I used to play alot of football, but haven't played in more than two years. From playing and training 3 to 5 times a week, I now never train.
Whilst playing I could eat whatever I wanted and always stayed at a steady weight. I still eat whatever I fancy but unfortunately the weight is creeping up. I am almost two stone heavier now than I was when I was playing.
I want to get back in to shape for various reasons. The main one is vanity I suppose. I don't want to be another fat fool waddling around. I have always been in good shape, so the appearance of a belly is starting to annoy me.
Secondly, I obviously want to be healthy and don't want to jeopardize my health due to bad diet and lack of exercise.
Like many men of my era, I am now very busy with career / family and free time is at a premium. I suppose I basically want to know what has worked for others on here who have found themselves in a similar position. What exercise do you take? Did you drastically modify your diet?
All suggestions welcome. And anti Liverpool abuse is expected and unfortunately deserved. :(
Quote from: King Kenny on April 09, 2012, 04:34:51 PM
I used to play alot of football, but haven't played in more than two years. From playing and training 3 to 5 times a week, I now never train.
Whilst playing I could eat whatever I wanted and always stayed at a steady weight. I still eat whatever I fancy but unfortunately the weight is creeping up. I am almost two stone heavier now than I was when I was playing.
I want to get back in to shape for various reasons. The main one is vanity I suppose. I don't want to be another fat fool waddling around. I have always been in good shape, so the appearance of a belly is starting to annoy me.
Secondly, I obviously want to be healthy and don't want to jeopardize my health due to bad diet and lack of exercise.
Like many men of my era, I am now very busy with career / family and free time is at a premium. I suppose I basically want to know what has worked for others on here who have found themselves in a similar position. What exercise do you take? Did you drastically modify your diet?
All suggestions welcome. And anti Liverpool abuse is expected and unfortunately deserved. :(
Some of us have just started running. I am 3 stone heavier than when I played 20 years ago. Just started last week with the App mentioned on this thread:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=12559.525 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=12559.525)
Cut down or cut out the amount of bread you eat.
I lost 3 stone in six months three years ago, then shed another stone the following year. No big mystery to it. Just stopped eating shite (I've a very sweet tooth!) and resumed exercise, mostly walking, with some running. I also took up indoor rock-climbing and bouldering, which is an excellent workout.
My problems also started when the football ended and my awful diet started to take its toll. It was lucky I did lose it too... a potentially serious health problem showed up after the weight was off that would have been much harder to deal with had I still been heavy.
Quote from: King Kenny on April 09, 2012, 04:45:30 PM
Was reading that thread earlier Muppet. I appreciate that running will have to form some part of any exercise regime I undertake. However, I always found long distance running monotonous when I was training, and think I would find it hard to motivate myself to go on runs.
Are you just running or doing anything else?
Just running with music blaring at the moment. 1 week in haven't lost a gram yet.
But I am pleasantly surprised that it isn't as hard as I thought it would be. I hope to lose some weight, get a little bit fitter and then play indoor/astroturf to keep the weight off.
I think there's something being overlooked here. Yes exercise is key and important to maintaining weight, but if you're still eating like you did at 18 you'll struggle with weight. The western diet is not that good at all, and a few vanity pounds is fine here and there but when you're getting into multiple stone overweight it's down to diet and lifestyle for the most part. I've just put 5 pounds back on in one month after going back to eating extravagantly and drinking more (due to family visitors and a holiday with the wife). My exercise regime only lost about 20% of its previous intensity and frequency during this period.
Diet and water consumption are very important.
Yes, to lose weight, calories consumed has to be less than calories used. Its much, much, easier to shift that ratio by reducing calorie intake.
Are you being sarcastic?!
Puccoon is right, your metabolism slows a lot as you age. Spuds,white rice,beer,white bread,sweets and all soft drinks are your enemy in the weight battle. Lots of water and any exercise that makes you sweat will go a long way in helping you lose a belly. Check out compound exercises and do them lightly to start, joints and muscles are weak on even tough looking lads that are not used to training. Running of any sort, compound exercises and a cleaner diet would see that 3 stone gone in months rather than years. The trick is to not go cold turkey and deny yourself, just cut the bad stuff back to a taste. And log the exercise on an open page so you will see the progress, same thing for the weight loss. Log it on a given day every week. When you see it dropping the rest will fall into place.
I am helping someone with what you are doing at the moment and they have lost 14 pounds since mid January and have another 40 to go. The person got professional diet advice.
It's too bad people let themselves get that size, my sister weighs 275 pounds, 41 years old and can barely walk a mile.
I agree with the lads. Pushing back from the table is the best exercise you can do to lose weight.
As said,
Calories in > calories expended = weight gain
Calories in < calories expended = weight loss
The bad news is that hunger is the feeling of burning tissue calories instead of food calories to get your energy. In other words, if you don't feel hungry, at least a little or for a while, you're not losing weight.
The good news is that when you reach your target weight you never have to feel hungry again. Unless, of course, you resume eating more than you're using and start the whole cycle again.
Quote from: muppet on April 09, 2012, 05:05:39 PM
Quote from: King Kenny on April 09, 2012, 04:45:30 PM
Was reading that thread earlier Muppet. I appreciate that running will have to form some part of any exercise regime I undertake. However, I always found long distance running monotonous when I was training, and think I would find it hard to motivate myself to go on runs.
Are you just running or doing anything else?
Just running with music blaring at the moment. 1 week in haven't lost a gram yet.
But I am pleasantly surprised that it isn't as hard as I thought it would be. I hope to lose some weight, get a little bit fitter and then play indoor/astroturf to keep the weight off.
I'm doing this same as muppet. I also use to find running monotonous but I'm doing now is making sure I run a different route or rather than run around the road around my estate I plan on going onto the Pheonix Park for some of the runs or out to places like Howth or Portmarnock beach just to make it a bit more interesting.
Starting Day 1 Week 2 tonight and it will be 90secs running instead of 60 last week so hope I can keep up!
You and muppet are great fellas. I will make a start this week I think. Just need to gather up the right gear ;)
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 09, 2012, 07:14:15 PM
You and muppet are great fellas. I will make a start this week I think. Just need to gather up the right gear ;)
Gear is very important. You will permanently traumatise the children if you put on your old string vest and micro shorts and go running in front of the neighbours.
Imo weight loss is 80% plus down to what you eat/drink. Personally would vouch for the walking over the jogging. Astro twice a week extremely important especially for those who played team sports when younger.
A tip given to me some years ago is to always have bags and bags of apples lying around the house as snacks for when you are hungry.Avoids the temptation to nibble at biscuits or heaven help order that Chinese take away.
Cutting out the crisps /sweets/ muffins etc at the petrol station/ centra also a must.
KK that sounds like my life. The grazing in the evenings is a killer. A cup of tea and a couple of bars of chocolate wouldnt be unusual. Crisps are a killer too and the missus always has spuds, pasata or rice on the menu as its what the wanes eat. Dont want to get home late from wprk and start making something separate so will have to cut down rather than cut out. One thing I would advise anyone to do is reduce portion sizes at meal times. I horse food into me at a rate of knots and stop when Im bursting. Not good!
