I have my Xmas party tonight. I have the usual worry, that I will get completely shi1t faced and make an eejit of myself.
We are a going wine tasting in some wine shop at 6.30 before a meal at 8. This worries me!
Has anyone any good stories/antics/shenannigans they can share for a laugh?
Yes, the Man Utd squad a few years ago
Ours on the 20th, feed in a restaurant and a few drinks after it. Long past the shenanigans of a few years ago when based in Dublin (3 parties a year that was, one with a free bar).
Ours is on the 23rd so it will be a bite to eat and home. Since becoming a dad I just couldn't be bothered with the hangover the next day plus it is Christmas eve so I would rather have a clear head.
Can remember when Stella was first available in Belfast on draft, decided this would be my tipple of choice for the oul christmas. All my mates who had lived in England raved about stella on draft. If you remember the fim the hangover when they had no recollection of the evening until they got the photos developed. They stole that idea from me. Monday morning saw the redner of all redners!!!
1. Get management to fine anyone who whips out the camera/camera phone
2. Don't get shitfaced.
Without being a killjoy my advice for any Christmas party is stick to the bottles. From my experience pints leave you smashed whereas you can kinda control yourself on the bottles.
I believe bigfella has hired the whole of the Europa for his company's staff outing.
A friend of mine smacked his boss a few years ago at his, I have no idea how he wasn't sacked!
Missing mine for the 3rd consecutive year. Have a family Christmas party the following day involving 10 youngsters under 8 and a 150 mile round trip. Always enjoyed the night but it was always messy and it takes til Christmas day to recover. I don't drink or smoke but always manage to end up drunk and stinking off cigars that night!!
I can understand you end up stinking of cigars if you don't smoke, how the hell do you end up drunk if you don't drink?
Ours in on next Friday....Friday the 13th!!!!! Apt in many ways.
On top of the worries mentioned by the original poster I have my kids creche Christmas play on at 11.30am the next morning. Am usually ok if I have a big meal but one year we had a few pints beforehand. No problems there, landed into the restaurant in good form. all sat at table, order went in and wine came out. Wine got drank, more wine ordered. No food yet. I'd love to tell ye the rest but bar one or two moments it escpaes me! Monday morning was not fun....until I realised most people didn't remember anything either. Still don't know why it took so long for the food to come out (I'm informed it did) but yeah - that wasn't a good one.
I get to go home with the bosses wife every year.
Quote from: laoislad on December 06, 2013, 02:09:52 PM
Would ya not just have it at home?
Quote from: Bingo on December 06, 2013, 02:59:58 PM
Front of transit, Mc Donalds drive through, and he gets the free wifi for his Ipad.
Quote from: Cold tea on December 06, 2013, 02:00:09 PM
I can understand you end up stinking of cigars if you don't smoke, how the hell do you end up drunk if you don't drink?
The shackles come off for that one night a year - always allow myself to have a few pints, a couple of glasses of wine with dinner and a wee brandy or two to round off the evening/early morning- been 3 years since now however! Usually buy a wee cigar or two as well - I'm a reformed smoker who still craves them - if I drank regularly, I would smoke regularly.
Have to agree with Seanie...avoid the wine at all costs. Far too easy to drink and it leaves you in an awful mess...pints all the way with maybe a wee Jameson or two at the end of the night ;)
I get to go home with her too on a regular basis ;D
Don't like Christmas parties and very rarely go to them as i hate people coming up to you next time in work telling the stuff you done or said...so f**k and also people who'd hardly look at you all year and they get a few drinks in them and they think they're your best mates...no your not F**k off
Quote from: Bingo on December 06, 2013, 02:59:58 PM
Probably will have to this year now that she's cooking a bun.
Congrats!
Quote from: CD on December 06, 2013, 03:15:36 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on December 06, 2013, 02:00:09 PM
The shackles come off for that one night a year - always allow myself to have a few pints, a couple of glasses of wine with dinner and a wee brandy or two to round off the evening/early morning- been 3 years since now however! Usually buy a wee cigar or two as well - I'm a reformed smoker who still craves them - if I drank regularly, I would smoke regularly.
