Colm Cooper has done his cruciate, according to the Irish Examiner
Horrible News . . . the Championship will be worse off for him being out!
A real shame, hopefully it isn't true.
Quote from: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 03:34:13 PM
A real shame, hopefully it isn't true.
Kerry county board have confirmed it.
This is terrible news for him and Kerry. I really hope he can make a full recovery - he's an absolute joy to watch in full flow and its a shame that we won't get to see how he would have flourished in the summer under the new rules. Best wishes with the recovery!
serious blow!. hope he makes a full recovery.
Ah that's hard on him. He's 30, so he has time yet, but you get the feeling Kerry could really have done with him this year as the younger forwards try to break in. I wonder have himself and Declan O'Sullivan played together for the last time. I'm not sure how much longer Declan will hang on for.
I didn't see Kerry as major challengers this year as it was, but thats them definitely out of the running now. Hopefully Gooch makes a good recovery.
Massive blow for Kerry, but a genuine disappointment to all football fans. Hopefully he will be back in 2015, but that seems an awful long way away.
Huge blow for kerry. He was unreal last year against Dublin in the first half, pin point passing and score taking. Along with Galvin retiring its another setback early in the year for Fiztmaurice. The emergence of James O Donoghue was a big plus, they will be hoping a few more like him can develop this year.
Sad news, best to the Gooch, and wishing him a rapid recovery; the Championship will surely be the poorer spectacle for his absence.
Bad news for gooch and Kerry. Hope we see him back at his best next year.
Terrible news for the gooch, he was a joy to watch last year and every other year for that matter. Big hole to fill for Kerry.
On a related note, would you's consider the AIB ad run in the papers today to be in bad taste? You'd imagine that it was run with his agreement, isn't he an employee for them as well as been a big part of their marketing campaign. A good few have voiced their opinions on twitter that it is classless, likely due to getting beat at weekend but also in light of his injury.
Best wishes and a speedy recovery to the Gooch. Hopefully he will be back before long. Kerry will miss him.
Quote from: Bingo on February 17, 2014, 04:17:26 PM
Terrible news for the gooch, he was a joy to watch last year and every other year for that matter. Big hole to fill for Kerry.
On a related note, would you's consider the AIB ad run in the papers today to be in bad taste? You'd imagine that it was run with his agreement, isn't he an employee for them as well as been a big part of their marketing campaign. A good few have voiced their opinions on twitter that it is classless, likely due to getting beat at weekend but also in light of his injury.
He is an AIB employee. I doubt they're being vindictive. The Ad was probably placed to run before the weekend.
2014 football championship won't be same without the best footballer. 31 before he returns we may have seen the best of him already (hope not)
Looked fairly innocuous at the time. First summer holiday in a while.
Real pity. One of the few players everyone likes....unless you are marking him of course.
Depressing. The most talented forward I have ever seen. Big blow for any neutral who loves good football. Hopefully a full recovery for Gooch.
The amount of player getting this injury seems to be extreme, is over training a cause, forwards pivoting and spinning quickly, causing long term strain/damage to their joints/ more importantly we have yet to find a quick come back from it, years ago it was a injury which would have finished you, but this injury is so widespread these days surely severe training has to have some input in this type of injury
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 17, 2014, 05:38:52 PM
The amount of player getting this injury seems to be extreme, is over training a cause, forwards pivoting and spinning quickly, causing long term strain/damage to their joints/ more importantly we have yet to find a quick come back from it, years ago it was a injury which would have finished you, but this injury is so widespread these days surely severe training has to have some input in this type of injury
6 months is the minimum , 9 months the max for recovery. I dont think its possible to come back quicker then that for an injury like this.
Looking at the reply Gooch's injury is nothing to do with blades...he was hit hard in the wrong place by the Mitchel's defender. Bit of controversy over whether he was "done" or not...
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 17, 2014, 04:45:43 PM
It certainly did. I was disappointed that The Irish Times called it 'a late challenge'. That suggests some wrongdoing.
It was a player legitimately diving in front of him trying to block the kick that Gooch unavoidably fell over. He had actually grabbed his knee before he had hit the ground, rather than protecting himself from the fall, so I suspected it might be something bad alright.
