GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: red n black on April 24, 2012, 10:04:17 AM

Title: Is Tyrone the best team in the country?
Post by: red n black on April 24, 2012, 10:04:17 AM
Are Tyrone the best team in the country at present? I would have to say yes. although they have been in div 2, they have went through their opposition like a whirlwind, defeating teams better than their current division. The big 3 in div 1 have stuttered their way through with some very questionable form going into the championship. Some people say the national cannot be taken as a given, but it is the only yard stick we have! At present i think Tyrone are the team that would beat any 15 at the min1 I hope they don;t get tanked on sun after putting me neck on the line!!!!!!!
Title: Re: Is Tyrone the best team in the country?
Post by: moysider on April 24, 2012, 10:17:10 AM
Quote from: red n black on April 24, 2012, 10:04:17 AM
Are Tyrone the best team in the country at present? I would have to say yes. although they have been in div 2, they have went through their opposition like a whirlwind, defeating teams better than their current division. The big 3 in div 1 have stuttered their way through with some very questionable form going into the championship. Some people say the national cannot be taken as a given, but it is the only yard stick we have! At present i think Tyrone are the team that would beat any 15 at the min1 I hope they don;t get tanked on sun after putting me neck on the line!!!!!!!

Another free class wasted red n black.
Post by: DuffleKing on April 24, 2012, 10:30:30 AM

ARE Tyrone the best team in the country?

No is the answer.
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2012, 12:00:33 PM
They are without doubt the best team in the UK
Post by: omagh_gael on April 24, 2012, 12:03:05 PM
Put those claws away seafoid!
Post by: Fuzzman on April 24, 2012, 12:28:11 PM
My young 4 year old asked me on Sunday who would win between Tyrone and Everton.
I'll tell him now Tyrone are the best team in the British Isles.
Post by: ziggysego on April 24, 2012, 12:28:26 PM
Quote from: red n black on April 24, 2012, 10:04:17 AM

You could argue that they are a natural Division 1 team and weren't truly tested in Division 2.
Post by: muppet on April 24, 2012, 01:32:46 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 24, 2012, 10:30:30 AM

No is the answer.

This raises a far more important question:

Which is correct: IS Tyrone the best team? OR ARE Tyrone the best team?

The issue is whether the word team is plural or singular. DuffleKing is putting his money on 'Team' being plural while red n' black obviously believes Team is singular.

Can you say: 'that is a great team' if team is plural? I don't think so. Also if team is plural, then what is the singular of the word 'teams'?

I am putting my money on team being singular, although I was always crap at English.
Post by: ballinaman on April 24, 2012, 01:37:57 PM
People who can't speak proper really get to me.
Post by: CK_Redhand on April 24, 2012, 01:44:03 PM
Yes
Post by: Applesisapples on April 24, 2012, 01:48:03 PM
Waste of a thread.
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2012, 02:22:18 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 24, 2012, 12:03:05 PM
Put those claws away seafoid!

I went up to Ballygawley the Monday after Tyrone won the all Ireland in 2003 and
it was a wonderful experience. I can only imagine what it felt like for Tyrone people
to win the first time. And beat Armagh at the same time. 
Post by: red n black on April 24, 2012, 02:43:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 24, 2012, 01:32:46 PM

No is the answer.

The issue is whether the word team is plural or singular. DuffleKing is putting his money on 'Team' being plural while red n' black obviously believes Team is singular.

Can you say: 'that is a great team' if team is plural? I don't think so. Also if team is plural, then what is the singular of the word 'teams'?

I am putting my money on team being singular, although I was always crap at English.

Thanks for the English lesson,
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 24, 2012, 02:45:39 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on April 24, 2012, 12:28:11 PM
My young 4 year old asked me on Sunday who would win between Tyrone and Everton.
I'll tell him now Tyrone are the best team in the British Isles.

If Cork or Kerry were in the British Isles, I think it would be between them. They are the best teams in the Atlantic Archipelago in my opinion.

The best County in Roscommon is Mayo  ;)
Post by: red n black on April 24, 2012, 02:47:21 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on April 24, 2012, 01:48:03 PM
Waste of a thread.

Sorry thought this was a gaa forum, maybe you've nothing to talk about in Armagh, which is strange  :)
Post by: Nally Stand on April 24, 2012, 02:48:50 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 24, 2012, 01:37:57 PM

Does they?
Post by: red n black on April 24, 2012, 02:55:33 PM
Ah come on now...Mayo you say your from
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 24, 2012, 02:55:41 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 24, 2012, 02:48:50 PM

Does they?

