I've put together a tactical preview here http://action81.com/blog/?p=5919
This is interesting now. I've never seen a better coach than Jason Ryan at using the extra man.
What an idiot that Connolly is.
(What a quiet thread.)
Ref has given Wexford some shit frees in front of Dublin goals
He's poor for both sides.
Quote from: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 05:17:35 PM
Thanks for your reply yesterday
That's a spectacular display of bottling over the dead ball.
Brosnan's freetaking will be frustrating and confidence sapping for Wexford
The beast is "unleashed"!
Every fall a free with this ref.
BTW, I hate referees who show how much they enjoy giving the red card, with the big expansive gesture.
Quote from: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 05:23:31 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 05:20:31 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 05:17:35 PM
Thanks for your reply yesterday
Did you get sorted?
Not really, I live in US, RTE was a problem this morning, TV3 today was fine
I've never seen a ref give more simple frees to a team in my life.....
All coming from Dublin's cynical fouling tho. They're the masters at it now.
If I was a Wexford supporter I'd be seriously pissed off. The extra man, more possession, more opportunities and yet ye were the architects of ye're own downfall with 14 wides, ball given away cheaply through very poor passes under no pressure, running in contact numerous times and displayed some very poor pedestrian play in the last quarter when ye needed to move it quickly. Wexford had the beating of Dublin today and completely blew it. Jason Ryan will not be a happy man after that performance.
Quote from: bucko on July 01, 2012, 05:39:55 PM
If I was a Wexford supporter I'd be seriously pissed off. The extra man, more possession, more opportunities and yet ye were the architects of ye're own downfall with 14 wides, ball given away cheaply through very poor passes under no pressure, running in contact numerous times and displayed some very poor pedestrian play in the last quarter when ye needed to move it quickly. Wexford had the beating of Dublin today and completely blew it. Jason Ryan will not be a happy man after that performance.
If I was a Wexford supporter I'd be very proud of my team and how they performed.
Coming into this game, most pundits would have said Wexford wouldn't have got 14 shots off, let alone nearly getting to a point where they could have beaten the all Ireland champions.
Liam Hayes is a real tool, regarding his after match comments on McMenamin. At least When Brolly Spillane and Co are wrong they will eat humble pie and admit it. Really annoying.
Quote from: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 05:45:48 PM
Liam Hayes is a real tool, regarding his after match comments on McMenamin. At least When Brolly Spillane and Co are wrong they will eat humble pie and admit it. Really annoying.
Really?? Can't think of too many times that happened. They all predicted that Cork would wipe the floor with Mayo last year, then when Mayo won, Spillane said it was no surprise because these were two division 1 teams. They're as bad as each other.
What did he say ?.
He claimed that he was not a quality IC footballer and that despite his performance today he still holds the same views. I totally disagree, Kevin was great today, and the go to man in the Dublin forward line when the two Brogans weren't performing and Connolly was sent off.
Quote from: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 05:42:35 PM
If I was a Wexford supporter I'd be very proud of my team and how they performed.
Coming into this game, most pundits would have said Wexford wouldn't have got 14 shots off, let alone nearly getting to a point where they could have beaten the all Ireland champions.
Fair enough they should be proud in one sense but moral victories aren't worth a sh*te to them after the past few years. Could and should have won today, they'll find it hard to pick themselves up for a qualifier after that.
Hayes is a complete gom
Quote from: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 05:50:40 PM
What did he say ?.
Apparently he said on pregame that McManamin was an average county footballer (or words to that effect, I did not hear them live), he was asked after the game did he want to retract his comments, he was pig headed enough to say no, this after McManimin scored 1-3 from play, in a game where most of the forward line were awol.
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 01, 2012, 05:54:48 PM
Fair enough they should be proud in one sense but moral victories aren't worth a sh*te to them after the past few years. Could and should have won today, they'll find it hard to pick themselves up for a qualifier after that.Hayes is a complete gom
Yes they could have won. But it's Dublin they were playing, a team described in the previous round when they humiliated the oppsition, as machines and the most complete team ever to have played Gaelic football ( which was a bit of an exaggeration ) so I think Wexford should be justly proud.
Liam is Liam. No point arguing with him or talking about him. He's always right. Leave it at that.
They should take great heart from today's result and should be confident going into the qualifiers.
It's important to remember that Liam Hayes has a deep personal hatred for Dublin, and won't acknowledge anything good about them at all really. He said they should have beaten Louth by more the last day.
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 06:04:11 PM
It's important to remember that Liam Hayes has a deep personal hatred for Dublin, and won't acknowledge anything good about them at all really. He said they should have beaten Louth by more the last day.