Best of luck to him and I wish him a speedy recovery as I am sure all from Castlebar Mitchels would do also.
Quote from: muppet on February 17, 2014, 06:52:35 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 17, 2014, 04:45:43 PM
It certainly did. I was disappointed that The Irish Times called it 'a late challenge'. That suggests some wrongdoing.
It was a player legitimately diving in front of him trying to block the kick that Gooch unavoidably fell over. He had actually grabbed his knee before he had hit the ground, rather than protecting himself from the fall, so I suspected it might be something bad alright.
Best of luck to him and I wish him a speedy recovery as I am sure all from Castlebar Mitchels would do also.
To be fair it was a clumsy attempt at a block by the defender, doubt there would have been many complainants if he got a yellow for it.
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 17, 2014, 03:57:43 PM
I didn't see Kerry as major challengers this year as it was, but thats them definitely out of the running now. Hopefully Gooch makes a good recovery.
Bet you saw Tyrone as challengers though ? ;)
Gutted for the gooch, a real joy to watch in full flow. I was looking forward to see how he would have been used this year. The traditional corner position or in a deeper playmaking role.
Interesting point about the injury and blades as it definitely seems to be getting more common. maybe a coincidence but I would watch a fair bit of Aussie Rules and they have had a few high profile injuries like this in the last few years.
Tough luck for the Gooch, wishing him a speedy recovery. Will be interesting how Kerry fill the huge void this summer.
Has he ever missed a championship before?
Quote from: ONeill on February 17, 2014, 08:02:54 PM
Has he ever missed a championship before?
I can never recall him missing a significant amount of championship football. Best of luck to him in his recovery, as many have said the championship will be worse of without him around.
Tough on CC at this stage of his playing career.
Glad now I saw him in the game v Dublin last September.
Best wishes for a speedy recovery.
Quote from: Rossfan on February 17, 2014, 08:44:15 PM
Tough on CC at this stage of his playing career.
Glad now I saw him in the game v Dublin last September.
Best wishes for a speedy recovery.
You didn't see him make mince meat of Mayo in 2011 as the closer for the Ros-Tipp main event? For shame, thought you'd have enjoyed that one more.
Didn't say I didn't enjoy that too ;D - but his first half v Dublin was something else.
That's two big players in a week. Kevin O'Brien last Thursday and Gooch on Saturday.
Terrible news for their clubs, counties and the lads themselves. I hope both make a fully recovery.
Wasn't there a spate of these injuries at the Nou Camp the other year?
Quote from: orangeman on February 17, 2014, 10:40:08 PM
That's two big players in a week. Kevin O'Brien last Thursday and Gooch on Saturday.
Terrible news for their clubs, counties and the lads themselves. I hope both make a fully recovery.
You could also add Aidan Forker who did his in the first National League game for Armagh against Louth.
I hope all, and others who have suffered other long term injuries, make it back to play again. Too often players never make it back eg. Ronan Clarke.
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 17, 2014, 06:52:13 PM
Looking at the reply Gooch's injury is nothing to do with blades...he was hit hard in the wrong place by the Mitchel's defender. Bit of controversy over whether he was "done" or not...
Controversy where and with whom? How was he 'done'?
Gooch saw an opportunity and went for it when most players would have taken an easy point. His marker turned and pursued him as best he could and another defender came across to make a block on the shot.
How in the name of God is that a 'done'?
f**k it, we can't get get anything right in this county. If Gooch scores goals against us in AI finals, we 're soft and didn' t man up and if he gets injured in a harmless challenge in a club game we' ve destroyed the son of the morning star of football.
Quote from: moysider on February 18, 2014, 12:29:41 AM
Gooch saw an opportunity and went for it when most players would have taken an easy point. His marker turned and pursued him as best he could and another defender came across to make a block on the shot.
f**k it, we can't get get anything right in this county. If Gooch scores goals against us in AI finals, we 're soft and didn' t man up and if he gets injured in a harmless challenge in a club game we' ve destroyed the son of the morning star of football.
Exactly, there was no malice whatsoever in that tackle, and it's very unfair for that to be said about the Mitchels player involved.
