It is a thrill that probably definitely the most dedicated GAA sponsor Pat O'Donnell got his just reward with his native Clare winning yesterday. He has championed through his sponsorship many events throughout the country. Congratulations Pat.
still got my old Pat O`Donnell Clare 95 jersey in the house, very long time sponsor with Clare, think Derry went through 5/6 Sponsors in the same period
Who are the longest running sponsors?
We've had Powerscreen, WJ Dolan, Rockwell, Target, Hunky Dory...and others?
Kerry group have been Kerry's sponsors since the first year of sponsorship.
Tracey Concrete must have been with Fermanagh at least 15 years
Quote from: ONeill on September 29, 2013, 10:49:50 PM
Supermacs have been sponsoring the Galway hurlers since 1991 I think. Pat McDonagh obviously a patient man.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 30, 2013, 12:17:18 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 29, 2013, 10:49:50 PM
Supermacs have been sponsoring the Galway hurlers since 1991 I think. Pat McDonagh obviously a patient man.
I'd murder a Smokey Bacon burger and a garlic and cheese chips right now.
Carroll Meats Cuisine Ham have been sponsoring Offaly since the advent of sponsorship in 1991.
Apart from Offaly and Kerry, I can't think of any others who have remained with the same company.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 29, 2013, 10:34:40 PM
still got my old Pat O`Donnell Clare 95 jersey in the house, very long time sponsor with Clare, think Derry went through 5/6 Sponsors in the same period
Clare went with Vodafone for a few years in the late 90's, early 00's and back to Pat O'Donnell in recent years.
Down, like a cheating wife, keep trying to get better/bigger/richer than Canal Court - but can't.
CC like a loving husband and after the odd upset (short affair with the Slieve) keep taking Down back year after year though - so fair play.
I hope the marriage bears much fruit in the years to come!
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 30, 2013, 09:18:34 AM
Carroll Meats Cuisine Ham have been sponsoring Offaly since the advent of sponsorship in 1991.
Apart from Offaly and Kerry, I can't think of any others who have remained with the same company.
Fermanagh have only ever had one sponsor - Tracey Concrete
Tracey Concrete have been sponsoring Fermanagh from the start.
Do Tracey Concrete sponsor the hurling team as well?
Kingspan & Cavan would be another longstanding one. As would Avonmore & Kilkenny.
Did Aeroflot not sponsor Clare once upon a time?
Staunton's Intersport, which later became Elvery's, became Mayo's main sponsor around 98 I'd say. Before that it was Genfitt, they were there for the 96 and 97 finals.
Quote from: Aristo 60 on September 30, 2013, 09:25:05 AM
Down, like a cheating wife, keep trying to get better/bigger/richer than Canal Court - but can't.
CC like a loving husband and after the odd upset (short affair with the Slieve) keep taking Down back year after year though - so fair play.
Was it Kerstin Hunik were their first sponsors back in 91?
Quote from: LeoMc on September 30, 2013, 12:41:51 PM
Yes - followed by Ulster Bank
Quote from: Aristo 60 on September 30, 2013, 12:51:55 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on September 30, 2013, 12:41:51 PM
Yes - followed by Ulster Bank
I think I remember that they werent allowed to use the Ulster Bank logo in the 94 AIF because Bank of Ireland were the sponsors of the championship.
(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF50/052108.jpg)
You are quite correct.
Turns out the 0.5 grammes of weight saved in the jerseys made Mr Linden even faster that day... 8)
Brush up on the various sponsors over the years at Pride in the Jersey (http://www.prideinthejersey.com/clare.html). I note Clare were a shower of brazen hussies at one stage by fraternising with Eircell/Vodafone, which makes Pat's willingness to bail them out when Vodafone leapt into the arms of the Jacks all the more admirable.
I think Down also had O'Reilly transport on the jersey for a short time
O Reilly transport was also on the Down jerseys at a stage
Zanussi and the great Kerry team of the 80s.
mind the old Kerry adidas rig? Would be a bit of a collecters itme now I'd say
Quote from: spuds on September 30, 2013, 03:06:18 PM
Wasn't that Bendix? Bendix and Kerry, not Zanussi and Bendix.
Just had a look at PiTJ. They are missing a couple of Derry jerseys from early 90's with different sponsors. Carhill Car Sales sponsored in '91. Sperrin Metal took over in 1992, with Burns Clothing sponsoring the '92 Ulster Final jersey. Sperrin Metal until the late 90's. We have had a few since then.
Quote from: deiseach on September 30, 2013, 03:34:36 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 30, 2013, 03:06:18 PM
Wasn't that Bendix? Bendix and Kerry, not Zanussi and Bendix.
