GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: GrandMasterFlash on February 03, 2014, 02:44:58 PM

Title: Muineachán v An Mhí, NFL Division 2 Round 2, Clones, Sunday 9th February 2014
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on February 03, 2014, 02:44:58 PM
This tie needs no introduction and always contains plenty of needle..

We should have McManus and (possibly) Lennon starting with Kieran Hughes there or there about. I feel we ran out of steam yesterday. We were full tilt for 40-50 minutes and played some great defending and counter attacking football but need to pace ourselves better for the full 70 mins.. I know it's only February and that should come with fitness. Our new lads done well I thought but we defended the lead too much when Down got their goal and this crack of hand-passing backwards right the way back to the keeper is hard to watch..

So, it's a case of do what you do well and I think we're in with a good shout..
Title: Re: Muineachán v An Mhí, NFL Division 2 Round 2, Clones, Sunday 9th February 2014
Post by: Main Street on February 03, 2014, 03:10:54 PM
Revenge for Banty, part 3.
Hard to see any other outcome but yet another win for Monaghan over Meath.
Title: Re: Muineachán v An Mhí, NFL Division 2 Round 2, Clones, Sunday 9th February 2014
Post by: Jinxy on February 03, 2014, 03:11:49 PM
I believe Monaghan are very rough this year.
Post by: babarino on February 03, 2014, 11:24:46 PM
Cormac Reilly's the roughest Meath man we've had to deal with recently. Has he been named yet? ...we can't seem to shake him off.
Post by: Main Street on February 04, 2014, 12:24:06 PM
Quote from: babarino on February 03, 2014, 11:24:46 PM
Cormac Reilly's the roughest Meath man we've had to deal with recently. Has he been named yet? ...we can't seem to shake him off.
He clings as hard as a Cavanagh arm link.

Title: the farney
Post by: seafoid on February 04, 2014, 01:22:59 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 03, 2014, 03:11:49 PM
I believe Monaghan are very rough this year.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/i-dont-think-we-are-as-far-off-the-mark-as-a-lot-of-people-say-29436286.html

Tyrone were All-Ireland champions and had the famous cup in daily circulation, with Donnelly the appointed guardian, seeing that it got to all the destinations marked in his diary and came to no harm.On the day it arrived in Irvinestown, the Ederney parish priest, Fr Larry Duffy, came to pay his dues. He was a Farney man and in those few minutes his passion for Monaghan football shone like a beacon. Seeing his arrival, the principal jested: "Come here Father and we will get ye immortalised, the first Monaghan man to hold the Sam Maguire."

The white and blue jersey was stolen in Kenya in 2002 while he was saying Mass by a tree in the open air, one of a number of items taken from his car. He came back some time later with a Monaghan GAA yearbook to show the locals what the missing object looked like and asked them to help in the search.
The same evening he spotted a Kenyan lady on a bicycle wearing a Monaghan shirt. Rarely has two and two made four with such alacrity. "We had an interesting meeting. She said her husband had got it for her; turns out she had no husband. Maybe her son had taken it from the car, I don't know."No matter. Priest and shirt were reunited.

Post by: Jinxy on February 04, 2014, 01:45:57 PM
I hope he didn't take it back there and then.
Post by: Bingo on February 04, 2014, 02:27:04 PM
Slightly off topic but it relates to Monaghan, so i'll put it in here but everytime I hear about player welfare and burnout I can only laugh. How serious are they about it?

On Sunday 3 young lads played for Monaghan in the NFL - Ryan Wylie, Conor Boyle and Paraic Keenan.

Last night the U21's played a Shamrock Cup match in Monaghan and yes, all 3 players started for the U21's.

So in early February, Monaghan GAA in their wisdom thought that it be ok to play these 3 lads in two matches in two days.
Post by: Main Street on February 04, 2014, 06:21:31 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 04, 2014, 01:22:59 PM

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/i-dont-think-we-are-as-far-off-the-mark-as-a-lot-of-people-say-29436286.html
The bit that made me smile was
'It is only a few years since a Dublin footballer slagged off a Monaghan opponent's allegiance to the Queen.'
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on February 05, 2014, 03:04:25 PM
Quote from: Bingo on February 04, 2014, 02:27:04 PM
Slightly off topic but it relates to Monaghan, so i'll put it in here but everytime I hear about player welfare and burnout I can only laugh. How serious are they about it?

On Sunday 3 young lads played for Monaghan in the NFL - Ryan Wylie, Conor Boyle and Paraic Keenan.

Last night the U21's played a Shamrock Cup match in Monaghan and yes, all 3 players started for the U21's.

So in early February, Monaghan GAA in their wisdom thought that it be ok to play these 3 lads in two matches in two days.

Is there much difference in playing two matches in 3 days and having a couple of horrendously hard training sessions in the week? I would prefer the above option to be honest...

Post by: thejuice on February 07, 2014, 09:05:13 AM
Quote from: Main Street on February 03, 2014, 03:10:54 PM

We owe you lads about 10 years of hidings for sending that clown down our way. Hopefully this weekend will be the start of it.

That said its hard to predict. Different Meath team, different approach and different rules. Some bookies put us slight favourites probably based on last weeks games.
Post by: Jinxy on February 07, 2014, 10:08:53 AM
Given the pace we have in attack I think we should drop an extra body back around midfield/centre back.
If we concede more than a single goal, we'll lose.
Post by: Main Street on February 07, 2014, 12:35:04 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 07, 2014, 09:05:13 AM
Quote from: Main Street on February 03, 2014, 03:10:54 PM

We owe you lads about 10 years of hidings for sending that clown down our way. Hopefully this weekend will be the start of it.

That said its hard to predict. Different Meath team, different approach and different rules. Some bookies put us slight favourites probably based on last weeks games.
Sending Banty down there was payment in full for Colm Coyle. You should have taken your punishment with humility and treated him with good old fashioned christian respect.