Quote from: King Kenny on April 09, 2012, 08:29:08 PM
I know Tony, I blame the missus. Sometimes plates are put in front of me that would need cribs up the sides to hold the grub on. She isn't a big eater, and I have gladly accepted these monstrous feeds without complaining. Time to stop.
What I am going to find hardest of all to cut out are the frys. There is no way I can cut them out completley. If I half my weekly intake to 2 a week would that be ok? :-X :'(
Jaysis ye have great wives.
I still cook the dinner for us when I get home from work even though she is at home all day on maternity leave!
Quote from: Hardy on April 09, 2012, 06:37:11 PM
I agree with the lads. Pushing back from the table is the best exercise you can do to lose weight.
As said,
The bad news is that hunger is the feeling of burning tissue calories instead of food calories to get your energy. In other words, if you don't feel hungry, at least a little or for a while, you're not losing weight.
The good news is that when you reach your target weight you never have to feel hungry again. Unless, of course, you resume eating more than you're using and start the whole cycle again.
Surely:
Steady weight: same calories in + new exercise regime = weight loss??
There's plenty of people who will disagree with the simple calories in - calories out theory. High protein v high carb diets where the premise falls down. I've lost about 3 stone over a couple years through cycling. I found the biggest thing to avoid was alcohol, 1pint is roughly 3/4 of a mars bar, worse than that when you're hungover you've little willpower & crave sugary or savoury rubbish. I try not to eat after 6pm, if i do i keep it to fruit or a bowl of cheerios or the like.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 09, 2012, 07:58:53 PM
KK that sounds like my life. The grazing in the evenings is a killer. A cup of tea and a couple of bars of chocolate wouldnt be unusual. Crisps are a killer too and the missus always has spuds, pasata or rice on the menu as its what the wanes eat. Dont want to get home late from wprk and start making something separate so will have to cut down rather than cut out. One thing I would advise anyone to do is reduce portion sizes at meal times. I horse food into me at a rate of knots and stop when Im bursting. Not good!
You're not me by any chance? I gave up bread and all sweet stuff over Lent but have been on an eat fest since Sunday. Have only lost a couple of pounds even though I go to circuit training twice a week. It's a killer and really disheartening
My weight has been up and down by stones in the last five years, would go on a tear and get a load off but slip back in to the bad habits of raiding the fridge at 10pm, or eating crisps and chocolate etc etc and back on it would go.
About 18 months ago I started again and have lost 3-4 stone in about 12 months and for the first time in my life I have managed to keep it off.
I completely changed my lifestyle - it's an old cliche but there's no point in dieting, cutting out white bread, spuds (I've never understood what's so bad about spuds) or any of that shit, you have to change and I went at it with an attitude that I was going to stick to this for the rest of my life so I have to be realistic.
The first thing you should do is start an account with myfitnesspal.com - it's excellent. I can't recommend it enough!
Log what you're eating for a week and you'll be shocked at the amount of calories you're putting away not just for the shite you're eating but also the portions of normal/healthy food. (Change in portion size was a big factor in my weight loss).
I'll tell you what I done:
I decided for six months (or so) there would be no takeaways, absolutely no sweet stuff, crisps or chocolate and then we'd I've weight off I'd re enter them in to my diet in a controlled manner!! because I know I'm not going to go through life without ever eating those things again.
Mornings & lunch:
Normally would have been cornflakes/rice krispies - swapped those for Chocolate Weetabix, which is surprisingly healthy and filling for something with chocolate in it and the fix of chocolate helped! and maybe a banana or some piece of fruit then I'd take bananas, apples, cereal bars (alpen light bars are quite tasty or Weetabix bars are low calorie and filling) or yogurts or some of that type of stuff with me to work if I got hungry.
I cut down from eating two sandwiches at work with maybe crisps and chocolate during the day to eating one with some of that healthier stuff.
At first I was constantly starving, then a few months I was ok, then about 8 months in was noticing I wasn't eating the fruit in the morning, I wasn't eating the yogurts or anything extra - the Weetabix in the morning and the Sandwich at work with a piece of fruit or one of those weetabix bars (which I've grown to love) was doing me grand! It's the same now.
Dinners:
Huge factor for me was that I ate two portions of whatever meat/chicken type thing was involved with the dinner and I ate f**k all vegetables. So it would be two chicken breasts, two bits of fish etc. I stopped that, it's now 1 of anything and I bulk up the plate on vegetables. Thinking about it I never really cut down on the spuds but I would never have been one of these people that would sit down to six - I'd always eat about two.
At the beginning it killed me!!! Jeeze there was evenings when I'd eat the dinner and still felt like I'd ate nothing but I'd allow for a snack before bedtime and when I'd finish the dinner I'd think "ok 3 hours till snack time".
Snack time would normally consist of a a bag of those snack a jacks and some sort of cereal bar and I could go off to bed happy.
Again, about 8 months in I was finding I wasn't hungry after the dinner and didn't bother with anything before bed. Same now.
Exercise wise, I'd mainly walk (The running bores me) and I bought a set of weights for home which are great.
I did reintroduce takeways and all that - Friday night is generally takeaway night. (It's down to 1 a week from what would have been maybe 3 times a week)
I never went back to eating all the sweet stuff I was because I rarely think about it now! Sometimes I'll feel like a packet of crisips so I'll take them or something but I can't say I've had to control them as I rarely think about it. I was amazed at how much of that overeating was just pure habit and when you get out of the habit you don't think about it.
Before this turns in to my life story! I'll sum it up - be realistic, don't suddenly cut everything out because if you're going hungry you won't feel well and you won't stick to it. Before you change anything to your diet say to yourself "am I going to do this for the rest of my life" and if the answer is no! then don't do it.
Amen!
Time of day doesn't matter. Its what and how much you eat.
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on April 09, 2012, 09:42:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 09, 2012, 07:58:53 PM
You're not me by any chance? I gave up bread and all sweet stuff over Lent but have been on an eat fest since Sunday. Have only lost a couple of pounds even though I go to circuit training twice a week. It's a killer and really disheartening
I was the same and I'd bet my life portion sizes is the problem.
Falling into this trap of eating rubbish in the evenings. My problem is that I had got use to the set days with the trianing and now my wife works 12 hr shifts and each week is different days. I cant get a routine going, plus 2 young kids dont help.
Woman's pov here: it's all about the food. I'm not kidding here, but Slimming World is a great way of cutting down weight initially. The vital things are no rubbish, make your own sauces and replace food with fruit. You can eat pasta, rice, spuds etc but with lean meat, and frys with grilled low fat bacon and sausages and poached eggs are v much allowed.
Though running is also good and def helps with shaping legs, but am sure that doesn't worry you!
I have been battling the bulge for nearly a decade now. I go through of cycles of about every 4-6 months of little exercise, big portions of food (heavy on the meat, spuds, bread and light on the vedge), and regulary scoups of Guinness or the Ale. This is usually followed by about 4-6 months of intense training, healthy portions and food choices, very little or no alcohol. I need to find a balance, this cannot be a healthy trend, my metabolism must be in bits.
I think it's also useful to think about the type of carbohydrates you intake.