We're all big gooch fans, and his display in the semi-final against Dublin was a complete masterclass, but jesus a bit of perspective ffs:
Speaking to RTÉ Sport, Kerry county board chairman Patrick O'Sullivan confirmed that Cooper had the scan and that he will be sidelined for the rest of the year.
He said: "He (Cooper) visited Santry today to have a scan done on the knee. It showed that he ruptured his anterior cruciate ligament. As a result he is out of football for the year.
"The news is devastating for Colm. I don't recall him ever having an injury that kept him out for a long time except for the eye injury he got playing against Monaghan a few years back."
"It's hard to figure life without Colm Cooper in this year's Championship and it's like a death in the family to all of us."
Parkinson all over twitter saying he was deliberately taken out, the man dived at him and that's not how he was taught how to block a ball. Like that gobshite ever blocked a ball in his life.
Colm's injury is bad news for all football fans. He's a very special talent.
There has been much talk about his display in last year's semi-final against the Dubs but of course for Colm that was just a normal day at the office. I remember my heart dropping early in the 2011 final when Colm got an early goal and we had nightmare visions of the 2009 quarter final when Gooch scored a goal after 35 seconds and the Dubs collapsed. He's done that sort of thing throughout his career. May he have many more great days like that (but just not against the Dubs ;)).
Hope he recovers well and gets back to entertaining the Irish people again soon.
Had to laugh at the below quote ;D He is not dead FFS...
QuoteSpeaking to RTÉ Sport, Kerry county board chairman Patrick O'Sullivan confirmed that Cooper had the scan and that he will be sidelined for the rest of the year.
He said: "He (Cooper) visited Santry today to have a scan done on the knee. It showed that he ruptured his anterior cruciate ligament. As a result he is out of football for the year.
"The news is devastating for Colm. I don't recall him ever having an injury that kept him out for a long time except for the eye injury he got playing against Monaghan a few years back."
"It's hard to figure life without Colm Cooper in this year's Championship and it's like a death in the family to all of us."
A guy who did his ACL 6 months ago has just won a Gold in Snowboarding at the Olympics. There's hope yet.
Sorry to hear about the Gooch injury he is a class player, having said that I don't see anything malicious in the tackle, it was awkward if anything. If you see Colm Cooper bearing down on goal like that the alarm bells are ringing, all players involved in the play were giving total commitment.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kKRXwGnUW-c
Put the dummy back in there Moysider. Bit touchy aren't we? It was a major talking point on Twitter as to whether he deliberately taken out or not.
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 18, 2014, 03:05:06 PM
Put the dummy back in there Moysider. Bit touchy aren't we? It was a major talking point on Twitter as to whether he deliberately taken out or not.
Colm Parkinson ffs?
That isn't controversy. That is attention seeking.
The player dived at Cooper's feet, as anyone who ever blocked a ball has done. The subsequent collisions was awkward and Cooper fell over him. This happens in every match from minor up without incident. But unfortunately in this case Gooch got injured badly.
There isn't a word from Croke's nor anyone ins Kerry. They would rightly be up in arms if they thought he was 'done'. But they aren't. Kerry people know their football. He wasn't 'done', it was just one of those things.
The only negative comments I've seen are lazy comments from a couple of journalists in RTE and The Irish Times, both who name the wrong player. If they can't get the player right, with coverage the match available online, how valid is their criticism of him?
And then there is Parkinson. Yawn.
Quote from: muppet on February 18, 2014, 05:28:16 PM
There isn't a word from Croke's nor anyone ins Kerry. They would rightly be up in arms if they thought he was 'done'. But they aren't. Kerry people know their football. He wasn't 'done', it was just one of those things.
Well apart from the Dr Crokes manager Noel O'Leary who claimed you would get Life imprisonment for challenge like that down in Kerry :o
The tackle wasn't malicious, it was clumsy. Gooch's class in getting the shot away before the tackle was actually what did for him. A lesser player probably wouldn't have got the shot away but would likely have avoided injury. Gooch was hit by the tackle at the exact point when he was most vulnerable - his follow through.
