After the Down game, I'm assuming we'll not be hearing about certain victories and strolls in the park for this match!
We rarely meet in the Ulster championship. Last time was 1995, when, fresh from a victory over AI champs Down, us Donegal folk went to Ballybofey expecting an exhibition from our team against an inexperienced Monagahan side, but ended up starting to leave the ground with 15 minutes to go to the jeers of "Cheerio" from an incredulous Monaghan support.
Think the previous game was probably sometime back in the 80s.
We did have two backdoor meetings a few years back, with Monaghan humiliating us in Omagh in 2007 in yet another game where Donegal, typical of the time, just downed tools, and grabbing a late one point victory in a tight match in Ballybofey the following year, mainly thanks to the marksmanship of Paul Finlay.
I honestly don't know WHEN we last beat Monaghan in a championship game (or any game - I've vague memories of Brendan Devenney scoring a hatrick of goals against them in Ballyshannon around ten years ago in a game I think we nicked late on, but I'm not sure).
As to this one, I haven't seen much of Monaghan this year, but from what I've read about them and given Down's "success" in the last game, I'd expect them to come out and pack their defence. Hopefully the return of Lacey and the other absentees, together with the experience of the Down match, will stand to us and we'll scrape through to another title.
What do you Monaghan boys think/expect?
Last six championship meetings (that I can find). Most of them not even close! Grim reading for Donegal!
1979 Ulster final - Monaghan 1-15 Donegal 0-11
1983 Ulster semi - Donegal 1-14 Monaghan 1-9
1985 Ulster semi - Monaghan 1-14 Donegal 0-7
1995 Ulster quarter Monaghan 1-14 Donegal 0-8
2007 Qualifiers Monaghan 2-12 Donegal 1-7
2008 Qualifiers Monaghan 0-16 Donegal 0-15
Born in Monaghan, if that counts. Given the nature of these two defenses, I don't expect a high-scoring tussle, but though the two teams will be separated by only four points or so, it'll still play out as a fairly comfortable win for Donegal, not a predicted Dublin-Meath shellacking, but no need for worry around Glenties.
Apparently in the 1979 final (according to someone on Hoganstand - it was a little before my time), the referee Hugh Duggan threw the ball in, Donegal attacked and got a point. The ref then saw the band getting ready for the national anthem, so he stopped the game and allowed the anthem to be played. He then started the game over, cancelling the Donegal point!
Quote from: J70 on June 30, 2013, 05:51:22 PM
Apparently in the 1979 final (according to someone on Hoganstand - it was a little before my time), the referee Hugh Duggan threw the ball in, Donegal attacked and got a point. The ref then saw the band getting ready for the national anthem, so he stopped the game and allowed the anthem to be played. He then started the game over, cancelling the Donegal point!
Old Donegal problem - premature ejaculation.
Quote from: Main Street on June 30, 2013, 05:58:20 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 30, 2013, 05:51:22 PM
Old Donegal problem - premature ejaculation.
A certain Donegal victory. A stroll in the park.
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 30, 2013, 06:32:54 PM
Touche! :P
I propose we rest our first choice 15 for the Ulster final in preparation for the inevitable qualifier match 6 days later! ;D
Congratulations to Donegal on their three-in-a-row of Ulster titles; a magnificient achievement.
Quote from: charlie linkbox on June 30, 2013, 09:41:16 PM
I propose we rest our first choice 15 for the Ulster final in preparation for the inevitable qualifier match 6 days later! ;D
Congratulations to Donegal on their three-in-a-row of Ulster titles; a magnificient achievement.
Some of the Down boys were saying the same kind of thing before the last game. You really don't give Monaghan any hope at all??
Not old enough to remember 79 final but i heard donegal hit a wide and then the game wuz restarted due to the non playing of the national anthem. But that is nether here nor there. So have we no chance?? Possibly! But we r there. We need lacey and gallagher to remain injured and maybe persuade murphy and mcfaddan to join them. We need a full squad firing on all cylinders. We need an alignment of whatever stars need aligning. We might even need a nudie hughes reincarnation. But i'm still looking forward to a miracle. . . Maybe. . . Just maybe
Quote from: timmyot501 on July 01, 2013, 02:47:15 AM
Not old enough to remember 79 final but i heard donegal hit a wide and then the game wuz restarted due to the non playing of the national anthem. But that is nether here nor there. So have we no chance?? Possibly! But we r there. We need lacey and gallagher to remain injured and maybe persuade murphy and mcfaddan to join them. We need a full squad firing on all cylinders. We need an alignment of whatever stars need aligning. We might even need a nudie hughes reincarnation. But i'm still looking forward to a miracle. . . Maybe. . . Just maybe
Miracles have nothing to do with it. Nobody gave Down a prayer & there were fools talking about easy wins & 10+ points differences but James McCartan showed the way. Yes the odds a firmly with Donegal & I expect them to win but nothing is a given.
Betting odds on Donegal 1-12.
Now, that's taking the píss!
Quote from: Main Street on July 01, 2013, 02:08:41 PM
Betting odds on Donegal 1-12.
Now, that's taking the píss!
??? What are Monaghan?
Quote from: J70 on June 30, 2013, 05:48:22 PM
Last six championship meetings (that I can find). Most of them not even close! Grim reading for Donegal!
1979 Ulster final - Monaghan 1-15 Donegal 0-11
1983 Ulster semi - Donegal 1-14 Monaghan 1-9
1985 Ulster semi - Monaghan 1-14 Donegal 0-7
1995 Ulster quarter Monaghan 1-14 Donegal 0-8
2007 Qualifiers Monaghan 2-12 Donegal 1-7
2008 Qualifiers Monaghan 0-16 Donegal 0-15
Attended all these apart from the 1995 game. Donegal bring out the best in us it would seem.
It'd want to because we haven't seen a performance this year that could match yis.
They need to get Rory Woods back for this.
Quote from: Jinxy on July 01, 2013, 02:37:29 PM
They need to get Rory Woods back for this.
Woods was mighty in the 2008 Qualifier, he was my MOTM but I think Finlay got it for his free-taking.
I missed the '95 game as I was in the US that summer. Most Monaghan folk will say tell you that was one the best Monaghan matches in modern history..
Personally speaking, I enjoyed knocking Armagh off their perch in 2003.. ::)
Quote from: J70 on June 30, 2013, 05:34:39 PM
What do you Monaghan boys think/expect?
Monaghan always give Donegal plenty to think about and have a good record against them.. However, given the respective developments I can't see anything other than a Donegal victory. I would hope for a close encounter though which I think is within our boys reach. We haven't seen a real big performance from them this year yet which I believe is in them.
They'll be going in as extreme underdogs which will help somewhat, but I'm not sure if the 'big performance' will be against an extremely well organised and physical Donegal outfit..
So, a slight chance I would say, but slim... :)
The '95 game is one of my earliest memories of going to a Monaghan game. If I remember correctly I think Declan Loughman went for a point from a nice bit out and the ball ended up in the top corner of the net. Declan Bonnar missed a penalty too didn't he?
We'll need another day like that!
Bonner missed the penalty in the first minute. Only got worse from there!
All I remember is the Monaghan supporters behind the town goal singing and waving "cheerio, cheerio" as Donegal people started leaving with 10 or 15 minutes to go!
Humiliating!
I remember that game myself. Wasn't the penalty saved?
Quote from: Oraisteach on June 30, 2013, 05:51:03 PM
Born in Monaghan, if that counts. Given the nature of these two defenses, I don't expect a high-scoring tussle, but though the two teams will be separated by only four points or so, it'll still play out as a fairly comfortable win for Donegal, not a predicted Dublin-Meath shellacking, but no need for worry around Glenties.
Hey! Leave us out of this. And we won't be taking Dublin for granted.
Quote from: J70 on July 01, 2013, 04:57:29 PM
All I remember is the Monaghan supporters behind the town goal singing and waving "cheerio, cheerio" as Donegal people started leaving with 10 or 15 minutes to go!
Humiliating!
Not a nice chant. Some days it just doesn't work out, a flat performance and you're sick enough without having a crowd of a'holes jeering. We promise not to do that part again in the final.
Quote from: babarino on July 01, 2013, 09:21:31 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 01, 2013, 04:57:29 PM
Humiliating!
Not a nice chant. Some days it just doesn't work out, a flat performance and you're sick enough without having a crowd of a'holes jeering. We promise not to do that part again in the final.
Anyone who leaves early (usually the 'March violets') are fair game and the chant isn't directed at those who stay on to the bitter end.
Do we have a plan for this game? like keep a few of our best players in reserve on the bench until the 2nd half begins?
Will there be a 2nd half?
Try keeping McFadden scoreless from play for a start and you'll be doing well.
If ye ever leave him one on one then expect to me punished.
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 02, 2013, 03:28:23 PM
Try keeping McFadden scoreless from play for a start and you'll be doing well.
If ye ever leave him one on one then expect to me punished.
Correct and right. However, we'll not punish you if he does score from open play! ;)
I think this game may be a lot closer than some people expect. Monaghan are the type of 'sluggers' who ape the Donegal style of play and this will mean that scores are at a premium and I would expect something similar to the Donegal v Down match. Malachy O'Rourke is one of the best managers around and is very tactically astute and I'm sure he will have a plan for this match. Ultimately I'm not sure Monaghan have sufficient quality to actually get the scores to win the game though.
Quote from: yellowcard on July 02, 2013, 03:48:49 PM
I think this game may be a lot closer than some people expect. Monaghan are the type of 'sluggers' who ape the Donegal style of play and this will mean that scores are at a premium and I would expect something similar to the Donegal v Down match. Malachy O'Rourke is one of the best managers around and is very tactically astute and I'm sure he will have a plan for this match. Ultimately I'm not sure Monaghan have sufficient quality to actually get the scores to win the game though.
That's what I'm thinking.
Don't know why so many pundits are dismissing Monaghan out of hand.
I only saw the highlights from Saturday, but if lads like McManus can take scores like that on a regular basis, Monaghan must be in with a shout, even if Donegal do go in as strong favourites.
Quote from: J70 on July 02, 2013, 05:30:48 PM
I only saw the highlights from Saturday, but if lads like McManus can take scores like that on a regular basis, Monaghan must be in with a shout, even if Donegal do go in as strong favourites.
They're dismissing Monaghan because they haven't shown the form, so far in the Championship, to suggest anything other than a +5 victory for Donegal. Yes, some players like McManus, Wylie, Walsh, Mone, Lennon and the Hughies have shown the type of performance that might get us over the line. While our defence has improved, we're losing too much dirty ball in midfield and the forwards have better shooting in them than they've shown to date.
We're in the final because of a good draw, but we haven't seen the performances that saw us in the last two finals...and we know what happened then. Maybe there's more in the tank or else we're not ready to run with the big dogs.
Quote from: babarino on July 02, 2013, 10:08:08 PM
They're dismissing Monaghan because they haven't shown the form, so far in the Championship, to suggest anything other than a +5 victory for Donegal. Yes, some players like McManus, Wylie, Walsh, Mone, Lennon and the Hughies have shown the type of performance that might get us over the line. While our defence has improved, we're losing too much dirty ball in midfield and the forwards have better shooting in them than they've shown to date.
We're in the final because of a good draw, but we haven't seen the performances that saw us in the last two finals...and we know what happened then. Maybe there's more in the tank or else we're not ready to run with the big dogs.
I expect a tough hard match in the Donegal/Down mould. The one thing that might tell against Monaghan is that while Down were well used to playing teams at Donegal's standard in Div 1, the level of intensity required will be a whole new ball game for the Farney men.
How they cope with this will be important.
In fairness Down are better side than Monaghan and Donegal should win this game by six or more points.
We may have one weapon that Donegal will struggle to counteract; the daily rosaries I am saying between now and 21st July.
Let's see how McGuinness deals with God!
Our players could rub rancid flax oil over their bodies.
Genetically, Monaghan folk have a tolerance to the odour of rotting flax
Quote from: Main Street on July 03, 2013, 03:32:51 PM
We should have done this in the finals against Tyrone. Why did nobody think of it? Unless the Tyronies tolerate the stuff too.
Tyrone don't need to to artificially enhance their naturally aspired, repelling odour.
Quote from: babarino on July 03, 2013, 07:52:15 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 03, 2013, 03:32:51 PM
We should have done this in the finals against Tyrone. Why did nobody think of it? Unless the Tyronies tolerate the stuff too.
