GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: drici on July 27, 2013, 07:54:58 PM

Title: All Ireland Senior Football Championship Quarter Finals Draw
Post by: drici on July 27, 2013, 07:54:58 PM
(Takes place after Tyrone v Meath)

Monaghan Mayo Kerry Dublin

v

Donegal Cavan Cork Tyrone/Meath

but not

Monaghan v Donegal
Kerry v Cork
See what happens in the match that is taking place but not Dublin v Meath
Title: Re: All Ireland Senior Football Championship Quarter Finals Draw
Post by: armaghniac on July 27, 2013, 08:14:49 PM
A consequence of this is that Monaghan is slightly more likely to draw Cork and Donegal to draw Kerry.
Monaghan v Cavan would be interesting though.
Post by: Syferus on July 27, 2013, 08:23:25 PM
Jaysus this draw will be awful exciting, like.

Like waiting for Winning Streak to start.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 27, 2013, 08:37:33 PM
I'd take Tyrone after that.
Title: Cluiche
Post by: drici on July 27, 2013, 08:39:32 PM
Dublin v Cork
Post by: drici on July 27, 2013, 08:40:20 PM
Monaghan v Tyrone
Post by: drici on July 27, 2013, 08:40:47 PM
Kerry v Cavan
Post by: drici on July 27, 2013, 08:41:23 PM
Mayo v Donegal
Post by: Schkite on July 27, 2013, 08:42:10 PM
Tyrone is the one I wanted, we sure as fook owe them one! No motivation required there.
Post by: babarino on July 27, 2013, 08:43:34 PM
Was sure Monaghan were going to be picked against Cavan and we get into boring slagging match. Tyrone preferable but not easier. Big test for Monaghan.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2013, 08:44:17 PM
Massive test for Mayo against the reigning All-Ireland champions.
Post by: babarino on July 27, 2013, 08:45:02 PM
Tyrone v Monaghan can't be on Monday as it's not a bank holiday in the north.
Post by: heffo on July 27, 2013, 08:45:29 PM
Happy with that
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 27, 2013, 08:47:22 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2013, 08:44:17 PM
You will be grand sure you beat the last two defending All Ireland champions. Should also beat Monaghan or Tyrone so another All Ireland final for Mayo.
Post by: armaghniac on July 27, 2013, 08:49:22 PM
Kerry v Cavan has echoes of the past.
Mayo v Donegal might see the Donegal Club championship not running to October.
Post by: Jonah on July 27, 2013, 08:50:51 PM
Semi Final predictions

Cork
Monaghan
Kerry
Mayo
Post by: Maguire01 on July 27, 2013, 08:51:28 PM
Quote from: babarino on July 27, 2013, 08:45:02 PM
Tyrone v Monaghan can't be on Monday as it's not a bank holiday in the north.
Was announced during the week that none of the games would be on the Monday.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 27, 2013, 08:52:12 PM
Monaghan will be well up for this! Bring it on!
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2013, 08:52:49 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 27, 2013, 08:47:22 PM
You will be grand sure you beat the last two defending All Ireland champions. Should also beat Monaghan or Tyrone so another All Ireland final for Mayo.
What happened in the past 2 years is irrelevant. Donegal have a 100% record against us.
Post by: Syferus on July 27, 2013, 08:53:44 PM
Mayo to dispense with Donegal and then have a very winnable AISF.

Still expect it to be an incredible battle. Donegal will put in their best performance of the year but Mayo look good enough to take whatever Donegal 2013 can throw at them in the QF.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2013, 08:54:11 PM

Excellent draw!  ;D

Dublin got the draw from Hell probably having to beat Cork, Kerry and Mayo/Donegal!
Post by: Itchy on July 27, 2013, 08:55:23 PM
Good draw for Cavan. We are in super ultra bonus territory and based on our performance today we shouldn't bother turn up but sure you might as well go out and see how we match up.
Post by: Schkite on July 27, 2013, 08:57:22 PM
McStay is an absolute clown, he couldn't shout out quick enough how delighted Tyrone will be with that draw, he never gives us a chance in anything.

I'm very happy with that draw, it's the best time in years for Monaghan to meet Tyrone in a big game imo. Very confident we can do it.
Post by: CK_Redhand on July 27, 2013, 08:58:05 PM
What's the semi final draw?
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 27, 2013, 09:00:37 PM
now is the best time to draw Donegal.
If they had one more game under their belt against (no disrespect) say monaghan or even kerry, theyd be back on track imo.
however, mayo can get them while they are still in recovery mode.

