GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: illdecide on June 20, 2013, 03:40:30 PM

Title: Armagh v Wicklow
Post by: illdecide on June 20, 2013, 03:40:30 PM
So the real championship starts next Sunday for Armagh...

Wicklow will be a tough enough nut to crack but realistically if we can't beat Wicklow at home then we're in a worse place than i thought we were in.

1. Mc Evoy
2. McKeown
3. B Donaghy
4. Shields
5. A Kernan
6. J Morgan
7. C McKeever
8. K Toner
9. Harold
10. K Dyas (R Grugan)
11. B Mallon
12. T Kernan
13. J Clarke
14. S Forker
15. E McVerry (S Campbell)
Title: Re: Armagh v Wicklow
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 20, 2013, 03:46:14 PM
I'd say that is at least 13 of the starting team with the 2 you have questions over being the 2 who may or may not start.  Will be interesting how they line out tactically wise.  To sweep or not to sweep?
Post by: illdecide on June 20, 2013, 04:13:05 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 20, 2013, 03:46:14 PM
I'd say that is at least 13 of the starting team with the 2 you have questions over being the 2 who may or may not start.  Will be interesting how they line out tactically wise.  To sweep or not to sweep?

Dyas back playing in front of full back line? He's a good reader of the game and is comfortable on the ball. He can kick a god pass too
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 20, 2013, 04:28:13 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 20, 2013, 04:13:05 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 20, 2013, 03:46:14 PM

Dyas back playing in front of full back line? He's a good reader of the game and is comfortable on the ball. He can kick a god pass too

Or if they're wise they will observe that Wicklow like to leave space inside for their FF line so what I think they should do is actually simply leave the 6 defenders in defence,put Shields on  AKs man if they bring a FF out and then leave AK to sit between the FB and HB lines so that he can counter attack front it.
Post by: illdecide on June 20, 2013, 04:54:39 PM
If Wicklow do that then that would work ok as AK likes to bomb forward and with not having the same defensive duties then he could be a good link to forward line...i reckon PG should give us a call ;)
Post by: illdecide on June 24, 2013, 12:52:32 PM
All is very quiet for this game (i know its not a glamour tie) but i thought there'd be a bit of interest...

Will Armagh name the team early in the week like the last time? Whats the injury situation at the min with the guys struggling to be fit
Post by: naka on June 24, 2013, 01:09:15 PM
armagh had a decent win against offaly but dont know much about the team etc
all very quiet
think mc keever and dyas struggling as is charlie
Post by: BennyCake on June 25, 2013, 01:41:41 AM
Do you need a ticket for the covered stand, or can you pay cash at the turnstiles on matchday?
Post by: T Fearon on June 25, 2013, 05:10:04 AM
Fascinating tie,as for the first time ever,there'll be more Armagh players in the USA than at the Athletic Grounds,this Sunday.

It's only two years since we trailed Wicklow by 11 points in the qualifiers in Armagh,and forced an unlikely draw in the end.

Personally I can't wait to see how Plan A is developing and to look for any hint of Plan B
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2013, 02:28:59 PM
Ye Apples better make it through the Garden, we want to dole yet more pain out to your fine county after your hurlers' 'deposit' earlier in the year  >:(
Post by: ardchieftain on June 25, 2013, 03:19:56 PM
Be careful what you wish for lad.
Post by: ardchieftain on June 25, 2013, 03:25:30 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 25, 2013, 01:41:41 AM
Do you need a ticket for the covered stand, or can you pay cash at the turnstiles on matchday?

I'd say paying at the turnstile will be no problem Benny. Can't see there being a massive crowd in for this game.
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2013, 03:46:11 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on June 25, 2013, 03:19:56 PM
Be careful what you wish for lad.

Do I really need to dirge up the quotes from last year,  lad-een? ;)

Wicklow aren't up to much, particularly outside Aughrim. I can see a 6+ coming for Armagh if they've got their shooting boots on.
Post by: naka on June 25, 2013, 04:13:02 PM
syferus
you clearly havent seen armagh this year
i wouldnt fancy us to beat our ladies team ;)
Post by: T Fearon on June 25, 2013, 04:45:35 PM
First come first served, at the turnstile, even for Season Ticket Holders. Not too often that happens in a Championship game.
Post by: Rossfan on June 25, 2013, 05:20:37 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 25, 2013, 04:45:35 PM
First come first served, at the turnstile, even for Season Ticket Holders. Not too often that happens in a Championship game.

