GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: theticklemister on April 24, 2012, 12:15:52 PM

Title: Our GAA traditions
Post by: theticklemister on April 24, 2012, 12:15:52 PM
Just after reading Paddy Heaney's excellent 'against the breeze' column in the Irish News and this week he was n about tradition. He states that things shuld nt change like the parade, amhrain na bhfain, umpire's clothing and such forth he goes onto slate things such as Hector OhEochagain's interviews during last years all-ireland when with all the noise ye couldn't hear ye speak to the ones beside ye and gain their opinion on the match.

Just wondering lads and lassies what tradtitions would ye keep or get rid of......................
Title: Re: Our GAA traditions
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2012, 01:29:08 PM
I would reinstate pitch invasions

Change the colours of some of the counties. Orange and maroon would be class for Galway.

Post by: theticklemister on April 24, 2012, 01:52:59 PM
Funny enough Paddy wanted pitch invasions to come back also; I would also agree!
Post by: orangeman on April 24, 2012, 01:57:03 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on April 24, 2012, 12:15:52 PM
Just after reading Paddy Heaney's excellent 'against the breeze' column in the Irish News and this week he was n about tradition. He states that things shuld nt change like the parade, amhrain na bhfain, umpire's clothing and such forth he goes onto slate things such as Hector OhEochagain's interviews during last years all-ireland when with all the noise ye couldn't hear ye speak to the ones beside ye and gain their opinion on the match.

Just wondering lads and lassies what tradtitions would ye keep or get rid of......................

Was he not on last year looking for this to go and be replaced by something like Ireland's call or something like that ?.
Post by: ballinaman on April 24, 2012, 02:01:26 PM
Keep the announcer in Croke Park anyways..."ssssssssssssssubstitution on the Mayo team."
Post by: sheamy on April 24, 2012, 02:28:56 PM
Ticket scanners should be replaced with biscuit tins...Paddy is dead right though. I was at the All-Ireland football final a couple of years ago and all the stuff that was introduced is wrecking it. The music when the teams comes out is shite...one of the best things used to be the roar of the crowd as the teams came out. Gone. I said this before, it's an overpaid marketing dept at Croke Park continually changing things to justify their existence. Some people call that innovation but Paddy's point is that Gaelic Games are unique in their tradition and customs and there's no need for the continued Amercianisation of the 'product' to use the marketing peoples terminology.
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2012, 02:35:08 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 24, 2012, 02:01:26 PM
Keep the announcer in Croke Park anyways..."ssssssssssssssubstitution on the Mayo team."

Fógra
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 24, 2012, 02:48:12 PM
Everyone outside Mayo (and many within) that Mayo will lose every game in Croke Park and when Mayo prove them wrong, everyone falling for the hype that they will win the next big game.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 24, 2012, 02:48:30 PM
What about 'May we never have to say goodbye' by Tommy Flemming?
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2012, 03:07:25 PM
I miss the furry and papier mache hats that were such a feature of the big match experience of the early 80s.
Post by: Hardy on April 24, 2012, 03:09:37 PM
That's the first time I ever saw the term 'papier mache' used in GAA circumstances.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 24, 2012, 03:10:23 PM
Declaring Galway are a great football team with great forwards and forgetting they haven't won in Croke Park since the ice age.
Post by: Denn Forever on April 24, 2012, 03:20:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 24, 2012, 03:07:25 PM
I miss the furry and papier mache hats that were such a feature of the big match experience of the early 80s.

Do you mean the Crepe paper hats with the semi circular peaks?
Post by: red n black on April 24, 2012, 03:21:49 PM
miss the old hill with flags waving during parade on all Ireland final
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2012, 03:22:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 24, 2012, 03:09:37 PM
That's the first time I ever saw the term 'papier mache' used in GAA circumstances.

