Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: DrinkingHarp on June 10, 2013, 07:10:39 PM

Title: US Open 2013
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 10, 2013, 07:10:39 PM
Here are the latest odds

It's U.S. Open week, and odds continue to change for who is expected to win this second major championship of 2013.
The last time we looked he was a 7/2 favorite and then moved to a 9/2 favorite after his play at Memorial, and it looks like the final numbers will have Woods at 4/1.
Some odds we like? Phil Mickelson at 20/1 doesn't seem like a bad value after his play at the St. Jude, and I don't hate Dustin Johnson at 40/1 considering he got a good warm-up last week as well.
What value do you see here? Odds are after the jump.

ODDS TO WIN:
TIGER WOODS 4/1
RORY McILROY 20/1
PHIL MICKELSON 20/1
ADAM SCOTT 20/1
MATT KUCHAR 20/1
LEE WESTWOOD 25/1
GRAEME McDOWELL 25/1
JUSTIN ROSE 25/1
BRANDT SNEDEKER 30/1
LUKE DONALD 30/1
CHARL SCHWARTZEL 30/1
DUSTIN JOHNSON 40/1
SERGIO GARCIA 40/1
JASON DAY 40/1
KEEGAN BRADLEY 40/1
STEVE STRICKER 40/1
JASON DUFNER 40/1
JIM FURYK 40/1
WEBB SIMPSON 40/1
LOUIS OOSTHUIZEN 50/1
HUNTER MAHAN 50/1
BUBBA WATSON 60/1
RICKIE FOWLER 60/1
NICK WATNEY 80/1
IAN POULTER 80/1
THORBJORN OLESEN 100/1
BILL HAAS 80/1
BO VAN PELT 80/1
MARTIN KAYMER 80/1
PETER HANSON 80/1
HENRIK STENSON 60/1
PADRAIG HARRINGTON 60/1
ANGEL CABRERA 60/1
TIM CLARK 80/1
ERNIE ELS 80/1
FREDDIE JACOBSON 125/1
GEOFF OGILVY 150/1
NICOLAS COLSAERTS 125/1
K.J. CHOI 125/1
ZACH JOHNSON 60/1
MARTIN LAIRD 125/1
RYAN MOORE 100/1
FRANCESCO MOLINARI 100/1
MATTEO MANASSERO 60/1
GONZALO FERNANDEZ-CASTANO 200/1
STEWART CINK 150/1
AARON BADDELEY 250/1
BRANDEN GRACE 150/1
DAVID TOMS 150/1
JOHN SENDEN 150/1
CARL PETTERSSON 150/1
GEORGE COETZEE 150/1
ROBERT GARRIGUS 150/1
SCOTT PIERCY 150/1
Y.E. YANG 200/1
JOHN HUH 150/1
MARCEL SIEM 200/1
MARC LEISHMAN 125/1
MICHAEL THOMPSON 150/1
RUSSELL HENLEY 125/1
LUCAS GLOVER 150/1
KEVIN CHAPPELL 80/1
LUKE GUTHRIE 250/1
ROBERT KARLSSON 150/1
KEVIN STREELMAN 100/1
PAUL LAWRIE 250/1
MARCUS FRASER 300/1
KYLE STANLEY 150/1
PAUL CASEY 200/1
JAMIE DONALDSON 250/1
DARREN CLARKE 300/1
JOHN PETERSON 300/1
CASEY WITTENBERG 250/1
HIROYUKI FUJITA 500/1
MICHAEL CAMPBELL 500/1
MICHAEL WEAVER 1000/1
STEVEN FOX 2000/1
FIELD (all others) 8/1

Just for pure return a 10 on Petterson, Leishman, Baddeley or YE Yang would not seem to be out of place.

Title: Re: US Open 2013
Post by: Count 10 on June 10, 2013, 07:43:25 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on June 10, 2013, 07:10:39 PM
Here are the latest odds

It's U.S. Open week, and odds continue to change for who is expected to win this second major championship of 2013.
The last time we looked he was a 7/2 favorite and then moved to a 9/2 favorite after his play at Memorial, and it looks like the final numbers will have Woods at 4/1.
Some odds we like? Phil Mickelson at 20/1 doesn't seem like a bad value after his play at the St. Jude, and I don't hate Dustin Johnson at 40/1 considering he got a good warm-up last week as well.
What value do you see here? Odds are after the jump.

