GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 10:12:29 AM

Title: The new President?
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 10:12:29 AM
How? When the provincial council he led holds it's Senior Hurking Championship Final in the next calendar year after it should have been held,cannot enforce it's own rules in it's competitions,and is making a mess of it's most important major stadium development ever?
Title: Re: The new President?
Post by: Kid Twist on February 22, 2014, 10:26:14 AM
Is the president not just a figurehead who hands out the odd medal and open the odd clubhouse. Previous president promised so much for ulster hurling and delivered so little. In my opinion a president has real power and provincial/county chairs rule their own roosts. Hurling will never improve in ulster with anti hurling men in important positions. Token gestures from croke park such as sending up 'hurling mentors' are done to pay lip service.
Post by: Kid Twist on February 22, 2014, 10:58:23 AM
I'd say he would be the best medal hander outer and speech maker in ulster alright, now he get his chance to shine on the all ireland stage. Good luck to him.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 22, 2014, 11:00:14 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 22, 2014, 10:41:16 AM
Such negative comments.

In Aogán, we have a true gael, a gentleman and a man dedicated to making the positive changes to our association from grassroots to the higher echelons, across all codes. I, for one, am delighted to be represented by a fellow Ulster man. A visionary, who continues to do his club, county and province proud. This is great news for the GAA. Maith sibh to all of those who made it happen.

Ar aghaidh linn!
Who said that?
Post by: ONeill on February 22, 2014, 11:04:03 AM
It's it's it's it's it's
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 22, 2014, 11:08:11 AM
Tony.

Sweet Lord. Please learn the difference between it's and its.

It's not difficult.
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 11:10:59 AM
 A FFS I know the difference but couldn't be arsed correcting the autos! I suppose you could say I'm not one of the President(apostrophe) s men! ;D
Post by: Itchy on February 22, 2014, 11:21:15 AM
Such negative comments.

In Aogán, we have a true gael, a gentleman and a man dedicated to making the positive changes to our association from grassroots to the higher echelons, across all codes. I, for one, am delighted to be represented by a fellow Ulster man. A visionary, who continues to do his club, county and province proud. This is great news for the GAA. Maith sibh to all of those who made it happen.

Ar aghaidh linn!

Great news for the GAA, Ulster and Cavan. Aogan will make a great president.
Post by: ONeill on February 22, 2014, 11:28:24 AM
Great boost for the Cavan economy.
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 11:55:25 AM
Cavan now has the All Ireland Cardinal,the GAA president and no potholes.Let the good times roll
Post by: orangeman on February 22, 2014, 01:25:23 PM
Lovely man. Safe pair of hands. Great orator.

Good luck to him.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on February 22, 2014, 01:35:21 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 22, 2014, 11:14:25 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 22, 2014, 11:00:14 AM
Such negative comments.

Ar aghaidh linn!
Who said that?
Me. I was just throwing out the generic bullshite we are subjected to every time we get a new Uachtarán.
Jesus, you are an angry man
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 01:49:30 PM
What a strange name. Sounds like we've elected a Game of Thrones character.
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 01:52:05 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 22, 2014, 01:50:35 PM
Ah, come on. Say what you like about the man but he has a crackin' name.

Never said being lead by a man with a name fit for a Middle Ages king was a bad thing.
Post by: Itchy on February 22, 2014, 01:54:21 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 01:49:30 PM
What a strange first name. Sounds like we've elected a Game of Thrones character.

Interesting observation Syphilis.
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 01:55:39 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 22, 2014, 01:54:21 PM
What a strange first name. Sounds like we've elected a Game of Thrones character.

Don't say we're going to have X years of you defending him because he's a Cabin man, Itchy?
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 22, 2014, 02:08:09 PM
Another teacher.
Post by: Itchy on February 22, 2014, 02:09:28 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 01:55:39 PM

Don't say we're going to have X years of you defending him because he's a Cabin man, Itchy?

Is that a question?
Post by: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 02:17:13 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 22, 2014, 02:09:28 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 22, 2014, 01:55:39 PM

Is that a question?

