GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2013, 11:09:16 PM

Title: GAA Room 101
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2013, 11:09:16 PM
What elements of the GAA would you put into room 101?

It like to start with

Any talk of Ballagh leaving Mayo GAA
Title: Re: GAA Room 101
Post by: T Fearon on September 04, 2013, 11:14:46 PM
Joe Brolly
Post by: trileacman on September 04, 2013, 11:20:54 PM
The Sunday Game match panel.

The Star's coverage.
Post by: rrhf on September 04, 2013, 11:22:16 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2013, 11:09:16 PM

It like to start with

I wouldn't worry when Sam makes it there in 3 weeks  they will know what side the breads buttered on. It's as mayo as finchley.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 04, 2013, 11:24:21 PM
Armchair pundits
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 04, 2013, 11:29:41 PM
Comparing football and hurling.
Post by: Syferus on September 04, 2013, 11:39:36 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 04, 2013, 11:09:16 PM

It like to start with

Hush, puppy.

The obvious one is Mayo people convincing themselves they're not basket cases in finals.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 04, 2013, 11:41:55 PM
Pink county jerseys
Post by: From the Bunker on September 04, 2013, 11:55:19 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 04, 2013, 11:41:55 PM
Pink county jerseys

Don't get me started. Pet hate! Your colours are your colours. Wearing Pink says you are a woman? If you want to wear a Jersey and say you are part of the female race from that County. Buy a Ladies County jersey!
Post by: Syferus on September 05, 2013, 12:09:57 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 04, 2013, 11:55:19 PM
Pink county jerseys

Don't get me started. Pet hate! Your colours are your colours. Wearing Pink says you are a woman? If you want to wear a Jersey and say you are part of the female race from that County. Buy a Ladies County jersey!

I know what I'm wearing if I get tickets to the AI final.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 05, 2013, 12:17:43 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 05, 2013, 12:09:57 AM
Pink county jerseys

I know what I'm wearing if I get tickets to the AI final.

Your St. Bridgets Jersey - the best compromise! :P
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 05, 2013, 12:22:16 AM
Girlies singing Amhran na bhFiann out of tune before big matches, especially in Ulster.
Post by: BennyCake on September 05, 2013, 12:25:59 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 05, 2013, 12:22:16 AM
Girlies singing Amhran na bhFiann out of tune before big matches, especially in Ulster.

Anyone singing the anthem. Let the crowd do it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 05, 2013, 09:37:26 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 05, 2013, 12:25:59 AM

The crowd sing the anthem?
Post by: Syferus on September 05, 2013, 09:43:57 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 05, 2013, 09:37:26 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 05, 2013, 12:25:59 AM

The crowd sing the anthem?

Things r grim up norf. More David O'Leary, less crowd mumble.
Post by: Jinxy on September 05, 2013, 10:03:09 AM
Pink county jerseys

The pink jersey is a godsend for the likes of me who struggles to tell the difference between the male and female Mayo fans.
Post by: EC Unique on September 05, 2013, 11:13:01 AM
People being aloud into matches drunk.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2013, 11:16:07 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on September 05, 2013, 11:13:01 AM

Noisy drunks are the worst  ;D ;D
Post by: Aristo 60 on September 05, 2013, 11:16:23 AM
No pitch invasions
AFL taking the best players

People being allowed into matches drunk

-or-

Drunk people being loud at matches
Post by: EC Unique on September 05, 2013, 11:18:32 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2013, 11:16:07 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on September 05, 2013, 11:13:01 AM

Noisy drunks are the worst  ;D ;D

I'm so sorry Oh great one.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2013, 01:43:20 PM
Soccer tops at GAA games
Post by: Cold tea on September 05, 2013, 01:48:06 PM
People who never attend a single match but get tickets for the final.
Post by: Jinxy on September 05, 2013, 02:04:42 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on September 05, 2013, 11:16:23 AM
No pitch invasions
AFL taking the best players

People being allowed into matches drunk

-or-

Drunk people being loud at matches

This isn't actually happening though.
Oh wait, you meant your best players.  :D
Post by: ballinaman on September 05, 2013, 02:07:33 PM
Pink county jerseys
Amen to that. Embarrassing. O'Neills have no link whatsoever to any breast cancer charity from the sale of them.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 05, 2013, 02:08:51 PM
Umbrellas at matched

People smoking in stands

Over here in England pubs turning off sound after game ovrr and putting on music, sat there trying to log on to find out what they are saying.
Post by: muppet on September 05, 2013, 02:44:43 PM
Losing.

Post by: highorlow on September 05, 2013, 02:51:08 PM
Wine in Croke Park. Yes they are selling the wee bottles of wine now in the bars (and i'm not talking about the premium). f**k that for a load of bollucks.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 05, 2013, 03:12:16 PM
Longford
Post by: Declan on September 05, 2013, 03:25:05 PM
Up for the match
Post by: Asal Mor on September 05, 2013, 03:30:17 PM
Commentary "as Gaeilge" for the minor games.

