GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ck on April 12, 2012, 11:37:32 PM

Title: Val Andrews steps down
Post by: ck on April 12, 2012, 11:37:32 PM
Player power gone mad? Or has Andrews just been found out?

Heard Andrews this evening on Sport at 7 on RTE1. It was a pathetic defence on his part, I've no idea why he did the interview when all he could come out with was that the players should take a look at themselves whilst trying to play it all down as no big deal. He also indicated that he had no idea what the problems were (Come off it Val) but did mention "a few training issues".

Easy first round win for Donegal now?
Title: Re: Val Andrews steps down
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 12, 2012, 11:40:36 PM
Not a good time to get rid of manager could they not wait until the championship is over?
Post by: ck on April 12, 2012, 11:48:27 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 12, 2012, 11:44:30 PM
Quote from: ck on April 12, 2012, 11:37:32 PM
Easy first round win for Donegal now?
Now?

...as a result of this will Donegal have an easy 1st round win? (It's my broken Sligo lingo!)
Post by: Syferus on April 12, 2012, 11:59:09 PM
Cavan can be a fairly nippy team. They looked good for long stretches in the league against us (and we ended up scoring 1-17, so it's not like we were playing with hangovers). Add in two years of quality u21s and you've got a dangerous little concoction. If a new manager got the players in gear, and with Michael Murphy and Kevin Cassidy out, Donegal could have alot harder time of it than they thought when the draw was made in October. They'll probably still win, but it'd be madness to dismiss Cavan.
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 12:09:21 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 13, 2012, 12:01:26 AM
Right.......

Donegal would eat and shite them imo.

Donegal don't look like they could eat Ready Brek for breakfast at the moment, they had a very, very average league. They've clearly regressed from last year, losing their best defender bar Karl Lacey and the head of their one-man attack is a pretty swinging blow. Cavan will scalp one of the big guns one of these years, it probably not going to be this year with the upheaval, but it is going to happen.

I'm thinking Antrim-Donegal last year, minus Murphy, for the Cavan game. It won't be pretty, but that won't be because Donegal are scoring 20 points. They're just not set up to trash teams.
Post by: ck on April 13, 2012, 12:15:40 AM
I would agree that Donegal have regressed but they still are a Div 1 team V a Div 3 team. A Div 3 team who lost to Antrim last Sunday V a Div 1 team who beat Armagh. That in itself would suggest an easy win for Donegal. Now that Cavan have dumped their manager and are now weeks away from c/ship, have no manager, no U.21 players... it can only mean a Cavan hammering surely.

Any Cavan people on here? Any idea why the turn on Andrews?
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 12:22:23 AM
Cavan supporters I talked to were very upset by the way Cavan tailed off in most of their games (they lead us 1-4 to 0-1 after five minutes, losing 1-17 to 1-12, for example). It seemed to me like nothing Andrews did was able to effect the course of the game once it turned against him. Everyone knows there was plenty of backstage politics.
Post by: ross4life on April 13, 2012, 12:27:25 AM
Seems like the pressure to bring through the young players was intense. The Cavan team that faced us a few weeks ago was unrecognisable to one the that played us two years ago. Apart from the one lad on his way to Kildare what happened to the more experienced Cavan players?

Time to bring wee Martin back & wouldn't it be some story if he returned to defeat his own county.
Post by: INDIANA on April 13, 2012, 12:31:45 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 12:22:23 AM
Cavan supporters I talked to were very upset by the way Cavan tailed off in most of their games (they lead us 1-4 to 0-1 after five minutes, losing 1-17 to 1-12, for example). It seemed to me like nothing Andrews did was able to effect the course of the game once it turned against him. Everyone knows there was plenty of backstage politics.

How many managers have Cavan had in the last 8 years. All of them were wrong? Hardly.
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 12:37:50 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 13, 2012, 12:33:53 AM
Andrews wasn't able to.....
Carr wasn't able to.....
Keoghan wasn't able to.....

This has been going on for years. There is one common denominator. Cavan senior football players (with and without Seanie). Not good enough?