ODDS TO WIN:
TIGER WOODS 4/1
RORY McILROY 20/1
PHIL MICKELSON 20/1
ADAM SCOTT 20/1
MATT KUCHAR 20/1
LEE WESTWOOD 25/1
GRAEME McDOWELL 25/1
JUSTIN ROSE 25/1
BRANDT SNEDEKER 30/1
LUKE DONALD 30/1
CHARL SCHWARTZEL 30/1
DUSTIN JOHNSON 40/1
SERGIO GARCIA 40/1
JASON DAY 40/1
KEEGAN BRADLEY 40/1
STEVE STRICKER 40/1
JASON DUFNER 40/1
JIM FURYK 40/1
WEBB SIMPSON 40/1
LOUIS OOSTHUIZEN 50/1
HUNTER MAHAN 50/1
BUBBA WATSON 60/1
RICKIE FOWLER 60/1
NICK WATNEY 80/1
IAN POULTER 80/1
THORBJORN OLESEN 100/1
BILL HAAS 80/1
BO VAN PELT 80/1
MARTIN KAYMER 80/1
PETER HANSON 80/1
HENRIK STENSON 60/1
PADRAIG HARRINGTON 60/1
ANGEL CABRERA 60/1
TIM CLARK 80/1
ERNIE ELS 80/1
FREDDIE JACOBSON 125/1
GEOFF OGILVY 150/1
NICOLAS COLSAERTS 125/1
K.J. CHOI 125/1
ZACH JOHNSON 60/1
MARTIN LAIRD 125/1
RYAN MOORE 100/1
FRANCESCO MOLINARI 100/1
MATTEO MANASSERO 60/1
GONZALO FERNANDEZ-CASTANO 200/1
STEWART CINK 150/1
AARON BADDELEY 250/1
BRANDEN GRACE 150/1
DAVID TOMS 150/1
JOHN SENDEN 150/1
CARL PETTERSSON 150/1
GEORGE COETZEE 150/1
ROBERT GARRIGUS 150/1
SCOTT PIERCY 150/1
Y.E. YANG 200/1
JOHN HUH 150/1
MARCEL SIEM 200/1
MARC LEISHMAN 125/1
MICHAEL THOMPSON 150/1
RUSSELL HENLEY 125/1
LUCAS GLOVER 150/1
KEVIN CHAPPELL 80/1
LUKE GUTHRIE 250/1
ROBERT KARLSSON 150/1
KEVIN STREELMAN 100/1
PAUL LAWRIE 250/1
MARCUS FRASER 300/1
KYLE STANLEY 150/1
PAUL CASEY 200/1
JAMIE DONALDSON 250/1
DARREN CLARKE 300/1
JOHN PETERSON 300/1
CASEY WITTENBERG 250/1
HIROYUKI FUJITA 500/1
MICHAEL CAMPBELL 500/1
MICHAEL WEAVER 1000/1
STEVEN FOX 2000/1
FIELD (all others) 8/1

Just for pure return a 10 on Petterson, Leishman, Baddeley or YE Yang would not seem to be out of place.

Those in bold will be my picks for a few e/w bets
Post by: Orior on June 10, 2013, 08:40:44 PM
They're having a laugh with Rory McIlroy at 20/1.

I would make Rory a strong favourite to miss the cut.
Post by: laoislad on June 10, 2013, 09:04:55 PM
Manassero playing well at the moment and worth a each way bet @ 60/1
Will also put a few on Luke Donald, Jason Day,GMac and Schwartzel.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 10, 2013, 10:22:43 PM
QuoteHaas 80/1
Day 40/1
Olesen 100/1
Dufner 40/1
McDowell 25/1

Fill your boots  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on June 10, 2013, 10:41:31 PM
I think it's an absolute fookin' lottery.
Post by: southdown on June 11, 2013, 09:06:15 AM
Iv given up trying to predict who will win golf tournaments.  About 30 of those lads could win it without any eyebrows being raise.
Post by: Canalman on June 11, 2013, 09:24:09 AM
Will go for Ricky Fowler and Dustin Johnson.