The front few rows of Croker being off-limits most of the year. Don't know the reasoning behind it but it's annoying.

Anyone who goes on about the need to leave Joe Canning in at  full-forward.

Anyone who says "it depends on which Galway shows up."

Post by: Jinxy on September 05, 2013, 04:05:18 PM
Marty Morrissey
Martin Carney
Martin McHugh
Martin Breheny
Anyone called Martin really.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 05, 2013, 04:17:47 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 05, 2013, 03:30:17 PM
The front few rows of Croker being off-limits most of the year. Don't know the reasoning behind it but it's annoying.

Easier to control the crowds from entering the field if the front rows are empty.
Post by: johnneycool on September 05, 2013, 04:22:02 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 05, 2013, 04:17:47 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 05, 2013, 03:30:17 PM

Easier to control the crowds from entering the field if the front rows are empty.

It's a shít view as well..
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 05, 2013, 05:15:16 PM
mad village idiots, who never played but give abuse to opposing team and officials!!
Post by: Cold tea on September 05, 2013, 05:59:25 PM
People who think you need to have played to a certain level to offer an opinion.
Post by: BennyCake on September 05, 2013, 06:15:03 PM
Chanting/pointing Dublin fans on the Hill. Feck off back to the Aviva.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 05, 2013, 06:24:37 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 05, 2013, 04:05:18 PM
Marty Morrissey
Martin Carney
Martin McHugh
Martin Breheny
Anyone called Martin really.

Martin O'Connell?

Martin Lynch?
Post by: Syferus on September 05, 2013, 08:57:02 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 05, 2013, 06:15:03 PM

Post by: BennyCake on September 05, 2013, 09:35:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 05, 2013, 08:57:02 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 05, 2013, 06:15:03 PM

You can't. I'm not a Martin.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 05, 2013, 09:36:53 PM
Cranky feckers with internet connections.
Post by: ONeill on September 06, 2013, 07:19:23 AM
Umpires
Post by: theskull1 on September 06, 2013, 03:34:01 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on September 05, 2013, 05:59:25 PM
People who think you need to have played to a certain level to offer an opinion.

+1 ... one of the most knowledgeable hurling men in our club never struck a ball
Post by: johnneycool on September 06, 2013, 03:36:50 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 06, 2013, 03:34:01 PM

+1 ... one of the most knowledgeable hurling men in our club never struck a ball

And some of the biggest lunatics along the line played at the highest level and we've a cracker one of those.
Post by: ogshead on September 06, 2013, 03:39:23 PM
Pundits using the word 'alluded'.  >:( >:( I have heard it used before but not to the extent it is used in GAA conversations. Worst offender is Micky Harte. It even annoys me having to use it in this post but I needed to in order for me to get my point across!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 06, 2013, 11:10:43 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 06, 2013, 03:34:01 PM

Is he a village idiot?
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 06, 2013, 11:41:08 PM
Fat pains in the hole in mediterranean holiday resorts wearing county colours that are three sizes too small and bellowing do ya know where they're showin the game today lads............
Post by: CD on September 07, 2013, 02:30:09 PM
Dublin fan in the Hill shouting 'Go home to your Queen' in the middle of the National Anthem when a northern side plays. Was funny the first time I heard it. Now its just a wee bit sad. Is it the same lad who shouts it every time or do they take turns?
Post by: BennyCake on September 07, 2013, 05:22:19 PM
Quote from: CD on September 07, 2013, 02:30:09 PM
Dublin fan in the Hill shouting 'Go home to your Queen' in the middle of the National Anthem when a northern side plays. Was funny the first time I heard it. Now its just a wee bit sad. Is it the same lad who shouts it every time or do they take turns?

Must be different one each time. There can't just be one Dublin w**ker on the hill.
Post by: Rossfan on September 07, 2013, 05:32:31 PM
Dublin fan in the Hill shouting 'Go home to your Queen' in the middle of the National Anthem when a northern side plays.
Anyone who accuses 6 Cos GAA people of being "British".
Post by: Syferus on September 07, 2013, 05:35:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 07, 2013, 05:32:31 PM
Dublin fan in the Hill shouting 'Go home to your Queen' in the middle of the National Anthem when a northern side plays.

What about umbrella salesmen?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 07, 2013, 08:08:18 PM

At least they don't ask you "where ya park your tractor?"   ::)

"Still parked at your mothers house  ;) "
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 07, 2013, 08:09:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 07, 2013, 05:32:31 PM

+1 and people who call 26 county folk "Free Staters"
Post by: CD on September 07, 2013, 08:12:05 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 07, 2013, 08:08:18 PM

Sometimes they say, 'Go home to your Queen on your tractor!'
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 07, 2013, 09:36:03 PM
Quote from: CD on September 07, 2013, 08:12:05 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 07, 2013, 08:08:18 PM

Sometimes they say, 'Go home to your Queen on your tractor!'