Oh, absolutely. They have plenty of hope for the future, though, and do have enough good squad players to bolster the underage lads in the years to come. The next permanent manager really needed to be Terry Hyland but he's saying he has no interest in it. Maybe that'll change now.
Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 12:54:55 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 13, 2012, 12:39:39 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 12:37:50 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 13, 2012, 12:33:53 AM
Andrews wasn't able to.....
Carr wasn't able to.....
Keoghan wasn't able to.....

This has been going on for years. There is one common denominator. Cavan senior football players (with and without Seanie). Not good enough?

Oh, absolutely. They have plenty of hope for the future, though, and do have enough good squad players to bolster the underage lads in the years to come. The next permanent manager really needed to be Terry Hyland but he's saying he has no interest in it. Maybe that'll change now.
Or perhaps there is a very good reason why Hyland wants nothing to do with the senior panel.

You must remember that it appears that it's the same players who haven't cut the mustard under several managers who contrived get Andrews binned.

Well he's already a selector for the senior panel so he has no issues being involved. He'd be the obvious choice for continuity and for developing the u21s. He did say he wasn't interested before Val Andrew, err, 'stepped down', he could hardly say he wanted to manager of a team he was a selector on.
Post by: ONeill on April 13, 2012, 01:18:27 AM
It's Bogue's book.

Cassidy, McDonnell, Andrews. What next - Ricey's teeth tooth to fall out? Paddy Cunningham disappears?
Post by: rrhf on April 13, 2012, 08:26:56 AM
I hear he's writing a book on the titanic
Post by: Denn Forever on April 13, 2012, 09:26:56 AM
If you couldn't laugh, you'd cry.

There is always next year.
Post by: spuds on April 13, 2012, 11:11:07 AM
Is it time for counties to amalgamate like the struggling clubs do ? Cavan have the underage teams coming through and Meath have the experienced bucks like Anthony Moyles, Geraghty, Sean Boylan, Red Collier etc. Maybe throw in Monaghan as well. Would Cavan agree to Banty as manager though ?
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 13, 2012, 11:38:18 AM
Quote from: spuds on April 13, 2012, 11:11:07 AM
Is it time for counties to amalgamate like the struggling clubs do ? Cavan have the underage teams coming through and Meath have the experienced bucks like Anthony Moyles, Geraghty, Sean Boylan, Red Collier etc. Maybe throw in Monaghan as well. Would Cavan agree to Banty as manager though ?

Cavan, Monaghan and Meath amalgamate - are you off your rocker!
Post by: Dont Matter on April 13, 2012, 01:38:37 PM
Why anyone would appoint Val Andrews to manage an inter-county team in the first place is the real scandal.
Post by: Louth Exile on April 13, 2012, 03:32:36 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on April 13, 2012, 01:38:37 PM
Why anyone would appoint Val Andrews to manage an inter-county team in the first place is the real scandal.

Absolutely! Leaving aside whatever flaws the Cavan senior players have, I would not let Val Andrews be a selector with the U12s! Without any shadow of a doubt the worst, most poorly organised manager I have ever seen let near a county side.

The fact that this was Andrew's second term with the county and that in the interim period they had Keoghan does not bode well for the powers that be making a good appointment to replace him and they'd never appoint a Monaghan man!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 13, 2012, 04:03:23 PM
They once appointed a Meath man so you never know what they'd do. I reckon A Forde is the man who will get the job till the end of the season.
Post by: boojangles on April 13, 2012, 04:34:25 PM
Yes I believe Forde will be taking training now with Terry in to steady the ship. I just hope it doesn't unsettle the U-21s preparation. U-21s are far more important at the moment and by judging the crowd in Brewster compared to any of the Senior games this year the bulk of Cavan fans feel the same.
Andrews was a quick fix because nobody else would touch us. He was found out early last year. This year is probably a write off at this stage.
Post by: heffo on April 13, 2012, 05:19:41 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 13, 2012, 04:03:23 PM
I reckon A Forde is the man who will get the job till the end of the season.

