Anybody when the draw is going to be made?
What we do know is that it's gonig to be one of Kildare, Sligo, Tipperary, Down, Kerry, Clare, Meath or Laois that we face.
Hard to know where we stand but the hope is that we are in good fettle to give any one of these a rattle.
But with Cork, Donegal and Dublin in the same hat as ourselves we are definitely the team everybody else will want to meet.
Interesting times lie ahead.
The list of potential opponents is going to be reduced to four after the next round of qualifiers and I expect Kerry, Meath, Tipperary and probably Sligo to come through. I'm not sure if we can play Sligo at this stage of the championship but in any event, I'd prefer to face Tipperary rather than any other possible opponent.
Looking at the full list, I see no one on it that would frighten me but our next game is going to be a tough one without a doubt.
I'm sure we'll be the ones the 4 winners of next weekend's games will want and I'm sure we'll be written off as cannon fodder for whoever gets us. Not sure who I want. I'm still not impressed with the forwards but the work ethic is there and that's a pleasing aspect to have.
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 23, 2012, 10:13:29 AM
Interesting times lie ahead.
The list of potential opponents is going to be reduced to four after the next round of qualifiers and I expect Kerry, Meath, Tipperary and probably Sligo to come through. I'm not sure if we can play Sligo at this stage of the championship but in any event, I'd prefer to face Tipperary rather than any other possible opponent.
Looking at the full list, I see no one on it that would frighten me but our next game is going to be a tough one without a doubt.
Yes we had a bad day at the office yesterday but don't you think you are a bit quick to dismiss the Ulster finalists, Division 1 semi-finalists, and 2010 All-Ireland finalists against a team from Division 3, who struggled to a 10 to 8 points victory against a poor Antrim side?
Mayos luck would have them playing Kerry, then Dublin, Then Cork/Donegal in the final. Handy enough run in ;D
The backlash against Kildare has got so comical plenty of people are backing Sligo over them. Sligo have plenty to prove themselves, the last time they lost a Connacht final it took two years before they were right again.
I'd take that as a compliment PaulD. If Mayo did end up playing Down he'd fear Down. I think he's hoping it's a Tipp win. And then Tipp and Mayo meet.
I think the possible draws for us will be something like Kildare, Down, Laois and Kerry. We cannot face Sligo in the quarters. A Sligo win over Kildare would therefore increase the chances of us drawing Kerry.
Clearly after the Donegal display yesterday we will be the team the qualifiers will want to get, albeit there are no easy draws for the teams that come through the qualifiers this year with three of last year's semi-finalists and the 2010 champions being what is on offer.
Last year's draw left us needing to beat the best three teams in the country to win an All-Ireland. This year I don't think Dublin look as good so the ideal draw would be for Kerry to get Donegal or Cork so that we would avoid all three in the quarters and also the semis if we get there.
I think the four winners will be Down, Meath, Kerry and Kildare and that's the order I'd like to meet them in, maybe even switch Down and Meath. I think it wouldn't be bad to play Kerry but I'd fear Kildares short hand passing game, like Cork and Donegal I could see them cutting through us
QuoteI'd fear Kildares short hand passing game, like Cork and Donegal I could see them cutting through us
Have you seen Kildare play this year, our play A is to kick into O'Connor?
But in saying that our plan B which we used in the last 20 mins against Limerick was the short passing game with runners coming off the shoulder, worked a treat as we out scored Limerick 10 points to 1.
I read somewhere that the draw for the QF is tomorrow morning. Anyone know if this is correct.
As i said on the Connacht final thread, Mayo won't fear any of the possible quarter final opponents and i think it's all set up for a repeat of the 2006 semi final anyways.