You from Laois?
Post by: commonman on September 08, 2013, 05:38:44 PM
They could do with scrapping the ' may we never have to say goodbye' song that they play every sunday evening as people leave croke park
Post by: Rossfan on September 08, 2013, 05:40:05 PM
Hurling referees
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 08, 2013, 07:01:01 PM
Idiots who say something along the lines of typical GAA whenever a big game is draw, or Ref played for a draw and they dodn't even watch the game!!!
Post by: Sidney on September 08, 2013, 07:04:55 PM
Brian Carthy. I've just listened to one of the most excruciating hours of radio ever broadcast.
Post by: johnpower on September 08, 2013, 07:34:41 PM
Quote from: Sidney on September 08, 2013, 07:04:55 PM
Brian Carthy. I've just listened to one of the most excruciating hours of radio ever broadcast.

God I agree it was shameful stuff .
Post by: Syferus on September 08, 2013, 07:52:31 PM
Quote from: johnpower on September 08, 2013, 07:34:41 PM

Brian Carthy is a god. And not one of those Greek ones that can be killed with arrows and shite, one of the good ones.
Post by: Rossfan on September 08, 2013, 07:59:32 PM
Quote from: johnpower on September 08, 2013, 07:34:41 PM

Despite being a Rossie Brian is painful.
Post by: Sidney on September 08, 2013, 10:03:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 08, 2013, 07:59:32 PM

You'd have to say.
Post by: muppet on September 08, 2013, 10:51:55 PM
Quote from: Sidney on September 08, 2013, 10:03:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 08, 2013, 07:59:32 PM

You'd have to say.

Hands go up, in agreement.
Post by: Maguire01 on September 08, 2013, 11:44:11 PM
The three cheers for the losing team - hip hip... *cringe
Post by: highorlow on September 09, 2013, 10:03:01 AM
Bouncing Points.

These should not be allowed to count!
Post by: ogshead on September 09, 2013, 11:46:24 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 08, 2013, 07:01:01 PM
Idiots who say something along the lines of typical GAA whenever a big game is draw, or Ref played for a draw and they dodn't even watch the game!!!

Funny you should say this. A friend of mine from England who loves cricket said something to me along those lines this morning about yesterday's draw. My reply was 'unlike cricket were you get rained off and with no play the match is declared a draw'. His response was 'Touché'
Post by: blanketattack on September 09, 2013, 12:49:38 PM
Hurling fans getting big discounts for final replays with no discounts for football fans in 72, 88, 96 and 00 when the country was in a far worse predicament than it is now for some of those years.
Post by: Syferus on September 09, 2013, 01:00:51 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 09, 2013, 12:49:38 PM
Hurling fans getting big discounts for final replays with no discounts for football fans in 72, 88, 96 and 00 when the country was in a far worse predicament than it is now for some of those years.

Someone actually complaining about a reduction in ticket prices. Now I've seen everything.
Post by: Sidney on September 09, 2013, 01:39:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 09, 2013, 01:00:51 PM

Someone actually complaining about a reduction in ticket prices. Now I've seen everything.
It's a bloody disgrace, that's what it is.
Post by: blanketattack on September 09, 2013, 01:39:49 PM

The complaint is about the football replays getting no discounts. Personally I think it should be decided on the day like all other major sports finals. The Fa gave up final replays for the good of the international team even in non-euros and WC years. Could the Gaa give up final replays for the good of the club c'ships?
Post by: Sidney on September 09, 2013, 01:54:41 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 09, 2013, 01:39:49 PM

The complaint is about the football replays getting no discounts. Personally I think it should be decided on the day like all other major sports finals. The Fa gave up final replays for the good of the international team even in non-euros and WC years. Could the Gaa give up final replays for the good of the club c'ships?
When was the last football replay?
Post by: Hereiam on September 09, 2013, 02:03:49 PM
Fisted/palmed goals should be not allowed. Its doesn't look right when it happens.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 09, 2013, 02:07:22 PM

Like what? Extra time and penalties? The FA gave up final replays because they don't give a f**k about the FA Cup now that the Premier league is under their control.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 09, 2013, 02:50:46 PM

Have to say. Looking at last nights Sunday Game and seeing the players and management at the post match banquets. It made me reminded me that there were still obligations for the players and management even in the case of a draw. Can't see why the game was not wrapped up yesterday in extra time. Players, managers and fans will often be put out with a draw. Days off work, sorting out tickets again, costs.  Club scene put on hold. But sure a draw is worth a fortune to the GAA. So why kill the golden goose?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 09, 2013, 04:25:16 PM
QuoteBut sure a draw is worth a fortune to the GAA. So why kill the golden goose?

Yes- which benefits almost every club ultimately in Ireland.

WTF is there all this focus on the money (Grab All Association yada yada yada) when it all drips down to provinces, counties and clubs. The extra 3 mill or whatever generated by the replay can be used to develop hurling in the wastelands of Leitrim, Longford, Roscommon, additional funds towards the players' funds, more grants to build dressing rooms, gyms, equipment et al and not to line some pockets.
Post by: spuds on September 09, 2013, 05:09:23 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 09, 2013, 04:25:16 PM
QuoteBut suresponse. w is worth a fortune to the GAA. So why kill the golden goose?

