Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Bingo on January 22, 2013, 10:55:31 AM

Title: Kerry Drink Driving Permit
Post by: Bingo on January 22, 2013, 10:55:31 AM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0122/363832-kerry-council-rural-vote/ (http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0122/363832-kerry-council-rural-vote/)

Is this man for real? A permit system to allow designated drivers to drink drive in certain locations etc etc.

Interesting to note that councillors who voted for it where publicans. But this didn't influence their decision making according to Healy-Rae.  ;D
Title: Re: Kerry Drink Driving Permit
Post by: screenexile on January 22, 2013, 10:58:05 AM
D'arcy gave him some abuse this morning on the wireless. Right enough in my view the man is a lunatic and not helping the stereotypical view of the Kerryman!
Post by: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 11:10:28 AM
There are loads of people freely driving the roads every day who are much more dangerous sober than the type of guys this would be designed for are after a few pints.

I'm not saying this is the correct answer but the current situation might be costing as many lives as it's saving.
Post by: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 11:11:59 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 11:10:28 AM
I'm not saying this is the correct answer but the current situation might be costing as many lives as it's saving.

What do you think is the correct answer?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:13:55 AM
Was real funny, fair play the likelyhood of them causing an accident in rural Kerry on those roads is very low I'd say and this would be to themselves (or some American tourist), they are only looking to have 3 pints ffs :o. He blamed suicide as one of the factors
Post by: NAG1 on January 22, 2013, 11:15:41 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:13:55 AM
Was real funny, fair play the likelyhood of them causing an accident in rural Kerry on those roads is very low I'd say and this would be to themselves (or some American tourist), they are only looking to have 3 pints ffs :o. He blamed suicide as one of the factors

So the solution to suicide from depression is to offer more alcohol  ???
Weird stuff to say the least
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:22:22 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 22, 2013, 11:15:41 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:13:55 AM

So the solution to suicide from depression is to offer more alcohol  ???
Weird stuff to say the least

I don't think the alcohol is the problem for suicide it was the living in the remote areas and not able to converse or socialise, have they no taxi services in Kerry?

(http://imgc.allpostersimages.com/images/P-473-488-90/21/2163/BOCCD00Z/posters/roy-rainford-horse-drawn-gypsy-caravan-dingle-peninsula-county-kerry-munster-eire-republic-of-ireland.jpg)
Post by: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 11:25:52 AM
Quote from: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 11:11:59 AM

I don't know. Certainly crap drivers should be taken off the road. That should have been the starting point. We have a test to make sure cars are roadworthy but nothing to make sure the driver is ok bar your original test. Does that seem ok to everyone? You can light and smoke a cigarette, put on a cd but can't hold a mobile to your ear. Is that consistent?

The bigger issue here is that public policy is weighted heavily against people who do not want to live in cities or large urban areas. Cost of petrol/diesel etc doesn't hit people living in Dublin cos they can get a bus/LUAS/DART. Same for going for a pint. No worries about getting home.

I'm not sure what the answers are but there's no doubt there's an imbalance.
Post by: screenexile on January 22, 2013, 11:40:28 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 11:25:52 AM

I don't know. Certainly crap drivers should be taken off the road. That should have been the starting point. We have a test to make sure cars are roadworthy but nothing to make sure the driver is ok bar your original test. Does that seem ok to everyone? You can light and smoke a cigarette, put on a cd but can't hold a mobile to your ear. Is that consistent?

The bigger issue here is that public policy is weighted heavily against people who do not want to live in cities or large urban areas. Cost of petrol/diesel etc doesn't hit people living in Dublin cos they can get a bus/LUAS/DART. Same for going for a pint. No worries about getting home.

That is a bigger issue and I think a different one to that at hand. This law effectively allows drunk farmers to drive tractors around the countryside. Whatever about bad drivers and your point is valid I don't think there can be a case ANYWHERE that you're allowed to guzzle 3 pints and then get into a vehicle.
Post by: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 11:47:31 AM

There's always going to be an imbalance of some sort. You can't make public policy perfectly symmetrical. Mass public transport in cities is a response to an inconvenience - major traffic problems - that rural people don't have to face. Allowing people to go out on the lash is a fringe benefit, not the reason for the existence of the mass public transport. There isn't a solution to that particular problem.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:53:01 AM
Quote from: screenexile on January 22, 2013, 11:40:28 AM

That is a bigger issue and I think a different one to that at hand. This law effectively allows drunk farmers to drive tractors around the countryside. Whatever about bad drivers and your point is valid I don't think there can be a case ANYWHERE that you're allowed to guzzle 3 pints and then get into a vehicle.

There really isn't a case for drinking and driving. Ashamed to say I did it once and will never do it again, wasn't caught but looking back it was sooooooo stupid and dangerous, had anything happened I would have struggled to live with myself.

The problem is a local thing, possibly the community (or publican) should run a better service in terms of transport for his locals. You are probably talking at most ten miles to the nearest pub, better to have locals getting home safe than not getting home at all
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 22, 2013, 11:57:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:53:01 AM
The problem is a local thing, possibly the community (or publican) should run a better service in terms of transport for his locals. You are probably talking at most ten miles to the nearest pub, better to have locals getting home safe than not getting home at all

A 'Rural Taxi Licensing' system has been suggested, ad nauseam by some, apparently, but no, heads firmly in the sand (or muck) whilst the lunatics blithely carry on.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 22, 2013, 12:01:12 PM
Jesus - thon Healy-Reas are an awful shower of gobdaws.
Post by: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 12:02:33 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 22, 2013, 11:57:06 AM
A 'Rural Taxi Licensing' system has been suggested, ad nauseam by some, apparently, but no, heads firmly in the sand (or muck) whilst the lunatics blithely carry on.

The logistics of it would be nightmarish. You can imagine the stink as the service conveniently always seems to get to the customers at Healy-Rae's pubs before anyone else...
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 22, 2013, 12:08:08 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 22, 2013, 11:57:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:53:01 AM

If they want to do that it is the best option with the publicans/vinters associations making a contribution to 'subsidize' it.  I am not going to be a hypocrit and say it is wrong to go to the pub and half 2-3 pints and then drive home.  I have done it many times.  I have been at weddings where I have had a few glasses of wine with my dinner or a few pints but I would always stop drinking 2-3 hours at least before I was due to leave.  Deaths by drink drivers are not caused by people who have 2-3 pints over a few hours, they are caused by people who get drunk and drive.  There is a major difference.  The taxi system is the best though.
Post by: Bingo on January 22, 2013, 12:12:56 PM
The whole idea is just plain batty. Fair enough, the rural person is at a disadvantage and circumstances are against them but their are many solutions to it rather than just allowing drink driving.

And also to what extent are they allowed to drink drive? 3 pints, 10 pints etc. Where are they allowed to drive too? Its hardly worth exploring or thinking about. I'm sure that the person having 2/3 pints in rural Kerry are having their 2/3 pints and driving home as it is, the permit wouldn't make much difference to them.

As deiseach says, you can't compare rural life/transport to city life.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 12:22:09 PM
Quote from: Bingo on January 22, 2013, 12:12:56 PM
The whole idea is just plain batty. Fair enough, the rural person is at a disadvantage and circumstances are against them but their are many solutions to it rather than just allowing drink driving.

And also to what extent are they allowed to drink drive? 3 pints, 10 pints etc. Where are they allowed to drive too? Its hardly worth exploring or thinking about. I'm sure that the person having 2/3 pints in rural Kerry are having their 2/3 pints and driving home as it is, the permit wouldn't make much difference to them.

As deiseach says, you can't compare rural life/transport to city life.

