Can't find a thread, apologies if I have missed it.
Louth team to play Laois.
NEIL GALLAGHER, CICEAMS CHUAILGHNE
PADRAIG RATH, DREADNOTS CEANN CLOCHAIR
DESSIE FINNEGAN, NAOMH PADRAIG
JOHN BINGHAM, NAOMH MHUIRE
JOHN O BRIEN, SEAN O MATHUNA
DEREK CRILLY, NA GAEIL, DUN DEALGAN
ADRIAN REID, RAONAITHE MAITEOIGE
PADDY KEENAN , NAOMH PADRAIG
BRIAN DONNELLY, CICEAMS CHUAILGHNE
ANDY MC DONNELL, GORMAITHE BAILE NUA
BRIAN WHITE, CICEAMS CHUAILGHNE
CONOR RAFFERTY, CICEAMS CHUAILGHNE
CIARAN BYRNE, NAOMH MOCHTA
SHANE LENNON, EMMITTI CILL CHOIRLE
DEREK MAGUIRE, EIRE OG DUN DEALGAN
They finished 2 points apart in D2:
3 Laois 7 4 1 2 5-94 6-75 9
4 Louth 7 3 1 3 9-87 7-89 7
and the league game in Portlaoise finished all square:
2 Mar 2013 7pm Laois 1-17 - 2-14 Louth Portlaoise.
PP giving 1/2 on Laois and the reverse on Louth
That's a strong Louth side. As strong as I've seen since 2010. Laois will be tricky customers though. From a Meath point of view, we wouldn't be too optimistic against either side. This side of the draw in Leinster is there for the taking.
It will be interesting to see how all these Armagh men fare in Leinster as well. How many have we? 3?
Quote from: Sea The Stars on May 21, 2013, 10:52:11 PM
That's a strong Louth side. As strong as I've seen since 2010.
It could be a but stronger, Ray Finnegan who played a full game for the Pats recently is a big loss in defence as is Jim McEneaney in the forward line, if only for his free taking.
Looks like Laois might lose to Louth in Leinster. unLucky.
Huge pressure on Laois next Sunday after last year's first round knockout by Longford.
Louth have the wind in their sails - only for a couple of below-par performances they would have won promotion to Div 1.
Aidan O'Rourke has had a hugely positive influence on the Wee County and lifted their sights far beyond LSFC first round.
They are have the strength, talent and belief to get to the Leinster Final.
On his day Paddy Keenan has few equals at midfield.
Shane Lennon gave a masterclass of full-forward play in the Laois-Louth league match.
The Maguire fella was class too when he came on as a sub.
Louth let a 5 points lead slip that day and will be coming to Portlaoise to do the job properly this time.
With no disrespect for Laois and Wexford, these Louth lads have their sights set on a Leinster semi-final rematch with Meath.
Always great fight in these sides.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvaIx3gqROE
Despite the debacle in Breffni last week, I fully expect an Armagh manager to win this one.
Laois have a good few injuries going into this one. The teams been named but the starting team will be different. Louth look a great price at 2/1 to beat a patched up Laois team.
Laois by 4.
Laois (SFC V Louth) - Eoin Culliton; Mark Timmons, Denis Booth, Peter O'Leary; Darren Strong, John O'Loughlin, Padraig McMahon; Conor Boyle, Brendan Quigley; Ross Munnelly, Donal Kingston, Colm Begley; Damien O'Connor, Gary Walsh, Colm Kelly.
Louth v Laois 1991 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvaIx3gqROE&feature=youtu.be
think i got the programme for that games unless they met again in 92, thought i know dublin put Louth out that yr
Laois 0-02 1-07 Louth. Damn, I knew I should have backed Louth. Any half - decent side at 2/1 against Laois are good value.
Laois 0-3 1-9 Louth HT
Well well well. Ye wouldn't want to be backing any favourites today.
The qualifiers is the place to be anyways.. ;)
Well done Louth,hope ye get to Leinster Final now.
Bollix bollix bollix
Huge win for Louth today, led from start to finsh and never looked in any bother.
Well done to the Leinster 2010 Champions.
Thats some tanking, i knew louth were decent, but Laois looked handy early on in the yr, didnt think there be that much in it
Quote from: Rossfan on May 26, 2013, 05:54:37 PM
Thanks very much.
Appreciate the support.
Whoever won the toss would win the game. Louth won the toss and won easily.
With the hurricane behind them in the first half they were able to build a lead and with that it was game over. Laois gave in too easy but wouldn't have mattered anyway.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 26, 2013, 06:00:01 PM
Thanks very much.
Appreciate the support.
I note ye failed to build on it.
Quote from: Jinxy on May 26, 2013, 06:00:01 PM
Thanks very much.
Appreciate the support.
Brolly called Meath a "bunch of oul cheaters" today to ORourke ;D
Well done Louth - ye controlled the game from start to finish are were well worth the 10 point winning margin.
A dreadful year for Laois :
- minors lost by 10 points to Meath, U21s lost by 24 point to Kildare and now seniors lose by 10 points to Louth.
I don't think there will be a queue to succeed Justin McNulty - no need for an apology Justin by the way:'(,
The disasters are coming thick and fast this year and it's only May yet - Galway/Limerick/Tipp/Laois/Sligo.
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 26, 2013, 07:07:26 PM
Whoever won the toss would win the game. Louth won the toss and won easily.
With the hurricane behind them in the first half they were able to build a lead and with that it was game over. Laois gave in too easy but wouldn't have mattered anyway.
Sure they shouldn't of bothered with the match at all so. They should of just it to Louth when they won the toss.
Ye Laois boys with your excuses. Always somebody elses fault. Seen as you couldn't blame the Dubs or Mick O Dwyer or Aussie Rulles or Parnells you have decided to pin it on the wind. I suppose at least its original.
If Laois won the toss, we would have built up a lead and defended in numbers for the 2nd half. Taken our time with frees and kick outs and held onto the ball knowing space would come as the other team were desperate to get scores. It happened last year against Meath but anyway Louth won the toss and deserved their win.
Blamed the Dubs for what? Blamed O'Dwyer for what? Blamed Aussie Rules for what? Blamed Parnells for what?
The Dubs can never have any excuses anyway, seen as you've basically been handed All Irelands. The fact that you've only won one recently is highly embarrassing.
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 27, 2013, 10:39:52 AM
If Laois won the toss, we would have built up a lead and defended in numbers for the 2nd half. Taken our time with frees and kick outs and held onto the ball knowing space would come as the other team were desperate to get scores. It happened last year against Meath but anyway Louth won the toss and deserved their win.
Blamed the Dubs for what? Blamed O'Dwyer for what? Blamed Aussie Rules for what? Blamed Parnells for what?
The Dubs can never have any excuses anyway, seen as you've basically been handed All Irelands. The fact that you've only won one recently is highly embarrassing.
Someone give that man a number for a good psychologist (just make sure he or she is not a feckin Dub!) To be fair he does deserve credit for getting an angle to dig at the boys in blue no matter what the thread is pertaining to get;)
Bit of a surprise yesterday with the margin of victory for Louth. With Dublin and Kildare in the other half of the draw its not impossible that Louth could make a Leinster final although I'd say that Meath will have something to say about that.
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 27, 2013, 10:39:52 AM
I guess the Laois boys will be spending the next few weeks practising calling the coin toss. It's all about the small details at this level........
Someone get Cian Ward back onto the panel.