Regardless of who we play, our lads have to decide on what exactly they're trying to do in front of goal. The tactic of going for goals in the first half v Sligo seemed to override a lot of the players natural tendancy to go for points. From were I was sitting, while we where getting into a lot of good positions, it looked like players were winding up to go for the point and then suddenly remembering they were supposed to be going for goal, it may explain the apparent hesitation and indecision. While I can understand Horan's desire for goals given our poor record for goal scoring in past championships, the tactic should not be so rigid so as to prevent points being taken when the goal is just not on. Another factor that is going to determine how far we go the rest of this summer is Aidan O'Shea, his impact when he came in against Sligo was obvious. Mayo with and without Aidan O'Shea are almost two different teams, while its looking likely that he'll be back to full fitness for the QF although I did read somewhere that he will probably need surgery for the abdominal muscle injury when the season is over so here's hoping it holds up till then!
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 03:11:45 PM
QuoteI'd fear Kildares short hand passing game, like Cork and Donegal I could see them cutting through us
But in saying that our plan B which we used in the last 20 mins against Limerick was the short passing game with runners coming off the shoulder, worked a treat as we out scored Limerick 10 points to 1.
Exactly Dinny and it's the sort of game we have struggled to compete with over the last few years, Cork in particular have looked like they could put up big scores and big goal tallies against us, last years quarter final included
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 23, 2012, 04:29:29 PM
Exactly Dinny and it's the sort of game we have struggled to compete with over the last few years, Cork in particular have looked like they could put up big scores and big goal tallies against us, last years quarter final included
They certainly got a fearsome score against ye in the second half.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 23, 2012, 12:30:08 PM
I'd take that as a compliment PaulD. If Mayo did end up playing Down he'd fear Down. I think he's hoping it's a Tipp win. And then Tipp and Mayo meet.
You got it just about right, 'deelin.
I wouldn't take Down lightly if they do beat Tipp. However, they appeared to be totally exhausted yesterday. The six-day turnaround won't help them. They'd need a far longer break before their next game if they are to have a hope of winning it.
By contrast, Tipp has had an easier route to this game and should be far fitter and fresher than their opponents.
Being beaten any day is bad enough but Down were annihilated yesterday and I can't see them lasting the full 7o0 minutes without cracking up.
Quote from: Syferus on July 23, 2012, 04:31:35 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 23, 2012, 04:29:29 PM
They certainly got a fearsome score against ye in the second half.
In the first 15 mins of the championship last year they blew us away, same with the league final in 2010, and the league final this year they looked like they could open us open
When is the draw for the quarters on? Did I hear somewhere that it's today?
If not what's going on in Castlebar this morning, heard Paul Collins mention something on Today FM this morning
Mayo4Sam I think that's some championship launch going on in Castlebar, not the draw for the quater finals.
Don't know when the draw is going to be either Saturday, Sunday or Monday, hopefully Saturday 'cause I'm fed up waiting.
There's some team news in the Mayo news:
MAYO defender Richie Feeney is expected to make a fairly quick recover after picking up nasty leg injury in the Mayo SFC clash last Sunday.
The Castlebar Mitchels clubman was taken off against Crossmolina when his leg swelled alarmingly after he received a kick in the shin. However, an x-ray revealed no break and the injury is a suspected burst blood vessel.
Feeney (28) should have recovered in time for Mayo's upcoming All-Ireland SFC Qualifier on August 4/5 against one of Tipperary/Down, Kildare/Sligo, Laois/Meath or Kerry/Clare.
Ballina's Evan Regan didn't play for Ballina on Saturday evening after tweaking an existing hamstring injury while training with Mayo last week. However, Mayo selector Tom Prendergast told The Mayo News that he was 'hopeful' that Regan will be available for Mayo's A v B trial game this weekend.
The news is less certain for Crossmolina's Peadar Gardiner. He has been struggling to recover from a cracked bone in his foot and it is unclear when he will return to action.