Heffo - Cork are the most dangerous team left in the championship. on their day, this jekyll and hyde side can beat anyone. however, their management seem to want them to lose !

*with four ulster teams in the last 8, will people be saying that Ulster is the most dominant province ?!?!?!

*(im taking the P**s here- imo no province is dominant- connacht might be rubbish overall but this *** is more dominant/#### has gone down the tubes rubbish that gets posted annually defies logic or intelligence)

looking forward to these games.
I expect a Dublin (though Cork could nick it) Kerry, tyrone and mayo semi final line up.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 27, 2013, 09:01:20 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 27, 2013, 08:55:23 PM
Good draw for Cavan. We are in super ultra bonus territory and based on our performance today we shouldn't bother turn up but sure you might as well go out and see how we match up.

revenge for 97  ;)
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2013, 09:02:01 PM
Quote from: Schkite on July 27, 2013, 08:57:22 PM
McStay is an absolute clown, he couldn't shout out quick enough how delighted Tyrone will be with that draw, he never gives us a chance in anything.

I'm very happy with that draw, it's the best time in years for Monaghan to meet Tyrone in a big game imo. Very confident we can do it.

Ah in fairness, ye are the new guys. But by no means soft. Ye must be happy to avoid Cork?
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 27, 2013, 09:02:42 PM

brolly pointed out that mcstay and all 'down south' dislike the ulster teams at the end.
its quite obvious !

I think tyrone cynicism will beat monaghan but it will be a tight game that could go either way!
Post by: babarino on July 27, 2013, 09:03:49 PM

Yes happy to avoid Cork. And we're being written off again. The bookies will be more careful this time.
Post by: Westside on July 27, 2013, 09:05:08 PM
Relatively happy with that draw. The players are visibly a bit jaded, it's been a long time since we took on Armagh and a lot longer still since a good portion of our team went through a hectic U21 campaign. The thoughts of taking on the aristocrats themselves might bring out the final push from these lads. We never thought we'd be anywhere near here so let's go out and see just how far away from the big boys we are. 
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 27, 2013, 09:05:38 PM
Monaghan have nothing to fear if they can compete in midfield, but Tyrone will like this draw to, avoided Dublin, Mayo, and Kerry which look the most dangerous of whats left, I never understand Cork though!
Post by: Syferus on July 27, 2013, 09:06:07 PM

Tyrone would be delighted, to be honest. It's easily the best draw they could have got. So should Monaghan, though, as only Cavan would have suited ye more. Could go either way but Monaghan have to prove last weekend wasn't a once off before I believe they've truly moved on from the erratic stuff we saw over the last few years and in the league this year.
Post by: Rossfan on July 27, 2013, 09:07:04 PM
Hopefully it will be Donegal, Monaghan Cavan and Cork
Hoever in reality it will be :-
Mayowr, Tyrone( Monaghan won their AI last week and will find it hard to come down from the bus tours etc) with Mwr to win the Semi.
Kerry and Dublin will meet in the other Semi but if Cork can get it right for once they could beat Dublin before losing to Kerry.
Kerry to beat Mwr in the Final
Post by: yellowcard on July 27, 2013, 09:07:33 PM
I think Dublin and Kerry will be happiest with this draw. All the 'sluggers' are on the opposite side of the draw.

Predicted 4 semi finalists:

Monaghan
Kerry
Dublin
Mayo (toss of a coin)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 27, 2013, 09:09:26 PM
I have a strange feeling Kerry have a good run at this, and could win again this yr, they are not been talked about and it suits them down to the ground
Post by: babarino on July 27, 2013, 09:10:04 PM
No disrespect to Cavan but Kerry get jammy again. >:(
Post by: Syferus on July 27, 2013, 09:11:10 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 27, 2013, 09:09:26 PM
I have a strange feeling Kerry have a good run at this, and could win again this yr, they are not been talked about and it suits them down to the ground

Still no chance of Keery actually winning it but Cavan have given them a genuine pathway to their final game of the season.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2013, 09:11:22 PM
Me too wildweasel, they're not out until they're out!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 27, 2013, 09:12:18 PM
kerry never fear dublin and every team dublin played this yr been half scared of them
Post by: yellowcard on July 27, 2013, 09:12:38 PM

Yeah I can see a Dublin v Kerry draw and I'd say that Kerry couldn't have hand picked this draw any better if they tried. They have always fallen short against high intensity attritional style Ulster football and the 2013 version of the Dubs will allow them room to play football. That semi final could be a potential classic.
Post by: babarino on July 27, 2013, 09:12:51 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 27, 2013, 09:07:04 PM
Monaghan won their AI last week and will find it hard to come down from the bus tours etc) with Mwr to win the Semi.