Designated roads (obviously his way home) and I think it was up to 4 pints or whatever that means on the alcohol chart, as you say they are probably doing that already but the fear of losing the car because of it would be the main thing here.
Post by: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 12:22:27 PM
This vote in Kerry is parish pump politics of the most crass kind. Note how many councillors abstained/weren't present (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/outrage-as-healyrae-calls-for-rural-drinkdrive-permits-3361629.html). They probably thought it was daft as well, but didn't want to be hearing the Healy-Raes come election time going on about those who betrayed the right to go to the pub for a few scoops. There should be a quorum for council meetings, having five councillors out of (by my reckoning) 27 determine the policy of Kerry County Council is bats.
Post by: Bingo on January 22, 2013, 12:28:49 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 12:22:27 PM
This vote in Kerry is parish pump politics of the most crass kind. Note how many councillors abstained/weren't present (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/outrage-as-healyrae-calls-for-rural-drinkdrive-permits-3361629.html). They probably thought it was daft as well, but didn't want to be hearing the Healy-Raes come election time going on about those who betrayed the right to go to the pub for a few scoops. There should be a quorum for council meetings, having five councillors out of (by my reckoning) 27 determine the policy of Kerry County Council is bats.

he's the Ryanair of politics, the only bad publicity is no publicity.
Post by: LeoMc on January 22, 2013, 12:34:27 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 12:22:27 PM
Perhaps they could vote by phone. I am sure HR could set it up.
Post by: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 12:44:10 PM
Quote from: Bingo on January 22, 2013, 12:28:49 PM
he's the Ryanair of politics, the only bad publicity is no publicity.

Don't you mean the Luis Suarez of politics? ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2013, 01:40:25 PM
It is very simple. If you are driving don't drink any alcohol. Exercise some self-control, that way the limits are not in question.

FWIW a couple of local rural pubs in Armagh take people home at the end of the night.
Post by: ballinaman on January 22, 2013, 01:50:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2013, 01:40:25 PM
It is very simple. If you are driving don't drink any alcohol. Exercise some self-control, that way the limits are not in question.

FWIW a couple of local rural pubs in Armagh take people home at the end of the night.
Agreed. I can't see why anyone would risk it, get a lift, taxi, whatever needs be if you are that desperate to go to the pub.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 22, 2013, 01:52:36 PM
'Kerry Drink drive permit'

Its like a headline from a bad joke book
Title: Re: Idiots Drink Driving Permit
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 22, 2013, 01:52:47 PM
Anyone who defends any level of drinking alcohol and driving are clearly as batty as JHR. Socialising is not a right, it is a bonus. Let them go to the pub and drink minerals, I do it all the time and still have the craic. I get lashed drunk many a time too, but always make sure I am walking home, have a lift or using public transport.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 01:54:00 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 22, 2013, 01:50:49 PM

Agreed. I can't see why anyone would risk it, get a lift, taxi, whatever needs be if you are that desperate to go to the pub.

People don't risk it and they just stay at home because they can't get a lift or a taxi that will cost less than the few pints.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 01:56:13 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 22, 2013, 01:52:47 PM
Anyone who defends any level of drinking alcohol and driving are clearly as batty as JHR. Socialising is not a right, it is a bonus. Let them go to the pub and drink minerals, I do it all the time and still have the craic. I get lashed drunk many a time too, but always make sure I am walking home, have a lift or using public transport.

Actually there's ads on TV now about how dangerous that is. It could be banned too.
Post by: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 01:59:01 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 01:56:13 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 22, 2013, 01:52:47 PM

Actually there's ads on TV now about how dangerous that is. It could be banned too.

How many people have been killed by a drink-walker? Yes, it's not smart. But the only person you are endangering is you.
Post by: ballinaman on January 22, 2013, 01:59:51 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 01:54:00 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 22, 2013, 01:50:49 PM

People don't risk it and they just stay at home because they can't get a lift or a taxi that will cost less than the few pints.
Socialising is important for the elderly in isolated rural communites  I understand, but I think a line has to be drawn with any sort of driving after drinking. There must be other options.
Post by: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 02:13:26 PM
I think the debate is going round in circles at this stage, so I'll just make the observation that those advocating relaxation of the drink-driving laws have to be able to rationalise the increase in injuries and deaths that will be caused by it. And I'm not being a smart-arse when I say that. People get killed in cars all the time - 10 in the month of January in the Republic (http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=138) - yet no one advocates banning them. Maybe the improvement in the quality of life for those living in rural areas will be so great that yes, the death toll will be tolerable. I nominate Danny Healy-Rea to be the spokesman for this point of view.
Post by: highorlow on January 22, 2013, 02:14:49 PM
Can the rural publicans not come up with theme nights in these pubs so that all the locals would gather at the one time and then driving can be shared week in week out.

It's not that difficult to come up with idea's such as card nights for a suck calf, bingo nights or welly throwing nights?

I'm from a large enough town and the Fact of the matter is the busiest pub around at the weekends is 5 miles out the road in a rural area where a large gang from the town go and this is simply because the lass running it knows how to appeal to what the people want.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 02:27:56 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 02:13:26 PM
I think the debate is going round in circles at this stage, so I'll just make the observation that those advocating relaxation of the drink-driving laws have to be able to rationalise the increase in injuries and deaths that will be caused by it. And I'm not being a smart-arse when I say that. People get killed in cars all the time - 10 in the month of January in the Republic (http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=138) - yet no one advocates banning them. Maybe the improvement in the quality of life for those living in rural areas will be so great that yes, the death toll will be tolerable. I nominate Danny Healy-Rea to be the spokesman for this point of view.

I don't think you're being entirely fair Deiseach. There a lot more layers to this than "conventional wisdom" or "mainstream thinking" would have you believe. There are loads of guys who go to the pub 4-5 times a week and have 3 or 4 pints and drive home and have done so for years with no problems. These are not the people who were causing the carnage on our roads. One issue with the above proposal is that it would be open to abuse like everything else in this brown paper bag country.
Post by: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 02:47:34 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 02:27:56 PM
I don't think you're being entirely fair Deiseach. There a lot more layers to this than "conventional wisdom" or "mainstream thinking" would have you believe. There are loads of guys who go to the pub 4-5 times a week and have 3 or 4 pints and drive home and have done so for years with no problems. These are not the people who were causing the carnage on our roads. One issue with the above proposal is that it would be open to abuse like everything else in this brown paper bag country.

And there are loads of people who own guns in the United States who use them perfectly responsibly. That doesn't mean you should legislate based on their behaviour. Make no mistake, if the laws were relaxed there would be more deaths due to drink-driving. It wouldn't be hundreds, it might not even be tens. But there would be more, and those advocating relaxation should be honest about that if they really think the strangulation of rural life is so acute that Something Must Be Done.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 22, 2013, 03:15:20 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 02:47:34 PM

And there are loads of people who own guns in the United States who use them perfectly responsibly. That doesn't mean you should legislate based on their behaviour. Make no mistake, if the laws were relaxed there would be more deaths due to drink-driving. It wouldn't be hundreds, it might not even be tens. But there would be more, and those advocating relaxation should be honest about that if they really think the strangulation of rural life is so acute that Something Must Be Done.

These are the lads, who you come across crawling home from the pub late at night, driving at 30 klm p/hr in the countryside, driving with their parking lights as their guide, turning right without warning to car behind or to oncoming car down a country lane from mainroad, only indicating after they have turned due to probable slow reactions in remembering they should have used their indicators. It is the vigilance of good sober drivers that these people don't get killed. I was nearly in accident a few years back due to a combination of an almost certainly drunk driver ahead of me crawling at night at barely 20 klm and an eejit boyracer approaching from behind us doing well above the speed limit. This is where you have the big problems, over 50 idiots who think its acceptable to have "a few points" and under 25s thinking its "mighty craic" to race on the public roads late at night.
Post by: gallsman on January 22, 2013, 03:19:07 PM
Went to college with a few lads from rural Mayo who'd be sympathetic to this kind of thing. Is it legal? An absolute disgrace.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 22, 2013, 03:21:51 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 22, 2013, 03:19:07 PM
Went to college with a few lads from rural Mayo who'd be sympathetic to this kind of thing. Is it legal? An absolute disgrace.

Post by: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 03:45:47 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 02:47:34 PM

I do think this to be honest. You've summed it up well there though.