Is he not still in Dublin with Ulster Bank??
Post by: boojangles on April 13, 2012, 05:51:32 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 13, 2012, 05:19:41 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 13, 2012, 04:03:23 PM
I reckon A Forde is the man who will get the job till the end of the season.

Is he not still in Dublin with Ulster Bank??

No he has set up a new business in Cavan town.
Post by: Denn Forever on April 13, 2012, 06:30:02 PM
And writing for the Anglo Celt.  Maybe he can get SJ to talk to Paul Fitzpatrick!
Post by: tommysmith on April 13, 2012, 07:04:48 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 13, 2012, 12:31:45 AM

How many managers have Cavan had in the last 8 years. All of them were wrong? Hardly.
The last few would not be regarded as good manangers anyway.

It is definatly not all down to any off the mangers but Cavan are better than what we have seen this year.
Post by: theticklemister on April 13, 2012, 07:53:01 PM
I managed a university team that beat a Val Andrews Dublin NCI (if my memory serves me right) and our main player was causing havoc in first half; as soon as the said player touched the ball in second half he was emptied and had to be brought off. Obviously on the word of Andrews.We eventually held on to win the game.

At the usual after dinner meal Val said to me 'Sorry; it had to be done (in relation to our injured forward)'

I felt sick in the stomach. I have always been brought up to play the game fair and to stop the other team playing fairly. The said player was lucky to play the following week in championship. This put me off Andrews from then on. 
Post by: Jinxy on April 13, 2012, 09:55:47 PM
Oh boo hoo!
It's a mans game.
Post by: Jinxy on April 13, 2012, 10:11:28 PM
I must say Val was very dignified throughout all the Seanie nonsense.
Best of luck to him, seems like a decent chap.
Post by: theticklemister on April 13, 2012, 10:17:34 PM
No, as it was just the second half starting I believe the ref had no balls too. Mind ye we were a man down ourselves from first half. The forward in question was Pat Cadden from Fermanagh. Greatest forward I had the privilge to coach or indeed be associated with. Think he is in fermanagh set up still.

I know coaches go out and say 'do this' and 'that' but the fact that he came and admitted it made it even worse. I would never and have never told any player to go out and delibertly hurt or injure any player. Ye may say give him a pull here or there but never cause bodily harm on him.
Post by: shawshank on April 13, 2012, 10:22:48 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on April 13, 2012, 07:53:01 PM
I managed a university team that beat a Val Andrews Dublin NCI (if my memory serves me right) and our main player was causing havoc in first half; as soon as the said player touched the ball in second half he was emptied and had to be brought off. Obviously on the word of Andrews.We eventually held on to win the game.

At the usual after dinner meal Val said to me 'Sorry; it had to be done (in relation to our injured forward)'

I felt sick in the stomach. I have always been brought up to play the game fair and to stop the other team playing fairly. The said player was lucky to play the following week in championship. This put me off Andrews from then on.

I'll take you back to the All ireland final a few yrs ago between Cork and Kerry, didn't Tagh take Nick Murphy out of it in the 1st minute of the game, all planned according to his auto biography. Surprosed your so shocked never mind niave, stay away from management with that greeness behind your ears. ;D
Post by: theticklemister on April 13, 2012, 10:32:01 PM
Quote from: shawshank on April 13, 2012, 10:22:48 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on April 13, 2012, 07:53:01 PM

I'll take you back to the All ireland final a few yrs ago between Cork and Kerry, didn't Tagh take Nick Murphy out of it in the 1st minute of the game, all planned according to his auto biography. Surprosed your so shocked never mind niave, stay away from management with that greeness behind your ears. ;D

I wouldnt want to see the wains look up to players/coaches who do such things delibertly. They should be role models.If yer not good enough to beat them on the field of play why do you have to resort to violence.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 13, 2012, 10:52:26 PM
That incident above suprises me because to do that would mean the manager recognised an opposing player was a problem and tried to do something about it (all be it a cynical act). I don't think we have seen anything like that in Cavan in the past 2 years, the opposite actually.
Post by: INDIANA on April 13, 2012, 11:17:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 13, 2012, 10:11:28 PM

He is a decent chap and his name is being dragged through the mud by a bunch of nobody county players that wouldn't be happy with a combo of Kevin Heffernan and Mick O Dwyer in their heyday managing them. Its why Cavan people are supporting their 21's and wont bother going to watch their seniors.

