.......... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: muppet on May 04, 2014, 11:31:49 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 04, 2014, 10:34:24 PM

Very strange indeed. Apart from the Galway game he looked like he was struggling all summer long.

IIRC he wasn't named on the official team to start against Galway either. It was only when we were at the ground that we heard he was on the 15. We had been told he was injured.
Post by: maigheo on May 04, 2014, 11:39:18 PM
Was at the game and for me this is a total waste of time.Ny would be better off competing in an american type championchip as it is pointless getting a beating like this every year.Wonder who got M.O.M on madwest.For me Sheamus O Shea was our top performer and continues his good form from last year and closely followed by Lee Keegan.The game hardly resembled a good challenge match as Ny were totally outclassed.I do not think the placing of Aiden O Shea at chf is going to work as he did not have a good game.I liked the look of Tom Parsons when he came on as he is very athletic and is an excellent fielder but I think his role is going to be an impact sub as we are blessed with plenty of midfielders.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 04, 2014, 11:42:14 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 04, 2014, 11:31:49 PM

IIRC he wasn't named on the official team to start against Galway either. It was only when we were at the ground that we heard he was on the 15. We had been told he was injured.

Believe me Dillon played through injury last year and possibly the year before!
Post by: moysider on May 05, 2014, 12:01:15 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 04, 2014, 11:42:14 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 04, 2014, 11:31:49 PM

Believe me Dillon played through injury last year and possibly the year before!

Agree. Everybody knew was just being nursed from game to game. Especilly opposition managers ;) Add in Andy just getting back from a cruciate and Cillian playing with one arm and Mayo getting to last year's AI final must be one of the best sporting achievements of all time ???

Doherty was also in the panel and injured all Summer. Yet a fit forward in form was dropped. Ye just couldn t make it up.
Post by: maigheo on May 05, 2014, 02:01:00 AM
I see Mayo used 7 subs today so I assume Varley never became a full sub and was only deemed a blood sub.
Post by: moysider on May 05, 2014, 02:10:20 AM
Quote from: maigheo on May 05, 2014, 02:01:00 AM
I see Mayo used 7 subs today so I assume Varley never became a full sub and was only deemed a blood sub.

Sshhh! We could lose the game on a technically so!  :)

By the way John Casey picked Donal as MOM on Midwest but he said that it was just a shout out of many including Cillian and Seamie. I agree with you that Seamie is the alpha midfielder that anchors the team.
Post by: Syferus on May 05, 2014, 02:13:50 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 05, 2014, 02:10:20 AM
Quote from: maigheo on May 05, 2014, 02:01:00 AM

Sshhh! We could lose the game on a technically so!  :)

By the way John Casey picked Donal as MOM on Midwest but he said that it was just a shout out of many including Cillian and Seamie. I agree with you that Seamie is the alpha midfielder that anchors the team.

Does that make his brother a fringe player? 8)
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 05, 2014, 06:23:33 AM
A serious early-season marker laid down by Mayo last night.
Post by: Chimley on May 05, 2014, 08:05:27 AM
Waste of time and money. It was nothing more than a challenge match and an excuse for a session in NY for supporters. We learned that Varley is still ahead of Sweeney and Gallagher in the pecking order and that Higgins seems to bring a bit of stability to the full back line. AOS is not a CHF. We still go to sleep for long periods of games and our impact subs in the second half rarely have an impact. Dillon Feeney and  Parsons were not an improvement over those they replaced.
Post by: Shrewdness on May 05, 2014, 08:43:45 AM
This match was the one sided waste of time that i predicted earlier in this thread..At the time, i asked what was the point of it, when New York wouldn't be competitive..What would Mayo have learned about themselves against such poor opposition. Dare i say that a competitive A v B game in Mc Hale park would have been a more fruitful exercise. The only thing Mayo got from this game was a hefty financial bill for having to fulfil this meaningless obligation.
Post by: Mano on May 05, 2014, 09:14:34 AM
What does Horan see in Varley? Have seen him play numerous times and he is not up to it.
Post by: moysider on May 05, 2014, 03:05:04 PM
Quote from: Chimley on May 05, 2014, 08:05:27 AM
Waste of time and money. It was nothing more than a challenge match and an excuse for a session in NY for supporters. We learned that Varley is still ahead of Sweeney and Gallagher in the pecking order and that Higgins seems to bring a bit of stability to the full back line. AOS is not a CHF. We still go to sleep for long periods of games and our impact subs in the second half rarely have an impact. Dillon Feeney and  Parsons were not an improvement over those they replaced.