The Meath backs are papier mache, Hardy
Easy to pronounce with that anglo norman accent especially the r 
Post by: heffo on April 24, 2012, 03:35:28 PM

He got the bullet last year.
Post by: muppet on April 24, 2012, 04:05:09 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 24, 2012, 03:10:23 PM
Declaring Galway are a great football team with great forwards and forgetting they haven't won in Croke Park since the ice age.

If Galway haven't won in Croker since the Ice Age, what age was it when we won Sam?
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 24, 2012, 04:10:52 PM
I hope they never take away the pre-match parade. I'd also be in favour of bringing back pitch invasions after All Ireland finals too. Surely if the queen can walk on the hallowed turf, then so should Gaels!
Post by: ballinaman on April 24, 2012, 04:27:33 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 24, 2012, 03:35:28 PM

He got the bullet last year.
Ah here!

Think his finest moment was Ireland V Germany in a world cup qualifer...."ssssssssssssssubstitution for West Germa....I mean Germany"
Post by: magpie seanie on April 24, 2012, 05:28:17 PM
I think we need to bring back the tradition of allowing a guy to burst another with a good, fair, square on shoulder without a free and yellow/red card given. By all means punish those who execute this skill incorrectly but for the love of God stop penalising one of the skills of the game.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 24, 2012, 05:39:25 PM
Bring back straight knock-out too. But non-provincially. It'd solve club players provlems.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 24, 2012, 05:43:58 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 24, 2012, 05:39:25 PM
Bring back straight knock-out too. But non-provincially. It'd solve club players provlems.

I agree with that.
Post by: Jinxy on April 24, 2012, 06:37:09 PM
Bring back the bishops.
Post by: commonman on April 24, 2012, 07:38:32 PM
i miss the official notices in the herald in advance of the big match

It would go something like
Cluiche Ceannais Cuige Connacht 1980
i bpairc Douglas de Hide
Roscomain v maigh eo

cead isteach £3, sideline 50p extra

and it would always end with.....

NO HAWKERS ALLOWED
Post by: ONeill on April 24, 2012, 08:20:48 PM
Will yiz just go to the fecking game, watch it, cheer or berate, and go home. All that other shite is here nor there. If they had juggling elephants at HT since the 60s ye'd say it was tradition. Tradition is bucking 18 or 20 a-side with bishops and one goal being worth more than 45 points.

Heaney changes his mind like I change my trunks. Once a week.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 26, 2012, 02:52:55 AM
Quote from: sheamy on April 24, 2012, 02:28:56 PM
Ticket scanners should be replaced with biscuit tins...Paddy is dead right though. I was at the All-Ireland football final a couple of years ago and all the stuff that was introduced is wrecking it. The music when the teams comes out is shite...one of the best things used to be the roar of the crowd as the teams came out. Gone. I said this before, it's an overpaid marketing dept at Croke Park continually changing things to justify their existence. Some people call that innovation but Paddy's point is that Gaelic Games are unique in their tradition and customs and there's no need for the continued Amercianisation of the 'product' to use the marketing peoples terminology.

Your head's cut. There's nothing wrong with the music they play, it makes my hair stand on end. And if you can't hear the roar of the crowd then you must be deaf.  I'm glad to see the GAA moving with the times and making the presentation of the occasion look like the world class event that it is, and not some half-assed it'll-do-rightly job. 

I'm surprised some of the luddites aren't pining for the good old days on the Canal terrace when you could sit on the back wall with nothing stopping you from a fatal drop below. The place used to be an obsolete embarrassment and would still be if the GAA had listened to all the naysayers and "stop changing things" lobby.
Post by: rrhf on April 26, 2012, 07:36:59 AM
I remember the days when the lift to the premium level was awful for breaking down.  Not now.
Post by: sheamy on April 26, 2012, 08:19:19 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 26, 2012, 02:52:55 AM
Quote from: sheamy on April 24, 2012, 02:28:56 PM

Your head's cut. There's nothing wrong with the music they play, it makes my hair stand on end. And if you can't hear the roar of the crowd then you must be deaf.  I'm glad to see the GAA moving with the times and making the presentation of the occasion look like the world class event that it is, and not some half-assed it'll-do-rightly job. 