You sound like Nan from the Royal Family, you don't drink except for few pints, oh and a few glasses of wine with my dinner, oh and a wee brandy at Christmas, and champagne at weddings and christening, a wee sherry at funerals ........... :D
Had mine last night. First time in a niteclub since the 90s probably. Sorta looked out of place in a Gaelic Life bomber jacket and monkey hat.
Yes ONeill I would say so...lol were u wearing white socks too?
People seem to be younger at these dances.
With the Holidays upon us, I would like to share a personal experience with my friends about drinking and driving - As you may know, some of us have been known to have brushes with the authorities from time to time on the way home after a "social session" out with friends. - Well, two days ago I was out with friends and had several beers, followed by a double tequila shooter - Feeling jolly, I still had the sense to know that I may be slightly over the limit. - That's when I did something that I've never done before - I took a cab home - Sure enough, on the way home there was a police road block, but since it was a cab they waved it past -I arrived home safely without incident - This was a real surprise, as I had never driven a cab before -I don't know where I got it, and now that it's in my garage, I don't know what to do with it!
Quote from: ballela-angel on December 07, 2013, 10:13:13 PM
With the Holidays upon us, I would like to share a personal experience with my friends about drinking and driving - As you may know, some of us have been known to have brushes with the authorities from time to time on the way home after a "social session" out with friends. - Well, two days ago I was out with friends and had several beers, followed by a double tequila shooter - Feeling jolly, I still had the sense to know that I may be slightly over the limit. - That's when I did something that I've never done before - I took a cab home - Sure enough, on the way home there was a police road block, but since it was a cab they waved it past -I arrived home safely without incident - This was a real surprise, as I had never driven a cab before -I don't know where I got it, and now that it's in my garage, I don't know what to do with it!
:D I am sure that isn't a true story!
Sorry I forgot to put a big smiley after it ;D
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 07, 2013, 10:29:17 PM
Quote from: ballela-angel on December 07, 2013, 10:13:13 PM
:D I am sure that isn't a true story!
Tony,
Ballela people are a law unto themselves, nothing would surprise me when it comes them.
Are you a McCusker by any chance?? ;D
No - A different DNA chain
Quote from: ballela-angel on December 09, 2013, 11:33:40 PM
No - A different DNA chain
Not many of them in Ballela! ;D
Quote from: Cold tea on December 06, 2013, 01:05:03 PM
I believe bigfella has hired the whole of the Europa for his company's staff outing.
Go for a locka pints first to warm up, stick with wine through the dinner and move onto the bottled beers afterwards. They'd tick with the bottles til the indigestion clears then you can have a coupla halfuns. You'll be grand.
What are people's opinions on Christmas parties?
Every year the papers have articles warning people about not punching the boss or groping a colleague.
But I've been going to these things for years and they're always tame. Nothing unusual happens, bar drinking.
Quote from: Gallybander on December 02, 2025, 12:45:09 PMWhat are people's opinions on Christmas parties?
Every year the papers have articles warning people about not punching the boss or groping a colleague.
But I've been going to these things for years and they're always tame. Nothing unusual happens, bar drinking.
Punch yer boss and get back to us good man
Last year there was a Christmas party in at the same time as ours, some woman obviously going for her annual binge, absolutely wrote off at about 7pm being held up by two colleagues, one roaring the place down "She's been spiked!!!"
Haven't been to many Christmas parties in my current job but every year theres scandal which may explain why its been changed to a Christmas lunch this year!
Quote from: Brendan on December 02, 2025, 01:05:13 PMHaven't been to many Christmas parties in my current job but every year theres scandal which may explain why its been changed to a Christmas lunch this year!
What sort of scandal?
Quote from: Gallybander on December 02, 2025, 01:08:45 PMQuote from: Brendan on December 02, 2025, 01:05:13 PMHaven't been to many Christmas parties in my current job but every year theres scandal which may explain why its been changed to a Christmas lunch this year!
What sort of scandal?
Bosses attacked, people caught taking coke in the toilets, groping etc
Quote from: Brendan on December 02, 2025, 01:10:41 PMQuote from: Gallybander on December 02, 2025, 01:08:45 PMQuote from: Brendan on December 02, 2025, 01:05:13 PMHaven't been to many Christmas parties in my current job but every year theres scandal which may explain why its been changed to a Christmas lunch this year!