The opposite of the Lynx effect?
Quote from: charlie linkbox on July 03, 2013, 03:11:18 PM
We may have one weapon that Donegal will struggle to counteract; the daily rosaries I am saying between now and 21st July.
Let's see how McGuinness deals with God!
I think JMcG will focus on the weak link, the man saying the rosaries. Expect a visit from the McGees any day now ;D ;D ;D
Has the venue been sorted yet for this ?
Quote from: Onion Bag on July 04, 2013, 09:00:20 PM
Yes it has been sorted: Sunday 21st Jul 2013
Monaghan (---)v(---) Donegal
Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship 2013 Final
Clones 4:00 PM
Referee: David Coldrick
See here http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/ (http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/)
Quote from: babarino on July 04, 2013, 10:13:52 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on July 04, 2013, 09:00:20 PM
Yes it has been sorted: Sunday 21st Jul 2013
Monaghan (---)v(---) Donegal
Ulster GAA Football Senior Championship 2013 Final
Clones 4:00 PM
Referee: David Coldrick
See here http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/ (http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/)
Good choice of ref IMO. Hopefully there'll not be as much pre-match chat or post match analysis of the man-in-the-middle and his trusty associates in white coats as there was for the Ceeeeaavan game.. ;)
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 04, 2013, 12:31:02 PM
Expect a visit from the McGees any day now ;D ;D ;D
Hope whoever Neil McGee's marking is wearing shin guards. Last year's Ulster Final, he drove his boot into Conor Laverty's foot, off the ball, and got away with it.
Quote from: babarino on July 07, 2013, 10:04:36 PM
Hope whoever Neil McGee's marking is wearing shin guards. Last year's Ulster Final, he drove his boot into Conor Laverty's foot, off the ball, and got away with it.
They may be sons of bitches, but they are our sons of bitches.
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 08, 2013, 04:16:55 PM
Quote from: babarino on July 07, 2013, 10:04:36 PM
We have a couple of sons of bitches too. ;)
Hopefully we'll have none of "that sort of thing."
Em hello??? Sons of bitches???? Hould your horses there fellas. There's no fighting yet. Key word yet.
Right, I think it's time for a bit of serious chat about this game.
I've put a lot of thought into it and have decided that this is the team that must start for Monaghan.
Goals: Rory Beggan.
Full back line: Drew Wylie, Darren Hughes and Colin Walshe.
Most of Donegal's scores will come from their full forward line so it's only common sense to play your three best man markers on their three best scorers. I'd put Wylie on McFadden, Walshe on McBrearty and Hughes on Murphy. Now people will say that we need Hughes out the field but Murphy has to be watched and Hughes is our best man for the job. And Murphy often comes out the field anyway so that will bring Hughes into the game where he can exert more of an influence.
Half back line: Dessie Mone, Vinny Corey and Karl O'Connell.
Mone and Corey are a given. Karl O'Connell is the man to track Mark McHugh. McHugh will spend all day running between the two 13m lines. O'Connell is our fastest back and will be well able to stick with McHugh. Not the most gifted footballer ever but if all he does is stick to McHugh all day then he'll have done his job.
Midfield: Dick Clerkin and Eoin Lennon.
Half forward line: Stephen Gollogly, Paul Finlay and Gavin Doogan.
No. 11 is Finlay's best position and we'll need him to land a few points from distance and deliver good ball to the inside men. Gollogly and Doogan are two worker bees who will have to do the dirty unseen work; tackling back, winning breaking ball and all that.
Full forward line: Tommy Freeman, Kieran Hughes and Conor McManus.
Hughes to come out the field and leave the other two inside. Hughes is a great ball winner, works very hard off the ball and will need to carry the ball at Donegal like he did against Cavan when he was the only one in the first half who really took on the Cavan defence. Tommy isn't the Tommy of old but he is a finisher and we will need to finish every chance we get. Plus his reputation will help take a bit of heat off McManus; Donegal will have to be mindful of what Tommy can do as well.
I'm convinced that this lineout gives us our best chance of winning this game.
Quote from: charlie linkbox on July 08, 2013, 09:38:13 PM
I've put a lot of thought into it and have decided that this is the team that must start for Monaghan.
Full back line: Drew Wylie, Darren Hughes and Colin Walshe...
Half back line: Dessie Mone, Vinny Corey and Karl O'Connell...
Midfield: Dick Clerkin and Eoin Lennon...
Half forward line: Stephen Gollogly, Paul Finlay and Gavin Doogan...
Full forward line: Tommy Freeman, Kieran Hughes and Conor McManus...
I'm not convinced that Dick Clerkin and Tommy Freeman have a full game in them, which begs the question who would replace them. Neil McAdam for Dick? I haven't been convinced by his recent performances. I'd definitely give McGuinness the nod over Freeman, and would like to see Hughes playing full forward, testing their full back line.
Quote from: babarino on July 09, 2013, 08:23:46 AM
Quote from: charlie linkbox on July 08, 2013, 09:38:13 PM
Full back line: Drew Wylie, Darren Hughes and Colin Walshe...
Half back line: Dessie Mone, Vinny Corey and Karl O'Connell...
Midfield: Dick Clerkin and Eoin Lennon...
Half forward line: Stephen Gollogly, Paul Finlay and Gavin Doogan...
Full forward line: Tommy Freeman, Kieran Hughes and Conor McManus...
I'm not convinced that Dick Clerkin and Tommy Freeman have a full game in them, which begs the question who would replace them. Neil McAdam for Dick? I haven't been convinced by his recent performances. I'd definitely give McGuinness the nod over Freeman, and would like to see Hughes playing full forward, testing their full back line.
Freeman isn't fully fit yet. For now, best to keep him reserve. McGuiness has a great goal scoring record - the team have too often not picked up his great movement earlier in the year (they were looking for McManus inside), but are adjusting to him. O'Connell for all his pace, lacks the footballing brain for this level. He too often loses his man when turned and relies on his pace to try save his skin and is a lazy tackler prone to fouling.
I honestly feel Doogan makes a better half back than a half forward - he has huge workrate and commitment but offers zero in a scoring sense. Dick's form has been hit and miss all year - he's definetly not getting through the amount of work he used to. Neil McAdam has had a good year overall , but the Cavan game was one of his poorest - his decision making was poor and wasn't releasing possession quick enough (he got subbed after tunneling into 3 Cavan players). I'd still start him against Donegal.
I would like to see Dermot Malone back in the team. He's over his knee injury he picked up in the league final. The big question is whether Eoin Duffy will be fit - he's been having his best year in the Monaghan jersey yet and a huge scoring contribution from half forward. He was definetly a loss against Cavan. Have a feeling Mone will mark McFadden , Walshe on McBrearty and Wylie on Murphy. Corey while having the physicality lacks that burst of speed over 5 yards to match any of those 3 (witness what Conor Laverty did last year to Corey).
No doubt about it, Donegal are the ultimate test for any side. Monaghan have found it tough to play against two sides whose whole mentality was very defensive. Even Tyrone found Roscommon a tough nut to crack - it's a bloody hard system to get through. Donegal bring that to the next level while offering a huge attacking threat.
I'd struggle to see the merit in starting Tommy Freeman, he'll not get much space early on (or at all) but he'd have a better chance with 20 mins to go where the game might be looser and his experience will tell.
I'd also struggle to take Darren Hughes out of Midfield. He get at Donegal, you'll need to take the game to them and have strong runners breaking at pace, Hughes is our best option at this. If we drop him into the defence, you are saying we will try and stop Donegal scoring rather than try and beat them. I think this plays into Donegals hands.
Also with the pace Donegal defend at, I'm not sure Jap would be suited to starting. He's not had a good year and from talking to a few involved, it was no surprise he didn't start the last day.
It should be largely irrelevant anyways, Donegal had their bad day the last day and got away with it. Monaghan haven't played to the level they can to date where all players click. It would take a really good Monaghan day and a poor donegal day for a positive result for Monaghan.
I just hope they can go out and give a good account of themselves and be competitive over the 70 mins and after that, you never know.
Jap needs to start, to put over frees if nothing else. We would have had a more comfortable win if he'd started against Cavan.
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 09, 2013, 10:12:25 AM
Jap needs to start, to put over frees if nothing else. We would have had a more comfortable win if he'd started against Cavan.
You mean like he did against Antrim? ;)
Quote from: Bingo on July 09, 2013, 10:31:51 AM
You mean like he did against Antrim? ;)
I'd still rather have him starting in the final. On a good day, he's the man to slot over the difficult frees and this is a game where every opportunity has to count.
Jack Brady didn't start against Monaghan, key forward for the past 3 years for the U-21's and was the free taker. It evens itself out.
Mark McKeever also didn't start against Monaghan, he was Cavans best player in the league win earlier in the year. He had a slight injury going into the Championship.
Quote from: Sleater on July 09, 2013, 09:12:18 AM
Freeman isn't fully fit yet. For now, best to keep him reserve. McGuiness has a great goal scoring record - the team have too often not picked up his great movement earlier in the year (they were looking for McManus inside), but are adjusting to him. O'Connell for all his pace, lacks the footballing brain for this level. He too often loses his man when turned and relies on his pace to try save his skin and is a lazy tackler prone to fouling.
I honestly feel Doogan makes a better half back than a half forward - he has huge workrate and commitment but offers zero in a scoring sense. Dick's form has been hit and miss all year - he's definetly not getting through the amount of work he used to. Neil McAdam has had a good year overall , but the Cavan game was one of his poorest - his decision making was poor and wasn't releasing possession quick enough (he got subbed after tunneling into 3 Cavan players). I'd still start him against Donegal.
I would like to see Dermot Malone back in the team. He's over his knee injury he picked up in the league final. The big question is whether Eoin Duffy will be fit - he's been having his best year in the Monaghan jersey yet and a huge scoring contribution from half forward. He was definetly a loss against Cavan. Have a feeling Mone will mark McFadden , Walshe on McBrearty and Wylie on Murphy. Corey while having the physicality lacks that burst of speed over 5 yards to match any of those 3 (witness what Conor Laverty did last year to Corey).
No doubt about it, Donegal are the ultimate test for any side. Monaghan have found it tough to play against two sides whose whole mentality was very defensive. Even Tyrone found Roscommon a tough nut to crack - it's a bloody hard system to get through. Donegal bring that to the next level while offering a huge attacking threat.
If you boys are for subbing every man that tunnels into 3 players you'll need a raft of rule changes before te 21st. :-)
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 09, 2013, 11:36:51 AM
Jack Brady didn't start against Monaghan, key forward for the past 3 years for the U-21's and was the free taker. It evens itself out.
Mark McKeever also didn't start against Monaghan, he was Cavans best player in the league win earlier in the year. He had a slight injury going into the Championship.
You have no place on this thread.
Donegal hoping to be at full strength, although Neil Gallagher is the one with the most doubts hanging over him. Lacey looking fairly good at this point.
McGuinness with the summer off from Celtic too!
Quote from: J70 on July 12, 2013, 08:10:29 PM
I thought his role with Celtic was irrelevant to Donegal? :o
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 12, 2013, 10:41:00 PM
Its no more relevant that any other county manager's real job.
And he has a decent holiday from it now!
Quote from: J70 on July 12, 2013, 11:01:36 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 12, 2013, 10:41:00 PM
Its no more relevant that any other county manager's real job.
And he has a decent holiday from it now!
Fair enough. MOR is a teacher so we are equal in that regard.. :)
Time to get this one moving! I see Donegal will have a fairly handy draw in the fourth round of the qualifiers, but will they be able to lift themselves? 8)
Was confirmed last night but a crack squad of county board officers raided the players homes at weekend and confiscated all passports for fear of players leaving the country.
Monaghan by 2. Donegal to win all-Ireland after this blip.
Who would be doubts for Donegal? Lacey and Neil Gallagher? Was it Frank McGlynn who got injured before half time in the Down game?
From a Monaghan point of view Eoin Duffy would be a doubt. Dermot Malone should be coming back into the Frame, Dick should be fit to start also.
Jaysus the butterflies are at me already..
Are Monaghan going to go full steam into this one? Or will they try but have the weekend after in the back of their heads?
I know there's a title at stake but which route is easier to the quarter finals; Donegal or Wexford/Laois?