I'm surprised some of the luddites aren't pining for the good old days on the Canal terrace when you could sit on the back wall with nothing stopping you from a fatal drop below. The place used to be an obsolete embarrassment and would still be if the GAA had listened to all the naysayers and "stop changing things" lobby.

Tonight's gonna be a good good night...
Am glad the black eyed peas get you all pricky...each man to their own I suppose.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 26, 2012, 08:23:04 AM
The 'ban' used be a good tradition too. :P
Post by: sheamy on April 26, 2012, 08:25:59 AM
Can we please not equate tradition, and perhaps more accurately, uniqueness with 'nothing should ever be changed'? I don't believe anyone said that.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 26, 2012, 09:24:00 AM
I think the GAA went to the dogs the day Michéal O'Hehir retired.
(Or maybe things are just pure cat. I can't make up my mind.)
Since schemozzles in the parallelograms were dispensed with and the entire team stopped moving up the field in the closing minutes, the game has lost a lot of its magic for me.
I also miss the hawkers who went around bawling out, "Get the last of the Lukey, Lukey ices" as their sold their Lucan ice cream tubs with the little wooden scoops.
Effing them out of it when they blocked your view of what was happening on the field added to the fun immensely. It was all part and parcel of a great tradition being passed down from one generation to the next.
Better stop now or I'll be stuck in retro mode for the rest of the day.
Post by: BennyCake on April 26, 2012, 12:22:20 PM
Players should line out in their positions for the anthem.

Let the crowd sing the anthem, instead of hearing a terrible X-factor version.

Bring back pitch invasions. I remember seeing Loughgiel trying to celebrate on their own on St Patrick's day. It was awful. The lads didn't know what to do. The villagers should've been allowed on to celebrate with their heroes. It was terrible that their greatest day was spoiled by that H&S shower of pricks.

Shoot Jedward, so they never set foot on the Croke Park turf again. It's for the best. Really it is.
Post by: theticklemister on April 26, 2012, 01:33:27 PM
Yes Jedward needs terminated.

I reckon if ye hand them a hurl they would try and comb their hair with it.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 26, 2012, 01:44:29 PM
I'm sure their uncle is Eamonn Grimes, of Limerick hurling stock, so maybe they'd be better with it than you think. I know Eamonn combed a few lads' hair with his hurl in the 70s alright.
Post by: Nally Stand on April 26, 2012, 02:04:35 PM
If When I become GAA President, two things will return:

- The pitch invasion,
- The old GAA crest on the pitch at All-Ireland Finals

That will be all.
Post by: Tubberman on April 26, 2012, 02:07:34 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 26, 2012, 02:04:35 PM
If When I become GAA President, two things will return:

- The pitch invasion,
- The old GAA crest on the pitch at All-Ireland Finals

That will be all.

Why did they ever stop doing that? It looked class and made the occasion seem even a little extra bit special.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 26, 2012, 02:08:16 PM
I loved that crest on the pitch alright.
Post by: theticklemister on April 26, 2012, 02:25:48 PM
Yip bring back the crest day buck!and not the new old but the old one with celtic design!

Keep the ideas coming; in process of emailing Liam O'Neill!
Post by: sheamy on April 26, 2012, 02:31:07 PM
(http://www.gaa.ie/content/images/news/miscellaneous/Fever_Pitch_News_2.jpg)

How can a crest compete with this?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 26, 2012, 02:31:47 PM
Why can't the players at half time gather in the centre of the pitch for the smokes while the crowd take over one of the goals for backs and forwards.

This happened all the time at the local senior matches I went to in Longford in the 70s/80s. None of this traipsing off to the dressing rooms to top up the tan or to re-wax the legs as they seem to do nowadays.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 26, 2012, 02:43:05 PM
Remember the Westmeath hurlers subs having a crafty fag on top of the old dugouts in Tullamore during a ritual pasting from Kilkenny back in the 80s/90s? I remember them swinging their legs back and forward like kids on a swing and puffing away at half time.