Is there some Meath local radio coverage of the game or do we all join hands together and listen to Northern Sound?

Monaghan team named.  The subs bench alone has enough wherewithal to win this game

(http://www.northernsound.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/Monaghancrest1.jpg)

1 Rory Beggan

2 Ryan Wylie

3 Drew Wylie

4 Fintan Kelly

5 Dessie Mone

6 Colin Walshe

7 Conor Boyle

8 Gavin Doogan

9 Paul Finlay

10 Thomas Kerr

11  Stephen Gollogly

12 Padraic Keenan

13 Dermot Malone

14 Jack Mc Carron

15 Chris Mc Guinness

subs  Gerard Mc Caffrey, Kieran Duffy,  Conor Galligan,  Karl O'Connell, Vinny Corry, Owen Lennon,  Padraig Donaghy, Shane Carey, Shane Smyth, Conor McManus , Kieran Hughes

Post by: Bingo on February 07, 2014, 02:34:49 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on February 05, 2014, 03:04:25 PM
Quote from: Bingo on February 04, 2014, 02:27:04 PM

Is there much difference in playing two matches in 3 days and having a couple of horrendously hard training sessions in the week? I would prefer the above option to be honest...

By all accounts this was caused by a bus driver not collecting 7 players in Dublin on time to get them home.

Matches V Training? No comparison, its the physciality, contact and intensity of a match that can't be repricated in a tough training session. Thats why managers harp on about not releasing players for club matches as the chances of injuries and fatigue are increased. Sure after a tough match the training would be about recovery.
Title: Re: Muineachán v An Mhí,
Post by: seafoid on February 07, 2014, 10:29:59 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 04, 2014, 06:21:31 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 04, 2014, 01:22:59 PM

The bit that made me smile was
'It is only a few years since a Dublin footballer slagged off a Monaghan opponent's allegiance to the Queen.'
Dubs , jaysus.
Post by: thejuice on February 08, 2014, 09:35:25 AM
The game should be on LMFM.ie although coverage will be split with the Louth game I'd say.

Both teams line out the same as last week.

Paddy O'Rourke;
Donal Keogan, Kevin Reilly, Michael Burke;
Padraic Harnan, Bryan Menton, David Dalton;
Andrew Tormey, Shane O'Rourke;
Cillian O'Sullivan, Damien Carroll, Graham Reilly;
Eamon Wallace, Stephen Bray, Michael Newman.
Post by: Main Street on February 08, 2014, 09:45:16 AM
There's also split coverage on Northern Sound between this game and the Cavan game.
If the splits line up then it might work out. Anything to escape Michael Tynan covering the Cavan game. That can be a near death experience.

Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2014, 06:06:28 PM
Sounds like the weather conditions will be ideal for the Monaghan lads.
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 08, 2014, 08:51:26 PM
This is a big test for Meath. At the Galway game last week, Meath were devastating when they got the overlaps going and should have scored had twice as many goals. Monaghan I think will be a lot more organised in defence and it won't be so easy to attack with such pace so it's going to be good to see how Meath cope. The other worry is how open Meath are at the back. There doesn't look to be any appetite in Meath to go with a defensive gameplan. The three half-forwards are all proper forwards - not like what you get with other counties where you get a defender on one wing and another the other side who doesn't know how to score. Same with Meath's midfield - two players who spent their lives in the forwards.  Looking forward to it and I think if Meath win, we can be quite confident about the Armagh game in Navan in 3 weeks meaning we could potentially travel to Donegal with 6 points from a total of 6 available.
Post by: Main Street on February 08, 2014, 11:13:52 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 08, 2014, 08:51:26 PM
This is a big test for Meath. At the Galway game last week, Meath were devastating when they got the overlaps going and should have scored had twice as many goals. Monaghan I think will be a lot more organised in defence and it won't be so easy to attack with such pace so it's going to be good to see how Meath cope. The other worry is how open Meath are at the back. There doesn't look to be any appetite in Meath to go with a defensive gameplan. The three half-forwards are all proper forwards - not like what you get with other counties where you get a defender on one wing and another the other side who doesn't know how to score. Same with Meath's midfield - two players who spent their lives in the forwards.  Looking forward to it and I think if Meath win, we can be quite confident about the Armagh game in Navan in 3 weeks meaning we could potentially travel to Donegal with 6 points from a total of 6 available.

(http://rlv.zcache.com/do_not_count_your_chickens_before_they_hatch_sign_sticker-r75f4965b7b7e4d85be11b5fe6bfd60f0_v9waf_8byvr_324.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on February 09, 2014, 01:13:27 PM
Jonathan Swift vs. Big Tom, fertile plains vs. rush-infested drumlins, beef bullocks and thoroughbreds vs. mushrooms and chickens. There is only one acceptable outcome.
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2014, 01:23:20 PM
QuoteJonathan Swift vs. Big Tom, fertile plains vs. rush-infested drumlins, beef bullocks and thoroughbreds vs. mushrooms and chickens. There is only one acceptable outcome.

Horny-handed sons of Ulster versus the squireens of the Pale. There is only one acceptable outcome.
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2014, 02:24:36 PM
Northern Sound
"21 minuted gone, Monaghan 6 pints to no score and there's a bite to this game"

edit 
a few minutes later

Monaghan 0-9 Meath 0-1

Consistent fouling by the Meath savages "especially when McManus gets on the ball"

Post by: thejuice on February 09, 2014, 02:28:40 PM
Monaghan 0-08 Meath 0-00

Jesus Christ.  :(
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2014, 02:32:19 PM
Northern Sound

" OOoooooooooHHHHHHHHHh McManus,  lovely score from McManus, nonchalantly hit over his shoulder, Monaghan on fire"

Monaghan 0-10- Meath 0-1
Post by: seafoid on February 09, 2014, 02:35:53 PM
Monaghan obviously very up for this and meath point scoring problems seem to have resurfaced  :o
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2014, 02:36:08 PM
After the crazed excitement from the commentator on the Monaghan game, fortunately we (Northern Sound) switch over for some downtime to the Cavan game with a large dose of mogadon inspired commentary.