They piss me write of to. Theirs no excuse fur it.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 24, 2012, 02:56:40 PM
Quote from: red n black on April 24, 2012, 02:55:33 PM

awk aye e did
Post by: red n black on April 24, 2012, 03:10:35 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 24, 2012, 02:56:40 PM

awk aye e did
IN FAIRNESS NOW!! ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 24, 2012, 03:15:22 PM
Quote from: red n black on April 24, 2012, 03:10:35 PM

awk aye e did
IN FAIRNESS NOW!! ;)

touché
Post by: red n black on April 24, 2012, 03:19:00 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 24, 2012, 03:15:22 PM
Quote from: red n black on April 24, 2012, 03:10:35 PM

awk aye e did
IN FAIRNESS NOW!! ;)

touché
[/quote
Not a bit of it? only a bit of craic in all fairness.....
Post by: omagh_gael on April 24, 2012, 03:57:28 PM
Awk now seafoid my post was in jest! Fair play to ye for coming up in '03, you should have came on to Omagh. The craic was mighty for three days solid. 
Post by: muppet on April 24, 2012, 04:01:56 PM
Quote from: red n black on April 24, 2012, 02:43:53 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 24, 2012, 01:32:46 PM

No is the answer.

Thanks for the English lesson,

Hi boi! DuffleKing gave the lesson, I was trying to establish the truth.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 24, 2012, 05:20:50 PM
For me, the best team in the country is Longford! Six wins and a draw in the League, undefeated! Ran close by Fermanagh who had Seven wins and a draw in the League! undefeated! On the other hand, Dublin and Donegal with only 3 wins and 4 losses are a poor sides! 
As for Tyrone with 100% seven out of seven. :P
Post by: ziggysego on April 24, 2012, 05:39:47 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 24, 2012, 05:20:50 PM
For me, the best team in the country is Longford! Six wins and a draw in the League, undefeated! Ran close by Fermanagh who had Seven wins and a draw in the League! undefeated! On the other hand, Dublin and Donegal with only 3 wins and 4 losses are a poor sides! 

12 out of 12 in 2012 *coughs* 100% record.
Post by: Orangemac on April 24, 2012, 10:17:56 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 24, 2012, 05:39:47 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 24, 2012, 05:20:50 PM

12 out of 12 in 2012 *coughs* 100% record.
Heres hoping for 13 out of 13 v Kildare and they go into the Armagh game undefeated and strong favourites.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 24, 2012, 10:46:37 PM
For Tyrone to continue the 100% record through to September, it'll be 19 out of 19 games won with 4 trophies.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 24, 2012, 11:03:55 PM
The Div 2 final will be played out in September. Tyrone v Kildare. Can't wait for that All Ireland final.
Post by: LeoMc on April 30, 2012, 12:52:43 PM
This thread seems to have died a death ???
Post by: Applesisapples on April 30, 2012, 01:40:42 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on April 30, 2012, 12:52:43 PM
A bit like Tyrone's challenge on Kildare.
Post by: Nally Stand on April 30, 2012, 05:00:14 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on April 30, 2012, 01:40:42 PM
A bit like Armagh's life in Division one.
Post by: Applesisapples on April 30, 2012, 05:07:09 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on April 30, 2012, 05:00:14 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on April 30, 2012, 01:40:42 PM
A bit like Armagh's life in Division one.
True.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 30, 2012, 07:30:52 PM
Apparent invincibility - an awfully destructive yoke. Worst possible result for Armagh!  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on May 01, 2012, 01:37:01 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 30, 2012, 07:30:52 PM
Apparent invincibility - an awfully destructive yoke. Worst possible result for Armagh!  ;)

http://youtu.be/RKYH4HYZCtg (http://youtu.be/RKYH4HYZCtg)
Post by: Applesisapples on May 01, 2012, 10:32:02 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 30, 2012, 07:30:52 PM
Armagh have no chance of beating Tyrone, they'll be bate out the gate.
Post by: yellowcard on May 01, 2012, 06:30:35 PM
Haven't been on this site in a while and I must admit i thought this thread was a wind up when I seen the title. Tyrone will at best be quarter finalists this year with a favourable draw in the qualifiers. I think Armagh will beat them at home in the c'ship. They have put a big effort into the pre-season competitions this year after being humbled by Dublin last year, but its hard to sustain that for the full year. Vastly over-rated team.