GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:04:41 AM

Title: Paul Grimley - Statement to Armagh fans
Post by: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:04:41 AM
" Paul Grimley has contacted me this evening to relay this personal statement to YOU the fans.

To all Armagh supporters as Manager of our senior Team I am making a short statement in reference to our senior championship match v Cavan last Sunday, firstly let me apologise to all our loyal supporters and to our county board whom put there faith in me 6 months ago, if you feel I have let you down with the way we approached the game with reference to our tactics, let me sincerely say sorry for the hurt I have caused, I met with the players and management last night and I conveyed the same in what was a very positive meeting, I am proud to manage a talented loyal committed bunch of lads whom where only doing what they were told last Sunday and no blame should be brought to bear on them nor my management team as I have a very astute team around me. In the form of an explanation as to what went wrong as you may or may not know, we have adopted a very attack minded approach from the start of the year, a high pressure high risk strategy which was practised throughout the league with limited success, but we will persist with our plan although we shall address the risk element of our tactic and plan B will arrive when plan A is polished as these need to be worked on over months if not years to get right, finally I hope that our players both young and the more seasoned lads can count on your continued support, as for my long term position no doubt that will be decided by our club delegates at year end.

Thank you for your patience

Kind regards

Paul Grimley
"

Posted on Armagh co.board's own forum tonight by the web administrator.

http://armaghgaa.net/forum/threads/paul-grimley-statement-to-the-fans.2850/#post-61846

Seems a nice man but I don't think there's any need to go this far. Time to move on and concentrate on the qualifiers in 6 weeks time.
Title: Re: Paul Grimley - Statement to Armagh fans
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 23, 2013, 12:07:52 AM
Is this a wind-up?
Post by: ONeill on May 23, 2013, 12:10:11 AM
The full stop is DEAD
Post by: omagh_gael on May 23, 2013, 12:12:33 AM
This is getting ridiculous, he is making an eejit of himself. Why not put the head down and work like fcuk for 5 weeks and let the football do the talking.
Post by: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:14:20 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 23, 2013, 12:07:52 AM
Is this a wind-up?

I wish. http://armaghgaa.net/forum/threads/paul-grimley-statement-to-the-fans.2850/#post-61844

Quote from: omagh_gael on May 23, 2013, 12:12:33 AM
This is getting ridiculous, he is making an eejit of himself. Why not put the head down and work like fcuk for 5 weeks and let the football do the talking.

Agree totally.
Post by: moysider on May 23, 2013, 12:15:59 AM

WTF. Surely you re not taking this seriously?
Post by: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:22:45 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 23, 2013, 12:15:59 AM

It's a genuine statement. Released on the county website tonight.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 23, 2013, 12:23:39 AM
Apart from the bad spelling and the complete lack of proper punctuation this is the greatest pile of poo I've read in a long time.

Jesus, if every time Longford played badly and the manager felt the need to release a statement there would be large areas of Brazil cleared.

Ridiculous thing to do if it's for real.
Post by: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:25:43 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 23, 2013, 12:23:39 AM
Apart from the bad spelling and the complete lack of proper punctuation this is the greatest pile of poo I've read in a long time.

Jesus, if every time Longford played badly and the manager felt the need to release a statement there would be large areas of Brazil cleared.

The co.board's web administrator released it on the fans forum tonight at Grimley's request.

http://armaghgaa.net/forum/threads/paul-grimley-statement-to-the-fans.2850/#post-61844
Post by: moysider on May 23, 2013, 12:34:33 AM
Quote from: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:22:45 AM

Well, its over then for Paul Grimley.

That has to be one of the worst errors of judgement of an intercounty manager I ve ever seen. I still think it s a joke. Childish.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 23, 2013, 12:39:37 AM
Car crash material, if genuine.
Post by: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:40:49 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 23, 2013, 12:34:33 AM
Quote from: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:22:45 AM

Well, its over then for Paul Grimley.

That has to be one of the worst errors of judgement of an intercounty manager I ve ever seen. I still think it s a joke. Childish.
Follow the link. The co.board's web administrator posted it.

We lost a game, there's no need for this sort of stuff. Move on and get the head down for 6 weeks!
Post by: Syferus on May 23, 2013, 12:41:51 AM
I doubt a statement will sink him, tactics that don't work will.

A nice sentiment but miss-timed and one that will end up being a stick to beat him with, even if we are in the heart of over-reaction theatre right now.

At least he's not a robot, I guess.
Post by: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:46:07 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 23, 2013, 12:41:51 AM
I doubt a statement will sink him, tactics that don't work will.

A nice sentiment but miss-timed and one that will end up being a stick to beat him with, even if we are in the heart of over-reaction theatre right now.

At least he's not a robot, I guess.

At least he genuinely cares, which is something. I would actually say the same for POR and McDonnell, our 2 previous managers, too.
A definite over reaction from fans and management alike since Sunday though.
Post by: Throw ball on May 23, 2013, 12:49:48 AM
He is a manager trying to detract criticism from his players. Many others have done similar. Only time will tell if he has played the right cards.
Post by: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:52:07 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 23, 2013, 12:49:48 AM
He is a manager trying to detract criticism from his players. Many others have done similar. Only time will tell if he has played the right cards.

Maybe. I wouldn't say the players have got much criticism though, it's mainly been aimed at management.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 23, 2013, 12:52:59 AM
Amazing stuff. My first thought was that it was a piss take as well. Obv not :-\ Can't blame Paddy on this one.
Post by: Throw ball on May 23, 2013, 12:57:14 AM
Quote from: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:52:07 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 23, 2013, 12:49:48 AM

Maybe. I wouldn't say the players have got much criticism though, it's mainly been aimed at management.

Maybe you should have read the county forum before admin had a number of posts - rightly - deleted.
Post by: ranch on May 23, 2013, 01:00:50 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 23, 2013, 12:52:59 AM
Amazing stuff. My first thought was that it was a piss take as well. Obv not :-\ Can't blame Paddy on this one.

I was one of the few who liked Paddy to be honest. Made mistakes but was hindered in any attempts to make genuine change by others it seemed.

Quote from: Throw ball on May 23, 2013, 12:57:14 AM

Maybe you should have read the county forum before admin had a number of posts - rightly - deleted.