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 16, 2013, 11:49:30 PM
Who would be doubts for Donegal? Lacey and Neil Gallagher? Was it Frank McGlynn who got injured before half time in the Down game?
From a Monaghan point of view Eoin Duffy would be a doubt. Dermot Malone should be coming back into the Frame, Dick should be fit to start also.
Jaysus the butterflies are at me already..
Donegal at full strength according to Jim. Mind you whether Lacey Gallagher & McGlynn have a full 70 minutes in them is debateable. JMcG's policy has been to try and finish with his strongest team so the starting 15 will tell us how far along they are. If they are in the 15 then they are 100%.
A full strength 15 & a warm sunny day will tell us a lot about where Donegal are.
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 17, 2013, 12:00:00 AM
Are Monaghan going to go full steam into this one? Or will they try but have the weekend after in the back of their heads?
I know there's a title at stake but which route is easier to the quarter finals; Donegal or Wexford/Laois?
It's their only chance of silverware, so i'd hope they'll be going full tilt. A run in the qualifiers is nice if you go out in the first round/provincial semi-final, but after losing in a final, it's a bit of an anti-climax.
No-one remembers a quarter finalist, you've been there before. Ulster titles goes into the record books and medals are handed out for it. They'll be flat out for the title as they've lost two in recent times.
Doesn't make the task any easier and they still very much underdogs.
I can't for one minute believe that Monaghan would go into an Ulster final in that frame of mind. If they do they will be beaten out the gate & the track record of losing provincial finalists from Ulster is not good since they only get 6 days to recover
Ridiculous to suggest that we hold anything back for the following week. It's all duck or no dinner for Monaghan when it comes to Ulster finals. We've had no dinner the last two times.
Would love to see Monaghan get 3 or 4 points up.
Quote from: DennistheMenace on July 17, 2013, 10:42:16 AM
Would love to see Monaghan get 3 or 4 points up.
in the 5th minute of second half injury time (only 4 mins been signalled)
I'm heading for the drumlins today for the final, with reasons to be cheerful and fearful.
Reason to be fearful 1, 2, 3...
1: Donegal are very impressive all over the park and they're All-Ireland champions and disposed of probably their biggest threat in Ulster, Tyrone, with ease. Head to head they look like they have better quality.
2: They've an excellent management team who have known bitter disappointments and they've a full hand to pick from for this match. They're hungry for more success.
3: They play a system which we have arguably had problems dealing with against inferior opposition.
Reasons to be cheerful 1, 2, 3...
1: Monaghan have gone into their last 2 Ulster finals following very impressive performances, yet fell flat in the finals. This time we're in a final following two flat performances. Monaghan have more in them and the more experienced players will really be up for this one. We have a big performance in us.
2. This time, as on previous occasions, I'm enjoying the confidence, bordering on cockiness, of the Donegal followers. They're saving themselves for Croke Park, this one is in the bag, Jimmy's winning matches...I've been at Monaghan / Donegal games going back as far as '79 and I don't ever remember losing to them. It's one of those quirks in sport, but for some reason they bring out the best in us. We've always managed to up our game, at home or away.
3. We've had two dress rehearsals for this match against blanket defences. We were poor enough at times in these games, but perhaps not that poor. It was hard to get up for the Antrim game. In the Cavan game, had the goal/penalty been awarded Cavan would have had to open up and chase the game, which would have suited very nicely.
May the best teams win and should the minors will help us win the double and it'll be Monaghan's finest hour.
Bingo, Jimmy would have a plan in place for that I'd suspect
How many times in the last 20 years have Monaghan been the beaten finalists.
I know we beat ye twice not so long ago.
They are usually VERY ROBUST matches so I think we could be in for a tough physical game on Sunday.
For ye Monaghan fans, keep an eye on the two McGee brothers on Sunday to see how real tough (& often dirty) defenders play. Ye won't get much change outta either of them.
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 17, 2013, 11:13:01 AM
How many times in the last 20 years have Monaghan been the beaten finalists.
I know we beat ye twice not so long ago.
They are usually VERY ROBUST matches so I think we could be in for a tough physical game on Sunday.
For ye Monaghan fans, keep an eye on the two McGee brothers on Sunday to see how real tough (& often dirty) defenders play. Ye won't get much change outta either of them.
I'd say Jimmy has a plan for everything.
I can see Donegal coming out fast and furious to try and take the sting outa of Monaghan as such. Put the scores on the board and then force Monaghan to make the running and pick them off for rest of the game. They'll certainly not want to get into the position they found themselves in against Down.
I can see McManus been on the end of one of the McGees early on.
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 17, 2013, 11:13:01 AM
Jim would have a contingency plan for being four points down in the fifth minute of four minutes of injury time? ;D
The man is a true football managing god! :D
The key worry for me is Monaghan's indiscipline. They've had quite a lot of dismissals this year and are prone to giving away soft frees in handy positions. Given how lethal McFadden and Murphy (from distance of the ground) are, that could prove very costly. Donegal are much cuter on that regards and tactically foul further out. Yeah, we all give out about it, but most teams do it now unless they are stupid.
In terms of physicality, I'm not worried at all for Monaghan who are no shrinking violets. Lennon, Corey, the two Hughes', Clerkin, Doogan are big lumps of lads, not afraid to mix it.
A bit more composure up front and we would have beaten Donegal. There is hope for Monaghan. They should go 110% at Donegal, no team is unbeatable.
Quote from: babarino on July 17, 2013, 11:05:48 AM
I've been at Monaghan / Donegal games going back as far as '79 and I don't ever remember losing to them. It's one of those quirks in sport, but for some reason they bring out the best in us. We've always managed to up our game, at home or away.
It's not just a quirk in sport, nor is it anything to do with Donegal bringing out the best in us. We are just naturally superior in all spheres, to the Donegal species. It might well transpire that they beat us in this game, but in time after their bubble bursts, normal service will resume.
Quote from: Main Street on July 17, 2013, 12:17:01 PM
I've been at Monaghan / Donegal games going back as far as '79 and I don't ever remember losing to them. It's one of those quirks in sport, but for some reason they bring out the best in us. We've always managed to up our game, at home or away.
It's not just a quirk in sport, nor is it anything to do with Donegal bringing out the best in us. We are just naturally superior in all spheres, to the Donegal species. It might well transpire that they beat us in this game, but in time after their bubble bursts, normal service will resume.
sounds like you should have been marching last Friday ole mucker!!
Monaghan are hard working outfit, will give a good go and hope they can upset Donegal's rhythm and sneak a win. It is possible, as any team can be beaten on a given day.
On a normal day though, you would expect a few points victory by Donegal.
Lacy and Gallagher unfit of missing is a big loss though...
Monaghan will have to not miss any chances and expect Lennon, Clerkin, Finley, Hughesx2,McManus and Freeman to play their best.Thats a good set of players to have in a team!
I'm heading for the drumlins today for the final, with reasons to be cheerful and fearful.
Reason to be fearful 1, 2, 3...
1: Donegal are very impressive all over the park and they're All-Ireland champions and disposed of probably their biggest threat in Ulster, Tyrone, with ease. Head to head they look like they have better quality.
2: They've an excellent management team who have known bitter disappointments and they've a full hand to pick from for this match. They're hungry for more success.
3: They play a system which we have arguably had problems dealing with against inferior opposition.
Reasons to be cheerful 1, 2, 3...
1: Monaghan have gone into their last 2 Ulster finals following very impressive performances, yet fell flat in the finals. This time we're in a final following two flat performances. Monaghan have more in them and the more experienced players will really be up for this one. We have a big performance in us.
2. This time, as on previous occasions, I'm enjoying the confidence, bordering on cockiness, of the Donegal followers. They're saving themselves for Croke Park, this one is in the bag, Jimmy's winning matches...I've been at Monaghan / Donegal games going back as far as '79 and I don't ever remember losing to them. It's one of those quirks in sport, but for some reason they bring out the best in us. We've always managed to up our game, at home or away.
3. We've had two dress rehearsals for this match against blanket defences. We were poor enough at times in these games, but perhaps not that poor. It was hard to get up for the Antrim game. In the Cavan game, had the goal/penalty been awarded Cavan would have had to open up and chase the game, which would have suited very nicely.
May the best teams win and should the minors will help us win the double and it'll be Monaghan's finest hour.
Your 3 reasons to be cheerful look a mite flimsy when stacked against your 3 reasons to be fearful ;D ;D ;D
Jim McGuinness at the Cliftonville/Celtic match tonight. Busy man this week!
Alright I see, Monaghan will go full tilt at this. If they lose then Wexford will be happy if they have nothing left in the tank however.
It doesn't make any sense to think that Monaghan would hold back. This game is nowhere near a foregone conclusion. Monaghan are a big physical side with some good, accurate forwards. Donegal will have to earn this.
We have a couple of players who might be classified as 'big' but mostly we have a mixture of the average, some lightweights and a few midgets.
Inch for inch, Donegal easily outsize us (height-wise only of course). Monaghan have to get by, mainly by dint of their inherent crafty football abilities, with the odd bit of physicality thrown in, for survival purposes.
Saw Jimmy was training the St. Joe's junior team here last week. He's really taking the mickey out of the Monaghan lads with that carry-on.
Time to go Paudi on him and drive through a few walls, Farnies. F**k doors.
Rory Woods in New York gives his verdict for Sunday.. https://vimeo.com/70528145 (https://vimeo.com/70528145) and see Paul McComiskey and players from Laois and Armagh among the Leitrim and Cavan teams playing in Gaelic Park New York
Quote from: Any craic on July 18, 2013, 04:17:36 AM
Rory Woods in New York gives his verdict for Sunday.. https://vimeo.com/70528145 (https://vimeo.com/70528145) and see Paul McComiskey and players from Laois and Armagh among the Leitrim and Cavan teams playing in Gaelic Park New York
Good man Rory. He's the man ya'd want to hit the ground running with the big hits..
TUimhir
Name Cumann
Rory Beggan An Bhoth
Kieran Duffy Leachtain
Drew Wylie Béal Átha Beithe
Colin Walshe Dubhthamlacht
Vincent Corey Cluain Tiobraid
Neil Mc Adam Cláirsigh Mhuineacháin
Dessie Mone Cluain Tiobraid
Owen Lennon (Capt) Leachtain
Darren Hughes An Bhoth
Paul Finlay Béal Átha Beithe
Stephen Gollogly Carraig Mhachaire Rois
Dermot Malone Fag An Bealach
Christopher Mc Guinness Béal Átha Beithe
Kieran Hughes An Bhoth
Conor Mc Manus Cluain Tiobraideam Named for sunday, cant wait
Malone will inject some pace into the half forward line and run at the Donegal defence, which isn't a bad thing. Tommy looked way off the pace the last day (albeit played out of position IMO) so not surprised to see him not start. Dick is probably not 100% either, or maybe MOR has dropped him on form as he has done that a few times this year. I reckon we'll see Dick and Tommy at some stage, two good impact subs. I have to say, I'm not 100% convinced about Neil McAdam at CHB. He doesn't get on the ball enough IMO and lacks some of the that creativity and vision necessary for a CHB. We'll see though, hopefully he'll prove me wrong..
I think McAdam has had his moments this year. Was doing ok against antrim until the second yellow and played some good league games at different times. Wasn't his bext day against cavan but he wasn't alone. I would switch him and darren hughes if Dick is defo out.
Good win for Monaghan over Mayo in a challenge match there.....
MOR seems to follow the pattern and names a team but changes it before the day itself.
I hope this isn't the case, particularly for Malone who was named the first day, spent the best part of the week getting patted on the back after his injuries this year and then learned on Friday that not only was he not starting, but he wasn't getting togged out either. He'd be a worth a place V Donegal, an all action player, can win ball and play ball, has eye for a score and is a cocky type of player that wouldn't be phased by much or who he was playing.
Quote from: Bingo on July 18, 2013, 12:16:28 PM
MOR seems to follow the pattern and names a team but changes it before the day itself.
I hope this isn't the case, particularly for Malone who was named the first day, spent the best part of the week getting patted on the back after his injuries this year and then learned on Friday that not only was he not starting, but he wasn't getting togged out either. He'd be a worth a place V Donegal, an all action player, can win ball and play ball, has eye for a score and is a cocky type of player that wouldn't be phased by much or who he was playing.
