GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fuzzman on February 13, 2013, 04:27:13 PM

Title: Mayo v Dublin Sat 2nd March - 7pm Croke Park
Post by: Fuzzman on February 13, 2013, 04:27:13 PM
Here ye go lads  ;D

The Dubs are looking fit & hungry and the new lads have a clean slate with the new manager.
Is MD Macauley suspended for this game now?

Mayo got a wakeup call the last day out which could do them the power of good.
Title: Re: Mayo v Dublin Sat 2nd March - 7pm Croke Park
Post by: INDIANA on February 14, 2013, 12:33:51 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 13, 2013, 04:27:13 PM
Here ye go lads  ;D

The Dubs are looking fit & hungry and the new lads have a clean slate with the new manager.
Is MD Macauley suspended for this game now?

Mayo got a wakeup call the last day out which could do them the power of good.

Mayo are all -ireland finalists last year and beat us as well.

We are in transition with a very young inexperienced team.

Tough game for Dublin by the looks of it
Post by: cadence on February 14, 2013, 08:39:25 AM
yep tough one to call, but dublin by 3 because they are playing very well by all accounts.
Post by: heffo on February 14, 2013, 08:48:40 AM
Mayo to keep their good form going. Dublin minus a lot of key players and will probably be without all the new U21's too. A bridge too far.
Post by: muppet on February 14, 2013, 09:41:08 AM
Quote from: heffo on February 14, 2013, 08:48:40 AM
Mayo to keep their good form going. Dublin minus a lot of key players and will probably be without all the new U21's too. A bridge too far.

Geddawayouttadat!

Dublin by 7.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 14, 2013, 10:05:21 AM
You lads must've caught a severe dose of yerrah down round Kilarney last weekend.

Dublin by 7.
Post by: Hound on February 14, 2013, 10:42:58 AM
McCaffrey, O'Brien, O'Conghaile, Kilkenny and a few of the other young forwards won't be involved due to U21 committments (if we beat Carlow in the first round next week).
Connolly confirmed as out due to injury until mid March, Macauley suspended.
Bastick will be back available, and perhaps the Ballymunners if they lose this weekend.
Post by: heffo on February 14, 2013, 11:03:45 AM
Going to be a very weak team out - minus about 20 front liners.

Horan will have a whinge about something ahead of the game.

Mayo by six.
Post by: muppet on February 14, 2013, 05:28:15 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 14, 2013, 11:03:45 AM
Going to be a very weak team out - minus about 20 front liners.

Horan will have a whinge about something ahead of the game.

Mayo by six.

We are planning to rest 148 front liners, Dubs by 7.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 14, 2013, 08:21:38 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 14, 2013, 10:42:58 AM
McCaffrey, O'Brien, O'Conghaile, Kilkenny and a few of the other young forwards won't be involved due to U21 committments (if we beat Carlow in the first round next week).
Bastick will be back available, and perhaps the Ballymunners if they lose this weekend.

How many of those U21s have lined out for Dublin this year and how many Ballymun players will make the Dublin starting 15? Connolly can only play well against teams that defend poorly Macauley a much bigger loss.

Dublin should win by 4-6 points.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 14, 2013, 10:13:05 PM
Dublin by 5 (at least). Mayo will be lucky to be in it with 15 minutes to go. Horan to have a whinge before the game and to be respectful after the game. No body to really care (really) about the result, but both teams will want to win all the same. You really have to love the league.
Post by: Hill16 Blues on February 14, 2013, 10:22:35 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 14, 2013, 08:21:38 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 14, 2013, 10:42:58 AM

How many of those U21s have lined out for Dublin this year and how many Ballymun players will make the Dublin starting 15? Connolly can only play well against teams that defend poorly Macauley a much bigger loss.

Dublin should win by 4-6 points.

From current u21s Paul Mannion, Philly Ryan, Emmet O'Conaghaile, Jack McCaffrey have all played v Cork or Kerry and of course there's a certain C Kilkenny now available also!

From Ballymun Philly McMahon, James McCarthy and probably Dean Rock. Davey Byrne & Sean George may feature also.

Don't agree with you re Connolly. He is probably the most naturally talented player we have. Having seen him in number of the OByrne cup games he's also in best condition I've ever seen him in. Expect him and the other established players to step up this year. Think they realise if they don't Gavin won't pick them!!
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 25, 2013, 04:07:43 PM
Fuzzman didn't get the reaction he wanted in this thread I imagine. I'd say he thought we'd have it to page 2 by now. Hard to know how Mayo will win. Hopefully A. O'Shea can perform once again and that the whole team can get the better of their men this time round for the whole match, instead of waiting for nigh on an hour to pass and then start playing.
ballinaman will have another go at me this time :P, but I can't see Mayo winning this one. I can see Dublin setting out their stall and going gung-ho for the game. Dublin by 4 or 5. It will be interesting to see what team Dublin will have out, for as Hound said their u-21s are out for this one. And we'll be debating until some ungodly hour Friday night/Saturday morning about ours.
Post by: ballinaman on February 25, 2013, 04:19:43 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 25, 2013, 04:07:43 PM
Fuzzman didn't get the reaction he wanted in this thread I imagine. I'd say he thought we'd have it to page 2 by now. Hard to know how Mayo will win. Hopefully A. O'Shea can perform once again and that the whole team can get the better of their men this time round for the whole match, instead of waiting for nigh on an hour to pass and then start playing.
ballinaman will have another go at me this time :P, but I can't see Mayo winning this one. I can see Dublin setting out their stall and going gung-ho for the game. Dublin by 4 or 5. It will be interesting to see what team Dublin will have out, for as Hound said their u-21s are out for this one. And we'll be debating until some ungodly hour Friday night/Saturday morning about ours.
In fairness deelin, I'm slightly hesitant about our chances too. The Dublin machine looks fairly well drilled and oiled even at this stage of the season. Be lovely to do them again though.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 25, 2013, 11:50:46 PM
If Mayo play like they did against Tyrone, Dublin will wipe them in a big way. Mayo looked like Cork (at their worst) the last day in Castlebar, absolutely cleaning up at midfield and then clueless once we hit the 40, static passing around in circles until eventually losing it.