It s quite a sobering summary Chimley and I m inclined to believe you are correct.

I d hope that AOS might have an impact in later games when things are more honest and there is more space and gaps to run at? Maybe not, we don t have great success at converting players as we ve seen again with Higgins. The thing is though that we can only play 2 from Gibbons, Parsons, Seamie, Barry and Aidan at 8 and 9. Have we the luxury of leaving 3 on the bench? Midfield would be their best position in each case but is the panel of forwards so hot we can do that?

John Casey mentioned Parsons as being the pick of the subs yesterday. I haven t a clue what to make of the picking order of the forwards.
Post by: larryin89 on May 05, 2014, 05:06:34 PM
Well Casey is bound to stick with his townie.
Post by: Syferus on May 05, 2014, 05:10:07 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 05, 2014, 05:06:34 PM

Didn't know John Casey was from Bellaghy too.
Post by: joemamas on May 05, 2014, 05:13:40 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 05, 2014, 03:05:04 PM

It s quite a sobering summary Chimley and I m inclined to believe you are correct.

I d hope that AOS might have an impact in later games when things are more honest and there is more space and gaps to run at? Maybe not, we don t have great success at converting players as we ve seen again with Higgins. The thing is though that we can only play 2 from Gibbons, Parsons, Seamie, Barry and Aidan at 8 and 9. Have we the luxury of leaving 3 on the bench? Midfield would be their best position in each case but is the panel of forwards so hot we can do that?

John Casey mentioned Parsons as being the pick of the subs yesterday. I haven t a clue what to make of the picking order of the forwards.

Moysider,

You have gone very negative, I was at the game and it was a no win situation, win by 20 or 10 didn't matter. We do need another freescoring forward, Regan may have been the answer , but it appears he did not want to be part of it this year. This is a pity as I have said before, he "may" become a great player on a not so great Mayo team.

I do not think James Horan is perfect, but I also respect what he has done for Mayo and where he has brought them from at considerable time expense, managing a county team in today world has to be a real pain in the ass. He also has a young family. He is also relatively low key and is not a media hound, which I also respect. With the "possible" exception of Kevin Mcstay, I do not believe that we have a replacement that could advance this group.

Lets all get behind James and our players again, the sacrifices they all make are crazy.
Post by: joemamas on May 05, 2014, 05:19:52 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 05, 2014, 05:06:34 PM

I met Tom after the game yesterday, He did have a decent game, against average opposition, he looks a lot sharper than previous years. I could tell from talking to him that he is very focused on helping the team. The guy is putting in a huge effort as he lives in cardiff and commutes home to mayo every weekend to train, I can only imagine that novelty wears off pretty quickly. At this point, he is probably 3rd or 4th choice for midfield. He may be an addition as the year goes on.
Post by: moysider on May 05, 2014, 06:06:30 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 05, 2014, 05:13:40 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 05, 2014, 03:05:04 PM

Moysider,

You have gone very negative, I was at the game and it was a no win situation, win by 20 or 10 didn't matter. We do need another freescoring forward, Regan may have been the answer , but it appears he did not want to be part of it this year. This is a pity as I have said before, he "may" become a great player on a not so great Mayo team.

I do not think James Horan is perfect, but I also respect what he has done for Mayo and where he has brought them from at considerable time expense, managing a county team in today world has to be a real pain in the ass. He also has a young family. He is also relatively low key and is not a media hound, which I also respect. With the "possible" exception of Kevin Mcstay, I do not believe that we have a replacement that could advance this group.

Lets all get behind James and our players again, the sacrifices they all make are crazy.