On a side note, Tullamore still allows in loads of kids at half time to kick puck and otherwise mess around, and to be honest I think it looks great and I'm sure the kids enjoy it. I've also seen this in Limerick, but not sure about elsewhere at the moment.
Post by: theticklemister on April 26, 2012, 02:55:30 PM

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 26, 2012, 02:43:05 PM
Remember the Westmeath hurlers subs having a crafty fag on top of the old dugouts in Tullamore during a ritual pasting from Kilkenny back in the 80s/90s? I remember them swinging their legs back and forward like kids on a swing and puffing away at half time.

On a side note, Tullamore still allows in loads of kids at half time to kick puck and otherwise mess around, and to be honest I think it looks great and I'm sure the kids enjoy it. I've also seen this in Limerick, but not sure about elsewhere at the moment.

Subs at an intermediate final in Derry were not allowed to warm up/kick about on the pitch at half time 2 years ago. I very much doubt they have amended this
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2012, 02:58:44 PM

Parnell still allows kids and supporters on the pitch after the game, oh how I remember our hurlers beating TAD in the club semi final!!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 26, 2012, 03:07:08 PM
The auld half time fag was a great tradition!!!  I remember when I made my senior debut.  It was a league decider and I was only 17, I walked into the dressing room and the pungent mixture of Winter Green, Smithwicks and B&H would have knocked you out, ahhhh the good old days!
Post by: Tubberman on April 26, 2012, 03:09:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2012, 02:58:44 PM

Parnell still allows kids and supporters on the pitch after the game, oh how I remember our hurlers beating TAD in the club semi final!!!

There were kids out kicking around at half-time in the abandoned game in McHale Park between Mayo and Dublin.
Of course, that could have been because the stewards couldn't see them!
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 26, 2012, 05:37:49 PM
The new GAA President needs to bring back the pitch invasion and get rid of the plastic wall. Some of our USA readers will wonder about the old fag tradition.
Post by: Hardy on April 26, 2012, 05:58:24 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 26, 2012, 05:37:49 PM
The new GAA President needs to bring back the pitch invasion

Yeh - just what we need.   ::)

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/sludden1.png)
Post by: Syferus on April 26, 2012, 06:00:47 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 26, 2012, 05:58:24 PM

Sure they've already brought back Joe Sheridan, why not reunite the band?
Post by: theticklemister on April 26, 2012, 06:01:20 PM

Hardy me oul mucker...............completly taken out of context!!!!!!!
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 26, 2012, 06:28:10 PM

Yeh need to keep fans off the field as it could spread into players mindset ::)

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00379/0708_lookbackinange_379832t.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on April 26, 2012, 08:09:02 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on April 26, 2012, 06:01:20 PM

Hardy me oul mucker...............completly taken out of context!!!!!!!

Well, you'll have to tell me how you take context into account in allowing pitch invasions. Because you can't know in advance which pitch "invasions" are going to be benign and which are going to involve a mob attacking the referee or players or feckit, anyone they feel like attacking. They're allowed to "invade", sure - what's a bit of thuggery in the context of a traditional ould "invasion".

So tell me how you're going to frame this legislation that allows "nice" invasions while at the same time preventing Louth/Derrytresk/a-hundered-other-thuggish-attacks type of invasions?

Anyway, just read that again - "allowing pitch invasions". Does that sound like something that should be on the agenda of a sports organisation in the 21st century? Can you really imagine such an item coming up on the "clár" at any congress in this age of enlightened thinking on safety in large gatherings of people and huge awareness of what can go wrong when crowds get out of control, even accidentally, never mind being intentionally turned loose? And delegates voting it through in the knowledge of what they're taking responsibility for?
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 26, 2012, 08:30:15 PM
But, Hardy, I believe Meath people were invading the pitch that day too to congratulate their heroes.
Post by: ross4life on April 26, 2012, 09:16:10 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 26, 2012, 08:30:15 PM
But, Hardy, I believe Meath people were invading the pitch that day too to congratulate their heroes.
Hardy was there in the stand shaking his head in disgust. Seriously the pitch invasion is only stopped in Croke park because of a possibly injury claim. Thanfully outside of Croke park the GAA tradition of fans celebrating with players on the field after the game is still alive.
Post by: 5 Sams on April 26, 2012, 09:16:45 PM
The new GAA President needs to bring back the pitch invasion and get rid of the plastic wall. Some of our USA readers will wonder about the old fag tradition.

