Anyone else interested in this?
http://www.redbullstratos.com/the-mission/what-is-the-mission/ (http://www.redbullstratos.com/the-mission/what-is-the-mission/)
Felix Baumgartner is planning to ascend to 120,000 feet in a stratospheric balloon and make a freefall jump rushing toward earth at supersonic speeds before parachuting to the ground.
http://www.redbullstratos.com/gallery/?mediaId=media1755427175001-1815 (http://www.redbullstratos.com/gallery/?mediaId=media1755427175001-1815)
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=22298.0
Quote from: laoislad on October 05, 2012, 11:41:11 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=22298.0
It's more than "hmmm interesting".
Quote from: hardstation on October 05, 2012, 11:48:23 PM
Chances of him surviving?
Must be reasonable. 50 years ago Joe Kittinger jumped from over 100,000 feet so with all the bells and whistles you would have to fancy his chances.
Quote from: hardstation on October 05, 2012, 11:48:23 PM
Chances of him surviving?
He will be fine, kittinger had an issue with one of his boots and he was afraid to tell ground control that his boot/suit was defective, he took a chance, ploughed on and made history.
It must be some feeling to jump out of a balloon on the edge of space and go supersonic minus a craft to get you to that speed, crazy stuff, fascinating stuff.
He probably has a 99% chance of survival, Kittinger survived from over 100,000 feet without current technology, even though he had severe problems with one of his boots, he was afraid to tell ground control that he had an issue because he knew they would abort the jump.
It is fascinating to me that we can go all the way to the edge of space and jump out of a balloon, travel at supersonic speed before landing gently back onto the earth.
Midday Tuesday!
Must keep an eye out for it.
If all goes to plan it will be unreal. 3 hours from liftoff to get to altitude.
Balls of steel to throw yourself into space and hope for the best.
1 hour to go.
Is it being broadcast anywhere on tv or internet?
Quote from: GAA_Talk on October 09, 2012, 02:21:03 PM
here lad
http://www.redbullstratos.com/live
keeps getting put back due to the weather
Quote from: J OGorman on October 09, 2012, 02:22:23 PM
here lad
Quality. Cheers.
Just read about it there on the Times, truly amazing, hope he makes it!
Why is he doing this?
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 09, 2012, 02:36:02 PM
Why is he doing this?
Well he's obviously an adrenaline junky, he's after the records. But a husband of one of the astronauts who died in the Columbia accident is the medical director, and they are hoping, if he survives, Nasa can certify a new generation of suits which would provide an escape option at high altitude. Also it will be the first time the human body has been directly exposed to the shock waves of breaking the sound barrier, so they have him rigged up to measure it all. But mostly it's for the hell of it!!!
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1009/breaking14.html (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1009/breaking14.html)
So, he's going up to the limits of the atmosphere, to lepp out of a perfectly good ship/balloon, and fall down to the earth for the hell of it? Holy good Jaysus. What happened to putting a fiver on the grand national?
23 miles in the name of god is this guy nuts? watching the BBC news and they reckon it will all start in 2 or so hours. good luck
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 09, 2012, 02:47:37 PM
So, he's going up to the limits of the atmosphere, to lepp out of a perfectly good ship/balloon, and fall down to the earth for the hell of it? Holy good Jaysus. What happened to putting a fiver on the grand national?
;D Brilliant AZ, made me laugh out loud.
People will always push the envelope, look at those eejits that put on those bat suits and fly around at high speed ten feet away from the side of a mountain, to me thats more dangerous because NASA have already proven their suits can withstand extreme temperatures and yer man Kittinger, 50 year ago jumped from 100,000 feet.
I think that he will be fine, the technology of today is far superior and the only way he dies is if his suit fails or he blacks out due to the incredible speeds he is traveling at.
I think it is great that he is doing this and I wish him well.
Quote from: J OGorman on October 09, 2012, 02:22:23 PM
here lad
Showing a 3 min countdown now
They're saying it's aborted for today - winds came up.
Bollocks.
Winds were as high as 17mph, ideal conditions are 2mph or less.
Quote from: All of a Sludden on October 09, 2012, 07:18:22 PM
Winds were as high as 17mph, ideal conditions are 2mph or less.
What a wimp.
Happening today?
Live pictures (http://www.redbullstratos.com/live/) now. At about 5,300 metres, 17,500 ft. Rising at about 750 ft./minute, so it will take a couple of hours to get to the 120K ft. target if this rate is linear.