If Dublin are missing a few then it gives us a better chance obviously, they've looked very good to date. One thing about Dublin in the previous two games though, I felt they weren't that clinical and both Cork and Kerry could have gotten back into it late on when they should have been well gone.

Horan didn't make many changes the last day and wouldn't really expect any more than 2-4 changes this week. Maybe Dillon to start? Varley too perhaps?

QuoteDon't agree with you re Connolly. He is probably the most naturally talented player we have

I have heard this from nearly every Dublin supporter I know but surely it's time for him to produce it consistently - he's shown flashes now and again but never on a consistent enough basis.
Post by: Declan on February 26, 2013, 07:30:45 AM
Hard to know how this one will go to be honest. We're missing a good few and Mayo have beaten us on the last two outings so I'd have them as slight faves.
Post by: emmetryan on February 27, 2013, 08:42:44 AM
Hi guys

Tactical preview of this game up here http://action81.com/blog/?p=6787
Emmet
Post by: ballinaman on February 27, 2013, 01:55:47 PM
Mayo Team to face Dublin announced.

1 O'Malley,
2 Barrett,
3 Caff,
4 Higgins,
5 Keegan,
6 Vaughan,
7 Boyle,
8 Gibbons,
9 B.Moran,
10 McLoughlin,
11 A.O'Shea,
12 Feeney,
13 Varley,
14 Doherty,
15 Conroy
Post by: Tubberman on February 27, 2013, 01:59:36 PM
That team should get a bit of talk going!
Glad to see Gibbons get a start, not sure about AOS at 11, but I suppose he'll probably play as a 3rd midfielder anyway. If you were going to play a midfielder at 11, I'd have gone for Gibbons.
The Keegan and McLoughlin experiments are abandoned for now at least, that's no harm either.
Hopefully Doherty keeps up his Sigerson form. Really looking forward to this one now!
Post by: ballinaman on February 27, 2013, 02:05:02 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 27, 2013, 01:59:36 PM
That team should get a bit of talk going!
Glad to see Gibbons get a start, not sure about AOS at 11, but I suppose he'll probably play as a 3rd midfielder anyway. If you were going to play a midfielder at 11, I'd have gone for Gibbons.
The Keegan and McLoughlin experiments are abandoned for now at least, that's no harm either.
Hopefully Doherty keeps up his Sigerson form. Really looking forward to this one now!
Agree with all of that. Still think Michael Walsh deserves a run. Chris had a torrid time in the corresponding fixture 2 years ago, hope he gives it a right crack on Saturday.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 27, 2013, 03:54:25 PM
Will Varley or Doherty come out to the half-forwards if Mayo do opt for three midfielders? Will AOS start in the no 11 position? I hope Horan will have learned something about our number 2 position.

Have to say I'm happy with our halfback and halfforward lines. Did Gibbons and B. Moran ever start at midfield before?
Post by: highorlow on February 27, 2013, 04:00:52 PM
Quote1 O'Malley,
2 Barrett,
3 Caff,
4 Higgins,
5 Keegan,
6 Vaughan,
7 Boyle,
8 Gibbons,
9 B.Moran,
10 McLoughlin,
11 A.O'Shea,
12 Feeney,
13 Varley,
14 Doherty,
15 Conroy

Wouldn't ya think Horan would balls up and give some other lads a lash, after all its still only Feb / early Mar. At least 6 of that team had enough chances already and are tried and tested. The result is that they have limited capabilities and I don't think improvement is in them. Maybe Horan is trying to get this 'habit of winning' bullshit that we here so much about instilled into a team and is thus sticking with the old reliable's?

The Dublin team will be an interesting Contrast as I expect them to have 4 or 5 new lads on show.
Post by: heffo on February 27, 2013, 04:07:45 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 27, 2013, 01:55:47 PM

1 O'Malley,
2 Barrett,
3 Caff,
4 Higgins,
5 Keegan,
6 Vaughan,
7 Boyle,
8 Gibbons,
9 B.Moran,
10 McLoughlin,
11 A.O'Shea,
12 Feeney,
13 Varley,
14 Doherty,
15 Conroy

Very strong team. We could be in for a spanking
Post by: Tubberman on February 27, 2013, 04:08:03 PM
Quote from: highorlow on February 27, 2013, 04:00:52 PM
Quote1 O'Malley,
2 Barrett,
3 Caff,
4 Higgins,
5 Keegan,
6 Vaughan,
7 Boyle,
8 Gibbons,
9 B.Moran,
10 McLoughlin,
11 A.O'Shea,
12 Feeney,
13 Varley,
14 Doherty,
15 Conroy

Wouldn't ya think Horan would balls up and give some other lads a lash, after all its still only Feb / early Mar. At least 6 of that team had enough chances already and are tried and tested. The result is that they have limited capabilities and I don't think improvement is in them. Maybe Horan is trying to get this 'habit of winning' bullshit that we here so much about instilled into a team and is thus sticking with the old reliable's?

The Dublin team will be an interesting Contrast as I expect them to have 4 or 5 new lads on show.

Which new lads do you want to see get a run? Which 6 would you drop?
Post by: muppet on February 27, 2013, 04:18:21 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 27, 2013, 04:07:45 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 27, 2013, 01:55:47 PM

1 O'Malley,
2 Barrett,
3 Caff,
4 Higgins,
5 Keegan,
6 Vaughan,
7 Boyle,
8 Gibbons,
9 B.Moran,
10 McLoughlin,
11 A.O'Shea,
12 Feeney,
13 Varley,
14 Doherty,
15 Conroy

Very strong team. We could be in for a spanking

Maybe, but how do you think the match will go?
Post by: highorlow on February 27, 2013, 04:25:05 PM
Here are a few for starters....