Jeez I didn t realise I was that negative me :(

Look I was glad that James Horan got the Mayo gig and by and large I think he has done a very good job. I shudder to think who may have been given the job when he got it and God help us when he goes.

I m disappointed with some developments but who isn t? But at the same time I m delighted that Tom Parsons is back involved.

In my time there has been 2/3 teams that should have been good enough to win the AI but came up short. I fear that this may happen again. I hope I m wrong. It ll be at least 5 weeks before we know if we are driving on or regressing.
Post by: Beo on May 05, 2014, 08:42:41 PM
On TG4 now.
Post by: maigheo on May 05, 2014, 11:48:23 PM
Parsons did play well yesterday and I think the best way to use him at this stage will be as an impact sub when the game opens up late on.He is a very good footballer and you can never have enough of them.It is great to see him making a huge effort for the cause after being dropped off the panel a few years ago.There are a few players who should take a lesson from Parsons on how to react to being dropped off the panel.This whole exercise of NY participating in the CSfc at this stage is a complete joke and I would say that half the fans at the game lost interest after 10 min.I know that part of the argument put forth for continuing with this charade is that all the mayo fans in Ny can get together for a day out and meet people they have not seen in years but in a few weeks time when the local Mayo team play in Gaelic Park there won't be any more than 5 or 6   Mayo people there.But it will continue as turkeys do note vote for Christmas
Post by: From the Bunker on May 06, 2014, 12:02:16 AM
Quote from: maigheo on May 05, 2014, 11:48:23 PM
Parsons did play well yesterday and I think the best way to use him at this stage will be as an impact sub when the game opens up late on.He is a very good footballer and you can never have enough of them.It is great to see him making a huge effort for the cause after being dropped off the panel a few years ago.There are a few players who should take a lesson from Parsons on how to react to being dropped off the panel.This whole exercise of NY participating in the CSfc at this stage is a complete joke and I would say that half the fans at the game lost interest after 10 min.I know that part of the argument put forth for continuing with this charade is that all the mayo fans in Ny can get together for a day out and meet people they have not seen in years but in a few weeks time when the local Mayo team play in Gaelic Park there won't be any more than 5 or 6   Mayo people there.But it will continue as turkeys do note vote for Christmas

When the O'Sheas start to wane in a game with 10-15 minutes to go he will be a very useful asset!
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2014, 12:38:07 AM

Struggling to think of a few myself.
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2014, 12:42:28 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 06, 2014, 12:02:16 AM

When the O'Sheas start to wane in a game with 10-15 minutes to go he will be a very useful asset!

He s better than that. Parsons is just behind Pierce Hanley as the best athletic big footballer that we ve had since Padraig Brogan was in his teens.
Post by: maigheo on May 06, 2014, 03:13:19 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 06, 2014, 12:38:07 AM

Struggling to think of a few myself.
Not biting tonite Moysider :) :) :)
Post by: Shrewdness on May 06, 2014, 08:25:10 AM
Tom Parsons must have a massive devotion to Mayo football if he's prepared to travel from Cardiff every week for training, all in the hope of maybe getting 10-15 mins at the end of the game.
Post by: Mano on May 06, 2014, 09:46:07 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 06, 2014, 08:25:10 AM
Tom Parsons must have a massive devotion to Mayo football if he's prepared to travel from Cardiff every week for training, all in the hope of maybe getting 10-15 mins at the end of the game.
Strange considering he's a Sligo man.

He would be useful against the Dubs where mobility instead of high fielding is priority for a midfielder
Post by: macdanger2 on May 06, 2014, 11:14:05 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 06, 2014, 12:42:28 AM

He s better than that. Parsons is just behind Pierce Hanley as the best athletic big footballer that we ve had since Padraig Brogan was in his teens.

Please don't take God's name in vain moy.

Seriously though, Parsons doesn't have the accuracy of Bomber or Hanley. As Mano said though, he could definitely do a job in games where mobility is more important than fielding.

If Horan can effectively accommodate even one of the five somewhere else in the team, it'd be great.