True, I did see those posts. Judging by their content it seemed they were probably made by a few lads who are off school revising for exams.
Post by: T Fearon on May 23, 2013, 06:28:58 AM
This is so reminiscent of the old days 20 years ago,where an atrocity occurred followed by a statement admitting responsibility a few days later.Only this statement is signed by Paul Grimley instead of P O'Neill.
Post by: T Fearon on May 23, 2013, 06:44:17 AM
Proposed statement from Armagh fans in response.

Dear Paul.We have read your statement with incredulity.The grammar is on a par with your tactical nous.While we accept your sincerity we are at a loss to understand the incapacity to devise Plans A,B,C and D simultaneously,in order that any one of these can be employed at any time and at short notice in response to the set of circumstances faced.We urge you and your coaching team to multi task in this regard.

As to your final point that County delegates will decide the way forward at year end ( which in our case will be early July),quite simply this is precisely the cause of our deepest concern and apprehension!
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2013, 06:47:05 AM
At least banty is not involved.  It seems to be an iconic statement on the situation with the game as is, Modern midget counties like Cavan who only have 5 all Ireland s are not supposed to beat Armagh. Www.catch.yourself.on.co.uk
Post by: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 07:24:25 AM
He sounds like a big woman!

The brothers Grim.......more like the sisters Gay
Post by: bennydorano on May 23, 2013, 09:06:25 AM
This regime seems obsessed with openness & transparency (example - the fact Brendan Donaghy wasn't fit was released as a statement through social media on Saturday night). It's a fair change of pace as no County board has had more cloak & dagger moments  than Armagh's. His own shafting when Big Joe allegedly put the kibosh on his succession is obviously a huge factor. I'm neither surprised nor embarrassed by it, last Sunday is a different matter.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 23, 2013, 09:20:10 AM
Christ Armagh are away to f**k if this is true!!
Post by: DuffleKing on May 23, 2013, 09:21:55 AM
Who is the county web administrator?

EDIT - I think it is embarrassing Benny.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on May 23, 2013, 09:47:20 AM
That's mental. And the standard of punctuation and grammar makes Armagh County Board look stupid.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 23, 2013, 09:53:22 AM
Mmmmm... you have to admire his sentiments but concentrate on the f**king job never mind creating sound bites for keyboard warriors and journalists to attach themselves to for an afternoon of fun and frivolity. 
Post by: clarshack on May 23, 2013, 09:58:42 AM
cant believe that statement was released. was better off saying nothing.
Post by: orangeman on May 23, 2013, 10:00:38 AM
 ???

Brolly has really got to him.

I have a very astute team around me

I wonder are the PR team as astute ?
Post by: orangeman on May 23, 2013, 10:07:57 AM
Quote from: clarshack on May 23, 2013, 09:58:42 AM
cant believe that statement was released. was better off saying nothing.

Best do your talking on the pitch.
Post by: T Fearon on May 23, 2013, 10:15:58 AM
We now need a new manager and an Alistair Campbell like PR Guru to sort the mess out :(
Post by: naka on May 23, 2013, 10:32:04 AM
jez
cringeworthy
best to shut up and focus on 29 June.

PG must be getting some internal flak over sunday to come out with this
hopefully we get a run and see where we go but l foresee us getting either Down or donegal
Post by: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 10:38:52 AM
(https://si0.twimg.com/profile_images/2478346994/Joe-Brolly.jpg)

Brolly is looking something like this right now.
Post by: warrie on May 23, 2013, 11:28:19 AM
The man made a total BO****KS of himself last Sunday and anyone who watches matches regular could see he Mr Grimly was devoid yes devoid of any game plan. How in the name of god could a manager allow a full match to be played with just one on one with Dunne the man had not got a clue. He states they must get plan A working first before they try plan B we all know that you must always have a plan B if plan A is not working. He also goes on to say the plan B will take months if not years to work well his plan A will never work yet he intends to continue with it. Unless he draws a very weak team in the qualifiers Armagh's year will be short.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 23, 2013, 11:49:03 AM
It must be a bit disconcerting that to change a marker or drop a man back in front of your full back line could take months or a year to perfect.
Post by: NAG1 on May 23, 2013, 12:00:25 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 23, 2013, 11:49:03 AM
It must be a bit disconcerting that to change a marker or drop a man back in front of your full back line could take months or a year to perfect.

No no Omagh, it will take a year to perfect that only after plan A is polished. Which if they only get one more game this year could be god knows when, so dont be expecting plan B any time soon.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on May 23, 2013, 12:17:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 23, 2013, 10:15:58 AM
We now need a new manager and an Alistair Campbell like PR Guru to sort the mess out :(

Did AVB resign?

The shit that was being spouted on the county forum has obv forced his hand. Like Benny neither embarrassed or thrilled with statement and like BC1, get the frig on with it.
Post by: T Fearon on May 23, 2013, 12:32:53 PM
I demand that Paul Grimley addresses the nation on live tv this evening, immediately after the 6 0'Clock Angelus, the most solemn part of the day
Post by: T Fearon on May 23, 2013, 12:35:38 PM
I also think that all Armagh Fans need a Victim's Commissioner to address the hurt caused by our Senior Management team. Anyone know Willie Frazer's number?
Post by: rosnarun on May 23, 2013, 12:39:56 PM
I think hes spot on actally if you read the statement.
People are always going on about fundamental changes needed and that is what he is trying to do with an Armagh team that have been going nowhere for the last few years .
major fundamental changes take a long time and changing your manager after every loss is the surest way you get nowhere with a  multitude of half arsed quick fix solutions and celebrity managers who bleed County board dry before riding off into the sunset.
it always amazes me how little appetite most people have for real changes esp if there is any cost involved
Post by: T Fearon on May 23, 2013, 12:41:03 PM
The next logical step for Paul, after a proof reader has been identified of course!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22637808
Post by: Bingo on May 23, 2013, 12:42:15 PM
I'd say he rang his old pal The Banty and asked him for advice, it was a bad line though and he ended up here. The Banty was great at planting a story in the media and sticking a few names to it
Post by: armaghniac on May 23, 2013, 12:43:43 PM
This statement is a bit off the wall. The thing to do adjust the plan and beat a non minnow team in the qualifiers, talk is not going to do that.