He tries hard to be ultra controversial. Wants to be more controversial than Brolly, Spiilane and the rest of the Sunday Games pundits put together.
After all the other times they came close I wouldn't be so sure. As a neutral I thought they looked the better team for the first 45-50 mins, but after that it looked like they completely lost confidence. It was like they saw Connolly being sent off and they couldn't believe the position they were in. They gave 2-3 very bad passes straight to Dublin players not long after that, their approach play became very slow and narrow up through the middle of the pitch and persisted with very short lateral and backward hand passing, carrying the ball into contact on numerous occassions. This was bread and butter for the Dublin defense and they turned the ball over off Wexford on several occassions. I think this was the best opportunity Wexford have had in recent times to beat Dublin and they let it slip.
Quote from: bucko on July 01, 2012, 06:06:50 PM
After all the other times they came close I wouldn't be so sure. As a neutral I thought they looked the better team for the first 45-50 mins, but after that it looked like they completely lost confidence. It was like they saw Connolly being sent off and they couldn't believe the position they were in. They gave 2-3 very bad passes straight to Dublin players not long after that, their approach play became very slow and narrow up through the middle of the pitch and persisted with very short lateral and backward hand passing, carrying the ball into contact on numerous occassions. This was bread and butter for the Dublin defense and they turned the ball over off Wexford on several occassions. I think this was the best opportunity Wexford have had in recent times to beat Dublin and they let it slip.
What about last year ? Surely last year was just as good a chance ?
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 06:04:11 PM
And good on him. f**k them.
Quote from: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 06:10:22 PM
Quote from: bucko on July 01, 2012, 06:06:50 PM
What about last year ? Surely last year was just as good a chance ?
Them losing last year was down to a bit of rotten bad luck on Masterson with that bizzare own goal. There was no such factor this year. It was more in their own hands this time round.
Wexford choked, that game was there if they wanted it, kicked 14 wides that I counted plus about 4 or 5 short balls as well.
Sickened. The game was there to be won and we blew it. Wide after wide in the second half. That's 3 years in row we had the Dubs on the rack and couldn't put them away. It will be tough picking ourselves up for the qualifiers, please don't let us get Longford again...
Quote from: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 05:04:56 PM
(What a quiet thread.)
I don't think I've ever experienced so little chatter on and offline about a Dublin game in the week before it. Even with Dublin as favourites going in, the lack of buzz around for it seemed weird.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2012, 07:11:52 PM
Wexford choked, that game was there if they wanted it, kicked 14 wides that I counted plus about 4 or 5 short balls as well.
Not easy kicking points when you've the AI champs defending against you. Choked my arse. Dublin in second gear won (again) against an inferior team.
Quote from: heffo on July 01, 2012, 10:55:21 PM
Not easy kicking points when you've the AI champs defending against you. Choked my arse. Dublin in second gear won (again) against an inferior team.
3 years in row that Dublin have played 'in second gear' against Wexford. Only one team choked today and it wasn't Dublin.
Quote from: boro on July 01, 2012, 11:07:02 PM
3 years in row that Dublin have played 'in second gear' against Wexford. Only one team choked today and it wasn't Dublin.
Who won all three games?
What was the result of the other two games between the two sides?
The choke was bigger than that but nothing worse than a sore winner.
Choking is essence all about anxiety, the further you go in a competition the greater the anxiety, if for example you are Wexford and your target is to reach a Leinster final, once you reach the semi final your anxiety increases as you are that much closer to your goal. It is this anxiety that causes teams to choke. One of the reasons Dublin have been so dominate in Leinster the last few years is because their target is an All-Ireland and not a Leinster so they are relaxed and playing within comfortable anxiety levels.
Kildare and Mayo would also be good examples (Kildare I think have won only 13 out of nearly 40 Leinster finals).
Quote from: heffo on July 01, 2012, 11:12:57 PM
Quote from: boro on July 01, 2012, 11:07:02 PM
Who won all three games?
What was the result of the other two games between the two sides?
Dublin in second gear apparently, if you want all the results this is a good place to start http://www.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/historical-results/ (http://www.gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/historical-results/)
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2012, 11:27:40 PM
Funny you said the same thing when we beat you again last year with 14 men.
In the last six games Dublin have played Wexford we've won by an average of 7.5 points. At some point Dublin should be given credit as a superior team.
Quote from: heffo on July 01, 2012, 11:34:17 PM
In the last six games Dublin have played Wexford we've won by an average of 7.5 points. At some point Dublin should be given credit as a superior team.