What sort of scandal?
Bosses attacked, people caught taking coke in the toilets, groping etc
I need to switch companies!
Fisticuffs last year, wasn't there wont be at any for the foreseeable. People who don't touch drink all year and don't know their capabilities
We'd a sacking after last year. Some people a disaster.
Have seen multiple bad enough incidents over the years too.
Quote from: Brendan on December 02, 2025, 01:05:13 PMHaven't been to many Christmas parties in my current job but every year theres scandal which may explain why its been changed to a Christmas lunch this year!
That just leads to people getting pissed earlier in the day lol
I feel like its dying a death a bit? Back in the day everyone couldn't wait to get out on the lash. Now, I feel like many if thr young ones need to be persuaded and those that do attend, dont hang around. The way it is intended suppose
Ah the craic has rightly, I may add, died down on the Xmas parties.. Never any issues bar one while working on the tools but, christ when I worked in mixed setting it was an eye opener alright..
We'd have the lunch or just after work locally now with those in your team, far more sensible and no aftermath to worry about
In my Belfast days we went to the hotel beside Bot (wellington?) where there were a few Xmas parties on at same time. Wasn't our firm but a couple were at it in the toilet
That's all I've got
At my own a few years ago a guy was more or less being racist to a co-worker who was chinese.
He also went on to offend a co workers wife, when she stated she was a chair of a feminist organisation in her spare time, he responded with "whats that, womens rights and all that sh1t.
At the wifes there has been numerous affairs, fights, ones blocked. Her crowd has 200+ working for them. Needless to say they are also now having christmas lunch instead.
(https://media.vanityfair.com/photos/63879c84f405559410c45400/master/w_1920,c_limit/Love-Actually-Alan-Rickman.jpg)
Don't be at it lads. We're all still digging out from Snape gettin his wand touched
Some clinkers from office days in dublin about 20yr ago. Lad let himself down badly after a tight feed of columbias finest. Groping multiple female colleagues; fighting multiple colleagues; male and female; then getting the whole party booted out of hotel (non residents) - might have beat in a door or two. In fairness he did everyone else a favour... he took the limelight so all the romancing went unnoticed. Tbf think it eas just pat for the course in those days. Fook that now for a carryon. Feed; half a dozen pints; hit the road. Fook all good comes from being with colleagues beyond a certain hour when whole show steaming
Quote from: Gallybander on December 02, 2025, 12:45:09 PMWhat are people's opinions on Christmas parties?
There's a good chance there's loads happening at your party that you're not noticing!
Our crowd haven't had a Christmas Do since lockdown. There were a few good oul sessions in the past.
Going to Belfast on Thursday and then going out for a colleague's retirement party afterwards which will probably pass as the Do. Could get messy enough but I'm not fit for it any more. Have to get the 212 to Castledawson late on and work on Friday. Can't be fragile. :) :)
Quote from: thebuzz on December 02, 2025, 04:05:24 PMOur crowd haven't had a Christmas Do since lockdown. There were a few good oul sessions in the past.
Going to Belfast on Thursday and then going out for a colleague's retirement party afterwards which will probably pass as the Do. Could get messy enough but I'm not fit for it any more. Have to get the 212 to Castledawson late on and work on Friday. Can't be fragile. :) :)
It's the bladder I'd be more worried about with that sail home 😆
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 02, 2025, 04:12:28 PMQuote from: thebuzz on December 02, 2025, 04:05:24 PMOur crowd haven't had a Christmas Do since lockdown. There were a few good oul sessions in the past.
:) begging the driver to pull in at the Applegreen just out the motorway
I'm giving ours a bye ball this year, have plans for the next morning, not a chance I could do both
Quote from: JoG2 on December 02, 2025, 05:10:17 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 02, 2025, 04:12:28 PMQuote from: thebuzz on December 02, 2025, 04:05:24 PMOur crowd haven't had a Christmas Do since lockdown. There were a few good oul sessions in the past.
I'm giving ours a bye ball this year, have plans for the next morning, not a chance I could do both
Acting the big lads back in the day, 3,4 pints in Robinson's afore getting the 212. Bus hadn't left Europa and whole show needing a pish. Long sail home I tell thee
Anyways, back to Christmas 🤓
https://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sunday-life/news/dup-deputy-mayor-helped-secure-public-money-for-his-pro-uda-flute-bands-christmas-party/a4472948.html
No comment needed; thon sc**bag has a lot of form.