Not a word of it. We enjoyed winning Ulster but it was no AI. Monaghan will be up for this one.
Post by: Schkite on July 27, 2013, 09:15:34 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 27, 2013, 09:02:42 PM
brolly pointed out that mcstay and all 'down south' dislike the ulster teams at the end.
its quite obvious !

I think tyrone cynicism will beat monaghan but it will be a tight game that could go either way!

Being wrote off by pundits is nothing new for a small county like Monaghan, but in the past I've seen McStay almost snigger or roll his eyes when it comes to discussing our chances. You'd think winning Ulster would garner a small bit of respect but there you go. No matter, we're quite happy to be no hopers again!

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 27, 2013, 09:02:01 PM

Ah in fairness, ye are the new guys. But by no means soft. Ye must be happy to avoid Cork?

Happy to avoid Cork yes, haven't seen much of them this year but I know with the players they have, if they click they can be devastating.

Tyrone is ideal because as I say, the players won't need any motivation, and I think they can be caught. If people were sceptical as to the chances of Monaghan pulling out another performance such as last week's, trust me, Tyrone are the team to bring that out.  I'm very aware that all the qualifiers were looking to draw Monaghan and Tyrone will be extremely happy with that. Quietly confident.
Post by: Rossfan on July 27, 2013, 09:17:49 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 27, 2013, 09:11:10 PM
Still no chance of Keery actually winning it.
Still spouting bulldung  I  ::)see.
You're dead right - Keery are sh1te.
Kerry on the other hand....
Post by: Syferus on July 27, 2013, 09:19:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 27, 2013, 09:17:49 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 27, 2013, 09:11:10 PM
Still no chance of Keery actually winning it.
Still spouting bulldung  I  ::)see.
You're dead right - Keery are sh1te.
Kerry on the other hand....

I don't keery what you say.
Post by: Schkite on July 27, 2013, 09:21:41 PM
When are the times and dates announced for these?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 27, 2013, 09:22:43 PM
Quote from: Schkite on July 27, 2013, 09:21:41 PM
When are the times and dates announced for these?

expect it to be a dragged out affair
Post by: yellowcard on July 27, 2013, 09:23:34 PM
It never ceases to amaze me how people get so upset over these 'pundits' predictions. I think McStay is giving his genuine opinion but I can't agree with it. Malachi O'Rourke teaches in Tyrone and will have a plan to beat them. I fancy Monaghan to beat Tyrone (hope that doesn't upset any Tyrone posters!) and progress into uncharted end territory.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 27, 2013, 09:27:37 PM
I don't think Malachy and the Monaghan players will mind too much. They alternatives are Cork or Cavan with Cavan possibly being marginally handier, but not much... Tyrone have been a bogey team for a lot of our older lads but Walshe, Wylie, Donaghy, Malone, K Hughes etc. won't give a f00k about that..

I would say they'll have no problem getting up for this game and if they do then they'll give Tyrone one hell of a rattle. In fairness to Tyrone, they just about got over the line this evening. I know that game will have brought them on but I still think our lads will rattle them..

Post by: J OGorman on July 27, 2013, 09:30:40 PM

Ive the garden shed on Kerry
Post by: joemamas on July 27, 2013, 09:33:51 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 27, 2013, 09:30:40 PM

Ive the garden shed on Kerry

Just had a sizable bet on them at -4pts at 4/5 PPower
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 27, 2013, 09:34:06 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2013, 08:52:49 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 27, 2013, 08:47:22 PM
What happened in the past 2 years is irrelevant. Donegal have a 100% record against us.

How irrelevant is a result in 1992? Donegal are not in the form of last year and Mayo should beat the defending champions for a third year in row.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2013, 09:44:22 PM
Mayowr, Tyrone( Monaghan won their AI last week and will find it hard to come down from the bus tours etc) with Mwr to win the Semi.
Kerry and Dublin will meet in the other Semi but if Cork can get it right for once they could beat Dublin before losing to Kerry.