With the two u21 ulster titles and a minor title - cavan have a good chance of going out of the mire in a couple of years. I wouldnt waste the time getting the likes of Johnstone back.

Post by: Syferus on April 13, 2012, 11:37:18 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 13, 2012, 11:17:40 PM

He is a decent chap and his name is being dragged through the mud by a bunch of nobody county players that wouldn't be happy with a combo of Kevin Heffernan and Mick O Dwyer in their heyday managing them. Its why Cavan people are supporting their 21's and wont bother going to watch their seniors.

With the two u21 ulster titles and a minor title - cavan have a good chance of going out of the mire in a couple of years. I wouldnt waste the time getting the likes of Johnstone back.

The overlap is huge, if you're attacking the senior players you're attacking most of the u21s of the past couple years too.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 13, 2012, 11:41:47 PM
Indiana - the only people who want johnson back are some cavan gaels folk. The vast majority are sick of hearing about him. You should also note that quite a lot if this team are young lads, not the old crew. If there was a mutiny it was supported by all the young lads too. I was all for andrews and the policy of a clean-out but i get worried when i hear lads training is going well yet on the field performances are getting worse. I began to feel that andrews hsd lost the confidence of the players. I think he should have been let see out this season but that wasnt to be.
Post by: ck on April 13, 2012, 11:44:31 PM
Still no word here from any Cavan supporters? Anyone know what issues the players had with Andrews?
Post by: ross4life on April 13, 2012, 11:51:53 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 13, 2012, 11:41:47 PM
You should also note that quite a lot if this team are young lads, not the old crew.If there was a mutiny it was supported by all the young lads too. I was all for andrews and the policy of a clean-out but i get worried when i hear lads training is going well yet on the field performances are getting worse. I began to feel that andrews hsd lost the confidence of the players. I think he should have been let see out this season but that wasnt to be.
The Andrews clean out would answer my question on page one. So he took a gamble & it didn't pay off.
Post by: INDIANA on April 14, 2012, 08:08:35 AM
Indiana - the only people who want johnson back are some cavan gaels folk. The vast majority are sick of hearing about him. You should also note that quite a lot if this team are young lads, not the old crew. If there was a mutiny it was supported by all the young lads too. I was all for andrews and the policy of a clean-out but i get worried when i hear lads training is going well yet on the field performances are getting worse. I began to feel that andrews hsd lost the confidence of the players. I think he should have been let see out this season but that wasnt to be.

Cavan players don't seem to accept responsibility for their own performances on the park. If the younger element were also part of the mutiny then they've been well trained in by the older brigade in the ways of being a Cavan footballer. Which is to largely blame everyone except themselves. Granted Andrews may not have been the man for the job but there is no way all these managers are wrong.

The writing is on the wall already then so for those players. A lot has been said about Meath's problems. Meath's problems are easy enough to fix. I'm not sure Cavan's are.
Post by: Denn Forever on April 14, 2012, 10:28:26 AM
INDIANA, from the Cavan Thread.  I suppose we'll find out the truth later but the following has the ring of truth about it. 

Quote from: PhilsJemmysField on April 13, 2012, 09:55:01 AM
From what I am hearing there was very little player power involved in the Andrews "heave". Seems to be more he worked out that the big knobs had no faith in him and the Player Meeting fitted into the engineering around this. The Press Leak / Release and it's timing on the eve of the most important game of the year so far is really telling. So that possibly means our County Board lads have a solution lined up. It will be some craic if we go with a Wolves style approach
Post by: cogito on April 14, 2012, 11:32:29 AM
Lads with all due respect those criticising the current crop of Cavan players and tarnising them with the same brush as previous teams really are not clued in to what is going on up here. And it is unfair.