Definitely out of consideration are Pat Harte (broken foot) and Aidan Campbell (hip injury). Breaffy's Seamie O'Shea came on at half-time for his club on Sunday after recent groin injuries but showed no ill-effects. However, his brother Aidan suffered mild concussion and had to get stitches for a wound over his eye after an accidental collision against Davitts
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 24, 2012, 10:59:58 AM
If not what's going on in Castlebar this morning, heard Paul Collins mention something on Today FM this morning
Football AI series launched in Castlebar Mitchells yesterday
According to the Western People, we can't meet Sligo should they win. It's one rule for the quarter-finals and another for every other round it seems.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 24, 2012, 02:42:06 PM
According to the Western People, we can't meet Sligo should they win. It's one rule for the quarter-finals and another for every other round it seems.
The no provincial final repeats rule has been long established. I didn't think it'd need confirming!
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 24, 2012, 02:42:06 PM
I think both (Mayo and Sligo) teams would be happy with that! Would be hard to play Sligo again (so soon). There has been so little variety to Mayos championship so far that i'm looking forward to what new challenge will emerge.
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 24, 2012, 05:40:04 PM
There has been so little variety to Mayos championship so far that i'm looking forward to what new challenge will emerge.
Kerry in the Quarters no doubt ;D
Quote from: Rossfan on July 24, 2012, 08:57:40 PM
There has been so little variety to Mayos championship so far that i'm looking forward to what new challenge will emerge.
Ah, you know could be a good draw for us getting Kerry! We have no problem with quarter finals or semi finals in Croker against big teams!
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 24, 2012, 09:02:03 PM
Ah, you know could be a good draw for us getting Kerry! We have no problem with quarter finals or semi finals in Croker against big teams!
No such thing as a good draw imo. I d be more worried about the way we are going ourselves. Most of our game is as good as you could reasonably expect but the icing on the cake is missing. It s not there and and 11 months on from Kerry semi last year our ff line ( our Achilles heel) is still very poor. We re one
special inside forward away from being a contender.
Quote from: moysider on July 25, 2012, 12:41:03 AM
No such thing as a good draw imo. I d be more worried about the way we are going ourselves. Most of our game is as good as you could reasonably expect but the icing on the cake is missing. It s not there and and 11 months on from Kerry semi last year our ff line ( our Achilles heel) is still very poor. We re one special inside forward away from being a contender.
Give K McD a bell, sure there's no point pacing around the house for a year when you can just break in an steal the ornaments now ;)
For years we were told Mayo are only a good forward(s) away from winning the All Ireland. Same again for 2012 it seems.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 25, 2012, 01:04:01 AM
For years we were told Mayo are only a good forward(s) away from winning the All Ireland. Same again for 2012 it seems.
It appears that way unfortunately.
QuoteFor years we were told Mayo are only a good forward(s) away from winning the All Ireland. Same again for 2012 it seems.
Stick A.O'Shea in full forward.
There ye are problem solved.
Quote from: highorlow on July 25, 2012, 09:20:57 AM
QuoteFor years we were told Mayo are only a good forward(s) away from winning the All Ireland. Same again for 2012 it seems.
Stick A.O'Shea in full forward.
There ye are problem solved.
then we would be a midfielder away from winning it
Unfortunately, in recent years Mayo always had problems with the forwards. Sure, they had some quality players from time to time such as Ciaran Mac and Kevin O'Neill but they never had six good lads at any time.Generally, the team, from goalie to midfield was quite good but the quality declined from there on in.
I'd go further and say that the full forward line was the sector that caused us the most trouble.
The wide-scoring exploits of Mayo forwards became the stuff of legend.
For my money, James Horan was the last forward we had who could kick points from long range on a consistent basis. Even Ciaran or Conoreen had their bad hair days and it wasn't the hair dye that caused them.
Since he took over as manager, Horan has been making slow but steady progress as he goes about putting his best side together. Here again, it's the full forward line that seems to be causing him the most problems- the CF positions in particular.
I think Maughan, Moran and O'Mahony often didn't have quality players for those positions; none of them seemed to have had any sort of organised game plan. Mortimer and O'Neill for instance, were good players in their own right but were individualists and never fitted into any overall team plan- if there ever was one to begin with.