(http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-ash3/50395_109464812406968_4572_n.jpg)

Post by: Canalman on May 23, 2013, 12:46:49 PM
The more I hear and see about this guy (PG) the more I like him. Respect his way of playing football and they would have won on Sunday if they had better footballers.
Imo he will leave  the Armagh players better off than when he got them when he finishes up.

We have plenty of whingers here and on the media (especially) giving out about bland press conferences and after match interviews ................. yet PG and his team will take the flak for their openness. You cannot win sometimes.

Both he and Jim Gavin are ploughing a lone furrow and hope both (obviously in one instance) do very well this year.
Post by: Onion Bag on May 23, 2013, 01:02:46 PM
Quote from: Canalman on May 23, 2013, 12:46:49 PM
The more I hear and see about this guy (PG) the more I like him. Respect his way of playing football and they would have won on Sunday if they had better footballers.
Imo he will leave  the Armagh players better off than when he got them when he finishes up.

We have plenty of whingers here and on the media (especially) giving out about bland press conferences and after match interviews ................. yet PG and his team will take the flak for their openness. You cannot win sometimes.

Both he and Jim Gavin are ploughing a lone furrow and hope both (obviously in one instance) do very well this year.

which one?
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2013, 01:12:44 PM
I'd still maintain that Grimleys tactic of pushing up on the retreating forward (although hardly revolutionary) is a valid one and I'd have no issue with him trying it out and with better and (more importantly) harder working players, they would have turned over position more in the Cavan half and punished them. Had Mark Shields kicked 1-2 (as he got himself into the positions to  do so in the second half) Armagh may have won the game and we may be saying how well Armagh coped with a blanket defence after a shaky start and perhaps suggesting that, just maybe, it was the way forward.

His big mistake was not having the ability to change his style. He could have dropped one man back without compromising his own general gameplan. Unfortunately, he's been making mistakes ever since and that statement is embarrassing and should have been vetted and never been allowed to be issued. He's like a man who is cracking!
Post by: Orior on May 23, 2013, 01:22:45 PM

The spelling looks fine to me, son.

Remember the end of the McDonnell era when a player released team news before a match? Maybe big Paul was getting his spoke in first before any revolt.
Post by: rrhf on May 23, 2013, 01:34:13 PM
I think this type of baring of the soul is important for the processes of recovery to commence.  We must admit our weakness, put it out there and then deal with it.

Seriously though -  Is Armagh  the most cannibalistic county in Ireland? The bitchin about an all ireland winning legend by their own people is incredible.  10 years ago Canavan was a diver and this and that, then Paul Galvin was this and that, now their own man is this and that.  If I was Mc Geeney Id be re-signing not resigning with Kildare.  Do Armagh people know that the rest of the country is watching their bitchin.  Have a bit of pride lads.

Post by: imtommygunn on May 23, 2013, 01:35:40 PM
Don't forget Tyrone "fans" booed their own player in the past. Glass houses and all that.
Post by: ardchieftain on May 23, 2013, 01:38:31 PM
Some seriously ridiculous reactions here. The statement wasn't that big of a surprise going by the openness policy adopted this season. It was obviously made to take some flak away from the players. I admire the honesty. Let's see how Armagh get on in the qualifiers, then we can judge.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 23, 2013, 01:47:33 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 23, 2013, 01:22:45 PM

QuoteThe spelling looks fine to me, son.

Quoteour county board whom put there faith in me 6 months ago
Post by: rrhf on May 23, 2013, 01:52:05 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 23, 2013, 01:35:40 PM
Don't forget Tyrone "fans" booed their own player in the past. Glass houses and all that.

I still believe that was a myth perpetuated by monkeys.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2013, 02:01:41 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 23, 2013, 01:52:05 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 23, 2013, 01:35:40 PM

I still believe that was a myth perpetuated by monkeys.

Are these the same monkeys who started the rumour about Tyrone sending back tickets for the game on Sunday?
Post by: rrhf on May 23, 2013, 02:11:51 PM
I actually admire grimleys  approach - I think there's a school of thought slowly rising to the surface between Gavin, Harte and grimley and evidenced by the game of the year in the national league final  managers who get there teams to play free flowing footballing as opposed to what we seen for the last 3 seasons. I'm all for it. Pioneers
Post by: DuffleKing on May 23, 2013, 03:49:38 PM
Whatever about Gavin and Grimley, there's no evidence of Harte believing that. He's on record as recently as last week that the only way to beat Donegal is to ape their style. The clash of those two teams last year in clones was the most turgid, flair devoid game in my lifetime.
Post by: balladmaker on May 23, 2013, 04:03:18 PM
The fact that PG released a statement doesn't surprise me given the flak he has received since Sunday.

However, I find the actual content very worrying ... no plan B until plan A is perfected ... WTF!  Naive in the extreme, I'd hope any manager with any common sense would have at least plan A and B in place for any game.

I wish PG all the best for the qualifier game(s) ahead, however, he needs to cop on a bit and do what was obvious to every Armagh supporter last Sunday.  No point playing in an attack state of mind, leaving your back line wide open, when you only have one scoring forward who happened to be double and triple marked.
Post by: T Fearon on May 23, 2013, 04:07:46 PM
Mickey Harte and entire Tyrone management team were at Breffni last  Sunday. Huddled at back of the stand at half time having a confab. Doubt if they were concerned about much from either team playing there though!
Post by: stew on May 23, 2013, 04:30:27 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 07:24:25 AM

Here internet warrior.............................. tell you what, why don't you go up to any one of them, pick one and tell him what you think of him and his brothers, you would be a red splat on the pavement you cowardly ballix!

I think there was no need for Paul to send this statement, I am also shocked that he seem's to not want a plan B until plan A is perfected, not good, i don't know what has happened him, maybe he is one of those good club managers that can't get the job done as the main man at Senior level.
Post by: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 04:38:43 PM
Quote from: stew on May 23, 2013, 04:30:27 PM

Here internet warrior.............................. tell you what, why don't you go up to any one of them, pick one and tell him what you think of him and his brothers, you would be a red splat on the pavement you cowardly ballix!