WTF is there all this focus on the money (Grab All Association yada yada yada) when it all drips down to provinces, counties and clubs. The extra 3 mill or whatever generated by the replay can be used to develop hurling in the wastelands of Leitrim, Longford, Roscommon, additional funds towards the players' funds, more grants to build dressing rooms, gyms, equipment et al and not to line some pockets.
Totally agree. Seems like an example of something being said often enough it becomes the standard response. Brilliant game yesterday with both counties having cause to be happy with a second chance.

Grab All Association, Dublin taximan lingo.
Post by: Syferus on September 09, 2013, 05:45:43 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 09, 2013, 04:25:16 PM
QuoteBut sure a draw is worth a fortune to the GAA. So why kill the golden goose?

Speak for yerselves, Ros hurling has always punched far above it's weight. Besides that you're totally correct.
Post by: Hardy on September 09, 2013, 06:09:30 PM
It's also the angle in nearly every media report on the draw today. One comic rag has the GAA "hoovering up" €2.5M. There's something odd going on when the amateur GAA is the organisation that attracts comment about its income when we seldom hear the media even mention the money the professional sports organisations make. I certainly don't recall ever hearing what the income from a soccer or rugby international was. It's particularly odd when you consider the dodgy dealing that goes on in many professional sports
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 09, 2013, 06:20:16 PM
Old blokes with transistor radios at games who are always more interested in the radio telling them about some other game.
Post by: muppet on September 09, 2013, 06:22:28 PM
Quote from: highorlow on September 09, 2013, 10:03:01 AM
Bouncing Points.

I agree and this rule should be implemented retrospectively.
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 09, 2013, 07:24:41 PM
Returned bankrupt broadcaster Ivan Yates was having a bit of the Grab All Association line this morning in an attempt to grab more ratings I suppose, not sure what the extent of Ivan's hands on involvement with the GAA might be ;) apart from accepting the odd corporate ticket gig I suppose
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 09, 2013, 07:30:11 PM
Ivan Yates can go and fcuk off back to Wales. He got shag all sympathy from the listening public when he poured out his woes on the radio.

Anyway I am not sure who he is aiming that 'Grab All' jibe all. Most Jayzesing, Daily Star buying, John Player Blue smokin, Dubbellin taxi drivers would be listening to FM104 or Spin106 or, if they were a wee bit more sensitive, listen to Q102 or 98FM.

Cnuts the lot of them and bad cess to their hatred for all things GAA >:(
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on September 09, 2013, 07:40:00 PM
Will put this up and await the abuse..........Why is it after every great game, all we hear is you can stick the champions league, Heineken Cup and Premier league......why cant it be acknowledged that the match was super and we are lucky to have the GAA without constantly slagging off other sports..........

Also Soccer players been paid millions, but they cant take a shoulder.........enough.......

Finally, Take Your Point on Radio 1, a public phone in show, but no public allowed on it, more like what's the point..........

Post by: From the Bunker on September 09, 2013, 07:53:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2013, 06:22:28 PM
Bouncing Points.

This rule should be back dated to August 1996!
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 09, 2013, 09:05:09 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 09, 2013, 07:53:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 09, 2013, 06:22:28 PM
Bouncing Points.

This rule should be back dated to August 1996!

Have a feeling Muppet had that exact level of retrospection in mind
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on September 09, 2013, 09:07:36 PM
Way Silke...........................and whacker Senan Connell
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 09, 2013, 09:08:08 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 09, 2013, 07:30:11 PM
Ivan Yates can go and fcuk off back to Wales. He got shag all sympathy from the listening public when he poured out his woes on the radio.

Anyway I am not sure who he is aiming that 'Grab All' jibe all. Most Jayzesing, Daily Star buying, John Player Blue smokin, Dubbellin taxi drivers would be listening to FM104 or Spin106 or, if they were a wee bit more sensitive, listen to Q102 or 98FM.

Cnuts the lot of them and bad cess to their hatred for all things GAA >:(

You can get the odd soccer and rugby  type more than willing to peddle the grab all association line as well, or is it just some of the soccer and rugger bugger types of my acquaintance?
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 09, 2013, 09:30:20 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on September 09, 2013, 07:40:00 PM
Will put this up and await the abuse..........Why is it after every great game, all we hear is you can stick the champions league, Heineken Cup and Premier league......why cant it be acknowledged that the match was super and we are lucky to have the GAA without constantly slagging off other sports..........

Also Soccer players been paid millions, but they cant take a shoulder.........enough.......

Finally, Take Your Point on Radio 1, a public phone in show, but no public allowed on it, more like what's the point..........