Walsh, Rogers, Kelly, Gordon, Hallinan, McHale, Coen, C.O'Shea, Regan.

It's just disappointing that the league is not been used to build up a squad and perhaps find a new star forward or a new solid back. This is what was missing in last years championship campaign.

Have we not learned that leaving the squad / team 'as is' all the time leads to a lack of competition for places and causes players to become 'stale'.

The message that this selection is sending out to me is not one of optimism for the year ahead.
Post by: muppet on February 27, 2013, 05:02:49 PM
Quote from: highorlow on February 27, 2013, 04:25:05 PM
Here are a few for starters....

Walsh, Rogers, Kelly, Gordon, Hallinan, McHale, Coen, C.O'Shea, Regan.

It's just disappointing that the league is not been used to build up a squad and perhaps find a new star forward or a new solid back. This is what was missing in last years championship campaign.

Have we not learned that leaving the squad / team 'as is' all the time leads to a lack of competition for places and causes players to become 'stale'.

The message that this selection is sending out to me is not one of optimism for the year ahead.

I agree to a certain extent and you need look no further than the Irish rugby team for evidence. I think Regan has been injured for the winter but I would like to have seen C O'Shea and maybe Danny Kirby getting some time. Maybe I am old school bit I would also really like to see at least one 'big' man in the FF line. Maybe AOS will move inside but I am interested in seeing how he gets on the position of his minor days.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 27, 2013, 07:22:53 PM
Well muppet, Conor O'Shea is quite big if you ask me. Is Evan Regan still injured?
Post by: ballinaman on February 27, 2013, 07:54:11 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 27, 2013, 07:22:53 PM
Well muppet, Conor O'Shea is quite big if you ask me. Is Evan Regan still injured?
Not match fit yet as far as i know. was back training a couple of weeks ago.
Post by: sans pessimism on February 27, 2013, 08:13:49 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 27, 2013, 03:54:25 PM
Will Varley or Doherty come out to the half-forwards if Mayo do opt for three midfielders? Will AOS start in the no 11 position? I hope Horan will have learned something about our number 2 position.

Have to say I'm happy with our halfback and halfforward lines. Did Gibbons and B. Moran ever start at midfield before
last years league final,I think
Post by: Keane on February 27, 2013, 08:18:46 PM
Hard not to fancy Dublin in this one, one of the lads has a preview done if anyone wants to take a look:

http://www.livegaelic.com/news/allianz-football-league-preview-dublin-vs-mayo/
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 27, 2013, 09:26:00 PM
"From a personal point of view, another September final was watched through the fingers as Mayo flattered to deceive in yet another showpiece, and as a Dubs supporter, you couldn't help feeling that we'd have put up a better show."

Enough read, I cleaned my arse with it, when I got to that bit.

Mayo by 6
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 27, 2013, 09:32:50 PM
They way Dublin performed against Meath,Laois,Mayo it's very doubtful if they had put up a better show.
Post by: moysider on February 27, 2013, 09:46:13 PM
Quote from: Keane on February 27, 2013, 08:18:46 PM
Hard not to fancy Dublin in this one, one of the lads has a preview done if anyone wants to take a look:

Sorry I looked.

One of the lads is a gobshite.
Post by: ballinaman on February 27, 2013, 11:19:46 PM
Quote from: Keane on February 27, 2013, 08:18:46 PM

Jesus, what the hell was that? Drivel.
Post by: highorlow on February 28, 2013, 01:04:29 PM
QuoteHard not to fancy Dublin in this one, one of the lads has a preview done if anyone wants to take a look:

I thought the piece was quite informative, biased fair enough but shur he is a Dub.

Hope James Horan has a read of it.....................he might learn something!

"And what can we expect of the Metropolitans? They have a new manager, new philosophy and plenty of new faces for the Boys in Blue supporters to get used to. Jim Gavin has mixed a lot of youth and experience in his first two Allianz Football League team selections and also through the O'Byrne Cup. Some of the new faces have especially impressed. The likes of last year's U21 winners Kevin O'Brien and Jack McCaffrey have shown well in the first two games and another two men who have impressed have been Bernard Brogan and Paddy Andrews, who has shown signs of finally coming of age in the Blue and Navy."
Post by: Tubberman on February 28, 2013, 01:09:27 PM
Quote from: highorlow on February 28, 2013, 01:04:29 PM
QuoteHard not to fancy Dublin in this one, one of the lads has a preview done if anyone wants to take a look:

I thought the piece was quite informative, biased fair enough but shur he is a Dub.

Hope James Horan has a read of it.....................he might learn something!

"And what can we expect of the Metropolitans? They have a new manager, new philosophy and plenty of new faces for the Boys in Blue supporters to get used to. Jim Gavin has mixed a lot of youth and experience in his first two Allianz Football League team selections and also through the O'Byrne Cup. Some of the new faces have especially impressed. The likes of last year's U21 winners Kevin O'Brien and Jack McCaffrey have shown well in the first two games and another two men who have impressed have been Bernard Brogan and Paddy Andrews, who has shown signs of finally coming of age in the Blue and Navy."