On the other hand, Horan has a number of fine candidates for those positions but just hasn't got the mix right yet.
When he does....
Yeehaw, g'wan Meeeyo! ;D
Horan is definitely getting close to his best with this team. I actually think he's mighty close to having the right forward mix too. He rightly identified full forward as being our main problem position and thus this causing our lack of goal scoring chances in any given game. In 2004 and 2006 our lack of a full forward was hidden by Ciaran Mac's superb distribution and all round general play at centre forward. Problem with this was once you stopped Mac or an easier way as (Kerry figured in 2004) cut off the supply of primary position around the middle third ,Connoreen and O'Neill/Trevor or any of the inside line would struggle to get any scores. Horan has addressed this by moving Andy to full forward as an out ball for our offence mixed with Vaughan and Boyle attacking from deep. This also creates more space for Dillion to pick off scores and accurate passes into the full forwards. This has created one problem though and that is who should play centre forward. He has tried O' Connor here but this hasn't worked out for Cillian who has struggled and also it robs us of probably our best inside forward. I have no doubt Pat Hart and Seamus O' Shea's injuries have robbed him of the option of trying somebody else here up to now. He has also tried Freeman here as well but unfortunately Alan's form is a bit hit and miss at the moment so he is better suited to an impact sub role.
So where does this leave us for the quarter final? Some people have suggested that Aidan O' Shea should be picked at CF or he should be picked at full with Andy reverting to CF. Personally I think we should go with Seamus (if fit) at CF depending on the opposition with Cillian back in the corner and one of Conroy or Doherty in the other corner and Andy at Full. The reason I'd go for Seami is I thought he played well there in 2010 and I like the potential pairing of Aiden and Barry Moran in midfield. Also to spring a suprise for the likes of Kerry/Kildare , we shouldn't be afraid of having Aiden as an option at full and Andy at CF. Doherty could thrive of being fed ball of a big target man with his eye for goal( Cillian as well) and unlike Tomas O' Connor we know Aiden isn't afraid to go for his own score as we saw in his debut season!
Hope we get Kerry in the Q/F - get them out of the way as early as possible. Forwards will click yet - think we should start Conroy and Doherty in the corners.
Most of our problems over the last few years were down the middle, even if we had the forwards up front we weren't getting enough ball to them. Particularily against Kerry we were creamed in every game at midfield and also for breaking ball. If AOS is fit he starts at midfield end of, we dont' have the luxury of using the likes of him up front.
QuoteIf AOS is fit he starts at midfield end of, we dont' have the luxury of using the likes of him up front.
You obviously missed the first half of the Sligo game? We dominated a midfield that previously dominated the Galway midfield and this was throughout the whole game even prior to A.O'Shea coming in.
QuoteMost of our problems over the last few years were down the middle, even if we had the forwards up front we weren't getting enough ball to them.
Certainly supply was not the issue the last day and I think our forwards are mainly confidence players. If the like of Conroy and Freeman click in the first ten minutes then the whole forward line are capable of doing the same.
As was said here before we are always going to get a big scalp on an annual basis and our main problem is clicking on a consistant basis. This is what has stopped us from getting so close but not the whole way over the last 25 years.
Personnally I think it's a combination of a lack of scoring forwards and a lack of tactical ability from game to game by management over the years that was the root cause of this.
I have every confidence in Horan and his backroom team in relation to experience and tactical ability and if we can combine this with a forward line that will click then you would never know this year.....
Just seen on the GAA twitter account that the draw for the quarter finals will be Saturday evening at 8.30 after the qualifier games.
Quote from: Syferus on July 25, 2012, 12:49:40 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 25, 2012, 12:41:03 AM
No such thing as a good draw imo. I d be more worried about the way we are going ourselves. Most of our game is as good as you could reasonably expect but the icing on the cake is missing. It s not there and and 11 months on from Kerry semi last year our ff line ( our Achilles heel) is still very poor. We re one special inside forward away from being a contender.