I think there was no need for Paul to send this statement, I am also shocked that he seem's to not want a plan B until plan A is perfected, not good, i don't know what has happened him, maybe he is one of those good club managers that can't get the job done as the main man at Senior level.

Grimley's total honesty is his weakness.
Post by: stew on May 23, 2013, 04:47:38 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 04:38:43 PM

I will take that over the Shite that Harte and his ilk spout on a regular basis, transparency is great as long as you are not the only one being transparent!
Post by: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 04:51:20 PM
Quote from: stew on May 23, 2013, 04:47:38 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 04:38:43 PM

I will take that over the Shite that Harte and his ilk spout on a regular basis, transparency is great as long as you are not the only one being transparent!

Exactly no good.

Now if Grimley could work for the Shinners ee would have a lot more answers about the past.lol
Post by: EC Unique on May 23, 2013, 05:30:05 PM

Jeysus but this is comedy gold! He must be the laughing stock of Ireland at this stage!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 23, 2013, 06:08:16 PM
lawnseed, Stew and now Paul Grimley...is there something in the water in Armagh that turns people into certifiable lunatics.
Post by: Throw ball on May 23, 2013, 06:36:35 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 23, 2013, 06:08:16 PM
lawnseed, Stew and now Paul Grimley...is there something in the water in Armagh that turns people into certifiable lunatics.

It's the apples!
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2013, 06:44:50 PM
I must say I find this severe bashing of a man who is obviously a committed GAA man and merely trying his best, which no one disputes, very distasteful. I hope he doesn't take it too personally.
Post by: stew on May 23, 2013, 06:46:06 PM

Now that's rich coming from kerry's answer to jed Clampett!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 23, 2013, 07:18:09 PM
Quote from: stew on May 23, 2013, 06:46:06 PM

Go on, we haven't had a good old stew rant for a while. You must be steaming after that game at the weekend. Cut loose you mad auld eejit. Give the people what they want !
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 23, 2013, 07:21:21 PM
Kinda not too fussed on the grimley bashing alright, hell i admire honest people, men made mistakes, and at the end of the day its only a game of football
Post by: naka on May 23, 2013, 07:27:01 PM
Read the statement again
Hopefully pg has ingrained a seige mentality with the players
Grimley fked up on the side but the players didn't cover themselves in glory
Onwards and upwards
Now to find my map for the backdoor.
Post by: ross matt on May 23, 2013, 07:38:36 PM
Quote from: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:04:41 AM
" Paul Grimley has contacted me this evening to relay this personal statement to YOU the fans.

To all Armagh supporters as Manager of our senior Team I am making a short statement in reference to our senior championship match v Cavan last Sunday, firstly let me apologise to all our loyal supporters and to our county board whom put there faith in me 6 months ago, if you feel I have let you down with the way we approached the game with reference to our tactics, let me sincerely say sorry for the hurt I have caused, I met with the players and management last night and I conveyed the same in what was a very positive meeting, I am proud to manage a talented loyal committed bunch of lads whom where only doing what they were told last Sunday and no blame should be brought to bear on them nor my management team as I have a very astute team around me. In the form of an explanation as to what went wrong as you may or may not know, we have adopted a very attack minded approach from the start of the year, a high pressure high risk strategy which was practised throughout the league with limited success, but we will persist with our plan although we shall address the risk element of our tactic and plan B will arrive when plan A is polished as these need to be worked on over months if not years to get right, finally I hope that our players both young and the more seasoned lads can count on your continued support, as for my long term position no doubt that will be decided by our club delegates at year end.

Kind regards

Paul Grimley
"

http://armaghgaa.net/forum/threads/paul-grimley-statement-to-the-fans.2850/#post-61846

Seems a nice man but I don't think there's any need to go this far. Time to move on and concentrate on the qualifiers in 6 weeks time.

I don't log on here as often as I used to due to a combination of family/work/gaa time constraints so I'm late commenting on this thread. For the life of me I cant understand some of the negative/derogatory comments that have been posted in response to Paul Grimley's statement.

The man has quickly moved to divert criticism of his players on to himself. He has expressed an intention to persist with his own tactical philosophy whilst at the same time acknowledging that he may need to amend some of it's weaknesses.

He has met the challenge presented to him head on without resorting to paranoid media avoidance or insincere media spin. In doing so he's conducted himself in a courageous, loyal, humble and transparent manner. For me those attributes always spring to mind when I think of an Armagh footballer in the McGeeney/McGrane mould.

I admire the man. I think he's intelligent rather than cute. I think his players will respect him even more as a result of this statement. I hope that respect his echoed in their efforts on the training ground in the lead up to and during their qualifier match. They owe Grimley that.
Post by: ross matt on May 23, 2013, 08:55:52 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on May 23, 2013, 01:38:31 PM
Some seriously ridiculous reactions here. The statement wasn't that big of a surprise going by the openness policy adopted this season. It was obviously made to take some flak away from the players. I admire the honesty. Let's see how Armagh get on in the qualifiers, then we can judge.
Post by: ross matt on May 23, 2013, 08:58:04 PM
Quote from: Canalman on May 23, 2013, 12:46:49 PM

Post by: ross matt on May 23, 2013, 09:02:47 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2013, 06:47:05 AM
At least banty is not involved.  It seems to be an iconic statement on the situation with the game as is, Modern midget counties like Cavan who only have 5 all Ireland s are not supposed to beat Armagh. Www.catch.yourself.on.co.uk

Not often I agree with you Seafoid but see your point. If anyone should be offended in all of this it's Cavan. Proud gaelic football tradition combined with recent underage success..... sleeping giant etc. Hardly a scandal for Armagh if they lose to them in a 1st round championshp match?
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2013, 09:25:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 23, 2013, 06:44:50 PM
I must say I find this severe bashing of a man who is obviously a committed GAA man and merely trying his best, which no one disputes, very distasteful. I hope he doesn't take it too personally.
This kind of anti manager post traumatic loss bandwagon  would not be unknown in mayo , surely . The post longford  2010 catharsis is still on the board somewhere .
Post by: ck on May 23, 2013, 09:54:38 PM
My first thought when I read that statement was disbelief, which was quickly followed by sympathy.
The grammar and spelling strikes me as a statement written without much thought in a desperate bid to rise above all of the criticism. I can only assume that his actions followed a rough players meeting where he has decided to absorb all of the blame in an effort to keep a frustrated dressing room?