Well that's hardly new news
Post by: ballinaman on February 28, 2013, 01:19:45 PM
Verdict:
Mayo seem to be at more experimental stage at this part of the season as James Horan seems to know what his team are all about so he's trying different options
A nothing comment.
Post by: Sam2011 on February 28, 2013, 11:03:39 PM
Dublin team:

1. Stephen Cluxton
2. Darren Daly
3. Kevin O'Brien
4. Johnny Cooper
5. Darragh Nelson
6. Ger Brennan
7. Jack McCaffery
8. Declan O'Mahony
9. Cian O'Sullivan
10. Paul Flynn
11. Tomas Brady
12. Ciaran Reddin
13. Paddy Andrews
14. Diarmuid Connolly
15. Bernard Brogan
Post by: heffo on March 01, 2013, 08:44:07 AM
Weak Dublin team - Mayo have a far stronger and experienced team out
Post by: Declan on March 01, 2013, 08:54:18 AM
Interesting to see how the backs fair out alright and I must admit I'm not a fan of O'Mahony but best of luck to them
Post by: ballinaman on March 01, 2013, 08:56:23 AM
Looking forward to seeing McCaffery in the flesh. Looks a player.
Post by: Mayo Mick on March 01, 2013, 09:01:52 AM
Should have enough in the tank to take care of that Dubs team. Would have liked to see Horan try a few players in this game but it seems the 2 points are more important.  Need to be more focused than we were v Tyrone though.
Post by: Crete Boom on March 01, 2013, 10:13:11 AM
 Interesting team from Horan and I'm very interested to see how O' Shea goes at no 11 cause we have struggled to fill that position ever since Mac left the scene. I don't know if Barret is a corner back and like others I would have liked to see Michael Walsh get a run there. Strong looking half back line for us and I like the midfield pairing of Gibbons and big Barry. Hopefully Doc and Conroy can keep there good form going up front. The key is we can't kick as much position away as we did against Tyrone and Kerry cause I don't think we'll dominate the middle third as much as we did against Tyrone. Hopefully the inside line will get a much improved supply of quality ball to give them a chance to take on their men.
  I don't know much of the Dubs team but that's a very tasty full forward line of Andrews, Brogan and Connolly and it could be a long day for our lads at the back! There is still a spine of experience down through the Dubs team with Flynn, O' Sullivan, Ger Brennan and Cluxton. Personally I'm really looking forward to seeing McCaffrey in the flesh as well and let's face it there hasn't been many dull Mayo Dublin games over the last decade!
Post by: heffo on March 01, 2013, 10:19:20 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on March 01, 2013, 10:13:11 AM
I don't know much of the Dubs team but that's a very tasty full forward line of Andrews, Brogan and Connolly and it could be a long day for our lads at the back!

I doubt Connolly will play tbh
Post by: Declan on March 01, 2013, 10:32:17 AM
Gavin has named dummy teams for the first two league games . Have a feeling he'll do the same again. Will be interesting to see whether anyof the U21's will play on the night so Mayo lads don't hold out too much hope of seeing McCaffrey ;)

subs list given as well:
Shane Supple St Brigid's
Denis Bastick Templeogue Synge Street
Bryan Cullen Skerries Harps
Nicky Devereux Ballinteer St John's
Craig Dias Kilmacud Crokes
Chris Guckian St Jude's
Ciarán Kilkenny Castleknock
Eric Lowndes St Peregrine's
Kevin McManamon St Jude's
Paddy Quinn Na Fianna
Philip Ryan St Brigid's
Post by: Crete Boom on March 01, 2013, 10:37:23 AM
Quote from: heffo on March 01, 2013, 10:19:20 AM
I don't know much of the Dubs team but that's a very tasty full forward line of Andrews, Brogan and Connolly and it could be a long day for our lads at the back!

That's a pity (well maybe not for Mayo) I always enjoy his off the cuff natural style. Is that the hurler Tomas Brady at no 11 for the Dubs and who do you think will start instead of Connolly?
Post by: heffo on March 01, 2013, 10:39:33 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on March 01, 2013, 10:37:23 AM

That's a pity (well maybe not for Mayo) I always enjoy his off the cuff natural style. Is that the hurler Tomas Brady at no 11 for the Dubs and who do yo think will start instead of Connolly?

Thats the Hurler alright - if Connolly doesn't start then I'd expect Kilkenny in

Hard to know though with the U21's at home to Longford next Wednesday
Post by: Canalman on March 01, 2013, 10:42:56 AM
Mayo look the better team on paper and if we lose no harm imvho. Nice to see younger players getting a chance and hopefully some of them nail a championship place by the end of the league.

Nelson is a very tidy player and thought he would be a regular in the team by now. Likewise Devereux who I see is on the subs bench.

Agree to a degree with Declan about Declan O'Mahony. Was a great underage player and is still a great club player. Needs to take these chances and hopefully he does as we need another midfielder to take some of the pressure off MDMA.
Post by: Hound on March 01, 2013, 12:03:38 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 01, 2013, 10:39:33 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on March 01, 2013, 10:37:23 AM

That's a pity (well maybe not for Mayo) I always enjoy his off the cuff natural style. Is that the hurler Tomas Brady at no 11 for the Dubs and who do yo think will start instead of Connolly?

Thats the Hurler alright - if Connolly doesn't start then I'd expect Kilkenny in

Hard to know though with the U21's at home to Longford next Wednesday
Unless Dessie has specifically requested that they play, I don't think any of the U21s will feature. Flynn is also a big injury doubt.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 01, 2013, 12:14:26 PM
Yeah I would be surprised if any U21s feature for Dublin this weekend. Wish we had that option.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 01, 2013, 12:19:46 PM
Why the hell did they fix a U21 match before a league game?
Surely they must have thought of that.

Have ye any U21 matches on the 16th March?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 01, 2013, 12:25:46 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 01, 2013, 12:19:46 PM
Why the hell did they fix a U21 match before a league game?
Surely they must have thought of that.

Have ye any U21 matches on the 16th March?