Read in paper that course is "short" so in theory the whambangers should be reigned in by the more skilful short iron players.
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 11, 2013, 10:04:18 AM
Quote from: Canalman on June 11, 2013, 09:24:09 AM

Read in paper that course is "short" so in theory the whambangers should be reigned in by the more skilful short iron players.

And you are backing Dustin Johnson after that quote. Think he is number one or two in driving disance.
Post by: screenexile on June 11, 2013, 10:31:20 AM
All about the short game lads. Mickelson, G-Mac, Rose and Donald would be my shouts.
Post by: Canalman on June 11, 2013, 10:33:09 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 11, 2013, 10:04:18 AM

And you are backing Dustin Johnson after that quote. Think he is number one or two in driving disance.

Yep. A class golfer imvho who one day will swallow up a major at his ease. I have been wrong about him though for quiet a while now but still think he is worth a 40/1 flutter. His short game is very good, if  only he could only do away with his "one nightmare hole "he does in every major so far.
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 11, 2013, 10:42:29 AM
Quote from: Canalman on June 11, 2013, 10:33:09 AM

Yep. A class golfer imvho who one day will swallow up a major at his ease. I have been wrong about him though for quiet a while now but still think he is worth a 40/1 flutter. His short game is very good, if  only he could only do away with his "one nightmare hole "he does in every major so far.

Don't get me wrong I am not questioning your choice more an observation about the course and the shorter hitter and in the same breath you backing DJ. I have backed him in the past, you might remember USPGA 2010 and a bunker incident! I was nearly crying!
Post by: Megaman on June 11, 2013, 10:53:31 AM
JASON DAY 40/1
JIM FURYK 40/1
WEBB SIMPSON 40/1
MARTIN KAYMER 80/1
CARL PETTERSSON 150/1

Post by: Canalman on June 11, 2013, 10:58:25 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 11, 2013, 10:42:29 AM
Quote from: Canalman on June 11, 2013, 10:33:09 AM

Don't get me wrong I am not questioning your choice more an observation about the course and the shorter hitter and in the same breath you backing DJ. I have backed him in the past, you might remember USPGA 2010 and a bunker incident! I was nearly crying!

No probs GK. I remember it well as I do his slice in the last round of last year's British Open. Even I would have been embarassed at that shot.
Still will persevere with him.

Still hurting from backing Cabrera to win the US Masters earlier this year.
Post by: deiseach on June 11, 2013, 11:30:26 AM
Quote from: Canalman on June 11, 2013, 10:58:25 AM
Still hurting from backing Cabrera to win the US Masters earlier this year.

I'd say that hurt all right. Adam Scott holding his nerve? You'd have gotten generous odds on that.
Post by: Rois on June 11, 2013, 11:48:44 AM
Just cause the golf heads are in this thread - tickets went on sale yesterday for Ryder Cup practice days for 2014, plus the lottery for match day tickets opened too (not drawn until July). 
Post by: Minder on June 11, 2013, 07:01:46 PM
Paddy Power are paying 7 places but bet has to be placed on mobile.
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 11, 2013, 07:34:48 PM
Good spot Minder

I'm going Kj 125/1
Zach J 80/1
Henrik 70/1
Tim Clarke 90/1
Matteo Manso 70/1

Post by: heganboy on June 11, 2013, 08:24:08 PM
colsaerts is a good each way bet as I think is wee Louis. worth a wee flyer may be Thorbjorn Olesen, and if you can get it Gavin Hall the US amateur to make the cut..
Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2013, 09:04:05 PM
Big Darren at 300 looks good. That means he's lost 3 stone.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 11, 2013, 09:11:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 11, 2013, 09:04:05 PM
You have had the last bit of goodness from Darren.
Post by: Rossie11 on June 11, 2013, 10:34:00 PM
Weather is going to play a huge part in the weekend. If it pours as expected the likes of McIlroy and Johnston have a great chance as the fairways will be slower and ball wont run into the rough which is supposed to be dire.
My few for an interest
Mickelson
Gmac     
Ryan Moore
Carl Pettersson
Zach Johnson
David Lingmerth top 20 10/1
Post by: Count 10 on June 13, 2013, 08:45:50 PM
Irish amateur Kevin Phelan -1 through 10
Post by: Count 10 on June 13, 2013, 08:48:35 PM
Up to date leader board, Sergio and Manassero both +5 through 5

http://www.majorschampionships.com/us-open/leaderboard.html
Post by: laoislad on June 13, 2013, 08:58:48 PM
Quote from: Count 10 on June 13, 2013, 08:45:50 PM
Irish amateur Kevin Phelan -1 through 10