Monaghan 0-12 -- Meath 0-1
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on February 09, 2014, 02:43:31 PM
Monaghan 0-13 Meath 0-1 HT
Post by: thejuice on February 09, 2014, 02:46:04 PM
what in the name of Tommy Dowd is going on?

Is there a hurricane blowing down the field?
Post by: donegal lad on February 09, 2014, 02:50:17 PM
Quote from: gwan-ye-boy-ya on February 09, 2014, 02:43:31 PM
Monaghan 0-13 Meath 0-1 HT
What are the conditions like assuming Monaghan playing with a strong breeze. Either that or maths all out attack tactics have been found out already did once end a lot against an average Galway team last week
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2014, 03:03:11 PM
Meath have a bit of wind in this half but its all the other wind they have is the problem
Monaghan 0-19  Meath 0-6

rory beggan just scored a free, 42m out,   20m in from the sideline.
Therefore the wind can't be that strong
Post by: thejuice on February 09, 2014, 03:12:14 PM
Monaghan 0-16 
Meath 0-06

Meath 4 unanswered points.

Sign of life at least.

Kevin Reilly is in midfield, Shane O'Rourke at full forward.
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on February 09, 2014, 03:15:31 PM
Paddy O'Rourke saves Jack McCarron's penalty. still 16 - 06
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2014, 03:19:40 PM
Goalkeeper Rory Beggan with another 45, 2nd in a row
now Monaghan 0-19  Meath 0-06

Post by: thejuice on February 09, 2014, 03:26:45 PM
f**k sake,  >:(

Can't get my head round this. Strong one week, absolute shite the next.

I know how good Monaghan are and I could understand it if we'd lost by around 4,5 or even 6 points but to be so far off the mark is puzzling.
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2014, 03:28:34 PM
To be honest, I'm not massively surprised.
I saw enough against Kildare and heard enough from the Galway game to know that something like this was entirely possible.
It's probably no harm actually.
Post by: thejuice on February 09, 2014, 03:32:38 PM
Perhaps, I didn't see either game.

If this helps Mick rethink things once again then no harm, but he said it himself that last years drubbing from Monaghan was a wake up call.

???
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2014, 03:33:41 PM
I would have been content with a 6 point win.
I really don't see the need to rub Meath's noses into the mushrooms.

We have better things to do than to be waking up Meath
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on February 09, 2014, 03:36:32 PM
Monaghan 0-20 Meath 0-8. FT. sweet

Mushroom soup will be nicer tonight
Post by: thejuice on February 09, 2014, 03:42:23 PM
Well done to ye. Ye might have a good year again.

Hope we can at least get something from the Armagh game.
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2014, 04:13:57 PM
QuoteHope we can at least get something from the Armagh game.

Hopefully you'll get a good beating.
Post by: thejuice on February 09, 2014, 04:25:59 PM
No, I hope the opposite will happen actually.
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2014, 04:51:05 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 09, 2014, 04:25:59 PM
No, I hope the opposite will happen actually.

Would the opposite be a bad beating?
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 05:29:34 PM
Defeats like that shouldn't happen to good teams. Monaghan play close to the line and were able to unnerve Meath - completely different to last week when Galway stood off Meath and were happy to play football with us. This defeat brings Meath supporters back down to earth after everyone got a little bit carried away with the scoring power shown last week. Some obvious concerns I would have is how poorly prepared Meath were for this game - after two big defeats to the same opposition in 2013, I expected we would go about the game differently. Also disappointing is how de-spirited some Meath players become as soon as things start going against them.

Also label me a sore loser but I thought the referee made some horrendous decisions. Throwing up the ball when Paddy O'Rourke took too long on a kickout - there was a Monaghan player on the ground and it wasn't obvious to me the referee wanted to play on. Also what is the point of the black card if some referees are going to be afraid to use them - in one instance it was blatantly obvious the Monaghan full-back was hanging off David Bray. This was towards the end when the game was long over - the ref must have noted the fouling because he spoke to the Monaghan player. Yet no card. Just seems like every other rule going where different referees will interpret them different.
Post by: timmyot501 on February 09, 2014, 05:43:56 PM
Monaghan did rightly. Agree that the throw up against the Meath keeper was very harsh indeed. Also a soft pen for us but we did play very well. Some super points from all angles. Meath were very poor. Expected dangerous forward play but the danger was all at our end. Also well done truagh. Disgrace that the 2 games clashed
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 05:54:27 PM
Monaghan are picking up where they left off last year. I was naively optimistic about Meath's chances after out big scoring tally last week and as well as that I got carried away by Monaghan's failure to beat Down. Reality is Monaghan are totally superior to Meath! 

It's always good to see a different county challenging and I hope Monaghan continue to improve and genuinely challenge for an All-Ireland this year. There were a lot of names in that Monaghan team I didn't recognise so it's onwards and upwards for them.
Post by: seafoid on February 09, 2014, 05:57:37 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 05:29:34 PM
Defeats like that shouldn't happen to good teams. Monaghan play close to the line and were able to unnerve Meath - completely different to last week when Galway stood off Meath and were happy to play football with us. This defeat brings Meath supporters back down to earth after everyone got a little bit carried away with the scoring power shown last week. Some obvious concerns I would have is how poorly prepared Meath were for this game - after two big defeats to the same opposition in 2013, I expected we would go about the game differently. Also disappointing is how de-spirited some Meath players become as soon as things start going against them.