Ill say it again. Armagh county board are a joke. There is a generation of good Armagh footballers passing through Armagh underachieving year after year, with managers who are clearly out of their depth.

Post by: lawnseed on May 23, 2013, 10:18:55 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 23, 2013, 07:18:09 PM

Go on, we haven't had a good old stew rant for a while. You must be steaming after that game at the weekend. Cut loose you mad auld eejit. Give the people what they want !
ahh mike sheehy.. ? two words kid. 'healey raes'
Post by: theticklemister on May 23, 2013, 10:32:20 PM
Lads this talk/letter should have been conducted within the changing room doors to the most important people;
the 30 lads out there training for the last 5 months.

Then the net result should have been 6 weeks later when armagh put in a good performance to secure qualification to round 2
Post by: ardchieftain on May 23, 2013, 10:35:34 PM
Quote from: ross matt on May 23, 2013, 07:38:36 PM
Quote from: ranch on May 23, 2013, 12:04:41 AM

Kind regards

Paul Grimley
"

I don't log on here as often as I used to due to a combination of family/work/gaa time constraints so I'm late commenting on this thread. For the life of me I cant understand some of the negative/derogatory comments that have been posted in response to Paul Grimley's statement.

The man has quickly moved to divert criticism of his players on to himself. He has expressed an intention to persist with his own tactical philosophy whilst at the same time acknowledging that he may need to amend some of it's weaknesses.

He has met the challenge presented to him head on without resorting to paranoid media avoidance or insincere media spin. In doing so he's conducted himself in a courageous, loyal, humble and transparent manner. For me those attributes always spring to mind when I think of an Armagh footballer in the McGeeney/McGrane mould.

I admire the man. I think he's intelligent rather than cute. I think his players will respect him even more as a result of this statement. I hope that respect his echoed in their efforts on the training ground in the lead up to and during their qualifier match. They owe Grimley that.

Well said sir.
The reaction on here doesn't surprise me but one or two comments have been below the belt.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 23, 2013, 11:11:53 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on May 23, 2013, 10:18:55 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 23, 2013, 07:18:09 PM

ahh mike sheehy.. ? two words kid. 'healey raes'
ahh lawnseed.. ? two words kid. 'nut job'
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on May 23, 2013, 11:43:13 PM
Plan A. Because there is no plan B.

Worked for M&S
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 23, 2013, 11:56:51 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on May 23, 2013, 11:43:13 PM

Worked for M&S

You've been very quiet. Didn't see you on the Kerry v Tyrone threads these last two times. Running scared were we ?
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 05:29:12 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 23, 2013, 11:56:51 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on May 23, 2013, 11:43:13 PM

Worked for M&S

You've been very quiet. Didn't see you on the Kerry v Tyrone threads these last two times. Running scared were we ?

Mick, ffs do yourself a favor and spend a few yoyo's on getting laid, you are in serious need of a hummer our fellah, I pity you to be honest, no one should be that miserable! :-X
Post by: seafoid on May 24, 2013, 06:34:23 AM
 Armagh are going through a similar process to Galway by the looks of things. Meath will probablt be along shortly as well. The rugby league tammy wynette defence blanket on the ground style is very labour intensive and it doesn't matter how much training fellas do if the team doesn't click or the oppositon are more organised or just if the players are not there. The 02 armagh team were unlucky to win just 1 all ireland but now is different. I don't think assigning ultimate responsibility to the manager is right either.  Losing is a complicated thing.

At least armagh people can watch the 02 final whenever they feel like it. Poor Kildare have no such fallback.
Post by: T Fearon on May 24, 2013, 07:04:34 AM
Seafoid,what pains Armagh supporters is not the fact that we are no longer at the top table,but an under performing team bedevilled by naive tactics,and a failure by the Management and County Board to acknowledge much less address these issues.
Post by: seafoid on May 24, 2013, 08:02:41 AM
Welcome to the club, Tony. If Armagh football is anything like Galway hurling there is probably no shortage of people who would put a club all ireland before the county.  But times like these make the resurrections even better. And it must be hard to begrudge cavan. 
Post by: ck on May 24, 2013, 08:46:36 AM
Speaking to a county board official last night from Sligo and he hit the nail on the head
"What we wouldn't do to have players like they have in Armagh, but I wouldn't be queing up for their lunatic manager"
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 24, 2013, 08:56:30 AM
As much as I am a fan of Armagh (prob my 2nd fave county team) I think a lot of Armagh fans have to get real with their expectations. Football didnt begin around 2002! Perhaps like Derry post 93 you are reverting back to middle of the pile in Ulster! Look at the side that faced Cavan (tactics or lack there of) it has some very average players. I have serious doubts about Mc Kenna, Donaghy, Moriarty, Mc Keever. The lad Shields didnt look comfortable on the ball when pushed up.
Post by: Orchardman on May 24, 2013, 09:54:49 AM
Quote from: ck on May 24, 2013, 08:46:36 AM
Speaking to a county board official last night from Sligo and he hit the nail on the head
"What we wouldn't do to have players like they have in Armagh, but I wouldn't be queing up for their lunatic manager"

Nice thought but i dont know what he's on about. Big Joe called up 3 armagh men for the railway cup, his own son along with clarke and mckeever. Thats it, the rest wouldnt be anywhere near the best in Ulster let alone the country

Enough grimbo bashing, players havnt taken any flak at all from anywhere that i have seen, #joke.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 24, 2013, 10:07:10 AM

I'd say if I was looking for some insightful football analysis - the first person I would seek out is an official from the Sligo county board.
Post by: Bensars on May 24, 2013, 10:22:32 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 24, 2013, 10:07:10 AM

I'd say if I was looking for some insightful football analysis - the first person I would seek out is an official from the Sligo county board.

Is this the same County Board that pulled up in a transit to dispense with the services of Mickey Moran?
Correct me if im wrong, did they not "hire" that well known eccentric John Morrison also ?

Although there was a bit of banter initially, moreso as a result of the inter county rivalary over the recent years, rather than the personalities involved, some of it has been way over the top.