Not sure tbh, whichever one it was was most deserving. :-X
Quote from: Estimator on September 30, 2013, 03:37:59 PM
Just had a look at PiTJ. They are missing a couple of Derry jerseys from early 90's with different sponsors. Carhill Car Sales sponsored in '91. Sperrin Metal took over in 1992, with Burns Clothing sponsoring the '92 Ulster Final jersey. Sperrin Metal until the late 90's. We have had a few since then.
The performance related deal never paid out?
Quote from: Tubberman on September 30, 2013, 11:20:43 AM
Staunton's Intersport, which later became Elvery's, became Mayo's main sponsor around 98 I'd say. Before that it was Genfitt, they were there for the 96 and 97 finals.
Staunton's Intersport a Mayo company took over Elverys and reversed rebranded to their existing stores as Elverys, also sponser McHale Park.
I heard Clare were in discussion with some AIS (artificial insemination service) in the late 90s but it never came to fruition. Croke Park thought it was inappropriate for some reason.
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 01, 2013, 08:03:26 AM
I heard Clare were in discussion with some AIS (artificial insemination service) in the late 90s but it never came to fruition. Croke Park thought it was inappropriate for some reason.
Their underage conveyor belt is so good at the moment, I don't think they need AI.
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on October 01, 2013, 11:19:44 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on October 01, 2013, 08:03:26 AM
Their underage conveyor belt is so good at the moment, I don't think they need AI.
To borrow a Larry O'Gorman quote; Those young lads will need new mickeys before too long..
We love our hotels in Westmeath. The Greville, Hilamar and now the Annebrook. Maybe Mick will release the purse strings in the near future seeing as he is on a charm offensive.
AIG confirmed as new sponsors of Dublin Hurling, Football, Camogie and Ladies Football.
Deal rumoured to be in region of 2 million euro. Hard to compete with that!
QuoteDublin GAA and AIG Ireland have signed a five year sponsorship deal worth €2million.
The deal sees AIG exclusively sponsoring the county's hurling and football teams at all levels. For the first time ever, the ladies football and camogie teams will also come under the one sponsorship umbrella. The agreement commences with effect on November 1, 2013.
Announcing the sponsorship, AIG Ireland General Manager Declan O'Rourke said;
"This is a massive day for AIG in Ireland and we are thrilled to be associated with Dublin GAA. We are extremely proud to unite all the GAA family in the capital - football, hurling, camogie and ladies football - under one sponsorship brand, AIG.
"The future is bright for Gaelic Games in the county, with strong clubs rooted in communities in the city, the suburbs and rural areas of county Dublin. As a sponsor, we hope to assist with the growth of Gaelic Games and help Dublin promote these fantastic games which form part of the social fabric of Irish society.
"This sponsorship is a clear statement that AIG is committed to both the Irish insurance market and the Irish community for the long term. It solidifies AIG's track record of supporting amateur sport in Ireland.
"Dublin GAA is a huge organisation, supporting 92 clubs, 100,000 associated members, 320 active primary schools and organises 4,000 adult club games every year. As a passionate GAA supporter myself, I understand how important sponsorship revenue is to ensure that these structures are supported and to ensure GAA is promoted at all levels from GAA nurseries to the stars who appear in Croke Park."
Welcoming the deal, Dublin GAA County Board Chairman Andy Kettle said: "This sponsorship deal is a really significant boost to everyone associated with Dublin GAA. The strength of the Dublin brand is illustrated by our ability to negotiaite this outstanding sponsorship in a depressed economic market. "AIG is a blue chip organisation with a proven track record in sponsorship and they are going to be an exceptional partner and they fully understand what we are trying to achieve in Dublin.
"The sponsorship revenue is critical in helping towards our expenditure on club coaching programmes and inter-county teams at all levels. AIG is also finalising their sponsorship activation plans which will promote GAA in the capital at all levels. We are very much looking forward to working closely with AIG over the next five years to ensure this partnership is mutually beneficial.
"This is an exciting time for Dublin GAA on and off the pitch. We have won the All-Ireland senior football title for the second time in three years and won our first Leinster senior hurling title since 1961 and have significantly increased underage participation levels in recent years. Attracting an organisation like AIG shows just how far we have come off the field."
The new team jersey will be launched within a month
(http://media0.giphy.com/media/VTxmwaCEwSlZm/200.gif)
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on September 30, 2013, 11:18:03 AM
Did Aeroflot not sponsor Clare once upon a time?
Yea, around 94 just before Pat O'Donnell came on board. In fairness to O'Donnell he was a great man to come back and sponsor Clare after the county board shafted him with Eircell for a few years.