Also label me a sore loser but I thought the referee made some horrendous decisions. Throwing up the ball when Paddy O'Rourke took too long on a kickout - there was a Monaghan player on the ground and it wasn't obvious to me the referee wanted to play on. Also what is the point of the black card if some referees are going to be afraid to use them - in one instance it was blatantly obvious the Monaghan full-back was hanging off David Bray. This was towards the end when the game was long over - the ref must have noted the fouling because he spoke to the Monaghan player. Yet no card. Just seems like every other rule going where different referees will interpret them different.
Meath are not a good team yet. It was a long way down. Galway are just as bad . At least Armagh are worse.
Post by: Throw ball on February 09, 2014, 06:08:29 PM

In relation to the black card the player may be hanging off him but it is not a black card unless he is pulled to the ground. Stupid maybe but not referees fault.
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 06:12:56 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on February 09, 2014, 06:08:29 PM

In relation to the black card the player may be hanging off him but it is not a black card unless he is pulled to the ground. Stupid maybe but not referees fault.

The incident I am thinking of - David Bray was making a run (had not got the ball) and was being held up by Drew Wylie so it was an obstruction in my opinion. It mattered little in the end. I agree with the above though that little anomaly in the rule.
Post by: babarino on February 09, 2014, 06:16:44 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 05:54:27 PM
Monaghan are picking up where they left off last year. I was naively optimistic about Meath's chances after out big scoring tally last week and as well as that I got carried away by Monaghan's failure to beat Down. Reality is Monaghan are totally superior to Meath! 

It's always good to see a different county challenging and I hope Monaghan continue to improve and genuinely challenge for an All-Ireland this year. There were a lot of names in that Monaghan team I didn't recognise so it's onwards and upwards for them.

Fair dues for taking the defeat on the chin. Last week Monaghan were far better than Down - the 'Aristocrats' delude themselves thinking otherwise. Both teams were short big players and the draw was down to Monaghan's rookies (who played well and won the match ups) not taking their goal chances. Otherwise it would have been a rout. Soft frees, from a consistently poor, ref to Down, after McCartan and his backroom team threw wobblers on the sideline. The Down keeper should have been black carded...

Tús maith - Muineacháin abú.
Post by: agorm on February 09, 2014, 06:30:04 PM
I was at the game in Clones, there was a pretty decent Meath crowd there. Very well done Monaghan. The simple fact is that Meath were unable to play against the defensive strategy that Monaghan played. They had an extra guy in the defence and he mopped up everything. On top of that everytime Meath did attack Monaghan had about 3 men around the attacker and they seemed physically stronger than the Meath players. When Monaghan attacked they were allowed shoot with less pressure but their point taking was sublime in the first half especially.

I agree with Sea The Stars, some terrible decisions by the referee, the throw in against Paddy, the penalty amoung others.

Very concerning that no change was made in one of the worst first halves we have played in years. Surprised as I was getting quite optimistic about the management.

Very few players played anyway well. Paddy O'Rourke did well, Keoghan did well considering he was on one of theor best players but our defence overall is poor. I thought that David Bray did well when he came on and should start the next day. Carroll very luck to last the 70 minutes as he doesnt seem up to the CHF position.
Post by: Hardy on February 09, 2014, 07:45:57 PM
Well done Big Tom and the mushrooms. Monaghan are clearly a level above us and that shouldn't be too much of a surprise, given their form of last year.

Sounds like we had a bit of a harsh lesson today. As someone said, that may not be a bad thing. The manner of the defeat is worrying, though, particularly the reports about the players dropping heads, the management inaction and the fact that our players looked physically weak. To me, they look weaker than just about any other inter-county team I know. But that's no more than an impression and I'm assured they're working hard in the gym. Great, I think.

By that I mean that it's a bit of a pity that it seems to be impossible to be successful just playing football. You have to be muscled up as well. Which seems at odds with the ever-decreasing physicality in the game. If there's hardly any physical challenge any more, why is physical strength so telling? I'm not talking about endurance and stamina, the benefits of which are obvious, but the type of muscle strength we see in Donegal, Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, etc.

I'd still like to think, based on all we've seen so far, that Mick and the lads are working on a system of play with their own stamp, that's based on skill, pace and accuracy. If that's the case, setbacks like this are to be expected and can be be a valuable part of the learning. I hope they keep at it. Even if it ultimately fails, there's no shame in an honest effort to try something.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 09, 2014, 08:04:48 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 05:29:34 PMMonaghan play close to the line and were able to unnerve Meath - completely different to last week when Galway stood off Meath and were happy to play football with us
That's a ridiculous comment. Monaghan played plenty of great football today and Meath simply couldn't match them.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 09, 2014, 08:08:14 PM
Great performance from the team today with a great spread of scores. Nice to see us holding out for the full 70 minutes after last week. Some of McManus'points in particular, were sublime.
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 08:20:33 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 09, 2014, 08:04:48 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 05:29:34 PMMonaghan play close to the line and were able to unnerve Meath - completely different to last week when Galway stood off Meath and were happy to play football with us
That's a ridiculous comment. Monaghan played plenty of great football today and Meath simply couldn't match them.

Nothing ridiculous apart the idiot who is clearly very paranoid! I realise Monaghan played some excellent football and they played the type of football I would expect from a top team. Meath had a more naive approach to today's game expecting that Monaghan would let them play as Galway did last week. Monaghan have some class footballers - despite the hammering Meath took it's still enjoyable to see a class footballer like McManus.

However going back to my earlier point - Monaghan intimidated Meath today and I feel they do sail close to the wind. I'm not saying that's a bad thing but all the same I would be cautious a different referee might view their tackling, off the ball stuff different. Onwards and upwards from them though - when players like the Hughes's, Eoin Lennon and Dessie Mone get back from their injuries they are going to be a serious threat to all.
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2014, 08:28:07 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 09, 2014, 07:45:57 PM
Well done Big Tom and the mushrooms. Monaghan are clearly a level above us and that shouldn't be too much of a surprise, given their form of last year.