The news reporter stated there is a chance his blood could literally boil during his free fall :o
this site has it live :
http://www.grindtv.com/outdoor/blog/36096/felix+baumgartner+is+headed+up+for+his+23-mile-high+skydive/
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on October 14, 2012, 05:54:39 PM
The news reporter stated there is a chance his blood could literally boil during his free fall :o
this site has it live :
http://www.grindtv.com/outdoor/blog/36096/felix+baumgartner+is+headed+up+for+his+23-mile-high+skydive/
52 year ago Kittinger jumped from height of just over 103,000 ft, his blood won't boil, he has world class equipment and if they thought for one second that was a possibility they would not be going ahead with the jump.
80'000 feet now. Higher than any mountain in Northern Ireland.
Is the red button outside the capsule for the f**k I don't want to go through with it moment. I think if I was scared I would know before I stepped out on the ledge. And there is no one up there saying go on you will be grand, followed by the gentle push on the back.
Quote from: gerrykeegan on October 14, 2012, 06:19:59 PM
Is the red button outside the capsule for the f**k I don't want to go through with it moment. I think if I was scared I would know before I stepped out on the ledge. And there is no one up there saying go on you will be grand, followed by the gentle push on the back.
There is a comedy boot that pops out of a panel in the capsule and toes him up the hole.
Hope this heat problem doesn't c**k her up.
Now this is exciting,, hope its not all a fake
How long until he jumps? I have somewhere to be..
JUMP FFS. I havent all night !!!!!!!!!
Was sorta worried there. Thought be was slurring.
http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=kdfRhU7IFPE&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DkdfRhU7IFPE
Just like jumping off your uncles turf shed.
how many checks have they to do
Quote from: ONeill on October 14, 2012, 06:54:59 PM
Was sorta worried there. Thought be was slurring.
It's you who is slurring.
Quote from: Square Ball on October 14, 2012, 06:57:57 PM
how many checks have they to do
Cant be much more as the door is about to open.
Shit be getting serious.
I hope they have done the calculations right, wheres he gonna land?
Didnt look good there!
Did he break the sound barrier? Didn't hear any bang.
thank f**k for that
Wow that was amazing...........
I just seen two women kissing...
Not something you see every day. Some balls.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 14, 2012, 07:21:00 PM
Pretty sure they were women.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 14, 2012, 07:21:00 PM
Thanks for alerting us to that, Tony. That was amazing
Luis Suarez is hoping for a bigger dive next weekend.
He left his phone up there.
(http://cadfael.tv/image/src/1350238257750.gif)
Any links to a replay of it?
Quote from: theskull1 on October 14, 2012, 08:07:01 PM
Any links to a replay of it?
http://touch.dailymotion.com/video/xubuwp_el-salto-de-felix-baumgartner_people
Anyone else feeling the urge to jump off things?
Lance Armstrong press conference tomorrow the rumour is he wants to be the first man to break the sound barrier on a bike #someathlete
Quote from: ONeill on October 14, 2012, 08:48:00 PM
Anyone else feeling the urge to jump off things?
Don't do it. I've watched it again and it is jaw-dropping to think he was that far up and threw himself towards Earth at 700mph. When he started to flat-spin I thought he was fooked.
Priceless. This is the update on the Reb Bull Facebook page.......
http://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=393255954080668&id=391339787605618
Red Bull Stratos · 4,315 like this.
about an hour ago ·
Congratulations to Felix in a successful landing. We knew we could **** on you! You are a hero.
(https://i.chzbgr.com/completestore/12/10/15/XzUCXuHmnkWKX3ssBUqdRA2.gif)
Documentary, "Space Dive", on tonight at 8.30 on BBC2.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 04, 2012, 08:06:55 PM
Finally got round to watching "Space Dive" earlier this week, he really had his doubts that he could do it. It certainly didn't run as smoothly as it appeared on the day. Joe Kittinger is a top man.
Quote from: Agent Orange on December 01, 2012, 09:34:20 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 04, 2012, 08:06:55 PM
Finally got round to watching "Space Dive" earlier this week, he really had his doubts that he could do it. It certainly didn't run as smoothly as it appeared on the day. Joe Kittinger is a top man.
Aye I didn't realise it was going on for years. Some feat.