Post by: PaoloRossi on May 06, 2014, 12:46:24 PM
Did anyone see Jim White's report on the match on Sky Sports News, I think someone will have to tell him how to pronounce Connacht :3 https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=518997438210702
Post by: Tubberman on May 06, 2014, 01:45:37 PM
Quote from: PaoloRossi on May 06, 2014, 12:46:24 PM
Did anyone see Jim White's report on the match on Sky Sports News, I think someone will have to tell him how to pronounce Connacht :3 https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=518997438210702

And Diarmuid and Cillian!
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 06, 2014, 01:54:41 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 06, 2014, 12:42:28 AM

I'd go further and say that it's vital to the cause that he is included in the starting fifteen. The same goes for Jason Gibbons. Both are fairly big, mobile and are good footballers to boot.
Given Horan's extremely conservative nature, it's highly unlikely that we are going to see any major changes in tactics or personnel for the campaign ahead.
I've nothing against any of the lads in question  but without new faces and/or tactical changes, it's hard to see how Mayo can go one better this year than in the pervious two.
I believe JH looked far and wide in his attempts to find new personnel but , as has been the case since 2011, there are few if any changes to the panel as this year's championship copes closer.
Back in '11, twelve of those likely to be starters this year were on the team that lost the semi to Kerry.
They were:
Hennelly, Cunniffe, Cafferkey, Higgins, Vaughan,  O'Shea x2, McLoughlin, Dillon, Moran, Freeman, 
O'Connor,
Three others who remain part of James's plans, Varley, Doherty and Richie Feeney came on that day.
That's why I think both Parsons and Gibbons just might be able to add that something fresh or just different top the team.
Without changes up front, I can't see this year working out any better than last year or the one before.
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2014, 02:28:41 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 06, 2014, 01:45:37 PM
Quote from: PaoloRossi on May 06, 2014, 12:46:24 PM

And Diarmuid and Cillian!

Sillian!
Post by: muppet on May 07, 2014, 01:58:22 PM
Haven't had time to post on this.

Regardless of the merits of the fixture, the squad and management deserve credit for the way in which they avoided the banana skin. You can only play what is put in front of you.

On to the next one.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 08, 2014, 03:32:07 PM
Quote from: Mano on May 06, 2014, 09:46:07 AM
Quote from: Shrewdness on May 06, 2014, 08:25:10 AM
Strange considering he's a Sligo man.
He would be useful against the Dubs where mobility instead of high fielding is priority for a midfielder

Beat me to it.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 09, 2014, 01:24:19 AM
Quote from: muppet on May 07, 2014, 01:58:22 PM

Regardless of the merits of the fixture, the squad and management deserve credit for the way in which they avoided the banana skin. You can only play what is put in front of you.

On to the next one.

Was Hardly a banana Skin. Sligo and Leitrim won this fixtures by 24 points in the last two years.
Post by: muppet on May 09, 2014, 08:38:15 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 09, 2014, 01:24:19 AM

On to the next one.

Was Hardly a banana Skin. Sligo and Leitrim won this fixtures by 24 points in the last two years.

It isn't a banana skin afterwards.
Post by: moysider on May 09, 2014, 11:45:54 AM
Quote from: muppet on May 09, 2014, 08:38:15 AM

On to the next one.

True. Remember London 2011. The Horan era nearly shot up on the runway.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 09, 2014, 03:51:40 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 09, 2014, 11:45:54 AM
Quote from: muppet on May 09, 2014, 08:38:15 AM

On to the next one.

True. Remember London 2011. The Horan era nearly shot up on the runway.
very different times and much improved Mayo outfit. London if given the chance to play New York would also beat them comfortably.
Post by: Rossfan on May 09, 2014, 04:24:27 PM

On to the next one.

An annual total farce of a game. Let them play in the Connacht Junior championship  - be more NY's level.
Since Galway got a scare a few years ago the teams going over have concentrated on the game and ignorned all the social/fundraisers,meet the Exiles, Co Association etc. with the result that NY get absolutely destroyed now.
Post by: AMayoFan on May 09, 2014, 05:16:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 09, 2014, 04:24:27 PM

On to the next one.