I also think we could save lives by having proper driving tests and recertification. When I was in my first year or two driving I did an advanced driving course purely to reduce my collosal insurance bill. It was brilliant and I learned more about driving that day that I had previously (I already had passed the test at this stage). There are so many crap drivers on the road it's unreal. I'd hazard a guess that some of the 30kph guys MGHU encountered were sober as judges.
Post by: ONeill on January 22, 2013, 04:03:28 PM
As the great Paidi said - 'the roughest type of f**king animals'.
Post by: johnneycool on January 22, 2013, 04:15:40 PM
As Tony Baloney said, if Danny Healy Rea is so concerned about the mental welfare of his outlying constituents (have you ever heard so much shíte) he should offer a free taxi service at the end of the night. I'm sure it'd help him get a crowd in and reduce suicide as an added bonus..

when I first heard this on the radio this morning i thought it was a piss take!!
Post by: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 04:24:39 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 03:45:47 PM
I also think we could save lives by having proper driving tests and recertification. When I was in my first year or two driving I did an advanced driving course purely to reduce my collosal insurance bill. It was brilliant and I learned more about driving that day that I had previously (I already had passed the test at this stage). There are so many crap drivers on the road it's unreal. I'd hazard a guess that some of the 30kph guys MGHU encountered were sober as judges.

Fair comment. There's still a fair few of the beneficiaries of Sylvester Barrett's largesse (http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2008/0104/world/government-considers-two-tier-driving-test-51828.html) stinking up the roads.
Post by: Bingo on January 22, 2013, 04:38:05 PM
Getting to the pub for a few pints isn't going to solve the rural "lifestyle" problems. Its jobs and so on that need to be sorted out.

Edit: the gobshite is just on the radio now TodayFM and started off talking about the depression and suicide rates in rural Kerry and now this will help, not solve it entirely, this issue.

He's said its not about his pub or the other councillors pub and has avoided the question could they not go to the pub to drink tea/coffee, non-alcoholic beer, soft drinks etc if its company and social interaction that they seeking. He answered by saying that you'll have to ask the people that, they like a pint of Guinness.
Post by: tyssam5 on January 22, 2013, 04:43:11 PM
Could they not license donkeys to carry these lads home? Or one of those big, heavy black bikes?
Post by: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 04:47:44 PM
Quote from: Bingo on January 22, 2013, 04:38:05 PM
Getting to the pub for a few pints isn't going to solve the rural "lifestyle" problems. Its jobs and so on that need to be sorted out.

Edit: the gobshite is just on the radio now TodayFM and started off talking about the depression and suicide rates in rural Kerry and now this will help, not solve it entirely, this issue.

He's said its not about his pub or the other councillors pub and has avoided the question could they not go to the pub to drink tea/coffee, non-alcoholic beer, soft drinks etc if its company and social interaction that they seeking. He answered by saying that you'll have to ask the people that, they like a pint of Guinness.

You now have guys going home and having a bag of cans on their own instead of going to the pub for the few pints. Now obviously drink is a problem in our society and that's another debate but surely it's healthier to enjoy a few pints in the pub in company that a bag of cans at home watching the TV.
Post by: tyssam5 on January 22, 2013, 04:51:03 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 04:47:44 PM

You now have guys going home and having a bag of cans on their own instead of going to the pub for the few pints. Now obviously drink is a problem in our society and that's another debate but surely it's healthier to enjoy a few pints in the pub in company that a bag of cans at home watching the TV.

A walk to the pub would be healthy too especially for older people. Call down to your neighbor walk in with him. Free hi-via vest and lights for the elderly rural dweller.
Post by: Bingo on January 22, 2013, 04:52:35 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 04:47:44 PM

Yeah, of course it is but not everyone at home drinking cans will be drinking bags of them. Lot of people do that through choice and alot will have a few cans to unwind, i know several who do that. The same as that everyone doesn't go to the pub to drink 2/3 pints and drive home, some of them are drinking a slap of pints and driving home.

Drink driving permits or higher drink driving limits won't help with societys problems such depression, alcohol problems or anything else. Be it rural ireland or in the cities.
Post by: Rossfan on January 22, 2013, 04:53:45 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 22, 2013, 12:01:12 PM

The word "gombeen" could have been invented solely to describe that family.
As others have pointed out - why can't he ( and indeed many other publicans) buy a people carrier and give everyone within a few mile radius a lift home after closing. The extra customers ( according to his take on the reason they stay away) would cover the cost.

Mind you he's not the only politician/publican who thinks drink driving is grand.
Mattie McGrath said in the Dáil one day that people uaually drive better after a few drinks  :-\
Post by: muppet on January 22, 2013, 05:19:13 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 22, 2013, 04:53:45 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 22, 2013, 12:01:12 PM

The word "gombeen" could have been invented solely to describe that family.
As others have pointed out - why can't he ( and indeed many other publicans) buy a people carrier and give everyone within a few mile radius a lift home after closing. The extra customers ( according to his take on the reason they stay away) would cover the cost.

Mind you he's not the only politician/publican who thinks drink driving is grand.
Mattie McGrath said in the Dáil one day that people uaually drive better after a few drinks  :-\

The notion that Public Servants would actually serve the public is astonishing.

Particularly in South Kerry.
Post by: HiMucker on January 22, 2013, 05:34:57 PM
I thought this thread was going to be a piss take.  Cant believe its serious.  Absolutely ridiculous.  I'm ashamed to say I did it before and its only luck i didn't kill myself or anyone else.  Those who think a few pints don't make a difference to some people, are talking balls.  There may be times that it would be someone Else's fault.  ie a pedestrian walking in front of a car.  Some peoples reactions are better than others.  But maybe if you didn't have those drinks you could have reacted quicker.  This happened to my cousin.  He had a few pints.  Witnesses/cops testified that he seemed sober.  He killed a fella that stepped onto the road right in front of him.  He done time for it and he believes that had he not drank he could have slowed down enough that might have saved the person.  Maybe not, but at least he would have had his conscious clear if he wasn't drinking
Post by: theticklemister on January 22, 2013, 05:46:34 PM
This an absolute disgrace.

Legalising heroin next in Listowel.

Whats the craic now; does this go the dail?
Post by: imtommygunn on January 22, 2013, 05:56:12 PM
So say you're ten mile up the road from this "jurisdiction" and you drink three pints and then drive what happens you? You get points / lose your license?

Go ten mile down the road and nothing happens you.

Ludicrous. Irrespective of what the topic is here you can't have one law in one part of the country and one in another.
Post by: bennydorano on January 22, 2013, 06:19:40 PM
IS there no 'Rural Transport' community type organisation in operation?  In Armagh City and surrounding areas there's a crowd called Armagh Rural Transport, who hire minibuses out to local community and sporting organisations, all it costs is the price of the petrol (and having a driver who has to go through their test).  I know our GAA club avails of the service, I'd imagine it's subsidised with public money somewhere along the way, surely a system like that would e easy enough to install in any locality in Ireland?
Post by: theticklemister on January 22, 2013, 06:21:29 PM
I scriobhed a wee song there about this terrible, terrible motion; it goes to the tune of This Land is your Land (Woody Guthrie).

Chorus

This Land is your Land,
This Land is my Land,
From the Northern sober highlands,
To the Western non-drink-driving islands,
From the drunken hills of Kerry,
To the taxi after drinking up in Free Derry;
This land was made to drive home in safety for you and me.

Verse 1

As I was walking, by the Atlantic water,
Hand in hand there, with my little daughter,
I heard a car speeding, and it gave no heeding;
This county was made for drink-drivers not me.

Chorus

Verse 2

So I walked her home by, the old Church steeple,
Not proud of my councillors, not proud of my people,
The motion was voted in, it should of been put in the bin;
This county has sold out its soul.

Chorus

Verse 3

Then I climbed Carrauntoohil mountain, by the crystal fountain,
I heard the Atlantic roar, by my county's sea-shore,
Now they all drive the car; back home from the bar;
This was voted in by those who love the cents.