Welcome back to the world of the little teams  :)
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2013, 07:36:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 25, 2013, 05:20:37 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 25, 2013, 04:45:35 PM

Welcome back to the world of the little teams  :)

I felt awful fancy having numbered stand tickets for a minor match in Carrick, mind.
Post by: Throw ball on June 25, 2013, 08:46:41 PM
Armagh team due to be announced tonight on Armagh TV. www.armaghgaa.net/armaghtv/
Post by: JP on June 25, 2013, 09:51:23 PM
1. McEvoy
2. McKeown
3. Donaghy
4. Morgan
5. A.Kernan
6. McKeever
7. Shields
8. Lavery
9. Harold
10. C.Rafferty
11. Dyas
12. E.Rafferty
13. Clarke
14. T.Kernan
15. McVerry
Post by: Oraisteach on June 25, 2013, 10:27:25 PM
Drat, with the recent defections to America, I was half hoping I'd see my long-overdue name on that list.  A hair over 5' 8", I was thinking of midfield.
Post by: regal on June 25, 2013, 11:19:49 PM
Quote from: JP on June 25, 2013, 09:51:23 PM
1. McEvoy
2. McKeown
3. Donaghy
4. Morgan
5. A.Kernan
6. McKeever
7. Shields
8. Lavery
9. Harold
10. C.Rafferty
11. Dyas
12. E.Rafferty
13. Clarke
14. T.Kernan
15. McVerry

Out go:

- McKenna
- Moriarty
- O'Hanlon
- SForker

In come:

- Donaghy
- Morgan
- ERafferty
- McVerry

Presumeably injured are:

- Toner
- AForker
- SForker
Post by: illdecide on June 25, 2013, 11:45:13 PM
Defence is what majority of people would have picked, I would have preferred Toner in the middle to lavery but I'll assume Toner is still not fit but its the half forward line that I'm not happy with. No experience and not much of a scoring threat tbh, the ff line is good enough but surely t Keenan will play out the field and leave a two man ff line.

Its not the best armagh team we can put out but injuries and players not back up to fitness is prob as good as we can field.
Post by: naka on June 26, 2013, 08:21:12 AM
Both forkers are back training so should get game time
I expect to see a more defensive set up with dyas probably dropping back to allow AK some more space
Surprised that mc verry gat the nod in front ofbmallon
As he can play a few roles.
Post by: regal on June 26, 2013, 09:54:00 PM
Whilst armagh's defence has been strengthened I believe they will need a few players back in order to claim a big scalp later in the qualifiers / QFs. The team selected will hopefully be good enough to beat Wicklow (if its not we may give up) but we will hopefullly get a few matches in quick succession to try and find our best team. I would eventually like to see something like:

mcevoy
morgan donaghy shields
akernan mckeever aforker
toner harold
crafferty dyas o'hanlon
clarke sforker tkernan

mckeown / lavery / erafferty / mcverry / vernon
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2013, 10:07:50 PM
The mind boggles that ye can't get David McKenna involved, he's probably be in the top five midfielders in Ulster if he was playing.
Post by: Orior on June 26, 2013, 10:28:55 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 26, 2013, 10:07:50 PM
The mind boggles that ye can't get David McKenna involved, he's probably be in the top five midfielders in Ulster if he was playing.

Too heavy for county football.
Post by: ardchieftain on June 26, 2013, 11:02:16 PM

BCB might be best placed as to the reasons why he hasn't been involved in the county squad yet. I'd be amazed if he hasn't been asked to join the panel in the past. McKenna and Harold would be my ideal midfield pairing.
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2013, 11:10:34 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on June 26, 2013, 11:02:16 PM

BCB might be best placed as to the reasons why he hasn't been involved in the county squad yet. I'd be amazed if he hasn't been asked to join the panel in the past. McKenna and Harold would be my ideal midfield pairing.

Did I hear something about him working in Belfast? Obviously a fair commitment to make (and one many do) but he's both a big unit and a good footballer. Wouldn't agree that he's too big for county football either, AOS was chunky a few years ago and still did a lot of damage and he hadn't half as much control as McKenna. He's by no means fast but neither is he immobile for a big, big lad. A good county level off-season fitness program is probably all he'd need to be nearing peak condition, it's hardly like he gets to take a half-hearted approach to training playing for a club like Cross.