We have had a huge turnover in the past year. The bulk of our senior panel is literally our last two u21 teams with a sprinkling of older lads that were kept on. 

If there was a 'revolt' in the camp then I would presume it was for good reasons. All those younger players have put pride back in our blue jersey over the past two years, worked hard and never really caused any fuss. They were honest teams. Anytime I seen them play this year they looked flat and lost......There was never any sign of a game plan either. Maybe all these young players have gotten inflated ego's and think they now know it all but I am not convinced by that at all.

From what I believe the County Board took advantage of their young years and small bit of life experience to dump this at their door and let them take the hit for it.

I just hope to god a contingency plan is in place. I am not convinced on that either...
Post by: tommysmith on April 14, 2012, 12:37:02 PM

He is a crap manager though and i heard he dropped a player from the Antrim game for playing to well in previous games.

yes for playing to well  ;D
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 12:51:35 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on April 14, 2012, 12:37:02 PM

He is a crap manager though and i heard he dropped a player from the Antrim game for playing to well in previous games.

I think the quesiton there is who you heard it from. He clearly had plenty of people out to get him.
Post by: tommysmith on April 14, 2012, 12:59:09 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 12:51:35 PM

I think the quesiton there is who you heard it from. He clearly had plenty of people out to get him.

Its reliable where i heard it.
Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 01:16:01 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on April 14, 2012, 12:59:09 PM

As in reliable 'it's someone on/related to someone the panel/management' or from an actual reporter or someone with no vested interest against Val Andrews? Does the later even exist?
Post by: tommysmith on April 14, 2012, 01:24:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 01:16:01 PM

As in reliable 'it's someone on/related to someone the panel/management' or from an actual reporter or someone with no vested interest against Val Andrews? Does the later even exist?

Look its reliable it came from the player who he phoned up the night before the game. 

Its like anything you can choose to  believe it or choose not to.

Post by: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 01:37:15 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on April 14, 2012, 01:24:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 14, 2012, 01:16:01 PM

Look its reliable it came from the player who he phoned up the night before the game. 

Its like anything you can choose to  believe it or choose not to.

It's not about believing he said it, it's about what the ulterior motives of someone saying that are. I'd be very wary of something coming directly from the disgruntled player, it's probably the shakiest source possible for the full story.
Post by: Celt_Man on April 14, 2012, 02:22:04 PM
Jaysus some of things being said here is damn near laughable!!! 

Andrews might well be a decent chap and a top bloke (and I don't doubt that he is) and all that carryon but his job/position was to manage the Cavan Senior Team so his personality doesn't really have anything to do with his performance in that position.

This was the second year of Andrews in charge and could anyone really argue they were making progress??  If anything it could be easier to convince someone that they were going backwards at a rate of knots.  So in that respect, Andrews as Manager wasn't working and so him not being in charge anymore is no great shock..

18 months is a long time and plenty of time to put a proper set-up in place...  One thing that really surprised and annoyed me was that Cavan seem to have no idea how to play against a massed defence against Antrim last weekend - despite the fact that we played Donegal and that system last year almost 12 months ago and we will play them - and that system again - in a few weeks time....  Was playing against that system not worked on in the meantime??

Also Andrews was focussing on getting promoted from Division 3 - I believe they had more training sessions already this season than all of last year - and then to only avoid relegation by an unexpected win from Tipp.  Cavan had a terrible league, just 2 wins & 5 losses with 3 defeats from 4 games at home - shocking stuff really

Andrews wasn't doing a good job and I really feel that the rest of the season would have been a "going through the motions" exercise from Cavan which would be a disaster and suck any bit of good from the Under 21s performance - and hopefully our Minors too. 

A lot of people talking about Player revolt and calling them all sorts (pathetic stuff btw) but seen as how the County Board have said that this isn't the case, not sure how anyone could spectuate and say otherwise

The timing and the confusion surrounding Andrews' resgination is unfortunate and hopefully the right man or men can be put in charge to take a step in the right direction...