Yeah, on reflection there may be a few fakes in there, but as you say I hope Malone isn't one of them.
I'd be happy enough with that team. Good to see Gollogly in from the start - his work often goes unnoticed. Being able to call Freeman, Doogan and Clerkin from the bench is a nice position to be in too.
I presume we'll be ...
Durkan
McGrath, N McGee, E McGee
Declan Walsh, McGlynn, Thompson
Kavanagh, Bradley
McHugh, McLoone, David Walsh
McFadden, Murphy, McBrearty
Lacey to come on after 45 minutes to steady the ship.
Quote from: RMDrive on July 18, 2013, 09:41:20 PM
I presume we'll be ...
Durkan
Kavanagh, Bradley
Lacey named to start :D
Durcan;
McGrath, N McGee, E McGee;
Thompson, Lacey, McGlynn;
Kavanagh, Bradley;
McHugh, McLoone, David Walsh;
McBrearty, Murphy, McFadden.
McLoone, David Walsh; McBrearty, Murphy, McFadden.
Quote from: RMDrive on July 18, 2013, 10:08:37 PM
I presume we'll be ...
Durkan
Kavanagh, Bradley
Durcan;
Kavanagh, Bradley;
McGuinness's next tactical masterplan is to start with 20 players!
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 18, 2013, 10:15:01 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on July 18, 2013, 10:08:37 PM
I presume we'll be ...
Durkan
Kavanagh, Bradley
Durcan;
Kavanagh, Bradley;
McGuinness's next tactical masterplan is to start with 20 players!
He's going to kill me when he finds out that I let the cat out of the bag :-[
Donegal unanimous on Championship Matters, if that matters?
Quote from: timmyot501 on July 18, 2013, 11:12:25 AM
I think McAdam has had his moments this year. Was doing ok against antrim until the second yellow and played some good league games at different times. Wasn't his bext day against cavan but he wasn't alone. I would switch him and darren hughes if Dick is defo out.
This is the thing though.. Giving whats waiting for us on Sunday, what sort of preparation was the league?.. Very little id say.. (Bar the Cavan and Fermanagh game maybe, which were a shambles and a good battle respectively!) anyone of a number of players could have played CHB for the remainder of the league and got by looking decent.. Id huge weight on performances in the Antrim and Cavan Ulster games due to the defensive nature of them.. Antrim were like a Junior clubs effort at "the system", Cavan an intermediate, and now its the designers turn themselves.. He had 2 or 3 touches of the ball in 60 odd minutes and the only one of note was running blindly into bodies and getting turned over.. Not good enough.. I was reading your man emmet ryans tactical piece after the game. (btw Emmett, I don't know how from an analyst point of view, it was sad to see Cavan lose. Surely Conors point taking was much more joyful than watching an average defensive system?). Anyway, he was showing where Cavan were getting their early scores from and he highlighted the open spaces at the edge of our D. Well I know who id be looking to sort that out, and it didn't happen!.. There's no room for shirking on Sunday and I hope strong words have been said and action will be taken quickly if the fight isn't there..
The game.. Nervous as be-damned about it!!.. Glad to see Malone in with Jinxy, 2 fellas with the right attitude. Id try and get Doogan in there too.. Cant argue with Chris getting the nod but I don't think it will take much heat off Conor.. I heard that Donegal have had 5 wides in 2 games, I think were at about 27 maybe?.. Scary thought.. Everything we hit has to go over, and giving away silly frees isn't an option..
Anyway, all the best lads, I hope to God yoseu get the provincial medal that some of you have spent a lifetime fighting for and we've spent 25 years waiting on!!.. UPMONAGHANSAYSWE!!!
(Watching that video of Rory reminded me of his glory days.. MoM display against Kerry in 07 and in Ballybofey in 08.. Id love to have him in our corner on Sunday!.. )
Our local Gaelscoil will be operating a car park on the roslea road beside the pitch. It is about 100 meters from the entrance to the pitch and will be supervised all day. We have a donegal priomhoide so it is probably a neutral venue.
Quote from: cluaineois on July 20, 2013, 02:42:38 PM
Our local Gaelscoil will be operating a car park on the roslea road beside the pitch. It is about 100 meters from the entrance to the pitch and will be supervised all day. We have a donegal priomhoide so it is probably a neutral venue.
Who will occupy the Cavan carpark? ;)
cant believe we are only on 7 pages here, shows likely the amount of tyrone and armagh posters on the site, one of them teams in the final and we be about pg25 by now. Expect Donegal to do their first 3 in a row, but tonights games show you can take no-one for granted, rugged game but the majority of better players are in the Donegal team, Unless Paul Finaly and a few others have monster games its hard to see any other outcome
i'm sticking with monaghan for this one. they have a good manager for a change. a lot of good footballers. theyre a wee bit rumbly as a team but if or when they click they'll blitz Donegal. I thought Donegal looked a little jaded in their last couple of games imo. it will be a 'real meat grinder' from the word go. clerkin to get the line after 10mins on the pitch if hes lucky
Come on Monaghan!!!
C'mon the Farney boys.
Is Michael Murphy Playing here the day??
Monaghan have kicked way too many wides from scorable chances, it come back to haunt them!!
Donegal with no score after 30 mins odd, if Monaghan had taken the last couple of wides they'd be in great shape.
3 subs on before half time
How can Monaghan keep this up? I've never seen such work rate.
Maybe not one for the purists but some intensity to the game.
They should be about 7pts ahead, but havent made it count, Donegal will come back at them. I know ever game is different but Dublin would make short work of Donegal on their current form over the past 3 championship games. Still think Donegal could win this but Monaghan are way over due to win an ulster title
Monaghan need to keep her tight now for the next 10 mins.
And for gods sake don't make the same mistake Down did.
SHOOT!
Manic intensity from Monaghan, if their energy levels don't drop off and they avoid conceding score able free kicks they will win this. Donegal look rattled and even McGuinness has a bemused looking expression atm. It might be ugly football with as many backward passes as forward passes and with more emphasis on turnovers than scores but its still enthralling viewing.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 21, 2013, 04:41:59 PM
Maybe not one for the purists but some intensity to the game.
how many games involving Donegal are ?
Monaghan dominated but only have a 3pt lead. Be hard to maintain that intensity for 70 minutes.
Anyone any idea whats on the back of the Donegal jersey, just above the number?
come on te feck monaghan!
Do Donegal have many subs left?
Two McGees getting cleaned. Without bodies in front of them they are average footballers.
Midfield still counts alot in the modern game, lose out in that area and u struggle to win games
That a mighty point!!
Down softened them up ;)
As feared earlier in the year, outside there 1st 15, the Donegal bench is not strong, K cassidy still one of the best defenders in Donegal still exiled from the panel.sometimes Jim been headstrong can have a reverse effect
Unreal intensity this match, Donegal first time ever deviating from their gameplan now that they are behind.
Dick gettting booked, some things never change
Last game of provincials championships sees first shock! Surely Monaghan wont lose form here...
Ref v poor today. Dreadful decisions and Monaghan don't need any help, they are by far the better team.
Are donegal too complacent?
Heard from within their camp that they are looking to peak later on in the year!
The qualifier route and the extra game will actually help them!
( unless they play cork!!)
Whatever about Hughes' cows, Donegal look udderless!
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 21, 2013, 05:30:43 PM
Ref v poor today. Dreadful decisions and Monaghan don't need any help, they are by far the better team.
Heard from within their camp that they are looking to peak later on in the year!
They'll play Laois
GAA really needs to do something about these one-sided matches.
All over bar the shouting, time to throw Tommy Freeman on. Delighted for the likes of Paul Finlay, Dick Clerkin and the rest of the Monaghan lads. No one gave them a chance. Well done.
I'm not Deegans biggest fan but I think he contributed to the fast flowing high intensity game today. Ok he got the odd marginal decision wrong but it was definitely one of his best games.
As for the complacency bit and looking to peak later in the season. The AI qfinal are 2 weeks away so when are they looking to peak for? 4th week of September? How about they were beaten by a better hungrier team on the day.
Great to see
Well done Monaghan
Well that was unexpected.
Delighted for Monaghan but I think Donegal are busted flush. To beat them all you have to do is play them at their own game and when you do there's at least 6 counties with better teams and panels.
Quote from: naka on July 21, 2013, 05:37:13 PM
Great to see
Well done Monaghan
Absolutely delighted for Monaghan. It 's just brilliant!!!
Quote from: yellowcard on July 21, 2013, 05:36:15 PM
I'm not Deegans biggest fan but I think he contributed to the fast flowing high intensity game today. Ok he got the odd marginal decision wrong but it was definitely one of his best games.
As for the complacency bit and looking to peak later in the season. The AI qfinal are 2 weeks away so when are they looking to peak for? 4th week of September? How about they were beaten by a better hungrier team on the day.
]
Dave Goldrick was the ref.
Is Malachy O'Rourke the first Fermanagh man to win an Ulster senior football title?
Well done Monaghan.
1st Time in 25yrs, great to see, its good for the gaa that no team dominated all the time, the leinster championship no comparison to the ulster championship which still means so much to teams
Practically a weekend of upsets!!
Quote from: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 05:41:05 PM
Delighted for Monaghan but I think Donegal are busted flush. To beat them all you have to do is play them at their own game and when you do there's at least 6 counties with better teams and panels.
The trick (easier said than done of course) is to get in front on the scoreboard. Then they have to come out of their defensive pattern, and that opens up more space for your forwards.
Well done Monaghan - brilliant performance. I thought it was an enthralling game too, very different to last week's Leinster Final but both games were gripping. The football chapionship needed a shock too. Donegal should beat Laois and get into a quarter-final against Mayo, Dublin or Kerry.
Great scenes again at finish, similar to last weekend with Limerick. Another reason the provincials will never be replaced. Delighted for Monaghan, esp the likes of Freeman and Clerkin.
Great win for Monaghan. Holding Donegal scoreless for the first half hour--remarkable.
Bit disappointing how TV3 cut away so quickly from the celebrations to go to ads.
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 21, 2013, 05:42:09 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 21, 2013, 05:36:15 PM
]
Dave Goldrick was the ref.
:)You know what I meant.
That's a harder quarter final than Donegal intended.
Well done Monaghan!
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 21, 2013, 05:45:52 PM
Bit disappointing how TV3 cut away so quickly from the celebrations to go to ads.
Exactly, couldn't wait to get to an ad break.
Congrats monaghan, savage result
Absolutely delight for Monaghan. Watching them troop up in six man phalanxes in the Hyde a few months ago no one would have imagined this. The moment of the 2013 championship so far.
Completely rearranges the deck chairs for the AIQFs. Mayo-Donegal and Dublin-Donegal become QF possibilities now. If Mayo avoid them they could saunter in the AI final now.
Quote from: Qwerty28 on July 21, 2013, 05:45:26 PM
Great scenes again at finish, similar to last weekend with Limerick. Another reason the provincials will never be replaced. Delighted for Monaghan, esp the likes of Freeman and Clerkin.
Rubbish. What's the other great reason they shouldn't be replaced?
Quote from: yellowcard on July 21, 2013, 05:46:52 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 21, 2013, 05:45:52 PM
Exactly, couldn't wait to get to an ad break.
Even missed the start of the trophy presentation when they got back.
its nice to see the Donegal team has stayed out, always think that shows a bit of class!
My heart was beating like a sub woofer from start to finish. I can't say I saw this intensity and self belief coming, well at least not enough of it to reduce Donegal to bumbling wrecks. Fantastic work rate, defending, midfield, possession play and some great scores.
History made with two 45's converted in the one game.
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on July 21, 2013, 05:43:47 PM
The trick (easier said than done of course) is to get in front on the scoreboard. Then they have to come out of their defensive pattern, and that opens up more space for your forwards.
Don't think that's the trick at all. If you play as they do then you'll beat them as they've a number of decent but not great IC footballers. Donegal set up to make your scoring efforts difficult and their own fairly easy. If you don't pour forward then the best teams will beat them as they have better players by and large. Donegal to be fair probably lack a bit of hunger but I'd be surprised if this squad wins another All Ireland.
Fair dues to Monaghan, it was a thoroughly deserved win.