In 2006 if I remember rightly Mayo played Cork in the Under-21 All-Ireland Final in Ennis clashed with a Mayo hurling game the opposite end of the country where Mayo lost by 1 point without their best point takers Keith Higgins. If I remember rightly it was against Kerry who went on to lose the next game to Dublin by 1 point who went on to join Div 1. Maybe I got this wrong, memory is hazy, anyone else remember this?
Post by: muppet on March 01, 2013, 12:50:53 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 01, 2013, 08:44:07 AM
Weak Dublin team - Mayo have a far stronger and experienced team out

Strong Dublin team and amazing bench. Might stay at home.
Post by: Declan on March 01, 2013, 01:47:27 PM
QuoteWeak Dublin team - Mayo have a far stronger and experienced team out

Will the pair of ye move to Kerry ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 01, 2013, 02:05:30 PM
Quote from: Declan on March 01, 2013, 01:47:27 PM
QuoteWeak Dublin team - Mayo have a far stronger and experienced team out

Will the pair of ye move to Kerry ;)

Lots of Yerra refugees making their ways to the Broadways of Dublin, Hills of Donegal, Banks of the Lee and the Soft and Craggy Boglands, Tall Magestic Hills these days, sure thats where the football is at.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 01, 2013, 04:00:22 PM
Quote from: Canalman on March 01, 2013, 10:42:56 AM
Mayo look the better team on paper and if we lose no harm imvho. Nice to see younger players getting a chance and hopefully some of them nail a championship place by the end of the league.

Nelson is a very tidy player and thought he would be a regular in the team by now. Likewise Devereux who I see is on the subs bench.

Agree to a degree with Declan about Declan O'Mahony. Was a great underage player and is still a great club player. Needs to take these chances and hopefully he does as we need another midfielder to take some of the pressure off MDMA.

I thought Dublin would select stronger team and with so many players to return a defeat here will be no harm. How long is Alan Brogan out for?
Post by: macdanger2 on March 01, 2013, 06:25:14 PM
Cian O'Sullivan named at midfield?? He'll hardly line out there, will he??
Post by: Hound on March 01, 2013, 06:53:42 PM
O'Sullivan played midfield the last day, did reasonably well, but should be tested more this time.

Alan Brogan is back training with the Dubs this week. Might get a run off the bench v Kildare, but its likely to be at least a further week before he's back in contention to start.
Post by: bucko on March 01, 2013, 09:20:02 PM
Happy enough with the Mayo selection for Saturday, Keegan and McLoughlin back in their best positions, why Horan had to experiment with those 2 baffles me slightly. 2 of our best players from last year in those positions, for me it was definitely a situation of if it ain't broke don't fix it! O'Shea at 11 is definitely worth looking at given the options we have at midfield. O'Shea is playing serious stuff at midfield, but I thought last year he was on the ball more in our half of the field than in the opposition half. I reckon even though he'll have 11 on his back he will play a more midfield role with bigger emphasis on attacking. You think back to the strength and power he showed when carrying the ball in the AIF, running at the opposition, breaking tackles and drawing frees. Horan probably felt he needed to do something with the half forward line given its failure to link up all the possession we had with the FF line v Tyrone.
Post by: muppet on March 02, 2013, 11:52:44 AM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-refuse-to-volunteer-for-overtime-at-croke-park-match-tonight-586653.html (http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-refuse-to-volunteer-for-overtime-at-croke-park-match-tonight-586653.html)

Gardaí have refused to volunteer for overtime at a football match in Croke Park in Dublin this evening.

This is the first major disruption to public policing as part of the garda protest against pay cuts.

The move will have a knock-on effect across Dublin as foot patrols in the city will have to be reduced to allow gardaí to police the stadium.

The Irish Times estimates that around 80 staff will have to be taken off the streets and reassigned to duty at Croke Park.

President of the Garda Representative Association John Parker said the withdrawal of goodwill was not designed to impact on the public.

"Garda management have the ability to redirect normal rostered resources throughout the Dublin metropolitan region," he said, "and to direct non-rostered gardaí to perform duties in the environs of the stadium."

And so it begins. If this is the course of action the GRA takes then Gárda Management may decide to stop policing the games later this year.
Post by: spuds on March 02, 2013, 05:30:04 PM
Any radio station doing live coverage tonight in Dublin ?
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 02, 2013, 05:44:54 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 02, 2013, 11:52:44 AM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-refuse-to-volunteer-for-overtime-at-croke-park-match-tonight-586653.html (http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gardai-refuse-to-volunteer-for-overtime-at-croke-park-match-tonight-586653.html)

Gardaí have refused to volunteer for overtime at a football match in Croke Park in Dublin this evening.

This is the first major disruption to public policing as part of the garda protest against pay cuts.

The move will have a knock-on effect across Dublin as foot patrols in the city will have to be reduced to allow gardaí to police the stadium.

The Irish Times estimates that around 80 staff will have to be taken off the streets and reassigned to duty at Croke Park.

President of the Garda Representative Association John Parker said the withdrawal of goodwill was not designed to impact on the public.

"Garda management have the ability to redirect normal rostered resources throughout the Dublin metropolitan region," he said, "and to direct non-rostered gardaí to perform duties in the environs of the stadium."

And so it begins. If this is the course of action the GRA takes then Gárda Management may decide to stop policing the games later this year.
Yes, there will be serious problems in the coming months over this. The GRA are in no mood for compromise and always took a hardline approach when it came to protecting the rights of their members.
Post by: joemamas on March 02, 2013, 08:08:29 PM
Re Ger Brennanns sending off.I fely from the beginning that Paul Earley was not in love with Mayo but his comments and analysis of the sending off was disgraceful.Mike Finnerty needs to grow a pair and contradict him.
Post by: emmetryan on March 02, 2013, 10:07:00 PM
Hi guys,

Tactical analysis of Dublin's win over Mayo now up here http://action81.com/blog/?p=6807

Emmet
Post by: ballinaman on March 02, 2013, 10:11:16 PM
As Willie Joe put it on mayogaablog..dumb and dumber. Stupid decisions time and time again after the sending off. Won't be within an ass's roar of Sam until we start playing with the head. high balls into conroy ffs...pass on from SOS when goal on...
Post by: Mano on March 02, 2013, 11:00:05 PM
Ger will have to say a few extra prayers tonight after that slap, kick, elbow combination
Post by: Syferus on March 02, 2013, 11:19:57 PM
Quote from: joemamas on March 02, 2013, 08:08:29 PM
Re Ger Brennanns sending off.I fely from the beginning that Paul Earley was not in love with Mayo but his comments and analysis of the sending off was disgraceful.Mike Finnerty needs to grow a pair and contradict him.