Very well said Gaeilgoir. Why the constant comparing is beyond me? I cringe every time I hear it.
Post by: blanketattack on September 09, 2013, 09:58:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 09, 2013, 02:07:22 PM

Like what? Extra time and penalties? The FA gave up final replays because they don't give a f**k about the FA Cup now that the Premier league is under their control.

Yes they should play Extra Time, doesn't necessarily guarantee it's finished on the day but it should eliminate a lot of replays. Also why do they need to wait 3 weeks for the replay, a one week wait is enough and avoids ruining the club fixtures. The u21 final should be earlier in the calendar. There's plenty of occasions of playing a week later in the gaa. Fa cup replays were 5 days later. Grand Finals are played a week later. In the internet age the tickets could be organised in a matter of hours.
Post by: johnneycool on September 10, 2013, 02:45:05 PM
The handshaking between the teams before a game, when did that shíte come in? Was it passed through congress?
Post by: prewtna on September 10, 2013, 04:32:23 PM

Yes they should play Extra Time, doesn't necessarily guarantee it's finished on the day but it should eliminate a lot of replays. Also why do they need to wait 3 weeks for the replay, a one week wait is enough and avoids ruining the club fixtures. The u21 final should be earlier in the calendar. There's plenty of occasions of playing a week later in the gaa. Fa cup replays were 5 days later. Grand Finals are played a week later. In the internet age the tickets could be organised in a matter of hours.

no they couldn't. how would the county boards screw everyone then - there wouldn't be time!
Post by: BennyCake on September 10, 2013, 04:54:57 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 10, 2013, 02:45:05 PM
The handshaking between the teams before a game, when did that shíte come in? Was it passed through congress?

Yes, that's a load of balls.
Post by: bluenosebandit on September 11, 2013, 10:19:47 AM
just a quick query, in terms of referreing.
A corner back is marking his man as tight as possible and the corner forward pushed off him, ie two hands in the chest, breaks away to make a run for the ball. Fair enough, its accepted.
If however, just before the ball is played in, the corner back anticipates and he pushes the corner forward in the chest in order to make a break for the ball, referee awards a free in.

Corner back says to the ref, "whats the difference? he pushed me to go for the ball, i pushed him to go for the ball?"
Ref's response, "he is the forward, he gets the advantage?" Result free in, yellow card for the defender

Why??????????????????????????
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 11, 2013, 11:24:30 AM
Another question.

If a defender hand passes the ball back to the goalie who, in a complete clusterfuck misses it totally and it rolls into the net, what is the outcome?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 11, 2013, 11:38:00 AM
You cannot score a goal from a handpass!
Post by: theticklemister on September 11, 2013, 12:51:48 PM
Handshaking due to the new respect thingy.

Ye all talk balls sometimes. The replay is there to give the fellas a chance who have been training since January to win the game over 70 minutes.
Post by: muppet on September 11, 2013, 12:59:13 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 11, 2013, 11:24:30 AM
Another question.

If a defender hand passes the ball back to the goalie who, in a complete clusterfuck misses it totally and it rolls into the net, what is the outcome?

New keeper.
Post by: EC Unique on September 11, 2013, 01:43:02 PM
People who preach that hurling is 10 times the game that football is.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 11, 2013, 01:47:37 PM
Quote from: bluenosebandit on September 11, 2013, 10:19:47 AM
A corner back is marking his man as tight as possible and the corner forward pushed off him, ie two hands in the chest, breaks away to make a run for the ball. Fair enough, its accepted.
If however, just before the ball is played in, the corner back anticipates and he pushes the corner forward in the chest in order to make a break for the ball, referee awards a free in.

Corner back says to the ref, "whats the difference? he pushed me to go for the ball, i pushed him to go for the ball?"
Ref's response, "he is the forward, he gets the advantage?" Result free in, yellow card for the defender

There is no rule in it, Both are fouls, difference being it's harder to catch a forward push off a defender as the referee is watching the the play from where it is, it's played in and generally the referee wouldn't see it but will see a defender push a forward as he'll have followed flight of the ball. Most times though the defender is holding the attacker and not marking him tight as you have stated.

Quote from: EC Unique on September 11, 2013, 01:43:02 PM

People who preach that bog ball is times better than hurling
Post by: Tubberman on September 11, 2013, 01:53:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 11, 2013, 01:47:37 PM

There is no rule in it, Both are fouls, difference being it's harder to catch a forward push off a defender as the referee is watching the the play from where it is, it's played in and generally the referee wouldn't see it but will see a defender push a forward as he'll have followed flight of the ball. Most times though the defender is holding the attacker and not marking him tight as you have stated.