Great
Sitting in a bar in Portugal
Monaghan man just bought the bar a drink
There were 10 of us
You have to be happy for these guys
Will enjoy the bottle of cider and get back to hammering grimley later
MOTM - Hard to call i go with Darren Hughes or D Mone, though BBC went with C Hughes
Fantastic!! Delighted for Monaghan, and then you see heroes like Lennon and Freeman interviewed there at the end, and you realise who it makes you even happier to see them get a title. Delighted for Mal O'Rourke too, great day all round.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 21, 2013, 05:56:26 PM
MOTM - Hard to call i go with Darren Hughes or D Mone, though BBC went with C Hughes
I thought Dessie Mone was excellent and my motm, though he tends to make a meal of every bit of contact to his pretty face.
Quote from: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 05:52:22 PM
Don't think that's the trick at all. If you play as they do then you'll beat them as they've a number of decent but not great IC footballers. Donegal set up to make your scoring efforts difficult and their own fairly easy. If you don't pour forward then the best teams will beat them as they have better players by and large. Donegal to be fair probably lack a bit of hunger but I'd be surprised if this squad wins another All Ireland.
It is the trick Zulu. And to prove it do a roll call of how many times donegal have been behind in since 2010 after 20 minutes.
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2013, 06:00:53 PM
I thought Dessie Mone was excellent and my motm, though he tends to make a meal of every bit of contact to his pretty face.
would have said Darren Hughes was extraordinary. Extraordinary.
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 06:02:00 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2013, 06:00:53 PM
would have said Darren Hughes was extraordinary. Extraordinary.
He had a great game but thought his brother was better.
The death toll from today's pitch invasion is expected to exceed last weeks effort in Limerick into the thousands.
I think I'll just sit down and watch that game again ;D
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 06:01:15 PM
It is the trick Zulu. And to prove it do a roll call of how many times donegal have been behind in since 2010 after 20 minutes.
Yes, but the key is to set up correctly and keep in the game. It doesn't matter if you are ahead or behind as long as it's not by much. The problem starts when you fall 4 or 5 points behind in the second half.
Absolutely thrilled for Monaghan, my Mum's home county. What I would give for a night out in Blayney tonight! That just makes the AI race a whole lot more interesting with either Donegal facing Dublin, Kerry or Mayo in the quarters (no disrespect to Laois see;) ).
All the back door winners will be hoping for Monaghan now, what about a Monaghan v Cavan QF? That would be some year for the winner!
I would tend to support Donegal (family ties etc) but I cannot begrudge Monaghan that win today. However, what the fekk was wrong with Donegal's kicking for scores? Abysmal at best. How many Donegal points were from open play?
Congrats to Monaghan.
Many congratulations to Monaghan on a thoroughly deserved win. Just by far the hungrier team on the day. Yes, tactics were a factor, but they don't explain Monaghan's utter dominance of the breaks, 50/50 tackles and general physical exchanges. They simply wanted it more and Donegal had no answer. Throw in an appalling day at the office for McFadden from frees and general play, awful shooting all around (albeit under pressure), very rusty Lacey, Eamon Magee completely outmatched by Hughes and there was just no way we looked to have any prospect of winning that. Going to be very hard for us to lift it now for next weekend. As with Monaghan before this game, I see people are already being very disrespectful towards Laois.
Delighted for Monaghan though. Hope they enjoy it!
Quote from: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 06:07:28 PM
Yes, but the key is to set up correctly and keep in the game. It doesn't matter if you are ahead or behind as long as it's not by much. The problem starts when you fall 4 or 5 points behind in the second half.
The trick is to get them to come and out and play and thats what Monaghan did. You can't do that if you're behind. The key was going 0-4 to Nil up. Never looked like losing after that and the space afforded because Donegal had to push forward ensured they could break out and get scores.
Being two points behind donegal is like 6 points to most teams. So it does matter hugely whether you are two points up or down.
Have to say that it felt good to see Donegal come a cropper. They play a horrible brand of football and over indulge in the dark arts of the game. The fitness and invincible myth died today. They were beaten well by a average Monaghan team. Talk of the Big 4, 5, 8 or what ever will have to be revised tonight. Donegal and Mayo looked very sloppy and average today. Kildare are gone. Armagh are gone. And out of no where we have Monaghan and Galway in the mix.
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 21, 2013, 06:32:03 PM
Have to say that it felt good to see Donegal come a cropper. They play a horrible brand of football and over indulge in the dark arts of the game. The fitness and invincible myth died today. They were beaten well by a average Monaghan team. Talk of the Big 4, 5, 8 or what ever will have to be revised tonight. Donegal and Mayo looked very sloppy and average today. Kildare are gone. Armagh are gone. And out of no where we have Monaghan and Galway in the mix.
Agreed, if they were beaten by Laois I'd be really looking forward to every match left in the championship.
This may be a bit premature, but where do Donegal go from here?
They've been figured out and once the players can't rely on the 'system' to save them, they look pretty ordinary.
Quote from: Jinxy on July 21, 2013, 06:34:17 PM
They've been figured out and once the players can't rely on the 'system' to save them, they look pretty ordinary.
You'll find few teams left with the ability to do what Monaghan did today. Got a good start and worked to a level I've never seen before. It was like Tyrone - Kerry '03. Donegal won't go without scoring for 25 mins in the rest of their championship matches.
Well done to our lovely neighbours in Monaghan. Well deserved. Only Cavan gave yis a game so far. For Jim and co unfortunately only the great teams win 3 Ulsters in a row.
Quote from: trileacman on July 21, 2013, 06:36:58 PM
Donegal won't go without scoring for 25 mins in the rest of their championship matches.
25 minutes? It was 31!
Quote from: Jinxy on July 21, 2013, 06:34:17 PM
You'll find few teams left with the ability to do what Monaghan did today. Got a good start and worked to a level I've never seen before. It was like Tyrone - Kerry '03. Donegal won't go without scoring for 25 mins in the rest of their championship matches.
What magical powers do Monaghan possess that none of the other teams left have?
I'd have thought after that performance that Monaghan would gain a little more respect and could be seen as more than simply "average". Not claiming they're among the game's elite or anything but the team looks good right now. I look forward to the quarter-final draw with interest, good chance Monaghan could be the underdogs there too which suits perfectly.
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 06:24:54 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 21, 2013, 06:07:28 PM
The trick is to get them to come and out and play and thats what Monaghan did. You can't do that if you're behind. The key was going 0-4 to Nil up. Never looked like losing after that and the space afforded because Donegal had to push forward ensured they could break out and get scores.
Being two points behind donegal is like 6 points to most teams. So it does matter hugely whether you are two points up or down.
You can't set up to be in front at any point in a game. All you can do is set up to (likely) be in the game as Down, Monaghan and Dublin did against Donegal, once you do that many teams will probably beat Donegal.
Fair play to Monaghan they got everything spot on.
I remember a few Monaghan lads were sceptical at O'Rourkes appointment ... I'm sure they're not saying the same now. An excellent manager who knows what he's at. Can't see them winning it but they've delivered on what they threatened. Monaghan of 4/5 years ago I think were a better team but mever delivered a championship but fair play to this team they deserve it!
Congrats to Monaghan, Malachy O'Rourke deserves a huge amount of credit. Darren Hughes is just superb, he's the heartbeat of that side. I wouldn't be writing of Donegal just yet, all the big contenders have shown weaknesses bar maybe Mayo & if they end up playing Donegal the piss poor standard they met in Connacht could be considered their 'weakness'.
Shock result of the summer, well done to Monaghan on the double Ulster title wins enjoy lads. As for Donegal they look hungover from last year hard to pick it up again when you have won the big prize going to be tough with the six day turnaround but would be foolish to write them off yet.
Just Amazing. Im in tears.
WELL DONE MONAGHAN
Quote from: screenexile on July 21, 2013, 06:55:00 PM
I remember a few Monaghan lads were sceptical at O'Rourkes appointment ... I'm sure they're not saying the same now. An excellent manager who knows what he's at. Can't see them winning it but they've delivered on what they threatened. Monaghan of 4/5 years ago I think were a better team but mever delivered a championship but fair play to this team they deserve it!
He's a fantastic manager, should have another Ulster to his name from 2008 if Fermanagh had a decent freetaker then.
You have a point that Monaghan may have had a better team a few years ago, but I think O'Rourke has brought new life perhaps to a few of the older players after the disastrous last two years, when I'm sure the older heads were thinking they'd retire with no championship medals to their name. Add to that the development of the likes of McManus and Darren Hughes into the team's most important players (imo), and the younger players like K Hughes, Walsh, Wylie, McGuinness into key figures and it's a nice balance of youth and experience at the minute. When you look at the back 4(including Beggan in goals), it's especially young, and they stood up to the challenge today.
Absolutely made up for the lads who've been there over the last ten years; Tommy, Jap, Dick, Lennon, Vinny, Dessie, Jinxy. Great servants to the county and this day is richly deserved.
well done monaghan. delighted for them. real jealous, hope down can get a day like that sooner rather than later.
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2013, 06:05:53 PM
Im just about to do the same ;D
Quote from: gwan-ye-boy-ya on July 21, 2013, 07:12:23 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2013, 06:05:53 PM
Im just about to do the same ;D
Still don't think it's struck me what an achievement it was today.
Minor and Senior double. First Ulster minor since 1945, first Ulster senior since 1988. A truly momentous day for the county.
Quote from: Schkite on July 21, 2013, 07:09:29 PM
He's a fantastic manager, should have another Ulster to his name from 2008 if Fermanagh had a decent freetaker then.
You have a point that Monaghan may have had a better team a few years ago, but I think O'Rourke has brought new life perhaps to a few of the older players after the disastrous last two years, when I'm sure the older heads were thinking they'd retire with no championship medals to their name. Add to that the development of the likes of McManus and Darren Hughes into the team's most important players (imo), and the younger players like K Hughes, Walsh, Wylie, McGuinness into key figures and it's a nice balance of youth and experience at the minute. When you look at the back 4(including Beggan in goals), it's especially young, and they stood up to the challenge today.
Absolutely made up for the lads who've been there over the last ten years; Tommy, Jap, Dick, Lennon, Vinny, Dessie, Jinxy. Great servants to the county and this day is richly deserved.
If this team can produce the same performance then just MAYBE theres an AI for them. Ulster was the holy grail for monaghan and im so so happy for the men mentioned above
And this Cavan's breakthrough year 'n'all :P
Quote from: bennydorano on July 21, 2013, 07:19:47 PM
And this Cavan's breakthrough year 'n'all :P
Sure we'll see ye in croker ;)
Thinking of the great Monaghan servants not on the starting 15 (or squad) today. Gary Mc Quaid, Clerkin, tommy freeman, damian freeman, JP Mone, Rory Woods, Hanratty and others.
Quote from: trileacman on July 21, 2013, 07:45:32 PM
Thinking of the great Monaghan servants not on the starting 15 (or squad) today. Gary Mc Quaid, Clerkin, tommy freeman, damian freeman, JP Mone, Rory Woods, Hanratty and others.
tommy freeman scored
dick clerkin played
Whatever the draw we will have at least one classic All Ireland quarter final now. Donegal v Dublin, Kerry or Mayo will be superb.
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 07:47:37 PM
tommy freeman scored
dick clerkin played
::) Learn to read dipshit.
The fitness and invincible myth died today. They were beaten well by a average Monaghan team. Talk of the Big 4, 5, 8 or what ever will have to be revised tonight. Donegal and Mayo looked very sloppy and average today. Kildare are gone. Armagh are gone. And out of no where we have Monaghan and Galway in the mix.
FFS Monaghan beat them using the exact same system and "dark arts" you're complaining about! ;D
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 21, 2013, 07:54:13 PM
Whatever the draw we will have at least one classic All Ireland quarter final now. Donegal v Dublin, Kerry or Mayo will be superb.
L-A-O-I-S
Donegal are far from done yet. 9/1, I'll be having some of that
Quote from: haranguerer on July 21, 2013, 08:02:03 PM
Donegal are far from done yet. 9/1, I'll be having some of that
Yeah, they have two weeks now to prepare themselves for one of Dublin, Kerry or Mayo. Plenty of time for Jimmy to get their heads right. 9/1 looks tempting.
tommy freeman scored
dick clerkin played
I'd be taking Hanratty out of that list in fairness. Fair play to Monaghan. Great win for them and well deserved. This is what championship is all about! Whoever they get in the quarters will have to be in top form to beat them - I know that if we were to meet them 2moro we would probably get beaten - Monaghan owe us one from the last couple of championship meetings where we were lucky to escape!!