Supporters of All Ireland champions insecure about Wexford footballers, you couldn't make it up. I'm guessing we should be chuffed
Quote from: boro on July 01, 2012, 11:41:54 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 01, 2012, 11:34:17 PM
Supporters of All Ireland champions insecure about Wexford footballers, you couldn't make it up. I'm guessing we should be chuffed
I responded to a Kildare supporter not you.
I've no reason in the world to be insecure about a Wexford footballer.
Looking forward to a hard game against Meath
Ex-Kildare supporter >:(
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 02, 2012, 12:00:15 AM
Bit much Dinny. I've never been as apathetic about a defeat as I was today but I'll still be at the qualifier for my sins. Everyone has their opinion on the SJ fiasco but Kildare football is bigger than any one man and hopefully certain people will reflect on that fact in the days ahead. I can't say I'm enthused about following the seniors for however long (or short) the summer lasts but there are a few older players there who will sadly probably not be seen in a Kildare jersey again after this year and they deserve support for all the sacrifices they have made over the past 10+ years. Roll on the minor match in Newbridge on Wednesday week. Them young lads are the future of Kildare football. Hopefully they will restore some pride.
Apologies for posting this in the Dublin/Wexford thread. Only caught bits of the match on the radio on the drive home. Got to feel a bit for the yellabellies. They always seem to come up agonisingly short against Dublin. They remind me of Kildare in the early 1990s who year after year hit a brick wall v the Dubs. Dublin will be very hard bet this year but they have to cut their losses with Connolly. For all his talent, the guy is a liability. He's had too many chances at this stage.
Jaysus, why the rush from HQ if you were driving?
Also I hope they rig the draw to bring Cavan-Kildare about, if only to avoid the tears that'll be shed in Gorthaganny if honourary local hero Johnny Doyle (the poor lad was dragging him around like a rag doll the whole night of the Dermot Snr. memorial unveiling by one of the local characters, it was worse than what those Donegal feckers put him through) has to line up against us.
Got out of jail in that one. Wexford should have won and we only woke up after the sending off. Jaysus Connolly does my head in. Fair play to Macker - great stuff and he's some man to (over)carry the ball. Thought McAuley was excellent when he came on and Flynn did some great work as well.
Looking forward to the final which hopefully should be a real championship game unlike our last couple of meetings with Meath which for some reason felt flat - and I'm not talking about the 5 goals either ;)
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 02, 2012, 12:21:44 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 02, 2012, 12:00:15 AM
Bit much Dinny. I've never been as apathetic about a defeat as I was today but I'll still be at the qualifier for my sins. Everyone has their opinion on the SJ fiasco but Kildare football is bigger than any one man and hopefully certain people will reflect on that fact in the days ahead. I can't say I'm enthused about following the seniors for however long (or short) the summer lasts but there are a few older players there who will sadly probably not be seen in a Kildare jersey again after this year and they deserve support for all the sacrifices they have made over the past 10+ years. Roll on the minor match in Newbridge on Wednesday week. Them young lads are the future of Kildare football. Hopefully they will restore some pride.
Apologies for posting this in the Dublin/Wexford thread. Only caught bits of the match on the radio on the drive home. Got to feel a bit for the yellabellies. They always seem to come up agonisingly short against Dublin. They remind me of Kildare in the early 1990s who year after year hit a brick wall v the Dubs. Dublin will be very hard bet this year but they have to cut their losses with Connolly. For all his talent, the guy is a liability. He's had too many chances at this stage.
Just been melodramatic DH, I'll still be there next Sat night like the fool I am. Plus they better win even just for forcing me to watch Ireland AM.
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 02:21:20 AM
Jaysus, why the rush from HQ if you were driving?
Plenty of work to be done back home.
We won by 4 points whilst down to 14 men for most of the 2nd half and were 3 points down at the time of the sending off and even with 2 clear goals missed and a number of easy shots missed by both Brogan's which they probably wouldn't miss again and everyone seems to think that Wexford were unlucky....
Wexford threw that away yesterday.
Dubs where poor and won, a good game for us as we needed a tough test. Improvement needed now next against an average Meath team in the Leinster Final while all the below average sides are in the backdoor. ;)
But look we had no excuses for yesterdays performance we did not play well at all and Wexfords inability to take their scores got us out of jail, to add both Brogans had a poor day too while on a positive Michael Dara McAuley made a huge difference when he came on.
Onwards and upwards now.
A little later than planned but here's my analysis of Sunday's game.
http://action81.com/blog/?p=5933