I see you're still very anti-Mayo then... :-*
Post by: Westside on July 27, 2013, 09:45:48 PM
Surprised at that handicap for the Cavan game. Thought we'd be at least 8 or 9 points. On today's display if we keep it to single figures we'll be doing quite well.
Post by: Rossfan on July 27, 2013, 09:46:34 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 27, 2013, 09:44:22 PM

I see you're still very anti-Mayo then... :-*
Nothing against Mayo. :-* :-* :-*
However that fcukin Mayowestros football team.... ;D ;D
Ye should be alright though - Syfínín has ye  winning Sam the year.
Post by: redhandluke on July 28, 2013, 12:25:20 AM
Semi Final predictions:-
Dublin
Monaghan
Kerry
Mayo

Final predictions
Kerry
Mayo

AIF Winners
Kerry by 14 points   :( :( :(
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2013, 12:45:12 AM
Quote from: redhandluke on July 28, 2013, 12:25:20 AM
Semi Final predictions:-
Dublin
Monaghan
Kerry
Mayo

Final predictions
Kerry
Mayo

AIF Winners
Kerry by 14 points   :( :( :(

You are out by 7 years!
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 28, 2013, 03:27:12 AM
Dubs to beat Cork, Kerry and lose to Mayo in the final.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 28, 2013, 09:07:41 AM
Given the quarter final lineups and potential semi finals, great offer on gaa.tickets.ie for both quarter final days and both semi finals for €85. Each quarter final is €30 each and the semi final could be at least €40.
Post by: Itchy on July 28, 2013, 10:08:57 AM
Is there any point Cavan turning up?

I struggle to understand why Cavan have no hope against Kerry yet Monaghan could beat Tyrone. Cavan ran Monaghan to a point in their own ground. If Tyrone were playing Kerry the experts would call it 50:50.

No matter, raging outsiders will suit us fine. Our biggest problem is we look so heavy legged against London.
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on July 28, 2013, 10:28:39 AM
All-Ireland SFC quarter-final draw:
Saturday, 3 August

Monaghan v Tyrone, 5pm
Dublin v Cork, 7pm
Sunday 4 August
Kerry v Cavan, 2pm
Mayo v Donegal, 4pm
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 10:35:08 AM
Quote from: Itchy on July 28, 2013, 10:08:57 AM
Is there any point Cavan turning up?

I struggle to understand why Cavan have no hope against Kerry yet Monaghan could beat Tyrone. Cavan ran Monaghan to a point in their own ground. If Tyrone were playing Kerry the experts would call it 50:50.

No matter, raging outsiders will suit us fine. Our biggest problem is we look so heavy legged against London.
Do you think Cavan do have a hope?
Post by: Itchy on July 28, 2013, 12:07:19 PM
Yes I do and they have as much hope as Monaghan of beating Tyrone.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2013, 12:13:19 PM
Quote from: gwan-ye-boy-ya on July 28, 2013, 10:28:39 AM
All-Ireland SFC quarter-final draw:
Saturday, 3 August

Monaghan v Tyrone, 5pm
Dublin v Cork, 7pm
Sunday 4 August
Kerry v Cavan, 2pm
Mayo v Donegal, 4pm

Why are the furthest away counties Kerry, Mayo and Donegal playing on the Sunday?
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 12:15:20 PM
Is Cork not the furthest away?
Post by: rodney trotter on July 28, 2013, 12:17:25 PM
No, Kerry would be further then Cork.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 12:26:21 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 28, 2013, 12:17:25 PM
Suppose it depends where in those counties you're coming from. What if you're on the Beara Peninsula?!
Post by: rodney trotter on July 28, 2013, 12:31:40 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 12:26:21 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 28, 2013, 12:17:25 PM
Suppose it depends where in those counties you're coming from. What if you're on the Beara Peninsula?!

Most parts of Cork would be closer with the straight motor way up. the farthest part of Kerry is Dingle , that is over 4hrs from Dublin. Nowhere in Cork as far as that ?

Beara Penisula is a different ball game.
Post by: HiMucker on July 28, 2013, 12:49:03 PM
I fancy the quarter final winners will be:

Cavan
Monaghan
Mayo
Dublin

Mayo to win the all Ireland.  I thought they were very good last year, and have developed their squad and pushed on this year.
Post by: DJGaliv on July 28, 2013, 01:05:42 PM
Do you think these qfs double headers will be full house, or is there a chance of a ticket.
Some great games in store.
Post by: Whishtup on July 28, 2013, 01:18:13 PM
Tyrone
Dublin
Kerry
Donegal

Tyrone Dub Semi

Tyrone Donegal final

Tyrone Champions.

(somebody wake me up)

Post by: Schkite on July 28, 2013, 01:20:57 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 28, 2013, 01:18:13 PM
Tyrone
Dublin
Kerry
Donegal

Tyrone Dub Semi

Tyrone Donegal final

Tyrone Champions.