Although over the long term he may not survive it ( purely as a resul of where Armagh are at the minute in development), its become a barrell shoot where too many are  at it.

I never thought i would say it, but i would like to see armagh going on a wee bit of a run now. ( im away for a wash after that)
Post by: Keyser soze on May 24, 2013, 11:01:08 AM
Quote from: ck on May 23, 2013, 09:54:38 PM
My first thought when I read that statement was disbelief, which was quickly followed by sympathy.
The grammar and spelling strikes me as a statement written without much thought in a desperate bid to rise above all of the criticism. I can only assume that his actions followed a rough players meeting where he has decided to absorb all of the blame in an effort to keep a frustrated dressing room?

Ill say it again. Armagh county board are a joke. There is a generation of good Armagh footballers passing through Armagh underachieving year after year, with managers who are clearly out of their depth.

Who are these players that you think should be winning Ulsters and contesting All-Ireland Finals [which is what I think you mean by underachieving] I accept that Aaron Kernan and Jamie Clarke are at the very top echelon of footballers so no need to make a case for those two.
Post by: mackers on May 24, 2013, 11:17:57 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 24, 2013, 08:56:30 AM
I think a lot of Armagh fans have to get real with their expectations. Football didnt begin around 2002! Perhaps like Derry post 93 you are reverting back to middle of the pile in Ulster!
No harm to you Walter but that sort of chat sickens my hole.  Believe me when I say that any Armagh fans I know have "got real" a long time ago (approx 2009).  Where on the thread that discussed how we felt our counties would do did you see any Armagh fans talking about Ulster titles or the like?  On one of the post match threads on here (there have been a few) a Cavan poster was highly insulted that the fact that Armagh posters took great offense at being beaten by lowly Cavan.  That is simply not true.  Armagh posters were annoyed at how their manager and team performed on Sunday, the result was a by-product of that.
At this point Armagh people aren't looking for titles, we want to see some sort of improvement in our performances, Sunday most definitely did not see that.
Post by: Main Street on May 24, 2013, 11:21:28 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 24, 2013, 07:04:34 AM
Seafoid,what pains Armagh supporters is not the fact that we are no longer at the top table,but an under performing team bedevilled by naive tactics,and a failure by the Management and County Board to acknowledge much less address these issues.
The naivety of the players in defence should also pain you. They're not up to the standard.

Post by: Dont Matter on May 24, 2013, 12:05:57 PM
I blame McKeever myself.
Post by: Main Street on May 24, 2013, 04:02:52 PM
What was the post-mortem like for Armagh (in their prime) when they were knocked out of the UC in the preliminary round by Monaghan in 2003?
I suppose a confession from Joe Kernan was kept under wraps, while awaiting a spell and grammar investigation.
Post by: T Fearon on May 24, 2013, 04:07:22 PM
That 2003 defeat was a mere blip, a one off and we all knew it. Sunday alas was but the latest in a long line of inept performances in league and Championship, and against arguably the weakest team we've faced in the Ulster Championship since, well, the last time we faced Cavan, back in 2008.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on May 24, 2013, 04:26:21 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 24, 2013, 04:07:22 PM
That 2003 defeat was a mere blip, a one off and we all knew it. Sunday alas was but the latest in a long line of inept performances in league and Championship, and against arguably the weakest team we've faced in the Ulster Championship since, well, the last time we faced Cavan, back in 2008.

a 13-1 blip, from what i remember
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2013, 04:36:18 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2013, 09:25:07 PM
This kind of anti manager post traumatic loss bandwagon  would not be unknown in mayo , surely . The post longford  2010 catharsis is still on the board somewhere .

Does that make it right somehow?

And I was never part of any severe bashing of a Mayo manager. In fact I recall criticising your own county for their shabby treatment of Liam Sammon.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on May 24, 2013, 04:40:38 PM
The whole thing has turned personal and has gotten to the depths where even Mayo and Sligo fans are chipping in.
Shocking, so it is
Post by: seafoid on May 24, 2013, 08:52:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 24, 2013, 04:36:18 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2013, 09:25:07 PM

Does that make it right somehow?

And I was never part of any severe bashing of a Mayo manager. In fact I recall criticising your own county for their shabby treatment of Liam Sammon.
No, muppet. It is not ideal. And you are not the type who does that sort of thing. But people get very upset about losing matches and managers can get an awful lot of abuse . Failure doesn't go down very well.
I don't think it will ever be rid of.

And Liam Sammon did quite well relatively speaking ...
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 25, 2013, 09:07:12 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on May 24, 2013, 11:01:08 AM
Quote from: ck on May 23, 2013, 09:54:38 PM

Who are these players that you think should be winning Ulsters and contesting All-Ireland Finals [which is what I think you mean by underachieving] I accept that Aaron Kernan and Jamie Clarke are at the very top echelon of footballers so no need to make a case for those two.

I don't consider failing to reach an All Ireland final underachieving. I do consider losing our last 4 championship matches and winning 3 of our last 16 in League and Championship to be underachieving however.
Post by: Itchy on May 25, 2013, 09:50:18 AM
Quote from: mackers on May 24, 2013, 11:17:57 AM
I think a lot of Armagh fans have to get real with their expectations. Football didnt begin around 2002! Perhaps like Derry post 93 you are reverting back to middle of the pile in Ulster!
No harm to you Walter but that sort of chat sickens my hole.  Believe me when I say that any Armagh fans I know have "got real" a long time ago (approx 2009).  Where on the thread that discussed how we felt our counties would do did you see any Armagh fans talking about Ulster titles or the like?  On one of the post match threads on here (there have been a few) a Cavan poster was highly insulted that the fact that Armagh posters took great offense at being beaten by lowly Cavan.  That is simply not true.  Armagh posters were annoyed at how their manager and team performed on Sunday, the result was a by-product of that.
At this point Armagh people aren't looking for titles, we want to see some sort of improvement in our performances, Sunday most definitely did not see that.

