Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lawnseed on February 04, 2014, 09:26:45 PM

Title: ross kemp in nordieland
Post by: lawnseed on February 04, 2014, 09:26:45 PM
its on sky now
Title: Re: ross kemp in nordieland
Post by: norabeag on February 04, 2014, 09:33:44 PM
Terribly sensationalist program but funny when they had to put subtitles on your woman from the Shankill
Post by: lawnseed on February 04, 2014, 09:34:49 PM
Quote from: norabeag on February 04, 2014, 09:33:44 PM
Terribly sensationalist program but funny when they had to put subtitles on your woman from the Shankill
yeah but they need too  :D
Post by: Syferus on February 04, 2014, 09:40:07 PM

I suppose it is a little sensationalist bit it's not far off the perception of the north, particularly in the summer months. Good ould craic to be fair. Lots of rough looking yokes on both sides. Social uplifting remains the best way to drain away the remaining hatred.
Post by: lawnseed on February 04, 2014, 09:48:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 04, 2014, 09:40:07 PM

I suppose it is a little sensationalist bit it's not far off the perception of the north, particularly in the summer months. Good ould craic to be fair. Lots of rough looking yokes on both sides. Social uplifting remains the best way to drain away the remaining hatred.

I cant help thinking bulldozer.. reclaim another bit of Belfast lough with the rubble. the whole town needs ploughed and reseeded
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2014, 10:45:44 PM
Fair reflection of life in the North most involving the underclasses doing the bidding of superior classes who later ignore or worse disown them
Post by: Gaffer on February 04, 2014, 10:48:34 PM
An hour long Spotlight/Counterpoint

Seen it all before!!!
Post by: lawnseed on February 04, 2014, 11:23:53 PM
as an industrialist looking for somewhere to invest I think i'll give nordieland a miss after seeing that show
Post by: T Fearon on February 05, 2014, 07:54:21 AM
Ring InvestNI,see how much money they'll give you....then you'll invest,mayhem or no mayhem
Post by: Cold tea on February 05, 2014, 08:08:01 AM
Bigfella got 2.4 million.
Post by: sensethetone on February 05, 2014, 08:27:00 AM
my favourite part...

Ross; so what do these bonfires represent?

Pro bonfire guy; dont know just like them.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2014, 09:35:06 AM
Next

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/t1/1012049_211764622361830_1445402675_n.jpg)
Post by: Wee Roddy on February 05, 2014, 09:45:05 AM
There was a guy on radio Ulster this morning who was adamant that the BBC had a vendetta against the Loyalist community. What sort of planet do these people live in? What was filmed was the reality of what happens in this country. If it makes them ridiculous, or sound ridiculous it is because they are ridiculous. Its embarrassing. 
Post by: T Fearon on February 05, 2014, 09:52:24 AM
What we have witnessed since the flag protests is parties linked to loyalist paramilitaries effectively copying the tactics used by Sinn Fein to advance politically, ie street politics/ violence alongside spinning to their people the myth that  everyone is against you,BBC,Police ( now known as PSNIRA in loyalist strongholds) denying they are paramilitaries (Gerry Adams/ Winkie Irvine) etc.All so tediously familiar
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2014, 10:11:08 AM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on February 05, 2014, 09:45:05 AM
There was a guy on radio Ulster this morning who was adamant that the BBC had a vendetta against the Loyalist community. What sort of planet do these people live in? What was filmed was the reality of what happens in this country. If it makes them ridiculous, or sound ridiculous it is because they are ridiculous. Its embarrassing.

It was Sky 1 last night so they must have a vendetta with the loyalist also!! Seige mentality Close the gates!!!!!
Post by: T Fearon on February 05, 2014, 12:09:51 PM
The guy on Nolan complaining about the BBC vendetta against loyalists this morning was referring to the excerpts played in the introduction to the topic on Nolan's show, not the Sky1 programme. His point was that the excerpts were all from the loyalist end, and none from nationalists

Post by: armaghniac on February 05, 2014, 12:45:01 PM
QuoteHis point was that the excerpts were all from the loyalist end, and none from nationalists