Complex carbohydrates (wholewheat pasta, brown rice and porridge) will fill you for longer than spuds / corn flakes etc etc. Substituting these in place of your ordinary pastas/spuds and ordinary breakfast cereals will make a big difference. Slower release energy will fill you for longer so you'll eat less junk.
I am also getting into a rut, was out running twice a week and doing kettle bell workouts until Xmas, when I saw the festive period approaching I just packed up the operation. Haven't done a thing exercise wise since, my wife is pregnant and had been craving curry chips at night so I usually help her eat them.
While agreeing with the sentiments of most on this subject, the timing of this thread is not great. I have a house full of chocolate eggs here and they are not going to eat themselves ;D
Quote from: J70 on April 09, 2012, 09:56:20 PM
I'd be interested to see the evidence for that (not being smart). Seems illogical, especially if you are exercising a lot. I've been cycling the guts of 200miles a week recently, eating at the right time is crucial.
Quote from: bennydorano on April 09, 2012, 10:20:37 PM
I'd be interested to see the evidence for that (not being smart). Seems illogical, especially if you are exercising a lot. I've been cycling the guts of 200miles a week recently, eating at the right time is crucial.
I read that a few months ago, cat remember the science/rationale behind it.
Time of eating is vital, I used to graze 7-7 and nothing after that when I was playing. I didn't do it all the time but tried as best as I could. It made a huge difference. 12 hours on 12hours off, never full never hungry, and never thirsty.
You say bigger belly what trouser waistband are we talking about?
http://www.time.com/time/specials/packages/article/0,28804,1896439_1896359_1896345,00.html
Quote from: Minder on April 09, 2012, 10:28:00 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on April 09, 2012, 10:20:37 PM
I read that a few months ago, cat remember the science/rationale behind it.
Exercise will change your metabolism for a period of a couple of hours afterwards. That's not a time thing - the exercise is the factor there.
Quote from: King Kenny on April 09, 2012, 10:38:00 PM
36"
34" is probably the waist your looking for. Isn't white meats Pork,Chicken,Turkey more fattening than red meats?
Good post pints.
There is an awful lot of misconception out there about food. When I was on a health kick last uear I would eat porridge for breakfast or else a bacon sandwich at work. The women were horrified but 2 slices of wholegrain toast, no butter, lean bacon and a grilled tomato instead of sauce was a really filling breakfast and pretty healthy compared to the "healthy" lunches they were eating with coleslaw and shite in it!
Quote2 slices of wholegrain toast, no butter, lean bacon and a grilled tomato
An oul tomato or two thickly sliced and grilled on brown bread is tasty and easy, even if there is a bit of cheese or bacon there too.
Pints gave good advice.
Just cut out the crap as much as you can. If you don't like running, walk. Or skip. I'm no specimen and have what you'd call a bit of a belly when relaxed but average enough. I play 5-a-side twice a week (for 60 mins and 90 mins) and that keeps it at a level without putting on or taking off. I know if I changed my diet I could get down from a tight 34 to a trim 34. But it'd be so effin boring.
I probably don't eat enough at the right times. I'd throw a banana into me at 8. Then maybe a sandwich, 2 apples and a couple of biscuits at 1. From 4 on I'd graze rightly on Tuc biscuits or crisps as well as a Belfast-sized dinner. If she didn't buy the effin grazing things I wouldn't eat them. I love carrots and celery but never buy them. That's it. I'm getting my own larder.
Quote from: ONeill on April 09, 2012, 11:36:38 PM
Pints gave good advice.
Just cut out the crap as much as you can. If you don't like running, walk. Or skip. I'm no specimen and have what you'd call a bit of a belly when relaxed but average enough. I play 5-a-side twice a week (for 60 mins and 90 mins) and that keeps it at a level without putting on or taking off. I know if I changed my diet I could get down from a tight 34 to a trim 34. But it'd be so effin boring.
I probably don't eat enough at the right times. I'd throw a banana into me at 8. Then maybe a sandwich, 2 apples and a couple of biscuits at 1. From 4 on I'd graze rightly on Tuc biscuits or crisps as well as a Belfast-sized dinner. If she didn't buy the effin grazing things I wouldn't eat them. I love carrots and celery but never buy them. That's it. I'm getting my own larder.
When I come home from work and there is nobody in I would eat 3 or 4 bags of crisps out of a multi bag in the blink of an eye, scrunch up the second and third bag and put it inside the first "the crisps ? Shure I only ate one bag, look in the bin." If the crisps weren't there I wouldn't look for them.
Greedy bastardness I think it is called.
Aye those multi-packs are a hoor. I'd never dream of buying them myself.
Another thing is - sitting on yer arse. It's an awful waste I think when you've sat on the same spot from 8-12.
An awful lot of boys blaming the missus on here tonight! Dinners are too big, they keep buying crisps etc. They're not shovelling it down your throats!
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 09, 2012, 11:52:32 PM
They're not shovelling it down your throats!
I have my suspicions.
Quote from: muppet on April 09, 2012, 08:44:51 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 09, 2012, 06:37:11 PM
As said,
Surely:
Steady weight: same calories in + new exercise regime = weight loss??
Yes. This doesn't conflict with what I said. You take in calories by eating/drinking. You use calories through activity. (Activity includes breathing, your metabolism, etc. as well as more vigorous exercise).
If your calorie intake exceeds your calorie expenditure, you gain weight and vice versa. So more exercise with the same calorie intake will certainly cause weight loss. However, less food with the same amount of exercise will cause weight loss much more easily (unless you prefer to run for an hour rather than miss out on one burger - one burger equals about one hour of running in calorie terms). Of course, both reduced intake and increased exercise are to be recommended. It just takes a lot of exercise to lose a little weight. But of course the benefits of fitness are manifold.
But the calorie intake/expenditure equation is all that matters in regulating body weight. For all intents and purposes, it doesn't matter when you eat or what you eat. What matters is the number of calories. You could get your say 2,000 calories per day by eating nothing but raw lard once a day and as long as you expended an equal amount of calories your weight would stay stable. Of course, you would soon have nutritional problems, vitamin deficiencies, etc., but that's a different subject.
So the answer to King Kenny's question about what to eat and when is that it doesn't matter in pure weight management terms. You just need to know how many calories you're taking in – measure them. A burger is about 700 calories, a slice of white bread 70, a pint of beer about 250, etc. Get a calorie chart and measure your intake.
One pound of body weight equals about 3,500 calories, So if you take in 3,500 calories less in the next week than you consume, you'll lose a pound. So a simple way of managing weight loss is to measure your daily intake at present and then plan an intake that cuts this down by say 500 calories per day. That's two Kit-Kats. If you don't change your activity regime, you can expect to lose a pound a week as long as you maintain this. (This assumes you're not actually gaining weight at present, in which case your reduced intake may only serve to slow your weight gain.) If you do increased exercise, you'll lose more. An hour of running every day will lose you another pound and a half or so a week.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 09, 2012, 11:52:32 PM
An awful lot of boys blaming the missus on here tonight! Dinners are too big, they keep buying crisps etc. They're not shovelling it down your throats!