Chorus
Post by: muppet on January 22, 2013, 06:34:15 PM
It gets better:

A motion tabled by Danny Healy-Rae at yesterday's meeting of Kerry County Council called for special derogation from the Offences against the person Act for rural men, including small farmers. The independent councillor's motion was passed by five votes to three. Seven councillors abstained and 12 were not present for the vote.

Mr Healy-Rae claimed today that strict assault legislation was leading to inaction and frustration and in some cases, was a factor in suicide. A fellow councillor stated: "fellas need to let off some steam now and then and what better way than giving a friendly box or two." He added, "a good scrap never did any harm, sure our forefathers and some of our mothers did nothing else". 

Chief executive of the Vintners' Federation of Ireland Padraig Cribben said he hopes Mr Healy-Rae's proposal starts a conversation on issues facing rural Ireland.

"Successive governments have failed to recognise the plight of people living in rural communities. Indeed they have compounded this situation by closing rural post offices and Garda stations," he said. Another source said: "sure if they close the Gárda Stations the lads will have no one to box at all now and where will we be then boss?".

"Hopefully Cllr Healy-Rae's actions will at least succeed in getting people talking and debating the issues that face rural Ireland on a daily basis – issues that many in government and at administrative level seem blissfully unaware of."
Post by: theticklemister on January 22, 2013, 07:01:02 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 22, 2013, 06:34:15 PM
It gets better:

A motion tabled by Danny Healy-Rae at yesterday's meeting of Kerry County Council called for special derogation from the Offences against the person Act for rural men, including small farmers. The independent councillor's motion was passed by five votes to three. Seven councillors abstained and 12 were not present for the vote.

Mr Healy-Rae claimed today that strict assault legislation was leading to inaction and frustration and in some cases, was a factor in suicide. A fellow councillor stated: "fellas need to let off some steam now and then and what better way than giving a friendly box or two." He added, "a good scrap never did any harm, sure our forefathers and some of our mothers did nothing else". 

Chief executive of the Vintners' Federation of Ireland Padraig Cribben said he hopes Mr Healy-Rae's proposal starts a conversation on issues facing rural Ireland.

"Successive governments have failed to recognise the plight of people living in rural communities. Indeed they have compounded this situation by closing rural post offices and Garda stations," he said. Another source said: "sure if they close the Gárda Stations the lads will have no one to box at all now and where will we be then boss?".

"Hopefully Cllr Healy-Rae's actions will at least succeed in getting people talking and debating the issues that face rural Ireland on a daily basis – issues that many in government and at administrative level seem blissfully unaware of."

It gets people talking; i'll give ye that!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2013, 07:12:12 PM
You could give some bricklayers a pile of work building a wall round Kerry.
Post by: muppet on January 22, 2013, 07:20:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2013, 07:12:12 PM

Mikey Sheehy (GaaBoard version) would be all for that. As would most of Cork. You might be on to something.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2013, 07:23:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 22, 2013, 07:20:10 PM

Mikey Sheehy (GaaBoard version) would be all for that. As would most of Cork. You might be on to something.
Enda can have that one for free.
Post by: seafoid on January 22, 2013, 07:23:20 PM
that idea has come up before
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dL_PXBt85rY
Post by: Declan on January 22, 2013, 07:44:05 PM
(http://sphotos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/317975_10151302293639681_2117168851_n.jpg)
Post by: muppet on January 22, 2013, 08:25:12 PM

Call it the Piss Wall?

I'll get me coat............and flatcap.
Post by: Lecale2 on January 22, 2013, 09:20:59 PM
Two words. Embarrassing.
Post by: Canalman on January 23, 2013, 09:33:22 AM
Guys, you really have to hand it to the Healy Raes............. some amount of publicity and interviews for a nonstarter of a  proposal (as they well know). Rabble rousing / vote garnering /"showing that shower up in Dublin" at its best . Fair play to them.

Can't believe so many have fallen for it.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 23, 2013, 09:57:48 AM
Quote from: Canalman on January 23, 2013, 09:33:22 AM
Guys, you really have to hand it to the Healy Raes............. some amount of publicity and interviews for a nonstarter of a  proposal (as they well know). Rabble rousing / vote garnering /"showing that shower up in Dublin" at its best . Fair play to them.

Exactly. They know it won't work, have no idea how to solve it but they've raised awareness of what for many is an issue. Many of their constituents will say - "at least they tried something and understand the problem". All politics is local.
Post by: thewobbler on January 23, 2013, 10:00:21 AM
Right, this is going to sound a bit daft, but stay with me. There is some sense in it.

There's a lot of nonsense on this thread about about "it's never acceptable to drink and drive". I'm sorry to tell you folks, that stance does not help anyone. It happens, and will continue to happen. The best we can do is make it all more transparent.

I'd propose a solution that puts the onus back on the drink driver. I call it the pink light system. I'm only choosing pink as it's a colour not in use by emergency services or road services, and not because I'm promoting gay friendliness.

- You could purchase a "pink light" from your local Halfords or the like. It would work in the same way as a removable police light.
- When you've had a bit to drink, you put the pink light on top of your car until you get home. By applying the pink light, you fall under the same rules as an 'R" driver up north i.e. speed capped at 45mph, and much more severe points penalties for traffic indiscretions.
- When you have a pink light on, you are allowed an increased alcohol blood level. Let's just say (for now), something along the effects of 4 pints in past 3 hours.
- When you have a pink light on, the police have the right to pull you over for a test/sample/chat without you having had any driving indiscretion or misdemeanour.

What I'm getting at here is:

- The drink drivers of this world can make it clear to road users and pedestrians that they've had a few.
- It's still bound by law. You can and will lose your license for drunk driving (rather than drink driving).
- The boy racers are bound to a 45mph limit, or they lose the books.
- Anybody found with any trace of alcohol in their system, and not displaying a pink light, loses the books immediately.
- The onus is moved away from state responsibility to personal responsibility. If you've been drinking, don't cover it up.
- Insurers can choose to approve or decline the right to use a pink light.

Post by: deiseach on January 23, 2013, 10:02:17 AM

If people in Kerry want to vote en masse for a family of parasites, that's their entitlement. And the rest of us are entitled to view it for what it is.
Post by: theticklemister on January 23, 2013, 10:55:41 AM
Wobbler were ye drunk when you wrote that?

No pun intended.

Its like tellng people ye take drugs; but only sometimes.
Post by: thewobbler on January 23, 2013, 11:14:26 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 23, 2013, 10:55:41 AM
Wobbler were ye drunk when you wrote that?

No pun intended.

Its like tellng people ye take drugs; but only sometimes.

See I look at it the other way, and suggest it's like telling people you're a conscientious, sensible road user who is driving cautiously this evening for good reason - and not one who is running the gauntlet.
Post by: blanketattack on January 23, 2013, 11:16:52 AM
Quote from: deiseach on January 23, 2013, 10:02:17 AM

If people in Kerry want to vote en masse for a family of parasites, that's their entitlement. And the rest of us are entitled to view it for what it is.

Kerry has a population of 145,000. At the last elections Danny-Healy Rae got 3,000 votes. Michael Healy-Rae got 6,600 votes. With the huge crossover of votes, I would say the figures show that approx. 95% of Kerry people didn't vote for the Healy-Raes in the last election.
Kerry voters have been slated for voting in the Healy-Raes yet never a word is said about the Dublin voters voting in Bertie Ahern and Charlie Haughey or half the country voting in their own local crooks, scoundrels and gombeens.

If you're going to build a wall around Kerry because of the Healy-Raes then build a wall with motion sensored machine guns around Dublin for voting in Bertie and Charlie and also have walls around Tipp for Lowry, Limerick for O'Dea, etc.
And of course let's not forget Donegal where Jim McDaid got voted in, 2 years after getting into a car when more than 3 times over the then drink driving limit and driving down the wrong way of a dual carriageway.
Post by: deiseach on January 23, 2013, 11:28:58 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 23, 2013, 11:14:26 AM
See I look at it the other way, and suggest it's like telling people you're a conscientious, sensible road user who is driving cautiously this evening for good reason - and not one who is running the gauntlet.

