GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on November 14, 2013, 03:13:12 PM

Title: O'Byrne Cup 2014
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 14, 2013, 03:13:12 PM
 8) to infinity

My favourite tournament of the year.

Longford have been drawn in Group B of the 2014 O'Byrne Cup, alongside Kildare, Carlow and Athlone IT. The first game takes place on January 5th.

I will endeavour to have all the groupings here as soon as possible.
Title: Re: O'Byrne Cup 2014
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 14, 2013, 04:36:51 PM
Westmeath in with the Dubs, Louth and DCU. Matches on the 5th, 8th and 12th of January.
Post by: Hound on November 15, 2013, 08:57:27 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 14, 2013, 04:36:51 PM
Westmeath in with the Dubs, Louth and DCU. Matches on the 5th, 8th and 12th of January.
Fourth and final leg of the Dubs Slam! Roll on Mulligar on January 5
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 15, 2013, 11:43:06 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BZD9V1pIAAISZox.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on November 15, 2013, 01:58:15 PM
Did we enter this at all, or did we forget?
Post by: Rossfan on November 15, 2013, 02:48:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 15, 2013, 01:58:15 PM
Did we enter this at all, or did we forget?
After last year's show v Tyrone does it really matter ?  (:P Better put one of these in )
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 15, 2013, 03:10:05 PM
Very few counties can match Kildare in January.

10 O'Byrne Cup titles and counting.
Post by: Hound on November 15, 2013, 05:00:34 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on November 15, 2013, 03:10:05 PM

No McGeeney this year though. Yis are fecked.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 15, 2013, 05:12:51 PM
Quote from: Hound on November 15, 2013, 05:00:34 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on November 15, 2013, 03:10:05 PM

No McGeeney this year though. Yis are fecked.

We were dominating the O'Byrne Cup long before McGeeney.
Post by: thejuice on November 16, 2013, 07:07:04 PM
Been dying for another crack at Carlow IT, our hated rivals.  >:(
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 03, 2014, 12:42:03 PM
It's almost here.

I have the jersey (albeit the 1984 version) ready for the trip to Dr. Cullen Park on Sunday for the joust versus Carlow.

By all accounts it will be a strange Longford team with Kavanagh back and a few of the Mullinalghtas taking time out.

Let the games begin and a Happy New Year to starved GAA fans.
Post by: Jinxy on January 03, 2014, 02:39:33 PM
Good to see Shane O'Rourke back for the game against Drogheda Institute of Technicians on Sunday.
Although I'd be inclined to keep him away from heavy pitches and take a more long-term approach to his rehab.
Post by: Hardy on January 03, 2014, 10:42:41 PM
And picked at midfield???
Post by: Syferus on January 03, 2014, 11:33:32 PM
Hopefully Roscommon go well in this, though with both Smiths injured it's a tough ask.
Post by: Sea The Stars on January 04, 2014, 02:57:42 PM
Good to see Shane O'Rourke back - he has missed a few games over the Christmas period despite being named to start. Not sure why. Hopefully we finally get to see him back in Meath colours.

I would say Mick O'Dowd is picking from a panel of about 22 or 23 with injuries and college commitments. It's hardly ideal. But it looks a very strong line-up for Sunday.

I would expect DIT will be very strong too as Sigerson Cup champions.
Post by: Syferus on January 04, 2014, 03:32:05 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on January 04, 2014, 02:57:42 PM
Good to see Shane O'Rourke back - he has missed a few games over the Christmas period despite being named to start. Not sure why. Hopefully we finally get to see him back in Meath colours.

I would say Mick O'Dowd is picking from a panel of about 22 or 23 with injuries and college commitments. It's hardly ideal. But it looks a very strong line-up for Sunday.

They have a good panel still but winning the Sigerson doesn't mean much when players are only there for 3-4 years, you lose something like 30% of your Sigerson panel every year. AOS is back out Wesht now so they've lost the key piece of that dominant midfield even if Givney is still there.
Post by: Sea The Stars on January 04, 2014, 03:39:35 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 04, 2014, 03:32:05 PM

They have a good panel still but winning the Sigerson doesn't mean much when players are only there for 3-4 years, you lose something like 30% of your Sigerson panel every year. AOS is back out Wesht now so they've lost the key piece of that dominant midfield even if Givney is still there.

Have they lost much from last year's starting team Syferus?

Post by: Syferus on January 04, 2014, 04:48:19 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on January 04, 2014, 03:39:35 PM

Trying to find the 2014 panel but the best I could see was a clearly out-of-date one on their website: http://www.ditgaa.ie/football/senior/management-a-players.html

I know for sure that Alan Freeman graduated in 2012 so it's hard to divine much from it.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 04, 2014, 04:56:43 PM
4 or 5 at most from last years panel no longer in DIt.Colin Walsh now in UUj. Tomas O Connor still there
, Darren O Sullivan, Brian Menton, Ross Sheridan

Good team again this year, unlucky to be beaten in the Ryan Cup semi by Jordanstown by 1pt, there was very few of those players in that list on the panel last year, thats the 2012 panel
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 04, 2014, 05:01:17 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 04, 2014, 04:56:43 PM
4 or 5 at most from last years panel no longer in DIt. Tomas O Connor still there
, Darren O Sullivan, Brian Menton, Ross Sheridan