We've had some very good players opt out of the county team in the past so I know it's hardly ever a clear-cut issue, you'd just love to see the best players in any county playing on their senior team.
Post by: regal on June 26, 2013, 11:24:58 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 26, 2013, 11:10:34 PM

Did I hear something about him working in Belfast? Obviously a fair commitment to make (and one many do) but he's both a big unit and a good footballer. Wouldn't agree that he's too big for county football either, AOS was chunky a few years ago and still did a lot of damage and he hadn't half as much control as McKenna. He's by no means fast but neither is he immobile for a big, big lad. A good county level off-season fitness program is probably all he'd need to be nearing peak condition, it's hardly like he gets to take a half-hearted approach to training playing for a club like Cross.

We've had some very good players opt out of the county team in the past so I know it's hardly ever a clear-cut issue, you'd just love to see the best players in any county playing on their senior team.

When you're comparing David McKenna to Aidan O'Shea you need your head looked at
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 26, 2013, 11:25:22 PM
He's in America. Not interested in county football,has his own reasons I'm sure.
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2013, 11:33:50 PM
Quote from: regal on June 26, 2013, 11:24:58 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 26, 2013, 11:10:34 PM

When you're comparing David McKenna to Aidan O'Shea you need your head looked at

I highly doubt you've seen AOS mature from being a minor into the senior midfielder he is today. It's not been all strawberries and cream, that's for sure.

There's a lot of similarities between AOS and McKenna is terms of size (and use of that size), aerial ability and point scoring. Their biggest weakness is on the back foot, as with almost any big man. Almost any team in the country would kill for an interested McKenna.
Post by: DuffleKing on June 27, 2013, 09:46:34 AM

That's made me chuckle. McKenna has been involved with the county over the years. Without getting into the specifics or dissecting an amateur player, he's not county standard. That's why there's no debate around his availability. 
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 27, 2013, 10:17:19 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 27, 2013, 09:46:34 AM

That's made me chuckle. McKenna has been involved with the county over the years. Without getting into the specifics or dissecting an amateur player, he's not county standard. That's why there's no debate around his availability.

He hasn't actually been involved in it that much you'll find.  He made his debut in 2010 but since then has been mostly involved with the club. Prior to 2010 he was struggling with injury and even during that time he was playing through injuries. He only really came to form in the season that he was captain and didn't play with the county that year.  He is also only 23 which is relatively young for inter-county midfielders and in my view would be a better option that Lavery (more mobile and better footballer) and Harold (stronger under the high ball).  He has no real interest in the county though under the current set-up or the previous management.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 27, 2013, 10:25:20 AM
I see from today's Irish News that Clarke and McKeever may have a bit of a dilemma around the next few qualifiers (the two lads have received a tempting offer from the Leitrim club in New York)

It's a tough one, amateur players (in a recessed economy) should be afforded the choice of doing what is best for them IMHO. I know that attitude may not sit well with some or many gaels but it's a fact of the modern world we live in.. democracy and all that..

Post by: regal on June 27, 2013, 12:06:49 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 27, 2013, 10:17:19 AM

He hasn't actually been involved in it that much you'll find.  He made his debut in 2010 but since then has been mostly involved with the club. Prior to 2010 he was struggling with injury and even during that time he was playing through injuries. He only really came to form in the season that he was captain and didn't play with the county that year.  He is also only 23 which is relatively young for inter-county midfielders and in my view would be a better option that Lavery (more mobile and better footballer) and Harold (stronger under the high ball).  He has no real interest in the county though under the current set-up or the previous management.

He's no loss then really
Post by: armaghniac on June 27, 2013, 12:57:47 PM
QuoteI know that attitude may not sit well with some or many gaels but it's a fact of the modern world we live in.. democracy and all that..

It is one thing saying that the players should be free to come and go. However, why is the Leitrim club in New York allowed to play so many blow ins and create distortion on championships in Ireland, club and county? I'd prohibit blow-ins playing in the NY championship, while allowing them play in league/regular games. NY is like Kerry Packer in cricket.
Post by: Orior on June 27, 2013, 01:33:14 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 27, 2013, 12:57:47 PM
QuoteI know that attitude may not sit well with some or many gaels but it's a fact of the modern world we live in.. democracy and all that..

It is one thing saying that the players should be free to come and go. However, why is the Leitrim club in New York allowed to play so many blow ins and create distortion on championships in Ireland, club and county? I'd prohibit blow-ins playing in the NY championship, while allowing them play in league/regular games. NY is like Kerry Packer in cricket.

Agreed. And where do they get the money for such ventures?
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 27, 2013, 01:57:34 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 27, 2013, 01:33:14 PM

Agreed. And where do they get the money for such ventures?