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on December 02, 2025, 07:59:52 PMhttps://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sunday-life/news/dup-deputy-mayor-helped-secure-public-money-for-his-pro-uda-flute-bands-christmas-party/a4472948.html
No comment needed; thon sc**bag has a lot of form.
(https://images.nightcafe.studio/jobs/n9iQAtdUx2auS3DXR0KD/n9iQAtdUx2auS3DXR0KD--0--8koge.jpg?tr=w-1600,c-at_max)
Many years ago working in a volatile industry with lots of young people in an 'professional' environment, however dominated by money, drugs, drinks and s*x, the Christmas parties were to say the least fun. The one that sticks out the most was just after the meal there was one guy throwing up on the corner of the dance floor, another young lady shouting and crying at one of the older married managers and shouting 'you can't just f*ck me and chuck me' all topped off two lads clumping the head off each other 30 mins later. I decided to leave it at that point and went for a few quiet pints round the local social club
Quote from: Would ye whist on December 03, 2025, 10:41:47 AMMany years ago working in a volatile industry with lots of young people in an 'professional' environment, however dominated by money, drugs, drinks and s*x, the Christmas parties were to say the least fun. The one that sticks out the most was just after the meal there was one guy throwing up on the corner of the dance floor, another young lady shouting and crying at one of the older married managers and shouting 'you can't just f*ck me and chuck me' all topped off two lads clumping the head off each other 30 mins later. I decided to leave it at that point and went for a few quiet pints round the local social club
Brilliant!
QuoteMany years ago working in a volatile industry with lots of young people in an 'professional' environment, however dominated by money, drugs, drinks and s*x, the Christmas parties were to say the least fun. The one that sticks out the most was just after the meal there was one guy throwing up on the corner of the dance floor, another young lady shouting and crying at one of the older married managers and shouting 'you can't just f*ck me and chuck me' all topped off two lads clumping the head off each other 30 mins later. I decided to leave it at that point and went for a few quiet pints round the local social club
Where were you working, the playboy mansion??!
Wolf of Wall Street enters the conversation
Or maybe a TD
It was many years ago when I worked in recruitment...............if you knew the industry back then you will not be surprised
Ours this weekend. Very much enjoyed yourself last year, last train home at 12 then into the local for a few more and let the hair down-unfortunately closed now
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 02, 2025, 05:26:56 PMQuote from: JoG2 on December 02, 2025, 05:10:17 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 02, 2025, 04:12:28 PMQuote from: thebuzz on December 02, 2025, 04:05:24 PMOur crowd haven't had a Christmas Do since lockdown. There were a few good oul sessions in the past.
Acting the big lads back in the day, 3,4 pints in Robinson's afore getting the 212. Bus hadn't left Europa and whole show needing a pish. Long sail home I tell thee
After a great evening's craic yesterday I landed at Grand Central at 11:05 for the 11:15 (last) 212 bus. There was a big queue for a single decker and I was the last one in the queue. Turns out there was no room for me and there was an official noseying about so the driver wouldn't let me stand or sit on the floor.
Luckily the daughter and her boyfriend came for me so I got home ok.
Quote from: thebuzz on December 05, 2025, 11:07:11 AMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 02, 2025, 05:26:56 PMQuote from: JoG2 on December 02, 2025, 05:10:17 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 02, 2025, 04:12:28 PMQuote from: thebuzz on December 02, 2025, 04:05:24 PMOur crowd haven't had a Christmas Do since lockdown. There were a few good oul sessions in the past.
After a great evening's craic yesterday I landed at Grand Central at 11:05 for the 11:15 (last) 212 bus. There was a big queue for a single decker and I was the last one in the queue. Turns out there was no room for me and there was an official noseying about so the driver wouldn't let me stand or sit on the floor.
Luckily the daughter and her boyfriend came for me so I got home ok.
Thought this was gonna be a toileting incident. Disappointed
Lol - Sorry about that. I had plenty of time for piss stops when walking to the edge of the M2 to avoid them having to come into the city to lift me.