;D ;D ;D"Will you leave me your butt?" Another one that will have them scratching their heads!!
Post by: seafoid on April 26, 2012, 09:43:06 PM
One other great gaa tradition is the regular post that starts "paddy heaney had a great article in the irish news today" and no sign of a link ever
Post by: Agent Orange on April 26, 2012, 10:30:52 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 26, 2012, 09:43:06 PM
One other great gaa tradition is the regular post that starts "paddy heaney had a great article in the irish news today" and no sign of a link ever

Sadly the Irish News is a bit like the GPA, its pay for play these days so no links. Unless someone scans it and posts it up.
Post by: theticklemister on April 26, 2012, 10:34:15 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 26, 2012, 09:43:06 PM

ye want a lend of 70p or 1 euro?

I was having my Weetabix in the morn reading the paper and decided to post to the board about the article. I didnt have a clue about a link, as I posted it early in the morn i'm sure if ye find the crust of the article interesting ye would go and buy the paper.
Post by: Syferus on April 27, 2012, 12:23:35 AM
Quote from: ross4life on April 26, 2012, 09:16:10 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 26, 2012, 08:30:15 PM
Hardy was there in the stand shaking his head in disgust. Seriously the pitch invasion is only stopped in Croke park because of a possibly injury claim. Thanfully outside of Croke park the GAA tradition of fans celebrating with players on the field after the game is still alive.

The Longford stewards at the Ros-Cavan game attempted the most half-hearted attempt at stopping a pitch invasion I've seen. ''Please do not enter the pitch.." comes out over the tannoy, more a desperate plea than an order. Then most of the stewards line up square middle of the the sideline where the main access gate was (the barrier itself is just a hollow metal structure that a 400 lbs man could stoop under at any point along it) and  before I'd even made it half way out of the stand side they decided "ah feck this" and just gave up and let people out onto the pitch.

'Twas grand and dandy.
Post by: commonman on April 27, 2012, 02:25:59 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 26, 2012, 09:24:00 AM
Since schemozzles in the parallelograms were dispensed with and the entire team stopped moving up the field in the closing minutes, the game has lost a lot of its magic for me.
I also miss the hawkers who went around bawling out, "Get the last of the Lukey, Lukey ices" as their sold their Lucan ice cream tubs with the little wooden scoops.
Effing them out of it when they blocked your view of what was happening on the field added to the fun immensely. It was all part and parcel of a great tradition being passed down from one generation to the next.

yes Lar those were the days indeed, the hawkers with their baskets of ices - 'You scream I Scream we all scream for ice cream' was their regular chant and the lad sitting next to you in the bleachers in hyde park would refuse to let them pass and then a heated discussion - 'i paid good money to come in here etc etc ' -  this was a regular feature of the hyde experience throughout the late seventies and eighties.
Post by: muppet on April 27, 2012, 10:53:32 PM
Quote from: commonman on April 27, 2012, 02:25:59 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 26, 2012, 09:24:00 AM

yes Lar those were the days indeed, the hawkers with their baskets of ices - 'You scream I Scream we all scream for ice cream' was their regular chant and the lad sitting next to you in the bleachers in hyde park would refuse to let them pass and then a heated discussion - 'i paid good money to come in here etc etc ' -  this was a regular feature of the hyde experience throughout the late seventies and eighties.