Well, don't say it then if you're that ornery.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 22, 2014, 02:28:47 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 22, 2014, 02:21:15 PM
Has anyone heard what he's hoping to achieve within his tenure. His main goals for the association? How he plans on developing our games across the country/world?

I assume it is things such as that that get him voted in in the first place and not 'our man' politics or "I like the look of yer man there with the strange middle-ages name".

I'd be interested to hear what he's hoping to bring to the table, not in any real anticipation that it will come to pass but I'd like to know what makes his peers (i.e those with a vote) tick and the reasons why they would choose him over the other candidates. I note that he won it quite easily.
He thanked his opponents "for providing a democratic opportunity" for the association and added that although he would not touch on policy before the start of his term of office, four Fs would inform his presidency.

"Fixtures because at heart we are a sports organisation, facilities because that's how we draw people in – through the quality of our facilities; finance because it underpins everything . . . and family because the GAA is about men and women, boys and girls."

]
Post by: Itchy on February 22, 2014, 02:36:55 PM
All candidates were interviewed on RTE radio 1 in length on Sunday sport over the last few weeks. They were all on the late late too I think. If you had a vote these interviews were something that might form your opinion. Saying that I think there was such a gap since the last Ulster president that there was a factor of it was Ulster's turn.
Post by: orangeman on February 22, 2014, 02:38:14 PM
How many times has grassroots been mentioned so far ?

To be fair to Aogan, he's from a very small club and has made massive strides.
He has done well to get this far.
Post by: ONeill on February 22, 2014, 04:06:28 PM
We need to keep this thing in Ulster.

Cuthbert Donnelly
Jarlath Burns
Martin McAviney
Alan Rodgers
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 22, 2014, 05:30:46 PM
Any new president is an improvement on Liam grumpy cat O'Neill.
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 05:43:05 PM
Is it just me but have all the Presidents since Sean Kelly been dead from the neck down? Surely the President should be a visionary and shape the direction of the association for his term of office as opposed to a medal presenter and function attendee.
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 05:49:43 PM
What a depressing thread, from the clueless Tony Fearon who is knocking a great GAA man before he even has a chance to do anything to the lack of general knowledge of the candidates from people who could have found out a little about each candidate by watching TV, listening to the radio or reading a newspaper. Aogan is a very decent man and I'm sure he will be a very fine president who will lead the GAA as ever president has for the past number of years.
Post by: Itchy on February 22, 2014, 06:46:01 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 05:43:05 PM
Is it just me but have all the Presidents since Sean Kelly been dead from the neck down? Surely the President should be a visionary and shape the direction of the association for his term of office as opposed to a medal presenter and function attendee.

As opposed to you who is dead from the neck up.
Post by: Hardy on February 22, 2014, 06:53:51 PM
What a strange name. Sounds like we've elected a Game of Thrones character.

What's strange about it?

If it's strange you're after, what is any sensible human being to make of this gibberish from Liam O'Neill in announcing the result of the vote?
"The vote in reverse order is Seán Breathnach fifty seven, Séamus Ó hOilín(?) ochtó a trí agus Aodán(sic) Ó Fearghail uachtarán tofa with one hundred and seventy votes."
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 07:29:38 PM
Yes, there was. It used to be far more of an honorary position but now they tend to set the agenda. It's hard to answer your second questions it's a bit like asking why you voted for one centre party over the other. They all said similar things and played to what they thought particular counties wanted to hear when addressing them. For me, Aogan seemed more committed to British GAA where I'm involved, had a greater commitment to club level GAA and will have a better chance of getting support from a wide base of GAA people to achieve things.
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 07:41:25 PM
And his achievements in Ulster were what, precisely? I don't doubt he's a great Gael who will lead the GAA but will it be effective leadership?
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 07:46:37 PM
Well Ulster is by far, as in country mile stuff, the best run and most progressive province in Ireland. The Ulster hurling final fiasco has nothing to do with Aogan as far as I know but he has a strong interest in hurling development.