(somebody wake me up)

That can't happen.

If those teams win the quarters, the semis will be Tyrone-Donegal and Dublin-Kerry.
Post by: Whishtup on July 28, 2013, 01:27:58 PM
Quote from: Schkite on July 28, 2013, 01:20:57 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 28, 2013, 01:18:13 PM
Tyrone
Dublin
Kerry
Donegal

Tyrone Dub Semi

Tyrone Donegal final

Tyrone Champions.

(somebody wake me up)

That can't happen.

If those teams win the quarters, the semis will be Tyrone-Donegal and Dublin-Kerry.

Feck, that's the season ruined!

Ok, we'll take Donegal in the semis and Dublin in the final.
Post by: EC Unique on July 28, 2013, 02:11:41 PM
Can't understand why so many of you are tipping Monaghan to beat Tyrone. Monaghan to beat Tyrone in a championship match in croke park? Seriously?
Post by: neilthemac on July 28, 2013, 02:15:59 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 28, 2013, 02:11:41 PM
Can't understand why so many of you are tipping Monaghan to beat Tyrone. Monaghan to beat Tyrone in a championship match in croke park? Seriously?
Tyrone will go 2/3 ahead with soft frees and just start fouling the opposition up the field and run down the clock
Post by: HiMucker on July 28, 2013, 02:32:05 PM
im tipping them on the basis that if they bring the same intensity as the ulster final to the table, they will win.  If they don't then tyrone will.  Monaghan will not give Sean cav the same freedom Meath gave him.  They also won't give away as many scoreable frees. (Albeit some of them Meath had no choice as tyrone had men over and could have worked the goal)
Monaghan battered a Donegal side that tyrone badly struggled with.  I don't think you should be shocked that a FEW posters are tipping Monaghan. I won't be surprised if tyrone win all the same
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 28, 2013, 02:40:33 PM

Yes.
Post by: popinpopout on July 28, 2013, 02:52:49 PM
Mayo's to lose I think. Despite being a proud Tyrone man I've seen a lot of Donegal this year. They had a crap McKenna Cup.....a crap national league resulting in relegation....and then a win over Tyrone in Ulster which had them labelled as a better side than last year!!! Down gave them bother....a game I attended.....Monaghan played them off the pitch. The question was were they caught on the hop....over confident etc....or were Monaghan really that good. Well.....I was at Carrick last night and I have to say Donegal were as poor there as in the Ulster final.....shot shy, over elaborating, heavy legged. I have a suspicion they are due an awful tanking and Mayo are the team to do it.
As for my own county...delighted to be in the quarters....as much as I could have hoped for....also delighted with the draw v Monaghan.....could go either way with no clear favourite. I expect it to be the tightest of the four games.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 02:57:19 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on July 28, 2013, 01:05:42 PM
Do you think these qfs double headers will be full house, or is there a chance of a ticket.
Tickets here - http://gaa.tickets.ie/ - although only Lower Davin and Terrace tickets onsale.

I'd expect Saturday to be a sell-out with the Dubs involved. Monaghan and Tyrone should bring a good crowd too.
Post by: Tubberman on July 28, 2013, 03:04:42 PM
Don't think it would be that big a shock for Monaghan to beat Tyrone. People must be judging Tyrone on past glories...
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 03:43:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2013, 03:08:22 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 28, 2013, 03:04:42 PM
Don't think it would be that big a shock for Monaghan to beat Tyrone. People must be judging Tyrone on past glories...
People are judging Monaghan on one match though. They've played 2 other games in this years championship in which Tyrone would have ate and shite them!
But they've done what's needed to win in all 3 games. Would Monaghan have 'ate and shite' Tyrone on their Roscommon performance?
Post by: EC Unique on July 28, 2013, 03:48:36 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 02:57:19 PM
Tickets here - http://gaa.tickets.ie/ - although only Lower Davin and Terrace tickets onsale.

I'd expect Saturday to be a sell-out with the Dubs involved. Monaghan and Tyrone should bring a good crowd too.

I was down in Croker yesterday so I think I will skip next Sat and wait for the semi.
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2013, 03:58:00 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 03:43:13 PM
People are judging Monaghan on one match though. They've played 2 other games in this years championship in which Tyrone would have ate and shite them!
But they've done what's needed to win in all 3 games. Would Monaghan have 'ate and shite' Tyrone on their Roscommon performance?