The Hyde hasn't changed a bit then!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 30, 2012, 11:38:07 AM

That's still fondly remembered in Westmeath hurling circles, a bit of a watershed moment. Thankfully the pastings aren't what they were. Cusack Park still lets the kids on too although there wasn't too many on the pitch this year due to the poor attendance levels.
Post by: Jinxy on April 30, 2012, 12:18:09 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 26, 2012, 02:31:07 PM

God, yer mans tiny.
Post by: eddie d on May 01, 2012, 04:03:06 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 30, 2012, 12:18:09 PM
Quote from: sheamy on April 26, 2012, 02:31:07 PM

God, mcgeeneys tiny.

fixed dat
Post by: OakleafCounty on May 04, 2012, 02:52:22 PM
I would keep the national anthem for All-Ireland finals only. Really don't see the point in having it at every game. Never liked it. I would also do away with the parade. No point in it whatsoever. It used to look good when most people in the crowd had flags but that's not as common now.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 04, 2012, 04:07:14 PM
I like the parade on All Ireland Sunday though.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 05, 2012, 05:18:10 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on May 04, 2012, 02:52:22 PM
It used to look good when most people in the crowd had flags but that's not as common now.

Ever notice how there always seems to be more flags on the terraces than in the seated stands?  Terraces are always more colourful?  I think it's because crowds on the terrace are packed in tighter.  I'd be surprised if there were fewer flags today, there's probably just as many as there always has been.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 05, 2012, 06:13:16 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 05, 2012, 05:45:35 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 05, 2012, 05:18:10 PM
It used to look good when most people in the crowd had flags but that's not as common now.

Ever notice how there always seems to be more flags on the terraces than in the seated stands?  Terraces are always more colourful?  I think it's because crowds on the terrace are packed in tighter.  I'd be surprised if there were fewer flags today, there's probably just as many as there always has been.

Flags are awkward cnuts of things to carry about at the best of times. People don't bother with them when they're in the stands because there's nowhere to put the things between the occasional wave.

I think alot of people break off the stick and wave them for a score, but its handy to stick them in the jacket pocket. When people used to have them on the sticks they were more prominent.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 05, 2012, 06:29:47 PM
The tradition of put down your f**king flag is gone then.
Post by: Whishtup on May 08, 2012, 11:16:48 PM
While a fan of pipe bands, I have to say that they cause great confusion when Amhrán na bhFiann is played.  Pipes are limited to one octave so it starts deadly low, with the crowd doing some sort of mass Barry White impression.  Then for the high bit at the end it has to change key so the crowd stop singing.
Just noticed it again before the Cork Mayo match.  Hard to bate a good flute band or brass.  Not a fan of the nasal Beyonce versions. 
Post by: theticklemister on May 09, 2012, 01:54:13 PM
What about this tradtition-

The 2 oul boys leaning over the fence at the club games! Always a sure thing!
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 09, 2012, 10:00:25 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 05, 2012, 06:13:16 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 05, 2012, 05:45:35 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 05, 2012, 05:18:10 PM

Flags are awkward cnuts of things to carry about at the best of times. People don't bother with them when they're in the stands because there's nowhere to put the things between the occasional wave.

I think alot of people break off the stick and wave them for a score, but its handy to stick them in the jacket pocket. When people used to have them on the sticks they were more prominent.

I only bring flags with me to AIFs. And they are on sticks too. Maybe if I leave them at home we might win one, although I had it with me in Ennis in 06.
Post by: ONeill on May 09, 2012, 10:55:52 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on May 08, 2012, 11:16:48 PM
While a fan of pipe bands, I have to say that they cause great confusion when Amhrán na bhFiann is played.  Pipes are limited to one octave so it starts deadly low, with the crowd doing some sort of mass Barry White impression.  Then for the high bit at the end it has to change key so the crowd stop singing.
Just noticed it again before the Cork Mayo match.  Hard to bate a good flute band or brass.  Not a fan of the nasal Beyonce versions.

It is a bit of a shambles alright. The crowd think you've got her wrong and then a brawl commences in the stand as they think it's some UK version. That's what happened in Dromore anyway.