Generally from wealthy ex-pat business folk who are attached to the particular club. Cash at that as cheques/bank accounts etc. are not really an option for the blow-in..  ;)
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 27, 2013, 01:59:37 PM

Agreed, it's a bit of a farce alright. I thought you had to play in the league in the earlier part of the year to be eligible to play in the summer championships? I've a feeling you're allowed a certain number of 'blow-ins' in any given season though.
Post by: yellowcard on June 27, 2013, 11:37:51 PM
Quote from: AFS on June 27, 2013, 09:19:21 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 27, 2013, 10:17:19 AM

Nearly sure he's 25. Would be a pity if he never really extended himself at county level, his form the year or so past suggests that he might have something to offer. All well and good turning your nose up at management set ups but 25 (and 26 by next summer) isn't particularly young at county level any more, especially for a fella with his fair share of injury problems. He won't get many more opportunities to turn down.

It's always the case that you become a better player and are more coveted when you are off the squad. It's very true in McKennas case. Is he good enough for county level, it's hard to say I think. Whilst he remains off the panel for whatever reason suggests that he either hasn't the appetite for it or doesn't have faith in his ability to fight for and nail down a place.
Post by: supersub on June 28, 2013, 09:08:53 AM
Hasn't been picked, doesn't have the desire to play county football, doesn't want to play under the management and has a bad knee (as far as I am aware) - think Armagh are better off concentrating on what they have available.
Post by: Feckitt on June 29, 2013, 10:27:41 AM
Cannot find anywhere the prices for this game.  Are kids free into the stand or just the terrace?  How much for adults into the stand?  £12,£15,£20?  Is there any sort of game before the main match?
Post by: maddog on June 30, 2013, 11:38:28 AM
Is this televised at all or anyone know of any web links ?
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2013, 03:37:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 25, 2013, 03:46:11 PM
Wicklow aren't up to much, particularly outside Aughrim. I can see a 6+ coming for Armagh if they've got their shooting boots on.

Thanks you's in the mail, please.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 30, 2013, 03:48:18 PM
That is some scoring. Sam for Armagh?
Post by: balladmaker on June 30, 2013, 04:04:21 PM
No, but Armagh could claim a scalp or two before the year is out.
Post by: Oraisteach on June 30, 2013, 05:11:10 PM
Got in in time to hear the 2nd half, so basically I missed the match.  Felt bad for the Wicklow fans who travelled so far for two points.
In the part that I missed, did Armagh do anything different tactically to make anyone think that they could still win another match or two, or did Wicklow play so poorly that there's no way to tell? 
Post by: David McKeown on June 30, 2013, 05:31:26 PM
A bit of both. Armagh played with McKeever as sweeper and never looked like conceding and played some good football at times but still made a lot of mistakes and could really do with more from half forward line.

The two fortiuous goals at the start really knocked the stuffing from Wicklow so its hard to tell. Armagh are better than they were against Cavan but not as good as they appeared today.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 30, 2013, 05:44:53 PM
Armagh good Wicklow dire they just didn't want to know. Armagh are setup for good run in the  qualifers just need to avoid Tyrone.
Post by: Sheedy on June 30, 2013, 05:49:25 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 30, 2013, 05:44:53 PM
Armagh good Wicklow dire they just didn't want to know. Armagh are setup for good run in the  qualifers just need to avoid Tyrone.
Armagh cant play tyrone in next round. winners of qualifers play losing semi finalists in tomorrows draw.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 30, 2013, 06:00:11 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 30, 2013, 05:49:25 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 30, 2013, 05:44:53 PM
Armagh cant play tyrone in next round. winners of qualifers play losing semi finalists in tomorrows draw.
I know who Armagh can or can't play in round 2 however they could be paired against Tyrone in round 3.
Post by: ardchieftain on June 30, 2013, 06:07:44 PM
If Armagh do get past the next round why be afraid of meeting tyrone? Bring them on.
Armagh were excellent at times today, some great tackling all over the pitch and some very good score taking. Wicklow were poor but Armagh's intensity was a factor in that. We're getting there.
Post by: Oraisteach on June 30, 2013, 06:08:03 PM
Capt., we're not a team that can afford to look that far ahead.  Rapidly running out of teams I'd feel comfortable playing.
Post by: illdecide on June 30, 2013, 06:12:12 PM
Armagh were decent but Wicklow were about as poor as u'd see anywhere. Fair enough the goals at the start done the damage but only scoring 2pts against our defense ;).