I can see a flaw in your argument - your "conscientious, sensible road user" is drunk.
Post by: deiseach on January 23, 2013, 11:35:06 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 23, 2013, 11:16:52 AM
Kerry has a population of 145,000. At the last elections Danny-Healy Rae got 3,000 votes. Michael Healy-Rae got 6,600 votes. With the huge crossover of votes, I would say the figures show that approx. 95% of Kerry people didn't vote for the Healy-Raes in the last election.
Kerry voters have been slated for voting in the Healy-Raes yet never a word is said about the Dublin voters voting in Bertie Ahern and Charlie Haughey or half the country voting in their own local crooks, scoundrels and gombeens.

If you're going to build a wall around Kerry because of the Healy-Raes then build a wall with motion sensored machine guns around Dublin for voting in Bertie and Charlie and also have walls around Tipp for Lowry, Limerick for O'Dea, etc.
And of course let's not forget Donegal where Jim McDaid got voted in, 2 years after getting into a car when more than 3 times over the then drink driving limit and driving down the wrong way of a dual carriageway.

People can say all those things and do say all those things.
Post by: johnneycool on January 23, 2013, 11:38:22 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 23, 2013, 11:29:14 AM
I don't think it's a good idea to have 4 pints and drive home with or without a pink light on yer roof.

How many people go to the pub intending to have 4 pints and end up having 5 or 6 pints?

Those people are still going to drive home.

Exactly right, whereas there is a difference between having a drink and being drunk, a drunk person rarely admits they're drunk especially if it meant not having a way home.

I couldn't give a shít if a drunk driver killed themselves, it'd be other road users I'd be afraid for.

Post by: No Soloing on January 23, 2013, 12:32:29 PM
I don't think it's a good idea to have 4 pints and drive home with or without a pink light on yer roof.

How many people go to the pub intending to have 4 pints and end up having 5 or 6 pints?

Maybe if you had 5 or 6 pints you could use a purple light  :D
Post by: thewobbler on January 23, 2013, 12:50:18 PM

I guess what I'm proposing here is for the middleground.

- - - -

There's hordes of people in every county in Ireland who quite happily get in a car after a skinful of pints, and drive home/to the next pub. A zero tolerance policy an alcohol in your system doesn't matter to these people; they've already decided that they're happy to tun the gauntlet.

Within that group there's a particularly horrible cohort who as well as being drunk, are bad drivers anyway, and their inconsideration for others is exacerbated by drunkenness.

Within that cohort there's an especially revolting faction who as well as being drunk and inconsiderate, think they're superman too when behind the wheel of a car, and are reckless.

There's all sorts of personalities in there, but the common issue is that the law doesn't matter to them. So all we can do is hope the police catch them and the judges nail them.

- - - -

The middle ground is the (in my opinion) overwhelming number of people on the island who are law-abiding, considerate and cautious in how they drive. If they have a road accident, it's an accident.

But because of the actions of the group above have forced us to have strict drink driving laws, then this majority group of sensible people cannot have a few drinks and then drive.

All i'm suggesting, much like Healy Rae, is that the middle ground is given an option. I'm not looking to promote reckless driving in any way. Limits would still exist and still be enforced - indeed even more firmly.
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 23, 2013, 01:00:40 PM
I know Healy-Rae is yer typical cute Kerry hoor and all that but he still has merit in his arguments.
I know that what he's looking for will never become law (and he knows that too) but at least he's highlighting the social problems of those in isolated rural communities. I suppose there must be one law for everybody but that means the farmer in Aclare that hops up onto his Massey Ferguson after a hard day's haymaking is as guilty as a yuppie in Dublin who has only a few hundred yards to go.
Ted Nealon, the former Fine Gael TD once made this point. I know Aclare and I understood what he was saying but like the bould Jackie, he was laughed off the proverbial stage.
However, I still have sympathy for all the farmers in Aclare.
Post by: deiseach on January 23, 2013, 01:07:16 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on January 23, 2013, 01:00:40 PM
I know Healy-Rae is yer typical cute Kerry hoor and all that but he still has merit in his arguments.
I know that what he's looking for will never become law (and he knows that too) but at least he's highlighting the social problems of those in isolated rural communities. I suppose there must be one law for everybody but that means the farmer in Aclare that hops up onto his Massey Ferguson after a hard day's haymaking is as guilty as a yuppie in Dublin who has only a few hundred yards to go.
Ted Nealon, the former Fine Gael TD once made this point. I know Aclare and I understood what he was saying but like the bould Jackie, he was laughed off the proverbial stage.

Why not say "the gombeen man in Aclare that hops into his brand new Merc after a hard day's milking the social welfare system [© Kevin McAleer] is as guilty as a hard-grafting factory worker in Clondakin who only has a few hundred yards to go"?
Post by: johnneycool on January 23, 2013, 01:11:39 PM

I tell ye, there's no hard day hay making now with the advent of the round baler and the teleporter.

Plus if you're thirsty then a pint of porter isn't going to do you any good.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 23, 2013, 02:03:46 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 23, 2013, 11:16:52 AM
Quote from: deiseach on January 23, 2013, 10:02:17 AM

I tend to agree with you blanketattack, but you are being slightly disengenuous with those figures. The population of Kerry is 145k, but how many are of voting age? Now let's start talking about Kerry South and Kerry North. The Healy Raes are South Kerry, so no-one in North Kerry is allowed to vote for him. Now in council elections, lets further cut it down to the constituency, which is probably something like Kenmare or that. In those terms, of the people allowed vote for them, the numbers would be a far higher percentage than what you've outlined.
Post by: blanketattack on January 23, 2013, 04:22:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 23, 2013, 02:03:46 PM

I tend to agree with you blanketattack, but you are being slightly disengenuous with those figures. The population of Kerry is 145k, but how many are of voting age? Now let's start talking about Kerry South and Kerry North. The Healy Raes are South Kerry, so no-one in North Kerry is allowed to vote for him. Now in council elections, lets further cut it down to the constituency, which is probably something like Kenmare or that. In those terms, of the people allowed vote for them, the numbers would be a far higher percentage than what you've outlined.

That's kind of my point too, the way you're breaking it down into specific areas.
Michael Healy-Rae was only voted for by a minority % of those of a voting age, on the register in South Kerry.
Danny Healy-Rae was only voted for by a minority % of those of a voting age, on the register in Killarney.
Yet ALL of Kerry is being slated for voting them in.
Post by: Bingo on January 23, 2013, 04:28:52 PM
Upon review you could also say that only a small % of kerry voted in favour of it as 5 councillors voted yes, 3 voted no and the other 19 shite the pants and sat on the fence.

So in reality only the % who voted for the Yes five (and drink in their pubs) decided on this course of action.

The bigger ejits who could have avoided all this are the ones who didn't vote.

It could also be a big tourism market for Kerry, like Amsterdam is for pot smoking, Kerry could attract those looking to drink-drive and tour the county, locked. A tourist drink-drive permit could also be introduced.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 23, 2013, 04:55:58 PM
They could get (more) EU funding for wider roads with an extra lane with foam barriers for people driving about pissed out of their heads. Would give the local construction industry a lift too.
Post by: blanketattack on January 23, 2013, 04:58:12 PM
Quote from: Bingo on January 23, 2013, 04:28:52 PM
Upon review you could also say that only a small % of kerry voted in favour of it as 5 councillors voted yes, 3 voted no and the other 19 shite the pants and sat on the fence.

So in reality only the % who voted for the Yes five (and drink in their pubs) decided on this course of action.

The bigger ejits who could have avoided all this are the ones who didn't vote.

It could also be a big tourism market for Kerry, like Amsterdam is for pot smoking, Kerry could attract those looking to drink-drive and tour the county, locked. A tourist drink-drive permit could also be introduced.