Sounds like we had a bit of a harsh lesson today. As someone said, that may not be a bad thing. The manner of the defeat is worrying, though, particularly the reports about the players dropping heads, the management inaction and the fact that our players looked physically weak. To me, they look weaker than just about any other inter-county team I know. But that's no more than an impression and I'm assured they're working hard in the gym. Great, I think.

By that I mean that it's a bit of a pity that it seems to be impossible to be successful just playing football. You have to be muscled up as well. Which seems at odds with the ever-decreasing physicality in the game. If there's hardly any physical challenge any more, why is physical strength so telling? I'm not talking about endurance and stamina, the benefits of which are obvious, but the type of muscle strength we see in Donegal, Dublin, Kerry, Mayo, etc.

I'd still like to think, based on all we've seen so far, that Mick and the lads are working on a system of play with their own stamp, that's based on skill, pace and accuracy. If that's the case, setbacks like this are to be expected and can be be a valuable part of the learning. I hope they keep at it. Even if it ultimately fails, there's no shame in an honest effort to try something.
I doubt that was a factor in this game. Monaghan played Meath offa da park.
Monaghan have one of the smallest and unmuscled teams going, in inter county football, at this and higher levels.
By all accounts the best player on the park was McManus, he's as scrawny as you can get.
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 08:40:03 PM
I don't know Main Street - McManus is able to take a hit and he took some serious ones over at the stand side from Keoghan and I think Burke at one stage in the first half yet he barely flinched, turned around and picked out a fine pass.

I personally wouldn't think strength is an issue for Meath - although where strength comes most into play is in the tackle. And today when Monaghan players tackled Meath players they slowed them down or made them go back ways. When Meath tackled they didn't have the same effect. 
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2014, 08:56:36 PM
The commentators said as much that Meath defenders were resorting to most foul actions in vain attempts to stop McManus
but you'd think, according to some accounts here, that the only players doing the fouling were Monaghan players and the only players escaping censure from the ref were Monaghan players.
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 09:01:39 PM
I was at the game so my reports are not second hand. Definitely some of Monaghan's frees/penalty I din't think were frees and one or two occasions, Meath should have got something they didn't get though we did get a point from Stephen Bray that looked wide.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 09, 2014, 09:08:25 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 08:20:33 PM

Nothing ridiculous apart the idiot who is clearly very paranoid! I realise Monaghan played some excellent football and they played the type of football I would expect from a top team. Meath had a more naive approach to today's game expecting that Monaghan would let them play as Galway did last week. Monaghan have some class footballers - despite the hammering Meath took it's still enjoyable to see a class footballer like McManus.
Idiot? Really no need to resort to personal abuse.

And now you're talking about how Meath might have been expecting Monaghan to let them play, whereas your initial post was that Monaghan weren't happy to play football with Meath - they were, but Meath couldn't match them.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 09, 2014, 09:10:09 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 09:01:39 PM
I was at the game so my reports are not second hand. Definitely some of Monaghan's frees/penalty I din't think were frees and one or two occasions, Meath should have got something they didn't get though we did get a point from Stephen Bray that looked wide.
I'm fairly sure it was wide. Academic however, given the gap.
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 09:17:06 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 09, 2014, 09:08:25 PM

And now you're talking about how Meath might have been expecting Monaghan to let them play, whereas your initial post was that Monaghan weren't happy to play football with Meath - they were, but Meath couldn't match them.

You're looking for an argument where they is none. You clearly aren't able to understood the points I am making about Monaghan - all good by the way yet you seem to interpret it different. I called you an idiot because that is how you are coming across.
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2014, 09:48:11 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 09:01:39 PM
Possibly your traumatic experience as a spectator to this mauling,  affected a more objective analysis of the ref's performance :)
Maybe if a Monaghan player faked getting hit to get a Meath player booked or sent off, or a monaghan player with the ball runs purposefully into an outstretched  defender's arm and hits the floor screaming "clothesline" (fooling the ref), you would certainly have something to gripe about.
I should hope that none of that tomfoolery that's part of the menu when playing certain other teams, was not an experience that Meath players were subjected to in Clones. 
A couple of decisions here and there, most probably had less than zero impact on the result. The 99% differential factor on the day, was the better prepared and talented team won handsomely.
Last year, Meath improved as the season went on and ended the league campaign with a decent tussle against Monaghan in Croke Pk, a far cry from their abysmal league encounter.
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2014, 11:04:48 PM
I believe Monaghan were very rough.
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2014, 11:17:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 09, 2014, 11:04:48 PM
I believe Monaghan were very rough.

If some Meath Rip van Winkle was in a coma for 20 years, and he came back to find Meath hammered as the other team was "rough", he'd probably go back to sleep!
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2014, 11:25:56 PM
Is there anything to be said for saying another Mass?
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2014, 11:33:55 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 09, 2014, 11:25:56 PM
Is there anything to be said for saying another Mass?

You're turning into Mylestheslasher now.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 10, 2014, 12:00:15 AM
A meath team calling another team rough, well i never !! lol
Post by: seafoid on February 10, 2014, 07:43:03 AM
I see Monaghan are 40 to 1 for Sam with Paddy Power. They might be worth a fiver each way.
Post by: FarneyMan on February 10, 2014, 08:42:11 AM
This thread is hilarious, meath men complaining about another team being overly physical and rough..........pot, kettle etc etc
Post by: Jinxy on February 10, 2014, 09:34:58 AM
Imagine standing underneath an Airbus A380 as it takes off.
That's the sort of whoosh we're dealing with here.
Post by: Bingo on February 10, 2014, 11:29:15 AM
Big win for Monaghan. Was at a GAA function on Saturday night and not much hope was given to Monaghan but no one knew McManus was playing at that stage. Feeling was that Monaghan were still short a few too many regulars and a free scoring Meath would have too much for them this time.

Any team with McManus will have a chance.