Unless I'm greatly mistaken you were the only one to blame you missus. If she finds out you'll have no need to go on a diet.
What does everyone include in their lunch boxes?
For morning break I have cereal bars, a yogurt and an apple usually.
For lunch, usually a chicken roll and fruit. Maybe a bag of crisps or a bar some days.
To poach an egg.
Get the water in the suacepan to a rolling boil. With a spoon stir the water vigorously so it forms a vortex. Crack the egg into this vortex.
You will have to experiment as to how long you leave it for your own preference.
Quote from: Denn Forever on April 10, 2012, 01:49:04 PM
To poach an egg.
Get the water in the suacepan to a rolling boil. With a spoon stir the water vigorously so it forms a vortex. Crack the egg into this vortex.
You will have to experiment as to how long you leave it for your own preference.
To keep the egg together, throw a couple of tablespoons of vinegar into the water prior to it boiling, much better job altogether.
Quote from: stew on April 10, 2012, 02:58:15 PM
To poach an egg.
To keep the egg together, throw a couple of tablespoons of vinegar into the water prior to it boiling, much better job altogether.
Was going to say that, vinegar is vital.
Bought this yoke( pun intended) in Heatons recently. About E2 and you simply break the eggs into the holders and bang them in the microwave for 2 minutes and you get imo perfect poached eggs without all the foostering about.
Never quiet mastered the boiling pan approach.
running bores the life out of me. iv started doing circuit training at the gym, its brilliant and you don't be long getting in shape
To poach an egg.
Take the saucepan off the heat, drop your eggs in and stick the lid on it. Just over 6 mins does it for me
No need to stir the water either
Put cling film deep into a cup, then break the egg into the cling film and close over. Wing it in the boiling water and leave for a few mins, the egg will stay together and cook nicely.
QuoteTake the saucepan off the heat, drop your eggs in and stick the lid on it. Just over 6 mins does it for met
No need to stir the water either
That is the way to soft boil eggs.
I'd give it 7 minutes if you want to avoid the horrible unsolidified white fragments.
So in conclusion:
No potatoes,
No rice,
No bread,
No sandwiches,
No chocolate,
No muffins,
No alcohol,
No butter,
No chicken,
No fries!
F*ck the running I'll pay for the liposuction.
Quote from: muppet on April 10, 2012, 06:40:19 PM
So in conclusion:
No potatoes,
No rice,
No bread,
No sandwiches,
No chocolate,
No muffins,
No alcohol,
No butter,
No chicken,
No fries!
Doesnt make for great reading. I'll cut back but not cut much out entirely or Id never stick it.
Week 1 Day 1 of the couch to 5k completed. Ate no crap today - porridge, fruit and nuts for brealfast and sandwich for lunch
Quote from: muppet on April 10, 2012, 06:40:19 PM
So in conclusion:
No potatoes,
No rice,
No bread,
No sandwiches,
No chocolate,
No muffins,
No alcohol,
No butter,
No chicken,
No fries!
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2012, 08:38:27 PM
Week 1 Day 1 of the couch to 5k completed. Ate no crap today - porridge, fruit and nuts for brealfast and sandwich for lunch
Fair play,how'd you find it?
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on April 10, 2012, 06:27:37 PM
Quote from: Canalman on April 10, 2012, 04:07:51 PM
Bought this yoke( pun intended) in Heatons recently. About E2 and you simply break the eggs into the holders and bang them in the microwave for 2 minutes and you get imo perfect poached eggs without all the foostering about.
Never quiet mastered the boiling pan approach.
I got one of those microwave things but the lid kept bursting open scattering the egg all over the place
If you pierce the yolk it should stop the egg from exploding all over the microwave. Have one of those wee things and it's the job.
As for the losing weight thing I agree with Rois with regards to Slimming World, initially I was doing this (by myself, not going to the classes) but I'm not sticking to it rigidly any more.
One thing I have found is doing a water routine once or twice a week as well as your usual 'land' routine really kicks it off. If you can find a good aqua aerobics class it is really worth a shot...I know what you are thinking, for aul biddies and injured people. That's what I thought. I wrecked my ankle at the start of January and decided to go along as I couldn't do my step routines and thought it would be grand. How wrong was I! Excellent workout, great for intense cardio and toning as well. Even though this and swimming was the only thing I was doing for the first few months of the year I still lost weight, so I would highly recommend it! Also I LOVE step. I know classes seem like a girlie thing but they work!! :)
Quote from: laoislad on April 10, 2012, 09:37:06 PM
On paper it looks like a piece of piss but I found it tight enough going. I took the wanes out the back road after work so they were on bikes and I was pushing a pram. Was in jeans and a jumper so no intention of doing it but thought I would give it a lash anyway. As I had no earphones and the phone in my pocket I missed some commands so was running longer sometimes. I'll not judge my performance too harshly tonight!
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2012, 10:03:24 PM
On paper it looks like a piece of piss but I found it tight enough going. I took the wanes out the back road after work so they were on bikes and I was pushing a pram. Was in jeans and a jumper so no intention of doing it but thought I would give it a lash anyway. As I had no earphones and the phone in my pocket I missed some commands so was running longer sometimes. I'll not judge my performance too harshly tonight!
I know Muppet said the gear was important Tony - but fair play to you for going out and getting a pram too.
I needed something to transport the oxygen tank.
Some cracking posts.
The diets only work on some people, you need to find the right diet for your body.
I used slimming world at the start for 6 weeks, that got off that stone I was looking rid off and Ive been at the gym 4 days a week, Paying 37 quid a month makes me want to go to get my monies worth ;)
I have the same routine during the week, 5 k followed by core work then the weights. then a swim 10 lengths, usually. On a Saturday/Sunday I change the routine and try one of the classes or do work on different machines, rowing, bike, or kettle bells.
This may seem a lot but it roughly takes about a hour thirty all in. I go straight after work one day as the kids are at some club until that time, and I go late one night when the kids are off to bed, the gym is opened till 10. And Friday I finish at 12.30 so gym then pick kids up at 3.00pm!! Works in well. I then go either on a Saturday or Sunday
I can now eat what i like, though my diet is totally different to what it was before, instead of a fry I have an omelet, I have cut out the sauces and make my own curry's (not the bottled jars) plenty of pasta, and meat and veg. Still have the sweet tooth and would have a bar a choclate a day, would never have been a crisps man so no miss there.
Down side was I had to buy new clothes :o
Obviously excercise and diet is the way forward to lose weight. I think a bit of excercise in the morning is a great way to start the day and rev up your metabolism. Always found a bigger difference to weight loss when you add in a few morning sessions.
Also green teas and other anti oxidants are good for reving up your metabolism aswell.
For anyone looking to get that extra bit of help try out Oxy Elite Pro tablets. I have tried loads of supplements in the past for various reasons ranging from, recovery drinks, to mass gainers etc. But these things are great for what they are meant to do!
I've changed the diet a fair bit since Christmas and have noticed a difference in the gut. I've always done at fair bit of running and have stayed around the same level for years. I did the marathon last October and even though I had plenty of training done I knew my diet wasn't right, you know somethings up if you're running guts of 60 miles a week a still a bit soft around the middle! ha
So since Christmas,Guinness,bread, spuds and pasta have bit the dust. So have any sauces..uncle Ben's ect, anything processed basically.