Ha! They'll be forever thankful of that 4 minutes you saved them.
I thought Translink had to provide an extra bus if there was too many passengers? Maybe I made that up in my head!
quote author=trueblue1234 link=msg=2377786 date=1764973317]
I thought Translink had to provide an extra bus if there was too many passengers? Maybe I made that up in my head!
I was there once when there were enough people to make an extra bus worth their while and it was provided. However they weren't going to put on an extra bus for just me. :) :)
And no one gave you an edge on the seat?
Quote from: thebuzz on December 05, 2025, 11:17:16 PMquote author=trueblue1234 link=msg=2377786 date=1764973317]
I was there once when there were enough people to make an extra bus worth their while and it was provided. However they weren't going to put on an extra bus for just me. :) :)
Well standing holding your Willie crossing your legs wasn't really gona entice them tbh
We did the Xmas family night in town.
Great wee night with plenty about considering the weather early doors!
Cost cutting at Bo Street kitchen
Bring your own drink, food great
Finished up in the Points, the daughters old work joint! Fiddly Dee with Irish dancers.. drinks seemed cheap
We had a lunch at 12.30 but snuck 1 in Kehoes just off Grafton St before it.
Even then it was filling up. Went back after and it was full full at 3pm.
Can't beat the classic pubs.
We paid for our own meal and a bit extra for a person leaving this year...
One of the pros of being a self employed sole trader is I don't have to go to these work Christmas parties.
Any I ever went to people just talk about work all night.
I do look forward to our GAA coaches night out though, we're all from different backgrounds and occupations so no shite talk about work and the like.
You could bring turf/Jc along to keep ya company at the works one..
Quote from: Would ye whist on December 03, 2025, 10:41:47 AMMany years ago working in a volatile industry with lots of young people in an 'professional' environment, however dominated by money, drugs, drinks and s*x, the Christmas parties were to say the least fun. The one that sticks out the most was just after the meal there was one guy throwing up on the corner of the dance floor, another young lady shouting and crying at one of the older married managers and shouting 'you can't just f*ck me and chuck me' all topped off two lads clumping the head off each other 30 mins later. I decided to leave it at that point and went for a few quiet pints round the local social club
Teachers?
https://metro.co.uk/2025/12/03/rookie-pc-groped-male-officer-tried-kiss-inspector-leaving-party-25103952/?utm_social_handle_id=117118184990145&utm_social_post_id=613718881&ito=facebook%7Csocial%7Cmetroukfacebook&fbclid=IwdGRzaAOhFmdjbGNrA6EV7WV4dG4DYWVtAjExAHNydGMGYXBwX2lkDDM1MDY4NTUzMTcyOAABHhZ5UMOUjiceJyouemi70oNYOw85x8jZZZfjYV9msI_1amdxzyKjR2I1z9Dt_aem_HDzrCC-DQZF5GeWB-EZw_Q&sfnsn=scwspwa (https://metro.co.uk/2025/12/03/rookie-pc-groped-male-officer-tried-kiss-inspector-leaving-party-25103952/?utm_social_handle_id=117118184990145&utm_social_post_id=613718881&ito=facebook%7Csocial%7Cmetroukfacebook&fbclid=IwdGRzaAOhFmdjbGNrA6EV7WV4dG4DYWVtAjExAHNydGMGYXBwX2lkDDM1MDY4NTUzMTcyOAABHhZ5UMOUjiceJyouemi70oNYOw85x8jZZZfjYV9msI_1amdxzyKjR2I1z9Dt_aem_HDzrCC-DQZF5GeWB-EZw_Q&sfnsn=scwspwa)
Recruiters............
Quote from: laoislad on December 06, 2025, 02:18:14 PMQuote from: Would ye whist on December 03, 2025, 10:41:47 AMMany years ago working in a volatile industry with lots of young people in an 'professional' environment, however dominated by money, drugs, drinks and s*x, the Christmas parties were to say the least fun. The one that sticks out the most was just after the meal there was one guy throwing up on the corner of the dance floor, another young lady shouting and crying at one of the older married managers and shouting 'you can't just f*ck me and chuck me' all topped off two lads clumping the head off each other 30 mins later. I decided to leave it at that point and went for a few quiet pints round the local social club
Teachers?