Makes the next game interesting and suddenly its not a must win game.
Post by: seafoid on February 10, 2014, 11:55:04 AM
Of course the link between the 2 teams is el Banty. Maybe he was the Manchurian mushroom candidate in Monaghan's bid for global fuball domination.
Post by: Main Street on February 10, 2014, 12:30:33 PM
Probably Monaghan will pick up enough points to stay in Div 2. 
Excellent work from O'Rourke so far, he seems to have bedded in nicely.

I see Eugene Mcgee was in Clones, probably selecting this game to observe how the black card would effect the play.  I wonder why this particular pairing?  ::)
He wrote about his experience in the Indo.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/meath-in-a-right-royal-mess-29994306.html

His interpretation of the Monaghan tackling
"Looking at the Monaghan play, I detected an emphasis on tackling properly without fouling and this played a big part in the demise of the Meath attacking play in the first half."

Post by: Hardy on February 10, 2014, 12:45:42 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 10, 2014, 09:34:58 AM
Imagine standing underneath an Airbus A380 as it takes off.
That's the sort of whoosh we're dealing with here.

Maybe it's a double whoosh and they're actually participating.

Nah.
Post by: Schkite on February 10, 2014, 01:04:42 PM
I see McGee is continuing the trend of getting McManus's name wrong. Usually it's Ciaran McManus, now McGee is calling him Conor Walsh. You'd think for an all-star who's been on the inter county scene 7 years, journalists would be able to get his name right by now.
Post by: Aristo 60 on February 10, 2014, 02:46:22 PM
Quote from: babarino on February 09, 2014, 06:16:44 PM

Fair dues for taking the defeat on the chin. Last week Monaghan were far better than Down - the 'Aristocrats' delude themselves thinking otherwise. Both teams were short big players and the draw was down to Monaghan's rookies (who played well and won the match ups) not taking their goal chances. Otherwise it would have been a rout. Soft frees, from a consistently poor, ref to Down, after McCartan and his backroom team threw wobblers on the sideline. The Down keeper should have been black carded...

Absolute rot. Monaghan hadn't the bottle to hold their lead (again) and Down missed enough in the closing period to win the match comfortably.

McCartan's midfield substitutions nullified monaghan and Finlay, who did well in the first half, tired in the second half. Down took advantage.

And in future don't have me coming onto other threads looking for your anti Down bias.
Post by: Jinxy on February 10, 2014, 02:55:51 PM
That's him told. ;D
Post by: Main Street on February 10, 2014, 03:28:26 PM
That's the delusion talking.
I thought you'd recognise those traits, Jinxy :D
Post by: Itchy on February 10, 2014, 06:00:33 PM
I see the division 3 infighting of last year has moved to Div 2!
Post by: armaghniac on February 10, 2014, 06:12:52 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 10, 2014, 06:00:33 PM

Don't worry, next year Monaghan will be in Div 1 and Meath back in Div 3, so the sniping will end.
Post by: Itchy on February 10, 2014, 07:30:57 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 10, 2014, 06:12:52 PM
Quote from: Itchy on February 10, 2014, 06:00:33 PM

Don't worry, next year Monaghan will be in Div 1 and Meath back in Div 3, so the sniping will end.
Hopefully Cavan will be in div 2, three teams best kept apart.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 10, 2014, 07:31:43 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on February 10, 2014, 02:46:22 PM

Absolute rot. Monaghan hadn't the bottle to hold their lead (again) and Down missed enough in the closing period to win the match comfortably.

McCartan's midfield substitutions nullified monaghan and Finlay, who did well in the first half, tired in the second half. Down took advantage.

And in future don't have me coming onto other threads looking for your anti Down bias.
Are you actively looking for something to take offence at?!

And you can't say that Monaghan "hadn't the bottle" and then attribute the win to Down's midfield substitutions and Finlay tiring.

If Monaghan had taken even one of their goal chances, they would have beaten Down - it's as simple as that. They didn't, and it was a draw - it was a point lost by Monaghan and a point salvaged by Down. Down were almost as bad in the first half last week as Meath were yesterday - the reason we were further ahead against Meath at half time is that we took the majority of scoring opportunities we had.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 10, 2014, 07:33:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 10, 2014, 12:30:33 PM
Ah come on, surely we can be a bit more ambitious than that? 3 more home games - i'd be expecting Monaghan to aim to be in the mix for promotion. There are no teams in Division 2 that Monaghan aren't well capable of beating if they play like they did yesterday.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 10, 2014, 07:36:05 PM
Quote from: Bingo on February 10, 2014, 11:29:15 AM
Makes the next game interesting and suddenly its not a must win game.
I don't think the Donegal game was ever a must-win in terms of avoiding relegation, but I reckon it's a must-win (or at least a must-draw) for the promotion race. Hard to see what other teams will take points off Donegal (although Down and Armagh could be tricky away games).
Post by: Maguire01 on February 10, 2014, 07:38:42 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 09, 2014, 09:17:06 PM

You're looking for an argument where they is none. You clearly aren't able to understood the points I am making about Monaghan - all good by the way yet you seem to interpret it different. I called you an idiot because that is how you are coming across.
You said Galway "were happy to play football with us", implying that Monaghan weren't happy to play football, that they were negative, dirty, whatever you want to call it. If that's not what you intended, then fair enough, but that's how I read it. Monaghan were more that happy to play football, and they did.
Post by: babarino on February 10, 2014, 07:57:52 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on February 10, 2014, 02:46:22 PM

Do I feel an OR ELSE coming here? You're spouting nonsense about anti Down bias. No thread for the Monaghan v Down, so no views aired on the game.

McCartan (and I believe Harrison with two sons playing) lost the head completely on the sideline. Sideline bans have been issued for less. I was only a few meters away. Are you denying this? Are you saying the Down keeper shouldn't have been black carded?