Quote from: EC Unique on September 11, 2013, 01:43:02 PM

People who preach that bog ball is times better than hurling

People (especially GAA people) who refer to football as bog ball.
Post by: johnneycool on September 11, 2013, 02:17:46 PM
And 'stick fighting'

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 11, 2013, 02:19:43 PM
People who refer to GAA as 'the Gah'!  Hate that fecking phrase, normally comes from south side rugby heads, said in a derogatory fashion. 
Post by: CD on September 11, 2013, 06:43:38 PM

A good corner back anticipates the pass gets his nudge in early before the referee or linesmen have turned to follow the play - Karl Lacey and Keith Higgins are two of the best exponents of this around at the moment and I'm sure every club has a player who gets away with it every week! I agree (as a former defender) it is frustrating and a defender is far more likely to be penalised or booked for this tackle. It's always been part of the game however and if you're cute enough you can at least break even with your oponent
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 11, 2013, 07:08:38 PM

Because every referee applies the laws differently in cases like this. A challenge that is a foul and a booking by a defender on a forward might not even get a free when it's the other way around.
Post by: Sidney on September 11, 2013, 10:10:26 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 11, 2013, 02:19:43 PM
People who refer to GAA as 'the Gah'!  Hate that fecking phrase, normally comes from south side rugby heads, said in a derogatory fashion.
"Gah" is a reasonably widely used term for Gaelic football throughout Dublin, even by some people who play it. If anything I would say it is used more in working class areas.
Post by: The Biff on September 12, 2013, 12:03:59 PM
The pre-match parade of players behind the band.  There not soldiers and should not be expected to march like that.   >:(

Also someone mentioned earlier ... the "obligatory" 3 cheers for the losing team .... patronising in the extreme.   >:(

The whole Suspensions & Appeals system ... far too many suspensions overturned for spurious reasons.   >:(

Ger Canning's commentary.   >:(

(time to  :-X )
Post by: theskull1 on September 12, 2013, 12:23:43 PM
Quote from: The Biff on September 12, 2013, 12:03:59 PM
The pre-match parade of players behind the band.  There not soldiers and should not be expected to march like that.   >:(

You've obviously never walked behind the band. Regardless you'd be out voted by a huge majority
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2013, 01:52:33 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 12, 2013, 12:23:43 PM

You've obviously never walked behind the band. Regardless you'd be out voted by a huge majority

Post by: blanketattack on September 12, 2013, 02:03:42 PM
Fines for not wearing socks pulled up during parade.
Post by: BennyCake on September 12, 2013, 02:25:55 PM
Players who can't stand still for the anthem.

A minute's applause.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 12, 2013, 02:30:50 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 12, 2013, 02:03:42 PM
Fines for not wearing socks pulled up during parade.

That's one of the worst fines, and that happens right through to county club finals ffs!!

Fines against clubs who can't afford the money to buy socks for their players ffs!!
Post by: rosnarun on September 12, 2013, 04:44:35 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 12, 2013, 12:23:43 PM

player not marching in time to the music
in my day ..................
Post by: Rossfan on September 12, 2013, 05:01:29 PM
Most players looked bored out of their minds as they plod around behind these bands.
I don't see the point of having a band at all at live TV Championship games as they assail our ears with a non stop racket every non playing moment.
Post by: The Biff on September 12, 2013, 06:43:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 12, 2013, 05:01:29 PM
Most players looked bored out of their minds as they plod around behind these bands.
Exactly my point.  Parades like that should be left to ...... North Korea or plastic Paddys on Paddy's Day    ;)
Post by: Syferus on September 12, 2013, 07:29:27 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 12, 2013, 05:01:29 PM
I don't see the point of having a band at all at live TV Championship games as they assail our ears with a non stop racket every non playing moment.

Arrah ladeen, the supporters love it when their team trots over to them. One of the biggest roars of the year when the Jackeens got to the Hill in the march before the Kerry game.

The bands are a thousand times better than Jacko's tooth grin and yet Eircom ad or some 'contemporary' music being piped in at mad volumes. The Croker lads are better at putting that stuff at a manageable volume but the roving big screen crew don't seem to have learnt that art yet.
Post by: bridgegael on September 14, 2013, 11:24:15 AM
choreographed warm ups
Post by: qubdub on September 14, 2013, 12:12:20 PM
The cliche 'he's a great reader of the game', reserved almost exclusively for the man deployed as sweeper.

Of course he can read the game he's in space and doesn't have to mark anyone!
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on September 16, 2013, 01:42:27 PM
After reading the so called sports section of the Indo today, may i offer knob-end supreme Daniel Mc Donnell, who thinks that the GAA lie awake thinking about soccer taking over the country, what he fails to see, is that most people follow both codes and play both codes, he gets paid to write this shite,

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/daniel-mcdonnell-soccer-still-the-biggest-ticket-29582198.html

Also another "Journalist" with f&*k- all to say anymore; getting paid to write this and say nothing at all; Christ almighty, write about tactics or key players, but this lazy stuff;

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/eugene-mcgee/eugene-mcgee-uncertainties-on-both-sides-of-divide-whet-final-appetite-29582123.html

I have indigestion now........... >:(
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 16, 2013, 01:45:20 PM
f**k the pair of them Gaeilgoir. Mc Donnell especially.
Post by: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 02:18:36 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on September 16, 2013, 01:42:27 PM
After reading the so called sports section of the Indo today, may i offer knob-end supreme Daniel Mc Donnell, who thinks that the GAA lie awake thinking about soccer taking over the country, what he fails to see, is that most people follow both codes and play both codes, he gets paid to write this shite,