Of all the people you could choose to say they have it in for Mayo you selected perhaps the worst choice in the country.
Post by: Hound on March 03, 2013, 06:41:09 AM
Quote from: Mano on March 02, 2013, 11:00:05 PM
Ger will have to say a few extra prayers tonight after that slap, kick, elbow combination
Some boyo. If he was a Muslim, he'd be a suicide bomber!

Otherwise a very open and exciting game, as is often the case when these two collide. Nice to get the win in the circumstances. Berno was pretty good!
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 03, 2013, 07:36:54 AM
I was going to write up a brief synopsis as to what happened last night at a quarter to one, but tiredness got the better of me and I said I'd sleep first before I wrote anything down.

The one striking thing from the first half was our inability to win any high ball at midfield. YeThe half bact our goalie rearly varied his long kickouts to that sector. When we did get those 6 points in a row, we used the flanks and the spaces very well to be fair. Is Chris Barrett the man for the corner back position? I don't think so. I don't think he's good enough at all, but I suppose our other options (bar M. Walsh, who I've yet to see play much in no 2) would be caught for pace last night. Dublin off the ball running was fantastic by the way.

The two wingbacks did ok I thought. Vaughan did well on Brady, but Dublin made a switch early on and hauled Brady off. Why oh why does James Horan leave things until the second half to make any sort of a change is beyond me. And it was an effective change at that. I thought Vaughan was poor at what he should be doing manning the centre, but then again he's never had that real consistency has he?

I don't think AOS cuts it at number 11. He made a bit of a difference when moved to midfield in the second half early on and we were getting on top. That was until Ger Brennan's dismissal. I suppose McLoughlin would say he had better days in the green and red shirt, likewise Richie Feeney. Inside forwards were doing their best, but long high balls ballooned in on top of them did not work. Next time outfield players need to kick low balls in to them, or else put Barry Moran in full forward. It might work if you give long high balls into him. Doherty was my pick of the forwards.

Finally Bernard Brogan was the pick of all the players on show. I sincerely hope that was a one off bad performance from Cafferkey. By God, Brogan was brilliant last night. You could see from the word go, he was on fire. However, from a Mayo point of view what was worrying, was Caff's inability to hold possession, i.e. fumbling it to Brogan.
Post by: cadence on March 03, 2013, 10:11:09 AM
Quote from: emmetryan on March 02, 2013, 10:07:00 PM
Hi guys,

Tactical analysis of Dublin's win over Mayo now up here http://action81.com/blog/?p=6807

Emmet

nice one emmet.

you say mayo didn't pressurise the ball carrier like they normally do. they must have been doing that for a reason, that only they know. no other way to explain that.
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on March 03, 2013, 11:18:02 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 02, 2013, 05:44:54 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 02, 2013, 11:52:44 AM

Yes, there will be serious problems in the coming months over this. The GRA are in no mood for compromise and always took a hardline approach when it came to protecting the rights of their members.

Yeah. Apparently some of them are going to have to make do with 2 holidays this year. God love them.
Post by: heffo on March 03, 2013, 11:35:56 AM
Good win by a very experimental Dublin team against a strong Mayo team.

Semi-finals looking good.
Post by: highorlow on March 03, 2013, 01:45:18 PM
QuoteHi guys,

Emmet

nice one emmet.

you say mayo didn't pressurise the ball carrier like they normally do. they must have been doing that for a reason, that only they know. no other way to explain that.

Good article. Just wondering though with a game like last night that is played at such a pace things have to happen at a spur of the moment? I would say tis more passion than tactics that come into things? I think it should have been worth mentioning Cluxtons shortish kick outs in the middle of the 2nd half that Mayo slept through. I think Kilkenny was unmarked on three occasions.

As you have alluded to James Horan certainly didn't have any 'tactic' for the 5 down with 5 mins to play scenario.

There was consistency on display from Mayo with the 5 or 6 usual suspects in team that are not up to this level maintaining a non-improvement. Safe to say they will be picked again the next day though.

We are going nowhere under this manager I'm afraid. Pity because it is not for the want of trying from the players.

Maybe when Andy Moran comes back he might start to paper over the cracks again.
Post by: Tubberman on March 03, 2013, 02:00:51 PM
Quote from: highorlow on March 03, 2013, 01:45:18 PM
QuoteHi guys,

Emmet

nice one emmet.

Good article. Just wondering though with a game like last night that is played at such a pace things have to happen at a spur of the momenti would say tis more passion than tactics that come into things?

As you have alluded to James Horan certainly didn't have any 'tactic' for the 5 down with 5 mins to play scenario.

There was consistency on display from Mayo with the 5 or 6 usual suspects in team that are not up to this level maintaining a non-improvement. Safe to say they will be picked again the next day though.

We are going nowhere under this manager I'm afraid. Pity because it is not for the want of trying from the players.

Maybe when Andy Moran comes back he might start to paper over the cracks again.