Considering how a creditable performance in a defeat against Donegal in a few weeks would be a step forward just shows you how low a point we are at at the minute
Post by: Celt_Man on April 14, 2012, 02:26:04 PM
Indiana - the only people who want johnson back are some cavan gaels folk.

Myles I'm not trying to start a row here or anything but I'm just gonna pull you on this wee bit above...

That statement isn't true - please try to remember that you don't speak for all of Cavan
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 14, 2012, 02:44:03 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on April 14, 2012, 02:26:04 PM
Indiana - the only people who want johnson back are some cavan gaels folk.

Myles I'm not trying to start a row here or anything but I'm just gonna pull you on this wee bit above...

That statement isn't true - please try to remember that you don't speak for all of Cavan

Its a generalisation based on the people I've spoke to from many clubs over the past months, of course there are some that think he should come back. On top of that, the vast majority of GAA folk from other counties have told me that Cavan were right to drop him. I don't have means to do a red sea survey but thats the info I get at ground level.
Post by: heffo on April 14, 2012, 03:22:06 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on April 14, 2012, 02:22:04 PM

This was the second year of Andrews in charge and could anyone really argue they were making progress?? 

Wasn't he joint manager last year though?

If he's working with (as posters above have said) pretty much the U21's from the last two years, what exactly do you want from him? Most counties can gradually integrate younger players into team - if he doesn't have reliable, consistent experienced players to form the spine of the team there is no quick fix.
Post by: tommysmith on April 15, 2012, 11:27:51 AM
Quote from: heffo on April 14, 2012, 03:22:06 PM

This was the second year of Andrews in charge and could anyone really argue they were making progress?? 

If he's working with (as posters above have said) pretty much the U21's from the last two years, what exactly do you want from him? Most counties can gradually integrate younger players into team - if he doesn't have reliable, consistent experienced players to form the spine of the team there is no quick fix.

It was Andrews who got rid of the likes of Dermot Sheridan and John McCutheon who were experienced dedicated players and in my opinion better than what is there at the moment. He wouldnt play one of the best club players in the county in his right positon instead he has stuck him in goals.   He has not helped himself and is not up to the job of managing a inter county team.
Post by: Celt_Man on April 15, 2012, 12:14:03 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on April 15, 2012, 11:27:51 AM
Quote from: heffo on April 14, 2012, 03:22:06 PM

It was Andrews who got rid of the likes of Dermot Sheridan and John McCutheon who were experienced dedicated players and in my opinion better than what is there at the moment. He wouldnt play one of the best club players in the county in his right positon instead he has stuck him in goals.   He has not helped himself and is not up to the job of managing a inter county team.

Aye that's about right
Post by: ck on April 18, 2012, 11:33:47 PM
If Terry Hyland was joint manager with Andrews how is this accepted by the players? Surely if he was joint manager he was to blame as much as Andrews??
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 18, 2012, 11:51:30 PM
He was joint manager last year. This year he was a selector. Last year the team were very poor and the sthmosphere in the camp poor. A decision was taken to cull some of the older lads and bring in youth. This youth is now the majority of the panel and most will have been part of hylands u21 teams of the past few years. These young lads have a huge respect for hyland (as anyone who heard barry reillys acceptance speech at the ulster u21 final will testify). I think a lot of them would have respect for anthony forde too.
Post by: Syferus on April 18, 2012, 11:52:48 PM
Quote from: ck on April 18, 2012, 11:33:47 PM
If Terry Hyland was joint manager with Andrews how is this accepted by the players? Surely if he was joint manager he was to blame as much as Andrews??

Back-to-back Ulster titles wash away a lot of sins.
Post by: tommysmith on April 19, 2012, 05:02:43 PM
Quote from: ck on April 18, 2012, 11:33:47 PM

Why would it not be accepted, sure the players had no problem playing for Andrews why would they have a problem playing for Hyland?