It's a shame that he's not going to be displaying his skills again this summer. A big miss. He's had a good run up to now and fairly lucky with no major injuries, especially when you compare him to a couple of his contemporaries, players like Ronan Clarke and Sean Cavanagh, who burst on the scene at the same time as Cooper (Clarke in particular was plagued with serious injuries from 2003). Hopefully he'll make a full recovery.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 18, 2014, 06:00:50 PM
Well apart from the Dr Crokes manager Noel O'Leary who claimed you would get Life imprisonment for challenge like that down in Kerry :o
Didn't see that monumentally stupid comment.
If you are going to 'do' someone, you would hardly do it below hip level with your head in the equation.
Did he really say this? I can't find the quote anywhere. It's not like a Kerry club to whinge and make accusations after getting beaten in an All Ireland club championship match!
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 18, 2014, 08:12:09 PM
Did he really say this? I can't find the quote anywhere. It's not like a Kerry club to whinge and make accusations after getting beaten in an All Ireland club championship match!
There was no protests from his team mates at the time either.
Incidentally, the lad who came on for him looks a serious prospect.
He said it to Radio Kerry after the game. The audio link isn't working now maybe it was taken down.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 18, 2014, 08:49:36 PM
He said it to Radio Kerry after the game. The audio link isn't working now maybe it was taken down.
He said this after the Munster semi-final (17 yellow cards & 3 reds):
"When the players were left to play football, it was a great game. But it was stop-start, there were yellow and red cards being flashed, which was sad. The GAA is not like that. It should be just reffed normally and players left to get on with the game."
This after the Munster Final (regarding Colm Cooper's sending off with 2 yellows):
"That's only child's play. He's a lovely footballer. It was a small thing. It's nonsense to me to give a yellow card. There's worse things happening in football and hurling.
"What makes matters worse is people booing and ten minutes later they want to stand with him and take a picture. Make up your mind."
It would represent a dramatic u-turn to want to see a fella get a 'life-sentence' for attempting a diving block down.
Here is a picture from a different angle to the TV camera.
(http://www.irishexaminer.com/media/images/c/ColmCooperTheTurningPointFeb2014_large.jpg)
Gooch and Cunniffe (6) were running in the same direction as each other. In fact immediately after the photo was taken Cunniffe also falls over McDonagh. It is McDonagh's hip that catches Gooch's knee (not his shoulder as Parkinson claimed on twitter). At the time of the photo, McDonagh's hands and upper body have already gone across Gooch as he was diving that direction trying to get to block the ball. Gooch and Cunniffe's momentum took them both into McDonagh, or McDonagh's falling across the direction of their runs made a collision inevitable, depending on your point of view.
Still, as Mikey Sheehy (the real one) said, an innocuous challenge. But one with a very bad outcome.
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/sheehy-injured-gooch-irreplaceable-259147.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/sheehy-injured-gooch-irreplaceable-259147.html)
It was an accident, no malice whatsoever. Noel O'Leary is not the voice of Kerry and I'm sure not Crokes either for that matter. Note the disdain he is held in the Kerry Forum not just for those comments but also for comments he has made in the past. One man gives his crazy opinion minutes after a defeat and the paint brush is brought out.
Nothing malicious in the tackle whatsoever, I can't believe it is even being suggested.
Been a lot of hyperbole since the news of the injury broke (like a death in the family etc..) but this really is a hammer blow for us and worse still, given what I heard last night, that there is more extensive damage than first thought, this could be a very hard road back for Colm.
I think he will have the desire to get back to the highest level, but its his first substantive injury and at a bad stage of his career for it to happen. Its a tough one mentally to face into the year ahead for him, but also for the Kerry squad to face the challenge without him. The rest of them will have to step it up big time now.
On another note, I'm embarassed to be from the same county as that clown O'Leary (Crokes "manager"), whinging about the quality of the Kerry c/ship etc..an utter empty vessel, he and Casey both. Maybe no tactical moves or subs could have altered the result last Saturday, but they certainly didnt help the issue, nor have they helped the issue in any big game in recent years...Clowns, not worthy of the attention they receive. When I heard they had Crokes out doing 10k runs on the road over the Xmas period last year it confirmed to me how idiotic they are and every time they open their mouths, they copper fasten this view.