Upped my intake of protein, chicken breast fried in coconut oil with cashew nuts for breakfast for example. Replaced the carbs with extra green veg..,.organic broccoli, green beans and spinach.
Try to have lean steak 3 mornings a week the mornings I'm doing gym work and firing the organic mixed nuts into me all day.
Got a decent fish oil is well that i take a spoon of with any meat meals. The butchers down the road do turkey sausages and turkey burgers which are lovely and full of protein.
Have noticed I'm sleeping way better, feeling much stronger throughout the day too. Running is going well and building nicely for a couple of races coming. Still well able to have the jar on the weekend and 1 good decent sh1t meal a week too ;D.
Working out same price as previous shop per week roughly, the processed sauces and boxes of cereals are a rip off anyways.
Just ate another Easter egg there for lunch. That's 6 now since Sunday. Anyone bate that?
Poached?
Now that I'm that bit older, I'm finding it increasingly difficult to shift the weight. Used to be, when I got on the chubby side a bit, I could lose the weight without too much bother. Now-a-days it's a living hell, as I'm not as active to do exercise as most people.
Quote from: muppet on April 11, 2012, 03:15:01 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on April 11, 2012, 02:44:38 PM
Poached?
Nah it was a present.
I've poached a few since Sunday meself, sooner I get back to work the better, eating crap all day long.
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on April 11, 2012, 10:08:06 PM
I'm heading off on a bender with the wife and some friends at the weekend,
Dirty bastards.
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on April 11, 2012, 10:08:06 PM
I'm heading off on a bender with the wife and some friends at the weekend, but I intend to get back on the diet on Monday. Anyone interested in doing a sort of joined up diet, a bit like a weight watchers class where we list on this thread what we've had to eat each day, what exercise we've done, and give each other tips on good menus ways of keeping the hunger pangs at bay etc. We can also give regular updates on our progress as regards weight loss
I think it is good to see what others are doing and provides some additional motivation. Had a chocolate biscuit tonight! Will get up early and on the skipping rope before work and hit the poached egg on toast.
Quote from: King Kenny on April 11, 2012, 10:26:49 PM
Just read my last post again and you'ld nearly think I'm trying to beat crack cocaine.
With Gods help I'll beat this terrible affliction. :-X
FFS don't tell me we have to give that up as well!
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 11, 2012, 10:25:02 PM
Will get up early and on the skipping rope before work and hit the poached egg on toast.
Skipping rope = dope
Egg on toast = coast
You going on KK's bender too?
Quote from: ONeill on April 11, 2012, 10:29:54 PM
Will get up early and on the skipping rope before work and hit the poached egg on toast.
Skipping rope = dope
Egg on toast = coast
Dougal is having the bender at the weekend sir!
I could eat a big bag of crisps while I was making the dinner. They're a killer for me, so I just don't buy them. If they aren't in the house you can't eat them so that's step one.
There's a serious over abundance on Carbs in the Irish diet. The folks visited there a few weeks back and the auld fella would have been boiling at spuds or rice every evening. I'd maybe eat pasta or rice once/twice a week, mashed spuds once in a blue moon. A nice piece of grilled fish/chicken/pork most evenings with a big salad with spinach, pine nuts, blue cheese and baby tomatoes. Or steamed veggies to fill up the plate. Maybe treat a pizza once a week. I try and limit the carbs to either breakfast or lunch, rarely both. Granola and yogurt is a great filling breakfast. Or a peanut butte and jam sandwich on whole wheat bread. Lots of protein in the peanut butter.
A good boredom eating snack is sugar free ice Lollies. I'd eat one or two most evenings after dinner.
Right I need a bit of advise on this whole "Don't eat bread" thing.
If I stay away from White is that OK? Would 3-4 slices a day of brown or granery be ok? Or is it a case that all bread is bad for you, and that brown is only less worse?
Ditto pasta and rice.
The basic rule there trueblue is that the more refined (white) the food the worse it is: therefore white bread (basically like eating sugar) is worse than brown/wholemeal, white rice worse than brown, etc.
Just beware marketing/selling scams where they don't just dye the bread brown or such, and stick a 'wholegrain' label on it.
You want a bread that contains 100% whole wheat. That should be the first ingredient of a "good" bread, that or whole wheat flour.
Brown bread is often just coloured with molasses, or such.
3-4 slices every day, with further pasta/rice/spuds coming after that is getting up there.
Brown rice and whole wheat pasta are your friend if you don't want to substitute them. Brown rice can take a little getting used to - but its pretty decent once you do.
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 13, 2012, 03:19:28 PM
Right I need a bit of advise on this whole "Don't eat bread" thing.
If I stay away from White is that OK? Would 3-4 slices a day of brown or granery be ok? Or is it a case that all bread is bad for you, and that brown is only less worse?
Ditto pasta and rice.
Rule of thumb is a slice of bread is c5% of you CRDI. Very easy to add the slices up during the day........... hence imo the "don't eat bread" mantra.
Quote from: ONeill on April 11, 2012, 10:29:54 PM
Skipping rope = dope
Egg on toast = coast
Bulimia = Utopia
Quote from: Puckoon on April 13, 2012, 03:52:15 PM
Brown rice and whole wheat pasta are your friend if you don't want to substitute them. Brown rice can take a little getting used to - but its pretty decent once you do.
quinoa, millet and couscous have now made the rotation almost entirely replacing rice and spuds in our house
Add a bit of organic chicken stock to the water when making the stuff to give it a bit more flavo(u)r
I'm doing plenty of exercise but diet would still be lacking in quality at times, too fond of the nice stuff but will hopefully start to work on that.
But the weekend Indian isn't for negotiation, it stays ;D
Is there any point replacing bread at lunch time with pasta or noodles or are they generally the same for putting on the pounds?
Does anyone know what way slimming world works? A mate was on it and said that they basically done without bread but were free to eat as much spuds and meat as they wanted. They swear by this too and have lost a considerble amount of weight from it.
Quote from: Mickey Linden on April 13, 2012, 04:55:26 PM
Is there any point replacing bread at lunch time with pasta or noodles or are they generally the same for putting on the pounds?
Does anyone know what way slimming world works? A mate was on it and said that they basically done without bread but were free to eat as much spuds and meat as they wanted. They swear by this too and have lost a considerble amount of weight from it.
There's a new extra easy thing now but I was doing the old version, basically red days and green days, so red days eat as much meat and fish as you want (free foods on red days), green days eat as much pasta, rice, potatoes as you want (free foods on green days). Most vegetables and fruit are free on both days (eat as much as you want) off the top of my head though I think it's maybe peas and sweetcorn are only free on green days (so if you eat them with your dinner on a red day they count towards your daily 'syn' total). You are allowed 10-15 syns a day, and you can use them with your meals or as treats, and it is advisable to use them, if you have zero syns per day it doesn't seem to affect the amount of weight you lose. You also have healthy extras so you can take 2 small slices of wholemeal bread and 125ml semi skimmed milk as a healthy extra and not count it as syns. If you want I can send you a pm when I get home with more details about it?