An annual total farce of a game. Let them play in the Connacht Junior championship  - be more NY's level.
Since Galway got a scare a few years ago the teams going over have concentrated on the game and ignorned all the social/fundraisers,meet the Exiles, Co Association etc. with the result that NY get absolutely destroyed now.

not so sure Mayo ignore social/fundraising. Night before the game the team when out and folks were made to pay in to see them (apparently for fundraising). Gaelic Park got a fair bit from Gate receipts. The team where more than generous with there time with folks after the match. I know the team attended at least one event (or at least Horan was a guess speaker somewhere).  Yip, the game was one sided, although Mayo didn't get all there own way. Midfield was interesting at times. Andy Moran was kept quiet.

NY tried hard and the players were in great shape ... Playing All-Ireland finalist brings it own buzz. Definitely can see there is an appetite over there for the game & that should be encourage.  Also, there were not far behind the score line between Mayo & Donegal last year  :P 

Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2014, 05:29:34 PM
Quote from: AMayoFan on May 09, 2014, 05:16:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 09, 2014, 04:24:27 PM

On to the next one.

not so sure Mayo ignore social/fundraising. Night before the game the team when out and folks were made to pay in to see them (apparently for fundraising). Gaelic Park got a fair bit from Gate receipts. The team where more than generous with there time with folks after the match. I know the team attended at least one event (or at least Horan was a guess speaker somewhere).  Yip, the game was one sided, although Mayo didn't get all there own way. Midfield was interesting at times. Andy Moran was kept quiet.

NY tried hard and the players were in great shape ... Playing All-Ireland finalist brings it own buzz. Definitely can see there is an appetite over there for the game & that should be encourage.  Also, there were not far behind the score line between Mayo & Donegal last year  :P 

Don't mind him, he's just not allowed outside the country after his last trip to NY.
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2014, 02:42:49 PM
What's the story with the CT journo with the hard-on for Jamesy, lads? Did he just totally invent the Buckley-Horan feud?
Post by: Crete Boom on May 13, 2014, 03:22:58 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 13, 2014, 02:42:49 PM
What's the story with the CT journo with the hard-on for Jamesy, lads? Did he just totally invent the Buckley-Horan feud?

He seems to be a bit of a clown and has had Horan in his sights since before the last All Ireland final. He takes a bit of here say and rumour and packages into a red top tabloid Esq scandal article i.e crisis/bust up/ etc...... He does seem to have a personal vendetta with Horan and the latest article is true to his form. The Mayo sessions are split between Dublin( and it's surrounds) based players and those based in the west. Horan and Buckley take control of one session each which they alternate on so all the players get time with the coaching staff. Aidan Henry (from what I have been told) rocked up at one of the recent western sessions which was been taken by Horan and not seeing Buckley there ( he was taking the session in Dublin) he came up with the story that they had a bust up. Now I haven't spoken to anyone directly involved in the training session in question but I have been told Henry didn't enquire as to why Buckley wasn't there and jumped to his assumption by himself but as I said this came from someone involved with the Dublin session on that day.
Maybe there is a bust up that the Mayo management are trying to sweep under the carpet ( vindicating Henry) but with our past record of trying to keep squabbles in house and a county board that has had no problem hanging better liked managers out to dry in the media in the past I would be shocked if the logical explanation I was given which Horan repeated today wasn't the truth!!
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2014, 05:27:57 PM
not so sure Mayo ignore social/fundraising. Night before the game the team when out and folks were made to pay in to see them (apparently for fundraising).
Hmmmmm... some apparently beg to disagree  ::)

http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/mayo-in-new-york-storm/
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2014, 05:33:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2014, 05:27:57 PM
not so sure Mayo ignore social/fundraising. Night before the game the team when out and folks were made to pay in to see them (apparently for fundraising).
Hmmmmm... some apparently beg to disagree  ::)

http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/mayo-in-new-york-storm/

Jaysus, Paddy won't like being called out like that.