I could be wrong but I think you can only meet them in the All Ireland final.
Quote from: J70 on July 21, 2013, 07:50:41 PM
Quote from: gwan-ye-boy-ya on July 21, 2013, 07:09:06 PM
WELL DONE MONAGHAN
Enjoy it!!
Great day for Monaghan and thoroughly deserved. Vinnie Corey must get a special mention for doing a job on Murphy.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 21, 2013, 06:41:00 PM
Donegal won't go without scoring for 25 mins in the rest of their championship matches.
25 minutes? It was 31!
How do you know this?
Aura is gone now for Donegal. Have they a Plan B?
Debatable
We'd make bits of Donegal.
BITS OF THEM!
I think if they draw Dublin it would be best for them. Dublin are the hot favorites for the All Ireland so it will be easy for Jim to get the players back and focused.
If they draw one of the others it will be more difficult.
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 21, 2013, 08:18:06 PM
I think if they draw Dublin it would be best for them. Dublin are the hot favorites for the All Ireland so it will be easy for Jim to get the players back and focused.
Didn't know donegal had beaten Laois yet?
What was the score.
Quote from: trileacman on July 21, 2013, 07:54:59 PM
tommy freeman scored
dick clerkin played
I have what squad were freeman and clerkin not on?
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 08:22:42 PM
What was the score.
It's over and done with, Donegal now await the draw. What tricks has Jim bob left? Well Dublin, Mayo or Kerry will soon find out.
Well don Monaghan. I found myself cheering ye on in that game (going to get myself checked out at the doctors tomorrow)
This entirely changes the dynamics of the AIQFs, indeed even the course of the whole championship is in flux now. Can't see Laois coming close to Donegal unless they're nursing an unfixable hurt from today but if they get by them the AIQF draw is going to decide a lot about how straight-forward or how difficult the run-in will be for the three big contenders. If Mayo avoid drawing them they won't have to meet Donegal unless they make the AI final as Donegal can't draw the Monaghan who are paired to meet Mayo if both win their QF matches.
If Donegal draw Kerry it's curtains for those lads even before they meet Dublin get their hands on them and Fonegal would likely meet Dublin in the SF in the case of that draw.
Donegal-Dublin meeting in a QF is the dream match for neutrals.
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 21, 2013, 08:34:04 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 08:22:42 PM
What was the score.
It's over and done with, Donegal now await the draw. What tricks has Jim bob left? Well Dublin, Mayo or Kerry will soon find out.
they might find justin mc nulty has one or two
Wound Monaghan have won more over the last dozen years if they had concentrated on the football?
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 09:02:22 PM
Who's he? People writing off Donegal should be careful, Donegal don't mind losing Ulster finals if they acheive the big one. I'm sure the Donegal support haven't given up hope and are already booking their hotels for the quarter final. Expect huge numbers of them in Croke Park in two weeks.
Heartiest congratulations to Monaghan on a great performance against Donegal today :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(.
Monaghan's defence was most Donegal like & that is meant as a compliment!!
Enjoy the celebrations!!!
Quote from: Syferus on July 21, 2013, 08:53:05 PM
This entirely changes the dynamics of the AIQFs, indeed even the course of the whole championship is in flux now. Can't see Laois coming close to Donegal unless they're nursing an unfixable hurt from today but if they get by them the AIQF draw is going to decide a lot about how straight-forward or how difficult the run-in will be for the three big contenders. If Mayo avoid drawing them they won't have to meet Donegal unless they make the AI final as Donegal can't draw the Monaghan who are paired to meet Mayo if both win their QF matches.
If Donegal draw Kerry it's curtains for those lads even before they meet Dublin get their hands on them and Fonegal would likely meet Dublin in the SF in the case of that draw.
Donegal-Dublin meeting in a QF is the dream match for neutrals.
Have you totally ignored the Ulster final result? If Monaghan can win today why wouldn't Laois come close to Donegal and six day turn around is very difficult for a team on the end of damaging defeat. They may get over Laois however on todays display Donegal will get beaten by Mayo,Dublin,Kerry in quarter finals.
Congrats to Monaghan, Jimmy no longer winning matches.
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 21, 2013, 09:11:37 PM
Who's he? People writing off Donegal should be careful, Donegal don't mind losing Ulster finals if they acheive the big one. I'm sure the Donegal support haven't given up hope and are already booking their hotels for the quarter final. Expect huge numbers of them in Croke Park in two weeks.
Indiana has a bit of an obsession with donegal. Probably took great delight from today.
Wasn't too bothered who won but great for servants like freeman,finlay, lennon etc to get a medal. Monaghan have some cracking footballers and aren't really division 3 material. Probably not a threat to dublin or the like but will be hard to beat.
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 21, 2013, 09:16:27 PM
Indiana has a bit of an obsession with donegal. Probably took great delight from today.
Wasn't too bothered who won but great for servants like freeman,finlay, lennon etc to get a medal. Monaghan have some cracking footballers and aren't really division 3 material. Probably not a threat to dublin or the like but will be hard to beat.
Hardly in fairness if anything its donegal with the dublin obsession or all seven million obsessions if you read the ramblings from some donegal posters here
Apart from dontmatter i don't think that's the case. You do seem to have a particular obsession with belittling donegal.
Anyway - missed the game today but looking forward to sunday game.
6 days again an awful turnaround for provincial losers and will be tough for donegal against laois.
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 09:18:28 PM
Hardly in fairness if anything its donegal with the dublin obsession or all seven million obsessions if you read the ramblings from some donegal posters here
There are three or four Donegal posters in total here. Which of us is Dublin-obsessed?
You, on the other hand, never shut up about your vehement dislike of McGuinness and Donegal. Get some self-awareness!
I think you're wrong there. Donegal don't get 7 million, that's Dublin. I think Donegal live on a million. Will be interesting if they're drawn together, when's the draw anyway? Donegal fans want to know which day their game is on.
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 21, 2013, 09:21:12 PM
Apart from dontmatter i don't think that's the case. You do seem to have a particular obsession with belittling donegal.
6 days again an awful turnaround for provincial losers and will be tough for donegal against laois.
I think so. Don't see why so many are dismissing Laois, especially given Donegal's listless performance today.
The subs bench today is a lot stronger than yesteryear.
Quote from: J70 on July 21, 2013, 09:24:55 PM
I think so. Don't see why so many are dismissing Laois, especially given Donegal's listless performance today.
I'd fear for anyone that gets them now. Jim will have that team like animals on the field after that wake-up call. Better for Donegal to lose now than getting caught cold in a QF or SF.
Quote from: J70 on July 21, 2013, 09:24:55 PM
Mark McHugh unlikely to be fit in six days. Donegal there for taking if Laois are up for it.
Well they know now how derry felt 2 yrs ago!1
Quote from: J70 on July 21, 2013, 09:22:28 PM
There are three or four Donegal posters in total here. Which of us is Dublin-obsessed?
You, on the other hand, never shut up about your vehement dislike of McGuinness and Donegal. Get some self-awareness!
All of you in answer to your first question and to the second your adjectives are too strong. I'm not a fan of Mc Guinness but vehement dislike? In your imagination maybe
listening to Martin Mc Hugh - now thats who we vehemenously dislike.
Have to say that it felt good to see Donegal come a cropper. They play a horrible brand of football and over indulge in the dark arts of the game.
I don't know what dark arts you're referring to, afaic Donegal are in the top standard of the traditional, sporting opponents. The last 3 championship games we have had against them were a welcome few steps above the usual Ulster cynical content.
What are you doing?????????????????
Clerkin played and Tommy Freeman scored. Are you commenting on a game you didnt see? have you been sniffing glue?
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2013, 09:45:53 PM
The subs bench today is a lot stronger than yesteryear.
Very much so. It's great to be able to call on the experience of the likes of Tommy and Dick when a game is in the balance. McGuinness made a big impact when he came on, and Donaghy put in a great shift when he was selected ahead of him. There's Eoin Duffy to come back in too.
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 10:00:47 PM
All of you in answer to your first question and to the second your adjectives are too strong. I'm not a fan of Mc Guinness but vehement dislike? In your imagination maybe
I can only speak definitively for myself, but I have posted nothing in all the years I've been here that would indicate an obsession with Dublin. I don't recall other Donegal posters doing so either. Feel free to prove otherwise.
I certainly do not pop up in Dublin threads with the regularity you do in Donegal topics condemning McGuinness/Donegal.
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2013, 10:01:00 PM
Have to say that it felt good to see Donegal come a cropper. They play a horrible brand of football and over indulge in the dark arts of the game.
I don't know what dark arts you're referring to, afaic Donegal are in the top standard of the traditional, sporting opponents. The last 3 championship games we have had against them were a welcome few steps above the usual Ulster cynical content.
Congrats chief. Thoroughly deserved victory. A good man at the helm getting the best out of some excellent talent.
I thought donegal would go further this year before faltering.
Would like to see Monaghan keep up this standard and see how far they get.
Would be afraid that they still yet don't fully believe.
Could be a handy run again to AI final for mayo while the rest knock lumps off each other getting there.
Not sure if donegal can regroup in time. Laois have savage talent and momentum.
Dubs looking better than ever but cynical tactics and referees could thwart them!
Very happy tonight! Great performance today and well deserved, especially for those players who have been there for the last decade. Still hard to believe it has happened. Here's hoping there's another win or two this year!
Quote from: J70 on July 21, 2013, 10:09:36 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 10:00:47 PM
I can only speak definitively for myself, but I have posted nothing in all the years I've been here that would indicate an obsession with Dublin. I don't recall other Donegal posters doing so either. Feel free to prove otherwise.
I certainly do not pop up in Dublin threads with the regularity you do in Donegal topics condemning McGuinness/Donegal.
your other fans do on both counts. slagging off dublin is an optional extra on this site for most posters.
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 21, 2013, 10:13:10 PM
Very happy tonight! Great performance today and well deserved, especially for those players who have been there for the last decade. Still hard to believe it has happened. Here's hoping there's another win or two this year!
Congrats Maguire, delighted for yous!!
Quote from: haranguerer on July 21, 2013, 10:31:06 PM
Cheers!
Its victories like this that really make the championship. Congrats to Monaghan!
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 21, 2013, 10:12:39 PM
Congrats chief. Thoroughly deserved victory. A good man at the helm getting the best out of some excellent talent.
Could be a handy run again to AI final for mayo while the rest knock lumps off each other getting there.
Dubs looking better than ever but cynical tactics and referees could thwart them!
Thanks Lynchbhoy, the winning Ulster championship feeling, feels very good indeed.
Agreed on Laois having a good chance, a team with a winning momentum in the qualifiers, against a top team who have just received a heavy shock to their system, is a great leveller. Even though it's hard to imagine Donegal being so wasteful as they were today with the opportunities they will surely get next week.
Quote from: Main Street on July 21, 2013, 10:45:58 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 21, 2013, 10:12:39 PM
Thanks Lynchbhoy, the winning Ulster championship feeling, feels very good indeed.
Agreed on Laois having a good chance, a team with a winning momentum in the qualifiers, against a top team who have just received a heavy shock to their system, is a great leveller. Even though it's hard to imagine Donegal being so wasteful as they were today with the opportunities they will surely get next week.
Donegal have been poor for most of this year. They have 4 or 5 key players who are fundamental to their system. McHugh is one and he went off injured early. Lacey isn't anywhere near being fit. Neil Gallagher isn't fully fit either. McFadden had a rare off day and Murphy was marked out of it. If murphy and mcfadden don't click who is going to get their scores? I think it will be hard for them v Laois and with them being in last chance saloon now I can see them starting without Lacey and McHugh who will struggle in time.
Congrats to Monaghon. Displayed an exceptionally high work rate, a massive hunger, a high level of confidence and belief plus great composure and skill on the ball. Deserving winners.
I really didn't see this coming. Agree with the poster who said Donegal's myth of invincibility is now gone. Relegated in the league and well beaten in the provincial final.
However does Jim have a longterm plan that he's sticking rigidly to regardless of interm results? Certainly after the league relegation he clearly pointed to that.