Give K McD a bell, sure there's no point pacing around the house for a year when you can just break in an steal the ornaments now ;)
Now that wud really help morale...OH I've just seen who posted that shite... no need to say anything else
There's this thing called jokes, you know, Google it.
Quote from: Syferus on July 25, 2012, 09:55:05 PM
just did it said 'syferus'
Quote from: sans pessimism on July 26, 2012, 07:45:04 PM
That's probably the weakest attempt at a put-down I've ever seen. I expected better from you.
Quote from: highorlow on July 25, 2012, 04:58:19 PM
QuoteIf AOS is fit he starts at midfield end of, we dont' have the luxury of using the likes of him up front.
You obviously missed the first half of the Sligo game? We dominated a midfield that previously dominated the Galway midfield and this was throughout the whole game even prior to A.O'Shea coming in.
QuoteMost of our problems over the last few years were down the middle, even if we had the forwards up front we weren't getting enough ball to them.
Certainly supply was not the issue the last day and I think our forwards are mainly confidence players. If the like of Conroy and Freeman click in the first ten minutes then the whole forward line are capable of doing the same.
As was said here before we are always going to get a big scalp on an annual basis and our main problem is clicking on a consistant basis. This is what has stopped us from getting so close but not the whole way over the last 25 years.
Personnally I think it's a combination of a lack of scoring forwards and a lack of tactical ability from game to game by management over the years that was the root cause of this.
I have every confidence in Horan and his backroom team in relation to experience and tactical ability and if we can combine this with a forward line that will click then you would never know this year.....
I was talking in the context of our efforts to win All-Ireland's in previous years and making the case that we should put out our strongest possible midfield. Are you seriously suggesting that we should put one of our most promising midfielders in at FF? I'd even pull Andy Moran back out to chf and put O'Connor in the corner as he's wasted in the centre.
Quote from: Syferus on July 26, 2012, 10:26:33 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on July 26, 2012, 07:45:04 PM
That's probably the weakest attempt at a put-down I've ever seen. I expected better from you.
honestly, you should really shut up. you have embarrassed Roscommon people enough.
I wouldn't worry syferus is an ignorant fool.
Lads, I think AOS should be left at midfield. How is Seamie O'Shea coming on?
Quote from: highorlow on July 25, 2012, 04:58:19 PM
Galway haven't had a decent midfield since Kevin Walsh left so I wouldn't get too excited about besting them. We have to be aiming at beating Cork, Kerry and Dublin around midfield. While Barry Moran has done great the last couple of games he is still in the mould of a traditional midfielder. AOS gives us more mobility, on the ground ball winning ability and the possibility of putting a few lads on their arse which we'll need to beat the serious contenders.
I don't think he's suited to FF as he's not facing the goal that much in there. He might be a possibility at CF but I'd leave him at midfield cos he'd best there.
What is it about us that we spend 5-10 yrs looking for a FB,CB and MF and when we finally settle on them people are saying move Keane to FB and move Vaughan away from CB and take our best MF and put him in FF.
For me we are only missing one of the the central 7 positions. Clarke, Caff, Vaughan, B Moran, AOS and Andy are all nailed on certainty through the spine. We do need to find a CF (or FF) to do the job for us. I think of our available resources either Freeman or SOS at CF are our best options to fill this gap.
Down for us.
Kerry/Donegal/Cork/Kildare all on the other side of the draw.
Laois/Dublin/Down and ourselves on our side.
Not too bad...although Down will feel the same way.
Almost certainly a crack at Dublin for the winners.
The team who doesn't win in Croker v the team that doesn't lose there. Only one winner I'm afraid...
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2012, 08:52:07 PM
The team who doesn't win in Croker v the team that doesn't lose there. Only one winner I'm afraid...
If a team cannot win in Croker ,it does not matter who the opposition are,ditto if a team doesn't lose there.!!!