Quote from: King Kenny on April 11, 2012, 10:16:57 PM
For my part, second day nearly over and no shite has passed these lips.
That reminded me of this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjnrLt3VuSM
Well done.
Quote from: Bingo on April 13, 2012, 04:18:35 PM
But the weekend Indian isn't for negotiation, it stays ;D
What time is she round ?
Quote from: King Kenny on April 13, 2012, 01:55:07 PM
Porridge mixed with strawberries this morning, I'm actually beginning to enjoy the aul porridge. If I hadn't anything mixed in it would be a struggle to get it down, but the fruit gives it a bit of taste. It also keeps me going reasonably well, as I don't think about eating until around 1ish.
I am finding that I can get by eatig a lot less than what I had been. The hardest time is still night time. I habitually walk into the kitchen and open cupboards, only to force myself to walk away from the crisps. I think I'll treat myself to a filled soda tomorrow morning all the same.
How are the rest of you chubbies getting on?
Porridge mixed with f*cking strawberries!
WTF is wrong with you people?
I am having beer mixed with beer. Yesterday I had an Indian mixed with chips, potatoes with extra garlic nan BREAD!
I am on day 3 week 2 tomorrow, up two kilos since I started running and I feel f*cking great.
Had a wobble today and it wasn't just my belly. Friday is fryday at work but had a reasonably healthy fry and healthy lunch and got some exercise done before work. The drive home wasnt spbgood as the missus asked for Dominos and chips and onion rings on the way home! Had half an Easter egg too. :-[
I do miss proper chips, and onion rings. I'd love a big auld chip gravy and stuffing, with maybe a few battered sausages and an onion ring or two.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 13, 2012, 11:54:30 PM
Had a wobble today and it wasn't just my belly. Friday is fryday at work but had a reasonably healthy fry and healthy lunch and got some exercise done before work. The drive home wasnt spbgood as the missus asked for Dominos and chips and onion rings on the way home! Had half an Easter egg too. :-[
I have to love this - what do you mean fry day at work? What's that all about? We have an ice cream van comes around every 2 weeks that the company pays for but I'd be much happier with a fry!
Quote from: Puckoon on April 14, 2012, 12:00:04 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 13, 2012, 11:54:30 PM
I have to love this - what do you mean fry day at work? What's that all about? We have an ice cream van comes around every 2 weeks that the company pays for but I'd be much happier with a fry!
Friday is the day everyone hits the canteen for a dirty fry at 10am. Five pieces (2of which is meat) for £2.50.
Sounds mighty.
2 reluctant sausages, 2 timid bacon and a soda.
Quote from: hardstation on April 14, 2012, 12:10:37 AM
Name the 5 pieces in your 'reasonably healthy fry', Tony.
2 bacon rind removed, grilled tomato, toasted soda and beans and a mug a tae. It's usually bacon, 2 sausages, 2 soda, beans and a hash brown, and maybe a tomato if Im on a health kick.
Quote from: hardstation on April 14, 2012, 12:26:26 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 14, 2012, 12:23:59 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 14, 2012, 12:10:37 AM
Name the 5 pieces in your 'reasonably healthy fry', Tony.
2 bacon rind removed, grilled tomato, toasted soda and beans and a mug a tae. It's usually bacon, 2 sausages, 2 soda, beans and a hash brown, and maybe a tomato if Im on a health kick.
You usually have a 7 piece or an 8 piece if you're on a health kick. Dead in a week.
God shouldnt have made the bad stuff taste so good! There is a boy in work eats that every day and has unsurprisingly put on 3 stones in the 3 years working there.
Honesty session:
Wk 2 day 3 later today.
Cut out a lot of crap in the last two weeks. But I am not going down the road of cutting out everything listed here or else I would give up quickly.
Made a rookie error weighing myself yesterday, i.e. used a different scale and thought I had gained weight. I've actually lost a few kilos but honestly don't see it. I am under 13 stone for the first time in 6/7 years so that alone is worth the exercise (bad pun apology).
I will be having a few pints and dinner out over the next two days so it will be interesting to see what that does to the weight.
The scales are a bastid, with the cycling i've got lean everywhere except round the gut, i've plateaued a bit with the weightloss, as i've got more 'muscly' the scales are roughly stayin the same but my performance etc.. has improved.
Remember, Muscle weighs more than Fat (volume before someone says 1kg Muscle = 1kg Fat).
Aye i know, it's still disheartening sometimes to stand on the scales thou, even being aware of that fact.
Quote from: bennydorano on April 14, 2012, 05:11:28 PM
Aye i know, it's still disheartening sometimes to stand on the scales thou, even being aware of that fact.
Throw the scales out, how you look and fit in your clothes is a great indicator of whether you are getting fitter, leaner.
The gut will only go if you work on it. Cycling won't do it. Beer the killer of a six pack
If you read back you'll see I agree completely regarding alcohol.
What gut exercises would you suggest? (was recently reading that doing sit ups will do f**k all only give you herniated discs).
Press ups and pull ups, simple things that you can do in the house. The plank also very good.
I use a sit up bench thing at the gym which you put weights on at the front and back. It does tone the stomach.
They also have those vibrating plates at the gym, I do the plank on them for a minute and then press ups, a set of 3. I don't do them all the time but Christ its difficult but works also.
The scales are what cause a lot of people to give up. The body will lose weight when it's ready, if it's ready. It's how you look and feel that is the biggest indicator of health.
What youse think of this?
http://www.menshealth.com/fitness/six-pack-science/page/2?cm_mmc=Twitter-_-MensHealth-_-Content-Fitness-_-6packscience (http://www.menshealth.com/fitness/six-pack-science/page/2?cm_mmc=Twitter-_-MensHealth-_-Content-Fitness-_-6packscience)
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 14, 2012, 06:53:20 PM
What youse think of this?
http://www.menshealth.com/fitness/six-pack-science/page/2?cm_mmc=Twitter-_-MensHealth-_-Content-Fitness-_-6packscience (http://www.menshealth.com/fitness/six-pack-science/page/2?cm_mmc=Twitter-_-MensHealth-_-Content-Fitness-_-6packscience)
A six pack is Myth!! No seriously to get a six pack ya have to give up on booze, sauces and all that good stuff. Ya can have a flat tummy by doing core work in the house and eating properly
Quote from: Puckoon on April 14, 2012, 05:47:13 PM
The scales are what cause a lot of people to give up. The body will lose weight when it's ready, if it's ready. It's how you look and feel that is the biggest indicator of health.
Yes. Leave aside the fact that small differences in body weight are swamped by differences in the amount of fluid you're carrying, whether you've been to the toilet, etc. (So it's best to weigh yourself in the same conditions at the same time of day.)
But the best bathroom scales is probably capable of weighing to a tolerance of +/- 0.5% at best at an average adult male weight. The average scales is probably +/-1% at best.
So let's say you're using scales accurate to +/-1% and you weigh yourself today at 14st 4 lbs (200 lbs). Your real weight could be anything from 14-2 (198 lbs) to 14-6 (202 lbs). Lets say it's actually 14-6. You think it's 14-4.