Yes the Monaghan midfield tiring. The 'keep ball' tactics played into Down's hands. We'll agree to disagree about the soft frees. But overall Monaghan were a far better team over the 70. Only posted earlier comment because a Meath man thought the result reflected where Monaghan are at, which I don't. Maybe we'll meet in Clones later in the year.
Post by: Main Street on February 10, 2014, 09:35:07 PM
Quote from: babarino on February 10, 2014, 07:57:52 PM
Maybe we'll meet in Clones later in the year.
is the 1/4 final going to be played in Clones?
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 10, 2014, 09:49:03 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 10, 2014, 07:38:42 PM

You said Galway "were happy to play football with us", implying that Monaghan weren't happy to play football, that they were negative, dirty, whatever you want to call it. If that's not what you intended, then fair enough, but that's how I read it. Monaghan were more that happy to play football, and they did.

I meant Monaghan didn't let Meath play football as Galway did. Monaghan a lot better at closing off space, etc than Galway. I would thought it obvious that's what I meant. I wasn't trying to imply anything - clearly you have a bit of a problem as you are looking for an argument in everyone's posts.
Post by: Main Street on February 10, 2014, 09:55:22 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 10, 2014, 07:33:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 10, 2014, 12:30:33 PM
Ah come on, surely we can be a bit more ambitious than that? 3 more home games - i'd be expecting Monaghan to aim to be in the mix for promotion. There are no teams in Division 2 that Monaghan aren't well capable of beating if they play like they did yesterday.
It might take a few days for ambition to rare its head, but for now I'm totally satisfied after serving Meath yet another cold dish.

We could sign a truce with Meath and call it quits, seeing that their team just keep surrendering unconditionally to us.
Post by: Jinxy on February 10, 2014, 10:15:40 PM
Sure it's only the league.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 10, 2014, 10:35:30 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 10, 2014, 09:49:03 PM

I meant Monaghan didn't let Meath play football as Galway did. Monaghan a lot better at closing off space, etc than Galway. I would thought it obvious that's what I meant. I wasn't trying to imply anything - clearly you have a bit of a problem as you are looking for an argument in everyone's posts.
It's a discussion board. I'm looking for discussion.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 10, 2014, 10:36:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 10, 2014, 09:35:07 PM
Clones if it's Tyrone,  Newry if Down.
Post by: Sea The Stars on February 10, 2014, 10:37:24 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 10, 2014, 10:35:30 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on February 10, 2014, 09:49:03 PM

It's a discussion board. I'm looking for discussion.
Well if looking for discussion, don't open with "Ridiculous comment".
Post by: babarino on February 10, 2014, 10:46:27 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 10, 2014, 10:36:27 PM

It'll be Clones. Wouldn't say no to Newry, but unlikely.
Post by: Main Street on February 11, 2014, 05:27:31 PM
Quote from: babarino on February 10, 2014, 10:46:27 PM

From where are you getting this information?
Post by: armaghniac on February 11, 2014, 05:44:27 PM
QuoteFrom where are you getting this information?

This is an Ulster first round game, the home and away is presumably already drawn out of the hat.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 11, 2014, 06:57:02 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 11, 2014, 05:27:31 PM

(http://ulster.gaa.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/USFC-2014-Draw-04102013-640x409.jpg)
Post by: Main Street on February 11, 2014, 07:08:01 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 11, 2014, 06:57:02 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 11, 2014, 05:27:31 PM

(http://ulster.gaa.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/USFC-2014-Draw-04102013-640x409.jpg)
Thanks for that.
I see the the venue for the first round against Monaghan is based on Tyrone having the home advantage in the preliminary and Down (obviously) conceding the home advantage.
Whoever gets through to the first round, either gains or loses the home advantage.
Not a bad system.
Post by: seafoid on February 11, 2014, 08:35:38 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 10, 2014, 10:15:40 PM
Sure it's only the league.
what's another year anawez
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 12, 2014, 11:14:39 AM
So are how are the Meath men taking their 2nd hammering in two years from Monaghan, well I hope.
Post by: babarino on February 12, 2014, 01:35:31 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 12, 2014, 11:14:39 AM
So are how are the Meath men taking their 2nd hammering in two years from Monaghan, well I hope.

Cavan are in a lower division, so are in no position to throw digs at Meath. I'd still fancy them to beat ye.
Post by: Main Street on February 12, 2014, 01:44:38 PM
I appreciate that some of our neighbours are a bit on the Michael Tynan side of slow,  but Meath have had to endure 2 hammerings and one good beating, from Monaghan inside a 12 months period.
Lessons in life don't come cheap  but we were only too glad to oblige our Meath brethren.

Post by: Jinxy on February 12, 2014, 03:19:02 PM
Looks like the Arabs and the Jews have joined forces.
Post by: J OGorman on February 12, 2014, 03:48:37 PM
Meath are the GAA equivalent of the Scottish rugby team.
Post by: Main Street on February 12, 2014, 03:57:05 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 12, 2014, 03:19:02 PM
Looks like the Arabs and the Jews have joined forces.
Not at all, they are just attracted to the glory, hanging on to our coattails.

Post by: mylestheslasher on February 12, 2014, 04:20:00 PM
Quote from: babarino on February 12, 2014, 01:35:31 PM

Cavan are in a lower division, so are in no position to throw digs at Meath. I'd still fancy them to beat ye.

Really? I'd fancy us to beat Meath having watched us hammer the shite out of them last year and easily beat them in Oldcastle this year. Since we easily beat ye in the McKenna cup a few weeks ago I would say if you could beat them so could we.
Post by: babarino on February 12, 2014, 05:17:14 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 12, 2014, 04:20:00 PM

Really? I'd fancy us to beat Meath having watched us hammer the shite out of them last year and easily beat them in Oldcastle this year. Since we easily beat ye in the McKenna cup a few weeks ago I would say if you could beat them so could we.

One off victories count for nothing in the League. It's the ranking at the end that counts. Meath and Monaghan were promoted, while Cavan stayed put.