Would Crokes not exactly be popular up in North Kerry? I know down south the feeling is luke warm at best. Comments like the ones you mention are part of the issue with them too.
One of the all time greats, an incredible footballer. Will be missed this summer and hoping he makes a full recovery and gives it another lash next year. As someone said earlier, the new black card era would have benefited the gooch.
Looks like he's fractured his knee too - could be a long way back.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/fractured-knee-ensures-futher-gloom-for-kerry-s-colm-cooper-1.1696417
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 19, 2014, 09:30:08 AM
Looks like he's fractured his knee too - could be a long way back.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/fractured-knee-ensures-futher-gloom-for-kerry-s-colm-cooper-1.1696417
That's too bad. I feel sorry for him.
Quote from: muppet on February 18, 2014, 10:58:17 PM
Here is a picture from a different angle to the TV camera.
(http://www.irishexaminer.com/media/images/c/ColmCooperTheTurningPointFeb2014_large.jpg)
Gooch and Cunniffe (6) were running in the same direction as each other. In fact immediately after the photo was taken Cunniffe also falls over McDonagh. It is McDonagh's hip that catches Gooch's knee (not his shoulder as Parkinson claimed on twitter). At the time of the photo, McDonagh's hands and upper body have already gone across Gooch as he was diving that direction trying to get to block the ball. Gooch and Cunniffe's momentum took them both into McDonagh, or McDonagh's falling across the direction of their runs made a collision inevitable, depending on your point of view.
Still, as Mikey Sheehy (the real one) said, an innocuous challenge. But one with a very bad outcome.
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/sheehy-injured-gooch-irreplaceable-259147.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/sheehy-injured-gooch-irreplaceable-259147.html)
I haven't seen such comprehensive analysis of an incident since Kevin Costner in Oliver Stone's JFK!
Do you not remember the dissection of the stills and video footage from the Dromid/Derrytresk battle?
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 19, 2014, 11:25:42 AM
Do you not remember the dissection of the stills and video footage from the Dromid/Derrytresk battle?
Where's my Goniometer!
Horrible injury in itself but combined with the fixation needed it'll be a long road but wish Colm all the best, Kerry have a great medical team behind them so should do very well.
Or Martin O'Connells evil eyes?
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 19, 2014, 09:25:28 AM
Would Crokes not exactly be popular up in North Kerry? I know down south the feeling is luke warm at best. Comments like the ones you mention are part of the issue with them too.
No, I wouldn't say they're unpopular, some great people involved in Crokes who would be admired all over the county, but there are a few clowns like the lads mentioned..also a slightly bandwagon-ish element to some of their "fans" around Killarney. That being said, they work very hard at the game and produce a lot of valuable talent for the county teams. They have made massive strides on and off the field in the last 25 years. They were an Intermediate club until the late 80's, playing with the Killarney amalgamation in the county senior c/ship..indeed when Killarney won the 1984 County, there wasn't a single man from the town to take the Kerry captaincy the following year and it went to Ambrose O'Donovan from Gneeveguilla in the Langerland border zone..his son, also Ambrose now plays for Crokes.
Anyway, whatever ones opinion on them..they really need to harden the f**k up, mentally as much as anything else. And they also need a proper manager/coaches again...won't get near a Club AI with the current setup. They've been papering over cracks in recent seasons having Pat Flanagan and Donie Buckley involved for periods, but they've let both go too soon, with bad results following both times.
In fairness, he put it very badly and he IS a clown, but their manager was right about the Kerry c/ship..there is nothing there to beat them right now which is part of the problem. South Kerry of 5 years ago beat them 3 times in finals in the 2000s, but their strength has been decimated with emigration.
http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/2002140828-cooper-prepares-to-walk-a-well-worn-path/
(http://f2.thejournal.ie/media/2014/02/screenshot-1393088590-30758-426x500.png)
What did Gooch get done in this procedure in hospital ?
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 19, 2014, 01:42:10 PM
Or Martin O'Connells evil eyes?
John Mc Dermott wore those eyes. Cold hard eye of an ankle melter.
Most importantly best of luck on your recovery Gooch.
I see he has got a new job as the coach of Swansea FC.