Anway that aside why can we not get Tyrone in the next round? i was under the impression Cavan was only team we couldn't get as we've already played them.
Post by: armaghniac on June 30, 2013, 06:28:41 PM
We now play the losers of the semis, I think we could get Cavan, but not Tyrone.

Improved today, but Wicklow were worse. We haven't seen the like since the Rossies in 08.

Tackling was better, Morgan very much to the fore here, but Wicklow had no intensity.
Post by: Itchy on June 30, 2013, 06:44:29 PM
Clearly armagh only won due to naive tactics from Wicklow. If Wicklow's tactics were right they would have won.
Post by: T Fearon on June 30, 2013, 07:44:40 PM
The match lasted for three minutes,during which time Jamie had scored two goals,at which stage Wicklow sent the towel in with a rocket launcher.A "game" from which Armagh learned nothing,and a big win which will do nothing except perhaps lead to a false sense of over confidence.

Would have much preferred a tense struggle and Armagh coming out with a two point win after their mettle was well and truly tested.
Post by: David McKeown on June 30, 2013, 07:56:28 PM
Quote from: AFS on June 30, 2013, 07:37:54 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 30, 2013, 05:31:26 PM
A bit of both. Armagh played with McKeever as sweeper and never looked like conceding and played some good football at times but still made a lot of mistakes and could really do with more from half forward line.

The two fortiuous goals at the start really knocked the stuffing from Wicklow so its hard to tell. Armagh are better than they were against Cavan but not as good as they appeared today.

Thought Dyas and C Rafferty were two of our best players. T Kernan roaming around that line did pretty well too.

Difficult to find many faults at all today. The only real disappointment was the pathetic challenge put forward by Wicklow. A convincing win was what we needed, but that was too handy. Next weekend should be more informative.

Id agree they had good games but most of raffertys and dyas best work was done in other areas and left the half forward line very empty particularly in the second half.
Post by: Orior on June 30, 2013, 08:06:14 PM
I think Armagh would still have beaten Wicklow if they had defended and we had not not the two goal start.

Only disappointment is that we didnt pick up a couple more goals in the second half.
Post by: regal on June 30, 2013, 08:21:44 PM
I dont think we can play cavan in the next round. That leaves 7 possible contenders. In the order I would like to get I would say:

1 - roscommon (there shouldn't be any complacancy this time)
2 - waterford
3 - leitrim (I think they take friendlies more seriously than qualifiers)
4 - clare
5 - wexford
6 - down
7 - kildare
Post by: naka on June 30, 2013, 10:22:09 PM
Armagh shouldn't be confident against anyone, lets hope they get a home game and avoid Kildare or the mourne men.
Post by: comethekingdom on June 30, 2013, 10:32:59 PM
Grimley havin a right go at Brolly on TSG! About time!!
Post by: theticklemister on June 30, 2013, 10:35:09 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on June 30, 2013, 10:32:59 PM
Bromley havin a right go at Brolly on TSG! About time!!

speak to me.............................
Post by: regal on June 30, 2013, 10:37:38 PM
Good man grimbo. Brolley better lock his Malone Road doors tonight! Grimbo's gonna get ya, grimbo's gonna get ya!
Post by: machaman on June 30, 2013, 10:38:24 PM
Grimley having a go at Brolly shows how bitter he is. And how pathetic he is. Looks like he has listened to him though given the way Armagh were set up today. The sooner he moves on the better. Sorry but he's not the right man for Armagh football.
Post by: theticklemister on June 30, 2013, 10:46:57 PM
Quote from: machaman on June 30, 2013, 10:38:24 PM
Grimley having a go at Brolly shows how bitter he is. And how pathetic he is. Looks like he has listened to him though given the way Armagh were set up today. The sooner he moves on the better. Sorry but he's not the right man for Armagh football.

What was said??????????!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 30, 2013, 10:49:21 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on June 30, 2013, 10:46:57 PM
Quote from: machaman on June 30, 2013, 10:38:24 PM

What was said??????????!!

Basically that Brolly was not an analyst just an entertainer, that unlike O'Rourke he can't really comment as he never managed any team and that he was like a child in the school yard who got his kicks by making the other kids laugh at another child.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 30, 2013, 10:52:38 PM
That's a slightly more articulate version. Brolly out of order but grimley needs to let it go.