No, as far as that vote is concerned I would look at it as 88% of the council didn't vote no and the abstainers and absenteers are just as culpable as those who voted yes.
At least the reasons those who voted yes are transparent, they wanted to boost trade in their pubs. I'd love to know why the abstainers/absenteers didn't vote no.
Some reckon it was because they didn't want to upset their constituents but I don't believe that. Despite what the Healy Raes try to convince you of, the people living on their own in rural isolation in Kerry that would like to be able to drink and drive is a tiny tiny percentage, outnumbered at least by a factor of 100 by parents who'd abhorr the thought that old fellas with special permits could legally drive around, over the limit at any time and knock them or their kids over.

Post by: AZOffaly on January 23, 2013, 07:25:18 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 23, 2013, 04:22:28 PM

That's kind of my point too, the way you're breaking it down into specific areas.
Michael Healy-Rae was only voted for by a minority % of those of a voting age, on the register in South Kerry.
Danny Healy-Rae was only voted for by a minority % of those of a voting age, on the register in Killarney.

Aye, but the way you said it was that Only x% of the population of Kerry voted for these galoots. My point is that it's a much bigger percentage when you strip out the people that cannot vote for them. I think it's optimistic to say that they wouldn't garner a few more votes from those other areas, at least if the people there were allowed vote for them.

PS. if they lived over the border in West Cork, or West Limerick , or West Clare, or South Offaly, or North Tipp, or South Tipp or anywhere else they'd also attract their fair share of supporters. The old maxim of all politics being local is still very true, and anyone who plays on that will be popular at the polling station.
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 23, 2013, 09:26:14 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 23, 2013, 01:07:16 PM

Why not say "the gombeen man in Aclare that hops into his brand new Merc after a hard day's milking the social welfare system [© Kevin McAleer] is as guilty as a hard-grafting factory worker in Clondakin who only has a few hundred yards to go"?
I think there can't be many farmers in Aclare milking anything at the present time and that's because I know there ain't many farmers in Aclare. There's very few of the Homo sapiens variety living there at all.
Driving down the main (and only) street, it's obvious that there are more deserted premises in the little village than ones that are inhabited. As in most other remote rural communities, people are voting with their feet.
For some the only social diversion was the weekly game of twenty five in the local pub. Three or four pints and the bit of chat were about the height of it. The prizes they played for weren't' up to much; maybe a suck calf or a trailer of turf and it would take 10 to 12 weeks before the competition ended.
From what I gather, the weekly card drives are only history now. No wonder the people are clearing out.
I'd safely say that there are more "hard-grafting factory workers" in Clondalkin than farmers in Aclare right now. ;D
Post by: thebandit on January 24, 2013, 12:28:59 AM
While I don't agree at all with the idea, I have sympathy with a bachelor farmer who drank 3 pints on a weeknight and drove home for years having that taken away from him. But the is no logical way to allow drink driving in any shape or form.

I do think however, that Ray Darcy came across as condescending and bad mannered. He evidently had his mind made up about this man, and his idea before he came in air. So why did he even want to interview him if he wasn't going to let him speak?

I agree with Darcy's views on the subject, but I strongly disagree with how he treated Healy-Ra
Post by: Syferus on January 24, 2013, 01:18:59 AM
To be fair with that family it's clearly an accumulation of their continual stoke politics that was at play with in how D'arcy treated Healy-Rae the lesser. The hilarity made up for any journalistic malpractice.

You'd need to have suffered a literal stroke not to be able to see through the Healy-Raes.
Post by: deiseach on January 24, 2013, 09:16:25 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on January 23, 2013, 09:26:14 PM
I'd safely say that there are more "hard-grafting factory workers" in Clondalkin than farmers in Aclare right now. ;D

You're missing my point. We could all go around justifying social policy change on the basis that the good culchie folk should allowed to do the kind of thing that odious Jackeens - and please don't claim 'yuppie' is a value-neutral term, it isn't - take for granted. It's much more difficult to justify your position when you put the disreputable character in the culchie camp and vice versa. Remember the end to the film Lorenzo's Oil, where we saw all the beautiful people who were alive thanks to the treatment? I'd recommend watching the ending of the episode of The Critic (http://www.avclub.com/articles/dr-jay,69482/) which takes the piss out of the premise, showing Lars Schoenberg who has "just clubbed my one-thousandth baby seal thanks to Jay's Oil!"
Post by: highorlow on January 24, 2013, 09:34:44 AM
If this goes through there would be a few hidden costs involved that these councilors may not have fully thought through

1 -  they should insist on is having a flashing beacon on top of the car or tractor to let every other road user know that they are on the drink drive permits. who pays for these beacons?

2 - special warning road signs designated for county Kerry, i.e. a shot of a car weaving in and out and a pint glass beside it

3 - more signs like the ones you have when entering the gaelteacht except it would be for entering a drink drive zone

4 - possible requirement for high visability portaloos along the roads in kerry

5 - high visability jackets for the drunk drivers if they need to take a leak on the way home

6 - scuba gear

7 - cribs for the transport box (for busy nights where a few lads are getting a lift)

8 - dictaphones

9 - wellies

10 - torch's

Post by: muppet on January 24, 2013, 10:05:38 AM
I would take the Bertistic approach to Danny Healy-Rae, appoint him to the European Space Agency or something like that.
Post by: blanketattack on January 24, 2013, 10:15:14 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 23, 2013, 07:25:18 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 23, 2013, 04:22:28 PM

Aye, but the way you said it was that Only x% of the population of Kerry voted for these galoots. My point is that it's a much bigger percentage when you strip out the people that cannot vote for them. I think it's optimistic to say that they wouldn't garner a few more votes from those other areas, at least if the people there were allowed vote for them.

PS. if they lived over the border in West Cork, or West Limerick , or West Clare, or South Offaly, or North Tipp, or South Tipp or anywhere else they'd also attract their fair share of supporters. The old maxim of all politics being local is still very true, and anyone who plays on that will be popular at the polling station.

Yes, but entire areas of Kerry e.g. North Kerry who couldn't and didn't vote for the Healy-Raes shouldn't be lumped in and castigated for voting for the Healy Raes. The Healy-Raes would get very few votes from North Kerry and I've no doubt this will be proved in the next election when Kerry becomes one constituency of 5 seats.
Post by: theticklemister on January 24, 2013, 10:59:01 AM
Very good highorlow!!!
Post by: johnneycool on January 24, 2013, 12:43:07 PM
Quote from: highorlow on January 24, 2013, 09:34:44 AM
If this goes through there would be a few hidden costs involved that these councilors may not have fully thought through

1 -  they should insist on is having a flashing beacon on top of the car or tractor to let every other road user know that they are on the drink drive permits. who pays for these beacons?

9 - wellies

Kill two birds (a rather unfortunate phrase for this debate) with one stone with these babies;

(https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTIl_ezCXIHRPALVSiLQTRTD_rU4ZkiLa-BY5GQcwL6bkOVk2D2)

Post by: Syferus on January 24, 2013, 04:59:39 PM
Leave poor Zig and Zag out of it.
Post by: theticklemister on January 24, 2013, 05:11:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 24, 2013, 04:59:39 PM
Leave poor Zig and Zag out of it.

Whatever happened the lads anyway?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 24, 2013, 07:04:24 PM
Great. The news story has gone viral and now all my yank friends are getting another reinforcement of the drunk paddy stereotype.  This is embarrassing on so many levels I hardly know where to start.

1 - If you live in the country, it's going to be inconvenient to get around. If you have any issues with that, move to a built-up area.  But if you insist on living in the country then you have to put up with the costs that it entails, and that includes taxi fares to get to the pub. Suck it up.

2 - Are you really so socially inept that the only way you meet other people is at a pub?  Have you no hobbies? Are you not a member of some club, like a GAA club or something? I hear there's no shortage of them in rural Ireland. "Looking at four walls" my ass. There's plenty of social outlets that don't involve booze if you have enough imagination to get out and look for them.

3 - Alcohol is a depressant. Giving people better access to it is hardly a winning suicide-prevention strategy.

4 - If you really want to meet your mates at the pub, is anybody putting a gun to your head and forcing you to drink?  Are you really so socially inept that you can't have a good time without getting wasted?