Good team again this year, unlucky to ne beaten in the Ryan Cup semi by Jordanstown by a point, btw there was very view of those players in that list on the panel last year, thats the 2012 panel

He's starting for Kildare tomorrow.
Post by: shark on January 04, 2014, 11:09:17 PM
Westmeath team named isn't particularly strong. Maybe 4/5 championship players. Backline in particular looks weak at this level. Dublin team looks strong in comparison and would expect them to win comfortably.
Post by: thejuice on January 04, 2014, 11:25:13 PM
I'd say that Meath team will be close to what will start in the league. Mick O'Dowd will want to hit the ground running this year and get promotion to Division 1.
Post by: Go home ref on January 05, 2014, 03:45:52 PM
Bord na Móna O'Byrne Cup
Carlow 2-07 Longford 1-19 RES
Kildare 4-24 Athlone IT 0-12 RES
Meath 4-11 DIT 1-14 RES
Offaly 0-13 UCD 0-12 RES
Westmeath 0-11 Dublin 0-12 RES
Wexford 2-13 Laois 0-11 RES
Wicklow 1-09 IT Carlow 0-11 RES
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 05, 2014, 04:06:50 PM
Kildare 4-24 Athlone IT 0-12

Eoghan O'Flaherty (2-4), Darroch Mulhall (0-6), Adam Tyrell (1-1), Padraig Fogarty (1-1), Cathal McNally (0-4), Conor Tiernan (0-3), Tommy Moolick (0-1), Mick O'Grady (0-1), Gary White (0-1), Fergal Conway (0-1), Sean Hurley (0-1).

AIT were pitiful. I don't think Kildare will have learned anything about their new players.
Post by: Gael85 on January 05, 2014, 04:24:09 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 04, 2014, 04:48:19 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on January 04, 2014, 03:39:35 PM

Trying to find the 2014 panel but the best I could see was a clearly out-of-date one on their website: http://www.ditgaa.ie/football/senior/management-a-players.html

I know for sure that Alan Freeman graduated in 2012 so it's hard to divine much from it.

DIT panel for today game

Cian Daly Fingal Ravens B.A.C
Kevin O Brien Naomh Mearnóg B.A.C
Bryan Menton © Donaghmore Ashbourne An Mhí
Gary O Hare Na Piarsaigh An Lú
Nick Devereux Ballinteer St. Johns B.A.C
Michael Shields St. Finbarrs Corcaigh
Ross Sheridan Killygarry An Cábhán
Ross Hazley St. Sylvesters B.A.C
Shane O Connor St. Sylvesters B.A.C
Ciaran Reddin St. Maurs B.A.C
Peter Achenson Moyle Rovers Tiobraid Arann
Darren O Reilly Ballyboden St Endas B.A.C
Bernard Allen Tubber Uibh Fhailí
Conor Grimes Glen Emmetts An Lú
Niall Scully Templelogue Synge Street B.A.C
Adam O Reilly Mountmellick Laoise
Pauraic Cunningham St. Grellans Ballinasloe An Gallimh
Michael O Hehir St. Johns Sligeach
Thomas O Connor Clane Cill Dara
Teddy Cronin Clontarf B.A.C.
Colm Doyle Naomh Olafs B.A.C
Michael Argue Baileborough Shamrocks An Cábhán
Conor Madden Gowna An Cábhán
Stephen Cooney Castlerahan An Cábhán
Bernard Deay Clane Cill Dara
Conor Ryan St. Sylvesters B.A.C.
Post by: Jinxy on January 05, 2014, 08:33:28 PM
Michael Shields is in DIT now?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2014, 08:36:58 PM
God. Carlow were putrid in the first half today. Bit better in the second half but Longford were never troubled.

Group decider this Wed in Cashel under lights v Kildare.

If Dinny or DH need directions then let us know
Post by: rodney trotter on January 05, 2014, 08:42:20 PM
Yeah first year in DIT,  Peter Achenson from tipp good addition too, was with ucc previously. They were without Darren O Sullivan through injury, and O Connor with kildare
Post by: Jinxy on January 05, 2014, 10:35:06 PM
I believe Menton played most of the game out around the middle today.
I'd love to see him centre-back this year.
Post by: Sea The Stars on January 05, 2014, 11:01:17 PM
A good enough start for Meath. I'd expect them to beat Carlow IT on Wednesday as well. Although Eamonn Wallace is now on the injury list at least for now. Meath have about 20 fit and available players by the sound of things. So it's hardly ideal.
Post by: Ard-Rí on January 06, 2014, 01:49:19 AM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on January 05, 2014, 11:01:17 PM
A good enough start for Meath. I'd expect them to beat Carlow IT on Wednesday as well. Although Eamonn Wallace is now on the injury list at least for now. Meath have about 20 fit and available players by the sound of things. So it's hardly ideal.

Are there any long term injuries? (Other than Brian Meade?) Any word on what happened to Carroll?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 06, 2014, 09:32:48 AM
Of course from a Longford point of view it was an encouraging start as only 2 of the starting 15 played in the championship in 2013.

Good also to see 2 Mostrim lads start - the first time 2 Mostrim players on the starting 15 since probably the early 90s. But I am open to correction.