Mackers, read some of Tony Fearons posts. While you might not be insulting to us, Tony and his ilk are. From where I am sitting Armagh have 2/3 top players and quite a few average ones. They did play a very clever game either but tactics is not the be all and end all. Cavan may not have any superstar players but I do think we have, on average, better footballers than Armagh but very inexperienced ones. So in summary I think the two teams are at a similar level so the result should not be a huge shock to anyone.
Post by: EC Unique on May 25, 2013, 11:00:04 AM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on May 24, 2013, 04:26:21 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 24, 2013, 04:07:22 PM

a 13-1 blip, from what i remember

Few pound made by the orange men that weekend! :-X
Post by: seafoid on May 25, 2013, 11:11:12 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 25, 2013, 09:50:18 AM
Quote from: mackers on May 24, 2013, 11:17:57 AM

Mackers, read some of Tony Fearons posts. While you might not be insulting to us, Tony and his ilk are. From where I am sitting Armagh have 2/3 top players and quite a few average ones. They did play a very clever game either but tactics is not the be all and end all. Cavan may not have any superstar players but I do think we have, on average, better footballers than Armagh but very inexperienced ones. So in summary I think the two teams are at a similar level so the result should not be a huge shock to anyone.
And Armagh haven't been winning ulster u21s like Cavan have recently. A bit of respect for Cavan wouldn't go amiss.
Post by: ranch on June 09, 2013, 05:15:32 PM
Armagh lost to Leitrim yesterday in a challenge game, apparently it wasn't a great showing. Haven't heard much more (scoreline etc), all seems very secretive.
Post by: naka on June 09, 2013, 07:43:59 PM
Reading too much into yezterday benches were emptied and everyone got a game
Post by: Orior on June 09, 2013, 08:23:17 PM
Quote from: naka on June 09, 2013, 07:43:59 PM
Reading too much into yezterday benches were emptied and everyone got a game

The fact that they lost means that a player gets selected by not playing awful - as opposed to getting selected by playing well.

What the hell are you on about Orior?

Ah forget it.
Post by: ranch on June 09, 2013, 09:00:54 PM
If it was a case of benches getting emptied what was the point in playing the game? Surely we should be working on getting 'plan A' right?
Post by: naka on June 09, 2013, 09:11:04 PM
Fk sake Leitrim are gearing towards a provincial semi final in two weeks
We agreed to play them they put their team out, Armagh tried different things during the game with switches etc and tried to give the squad a run out.
It happens all the time .
Lets wait til the 29 June and see where we are?
Post by: muppet on June 09, 2013, 09:17:18 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 09, 2013, 08:23:17 PM
The fact that they lost means that a player gets selected by not playing awful - as opposed to getting selected by playing well.

What the hell are you on about Orior?

Ah forget it.

May I recommend the experimental but very promising O'Neill Therapy? It involves taking a dose of alter-ego three times a day, every day. Do not discontinue the treatment until Olly makes sense. Or failing that Lawnseed.
Post by: Gaffer on June 09, 2013, 09:51:31 PM
Quote from: ranch on June 09, 2013, 09:00:54 PM
If it was a case of benches getting emptied what was the point in playing the game? Surely we should be working on getting 'plan A' right?

Grimley was lucky he wasn't emptied the other week after the Cavan game.
Post by: armaghniac on June 09, 2013, 09:57:13 PM
Hopefully  we'll see where we are on 29 June, there probably won't be another inter-county Armagh game until 2014.
Post by: ranch on June 09, 2013, 10:18:31 PM
Quote from: naka on June 09, 2013, 09:11:04 PM
Fk sake Leitrim are gearing towards a provincial semi final in two weeks
We agreed to play them they put their team out, Armagh tried different things during the game with switches etc and tried to give the squad a run out.
It happens all the time .
Lets wait til the 29 June and see where we are?

And we're gearing towards a qualifier in 3 weeks which is more important. Leitrim are playing London safe in the knowledge they have a 2nd chance if things go wrong. We no longer have that luxury.
Do you know what the score was?
Post by: ck on June 09, 2013, 10:42:32 PM
Lads a club mate of mine reffed the game, i can tell you that Leitrim won comfortably and held back quite a few players who were carrying knocks injuries etc. Armagh were woeful but they did seem to give their full squad a run.
Post by: T Fearon on June 09, 2013, 11:35:44 PM
I think Paul Grimley should submit an individual handwritten apology to every single Armagh fan in the county and deliver them personally on foot.Unless we reach the All Ireland Quarter Finals that is.

By way of extraordinary coincidence,isn't is exactly 40 years since we couldn't scrape together the full quota of 15 players to fulfil a NFL fixture in Leitrim?
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2013, 11:50:05 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 09, 2013, 09:57:13 PM
Hopefully  we'll see where we are on 29 June, there probably won't be another inter-county Armagh game until 2014.

Looks likely, maybe Armagh can cause a upset or two.
Post by: lawnseed on June 10, 2013, 12:13:58 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2013, 11:50:05 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 09, 2013, 09:57:13 PM

Looks likely, maybe Armagh can cause a upset or two.
armagh already have caused an upset or two.. jeez if they get tanked brolly will lord it about right
Post by: ranch on June 10, 2013, 07:42:40 PM
I see on the Armagh forums the score has been reported as 3-12 to 0-12 in favour of Leitrim.
Post by: Orior on June 10, 2013, 08:19:05 PM
Once again, a leaky defence and fulls backs being hung out to dry.

Plan A might work against Antrim if enough of their panel head of to USA, but then again....
Post by: ranch on June 10, 2013, 08:34:06 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 10, 2013, 08:19:05 PM
Once again, a leaky defence and fulls backs being hung out to dry.

Plan A might work against Antrim if enough of their panel head of to USA, but then again....

Is this what happened? Or are you guessing that from the result? Genuine question by the way.

Post by: DuffleKing on June 14, 2013, 10:00:07 AM

We're back. Bet the shite outta dem derry heurs last night. Book the city west, we're on the road again...
Post by: armaghniac on June 14, 2013, 10:47:36 AM
I'm putting my money on Leitrim, who are obviously 17 points better than Derry, judging by these challenge games.  ::)
Post by: naka on June 19, 2013, 03:20:28 PM
Somebody in the squad leaking news doesn't help
Armagh beat Wexford by 10 last night
Morgan chb
Mc keever and dyas didn't play
Although a sweeper did?
Post by: T Fearon on June 19, 2013, 03:34:37 PM
Disturbing reports in I News today that Armagh players pleaded for tactical changes at half time at Breffni Park, but these were dismissed out of hand by the Fuhrer.
Post by: yellowcard on June 19, 2013, 04:53:04 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 19, 2013, 03:34:37 PM
Disturbing reports in I News today that Armagh players pleaded for tactical changes at half time at Breffni Park, but these were dismissed out of hand by the Fuhrer.