Was their physical lethargy and lack of shooting sharpness today evidence of a side with a longterm AI goal who didnt interrupt their training schedule in order to peak for today's game? Perhaps there was some complacency within their ranks in the sense that maybe they though they could just about get over the line without having to specifically tailor their preparation to the Ulster Final ?
I mean no disrespect to Monaghon but Donegal looked heavy legged, off the pace and lacked sharpness. A team that trained heavily on Friday or a team that have naturally gone off the boil and lacked the hunger that comes before winning an AI ?
Time will tell. I wouldnt write off Jim or his players just yet.
Delighted for Monaghan. Glad to see Finlay get a medal.
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 21, 2013, 10:34:14 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on July 21, 2013, 10:31:06 PM
Cheers!
Second that.
Hope you and Main Street and the other Monaghan boys enjoy it!
I was actually thinking with 5 minutes to go that it was an awful pity we didn't get to see Rory Woods trundle onto the field so he could trot around randomly dunting lads with the game already won.
Would he still be fit for intercounty football?
Quote from: lawnseed on July 21, 2013, 12:41:56 PM
i'm sticking with monaghan for this one. they have a good manager for a change. a lot of good footballers. theyre a wee bit rumbly as a team but if or when they click they'll blitz Donegal. I thought Donegal looked a little jaded in their last couple of games imo. it will be a 'real meat grinder' from the word go. clerkin to get the line after 10mins on the pitch if hes lucky
Great stuff. Dick didnt get red... Tommy got a run and scored.. Good result and jap has yet to start playing.. Donegal are wrecked and will be vunerable next week :-o
Brilliant performance today by Monaghan winning a minr and senior double.
Donegal looked heavy legged and maybe were training for the end of August ?
But no matter. Great credit to Monaghan and it's great to see the Monaghan lads getting a medal.
It will be interesting to see how Donegal bounce back from this.
Quote from: Jinxy on July 21, 2013, 11:46:50 PM
I was actually thinking with 5 minutes to go that it was an awful pity we didn't get to see Rory Woods trundle onto the field so he could trot around randomly dunting lads with the game already won.
Woods usually only got into his stride in late July/early August, when he would roll out MOTM performances for sport. Only problem was Monaghan were usually out by that stage! Maybe we can fly him back for a cameo in Croker next month, although going by the video that was posted here before, he seems happy enough where he is!
http://vimeo.com/70528145
If ever a man was built for Gaelic Park! ;D
Quote from: orangeman on July 21, 2013, 11:56:35 PM
Donegal looked heavy legged and maybe were training for the end of August ?
More like peaking for May 26th in Mac Cumhaill Park, then the end of August! ;)
Woods needed an oul blow on the ventolin
Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2013, 08:26:08 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 21, 2013, 07:54:59 PM
tommy freeman scored
dick clerkin played
I have what squad were freeman and clerkin not on?
Where they on the starting 15?
Right, I've had a few but this is my analysis on todays events.......... YYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
High intensity training in the unusual heat we've experienced over the past 3 weeks was probably Donegal's downfall. Impossible to stick that and be fresh for a game.
And the cherry on the cake ( Recipe written in fermanagh and baked in clones ) was thomas freeman.IMO monaghans greatest ever marksman. only on two mins and gets a score. turns, smiles, thumps the air.
Hi guys,
Tactical analysis of Monaghan's stunning Ulster Final win here
http://action81.com/blog/?p=7479
Emmet
Oh what a day yesterday was. Minors produce a fabulous last 20 mins to set the day up. And the seniors overcome donegal wit a display of power, skill and passion. Every player busted a gut (and an eye in jinxys case) to reach the goal and bridge that 25 year wait. Well done to all involved. The town wuz buzzin last night.
ASs mentioned before, it was inevitable that Donegal would lose key players due to their training regime and the intensity they play at. They have been lucky for two years but this year has seen key men hit, pretty much mirroring Tyrone from 2006 and 2007. I can't see Laois beating Donegal, and to be honest I think yesterday was interesting in that it showed what most people suspected, that if you get a lead on Donegal then they have to play in a different way than they planned to, and they were unable to catch Monaghan. If Donegal get a few points up on a team, they are great and sucking the life out of the opposition and topping up their lead. In saying that, a loss is the only real reality check a team will get and it is something that in the long run will benefit Donegal this year. It will refocus the players and drive a bit of determination back into them, its not good for a team winning for so long as they naturally lose the eye of the tiger. Donegal will still win this years All Ireland if they can get everyone fit.
QuoteVery happy tonight! Great performance today and well deserved, especially for those players who have been there for the last decade. Still hard to believe it has happened. Here's hoping there's another win or two this year!
Fair play to all the Monaghan posters. Enjoy the well deserved victory. Interesting to see how Donegal recover
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 22, 2013, 08:46:13 AM
ASs mentioned before, it was inevitable that Donegal would lose key players due to their training regime and the intensity they play at. They have been lucky for two years but this year has seen key men hit, pretty much mirroring Tyrone from 2006 and 2007. I can't see Laois beating Donegal, and to be honest I think yesterday was interesting in that it showed what most people suspected, that if you get a lead on Donegal then they have to play in a different way than they planned to, and they were unable to catch Monaghan. If Donegal get a few points up on a team, they are great and sucking the life out of the opposition and topping up their lead. In saying that, a loss is the only real reality check a team will get and it is something that in the long run will benefit Donegal this year. It will refocus the players and drive a bit of determination back into them, its not good for a team winning for so long as they naturally lose the eye of the tiger. Donegal will still win this years All Ireland if they can get everyone fit.
Very unlikely. I think they will struggle to beat laois and if they do that they will lose in the qfs. Lacey isn't fit now, won't be fit next sat and still won't be anywhere near fit for the qf. Mchugh prob won't be fit. McFadden's confidence will have taken a blow yesterday and if murphy is held again like last sun they have no chance.
Tell ye want. Just awaking from a hell of a night. Yous ate all wrong, football is a simple game and Donegal got stopped doing the simple things by a team doing the simple things. Bring on the dubs.
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 30, 2013, 06:32:54 PM
There ya have it now!! Fair play the Farney Men!
I thought Jimmy and his back room team looked a bit clueless yesterday when plan A didn't work. They resorted to just lumping high balls into the full forward line and it was clear that wasn't working either. Their lack of strength in depth was cruelly exposed as he has little room to maneouvre when they hadn't scored after 25 mins and resorted to bringing on "injured" players in Walsh and Gallagher. Their crazy training regime is beginning to catch up and the team looked lethargic and tired - especially in the tackle. So has the myth been busted ....... Or is this all part of Jimmys master plan to lull the whole country into a false sense of security!
Back in 1988 I attended my first ever Ulster final with my brother and his friends. Tyrone had got the to AI final in 1986 and we had our club man Paddy Ball playing at wing half back.
I watched the amazing Nudie Hughes lead us a merry dance and win the Anglo Celt. Little did I think back then that it would be 25 years before Monaghan would win their next one.
They beat AI champs Armagh back in 2003 and now they've done the same to Donegal but not many thought they would even give this Donegal team a good game. As Brolly said last night on TSG, they had that zip in their step. That do or die championship hunger which gives you an extra yard. It makes all the difference when going for 50 50 balls and winning breaking balls around the whole field.
Back in the first round Tyrone couldn't shake off Donegal's immense tackles and often got caught in the tackle but Monaghan seemed to be able to cut back inside a lot of times and evade lazy tired tackles from Donegal. A lot is being made of them being tired and maybe over trained, with the focus on August matches. This is indeed quite possible but Monaghan seemed to have learnt from Down and took it that little bit extra.
One question I was asking myself was how can youg Hughes take Mcgee to the cleaners so well today but SoN struggled so much last month.
I only saw the highlights last night but Murphy seemed to never be involved at all and McFadden was being frustrated out of it and was even kicking easy frees wide. Lacey certainly seemed a shadow of himself and they lacked that energy & edge that they had for other days (like the 1st round).
I think Jimmy got this one badly wrong even though he talked the talk about taking it one game at a time. I would imagine It was important for him to win 3 in a row and pass out Tyrone and equal Armagh's record. They could then say they really are a great team to do that. Who knows but they may win the next three.
As Donegal fans are probably finding it, we Irish love the underdogs to beat the big guns and to see the mighty fall. It's part and parcel of being champions but to me this is just a blip in Jimmy's plan. Yes he really looked upset and annoyed that McHugh was taken out of it. His plan for the summer was knocked off track but to me they will overcome Laois as I don't think they have the stomach for such a battle. If Donegal play like they did yesterday they'll still beat Laois comfortably imho. Those players will be hurting and unless Jimmy runs them into the ground again I think they will be major payback next Sat. However, their plan is upset and it all depends now on who they get in the quarters (should they get there of course). They can't meet Monaghan again so its already done to 3. I'd say they won't want to meet Dublin or Mayo this soon after that defeat yesterday so you can see why Jimmy's careful plans have been turned upside down.
Anyway, the main thing I wanted to say here was a huge congrats to Monaghan on reminding us all what it means to win Ulster. For too long its been all about Armagh, Tyrone & recently Donegal and us thinking winning Ulster is nice but it's only a stepping stone. The joy & emotion on both the players and fans faces was a pleasure to see. Players like Finlay & Vinny Corey so deserve this victory for all their efforts. I must say I've never liked Tommy Freeman and a good few others but I was happy for them yesterday. This is what makes the GAA great. The unpredictability of Ulster football sure does make it the most exciting championship. Yes we have made the game a lot more defensive and ugly in many ways but the intensity and effort put in yesterday was immense.
Congrats Monaghan and no doubt we'll get ye next year in the preliminary round
I thought the "myth", whatever that is, was busted after the Down game?
I watched this is a wee pub up in the Gaeltacht in Donegal yesterday and I have to say it was great stuff. I was standing chatting to the owner of the place before throw in and I said to him I had a feeling it would be Monaghan's day. I thought the team that was strongest on the 60 minute mark would win it and that Monaghan would have the physicality to match them if they had the belief. He tended to agree with me but he thought that Donegal were just too good. The key to the game was the tactical battle on the kickouts. Monaghan won the majority of the breaks on the kick outs as they seemed to always have a spare man, particularly Doogan and Donaghy. When Doogan went off and Clerkin came on there was a period of 6-7 minutes where Donegal owned midfield and they could have crept back into it but then Lennon,Hughes and Finlay got their hands on the ball and that was that.
Donegal will be hurting big time from this but it will be a huge one to lift themselves for next week I feel. I am not saying Laois are a better team just that Donegal's minds and bodies will be very sore this week and are there for the taking if Laois approach it the right way.
Quote from: J70 on July 22, 2013, 11:27:23 AM
I thought the "myth", whatever that is, was busted after the Down game?
They still won the game - so after not playing well they still won the game. Myth intact!
Well done Monaghan and the Monaghan posters here.
Great to see Clerkin and Freeman on the pitch at the end.
From what I saw of the game, Donegal looked like a team "overtrained".......... lethargic, leaden footed, slow to the break etc.
They by no means are out of it yet.
What a feeling ;D There is no other place i would rather have been yesterday than my home town of clones. The carnival atmosphere all around the town until the wee small hours of this morning was a joy to behold. Fair play to the Donegal supporters who stayed around town and contributed greatly to a day that will remain with me for the rest of my life.Also a word of thanks to my favourite Fermanagh person MOR (my wife understands) :)
Quote from: gwan-ye-boy-ya on July 21, 2013, 07:09:06 PM
WELL DONE MONAGHAN
Great stuff. Nice to see all the white-and-blue flags out in force ;)
Quote from: lawnseed on July 21, 2013, 11:54:05 PM
Great stuff. Dick didnt get red... Tommy got a run and scored.. Good result and jap has yet to start playing.. Donegal are wrecked and will be vunerable next week :-o
Finlay's role has changed and he's playing that role, it's as if O'Rourke has taken all the pressure and responsibility away from him and just let him play a free role to great effect around the middle. I can't recall a game from past years where he did not take a free kick and did not even attempt to score a point, usually he was one of Monaghan's top scorer in every game, if not
thee top scorer. He's deadly, shooting from the right side but invariably less so from the left and outside a 40m range he missed most shots.
All that has an effect, much of the burden of losing a game would be his. Nowadays there are a queue of players taking much of that responsibility away from him and he's revelling in it, just concentrating on what he does best, intelligent positioning, rock solid with the ball under pressure, create space for himself with ease and find the short range and the long range passes.