Early days and all that but I am 100% certain, based on yesterday's game, that we'll win the All Ireland this year.
Post by: heffo on January 06, 2014, 10:00:10 AM
How did Shane O'Rourke get on? Good to see him back after what seems like years out..
Post by: The Hill is Blue on January 06, 2014, 10:22:40 AM
It was interesting to see three Dublin team mates from the 90s managing county teams yesterday – Paul Bealin, Jack Sheedy and Jim Gavin
Post by: Sea The Stars on January 06, 2014, 11:28:09 AM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 06, 2014, 01:49:19 AM

Are there any long term injuries? (Other than Brian Meade?) Any word on what happened to Carroll?

I think Carroll just had a flu or an illness of some sort.

Only other long term injury that I can think of is Brian Dillon. However neither he nor Meade are in the 30 approx man squad.

It's good to see Shane O'Rourke back alright. Himself and Gillespie would be a midfield partnership I would like to see more of.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 06, 2014, 11:44:16 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 05, 2014, 08:36:58 PM
God. Carlow were putrid in the first half today. Bit better in the second half but Longford were never troubled.

Thanks SS but I'll be giving it a miss, waiting for the final, DH might be venturing up.
Post by: Jinxy on January 06, 2014, 12:24:18 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on January 06, 2014, 11:28:09 AM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on January 06, 2014, 01:49:19 AM

I think Carroll just had a flu or an illness of some sort.

Only other long term injury that I can think of is Brian Dillon. However neither he nor Meade are in the 30 approx man squad.

It's good to see Shane O'Rourke back alright. Himself and Gillespie would be a midfield partnership I would like to see more of.

I'd nearly rather have Shane on the 40.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 06, 2014, 01:36:49 PM
Enjoyable start to the year in Mullingar yesterday, not withstanding the result. Decent crowd too, in terms of numbers and the more knowledgeable visitors from the capital. I would have to sit behind the one arsehole in the crowd who informed us he was entitled to say what he wanted as he had paid his money.

Impressed with Westmeath and work they have done to date. Sharry was unquestionably best for us but was impressed with the fb line and Quinn's kickouts. Put decent pressure on Cluxtons kickouts as well and seemed organised. Need to work on not taking the ball into the tackle and working the goal when we're breaking through with an extra man. Thought we played too deep and at times there was no one stationed in the scoring zone. Encouraging start though.
Post by: stevecw on January 06, 2014, 05:58:45 PM

Sad sad days these are for Carlow football. Kilkenny would have beaten that team yesterday.

Most of the better players don't want to be involved with the current set-up, we had 2 lads starting yesterday that have only played a few mins of senior club football. They are 4th/5th subs on their club sides! We ended up with one of the selectors having to sit on the bench as sub keeper!

Under Luke Dempsey we were a mid-table div 4 side who gave most teams a decent game & could produce the odd shock. Beating Louth in Leinster in 2011, drawing with Meath in Leinster in 2012 etc. Since Rainbow took over we have gone so far backwards, it's hard to believe.

Last year was a clueless mess, with players played out of position, lads starting instead of better players and a crazy sweeper system that failed but always stayed in place even if 10 points down!

This year at least 10 of last years team/subs have packed it in or in a few cases gone to play with the hurlers. Rainbow fell out with 3 or 4 more including last years captain for stupid reasons. For anyone fancying a sure thing bet, ask your bookies for odds on Carlow losing all league games in Div 4.

Sorry for going off on a rant there, but it's so frustrating. Longford looked impressive enough, good level of fitness and broke through from half fwd line/mf at pace plenty of times which led to easy scores. Bit shaky in the full back line tho. Kildare game will at least give ye a proper idea of where ye stand.
Post by: Catch and Kick on January 06, 2014, 06:11:23 PM
Re Carlow. SteveCW please don't paint Luke's reign as anything other than a disaster - the rot started then and he had the cheek to 'appoint' Rainbow, something the County Board went along with...
County is in a dreadful state alright which is a shame as we have the bones of a decent outfit here...if they were picked. I know of a number of the best footballers in the county who were NOT asked onto the panel.
Rainbow has ONE selector with him.....
I think you might be right that Carlow will lose every game in the League....
Post by: Syferus on January 06, 2014, 06:13:15 PM
Quote from: Catch and Kick on January 06, 2014, 06:11:23 PM
Re Carlow. SteveCW please don't paint Luke's reign as anything other than a disaster - the rot started then and he had the cheek to 'appoint' Rainbow, something the County Board went along with...
County is in a dreadful state alright which is a shame as we have the bones of a decent outfit here...if they were picked. I know of a number of the best footballers in the county who were NOT asked onto the panel.
Rainbow has ONE selector with him.....
I think you might be right that Carlow will lose every game in the League....