Mayo now into 8/1 for the cup after that draw. Down still out at 33s. Don't know if there's an each way bet available but, if there is, e.w. on Down at 33s seems like value.
Mayo 4/7 for this game.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2012, 08:52:07 PM
Sorry, we're the team that don't win finals at Croker. We've done quite well in Quarter and Semi finals. Ask Kerry '96, Offaly '97 Tyrone '04 Dublin '06 Cork '11.
Both teams will be happy with the draw, should be a good close game.
Quote from: whitegoodman on July 28, 2012, 09:53:06 PM
Both teams will be happy with the draw, should be a good close game.
True. Will the league game between the two count for anything, maybe Mayo will have a point to prove?
Can't see it having much of an effect, league and championship football are different animals.
Both teams will fancy their chances, mayo having seen downs second half performance against donegal will see them as vulnerable whereas down may believe mayo have not been tested yet and their win against Sligo might be put into some perspective with sligos defeat tonight.
An interesting game.
It i remember rightly Mayo lost a man in the first half in the league game. I think Mortimer got a fair few frees that day too (which he took forever to take). At least Down won't have to look at him.
Previous championship meeting lads? Can't think of one off the top of my head.
Interesting game. Down will fancy their chances I'd say, no harm in that at all.
I think we're going to have to show our tougher physical side to win this one. Looking at the teams that have put up big wins against Down in recent times - Cork and Donegal. Obviously both good teams, but they both play with a real physical intensity that Down just can't deal with. The same way we played against Cork last year and against Dublin in this year's league. If we get the tactics and the heads right and take the game to them physically I think we will win this. If we let it turn into too much of a game of football, that'll suit Down perfectly. If its an open game it could go either way, I'd maybe even make them slight favourites in that situation because of the strength of their full forward line compared to ours.
Hopefully James will be wise to this and will set us up to win. I would definitely look at starting Seamus O'Shea on the 40 now, we need to put some muscle into the half forward line. A Dillon/O'Connor/McLoughlin half forward line is too lightweight for the kind of game we need to play from here on out.
Ballinaman - I'm fairly sure there hasn't been a previous championship meeting.
Mayo don't have the physical game to blow us out of the water the way Cork and Donegal have done.
But they simply might have the skill, ability and individual quality to beat us.
Having said that I'm going to say Down can win this by a point or 2. Going to be close. Should be an exciting game, if lacking the quality of the other quarter finals.
teacht ar tú fir ón Morne
This will be our first ever championship meeting. Hopefully we can do the job, but our forwards would want to improve big time. AOS got sent off in league game reffed by Barry Cassidy in the Spring.
Yeah I think Down have to fancy our chances here, avoiding Cork was the main thing. 2012 is certainly shaping up to be Down's best ever in terms of the draws we've been handed - no disrepect to Mayo.
After today I think Darren O'Hagan has done his cause the world of good. He has had a very solid campaign to date. I was also happy with the rest of the defence. Disappointed that we didn't kick on after half time or do more to hold on to our early five point lead.
Quote from: Aristo 60 on July 28, 2012, 10:25:23 PM
Yeah I think Down have to fancy our chances here, avoiding Cork was the main thing. 2012 is certainly shaping up to be Down's best ever in terms of the draws we've been handed - no disrepect to Mayo.
After today I think Darren O'Hagan has done his cause the world of good. He has had a very solid campaign to date. I was also happy with the rest of the defence. Disappointed that we didn't kick on after half time or do more to hold on to our early five point lead.
Relax all,part of a cunning plan
Is that you son?
Quote from: Aristo 60 on July 28, 2012, 10:25:23 PM
Yeah, i'd say avoiding Cork again was the main thing for Down. Naturally Mayo are seen as the weaker of the Provincial winners. And to be honest that suits me fine. Our media attention going into the quarter finals has been the lowest of the quarter finalists (Cork would run us close). But just because we are not on the Telly, not in the papers and not being mentioned by the pundits, does it mean that we suddenly have become a bad team.