In Laois he be called Kevin Wheylan.
Post by: Oraisteach on June 13, 2013, 08:59:36 PM
At -1, Phelan's in 3rd
Post by: laoislad on June 13, 2013, 09:11:58 PM
What's up with the flag stick flags?
Post by: glens abu on June 13, 2013, 09:13:51 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 13, 2013, 09:11:58 PM
What's up with the flag stick flags?

They don't use flags,it's a protest against the flag being removed from City Hall in Belfast it's twin city
Post by: laoislad on June 13, 2013, 11:04:01 PM
Would someone please shut Monty up.
Post by: Minder on June 14, 2013, 09:09:39 PM
Carnage at the US Open
Post by: laoislad on June 14, 2013, 09:38:30 PM
What's happening?
Post by: Minder on June 14, 2013, 09:40:06 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 14, 2013, 09:38:30 PM
What's happening?

Average round today is 75
Post by: ONeill on June 14, 2013, 09:52:48 PM
Ah that's real golf
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 14, 2013, 09:53:40 PM
Big Clarkie will be at the airport. His 3-ball with Toms and Olazabal finished a combined 43 over today  :'(
Post by: ONeill on June 14, 2013, 09:54:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 14, 2013, 09:53:40 PM
Big Clarkie will be at the airport. His 3-ball with Toms and Olazabal finished a combined 43 over today  :'(

He should've called it a day after the British Open.
Post by: haveaharp on June 14, 2013, 10:37:17 PM
Longshot here but is there any link to watch online ?
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 14, 2013, 10:47:00 PM
Quote from: haveaharp on June 14, 2013, 10:37:17 PM
Longshot here but is there any link to watch online ?

http://www.firstrow1.eu/sport/golf.html
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 15, 2013, 07:24:26 PM
Sergio +8 thru 5 holes on todays start with a 10 on the 15th!! He is now +12 and plenty of "fried chicken" remarks thrown his way.

Post by: laoislad on June 16, 2013, 08:26:49 PM
Rory the plank breaking his club on purpose.
Post by: Kidder81 on June 16, 2013, 08:29:53 PM
He is a total brat
Post by: 5 Sams on June 16, 2013, 08:53:49 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on June 16, 2013, 08:29:53 PM
He is a total brat

Yiz wouldn't listen to me....arsehole.
Post by: Sandy Hill on June 16, 2013, 09:22:24 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 16, 2013, 08:53:49 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on June 16, 2013, 08:29:53 PM
He is a total brat

Yiz wouldn't listen to me....arsehole.

+1 at least.  Can't stand the wee bollix!!
Post by: Orior on June 16, 2013, 09:26:53 PM
It would be worse if he didnt care.

My concern would be his plan to address his lack of form. He needs to enter more tournaments, and learn how to putt well when under pressure.
Post by: whitegoodman on June 16, 2013, 09:52:16 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 16, 2013, 09:26:53 PM
It would be worse if he didnt care.

My concern would be his plan to address his lack of form. He needs to enter more tournaments, and learn how to putt well when under pressure.

Agreed, he is 23 years of age for fick sake. He is going to show a bit of immaturity and petulance, we all have at that age, he is just showing it in the public eye.

So he broke a club, compare that to the antics of some the superstars in premier league  or even the great tiger woods.