Horan had a poor night alright, the substitutions left me scratching my head and our use of the extra man was atrocious.
But to say he's holding us back and the players are doing well despite him is absolutely ridiculous and is a completely unwarrented insult to him.
Do you remember where we were in 2010?? We also had many of the same players then.
Dillon was badly missed last night - he would have brought the intelligence on the ball and bit of creativity that was badly lacking.
But we were missing possibly our 3 best forwards in Andy, Cillian and Dillon. It's not the end of the world.

If the Dublin supporters around me were anything to go by, they were a lot more up for the game than we were. Some of those supporters were headers - we were called "Muckahs" and monkeys and a fella threatened to punch me in the face because of Mayo's tackling, which was a bit baffling...
Post by: emmetryan on March 03, 2013, 02:43:16 PM
Thanks for all the responses lads.

Cadence, I think Horan will bring it back in but they're trying to add other elements first.

highorlow, the pace certainly has an impact but you need to be able to adjust under those circumstances.

Tubberman, Like I'm saying to cadence, I think Mayo are still in development mode.

Speaking of developments, here's a video analysing Stephen Cluxton's position http://action81.com/blog/?p=6812
Post by: joemamas on March 03, 2013, 04:04:22 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 02, 2013, 11:19:57 PM
Quote from: joemamas on March 02, 2013, 08:08:29 PM

Of all the people you could choose to say they have it in for Mayo you selected perhaps the worst choice in the country.

Did you listen to his commentary, if not then it may be worth doing so.
Post by: muppet on March 03, 2013, 04:38:00 PM
BB was awesome, you just had to watch and admire how he went about his game.

Caff and Higgins were well off what we have come to expect of them for some reason.

Midfield and the half-forwards were missing for large parts of the game and is a problem area. Midfield should be easy enough to fix but I am not sure about the half forwards.

Doherty is playing really well but I don't see him as a high ball target. Conroy caused all sorts of problems also.

Sideline had an off day.

Ger Brennan might be given a long break by the new management. He is a serious liability to any team and was long before the sending off, Jesus or no Jesus.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 03, 2013, 04:51:31 PM
Quote from: highorlow on March 03, 2013, 01:45:18 PM

You're right highorlow, Horan out!!!

Mayo seemed to be well off the pace last night, not sure if it's the training they're doing or what but very few players seemed to have any zip in the legs at all. That doesn't excuse the hail mary balls that were lumped into the FF line in the last 10-15 minutes though.

The FB line were poor enough, lucky not to concede another couple of goals, that said, there was very little pressure on the man kicking in the ball which made it a lot easier for Dublin.

Big game next weekend, win it and we're in the shakeup for the semi finals, lose it and we're into a relegation battle.

Brennan is a complete liability for Dublin - not the first time he's been sent off and probably not the last, could cost them dearly in a big match later in the summer.
Post by: bucko on March 03, 2013, 05:16:48 PM
Jesus, some people have very short memories. Year three in Horan's reign, the first 2 of which can be graphed as definite progress. Now only the first weekend in March and we have people looking for his head.
Did he get things wrong last night? Yes. Was he slow to make changes? Sure. But for him to take complete responsibility for some of the utterly headless decision making and play out on the pitch is a bit much. Too many players had bad games last night. Our full back line was completely off form, it was the worst I've seen Higgins play in a long time, Caff had a mare on a mesmerising Brogan and Barrett is a liability at CB. Both the latter 2 turned over ball that led to Dublin scores, Barrett especially playing two high risk passes in a row when better, safer options were on. Midfield and the half forward line were ineffective for long periods. Our FF line did ok when supplied with decent ball that they had a good chance of winning, but in the middle 15 mins of the second half the ball kicked into them was dire, less than 50/50. What cost us last night was complete lack of cuteness and intelligence at the critical phases. What is it that causes Mayo players to stop doing what is working and revert to crazy, hopeful high ball into a forward line that wants it in low? Even more infuriating is the fact that despite the poor performance we still had enough opportunities to get a result out of last night.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 03, 2013, 06:55:09 PM
Disappointing result. Funny how at this time of the year we give credit to results. Results that often have little or no bearing on the Championship form of a team. From Mayo perspective now is the time to experiment, try and get enough to stay up and find out a few (more) horrible realities. A team can hide during the league playing strong experienced teams in their positions and find they have learned nothing when championship starts.

If Mayo do sh1t in the league, there is no pressure on Horan. If Mayo fail this year to win an AI  :P or to conquer a few big guns on the way. Horan will be gone and it will probably be himself that will walk. He knows that and he knows where his priorities lie. He has probably only six months left in this job.

By the way Bernard Brogan was excellent last night. Must like playing under lights. Just a thought but i think it is probably easier to score into the Hill under lights than in daylight?
Post by: Declan on March 04, 2013, 09:20:23 AM
Very enjoyable game on Sat and a pleasure to watch Berno play like that - long may it continue. Very open game as usual between these two teams and bar Brennan's blue mist moment thought we acquitted ourselves quite well.

QuoteVaughan did well on Brady, but Dublin made a switch early on and hauled Brady off.

Brady went off injured from what I saw - holding his hammer as he left and Mac did well when he came on.

The bright side was the number of goal chances we created - though I don't know what the plan is for Clucko to take penalties >:(

Anyway I think both teams will be still playing well into August/September this year 
Post by: Jinxy on March 04, 2013, 04:16:52 PM
Donal Vaughan really needs to mind his own business in future.
Tired of seeing him rolling around on the ground with his hands over his face.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 04, 2013, 04:28:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 04, 2013, 04:16:52 PM

In fairness he got a fair wallop! Which would you rather, a player to get a wallop like he did and pretend nothing happened or to do what he did?
Post by: Jinxy on March 04, 2013, 04:48:14 PM
I'd rather he didn't go running in like a hero in the first place.
He always ends up on his arse.
Post by: Crete Boom on March 04, 2013, 04:49:33 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 04, 2013, 04:16:52 PM

Back to the Div 3 thread with ya Jinxy or I'll a set a few more Killashandra men on you >:(.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 04, 2013, 04:55:02 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 04, 2013, 04:48:14 PM

So you'd rather he pretend nothing happened to his team mate on the ground?
Post by: moysider on March 05, 2013, 12:59:23 AM
Quote from: emmetryan on March 03, 2013, 02:43:16 PM
Thanks for all the responses lads.