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/daniel-mcdonnell-soccer-still-the-biggest-ticket-29582198.html

Also another "Journalist" with f&*k- all to say anymore; getting paid to write this and say nothing at all; Christ almighty, write about tactics or key players, but this lazy stuff;

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/eugene-mcgee/eugene-mcgee-uncertainties-on-both-sides-of-divide-whet-final-appetite-29582123.html

Whilst he is a knob, McDonnell has a point, why do we feel the need to compare a great hurling or football game against the professional soccer game? Is it an inferiority complex where we need reminding of how great we are? Are we not content with what we have without having a dig at other sports?

I cringe sometimes when GAA journalists fawn over someone else outside the GAA saying they like hurling or Gaelic football.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on September 16, 2013, 02:30:43 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 16, 2013, 02:18:36 PM

Whilst he is a knob, McDonnell has a point, why do we feel the need to compare a great hurling or football game against the professional soccer game? Is it an inferiority complex where we need reminding of how great we are? Are we not content with what we have without having a dig at other sports?

I cringe sometimes when GAA journalists fawn over someone else outside the GAA saying they like hurling or Gaelic football.

johnneycool, if you look back a couple of pages, i put that down on here too, to listen to Mullane after the hurling final spout that stuff was just stupid and cringeworthy, however Mc Donnell, here is saying that GAA is worried about 50k people turning up to the Aviva 5 or 6 times a years against three games in September that the GAA could sell close to 400k tickets is farcical..........surely as a "journalist" interested in soccer, the way the FAI is run or or not run, the appointment of a new manager should be his focus............also writing this in September when the whole country is talking about GAA just smacks of self- publicity and "look at me with my anti-GAA bias".......
Post by: rosnarun on September 16, 2013, 03:21:55 PM
Funny time Mcdonell is writing that alright . With the fai on the Verge of financial collapse their managerless Repofireland team sinking into obsecurity not even able to sell out lansdowmne and their league continuing on its never ending downward spiral while the GAA have  had one of its best years in a long time in both codes .
i know these things go in Circles but i think he realsesthere in no appitite for soccer in ireland at the moment apart from the Circus that is English soccer which is increasingly dominated by Despots and Oligarchs and US money men who are probable the greater Evl
Post by: Zulu on September 16, 2013, 03:31:23 PM
He does have a point, though I think the comparisons with soccer tends to be based on the fact that our players are amateur and that professional soccer is always on TV rather than getting in a dig. It does, nevertheless, come across as cringe inducing and is something we should stop spouting.

However, he's incorrect about the popularity of soccer in this country IMO. The national team will generate a lot of interest but I think a huge number of Irish people are superficial soccer supporters. I know very few Irish people who are supporters of LOI or have ever been involved in coaching soccer, if it was as popular as he is trying to make out then all of us should know quite a few even if it was only work colleagues or brothers/fathers/uncles/friends of people we know.
Post by: Jinxy on September 17, 2013, 09:39:11 AM
McDonnell is 100% correct about the need for some GAA people to constantly disparage the efforts of professional soccer players.
I find 'hurling people' in general more prone to this type of behaviour and I was cringing at some of the stuff that was said on the sunday game after the final.
It's small time behaviour and there's no need for it.
McDonnell is no fan of the FAI either so pointing out their ineptitude as a counter-argument is a bit pointless.
We should be able to celebrate the sport we love without diminishing the efforts of those involved in 'competing' sports.
Post by: Keyser soze on September 17, 2013, 10:08:32 AM
I dunno what the situation is in the unoccupied 26 but up here soccer would die an immediate death if they didnt get the use of publicly funded pitches to train on and play their games. There wouldnt be 20 soccer pitches in NI if they had to buy their own.

Having said that it is cringeworthy to see the forelocktuggingesque 'isnt our game the greatest'. It reminds me of a wean seeking attention for the drawing they did at school.
Post by: rosnarun on September 17, 2013, 10:28:32 AM
soccer has a multi billion euro organisation proselytising on its behalf trying to ensure that it is the only game played . all other sporting organisations would die in its shade should  FIFA and FAI get their in their way . look st how pissed off soccerhead are at the fact the in the USA it is a minority sport mainly played by 10 year old girls
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 17, 2013, 10:44:56 AM
Correct, the need to make constant self re-assuring comparisons is a sign of an inferiority complex.

It makes it even more daft when a section of GAA people explode with delight at any sort of acknowledgement from other sportspeople. Wow, there's Tiger Woods looking at a hurley that someone handed him. Would you look, someone stuck a Kerry jersey on Usain Bolt.
Paul Merson, Tony Adams, Lee Dixon, Martin Keown, the Arsenal physio said that Graham Geraghty was the fittest athlete he'd ever seen.