Its one of the irish worse trats that we hate to see our own do well!!!!!
Post by: AQMP on June 16, 2013, 09:57:12 PM
He really is turning into a bit of an arsehole.  I'll be glad when he plays for GB at the Olympics!
Post by: laoislad on June 16, 2013, 10:32:23 PM
Jason Dufner is a dead ringer for Shane Lowry.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 16, 2013, 11:54:25 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 11, 2013, 10:31:20 AM
All about the short game lads. Mickelson, G-Mac, Rose and Donald would be my shouts.

did you put your money on ? great shout all the same - donald in with a chance at start of day too
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 16, 2013, 11:58:18 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 16, 2013, 11:56:35 PM
Rose needs to keep it together at the last and I'd say he's home.

but he is a brit, so unlikely   ;)

hope he does all the same
Post by: ONeill on June 17, 2013, 12:12:46 AM
I can't stand the fcuker. Don't know why.
Post by: give her dixie on June 17, 2013, 12:15:39 AM
Great finish
Post by: laoislad on June 17, 2013, 12:30:44 AM
Delighted for him. Always liked him.
Post by: Orior on June 17, 2013, 12:34:28 AM
Montgomery reminding everyone that McDowell and McIlroy are not British. Woo-hoo!
Post by: mouview on June 17, 2013, 12:34:36 AM
Interestingly, Sky Comms claiming a first British win since Jacklin in 1970. What does that say about us?
Post by: ONeill on June 17, 2013, 12:37:40 AM
WE EXIST
Post by: BennyHarp on June 17, 2013, 09:33:57 AM
Quote from: mouview on June 17, 2013, 12:34:36 AM
Interestingly, Sky Comms claiming a first British win since Jacklin in 1970. What does that say about us?

Where they not claiming the first English win?
Post by: deiseach on June 17, 2013, 09:41:16 AM
Justin Rose, Kevin Pietersen, Jonathan Trott . . . is there any successful white Saffer sportsman the English won't claim as their own?
Post by: Orior on June 17, 2013, 09:44:15 AM
Rose is not Engerlish?
Post by: ludermor on June 17, 2013, 09:53:56 AM
Zola Budd?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 17, 2013, 10:00:53 AM
Quote from: Orior on June 17, 2013, 09:44:15 AM
Rose is not Engerlish?

Born in Johannesburg and moved to engerland.
Post by: deiseach on June 17, 2013, 10:21:59 AM
Mike Catt's another one. Remember all the Find An Irishman jokes? Shameless.
Post by: mouview on June 17, 2013, 10:25:13 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 17, 2013, 10:00:53 AM
Rose is not Engerlish?

Does that mean then that we can't claim amateur Kevin Phelan as one of our own? Born in NY, lived here until he was 9, moved to States. Rose is as English as an English rose. Fair play to him.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 17, 2013, 10:30:08 AM
Quote from: mouview on June 17, 2013, 10:25:13 AM
Rose is not Engerlish?

Does that mean then that we can't claim amateur Kevin Phelan as one of our own? Born in NY, lived here until he was 9, moved to States. Rose is as English as an English rose. Fair play to him.

You can claim whoever the hell you like, I am simply stating a fact.
Post by: ludermor on June 17, 2013, 10:33:53 AM
"Being born in a stable'' ...........
Post by: deiseach on June 17, 2013, 10:36:46 AM
Rose is not Engerlish?

Ah look. I'm being flippant. Justin seems like a thorough gent, I'm pleased for him.
Post by: deiseach on June 17, 2013, 10:39:19 AM
Incidentally, Kevin Phelan's Twitter account is @KPhelanDeise (https://twitter.com/KPhelanDeise).
Post by: screenexile on June 17, 2013, 10:47:50 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on June 16, 2013, 11:54:25 PM

did you put your money on ? great shout all the same - donald in with a chance at start of day too

Picked the wrong f**king 2!!! Had Donald and and G-Mac done instead of Phil and Rose . . . I am a twat!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 17, 2013, 11:32:01 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 17, 2013, 10:47:50 AM

Picked the wrong f**king 2!!! Had Donald and and G-Mac done instead of Phil and Rose . . . I am a t**t!!
I know I shouldn't laugh...  ;D I thought you would be on this morning gloating!

I had Fowler, Donald and Snedeker on small e/w punts. Useless bastards the lot of them.
Post by: cornerback on June 17, 2013, 11:36:27 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 17, 2013, 11:32:01 AM
Quote from: screenexile on June 17, 2013, 10:47:50 AM

Picked the wrong f**king 2!!! Had Donald and and G-Mac done instead of Phil and Rose . . . I am a t**t!!
I know I shouldn't laugh...  ;D I thought you would be on this morning gloating!