Cadence, I think Horan will bring it back in but they're trying to add other elements first.

highorlow, the pace certainly has an impact but you need to be able to adjust under those circumstances.

Tubberman, Like I'm saying to cadence, I think Mayo are still in development mode.

Speaking of developments, here's a video analysing Stephen Cluxton's position http://action81.com/blog/?p=6812

I dont think so Emmet- with all respect and all that. Like Mayo not putting usual pressure on the ball carrier? I doubt that was anything else but lack of intensity/focus, rather than a tactic

. I had to watch the game on Setanta and it was unbelievable how the presenter and panel went on about Mayo s midfield dominance at ht and ft when we were destroyed in the middle for 3/4 of the game. Do these people analyse from what they see or do they go with the prompts and briefs that they think will happen before the game starts? I expected better of Dara O Sé, but in fairness he did redeem himself after, when he identified Mayo s achilles in the game being their decision making.

Mayo have never done rebuilding and transition and development or any of that. Even in better years it s cobbled together and that is why it ends in grief. When structure and tactic is needed ........ It is clear to be seen in recent times. And recent I mean 30 yrs at least. But lets look at more recent stuff.

Promising emergence in 85 with a talented team ( and probably the best manager we ve ever had) but capitulated next 2 years in a wasteland of a province at that time - no development. Possibly players not having the drive or ambition of the manager.

88/89. AI semi and a final but instead of consolidating or pushing on, got turned over in Connacht for years.

98/99 Again lost softish enough encounters even though we had battle hardened team again and playing against novices.

Yet we came from the pits to compete in AI finals   in 96, 04, 06 and last year - and you have to factor in the awful recessional years of Holmes and O Mahoney in that time frame as well to put the surges in perspective.

Has anything changed under Horan? Yes of course, a lot has. Will it will end in tears like it usually does.

Here s the thing. Is Horan keeping powder dry or is this it? Ok, we all know a couple of those lads last day wont be playing championship football but there s other stuff.

Like we had 70% of ball against Tyrone and lost like Foreman did in the Jungle. How much 'Rope a Dope' practice does a Mayo team and management need ( they played Donegal 3 times last year). Yet.

Worringly we lost out in a loose shoot out against Dubs as well.  Completely different type of game but same result. I hope I m wrong but it looks like we get places when we arrive fresh with new faces.Horan also seems to be indulging his bench - as well as one or 2 'cant- be - dropped- if -fit'.

I suspect Horan is looking at the longer term. It s foolish team that are revealing their full hand at this stage of the year tbh.
Post by: Hound on March 05, 2013, 09:09:39 AM
I don't condone what Brennan did, but he did it to the right man. Vanghan finally had something he could have a genuine cry about!
Post by: dublin7 on March 05, 2013, 02:17:45 PM
Quote from: Hound on March 05, 2013, 09:09:39 AM
I don't condone what Brennan did, but he did it to the right man. Vanghan finally had something he could have a genuine cry about!

I remember laughing at him when I was looking at the replay. If you are going to run in & act like a hard man, don't go down like a baby moments later.

There was also an instance in the first half where he took a shoulder on the sideline & I thought he was going to land in the stands.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 05, 2013, 03:23:44 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D That's the biggest oxymoron I've ever heard!
Post by: spuds on March 05, 2013, 03:45:21 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on March 05, 2013, 02:17:45 PM

I remember laughing at him when I was looking at the replay. If you are going to run in & act like a hard man, don't go down like a baby moments later.

There was also an instance in the first half where he took a shoulder on the sideline & I thought he was going to land in the stands.
Vaughan does play the hard man at times but in his defense, he was shouldered by Flynn when kicking the ball off balance and took a fair old contact with the ground. Flynn should of seen yellow for that.
No matter how you run up to someone if they hit you with the elbows you are in for some pain. Ger Brennan tackled Conroy high, kicked at him afterwards as he lay on the ground and then elbowed Vaughan. Yet you are laughing at Vaughan !! The Dublin supporters around me were disgusted with Brennan.
Good fast paced game of football with Mayo allowing Dublin plenty of time to hit long passes into the full forward line.  Things will need to tighten up dramatically during the business end of the year or else we will be watching the big boys on TV again all summer.
Post by: heffo on March 05, 2013, 05:59:07 PM
Quote from: spuds on March 05, 2013, 03:45:21 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on March 05, 2013, 02:17:45 PM

Vaughan does play the hard man at times but in his defense, he was shouldered by Flynn when kicking the ball off balance and took a fair old contact with the ground. Flynn should of seen yellow for that.
No matter how you run up to someone if they hit you with the elbows you are in for some pain. Ger Brennan tackled Conroy high, kicked at him afterwards as he lay on the ground and then elbowed Vaughan. Yet you are laughing at Vaughan !! The Dublin supporters around me were disgusted with Brennan.
Good fast paced game of football with Mayo allowing Dublin plenty of time to hit long passes into the full forward line.  Things will need to tighten up dramatically during the business end of the year or else we will be watching the big boys on TV again all summer.

Brennan needs to cop the hell on. Playing on the edge is great and what not, but he goes beyond the edge for me. His discipline needs to improve hugely.

Vaughan however spends an inordinate amount of time rolling on the ground holding his face.
Post by: ballinaman on March 05, 2013, 06:03:02 PM
C'mon heffo...it wouldn't be a Mayo team without a player who gets the other crowd going....Liam Mac, DB, Mac, Conoreen....