Lads
Time to get the ball rolling. I won't be there as I will be away on 'vacation' in the USA but I will try and get coverage on Shiteside on the Interwebs.
I'd imagine Longford will name an unchanged side again. Not aware of any injuries picked up in the League matches played since we lost to Wexford.
Derry looked well out of sorts against Donegal but this is a different game against non-Ulster opponents and Derry may up their game to show that they are better than what we all saw the last day.
I hope, of course, home advantage will favour Longford and that we come out on top. Hope the terraces are cleared of the abandoned cars, halting sites and dead greyhounds for the Derry folk.
Whatever the result I hope it's a good game and that the Derry folk that travel are well looked after. Eamon Coleman is still fondly remembered in Longford.
I won't make it either due to vacation but Newstalk are covering it.
Can't see any changes either maybe Davy Barden, whose form has dipped. Despite Derrys poor showing in Ulster they came up against a very good Donegal team who might go all the way. They have nothing to loose the bookies have them as underdogs. They still have a fair side but it's a game we can win we just need to stay in front and finish it out this time.
Vacation................. Do ye Longford folk not go on holidays like therest of us!!!!!!
We have notions above our station ticklemister!
so where is the best spot for a bit of folk music and then a boogie on a saturday night?
Don't ask me tickle as I think the last time I was out in Longford town was 1992 and that was just for a few pints.
Likewise with Shamrock , I have been out of the loop a few years now with regard to Longford town .... Valentines is a good spot ....Keoghs might have a bit of trad .... Fox's will have a good football crowd after the game .
Is it televised ? ...or will I be stuck with my lug to the radio again !
Longfordian - nah. Not live on the telly like. But I am sure there will be 15 seconds or so coverage on Da Sunda Game.
Quote from: Longfordian on June 26, 2012, 04:05:48 PM
Is it televised ? ...or will I be stuck with my lug to the radio again !
You living overseas?
If in Ireland sure maybe you could go to th'oul game :o
Longford will be fairly confident going into this I'd say. Will Derry have any of their injured players back?
Quote from: theticklemister on June 26, 2012, 02:19:10 PM
so where is the best spot for a bit of folk music and then a boogie on a saturday night?
In Longford town!! Mother of God, take a hint from the local posters.
Stopped a few times for a take-away (there is a good take-away), with missus and kids coming from airport weekend nights. A lot of people shouting out of vans. Bring an interpreter for drunk midlandish! It s rough and I m used to very rough town indeed. In other words if mine is a 9 in roughness then Longfor' is at least a 7.
This should be interesting game some of larries will probably judge Derry on the last game but Donegal can make some of the best teams look poor. Derry are about the same level as Laois & Longford got a narrow win over them.
Quote from: ross4life on June 27, 2012, 12:54:14 AM
This should be interesting game some of larries will probably judge Derry on the last game but Donegal can make some of the best teams look poor. Derry are about the same level as Laois & Longford got a narrow win over them.
Bejayus Armagh better watch out for us so.
Yes Rossfan ...in London .....
Will have to do with Shannonside and the signal cutting out every 5 mins !!
I got a wile feeling Brennan is gonna throw off the shackles on Saturday and 'go for it!'. Derry are not as bad as we seen, tis just that Donegal are miles ahead of most counties. I can see this being the game of the weekend with 2 very attacking teams going hell for leather.
Longfordian - does Newstalk not strem live games on the interwebs for non residents? I have a feeling that there are restrictions on such coverage - kinda like you cannot hear premiership games on 5Live on the interwebs here.
If so I too will be stuck with Shiteside. Let's pray that it's John Duffy and not Willie Hegarty.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 27, 2012, 02:37:05 PM
Longfordian - does Newstalk not strem live games on the interwebs for non residents? I have a feeling that there are restrictions on such coverage - kinda like you cannot hear premiership games on 5Live on the interwebs here.
If so I too will be stuck with Shiteside. Let's pray that it's John Duffy and not Willie Hegarty.
Big Will will be over in Tuam covering our mighty minors in a clash of under-age titans on Saturday evening. I wish Willie could cover every GAA game.
No Shamrock ...same coverage as you get at home on Newstalk ... its Shannonside and txt's from the auld fella.
Haven't seen Derry this year , but dont see too much being in it , in the end .
Time for our lads to take their chances when they get them , should have won the Wexford game comfortably , we cant afford a repeat performance !
Any word on starting line up , I think its time he gave Paul Kelly a start and see what he can do from the beginning , he was done well enough in both games coming on as a substitute.