I don't think you should be using the performance we forced Tyrone into as a barometer against their quality when he arrived down to the Hyde a few months ago and lost to our B team.

Monaghan have to prove a corner has been turned, Tyrone are a proven commodity.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2013, 03:58:58 PM
Quote from: popinpopout on July 28, 2013, 02:52:49 PM
Mayo's to lose I think. Despite being a proud Tyrone man I've seen a lot of Donegal this year. They had a crap McKenna Cup.....a crap national league resulting in relegation....and then a win over Tyrone in Ulster which had them labelled as a better side than last year!!! Down gave them bother....a game I attended.....Monaghan played them off the pitch. The question was were they caught on the hop....over confident etc....or were Monaghan really that good. Well.....I was at Carrick last night and I have to say Donegal were as poor there as in the Ulster final.....shot shy, over elaborating, heavy legged. I have a suspicion they are due an awful tanking and Mayo are the team to do it.
As for my own county...delighted to be in the quarters....as much as I could have hoped for....also delighted with the draw v Monaghan.....could go either way with no clear favourite. I expect it to be the tightest of the four games.

So were Laois just awful then?
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2013, 04:02:03 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 03:43:13 PM

I don't think you should be using the performance we forced Tyrone into as a barometer against their quality when ye arrived down to the Hyde a few months ago with promotion on the line and lost to our B team.

Monaghan have to prove a corner has been turned, Tyrone are a proven commodity.
Post by: babarino on July 28, 2013, 05:24:48 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2013, 03:01:13 PM
It'd be a quare shock for Monaghan to beat Tyrone.
They'd a great win against Donegal but you wouldn't expect it twice.

Antrim still playing in the Championship in August...that would be a quare shock.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 05:29:17 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2013, 05:26:35 PM
Quote from: babarino on July 28, 2013, 05:24:48 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2013, 03:01:13 PM
It'd be a quare shock for Monaghan to beat Tyrone.
They'd a great win against Donegal but you wouldn't expect it twice.

Antrim still playing in the Championship in August...that would be a quare shock.
Monaghan - overnight world beaters. You have to love it.
Hardly world beaters, but excuse us for not heading into a quarter-final expecting a tanking.
Post by: babarino on July 28, 2013, 05:35:04 PM

Complete BS. Monaghan topped division 3 and won the final well against Meath, having 'ate and shite' Antrim en route. The Championship game against Antrim was a farce, with Antrim interested in nothing more than damage limitation. (Yes we had to improve on the Cavan game, but an early goal wasn't awarded, which would have had us firmly in the driving seat.)

There's enough obnoxious Tyrone supporters without Antrim ones joining them.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 28, 2013, 05:38:33 PM
Wouldn't be really, Hardstation a "quare shock",.. Tyrone were there for the taking yesterday but Meath lacked composure.
Mickey Newman missed a free near the end which was the turning of the game
Post by: ross4life on July 28, 2013, 05:49:13 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 28, 2013, 05:38:33 PM
Wouldn't be really, Hardstation a "quare shock",.. Tyrone were there for the taking yesterday but Meath lacked composure.
Mickey Newman missed a free near the end which was the turning of the game
3rd game in a row Tyrone were there for the taking. TBH they know how to win tight games without playing well and they say thats the sign of good team?

I think this game all depends on Monaghan, if they play like they did v Donegal they will win if they have lost the run of themselves/over celebrated the Ulster success and not fully tuned in then Tyrone will win.
Post by: babarino on July 28, 2013, 05:59:23 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2013, 05:39:38 PM
Ok, sorry, Monaghan are great.

FFS.
After the Antrim game in Casement your manager said that they'd 'restored pride back in the jersey'. If a Monaghan manager came out with a line like that after a similar display, he'd be gone within a week.

Think closer to home before you start pointing out the shortcomings of other counties.
Post by: popinpopout on July 28, 2013, 06:00:07 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2013, 03:58:58 PM

pretty much!!
Post by: Schkite on July 28, 2013, 06:02:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 28, 2013, 05:33:13 PM
Youse won't get tanked and yis might even win - but it'd be a quare shock.

A slight shock maybe, but I wouldn't say a quare one.
Post by: INDIANA on July 28, 2013, 06:06:03 PM
Quote from: babarino on July 28, 2013, 05:59:23 PM

FFS.
After the Antrim game in Casement your manager said that they'd 'restored pride back in the jersey'. If a Monaghan manager came out with a line like that after a similar display, he'd be gone within a week.

Think closer to home before you start pointing out the shortcomings of other counties.