In all fairness lads, when has Carlow not been at rock bottom? It's hard to accept that every manager is a fool when the only constant is the players and the county.
Post by: Catch and Kick on January 06, 2014, 06:34:54 PM
With all due respects Syferus, we now well that Carlow has been a Div 4 outfit for as long as we care to remember. We have enough decent players to be competitive at this standard. Players will respond when set up is half right. It isn't and hasn't been. Players go back to their clubs and they face a better quality of training and coaching I'm many instances. That's true for the top 5/6 senior teams. Their enthusiasm and ambition re quickly stifled in inferior set ups.
I know it sounds like a cop out to blame managers but players do respond to good leadership. And it's more important in a county like Carlow to have that than in traditional strong counties......like your own....
Post by: Rossfan on January 06, 2014, 07:29:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 06, 2014, 04:50:05 PM
Moyna sure can coach, eh CK?
Off on this hobby horse/love in again are we?  :P
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 06, 2014, 07:45:04 PM

Thanks SS. I'm out of the country on Wednesday so unfortunately I won't be popping over in the Range Rover and sampling the delights of Larryland for the evening.
Post by: heffo on January 06, 2014, 07:49:33 PM
Kildare looking very strong under a new manager
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 06, 2014, 08:00:17 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 06, 2014, 07:49:33 PM

It wouldn't be the O'Byrne Cup without an all conquering Kildare team laying down a marker for the year ahead.
Post by: Syferus on January 06, 2014, 09:31:07 PM

The AI is Kildare's to lose.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 07, 2014, 09:58:41 AM
QuoteThanks SS. I'm out of the country on Wednesday so unfortunately I won't be popping over in the Range Rover and sampling the delights of Larryland for the evening.

(Newtown)Cashel is a hard feckin place to get to but the pitch there is grand and it's a nice part of the world in daylight - not too far from the Shannon. I am sure there will be updates on Shiteside for those mad enough to care. Like myself.

The following Sunday the skudents are in Ballymahon so I already feel sorry for them  :-\

Post by: Jinxy on January 07, 2014, 10:06:18 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 07, 2014, 09:58:41 AM
QuoteThanks SS. I'm out of the country on Wednesday so unfortunately I won't be popping over in the Range Rover and sampling the delights of Larryland for the evening.

(Newtown)Cashel is a hard feckin place to get to but the pitch there is grand and it's a nice part of the world in daylight - not too far from the Shannon. I am sure there will be updates on Shiteside for those mad enough to care. Like myself.

The following Sunday the skudents are in Ballymahon so I already feel sorry for them  :-\

What happens when the sun goes down?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 07, 2014, 10:42:32 AM
Not a whole lot Jinxy as the picture below shows:

(http://roevalley.com/newsbrowser/gifs/night.gif)

Newtowncashel at night
Post by: Jinxy on January 07, 2014, 01:45:01 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 06, 2014, 09:31:07 PM

The AI is Kildare's to lose.

They are looking ominous.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 08, 2014, 10:36:57 PM
 :-[
Post by: Qwerty28 on January 08, 2014, 10:46:49 PM
Hope that was the Longford C team this evening! Bit of a skinning but sure we all know how much emphasis Kildare put on their best annual chance of glory! Hope you didnt venture down Shamrock!
Post by: heffo on January 08, 2014, 11:02:31 PM
The work goes on,the cause endures, the hope still lives and the dream shall never die.
Post by: LilySavage on January 08, 2014, 11:22:03 PM
Well said Heffo. You know us too well!
Post by: Jinxy on January 08, 2014, 11:40:44 PM
The Kildare county board are working on a motion for the next congress which proposes that August and September are henceforth referred to as 'January II' and 'January III' on the GAA fixture calender.
There won't be a horse schooled for a month when they lift Sam on the 3rd Sunday in January III.
Post by: Syferus on January 08, 2014, 11:43:53 PM
The Ros made it two wins from two in the O'Bryne tonight, Westmeath swept away at home by our might on a scoreline of 2-15 to 2-09. All hail Moyna.
Post by: Jinxy on January 08, 2014, 11:53:01 PM
Great to have Donnacha Tobin back as well.
One of our best players before he went to Oz.
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 08, 2014, 11:58:49 PM
It looks already this 2014 Kildare team are made of sterner stuff. Two great wins and people are taking note.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2014, 03:37:56 AM

Quote from: Jinxy on January 08, 2014, 11:40:44 PM
The Kildare county board are working on a motion for the next congress which proposes that August and September are henceforth referred to as 'January II' and 'January III' on the GAA fixture calender.
There won't be a horse schooled for a month when they lift Sam on the 3rd Sunday in January III.

Definitely a design flaw, seem to go well when the ground is soft to yielding.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 09, 2014, 09:22:08 AM
QuoteHope that was the Longford C team this evening! Bit of a skinning but sure we all know how much emphasis Kildare put on their best annual chance of glory! Hope you didnt venture down Shamrock!

Jazes Qwerty I hope it was the Z team.

No - I didn't head. That would be madness beyond forgiveness. When I heard the half time score my only wish was that we would be playing with the Shannon in the second half.

Kildare will have shot their bolt by April.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 09, 2014, 11:58:23 AM
I hope Ryan tells the players to ease up and give the other counties a chance. The last thing we need is uncompetitive Leinster football dominated by one county.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2014, 12:30:44 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 09, 2014, 11:58:23 AM
I hope Ryan tells the players to ease up and give the other counties a chance. The last thing we need is uncompetitive Leinster football dominated by one county.

Aye, next thing you know other counties will be looking for us to share our bucket collection.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 09, 2014, 12:59:42 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2014, 12:30:44 PM

Aye, next thing you know other counties will be looking for us to share our bucket collection.

When's the next one? I heard we have commissioned bigger buckets this year.
Post by: Jinxy on January 09, 2014, 01:09:24 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2014, 03:37:56 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 08, 2014, 11:40:44 PM

Definitely a design flaw, seem to go well when the ground is soft to yielding.

Like the oppositions post-christmas bellies.  ;D
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2014, 01:09:53 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 09, 2014, 12:59:42 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2014, 12:30:44 PM

When's the next one? I heard we have commissioned bigger buckets this year.