I don't suppose that would be because the loyalists were the ones rioting?
Post by: T Fearon on February 05, 2014, 12:57:40 PM
Not taking sides here,but he alluded to the point that someone connected to the IRA in Derry said that they would stop at nothing to get their way,and wondered why this excerpt wasn't featured.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 05, 2014, 08:17:53 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2014, 09:35:06 AM
Next

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/t1/1012049_211764622361830_1445402675_n.jpg)

PMSL - now that's a scarey programme coming up!!! I reckon Phil Mitchell will take on the lot of them. Is Sky 1 RA a republican splinter group??
Post by: laoislad on February 05, 2014, 08:25:21 PM
Yer all animals up there.
Post by: All of a Sludden on February 05, 2014, 10:13:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 05, 2014, 08:25:21 PM

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/t1/1621969_285087318334714_1936371781_n.jpg)
Post by: JimStynes on February 05, 2014, 10:30:47 PM
any video links for this programme?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 05, 2014, 10:36:55 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 05, 2014, 10:30:47 PM
any video links for this programme?
Jim if you have Sky it is repeated tomorrow at 10 on Sky 1.
Post by: lawnseed on February 05, 2014, 10:45:36 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on February 05, 2014, 10:13:42 PM

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/t1/1621969_285087318334714_1936371781_n.jpg)
I get you Dorathy and your little dawg too
Post by: T Fearon on February 06, 2014, 12:00:01 AM
Still and all you'd see a lot rougher in Moore St,Dublin
Post by: johnneycool on February 06, 2014, 08:55:14 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 05, 2014, 10:45:36 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on February 05, 2014, 10:13:42 PM

I get you Dorathy and your little dawg too

She's only 25 hat one  ;D
Post by: Applesisapples on February 06, 2014, 02:40:46 PM
I see Nolan had a bit on this last night. Once again Gerry Kelly against Winkie, Humphreys and Jwamie Bwryson. A bit biased and no real challenges to the notion that SF are to blame for everything. best part was the Kodalines folled by the nutcase knecker or kn**ker...take your pick.
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2014, 03:30:43 PM
Watch that Grant Mitchell thingy last night. A load of nonsense.

I did laugh at the subtitles though.
Post by: Applesisapples on February 06, 2014, 03:36:01 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 06, 2014, 03:30:43 PM
Watch that Grant Mitchell thingy last night. A load of nonsense.

I did laugh at the subtitles though.
A bit onesided.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 06, 2014, 03:45:17 PM
that LAD page regularly makes me laugh, and sometimes despair at the hatred some of those loons have for me as an Irishman, and my fellow Irishmen who live in NI. But mostly it makes me laugh.

They were talking about this thing, and someone said that he was proud of Ross Kemp because of his service in the Paras, and all that. Hilarious. And then all the agreements and likes.

For the background, the character Grant Mitchell is the one whose back story includes

"Backstory[edit]
The second son born to Eric and Peggy Mitchell (Jo Warne and Barbara Windsor), Grant was close to his older brother Phil (Steve McFadden) growing up (there was just over a year between them) and protective of his much younger sister Sam (Danniella Westbrook). Grant was a paratrooper in the army where he undertook a mechanic's course, but being involved in the Falklands War deeply scarred him, so he dropped out and began to adapt to life as a civilian. The memories of war troubled him greatly. He was plagued with nightmares, and was prone to terrible rages as a result."

Ross Kemp has never served in the British Army, but he is an expert on looking hard in front of the cameras with body guards behind the camera.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 06, 2014, 11:51:01 PM
Post by: omagh_gael on February 07, 2014, 10:04:07 AM
Was just about to post that myself AZ, hilarious. The LAD is excellent,  they had a blog up yesterday exposing UTV for publishing a story about a republican being arrested in Gaza that actually happened 12 years ago. They were able to track down a twitter feed showing a Shankill loyalist had sent UTV a link to the original daily mail article and UTV went ahead and published it without verifying simple details e.g. the date of the story!

Red faces all around.
Post by: lawnseed on February 07, 2014, 10:39:34 AM
Ross kemp IS an actor.. Hes acting..
Post by: AZOffaly on February 07, 2014, 10:40:14 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 07, 2014, 10:39:34 AM
Ross kemp IS an actor.. Hes acting..

Correcto.