Derry look a little too big @ 6/4 IMO
Quote from: theticklemister on June 27, 2012, 10:53:31 AM
I got a wile feeling Brennan is gonna throw off the shackles on Saturday and 'go for it!'. Derry are not as bad as we seen, tis just that Donegal are miles ahead of most counties. I can see this being the game of the weekend with 2 very attacking teams going hell for leather.
Would be interested in hearing what you mean by 'throwing off the shackles' and how were they inhibited against Donegal ............... the couldn't get the ball !!!
Beileve it or beileve it not; derry played defensive against Donegal! They may just say 'f**k it' and go for it in the qualifiers.it probably be good enough against the poorer teams but not against the likes of Donegal
Quote from: theticklemister on June 27, 2012, 11:39:12 PM
Beileve it or beileve it not; derry played defensive against Donegal! They may just say 'f**k it' and go for it in the qualifiers.it probably be good enough against the poorer teams but not against the likes of Donegal
Derry did play defensively against Donegal and up until 32 mins it was working from a defensive point of view, but we couldn't get the ball worked out for a score was the problem. Donegal have that tactic nailed at this stage whereas we dont. Add to that the fact we've had so many injuries and our general lack of fitness in general.
I would be more of the opinion that we should start rebuilding for next year from this game, and if the long term plan is to play the same "style" as Donegal we should be sticking to that now and trying to find a way of defending en-masse and attacking in waves. If we get beat, so be it because we're not going to win Sam anyway so nothing lost. Play the long game and forget about this year, as it's gone now anyway.
There's no guarantee if we were to "go for it" (which I assume means to play an all out attack mode) we would win anyway. Longford are a decent side who seem to do well against us. They'll be in our division next year so in that regard we are on level terms. I think if Longford click on the day, it wont matter too much how we play.
Looking forward to the game with more optimisim than would have been if we had beaten Wexford and were facing the Dubs! Derry seemed to more or less throw in the towel in the end agaisnt Donegal from what I saw so hopefully theor attitude is the same tomorrow!
Not sure how Longford favourites, home advantage probably worth 2 points but need to learn from collapse in last 8-10 minutes last day out. Fingers crossed we get the luck and the breaks this time and if we can take our goal chances then in with a great shout.
Quote from: Qwerty28 on June 29, 2012, 09:36:02 PM
... Derry seemed to more or less throw in the towel in at the end start against Donegal from what I saw so hopefully their attitude is the same tomorrow!
Fixed! ;)
Any teams named yet??
Hello from Boston. City is tense ahead of the match. Even split among natives on who is favourite.
Tense on the Costa Del sol too. I found a free wifi on the beach but if I move from this deck chair to go to the bar I loose it for 10 minutes! I have to text the bar lady to bring me another Piña Colada:) Go on Longford.
Grand wifi here in Starbucks on Boston Common. Temp hitting late 20s. Me nads are melting! Paul Barden quiet it seems.
Where are the Mulligans from?
Mullinalaghta. Club is St. Columbas.
Anyone got a link to audio, mine seems to have crapped itself. :(
http://www.shannonside.ie/liveapp.php
http://www.newstalk.ie/
Exellent coverage. Sounds like a clinker of a game!
Really enjoying this but the nerves are at me. Traffic has stopped here in Boston. Derry should be down to 14 after a bad tackle on Paul Barden
Longford 3 up with a few min to go
Liam Tierney has said for 3rd time that Longfrd will go on to win. Heres hoping.
schmozzle
The Three Musketeers are running through Picadilly Circus with niggly stuff, concentration. There's a rolling maul going on now and Mulligan is doing right he's being niggly, all for one and one for all.
Somebody get that man a valium. Hat-Trick.
Duffy's Circus strikes again. Radio Ulster commentators haven't got a clue why the free was given.
good win for longtord with Mccormack with 11 points
Boston erupts over another fine win for Longford. This game seemed to have it all. Hope Costa Del Sol will party all night Panc
Now take it handy SS.
Fantastic result for the Larries.
Well done.
feckin derry let me down for my bet. well done to longford. >:(
Quote from: hardstation on June 30, 2012, 09:06:52 PM
Shouldn't have been near any man's bet tbf.
didnt think they could be as bad again. decided to give them 1 more chance. regret it now.