Give him a chance, I think he will serve the association very well.
Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 07:52:37 PM
Ffs Ulster Council can't even enforce its own rules, and the fact that one County dictates is symptomatic of weak leadership, of which the New President was a part.
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 07:57:34 PM
Provincial councils do a thousand and one things in an amateur organisation so they'll always have people who think they could do some things better and will always have issues if counties/prominent individuals act up. Did Aogan promise you free tickets to something and not deliver??
Post by: The Raven on February 22, 2014, 08:30:27 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 22, 2014, 08:16:19 PM
Yeah, we have to accept that.
And I didn't go for it so there's no point whinging about someone else getting it.

Anyway, what about the motions passed? U16s not allowed to play for county minors the biggest talking point. Fair enough, I suppose. Young lads playing a lot at that age.

When does the U16 rule come into effect this year or next. I sure there a few U16's on county panels for this year. Do they now have to be dropped or can they be on a panel and just not be allowed to play
Post by: Rossfan on February 22, 2014, 09:01:53 PM
And I didn't go for it so there's no point whinging about someone else getting it.

Anyway, what about the motions passed? U16s not allowed to play for county minors the biggest talking point. Fair enough, I suppose. Young lads playing a lot at that age.
I'd expect the next move will be to make Minors ineligible for U21 or Senior at County level.
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 09:13:14 PM
Quote from: The Raven on February 22, 2014, 08:30:27 PM

When does the U16 rule come into effect this year or next. I sure there a few U16's on county panels for this year. Do they now have to be dropped or can they be on a panel and just not be allowed to play

Open to correction but I'm pretty sure it comes into effect this year.
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 22, 2014, 09:16:21 PM
Quote from the new man today; " ....if you come from one of our six northern counties you do at times feel a little separated and a little left out--but not in the GAA"
I'm not so sure about the last bit.
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 09:22:17 PM
I think it's true but even if it's a bit of a stretch at times you have to remember he was addressing congress so the whole we are one family message gets hammered by all.
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 22, 2014, 09:33:04 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 22, 2014, 09:23:43 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on February 22, 2014, 09:16:21 PM
Quote from the new man today; " ....if you come from one of our six northern counties you do at times feel a little separated and a little left out--but not in the GAA"
I'm not so sure about the last bit.
What do you mean?
I very often get the feeling that there is there is a sense of "them and us", particularly from our southern brethren or maybe I'm somewhat paranoid.
Post by: Zulu on February 22, 2014, 09:43:47 PM
I think you're paranoid to be honest. Outside of WUMs on internet boards I've found the vast majority of southern GAA folk to be very fond and supportive of Ulster. The negative football played by some Ulster teams in recent years would have turned a good few against those teams but that would have been true irrespective of where they were from.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 22, 2014, 09:52:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 22, 2014, 04:06:28 PM

Cuthbert Donnelly
Jarlath Burns
Martin McAviney
Alan Rodgers
The dogs in the street know every breath Jarly takes is in preparation for the big seat in HQ.
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 22, 2014, 10:39:31 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 22, 2014, 09:52:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 22, 2014, 04:06:28 PM

Cuthbert Donnelly
Jarlath Burns
Martin McAviney
Alan Rodgers
The dogs in the street know every breath Jarly takes is in preparation for the big seat in HQ.

Wasn't Jarlath recently appointed principal of St Paul's Bessbrook? He won't have much time for any preparation!

Post by: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 11:01:08 PM
Don't you have to have a high profile role for a number of years at Board and Provincial level,in administration,before you can even be considered for president? Jar lath hasn't had either
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on February 22, 2014, 11:07:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 22, 2014, 11:01:08 PM
Don't you have to have a high profile role for a number of years at Board and Provincial level,in administration,before you can even be considered for president? Jar lath hasn't had either

The Director General gig is far better craic. Not limited to three years. No popularity vote either. What does Fr Dougal Maguire think?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 23, 2014, 11:56:20 AM
Met him a couple of times, when I was out & about refereeing. Always spoke to me & surprisingly enough, remembered who I was & called me by name. So, on limited experience, seems a decent bloke.
Post by: JUst retired on February 23, 2014, 09:17:27 PM
 In answer to an earlier question, anything passed at congress,takes effect 4 weeks after the said congress. Although there may have been a stipulation to bring it into effect from 2015.