Armagh should be a match for a lot of teams if they sort themselves. A tougher game will tell if they have though.
Post by: BennyCake on June 30, 2013, 10:59:36 PM
Note to Grimley : do your talking on the sideline. When you do what you did tonight, you're as bad as Brolly. Focus on your team and the next game. Forget about Brolly.
Post by: Oraisteach on June 30, 2013, 11:10:21 PM
Didn't see it myself, but if BCB's summary is right, then Grimley doesn't come out of it well.  As a manager, he really should avoid table tennis matches with commentators.  Let his on-the-field results be his response, and to imply that he is like a victimised child and that Brolly is the bully is itself a little childish.  And to suggest that Brolly has no place commenting is nuts.  It's not as if Brolly is engaged in rocket surgery.  Tons of people on this site, most of whom have not managed a team I'd imagine, have drawn attention to the naivete of his defensive tactics.  He should ignore Brolly, make the appropriate changes and think about how he's going to win the next game.  I hope for Brolly's sake, though, that he never bumps into PG when he's out and and about.  That'd be one rolled-up Brolly.
Post by: emmetryan on June 30, 2013, 11:16:21 PM
I thought this game was a pick'em. Extremely glad I didn't put money on Wicklow!
Post by: T Fearon on June 30, 2013, 11:38:22 PM
Rocket Surgery? Is that available on the NHS? Surely it was either brain surgery or rocket science you were looking for? ;D
Post by: armaghniac on June 30, 2013, 11:46:10 PM
Brolly thinks he is engaging in brain science!
Post by: emmetryan on June 30, 2013, 11:48:01 PM
Well seeing Joe perform surgery on a rocket would definitely be exciting.
Post by: Oraisteach on June 30, 2013, 11:55:01 PM
No, Tony, it was deliberate but clearly not in the least amusing.
Post by: David McKeown on July 01, 2013, 12:10:20 AM
I thought we could draw Cavan certainly been able to draw the team that put you out in the last few years.  I know initially you couldnt but I thought that rule changed years ago
Post by: hobit hunter on July 01, 2013, 01:57:16 AM
What a total misrepresentation of the match today this thread has produced. Reading the complete nonsense quoted really makes you wonder what peoples real motives are with respect to armagh football.  I was very very encouraged with the way we played today. Was it against the best in the country? No. But it was a county that we struggled to beat not that long ago.

What happened today was great to see, armagh winning at home. I cannot understand anyone who can take a negative view of what they saw? Although the opposition were poor they still had to be beaten and I thought that our full back line was as good and cohesive as it has been all season. Morgan was like a man possessed and donaghy was superb at fb once again, although he spent little time there. I thought that the back 6 as a whole we a much tighter unit and look to be settling a bit.  Same too for midfield, where lavery and harold put I a good shift and won that battle hands down.  However. Special praise has to go to our hf line. My god, I've never seen a more promising display from both 10 and 12 with both rafferty's offering something that armagh haven't had in a long time, real hf's who can beat their men and take a score.  Roll in jamie and tony's perf from ff and it was a great team effort.

Well done the team. Well done pg. Any begrudgers? Go post somewhere else. Its about time that we got behind this team and closed the shop on the rest of the country who are only delighted to report on armagh in fighting.  Load of balls. We're in great shape.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 02:33:27 AM
Quote from: hobit hunter on July 01, 2013, 01:57:16 AM
What a total misrepresentation of the match today this thread has produced. Reading the complete nonsense quoted really makes you wonder what peoples real motives are with respect to armagh football.  I was very very encouraged with the way we played today. Was it against the best in the country? No. But it was a county that we struggled to beat not that long ago.

What happened today was great to see, armagh winning at home. I cannot understand anyone who can take a negative view of what they saw? Although the opposition were poor they still had to be beaten and I thought that our full back line was as good and cohesive as it has been all season. Morgan was like a man possessed and donaghy was superb at fb once again, although he spent little time there. I thought that the back 6 as a whole we a much tighter unit and look to be settling a bit.  Same too for midfield, where lavery and harold put I a good shift and won that battle hands down.  However. Special praise has to go to our hf line. My god, I've never seen a more promising display from both 10 and 12 with both rafferty's offering something that armagh haven't had in a long time, real hf's who can beat their men and take a score.  Roll in jamie and tony's perf from ff and it was a great team effort.

Well done the team. Well done pg. Any begrudgers? Go post somewhere else. Its about time that we got behind this team and closed the shop on the rest of the country who are only delighted to report on armagh in fighting.  Load of balls. We're in great shape.

The beast has be re-released. Apples in full growth. Insert equally poor metaphor here.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 01, 2013, 08:28:11 AM
Quote from: hobit hunter on July 01, 2013, 01:57:16 AM

Well said Grimbo!