You adhere strictly for a week to a diet designed to lose a pound. In reality, you lose the pound and your real weight at the end of the week is 14-5 (201 lbs). However, when you step on the scales, it will show anything from 14-3 (199 lbs) to 14-7 (203 lbs). Let's say it reads at the top of this range and tells you you're 14-7. Remember you think you were 14-4 last week.
You have actually lost a pound, but the scales is telling you you've gained three pounds. This is when many people say, "Ah f**k it", and give up the diet.
The point is (a) to get the most accurate scales you can afford, (b) not to pay attention to individual weight readings but instead compute a running average (add together your last seven days' weight readings and divide by 7) as this smooths out fluctuations and (c) to compare your weight computed like this over a long term – today compared to this day last month, say - rather than a short one.
Just fed two adults and a kid from one chicken breast. That's not natural, our food and where it comes from isn't right these days. The big corporations are ruining everything.
Quote from: Puckoon on April 15, 2012, 03:15:44 AM
Just fed two adults and a kid from one chicken breast. That's not natural, our food and where it comes from isn't right these days. The big corporations are ruining everything.
tight hoor
http://alwyncosgrove.com/2010/01/hierarchy-of-fat-loss/
my gift from me to you all ;D
follow this guy on fb, a likeable, knowledgeable sort imo; seems to back up what that mens health link says to an extent..
i now am starting on the same journey as a few of yous from tomorrow, just waitin on me double cheeseborger and garlic fries as a last treat :)
I'm going to the gym at 6.30am tomorrow, just to see if it's any better. Anybody done the early shift at the gym? any benefits?
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 15, 2012, 09:15:24 PM
I'm going to the gym at 6.30am tomorrow, just to see if it's any better. Anybody done the early shift at the gym? any benefits?
Been there, makes no difference! But can be worse if you are upsetting your sleeping to get up to go to the gym! Sleep is one if the most important components of getting fit / losing weight and early morning sessions are risky unless they are part of a well planned timetable of exercise. I lost 2 stone in 10 weeks by cutting out all crap food, having a high protein breakfast and training 3 nights during the week and on a Saturday morning at 8.30am doing a mixture of body pump, kettlebells, spinning and running!
Quote from: bennydorano on April 14, 2012, 05:33:05 PM
If you read back you'll see I agree completely regarding alcohol.
What gut exercises would you suggest? (was recently reading that doing sit ups will do f**k all only give you herniated discs).
Benny, deadlifts and squats are lethal for the six pack. They really tighten your core. And as others have said, press ups, plank, etc. very good too. You may be getting to your natural weight and you just need to trim the fat so to speak, so ye might not see much differnece on the scales.
Adominal vacuums are a decent thing to do, to pull in and tighten the gut, and ye can do them whenver ye want. Its basically the thing ye do when a fit bird walks past :D. Just hold in for 30 sec bursts while maintaining regular breathing. Easy thing to add to your regime.
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 15, 2012, 10:52:11 PM
Been there, makes no difference! But can be worse if you are upsetting your sleeping to get up to go to the gym! Sleep is one if the most important components of getting fit / losing weight and early morning sessions are risky unless they are part of a well planned timetable of exercise. I lost 2 stone in 10 weeks by cutting out all crap food, having a high protein breakfast and training 3 nights during the week and on a Saturday morning at 8.30am doing a mixture of body pump, kettlebells, spinning and running!
Its is recommended that you get at least 8 hours of sleep a night, early morning gym sessions do help to fire up your metabolism helping you to burn more calories throughout the day but shouldnt be done at the expense of a good nights sleep and important rest.
Quote from: Sharpshooter12 on April 16, 2012, 11:44:48 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 15, 2012, 10:52:11 PM
Its is recommended that you get at least 8 hours of sleep a night, early morning gym sessions do help to fire up your metabolism helping you to burn more calories throughout the day but shouldnt be done at the expense of a good nights sleep and important rest.
Aye, did the session this morning. Maybe it was the first day back to work that had me restless during the night but I certainly enjoyed the morning session. Was more busy than I expected and I did same routine only quicker sets. Main reason for the early start was the start of the season and I didn't want to lose out on my regular night session at the gym. I can still attend and play games during the week and not miss out
just throwing in my suggestions,havent read through the whole thread so apologies if i repeat what has already been said. firstly to lose weight you obv need to burn or expend more calories than you consume. this can be done in 2 ways; 1 is to increase your calorie expenditure and the second is to reduce your calories intake. The first way can be done through a mixture or cardio and weights. high intensity cardio training is generally better than low steady paced training. so try to incorporate sprints into your training or regular bursts on the treadmill,rowing machine, etc. example may be to jog for 30 secs then run has hard as you can for 20-30 sec then repeat, all depends on your fitness levels. hill sprints/cycling also works the body harder so try an do some of them if possible. weight training is also important and should be done along side a cardio program. big compound moves such as squats,deadlifts,bench presses etc are the best moves to do plus bodyweight exercises such as pull ups, press ups and core work (planks,swiss ball exercises) again your ability ere depends on your fitness but often guys carrying weight tend to be able to lift quite big due to the fact there body has being carrying around their heavy frame, flexibility work should be done to help avoid any injuries. with regards a six pack, everyone has one unfortunately it is hiden below a layer of fat, crunches or sit ups wont get you 1, the heavy lifts like squats and the core work will help to strenthen and develop your abs but you need to lose body fat to allow your abs to be seen,(it is suggested body fat of 10% or less is needed to reveal a six pack) so cardio work is very important. with regards calories yes you need to reduce your intake but also consume the right type of foods, avoid sugars in things like fizzy drinks,sweets some yoghurt, avoid saturated fats in things like sauces,ready made sandwiches,ready made pasta salads (a lot of these contain dressings heavy in fat) however do consume good fats in things like brazil nuts and peanut butter. And importantly keep hydrated. it is important to find a balance often people give their diet an extreme make over, cut out all sweets, breads, beer etc lose weight but then find that there diet isnt sustainable in the long run and put the weight back on. allow yourself a treat night or lunch once a week just to keep the cravings away. Thats my take on things anyway, hope it is of use.
Quote from: Sharpshooter12 on April 16, 2012, 12:07:31 PM
... allow yourself a treat night or lunch once a week just to keep the cravings away. Thats my take on things anyway, hope it is of use.
Good advice I'd say in that 'pigging out' once a week (to be followed soon thereafter by a day (or days) of the complete reverse -- heavily restricted calories intake) will prevent the body from even thinking about entering a 'starvation mode' phase where muscle will be burned for energy instead of fat; thereby gettng rid of the very thing that will burn the calories (another reason why conventional dieting is next to useless in that the weight loss is muscle loss, not fat loss).
Right another question about something I see popping up again, sauses.
Is the likes of Ragu/ uncle bens (Other sauses are readily available) etc really that bad? In fairness I could russell up a tomato sause handy enough but to be honest I didn't think it would make THAT big a difference from the jars especially considering you might be getting four or five dinners from the one jar.
And I have to say I love a white wine sause on my pasta but wouldn't know where to start to make it from scratch.
And what about a wee squirt of red sause on my poached egg, surely that can't make that big a difference? I have to say I would struggle to eat it without it!!