5 - "I can drive fine with a few drinks in me" are the famous last words of manys a man who either got killed or killed himself.  Rules are f***ing rules. There's a maximum you're allowed to drink before you can drive, and there should be no exceptions.  If I had my way the limit would be zero.  Any alcohol in your blood and the keys should be taken off you. Letting people drive while their judgment's impaired is just stupid stupid stupid. I can't believe I even have to spell this out.

6 - If publicans want people to come to the pub, let them run a free or dirt-cheap shuttle service then.  You're still going to come out ahead. It's like the hotel that I stay in in Chicago out in the wilds near Gaelic Park.  There's nothing within walking distance of that hotel, so they run a complimentary shuttle bus service to wherever you want to go in the local area. Wanna go to Gaelic Park, the airport, or your favourite pub?  They'll take you, and they'll pick you up later when you ring them. Free. Gratis. For nothing. All you have to do is tip the driver.  They run a fleet of about three shuttle buses which are constantly on the road.  And they still come out ahead because that's a hugely popular hotel. People flock to it because of the good service, and they know they're not going to be stranded.  It's not rocket science.

Jesus Christ!  ::)
Post by: ApresMatch on January 24, 2013, 07:06:55 PM
Sitting in a cafe near Coventry with a crowd of English ones today and this story came on the radio, with Jeremy Vine of Panarama interviewing someone from Kerry, coulda been Darcy. Have to say I was embarrassed, the callers ringing in were going ballistic about drink driving deaths, visiting A & Es etc. Those arguing for it havent a leg to stand-on ffs!!
Post by: Puckoon on January 24, 2013, 08:03:29 PM
That's a fair bit of pontificating there Eamonn. I'd wager some of your American friends are no stranger to getting behind the wheel after a couple of jars, so even if they are dumb enough to believe this "reinforcement of the drunk paddy stereotype" - they'd be being very hypocritical. There's a very casual drinking and driving culture in the USA.

Are you really going to let a silly story like this cause you 6 paragraphs of embarrassment and umbrage?

What would be more embarrassing IMHO would be the lads coming over and getting absolutely plastered, obnoxious and really inforcing the drunk paddy stereotype.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 24, 2013, 08:21:55 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/321482_10151236141486275_1837311621_n.jpg)
Post by: armaghniac on January 24, 2013, 08:37:07 PM
QuoteHave to say I was embarrassed, the callers ringing in were going ballistic about drink driving deaths, visiting A & Es etc.

I hope you said that the proposal was to raise the level to that which exists for everyone in England?  ::)
Post by: muppet on January 24, 2013, 09:52:08 PM
The Healy-Raes don't have it all to themselves.

http://www.thisiskent.co.uk/Road-safety-role-disgraced-Canterbury-councillor/story-17947879-detail/story.html (http://www.thisiskent.co.uk/Road-safety-role-disgraced-Canterbury-councillor/story-17947879-detail/story.html)

Tory Drunk Driver put in charge of Road Safety.

Post by: Tony Baloney on January 24, 2013, 09:59:56 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 24, 2013, 08:21:55 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/321482_10151236141486275_1837311621_n.jpg)
Post by: Maguire01 on January 24, 2013, 10:01:50 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 23, 2013, 10:00:21 AM
There's a lot of nonsense on this thread about about "it's never acceptable to drink and drive". I'm sorry to tell you folks, that stance does not help anyone. It happens, and will continue to happen. The best we can do is make it all more transparent.
What ridiculous logic. What other criminal activities could we apply this to? What about domestic violence? It happens and "will continue to happen". Does that mean we relax the law?
Post by: Maguire01 on January 24, 2013, 10:06:37 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 24, 2013, 08:37:07 PM
QuoteHave to say I was embarrassed, the callers ringing in were going ballistic about drink driving deaths, visiting A & Es etc.

I hope you said that the proposal was to raise the level to that which exists for everyone in England?  ::)
Really? Do elaborate.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 25, 2013, 12:06:34 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 24, 2013, 07:04:24 PM
Great. The news story has gone viral and now all my yank friends are getting another reinforcement of the drunk paddy stereotype.  This is embarrassing on so many levels I hardly know where to start.

1 - If you live in the country, it's going to be inconvenient to get around. If you have any issues with that, move to a built-up area.  But if you insist on living in the country then you have to put up with the costs that it entails, and that includes taxi fares to get to the pub. Suck it up.

2 - Are you really so socially inept that the only way you meet other people is at a pub?  Have you no hobbies? Are you not a member of some club, like a GAA club or something? I hear there's no shortage of them in rural Ireland. "Looking at four walls" my ass. There's plenty of social outlets that don't involve booze if you have enough imagination to get out and look for them.

3 - Alcohol is a depressant. Giving people better access to it is hardly a winning suicide-prevention strategy.

4 - If you really want to meet your mates at the pub, is anybody putting a gun to your head and forcing you to drink?  Are you really so socially inept that you can't have a good time without getting wasted?

5 - "I can drive fine with a few drinks in me" are the famous last words of manys a man who either got killed or killed himself.  Rules are f***ing rules. There's a maximum you're allowed to drink before you can drive, and there should be no exceptions.  If I had my way the limit would be zero.  Any alcohol in your blood and the keys should be taken off you. Letting people drive while their judgment's impaired is just stupid stupid stupid. I can't believe I even have to spell this out.

6 - If publicans want people to come to the pub, let them run a free or dirt-cheap shuttle service then.  You're still going to come out ahead. It's like the hotel that I stay in in Chicago out in the wilds near Gaelic Park.  There's nothing within walking distance of that hotel, so they run a complimentary shuttle bus service to wherever you want to go in the local area. Wanna go to Gaelic Park, the airport, or your favourite pub?  They'll take you, and they'll pick you up later when you ring them. Free. Gratis. For nothing. All you have to do is tip the driver.  They run a fleet of about three shuttle buses which are constantly on the road.  And they still come out ahead because that's a hugely popular hotel. People flock to it because of the good service, and they know they're not going to be stranded.  It's not rocket science.

Jesus Christ!  ::)

Eamonn, I think you've been in the US too long!

1) A bit ridiculous really. Lets get all the farmers to move into the cities and have no-one in the countryside - a reasonable solution!!!

2) Not much GAA activity at 11pm most evenings. Tell us of all the other social outlets in rural areas? I'll settle for one reasonable social outlet a guy could go to a few times a week.

3) We have places called supermarkets and off-licences where alcohol can be purchased. Like your "Liquor stores". Alcohol consumption and mental health are a seperate, serious issue.

4) Having 3 or 4 pints isn't "getting wasted" for most of the people I'd be talking about.

5) Plenty of people driving around (or in the US for example, carrying guns) have impaired judgement when sober. Some people here have never passed even the joke that is the driving test.

6) Who will pull the pints when Mick wants a spin home? Most rural pubs surprisingly wouldn't have the budget/turnover of a Chicago hotel.

No-one is talking about letting guys get loaded and drive. To be honest this is now a generational thing and it won't be an issue in 20 odd years time cos younger people are used to it and can adapt better.
Post by: armaghniac on January 25, 2013, 12:28:45 AM
QuoteTo be honest this is now a generational thing and it won't be an issue in 20 odd years time cos younger people are used to it and can adapt better.

It comes down to an increased risk on the road for so that people can maintain a habit, which isn't exactly convincing.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 25, 2013, 03:41:06 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 24, 2013, 08:03:29 PM
That's a fair bit of pontificating there Eamonn.
Thank you. I've been doing it for years so I'd like to think I'm reasonably good at it by now.

QuoteI'd wager some of your American friends are no stranger to getting behind the wheel after a couple of jars, so even if they are dumb enough to believe this "reinforcement of the drunk paddy stereotype" - they'd be being very hypocritical. There's a very casual drinking and driving culture in the USA.

When some redneck American county council decides to legalize drunk driving while condemning the Kerry business then I'll concede the point on hypocrisy.

QuoteAre you really going to let a silly story like this cause you 6 paragraphs of embarrassment and umbrage?
Yes.