I had Fowler, Donald and Snedeker on small e/w punts. Useless b**tards the lot of them.

I had Gmac, Snedeker & Kuchar - useless!  Had been on Stricker a few times recently but didn't back him this time so glad he fell away...

Brother-inlaw had Mickelson & Rose!!

Post by: Megaman on June 17, 2013, 11:50:52 AM
Quote from: Megaman on June 11, 2013, 10:53:31 AM
JASON DAY 40/1
JIM FURYK 40/1
WEBB SIMPSON 40/1
MARTIN KAYMER 80/1
CARL PETTERSSON 150/1

Well if i had of bothered going to the bookies i might have got something back.

Never was a big fan of Rose (not really sure why either), but well done to him.

Cant believe some of the wedge shots Mickelson hit on the back nine.
Post by: Hardy on June 17, 2013, 12:34:08 PM
Rose is not Engerlish?

He's been in the US since he was 9? I heard him on the radio and he sounds like John Mullane.
Post by: Minder on June 17, 2013, 01:07:20 PM
Had Duffner 55/1 & Colsaerts 150/1, Colsaerts fairly led me down the garden path, was in the money pretty much all week until the 18th on Saturday when he dropped in a treble bogey.
Post by: deiseach on June 17, 2013, 01:12:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 17, 2013, 12:34:08 PM
He's been in the US since he was 9? I heard him on the radio and he sounds like John Mullane.

Does he loves his kownty?
Post by: Orior on June 17, 2013, 01:19:26 PM
Jason Dufner raging with himself after missing a 2 foot par putt:
(http://www.askthebookie.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/jason-dufner.jpg)

Jason Dufner estatic and overjoyed after sinking a 20 footer for an eagle:
(http://www.askthebookie.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/jason-dufner.jpg)
Post by: screenexile on June 17, 2013, 02:28:46 PM
In fairness I think I saw Dufner launch his club in the creek at a stage . . . Imagine what it would be like for an average 15 handicapper trying to go round that!! You'd do a lot worse shit than McIlroy or Dufner got up to!
Post by: heganboy on June 17, 2013, 02:51:19 PM
in case it was ever in doubt ignore any predictions I make relating to golf...

Quotecolsaerts is a good each way bet as I think is wee Louis. worth a wee flyer may be Thorbjorn Olesen, and if you can get it Gavin Hall the US amateur to make the cut..

shite, shite, shite and shite...

just to be clear colsearts was 10th. Louis didn't even play, olesen was 18 over after 2 rounds (great time to try and flatten out your golf swing thorbjorn!) and Hall didn't make the cut.
Post by: deiseach on June 17, 2013, 03:02:17 PM
Quote from: southdown on June 11, 2013, 09:06:15 AM
Iv given up trying to predict who will win golf tournaments.  About 30 of those lads could win it without any eyebrows being raise.

Never a truer word spoken.
Post by: Hardy on June 17, 2013, 03:50:18 PM
Quote from: deiseach on June 17, 2013, 01:12:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 17, 2013, 12:34:08 PM

Does he loves his kownty?

He does and he loves his koontry teeuw.
Post by: Puckoon on June 17, 2013, 04:39:49 PM

Even NBC got it right that it's the first English player to win a major since Faldo in 1996.
Post by: deiseach on June 17, 2013, 05:09:57 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 17, 2013, 04:39:49 PM

Even NBC got it right that it's the first English player to win a major since Faldo in 1996.

Saying "a first British win since Jacklin in 1970" is correct seeing as neither McDowell or McIlroy is British. Then again, neither is Rose *ducks*
Post by: Orior on June 17, 2013, 05:16:10 PM
Quote from: deiseach on June 17, 2013, 05:09:57 PM

Saying "a first British win since Jacklin in 1970" is correct seeing as neither McDowell or McIlroy is British. Then again, neither is Rose *ducks*

FORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Puckoon on June 17, 2013, 06:38:06 PM
Although I'm a huge Phil fan I was happy enough to see Rose win it. Thought he spoke very well after the presentation and boy, what a swing.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 17, 2013, 07:00:32 PM
Quote from: deiseach on June 17, 2013, 05:09:57 PM

BBC sport had it right from the start as well.