Was there many stranded there overnight? Anyone asleep out on the streets?
Would love to see some photos of the place last night and even today.
It's a long time the 3 Southern Ulster counties are still in the championship this late on in July. Can all 3 make the quarters? You would imagine so.
QuoteI thought Jimmy and his back room team looked a bit clueless yesterday when plan A didn't work.
I thought the same, they had a look of WTF on their faces and didn't seem to have any plan B. Jimmy McGuinness has received many plaudits for turning Donegal from a below average outfit to All Ireland Champions, and this can never be questioned. By the same token, he has to be questioned as to the conditioning of his players yesterday. A Donegal player told me last October first hand that they 'trained like dogs' to win the All Ireland. This was already well known but when you hear it first hand from a player, it tends to have a greater impact as I could see the expression of pain on his face when he said it. If they trained like dogs in the heat of last week, it would explain their lethargic, low energy performance. If this was the case, its one for the management to justify as they simply weren't at the races yesterday.
Not to undermine an unbelievable Monaghan performance, one of the great performances in an Ulster Final in manys a year!
Maybe fitness was a factor (particularly for the likes of Lacey), but I think appetite was a major one too. Monaghan won all the breaks and tackles and hits, which is always telling. How many times did Monaghan boys come out with the ball, often when outnumbered by Donegal men? One team wanted it more, a lot more. It reminded me a lot of our second half performances against Tyrone in 2011 and 2012.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 22, 2013, 11:30:27 AM
Donegal will be hurting big time from this but it will be a huge one to lift themselves for next week I feel. I am not saying Laois are a better team just that Donegal's minds and bodies will be very sore this week and are there for the taking if Laois approach it the right way.
I would have to agree with this, McNulty will have them hyped up for this one and the confidence should be high following their recent wins in the qualifiers, its gonna be a tough one for Donegal... only 2 wins from the six day turnaround since they came in... :-\
https://twitter.com/monaghanhire/status/358658570507665408
Celebrations Monaghan style :)
The lads are an absolute credit, delighted for them. Sound bunch of fellas who have worked hard over the years. O'Rourke got it right tactically.
Brilliant feeling!!
Brilliant result for Monaghan. The football championship needed that because it had been so boring and predictable up until this point.
I see a few posters that they were glad to see Monaghan win for Freeman yesterday, don't imagine he would be too popular outside his home County. I thought it would be as likely as someone from outside Tyrone saying they were happy to see Mugsy win something that had previously eluded him.
Quote from: Main Street on July 22, 2013, 12:00:46 PM
Finlay's role has changed and he's playing that role, it's as if O'Rourke has taken all the pressure and responsibility away from him and just let him play a free role to great effect around the middle. I can't recall a game from past years where he did not take a free kick and did not even attempt to score a point, usually he was one of Monaghan's top scorer in every game, if not thee top scorer. He's deadly, shooting from the right side but invariably less so from the left and outside a 40m range he missed most shots.
All that has an effect, much of the burden of losing a game would be his. Nowadays there are a queue of players taking much of that responsibility away from him and he's revelling in it, just concentrating on what he does best, intelligent positioning, rock solid with the ball under pressure, create space for himself with ease and find the short range and the long range passes.
Couldnt say it better myself.
Quote from: Main Street on July 22, 2013, 12:00:46 PM
Finlay's role has changed and he's playing that role, it's as if O'Rourke has taken all the pressure and responsibility away from him and just let him play a free role to great effect around the middle. I can't recall a game from past years where he did not take a free kick and did not even attempt to score a point, usually he was one of Monaghan's top scorer in every game, if not thee top scorer. He's deadly, shooting from the right side but invariably less so from the left and outside a 40m range he missed most shots.
Well said. There wont be a litre of diesel washed this week :)
Was at the match. Expected nothin other than a Donegal victory with them not getting out of 3rd gear--how wrong i was!
Class game, intensity was unreal. 2 x Hughes were class as was Corey, Mone et al.
But i thought Padraig Donaghy was close to MOM--heart of a lion and strong as a bull. Never stopped.
When Donegal didnt score for 30 odd minutes i thought i was watchin Antrim!
Class day--Minors were unreal too!
Very well done to Monaghan, very deserved victory. ;D
Couple of things stand out for me, Lacey was totally of the pace, Monaghan players were flying past him - very strange he started in the first place, but leaving him on the pitch was worse. McGuniness and Gallagher have had their plaudits, but they were shown up today big time. Corey stuck to Murphy like glue and Wylie and Walshe also had massive games. Biggest turning point in the game was that massive coming together of McHugh and Gollogly, Gollogly definitely put his body in the line for Monaghan in that tackle and McHugh having to go off definitely disrupted Donegal game-plan.
Strange that some teams always do well against others, I get that feeling with Monaghan playing Donegal they always seem to have the upper hand on Donegal.
Last thing I would say is that Monaghan matched Donegal and more in the physical dept, they are a seriously big team - my only hope is that that can bring this hunger into their next game, although I feel the open spaces of Croker will not work in their favour.
Quote of the day has to go to Sidebottom on Mark McHugh going off injured. "You know Oisin, I think that the Mark McHugh going off could be more of a loss for Monaghan because they would have based their gameplan around stopping him"
Quote from: redhandluke on July 22, 2013, 02:25:39 PM
Couple of things stand out for me, Lacey was totally of the pace, Monaghan players were flying past him - very strange he started in the first place, but leaving him on the pitch was worse. McGuniness and Gallagher have had their plaudits, but they were shown up today big time. Corey stuck to Murphy like glue and Wylie and Walshe also had massive games. Biggest turning point in the game was that massive coming together of McHugh and Gollogly, Gollogly definitely put his body in the line for Monaghan in that tackle and McHugh having to go off definitely disrupted Donegal game-plan.
Strange that some teams always do well against others, I get that feeling with Monaghan playing Donegal they always seem to have the upper hand on Donegal.
Last thing I would say is that Monaghan matched Donegal and more in the physical dept, they are a seriously big team - my only hope is that that can bring this hunger into their next game, although I feel the open spaces of Croker will not work in their favour.
I would say they'll thrive in the wide open spaces in Croker. Time will tell I suppose.
Quote from: Schkite on July 22, 2013, 02:40:51 PM
I would say they'll thrive in the wide open spaces in Croker. Time will tell I suppose.
Monaghan will love croker.
sure monaghan beat meath well in league final there
Quote from: tonysoprano on July 22, 2013, 02:29:44 PM
Quote of the day has to go to Sidebottom on Mark McHugh going off injured. "You know Oisin, I think that the Mark McHugh going off could be more of a loss for Monaghan because they would have based their gameplan around stopping him"
Never gave much heed to the commentary on BBC NI, but as the channel was right beside the golf I was flicking between the two. Mark Sidebottom is deranged. It was entertaining stuff, but I'd say you could have too much of a good thing.
Quote from: deiseach on July 22, 2013, 02:47:53 PM
Quote from: tonysoprano on July 22, 2013, 02:29:44 PM
Never gave much heed to the commentary on BBC NI, but as the channel was right beside the golf I was flicking between the two. Mark Sidebottom is deranged. It was entertaining stuff, but I'd say you could have too much of a good thing.
I'd love to know where Sidebottom got his info on the Monaghan players. There were a number of inaccuracies, like saying Beggan is from Tyholland(he's from Scotstown), and Darren Hughes is 24 (25, possibly 26). That's off the top off my head but I'm sure if I watched the game back I'd get a good few more!
I'm not great on the computer could someone tell me how i can get The Sunday Game on-line i keep getting a message " not available in this region" I live in Fermanagh . Is this a problem with regard to broadcasting rights or some such nonsense ? Or is it due to my ineptitude ?
QuoteI'm not great on the computer could someone tell me how i can get The Sunday Game on-line i keep getting a message " not available in this region" I live in Fermanagh . Is this a problem with regard to broadcasting rights or some such nonsense ? Or is it due to my ineptitude ?
It can depend on your ISP, if it does not accurately report where you are, then RTÉ have to restrict it as they do not have rights outside of Ireland. Try this http://www.whereisip.net/, if it is correct then contact RTÉ.
Kudos to Monaghan they continually broke up the attack and counter attacked to great effect.
We did alot of that long ball up to Murphy routine that was prominent in the Leauge but he's been marked and tackled out of it these days. It's a decent outlet but since last year most teams are able to deal with that .
Usually if Murphy falters ,McFadden,or McBrearty step up but unusually all 3 had a day to forget .
I think when Rory's point on 28 mins was chalked off you knew it was going to be one of those days anyway but that would be unfair to Monaghan who won 80% of 50/50 balls and showed great skill going forward.
I don't think anyone from Donegal is really that surprised and going into every game as heavy favourites eventually takes a toll cause its still a relatively recent sensation for these players to have to deal with.
Laois is a tricky game now.
Anyway good look to Monaghan and the fans for the rest of the championship.
Well Holy Lord!! ;D ;D
That was just incredible!.. Still in shock today and I think it`ll take a few days to sink in.. I've never witnessed such an intense, consistent performance from our lads over 70min, absolutely delighted for them!!.. Wonderful achievement and they deserve all the plaudits they get! Brilliant stuff!!!! UPMONAGHANSAYSWE!!
Interesting stat that all 4 Provincial winners in Football this year have won the final in their home Grounds. Monaghan fully deserved the win though.
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 22, 2013, 11:25:29 AM
I must say I've never liked Tommy Freeman and a good few others but I was happy for them yesterday.
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 22, 2013, 01:07:11 PM
I see a few posters that they were glad to see Monaghan win for Freeman yesterday, don't imagine he would be too popular outside his home County. I thought it would be as likely as someone from outside Tyrone saying they were happy to see Mugsy win something that had previously eluded him.
I don't understand the above - what's the reason for it?
Well done Monaghan - great scenes
Sidebottom is bonkers - I only half heard one comment when he said something about,"the cows udders will be full!" or similar. Needs to tone er down abit!!! :-\
Talking of SideBottom, I wish he would stop cutting across when co-commentary is talking - very annoying.
Don't rate McConnville either, McFadden always trying to "win" free kicks not just yesterday but against Tyrone and Down - for some reason McConnville cannot see this obvious tactic - glad to see ref are beginning to catch on to this.
I'm not stirring but I wonder did Donegal's attitude to the league and McKenna Cup have any impact on Sunday. I think even more so than prior year they seemed to discount every game before the championship and say losing didn't matter. On Sunday when they went behind they didn't seem to know what to do at all. And the lack of appetitite for the league could have had a negative impact on bringing on squad players who should have been developing a winning mentality.
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 22, 2013, 06:01:59 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 22, 2013, 11:25:29 AM
I must say I've never liked Tommy Freeman and a good few others but I was happy for them yesterday.
I don't understand the above - what's the reason for it?
Me neither.
Wide open spaces of croke park, we hear this constantly.
Seriously, is it much bigger than any other pitch?
Congratulations to Monaghan on a superb victory on your little soccer sized pitch, but you'll not have a clue how to set up that defensive formation on the vast terrain on Jones Rd ::)
Quote from: Orchardman on July 22, 2013, 11:06:41 PM
Wide open spaces of croke park, we hear this constantly.
Seriously, is it much bigger than any other pitch?
Correct Orangeman. It's one of those silly comments used by ill informed GAA commentators. My own club pitch was built exactly the same size as Croker. It's no bigger than many out there.
Croke Park 144m x 86m
St Tiernachs park 142m x 87m
No way will Monaghan cope with that change!
Great to go home with no regrets, whatifs or whatmighthavebeens.
The team stood up to the mark, and players whose ability was being questioned, gave great performances.
We really do seem to have the evil eye over Donegal. And they're such great sports, before, and after the game.
Well done to the Minors, taking Tyrone, and winning the double.
We'll be hard to listen to. ;)
Quote from: Jinxy on July 21, 2013, 11:46:50 PM
Yawn... ::) We didn't need him to hump you boys twice already this year..
I think you're being a bit harsh on Tommy there in fairness..
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on July 23, 2013, 12:50:22 AM
I think you're being a bit harsh on Tommy there in fairness..
Loved it when he got the last point. His brother Damien has done great service too.
Can't wait to see him back in Croker. He's got a few games under his belt, getting sharper and he loves the big stage.