Haven't seen the paper but these sort of leaks are always concerning. Back when McGeeney ran the Armagh dressing room this would simply not have happened. Nothing got out, and the same applies with Donegal and McGuinness now.
Post by: theticklemister on June 19, 2013, 05:07:18 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 19, 2013, 04:53:04 PM

Haven't seen the paper but these sort of leaks are always concerning. Back when McGeeney ran the Armagh dressing room this would simply not have happened. Nothing got out, and the same applies with Donegal and McGuinness now.

THE ONLY THING THAT GOT OUT FROM THE DONEGAL CAMP DURING MCGUINNESS' REIGN WAS KEVIN CASSIDY.
Post by: Armamike on June 19, 2013, 08:44:40 PM

This story is nothing new - been doing the rounds since the Monday after the Cavan game.
For once Heaney is on the money with this though.
Post by: Orior on July 17, 2013, 11:45:54 PM
Who was it that thought Paul Grimley's Armagh would not win one game this year?
Post by: orangeman on July 17, 2013, 11:53:27 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 17, 2013, 11:45:54 PM

Some boy Brolly.

But to be fair Armagh have been fed cannon fodder since the Cavan game.

Don't forget that Galway went out of last year's championship in Casement Park ( no disrespect meant to Antrim ).

Cork will be the real tester of how good Armagh are.

Brolly certainly has lit them up and they had no mercy at all last Saturday.
Post by: DJGaliv on July 18, 2013, 10:22:28 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 17, 2013, 11:53:27 PM
Don't forget that Galway went out of last year's championship in Casement Park ( no disrespect meant to Antrim ).

Whereas Armagh lost to who last year? Kerry? Tyrone? I can't remember now.

Nice confidence coming through now. Grimley is the messiah it seems, he has risen again
Post by: orangeman on July 18, 2013, 10:42:51 AM
Quote from: DJGaliv on July 18, 2013, 10:22:28 AM

Nice confidence coming through now. Grimley is the messiah it seems, he has risen again

Tyrone in Athletic Grounds.

Armagh should have beaten Tyrone that day - Finny Mo taken off when doing a superb job on Harte - Harte took off when Finny was replaced. And then they started to lump ball into the square - buns to a bear.
Post by: yellowcard on July 18, 2013, 10:46:28 AM

Some boy Brolly.

But to be fair Armagh have been fed cannon fodder since the Cavan game.

Silly presumptuous statement. Galway in Pearse Stadium will be a difficult task I feel, if we were playing at home I would be confident of a win but based on League form Galway are probably at least the equal of Armagh. I suppose a lot depends on the Galway players attitude, they have been one of the poorest teams when it comes to their appetite for the qualifiers in recent years.
Post by: DJGaliv on July 18, 2013, 11:02:32 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 18, 2013, 10:42:51 AM
Quote from: DJGaliv on July 18, 2013, 10:22:28 AM

Tyrone in Athletic Grounds.

Armagh should have beaten Tyrone that day - Finny Mo taken off when doing a superb job on Harte - Harte took off when Finny was replaced. And then they started to lump ball into the square - buns to a bear.

Like for like - Armagh lost to Roscommon in the qualifiers, as Galway lost to Antrim.

I think both counties have a lot to prove after last year
Post by: lawnseed on July 21, 2013, 12:00:53 PM
Armagh just don't feel right to me. the whole thing has a 'lack lustre' do rightly vibe. the manager "will hang around until someone better comes along', the reemergence of peter McDonnell, (already tried and failed)... the Morgan row.. then the disastrous cavan game.. followed up by players feckin off during the championship and on and on. what's going on? great players just not performing! Arron kernan former young footballer of the year- poor. ciaron mckeever captained Ireland against oz-poor. the players look unfit,disinterested and leaderless.
there 'IS' something rotten in the middle of this orchard. is it the lack of funds? maybe the players and the team are underfunded. has doing up "fortress athletic grounds" scuppered our county teams ambitions? do senior players like mckeever and kernan see their careers ebbing away and are just punching in the time? malachy mackin? what happened there? he was great in the league then dropped??? what ever is wrong ITS NOT WORKING!!!
We need to recognise that football is changing. the fast paced all-out Dublin style or the attritional Donegal style seems to be the way to go. we don't have the pace for Dublin's way so maybe a return to our attacking wingbacks and the diagonal ball to the forwards. either way if I were the manager i'd be handing the players dvds of matches featuring Andy McCann and cathal o rourke, ger reid players of lesser physical and football ability but guys who found a role in the making of a great team
Post by: ranch on July 21, 2013, 02:28:29 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on July 21, 2013, 12:00:53 PM
Armagh just don't feel right to me. the whole thing has a 'lack lustre' do rightly vibe. the manager "will hang around until someone better comes along', the reemergence of peter McDonnell, (already tried and failed)... the Morgan row.. then the disastrous cavan game.. followed up by players feckin off during the championship and on and on. what's going on? great players just not performing! Arron kernan former young footballer of the year- poor. ciaron mckeever captained Ireland against oz-poor. the players look unfit,disinterested and leaderless.
there 'IS' something rotten in the middle of this orchard. is it the lack of funds? maybe the players and the team are underfunded. has doing up "fortress athletic grounds" scuppered our county teams ambitions? do senior players like mckeever and kernan see their careers ebbing away and are just punching in the time? malachy mackin? what happened there? he was great in the league then dropped??? what ever is wrong ITS NOT WORKING!!!
We need to recognise that football is changing. the fast paced all-out Dublin style or the attritional Donegal style seems to be the way to go. we don't have the pace for Dublin's way so maybe a return to our attacking wingbacks and the diagonal ball to the forwards. either way if I were the manager i'd be handing the players dvds of matches featuring Andy McCann and cathal o rourke, ger reid players of lesser physical and football ability but guys who found a role in the making of a great team

Mackin didn't play in the league either.