When it comes to Championship, you can brag about your one offs. When it mattered Monaghan took care of Cavan, despite the disallowed goal. Meath up it for the Championship too. They certainly wouldn't have got the whopping you boys got in Croke Park.
Post by: Jinxy on February 12, 2014, 05:22:56 PM
That didn't last long.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 12, 2014, 05:52:03 PM
Quote from: babarino on February 12, 2014, 05:17:14 PM

One off victories count for nothing in the League. It's the ranking at the end that counts. Meath and Monaghan were promoted, while Cavan stayed put.

When it comes to Championship, you can brag about your one offs. When it mattered Monaghan took care of Cavan, despite the disallowed goal. Meath up it for the Championship too. They certainly wouldn't have got the whopping you boys got in Croke Park.

Rankings?? Cavan got to the quarter finals last year Monaghan or Meath didn't. If it wasn't for the fact Marty Duffy is blind you wouldn't have even had a chance to win your amazing Ulster title "gimmee" against half asleep Donegal. I'd have no fear of Cavan playing Monaghan any day, Cavan never had any fear of ye given that you lived in our shadows for 120 years I'm sure you will understand old bean. Hopefully next time we meet we will get a ref that knows the rules.
Post by: babarino on February 12, 2014, 06:55:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 12, 2014, 05:22:56 PM
That didn't last long.

Never started with me - never liked 'the 'kick 'em when they're down' mentality. Not even after Cavan's humiliation in Croke Park.
Post by: babarino on February 12, 2014, 07:03:29 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 12, 2014, 05:52:03 PM

Rankings?? Cavan got to the quarter finals last year Monaghan or Meath didn't. If it wasn't for the fact Marty Duffy is blind you wouldn't have even had a chance to win your amazing Ulster title "gimmee" against half asleep Donegal. I'd have no fear of Cavan playing Monaghan any day, Cavan never had any fear of ye given that you lived in our shadows for 120 years I'm sure you will understand old bean. Hopefully next time we meet we will get a ref that knows the rules.

You're a very bitter person. "Gimme Ulster titles" - you know all about that with the wide 'point' that won your last one, fadó, fadó, against Derry. Donegal acknowledge we're worthy Ulster Champions. No blaming the ref like yourself.

I suggest you run along back to your Division 3 thread and pick a row with your peers, 'old bean'.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 12, 2014, 07:05:23 PM

And here's me thinking we played Tyrone in last year's QF!

As for officials who know the rules, maybe next time we meet we'll be awarded goals where the ball crosses the line.
Post by: Main Street on February 12, 2014, 07:25:15 PM
That invasive piece of Cavan sod, should be engaging in that type of low grade conversation with his peers from Meath, not his betters.

Post by: mylestheslasher on February 13, 2014, 10:41:22 AM
Quote from: babarino on February 12, 2014, 07:03:29 PM

You're a very bitter person. "Gimme Ulster titles" - you know all about that with the wide 'point' that won your last one, fadó, fadó, against Derry. Donegal acknowledge we're worthy Ulster Champions. No blaming the ref like yourself.

I suggest you run along back to your Division 3 thread and pick a row with your peers, 'old bean'.

I doubt most Donegal players can even remember the final they were so asleep.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on February 15, 2014, 09:33:22 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 13, 2014, 10:41:22 AM

You're reasonably well rested yourselves when it comes to Ulster Titles. Cavan's last Ulster success was well before the advent of online forums which prevented 'old beans' like you exhibiting your bitterness and ignorance towards refs, your good neighbours and the rules of Gaelic Football. We beat you when it mattered, end of story, everything else is academic.

Away on back to the Div3 thread with ya.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 15, 2014, 10:01:39 AM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on February 15, 2014, 09:33:22 AM

You're reasonably well rested yourselves when it comes to Ulster Titles. Cavan's last Ulster success was well before the advent of online forums which prevented 'old beans' like you exhibiting your bitterness and ignorance towards refs, your good neighbours and the rules of Gaelic Football. We beat you when it mattered, end of story, everything else is academic.

Its awful quiet in the Div 3 thread, think I'll stay here for a while. Now you don't really want to talk GAA history do you, I'm sure you'll find there is no competition. Now the reality is that you beat us unfair and square. Marty Duffy is as useful as tits on a bull and has yet to understand a free is a free no matter what minute it is in. Ye get automatic home advantage of course. But congrats, ye won, beating the guts of our U21 teams of the last 2 years was a great achievement for Monaghan.

But where next for Monaghan. I think without a decent midfield ye will struggle to win another Ulster and all that pulling and dragging and dirty play (so bad it is that even the Meath fellas are intimidated by ye) will be no use to ye when you get a referee who is not Marty Duffy.
Post by: babarino on February 15, 2014, 10:59:19 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 15, 2014, 10:01:39 AM

Its awful quiet in the Div 3 thread, think I'll stay here for a while. Now you don't really want to talk GAA history do you, I'm sure you'll find there is no competition. Now the reality is that you beat us unfair and square. Marty Duffy is as useful as tits on a bull and has yet to understand a free is a free no matter what minute it is in. Ye get automatic home advantage of course. But congrats, ye won, beating the guts of our U21 teams of the last 2 years was a great achievement for Monaghan.

But where next for Monaghan. I think without a decent midfield ye will struggle to win another Ulster and all that pulling and dragging and dirty play (so bad it is that even the Meath fellas are intimidated by ye) will be no use to ye when you get a referee who is not Marty Duffy.

OK, so you're a wind up merchant - understandable when you're a Cavan man. There's not much else to get excited about.  You've had a hard year and there's more to come...not a wonder the country laughs at the 'mean Cavan bastards'.

(http://cdn3.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/incoming/article29438239.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/ho477387851484jpg.jpg)
Post by: Maguire01 on February 15, 2014, 11:03:37 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 15, 2014, 10:01:39 AM

A lot of talk about a free Cavan didn't get, yet you're very quiet about the goal/penalty Monaghan weren't awarded. I think it's time you moved on.