Jaysus banty lasted 6 years
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2013, 06:08:33 PM
Quote from: popinpopout on July 28, 2013, 06:00:07 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2013, 03:58:58 PM

pretty much!!

Carrick is a very tight pitch, as I'm sure you know Farr. Donegal had no pretensions about playing football, they knew Laois didn't have the scorers to hurt them from distance and just parked the double-decker in front of goal.

Donegal's attacking play was woeful at times, even accounting for such a defensive set and such a defensive game in general. Very hard to read much into the performance as Donegal just played Laois very clinically. They've obvious significantly bellow par right now but who knows what the sight of Croke Park and August bank holiday weekend will do to them.

I'll probably be a huge battle but Mayo have enough to do what they couldn't last September.
Post by: babarino on July 28, 2013, 06:17:40 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 28, 2013, 06:06:03 PM
Quote from: babarino on July 28, 2013, 05:59:23 PM

FFS.

Jaysus banty lasted 6 years

Are you seriously comparing Banty with Dawson? Banty sent teams out to win, not to limit damage. After the game against Tyrone in the '10 Ulster final he was gone.
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2013, 06:19:46 PM
Summer isn't right without Banty. Now I feel sad.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 28, 2013, 06:20:35 PM

I bought tickets on http://www.tickets.ie/ earlier this afternoon.
Post by: cadhlancian on July 28, 2013, 06:53:43 PM
A serious amount of dung being spouted here! " if Monaghan play like they did against Donegal, they will win" . " if Tyrone play the way they did against ......" Etc. Bottom line, if BOTH teams play as well they can, Tyrone will win handily! That's why they are 2/1 ON and Monaghan are 2/1 against. I am NOT saying this will happen though, that's why they are playing the game.
Post by: Itchy on July 28, 2013, 07:00:51 PM
The bookies are so wrong, no one can stop Monaghan. Certs for sam, no point talking about it anymore. My only concern is we have a sub keeper as I'm sure our no. 1 won't last he'll be so frigged from kicking out the ball.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 28, 2013, 07:02:00 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on July 28, 2013, 06:53:43 PM
A serious amount of dung being spouted here! " if Monaghan play like they did against Donegal, they will win" . " if Tyrone play the way they did against ......" Etc. Bottom line, if BOTH teams play as well they can, Tyrone will win handily! That's why they are 2/1 ON and Monaghan are 2/1 against. I am NOT saying this will happen though, that's why they are playing the game.

Only once in this years championship have Tyrone played as well as they can and Offaly stood off them and allowed it to happen. Monaghan won't be as foolish and 2/1 against is a great bet however if Tyrone manage to fall over the line again they will be beaten by Donegal or Mayo in semi final.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 07:55:16 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 28, 2013, 07:00:51 PM
The bookies are so wrong, no one can stop Monaghan. Certs for sam, no point talking about it anymore. My only concern is we have a sub keeper as I'm sure our no. 1 won't last he'll be so frigged from kicking out the ball.
Well the bookies were wrong when we played Donegal. Very wrong in fact - a few people cleaned up at 6/1. They were wrong when you played Armagh and Derry.

Nobody is realistically saying Monaghan for Sam. From the last 8 teams, i'd agree with the bookies that Monaghan would probably be 7th favourites (maybe 6th above Donegal, who knows). But the focus is on Tyrone next week, and the idea that any confidence is construed as thinking we're 'world beaters' would suggest that Tyrone are the best team out there. I'm not convinced they are. They'll be the favourites, and i'd be shocked if Monaghan beat them the way we beat Donegal. But I wouldn't be 'shocked' by a win.
Post by: Schkite on July 28, 2013, 08:04:14 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 28, 2013, 07:55:16 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 28, 2013, 07:00:51 PM
Well the bookies were wrong when we played Donegal. Very wrong in fact - a few people cleaned up at 6/1. They were wrong when you played Armagh and Derry.

Nobody is realistically saying Monaghan for Sam. From the last 8 teams, i'd agree with the bookies that Monaghan would probably be 7th favourites (maybe 6th above Donegal, who knows). But the focus is on Tyrone next week, and the idea that any confidence is construed as thinking we're 'world beaters' would suggest that Tyrone are the best team out there. I'm not convinced they are. They'll be the favourites, and i'd be shocked if Monaghan beat them the way we beat Donegal. But I wouldn't be 'shocked' by a win.

Monaghan being confident puzzles everybody else, in the rare occurrence we get this far we're expected to lie down and accept a beating, you don't want to upset the status quo.