Not sure, maybe there hoping the pope will may a visit to Maynooth again, they've ordered this bad boy on the oft chance..

(http://www.millergroundbreaking.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/20080527-PC4000-bucket-431x300.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on January 09, 2014, 01:13:14 PM
(http://horseandman.com/wp-content/uploads/bucket-horsegd216.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2014, 01:21:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 09, 2014, 01:13:14 PM
(http://horseandman.com/wp-content/uploads/bucket-horsegd216.jpg)

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 09, 2014, 01:25:17 PM
In addition to the bucket collection, Kildare County Board are training pickpockets to target opposition supporters during the National League.

(http://special.equisearch.com/blog/onstaff/uploaded_images/JohnHorse-775988.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on January 09, 2014, 02:36:56 PM
We know what they're up to.

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/horsefootball1_zpsaf5ab252.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/horsefootball1_zpsaf5ab252.png.html)
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2014, 03:31:08 PM
Not to worry we've already been to Croke Park for some Beta testing, should be ready come June.

(http://www.irishexaminer.com/media/images/c/CianOConnorJumpsInCrokeParkSPORTSFILE_large.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on January 09, 2014, 03:32:49 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 09, 2014, 02:36:56 PM

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/horsefootball1_zpsaf5ab252.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/horsefootball1_zpsaf5ab252.png.html)

Would that be a kick or a hand-pass?
Post by: Hardy on January 09, 2014, 10:20:17 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 09, 2014, 03:32:49 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 09, 2014, 02:36:56 PM

Would that be a kick or a hand-pass?

I dunno, but I'm fairly sure this is a black card:

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/horsefootball2_zps34a1aa2b.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/horsefootball2_zps34a1aa2b.png.html)
Post by: inexile on January 12, 2014, 02:40:11 PM
Half Time in Newbridge,  5 points apiece, carlow seem to have had the wind behind them in the first half.
Post by: thejuice on January 12, 2014, 03:12:17 PM
After 50 mins

Meath 4-08
Wicklow 0-05
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2014, 03:18:26 PM
My God, we're creating an unstoppable juggernaut here. Already a 100% record this year, just like the All Blacks last year.
Post by: muppet on January 12, 2014, 03:24:30 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 12, 2014, 03:18:26 PM
My God, we're creating an unstoppable juggernaut here. Already a 100% record this year, just like the All Blacks last year.

All you need is a haka.
Post by: thejuice on January 12, 2014, 03:26:36 PM
Meath 4-10
Wicklow 2-05

Just let 2 goals in on the trot. I think we can write this season off now. heads are gone.
Post by: inexile on January 12, 2014, 03:42:23 PM
KIldare bet Carlow 1-11 to 8 points.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 12, 2014, 03:47:13 PM
DCU beat Dublin  3-8 to 0-16
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 12, 2014, 04:06:17 PM
Semi finals:

Kildare v UCD
Meath v DCU
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2014, 04:38:13 PM
Pity the Dubs were beaten, would have been good craic in PT.
Still though, that's the O'Byrne Cup for you.
Only the strong survive.
Post by: Syferus on January 12, 2014, 04:47:41 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 12, 2014, 03:47:13 PM

Roscommon unbeaten in all competitions thus far. If Dublin can't stop us, who can?
Post by: rodney trotter on January 12, 2014, 04:53:00 PM
Heard there biting incident in the match , bit of blood spilled
Post by: Rossfan on January 12, 2014, 08:23:26 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 12, 2014, 04:06:17 PM
Semi finals:

Kildare v UCD
Meath v DCU
Presumably tresurer of Comhairle Laighin praying for the 2 Counties to win next week €€€
Syfín - please get off the DCU bandwagon. They are NOT a Ros team, only a fcukin hindrance to our efforts ya "nice ladeen".
Post by: Syferus on January 12, 2014, 08:36:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 12, 2014, 08:23:26 PM
Semi finals:

Kildare v UCD
Meath v DCU
Presumably tresurer of Comhairle Laighin praying for the 2 Counties to win next week €€€
Syfín - please get off the DCU bandwagon. They are NOT a Ros team, only a fcukin hindrance to our efforts ya "nice ladeen".

Aye, attending the best sports university in the country must be a terrible cross for our ladeens to carry :-*
Post by: commonman on January 12, 2014, 09:21:18 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 12, 2014, 04:47:41 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 12, 2014, 03:47:13 PM

Roscommon unbeaten in all competitions thus far. If Dublin can't stop us, who can?

Roscommon had one player starting for DCU today. I don't see what point your trying to make?
Post by: Rossfan on January 12, 2014, 09:43:23 PM
It's just another one of th'eejiteen's bandwagons. ::)
He/she was wettin' himself/herself with excitement 15 or 16 months ago when there was a rumour doing the rounds that we were after Moyna as Senior Co Manager.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 12, 2014, 10:15:37 PM
Rossfan. Monies don't go to Leinster Council. All net receipts go into a Benevolent Fund of some dirt for players. That said they won't be too happy with the gate in Ballymahon today. Less than 700 euro I heard.
Post by: adevvabr on January 13, 2014, 12:11:37 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 12, 2014, 08:36:02 PM
Semi finals:

Kildare v UCD
Meath v DCU

Aye, attending the best sports university in the country must be a terrible cross for our ladeens to carry :-*

Well some senior members of the Roscommon Senior team wouldn't agree with you Syferus as they have prepared a motion for congress for intercounty players  to be ineligible for Sigerson due to the negative effect it was having on Roscommons preparation and involvement in the league.
Post by: Syferus on January 13, 2014, 12:17:27 AM
Quote from: adevvabr on January 13, 2014, 12:11:37 AM
Semi finals:

Kildare v UCD
Meath v DCU

Well some senior members of the Roscommon Senior team wouldn't agree with you Syferus as they have prepared a motion for congress for intercounty players  to be ineligible for Sigerson due to the negative effect it was having on Roscommons preparation and involvement in the league.