By the same token, there is a brand of soccer supporter who continually call their sport 'The Beautiful Game' for much the same reason. Keep repeating it and you'll eventually believe it and maybe convince a few others too.
Post by: LeoMc on September 17, 2013, 11:25:37 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 17, 2013, 09:39:11 AM
McDonnell is 100% correct about the need for some GAA people to constantly disparage the efforts of professional soccer players.
I find 'hurling people' in general more prone to this type of behaviour and I was cringing at some of the stuff that was said on the sunday game after the final.
McDonnell is no fan of the FAI either so pointing out their ineptitude as a counter-argument is a bit pointless.
We should be able to celebrate the sport we love without diminishing the efforts of those involved in 'competing' sports.
+1  McDonnells last comment that if the FAI could sort themselves out "they'll have no reason to worry about the neighbours"
We should have no reason to worry about our neighbours. We are the Jones'.
I think at this stage we are kicking the man (the FAI) when they are down.
Post by: Jinxy on September 17, 2013, 11:52:45 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 17, 2013, 10:44:56 AM
Correct, the need to make constant self re-assuring comparisons is a sign of an inferiority complex.

It makes it even more daft when a section of GAA people explode with delight at any sort of acknowledgement from other sportspeople. Wow, there's Tiger Woods looking at a hurley that someone handed him. Would you look, someone stuck a Kerry jersey on Usain Bolt.
Paul Merson, Tony Adams, Lee Dixon, Martin Keown, the Arsenal physio said that Graham Geraghty was the fittest athlete he'd ever seen.

By the same token, there is a brand of soccer supporter who continually call their sport 'The Beautiful Game' for much the same reason. Keep repeating it and you'll eventually believe it and maybe convince a few others too.

To be honest, I've met more rugby people that look down their nose at the GAA than I've met soccer people who do likewise, but every sport has this minority element.
The majority of sports fans are happy enough to watch, support and play a number of different codes, while still remaining primarily devoted to one.
Post by: Hardy on September 17, 2013, 11:55:25 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on September 17, 2013, 11:25:37 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 17, 2013, 09:39:11 AM
+1  McDonnells last comment that if the FAI could sort themselves out "they'll have no reason to worry about the neighbours"
We should have no reason to worry about our neighbours. We are the Jones'.
I think at this stage we are kicking the man (the FAI) when they are down.

I agree 100%. Professional soccer IS crap and the FAI would be a joke if it was funny. But it's not polite to keep saying it.
Post by: Sidney on September 17, 2013, 10:40:42 PM
The word "gael", as used in the phrase "great gael" and "true gael", and so beloved of Ulster people.
Post by: haze on September 18, 2013, 07:52:07 AM

Maybe my paranoia levels are not what they used to be but I see very little unreasonable in Daniel McDonnells article. Chief soccer correspondent with the biggest selling paper in Ireland.. The tone of his article is hardly that surprising. I had heard the Silke interview and it was a stupid reference to make on national radio - that sentiment, no matter how true does the GAA no favours.

Lucky he didn't hear Mullane and Sheedy after the hurling final.
Post by: AustinPowers on May 26, 2025, 12:31:29 AM
Look what I found

Apparently it's been 12 years Since anything was  chucked  into the GAA room 101

Let's have it ......
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 26, 2025, 12:55:31 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 26, 2025, 12:31:29 AMLook what I found

Apparently it's been 12 years Since anything was  chucked  into the GAA room 101

Let's have it ......
Penalty shootouts.

The fanboys in the media or on sites like on here for every new rule or format change.

Post by: RedHand88 on May 26, 2025, 05:31:26 AM
People who think a high challenge is a black card, then scream bloody murder when the referee correctly issues a yellow.

People who complain about GAA+ and paying for anything, and politicians who jump on this populist topic to exploit votes.

3v3 rule. Thought i would like it but it's awkward.

Personally don't mind shootouts.
Post by: thewobbler on May 26, 2025, 08:09:29 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 26, 2025, 12:55:31 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 26, 2025, 12:31:29 AMLook what I found

Let's have it ......
Penalty shootouts.

The fanboys in the media or on sites like on here for every new rule or format change.

:)

The people who over analyse and pick holes in each of the rule changes, instead of accepting that when they're all combined together, they've delivered a brilliant sport to watch, in almost no time at all.
Post by: Rossfan on May 26, 2025, 08:58:27 AM
Last year you couldn't watch a game as a neutral as you'd be bored silly.
This year you certainly can and enjoy the game.
Post by: ulstergael on May 26, 2025, 11:25:07 AM
The 'how many steps?!' police on social media, as I see written under nearly every goal or point that goes up on Twitter/Facebook.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 26, 2025, 12:35:49 PM
Two pointers from frees especially for a breach. One point conceded from tap over free is enough of a punishment.

Don't need the handing the ball back to opponent either.
Post by: thewobbler on May 26, 2025, 04:47:47 PM
People who were club players / county and club administrators before the split season happened, yet who now lament early summers for county teams.

There's a special place in hell for those ones.