Best wishes to John Keegan who was brought to hospital with a neck injury.1st reports had him in alot of pain and with an injury which could see him out for awhile. Dont know how the Derry lads can respond to their manager . His vocabulary seems to be limited to F****s and more F**** s . Paddy Bradley was majestic again , the pass he gave for the 1st goal unreal. Brennan also attempted to clash at the end of the game with the Sportsfile photographer who's only crime was to record him attempting to have a quiet word with ref at end of game. Luckily for us that's 2 home games in a row a last minute goal against us has been disallowed by the same ref. Without access to video replay it looks like the Derry player either was pulled for charging or for carrying the ball over the line . The skirmish was building for awhile as players were pulling and dragging off the ball in what had to be full view of the umpires who choose to turn a blind eye to things until it erupted with 2 Longford players got yellows while 1 Derry player got yellow and their number 4 picked up a 2nd yellow. Didnt see what he did though, he may have been unlucky and also got a bloody nose to add to his woe.
Well done to our neighbours a fine win. Was listening to the 2nd half on the way home from Tuam sounded like the larries didn't panic when Derry scored a few goals 0-17 is good return in 70mins who would you like next.. Kerry maybe?
Quote from: ross4life on June 30, 2012, 10:43:54 PM
Well done to our neighbours a fine win. Was listening to the 2nd half on the way home from Tuam sounded like the larries didn't panic when Derry scored a few goals 0-17 is good return in 70mins who would you like next.. Kerry maybe?
I think Galway would be a good draw. I think the Larrys would do them aswell, as Galway don't do physicality!
(http://img.rasset.ie/0006168d-960.jpg)
McGoldrick had some day.
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 30, 2012, 10:55:15 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 30, 2012, 10:43:54 PM
I think Galway would be a good draw. I think the Larrys would do them aswell, as Galway don't do physicality!
We've got dibs on Galway. Then maybe Kerry or Tyrone. Get Clare in R4 and have rest before the quarters. Y'know.
Fantastic win for longford.. Spent last 10 mins on the phone to auld longfordian, god bless him, he's no commentator, but added to the drama, laurel what's the latest on john keegan, how is he doing? Hopefully he hasn't injured himsel
f seriously.
Quote from: Longfordian on July 01, 2012, 11:02:40 AM
Fantastic win for longford.. Spent last 10 mins on the phone to auld longfordian, god bless him, he's no commentator, but added to the drama, laurel what's the latest on john keegan, how is he doing? Hopefully he hasn't injured himself seriously.
He got the all clear in the early hours this morning.
Well done Larries, fair play!
A merited win overall in a very good game with yet another nerve jangling finish!! No way on Gods earth could Derry be awarded anything for the last play of the game, whoever caught the ball more or less tried to wrestle the ball over the line by barging, no attempt whatsoever to play the ball. Very poor form by John Brennan to fous on this after as well.
Any side that outscores opponents by 17 to 10 probably doesn't deserve to lose and Longford showed great composure not to panic after conceding the two goals. Some of the points scored were excellent especially given the blustery cross wind but overall Longford defended very well, apart from the two high balls that lead to the goals. The pass from Paddy Bradley for the first Derry goal was unbelievable and should have been highlighted more on the Sunday Game, whos highlights for such an entertaining exciting game were brutal.
We're well positioned with Limerick next up at home and once we don't get complacent have to be very confident of progressing a stage further...
Well the celebrations in Spainon Sat night were top notch, even though the Spanards didn't know what they were celebrating. Roll on last night and the party really got going. I might come back out for the Limerick game!
Any footage of Sat in the web?
well done to the Larries !
A lot of us expected them to beat Derry - but Longford play good football and deserved the win.
Quote from: panc56 on July 02, 2012, 01:14:03 PM
Well the celebrations in Spainon Sat night were top notch, even though the Spanards didn't know what they were celebrating. Roll on last night and the party really got going. I might come back out for the Limerick game!
Any footage of Sat in the web?
Just the highlights from TSG:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXz5oOdL8Sg (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXz5oOdL8Sg)
Cheers boss. Feckin hell could they not do a proper Saturday night review programme by now. 3 minutes for what seems to have been a great game. RTE should be ashamed. Derry boss needs a read of the rule book.
Quote from: panc56 on July 02, 2012, 10:07:09 PM
Cheers boss. Feckin hell could they not do a proper Saturday night review programme by now. 3 minutes for what seems to have been a great game. RTE should be ashamed. Derry boss needs a read of the rule book.
yeah another night of GAA action would be a good idea.........................Do ye mind the Monday Game???????