Our players, eh? It's not the ones on sports scholarships playing Sigerson that are tabling these motions.

Never going to happen and I know for a fact how highly some of our IC players regard DCU and Sigerson football in their development.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 13, 2014, 11:54:41 AM
Very well organised Louth team put down a marker ahead of the championship in Drogheda yesterday. Signs were ominous when we ambled into our positions with 3 minutes to throw in while Louth moved into another warm up exercise. They played very defensive against the wind in the first half and looked to get bodies in behind us to work goal opportunities, only netting one. Teams were level at half time and they changed tack completely in the second half, taking points from the 45. Easy winners in the end.

Positive points for Westmeath was the energy of Steven Gilmore and Dessie, the quick kickouts and some of our long range kicking. Lots of work needed ahead of visit to Cork in the league. Hopefully Callum not badly injured, Louth player who was stretchered off either.
Post by: Rossfan on January 13, 2014, 01:38:49 PM
Semi finals:

Kildare v UCD
Meath v DCU

Time that Sigerson thing was played before Christmas if Inter County U21s/Seniors aren't barred.
Post by: Syferus on January 13, 2014, 01:47:07 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 13, 2014, 01:38:49 PM
Semi finals:

Kildare v UCD
Meath v DCU

Time that Sigerson thing was played before Christmas if Inter County U21s/Seniors aren't barred.

Yeah, same with club AI series. Any motion like that seems to be coming from a place of disgust with a mad master calendar rather than any particular hatred of the Sigerson.

The FRC recommendations go a good bit of the way towards a sensible calendar. Those are the motions we need to have passed.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 17, 2014, 10:01:19 AM
Kildare SF -v- UCD: Shane Connolly; Mick O'Grady, Mick Foley, Hugh McGrillen; David Hyland, Fergal Conway, Emmet Bolton; Tommy Moolick, Gary White; Cathal McNally, Eoghan O'Flaherty, Paul Cribbin; Paddy Brophy, Darroch Mulhall, Podge Fogarty.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 18, 2014, 05:28:30 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 17, 2014, 10:01:19 AM
Kildare SF -v- UCD: Shane Connolly; Mick O'Grady, Mick Foley, Hugh McGrillen; David Hyland, Fergal Conway, Emmet Bolton; Tommy Moolick, Gary White; Cathal McNally, Eoghan O'Flaherty, Paul Cribbin; Paddy Brophy, Darroch Mulhall, Podge Fogarty.

Nice balance to that team. It doesn't look too bad even with so many unavailable at the moment.
Post by: cill_dara on January 18, 2014, 06:17:27 PM
This should be the stiffest test that Kildare have encountered so far, as KK has said a nice balance to the team. I like what I've seen of Ryan so far. He seems to have plenty of ideas that will benefit Kildare football. A crack at Meath the week before the League starts would do nicely.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 19, 2014, 03:52:27 PM
Kildare into their fourth O'Byrne Cup Final in a row.

The cream always rises to the top.
Post by: Jinxy on January 19, 2014, 03:58:33 PM
Meath 4-18
DCU 3-06

They should stick to readin books and doin sums!
Post by: thejuice on January 19, 2014, 05:32:59 PM
This year's OByrne cup could be a classic. Two January Juggernauts colliding. T'will be good to put some stains on them Daz white jersies.

Here how da feck in high heaven do Kildare get home advantage for the final. Now wonder ye win it all the time. Typical GAA bias in favour of Kildare. Only for yer useless mules of footballers to even things out with rest of us.
Post by: omagh_gael on January 19, 2014, 05:42:20 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 19, 2014, 03:52:27 PM
The cream always rises to the top.

...and then quickly disappears when the heat is turned up ;-)
Post by: Jinxy on January 19, 2014, 06:03:23 PM
To be honest, it's just great to still be playing football in late January.
We haven't a hope of winning though.
The flourbags could give the Russian army lessons on operating in winter conditions.
Post by: cill_dara on January 19, 2014, 06:07:49 PM
Well we got the final we all wanted. It's looking like a shoot out next week, and in the heat of battle Meath should win this shoot out hands down, at least Newbridge will help us be at least competitive.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 19, 2014, 06:17:03 PM
What time is Up For The Match on at next Saturday?
Post by: Jinxy on January 19, 2014, 06:38:16 PM
10pm.
I hear Luka Bloom, Ted Walsh, Noel V. Ginnity and (needless to say) the Brush will be on.
It's probably going to be the greatest television event of all time.