QuoteWhat would be more embarrassing IMHO would be the lads coming over and getting absolutely plastered, obnoxious and really inforcing the drunk paddy stereotype.
That happens too. And it's just as embarrassing.
Post by: balladmaker on January 25, 2013, 02:26:50 PM
(http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/c0.0.372.372/p403x403/316952_529433463757771_1542579466_n.jpg)
Post by: Orior on January 25, 2013, 02:45:05 PM
Hey, she looks alright. Do they do deliveries? I have a spare room.
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2013, 05:05:15 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 25, 2013, 03:41:06 AM
QuoteWhat would be more embarrassing IMHO would be the lads coming over and getting absolutely plastered, obnoxious and really inforcing the drunk paddy stereotype.
That happens too. And it's just as embarrassing.

I know it happens, and it's actually more embarrassing than some eejit motion in Co Kerry.
Post by: muppet on January 27, 2013, 03:36:45 PM
(http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/150622_523555850998682_337510803_n.jpg)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 09:48:57 PM
Lets be honest, anyone that can't handle a car after a couple of pints shouldn't be allowed to drink or to drive in the first place.

Look at the state of ye...all worried about what the D4 lads/Brits/yanks think about ye. f**k em, thats what we say down in Kerry.

Far too many pussies in rural Ireland these days.
Post by: theticklemister on February 04, 2013, 09:52:31 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 09:48:57 PM
Lets be honest, anyone that can't handle a car after a couple of pints shouldn't be allowed to drink or to drive in the first place.

Look at the state of ye...all worried about what the D4 lads/Brits/yanks think about ye. f**k em, thats what we say down in Kerry.

Go on mike sheehy ya big kerry bollix!!!!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 04, 2013, 09:52:57 PM

Poor Kerry can't drink drive, can't beat Mayo.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 10:07:38 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 04, 2013, 09:52:57 PM

Mayo always show up when it doesn't matter
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 10:16:27 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 04, 2013, 09:52:31 PM

Go on mike sheehy ya big kerry bollix!!!!

Seriously, if you can't drive a car after two pints are you fit to drive a car after, say, a five hour journey from Dublin. About the same level of impairment I'd say but nowhere near the same level of scrutiny.

Rural Ireland has been taking it up the arse in this economic meltdown and its about time somebody stood up. Perhaps it is not the most politically correct issue to make a stand on but, like I said, f**k em....it definitely gets peoples attention.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 04, 2013, 10:25:59 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 10:07:38 PM

They must suffer the same confusion as Kerry drivers.
Post by: Jonah on February 04, 2013, 10:29:04 PM

Made me laugh  :D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 10:31:24 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 04, 2013, 10:25:59 PM

Yeah, we have 36 points against our license how many have ye ?

I'd advise you to give up on this line of banter mayogodhelpus......
Post by: Maguire01 on February 04, 2013, 10:35:02 PM

Yes, and far fewer deaths. I know what i'd rather have.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 04, 2013, 10:36:16 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 10:31:24 PM

Is that what ye say to the Gards down in Kerry.

Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 10:41:23 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 04, 2013, 10:36:16 PM

Well, If they are from Mayo we just run them over because thats what we are used to.....

Like I said, you should stop now.......
Post by: muppet on February 04, 2013, 10:45:08 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 10:41:23 PM
Well, If they are from Mayo we just run them over because thats what we are used to.....

You are supporting Danny Healy-Rae's drink driving campaign. I'd suggest you should stop now.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 10:47:51 PM
On a more serious note. Before you comment further on this thread please say whether you have ever driven with more that two pints in your system and why it was ok for you to do it at that time ? ...and, yeah, I know two wrongs dont make a right but I think its important to hear your story.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 04, 2013, 10:49:06 PM

Was that what the barman said?
Post by: muppet on February 04, 2013, 10:54:20 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 10:47:51 PM
On a more serious note. Before you comment further on this thread please say whether you have ever driven with more that two pints in your system and why it was ok for you to do it at that time ? ...and, yeah, I know two wrongs dont make a right but I think its important to hear your story.

Another whatabouterist.

You are supporting Danny Healy-Rae's drink driving campaign. Proud?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 11:05:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 04, 2013, 10:54:20 PM

Another whatabouterist.

You are supporting Danny Healy-Rae's drink driving campaign. Proud?

I support a recognition that people living in rural areas live in different circumstances, and have different needs, to those in non-rural areas.

Also, answer the question, have you ever driven with 2 pints or more on you ?

(P.S You are an anti-semite in training so ease off on the moral indignation their sonny.....I have your number)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 11:25:44 PM
So nobody has ever driven with more than 2  pints on them ? maguire 01 ...what about you ?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 11:31:41 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 04, 2013, 10:49:06 PM

no, he said, "what are you having" and I said " two soft All Irelands"

jesus, are you a masochist or what ?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 05, 2013, 12:02:41 AM

I have never driven with two or more pints in me.

Am I permitted to carry on commenting on this thread now?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 05, 2013, 12:03:39 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 11:05:42 PM
I support a recognition that people living in rural areas live in different circumstances, and have different needs, to those in non-rural areas.

Play me the world's smallest violin. If you choose to live in the asshole of nowhere then you should expect to put up with the inconveniences that that entails.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 05, 2013, 12:21:42 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 11:31:41 PM

Mind now, leave the keys with that barman, your in no state to drive.

Cork, Dublin and Donegal our own real equals these days, lesser footballing counties like yourself should stick to the drinking. Leave the driving to the non-animal population of Ireland.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 05, 2013, 12:45:10 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 05, 2013, 12:02:41 AM

In fairness, you are a an exceptionally dry bollix so I don't think we should pay too much heed to what you say at all. I recall you recounting in great detail how you were in bed by 9pm at an NACB gathering whilst all the unwashed hoards were carousing away. Having attended many an NACB shindig i think I can appreciate more than most on here what a dry auld bollix you are !
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 05, 2013, 12:50:02 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 05, 2013, 12:21:42 AM

Cork, Dublin and Donegal our own real equals these days, lesser footballing counties like yourself should stick to the drinking. Leave the driving to the non-animal population of Ireland.

You will read this thread tomorrow and realize how much you got owned.  You will then vow to never drink again.

I will be waiting when you fall off the wagon.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 05, 2013, 01:01:24 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 05, 2013, 12:50:02 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 05, 2013, 12:21:42 AM

You will read this thread tomorrow and realize how much you got owned.  You will then vow to never drink again.

I will be waiting when you fall off the wagon.

Unlike a Kerry driver I am 100% sober lad. Owned, in your world somehow football is more important than peoples lives, not in mine. You are defending an absurd  position.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 05, 2013, 01:24:44 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 05, 2013, 12:45:10 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 05, 2013, 12:02:41 AM

In fairness, you are a an exceptionally dry bollix so I don't think we should pay too much heed to what you say at all. I recall you recounting in great detail how you were in bed by 9pm at an NACB gathering whilst all the unwashed hoards were carousing away. Having attended many an NACB shindig i think I can appreciate more than most on here what a dry auld bollix you are !

Dry bollix?  Yes.

In bed by 9pm?  No way Jose. I was still in the lobby while they came staggering in, and they staggered back out again in search of one more pub that was still open.

Having memory problems?  Must be true what they say about the drink dissolving your brain.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 05, 2013, 07:06:58 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 11:25:44 PM
So nobody has ever driven with more than 2  pints on them ? maguire 01 ...what about you ?
I have never driven even with one drink.
Post by: theticklemister on February 05, 2013, 07:48:46 AM
Woooooooooo horsey; what the hell is a NACB meeting??
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 05, 2013, 08:52:02 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 05, 2013, 07:06:58 AM

Post by: Hardy on February 05, 2013, 11:56:57 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 05, 2013, 07:06:58 AM

Dead right. A bird never flew on one wing.
Post by: muppet on February 05, 2013, 12:15:07 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 04, 2013, 11:05:42 PM
(P.S You are an anti-semite in training so ease off on the moral indignation their sonny.....I have your number)

A cowardly insult.

Of the 5,000 or so posters on this site you have no one's number.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 05, 2013, 05:25:07 PM
NACB = North American County Board