Was some weekend for the midlands - Louth, Derry and Armagh came to town and left with their championship cards punched for the year. Limerick, Kerry and Tyrone are next to be buried. No bother.
In that Youtube clip did Ciaran Mullolly refer to Meath's Joe Sheridan as Jody Sheridan for the 'goal' at the end? Jody Sheridan from Granard like!
Me ears may be deceiving me.
That was some score by Kavanagh towards the end.
I know it's bollixology showing such small clips but I spose there are other games. If each 'clip' was 15 mins then the Sunday Game would be 3 hours long.
A longer version, without the panel's guff, on a Monday night would be the answer. WTF watches MNS?
I'm afraid he did, SS.
I thought Mullooly was from Westmeath, though that may have been wishful thinking. How would he know who the f*ck Jody Sheridan was?
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 03, 2012, 04:12:51 PM
I thought Mullooly was from Westmeath, though that may have been wishful thinking. How would he know who the f*ck Jody Sheridan was?
He's from Lanesboro, married to a Mullahoran woman.
Half the county knows who Jody Sheridan is.
Ciaran Mullolly is Irelands Ron Burgundy....stay classy San Diego! ;D
I am not sure if this is right thread for this but here it is anyway.
Paddy Bradley complains :'(
Paddy Bradley has taken aim at the Derry County Board in the wake of the county's All-Ireland SFC exit at the hands of Longford.
Bradley was unable to inspire the Oak Leafers to victory in last Saturday's first round qualifier at Pearse Park, with top scorer Sean McCormack leading the home side to a 0-17 to 2-8 success.
Now the Glenullin ace, Derry's current captain and a former All-Star, says that the County Board need to be doing more to ensure that the best players are lining out for the county team while also suggesting that there was 'penny-pinching' going on.
"Everything is a penny-pinching operation. The physios were called into a meeting recently. They were pulled about players strapping up their wrists because of the cost of the tape," Bradley told the Irish News.
"Don't get me wrong, we get our expenses, our mileage and our gear. We get what is required. But you get the bare minimum. You don't get anything over and beyond.
"I think that is part of the reason why there is such apathy towards playing for the county. The players know that they're not going to be looked after like the Dublins and the Corks of this world."
Paddy (former great player now of big gut ) needs to realize the the qualifiers are for those under privileged in the GAA world to take one big bite out of a previous All Ireland winners ass!
This is the bit that I worry about:
"Don't get me wrong, we get our expenses, our mileage and our gear. We get what is required. But you get the bare minimum. You don't get anything over and beyond.
"I think that is part of the reason why there is such apathy towards playing for the county." Paddy Bradley
What is wrong with playing for the jersey, and your teammates, Paddy? >:( That is what Longford did, and the result is now history.
Quote from: LaurelEye on July 03, 2012, 04:55:37 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 03, 2012, 04:12:51 PM
He's from Lanesboro, married to a Mullahoran woman.
Half the county knows who Jody Sheridan is.
Ah that explains the grumpier than normal face on him reporting from the homecoming in 2004.
Aye Croí. Anyone with Longford blood had a puss on them all that week.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 03, 2012, 03:58:21 AM
In that Youtube clip did Ciaran Mullolly refer to Meath's Joe Sheridan as Jody Sheridan for the 'goal' at the end? Jody Sheridan from Granard like!
Watched clips of all the qualifiers last night and that was one of three gaffes by RTE reporters. One referred to David St Ledger of Carlow and another got his Waterfords and Wicklows mixed up.
Increase the licence fee, that's what I say.
Quote from: western exile on July 04, 2012, 05:54:16 PM
"I think that is part of the reason why there is such apathy towards playing for the county." Paddy Bradley
What is wrong with playing for the jersey, and your teammates, Paddy? >:( That is what Longford did, and the result is now history.
If that's the attitude of one of Derry's most experienced players it's no wonder they are out of the championship.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 05, 2012, 07:45:06 PM
Quote from: western exile on July 04, 2012, 05:54:16 PM
If that's the attitude of one of Derry's most experienced players it's no wonder they are out of the championship.
When Peter Canavan was appointed captain of the Tyrone team he said "
I don't want to be remembered as a great Captain but as Captain of a great
team" that the difference between
good players and
great players and yes I am aware that the quality of your teammates is also very important
I often wonder why the Bradleys play football. They don't seem to get much enjoyment out of it.
Its called deflection. You wouldn't believe how many Derry folk fall for it.