(http://www.eamonfitzpatrick.com/images/home-page/brush-shields-pod.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on January 20, 2014, 11:00:32 AM
Does anyone know the way to Newbridge?
Post by: orangeman on January 20, 2014, 11:08:45 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 20, 2014, 11:00:32 AM

Through Ballyronan, the Quiggan and you're there as soon as you see the big Creagh sign.

You can also go the back road.
Post by: Hardy on January 20, 2014, 11:17:46 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 20, 2014, 11:00:32 AM

#AskTUV
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 20, 2014, 05:16:14 PM
It will have been a good year if we retain the O'Byrne Cup, beyond our wildest expectations.
Post by: Jinxy on January 20, 2014, 05:28:05 PM
Do you get to keep it if you win again, like the Jules Rimet trophy?
Post by: thejuice on January 22, 2014, 03:43:07 PM
We'll have Davy Dalton Jr back for this. Would be nice to.see him go up the field to knock over a late winner.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 22, 2014, 04:08:42 PM
(http://www.jesusandmo.net/strips/2006-05-09.jpg)
Post by: thejuice on January 24, 2014, 10:56:41 AM
Meath (O'Byrne Cup v Kildare) -

Conor McHugh;
Donal Keogan, Michael Burke, Caolan Young;
Davy Dalton, Eoghan Harrington, Paddy Gilsenan;

Conor Gillespie (capt), Andrew Tormey;

Padraig McKeever, Dalton McDonagh, David Larkin;
Eamonn Wallace, Stephen Bray, Michael Newman.

Subs: Patrick O'Rourke, Shane O'Rourke, Damien Carroll, Graham Reilly, David Bray, Cillian O'Sullivan, Donal Lenihan, Conor Sheridan, Bryan McMahon.

Strong enough line up. Wonder if we'll see that midfield pairing on the league. Not sure about Micky Burke at full back if thats the best place for him. Strong enough bench to call upon.
Post by: Jinxy on January 24, 2014, 12:05:24 PM
That team wasn't picked to win the match if you ask me.
Micko is obviously keen to look at his half back and half forward line options.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 24, 2014, 01:37:54 PM
Anyone buying or selling a ticket?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 24, 2014, 02:11:21 PM
Cill Dara (v An Mhí):

1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)
2. Mick O'Grady (Celbridge)
3. Mick Foley (Athy)
4. Hugh McGrillen (Celbridge)
5. David Hyland (Athy)
6. Emmet Bolton (Eadestown)
7. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)
8. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)
9. Gary White (Sarsfields)
10. Cathal McNally (Johnstownbridge)
11. Eoghan O'Flaherty (Carbury)
12. Seán Hurley (Johnstownbridge)
13. Paddy Brophy (Celbridge)
14. Darroch Mulhall (Athy)
15. Pádraig Fogarty (St Laurence's)
Post by: Jinxy on January 24, 2014, 02:59:34 PM
I hear Kildare are picking a lot of tall lads this year.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 24, 2014, 03:37:47 PM
We're just waiting on this fella's transfer to come through

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_X67GzdSyP5M/TJLta6FrGKI/AAAAAAAAAD0/m_6Pb9b2y9E/s1600/sun%2Bming%2Bming.jpg)
Post by: Sea The Stars on January 24, 2014, 04:23:34 PM
Kevin Reilly and Seanie Curran are both injured at the moment so Mickey Burke has been given the role of full-back. Both are very injury prone anyway so it's no harm to have more cover.

I agree the management are not thinking in terms of winning the game. They've got everything out of the O'Byrne Cup that they can and the rotation policy has given all 30 players roughly the same amount of game time. Everyone has their chance to prove themselves good enough for a starting jersey.
Post by: muppet on January 24, 2014, 08:16:09 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 24, 2014, 03:37:47 PM
We're just waiting on this fella's transfer to come through

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_X67GzdSyP5M/TJLta6FrGKI/AAAAAAAAAD0/m_6Pb9b2y9E/s1600/sun%2Bming%2Bming.jpg)

Seanie Chanson?
Post by: Jinxy on January 25, 2014, 06:38:05 PM
Any risk to this going ahead tomorrow lads?
The forecast looks cat.
Post by: Hardy on January 25, 2014, 06:41:28 PM
They couldn't postpone it at this stage. Lads booked their holidays home from Australia and America six months ago for this.
Post by: muppet on January 25, 2014, 10:36:25 PM
Have the Royals gone soft?

Jebus is nothing sacred!

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 26, 2014, 11:16:06 AM
Nothing can beat the atmosphere around town on O'Byrne Cup Final morning.
Post by: inexile on January 26, 2014, 02:20:24 PM
I know its early days yet. But Meath seem to be playing with a bit more purpose and direction
Post by: inexile on January 26, 2014, 02:35:50 PM
33 Minutes gone. I think Meath will be the happier of the two.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 26, 2014, 03:31:06 PM
There won't be a horse galloped in Kildare tonight!
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 26, 2014, 03:48:18 PM
The Dubs with all their millions haven't won an O'Byrne in 6 years, where did it all go wrong?
Post by: Hardy on January 26, 2014, 03:48:52 PM
I hate this non-contact football. Even in basketball, though, a team of big, strong, fit lads will have little trouble against a team with too many midgets, especially in boggy going and stormy conditions. Apart from size, our lads don't look as if they've been anywhere near a gym.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 26, 2014, 03:50:25 PM
In your face Dublin - back to back baby, back to back.
Post by: thejuice on January 26, 2014, 03:50:43 PM
Only caught the last 10 mins of the game but by christ some of those goal chances we had should have been put away. Seemed to have plenty of momentum and possession to turn the lead around but didn't use it. Better be more ruthless in the league if we want to play in Division 1.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 26, 2014, 03:52:28 PM
Job done for the year.