Really looking forward to Saturday, I know we have the tools to do it and I'm sure Malachy has a suitable plan in place. Should be a great occasion.
Post by: babarino on July 28, 2013, 08:18:41 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on July 28, 2013, 06:53:43 PM

Partly agree with you on the 'ifs' but we haven't got down to the match ups, where each side is strongest and possible weaknesses.

Don't agree with your bottom line, but I hear the Tyrone teamed cheered when they heard they were up against Monaghan next, so they seem to agree with it.

Not one for betting, but I'm sure bookies look at things like League placings, championship records and recent results between the two, which is why they're favourites and that's understandable. While the rest of the country sees (or saw) Monaghan as a team in decline with older players, anyone who looks closely will know about the talent that has come through. We're on the rise and Tyrone aren't as good as they think.

Post by: cadhlancian on July 28, 2013, 08:37:52 PM
Tyrone are also the rise my friend. Darren McCurry is 20, as is Mattie Donnelly , Mc Namee , Harte ,McAliskey are all relatively inexperienced at this stage of the AI series. Should be a great game:)
Post by: rodney trotter on July 28, 2013, 08:40:00 PM
Mattie Donnelly is 23 is he not?
Post by: Whishtup on July 28, 2013, 09:25:19 PM
        There's no doubt about it, Tyrone have a swagger in Croke park.  Some of the younger posse who were dropping the ball short of the posts in the final stages of the league final are now slotting them over or laying it off.  The oulder lads love playing here.

The speed of Penrose and Mark/Mattie Donnelly around the middle is crucial here for winning the dirty ball and hassling the likes of Donaghy.

Monaghan did a job on Donegal's two main scorers-and were aided by Mark McHugh's injuries and Donegal's lack of sharpness.  Tyrone in the league were averaging eight or nine different scorers per game-that has dropped to 5 or six-still impressive.  So, even is Stevie and Sean are nullified, somebody else will take over the scoring-McCurry, Donnellys, McAliskey and a sprinkling of others. 

Monaghan's cards are now on the table and I expect that Tyrone will take the threat of the Hughes', McManus Mone and Finlay very seriously.

I would be shocked if Tyrone were to lose this one.  I would start with a weaker team than we had out against Meath, mindful that some lads are going to be tired after this past few weeks.

Post by: babarino on July 28, 2013, 10:06:49 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 28, 2013, 09:25:19 PM
        There's no doubt about it, Tyrone have a swagger in Croke park.  Some of the younger posse who were dropping the ball short of the posts in the final stages of the league final are now slotting them over or laying it off.  The oulder lads love playing here.

Don't know too many players who don't love the thought of playing there. 

Quote from: Whishtup on July 28, 2013, 09:25:19 PM
        The speed of Penrose and Mark/Mattie Donnelly around the middle is crucial here for winning the dirty ball and hassling the likes of Donaghy.

This is most likely where the game will be won and lost.

Quote from: Whishtup on July 28, 2013, 09:25:19 PMMonaghan did a job on Donegal's two main scorers-and were aided by Mark McHugh's injuries and Donegal's lack of sharpness.  Tyrone in the league were averaging eight or nine different scorers per game-that has dropped to 5 or six-still impressive.  So, even is Stevie and Sean are nullified, somebody else will take over the scoring-McCurry, Donnellys, McAliskey and a sprinkling of others. 

Monaghan's cards are now on the table and I expect that Tyrone will take the threat of the Hughes', McManus Mone and Finlay very seriously.

I think you'll find a sprinkling of other Monaghan lads that'll pose a threat.
Post by: DJGaliv on July 28, 2013, 11:21:47 PM

The only had Davin left earlier, but now have Upper Cusack available. Is that they work it with online bookings do ye know? It's hardly nearly sold out already.
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2013, 11:33:57 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on July 28, 2013, 11:21:47 PM

The only had Davin left earlier, but now have Upper Cusack available. Is that they work it with online bookings do ye know? It's hardly nearly sold out already.

They get tickets sent back all the time so they could appear anywhere, it's usually best to keep checking to see what's available. If you get some near mid-field or even two sections either side it's time to deal.
Post by: Onion Bag on July 29, 2013, 10:11:23 AM
Is there another draw for the semis or has this already been decided

Tyrone V Monaghan
Dublin v Cork
Mayo v Donegal
Cavan v Kerry

Post by: cluaineois on July 29, 2013, 10:17:42 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on July 29, 2013, 10:11:23 AM
Is there another draw for the semis or has this already been decided

Tyrone V Monaghan