I hope Ryan uses the league and championship to try out of few new faces with a view to the 2015 O'Byrne Cup. It's a long way off but it's hard to see anyone stopping Kildare's march towards a three titles in a row.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 26, 2014, 04:13:58 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 26, 2014, 03:52:28 PM
Job done for the year.

I hope Ryan uses the league and championship to try out of few new faces with a view to the 2015 O'Byrne Cup. It's a long way off but it's hard to see anyone stopping Kildare's march towards a three titles in a row.

There will be calls to split the county now but f**k the begrudgers!!!
Post by: Sea The Stars on January 26, 2014, 04:15:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 26, 2014, 03:48:52 PM
I hate this non-contact football. Even in basketball, though, a team of big, strong, fit lads will have little trouble against a team with too many midgets, especially in boggy going and stormy conditions. Apart from size, our lads don't look as if they've been anywhere near a gym.

Seriously Hardy? Meath team back since October doing Strength work up until very recently with Colm Brady. Some of the Meath lads would be very strong and would have put in huge effort in the last few months I know that. I wouldn't base it on looks. They are very strong regardless of how fitted their jerseys might be.

You can't read too much into this. Kildare by far the superior team in the second half though Meath were wasteful and struggled in midfield. The flow of the game would have changed dramatically had Meath taken a goal chance. Meath I would say are where they want to be (and so are Kildare). Both are looking good for a good start to the League.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 26, 2014, 04:47:52 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 26, 2014, 04:13:58 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 26, 2014, 03:52:28 PM
Job done for the year.

There will be calls to split the county now but f**k the begrudgers!!!

O'Byrne Cup Final 2015:

Kildare North v Kildare South.
Post by: muppet on January 26, 2014, 05:10:25 PM
Provincial Title betting latest:

Kildare 5/4F
Cork 2/1
Tyrone H2O
Leitrim 4/1

(from Goldfish Bowl Betting)

Post by: Syferus on January 26, 2014, 05:47:39 PM
Leitrim and Kildare should play a January Super Cup match in New York.
Post by: Jinxy on January 26, 2014, 09:53:27 PM

Our 'new' players looked very lightweight and poorly conditioned compared to their opponents.
The Kildare lads go into Robot Academy now at the age of about 12, hence one of their wing-backs today looked like some kind of futuristic lumberjack.
Our entire half forward line offered little going forward and even less from a defensive perspective, which meant that it was very easy for Kildare to build from the back, through Cribbin in particular.
Brophy was out in front of Young every single time and a change was needed there 15 min before it happened.
Donal Keoghan is an absolute rolls-royce of a corner back and he tormented Fogarty.
All in all, I wouldn't be too fussed but in terms of the new players today, nobody was staking a big claim for a starting spot.
Great to see Shane O'Rourke back on the field too.
He's an absolute horse of a man so fingers-crossed he has his injury woes behind him.

Post by: From the Bunker on January 26, 2014, 10:02:44 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on January 26, 2014, 03:48:18 PM
The Dubs with all their millions haven't won an O'Byrne in 6 years, where did it all go wrong?

All gone on the wrong road to College?
Post by: thejuice on January 26, 2014, 10:10:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 26, 2014, 05:47:39 PM
Leitrim and Kildare should play a January Super Cup match in New York.

Next Sunday at the Metlife perhaps. The Seahawks Vs Broncos could be a nice game to get the crowd warmed up before the Big One.
Post by: Jinxy on January 26, 2014, 11:35:37 PM
p.s. Newbridge is too cold to host an inter-county football match.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on January 27, 2014, 12:06:12 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 26, 2014, 09:53:27 PM

Our 'new' players looked very lightweight and poorly conditioned compared to their opponents.
The Kildare lads go into Robot Academy now at the age of about 12, hence one of their wing-backs today looked like some kind of futuristic lumberjack.
Our entire half forward line offered little going forward and even less from a defensive perspective, which meant that it was very easy for Kildare to build from the back, through Cribbin in particular.
Brophy was out in front of Young every single time and a change was needed there 15 min before it happened.
Donal Keoghan is an absolute rolls-royce of a corner back and he tormented Fogarty.
All in all, I wouldn't be too fussed but in terms of the new players today, nobody was staking a big claim for a starting spot.
He's an absolute horse of a man so fingers-crossed he has his injury woes behind him.

Looking forward to Futuristic Robot Lumberjacks vs Absolute Horses this summer if all goes to plan.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 27, 2014, 12:24:34 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on January 27, 2014, 12:06:12 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 26, 2014, 09:53:27 PM

Looking forward to Futuristic Robot Lumberjacks vs Absolute Horses this summer if all goes to plan.

My money is on the Rolls Royces.
Post by: Jinxy on January 27, 2014, 04:20:43 PM
Is Tomas O'Connor gone off the scene altogether lads?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 27, 2014, 10:33:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 27, 2014, 04:20:43 PM
Is Tomas O'Connor gone off the scene altogether lads?

He was with DIT for the O'Byrne Cup. I don't think he will feature as often for Kildare under Ryan.