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 16, 2012, 01:51:32 PM
Is the likes of Ragu/ uncle bens (Other sauses are readily available) etc really that bad? In fairness I could russell up a tomato sause handy enough but to be honest I didn't think it would make THAT big a difference from the jars especially considering you might be getting four or five dinners from the one jar.
And I have to say I love a white wine sause on my pasta but wouldn't know where to start to make it from scratch.
And what about a wee squirt of red sause on my poached egg, surely that can't make that big a difference? I have to say I would struggle to eat it without it!!
I think with sauces the issue isnt that you cant have them or should avoid them but rather that like alcohol people dont often realise (and i include myself here) that sauces can contain a higher than expected amount of calories,salt, saturated fat and in some cases sugar. best thing to do is read label and pay particular attention to the amount of calories and saturated fat it contains and obv dont go over board when using them. TBH if you read too much into things you find that almost every food you take has things you should avoid, example is fruit on one hand you need it as part of your five a day yet they contain high amounts of sugar which isnt ideal when trying to lose weight, likewise breakfast cereals are a good soucre of fibre but also can contain lots of sugar, sports drinks are similar. my take on things is if you like a sauce with a pasta or your eggs then go for it, just be careful on the amount you use, at the end of the day there no point following a strict weight loss diet if you arent going to enjoy your food and/or be able to follow such a diet over the long term. Also be carefull of low fat sauces and food in general, while they often contain less calories they have more salt and sugar to add the taste.
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 16, 2012, 01:51:32 PM
I've been using Passata, Passata is made from ripe tomatoes that have been puréed and sieved to remove the skin and seeds. It is sold in jars and can be smooth or chunky depending on the sieving. It's great for pasta dishes, and you can spice it up with adding chillies, should you like.
That Passatta is great stuff, mix in a bit of chopped Basil or Parsley for a lovely tasty low calorie sauce.
Quote from: King Kenny on April 17, 2012, 11:10:49 PM
Half a stone off in just over a week. Result.
thats fair going, well done. you could have your own tv show.
Quote from: King Kenny on April 17, 2012, 11:10:49 PM
Half a stone off in just over a week. Result.
Good man. Have you completely changed the diet as well or is it just running?
Quote from: Sharpshooter12 on April 16, 2012, 12:07:31 PM
just throwing in my suggestions,havent read through the whole thread so apologies if i repeat what has already been said. firstly to lose weight you obv need to burn or expend more calories than you consume. this can be done in 2 ways; 1 is to increase your calorie expenditure and the second is to reduce your calories intake. The first way can be done through a mixture or cardio and weights. high intensity cardio training is generally better than low steady paced training. so try to incorporate sprints into your training or regular bursts on the treadmill,rowing machine, etc. example may be to jog for 30 secs then run has hard as you can for 20-30 sec then repeat, all depends on your fitness levels. hill sprints/cycling also works the body harder so try an do some of them if possible. weight training is also important and should be done along side a cardio program. big compound moves such as squats,deadlifts,bench presses etc are the best moves to do plus bodyweight exercises such as pull ups, press ups and core work (planks,swiss ball exercises) again your ability ere depends on your fitness but often guys carrying weight tend to be able to lift quite big due to the fact there body has being carrying around their heavy frame, flexibility work should be done to help avoid any injuries. with regards a six pack, everyone has one unfortunately it is hiden below a layer of fat, crunches or sit ups wont get you 1, the heavy lifts like squats and the core work will help to strenthen and develop your abs but you need to lose body fat to allow your abs to be seen,(it is suggested body fat of 10% or less is needed to reveal a six pack) so cardio work is very important. with regards calories yes you need to reduce your intake but also consume the right type of foods, avoid sugars in things like fizzy drinks,sweets some yoghurt, avoid saturated fats in things like sauces,ready made sandwiches,ready made pasta salads (a lot of these contain dressings heavy in fat) however do consume good fats in things like brazil nuts and peanut butter. And importantly keep hydrated. it is important to find a balance often people give their diet an extreme make over, cut out all sweets, breads, beer etc lose weight but then find that there diet isnt sustainable in the long run and put the weight back on. allow yourself a treat night or lunch once a week just to keep the cravings away. Thats my take on things anyway, hope it is of use.
Excellent advice sharpshooter. Anyone who follows it will get definite results.
I bought one of those micro wave egg poachers, very handy for a fast protein filled bite to eat after the gym in 25-40 seconds!
Where did you get the poacher?
Have been doing the new Insanity workouts for the past 5 Thursday mornings, pretty intense to say the least, anyone try it yet and are you getting any decent results from it?
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 21, 2013, 12:59:17 AM
Have been doing the new Insanity workouts for the past 5 Thursday mornings, pretty intense to say the least, anyone try it yet and are you getting any decent results from it?
LOL Shaun T - the only man on TV whilst doing the night feed a while ago. Is the Insanity workout not a daily thing or at least 3-4 times / week? Did u buy the discs or print of the plan and follow the many youtube videos?
Insanity should be done daily or I think6 days a week. Its a crazy workout - My Mrs' brother did it and quit and he trains SWOT team in Florida so he is certainly fit.
He reckons P90X is the dogs.....
Once a week at the gym. While not legally called insanity due to copyright. Its the same stuff.
Quote from: The Iceman on June 21, 2013, 04:36:41 PM
Insanity should be done daily or I think6 days a week. Its a crazy workout - My Mrs' brother did it and quit and he trains SWOT team in Florida so he is certainly fit.
What's a SWOT team? A group of kids spending their day studying and entering school quizzes. .?
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 21, 2013, 10:05:22 PM
Once a week at the gym. While not legally called insanity due to copyright. Its the same stuff.
Girl in work goes to a Crossfit gym and it seems to be pretty hardcore stuff.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 21, 2013, 10:24:19 PM
There are variations about but this is really f**king hard, be like a double workout for the warm up, then at least 7/8 drills (each drill 1 min long)you do that twice with no stopping then another set of 8/9 drill 1 min long. f**king mental
That insanity stuff would be a great preseason jobby, serious core work
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 21, 2013, 10:24:19 PM
Cultfit is what my friends call it. Its the in thing here at the moment.
does any body know a decent diet that work over a 3month period, need to lose a stone or more, and forbeey eating too much crap, i eating at the wrong times (in the evenings and never hungry in the morning or lunch time) i can stick to a diet 9as lose weight in the past) but need to find a good one that works, cant really add much exercise into it as the knee fucked! Time to get of the couch!!
you answered it yourself. stop eating crop and at the wrong times. eat good food in smaller portions
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 22, 2013, 09:00:35 PM
does any body know a decent diet that work over a 3month period, need to lose a stone or more, and forbeey eating too much crap, i eating at the wrong times (in the evenings and never hungry in the morning or lunch time) i can stick to a diet 9as lose weight in the past) but need to find a good one that works, cant really add much exercise into it as the knee fucked! Time to get of the couch!!
What about swimming?
Quote from: laoislad on June 21, 2013, 10:14:14 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on June 21, 2013, 04:36:41 PM
What's a SWOT team? A group of kids spending their day studying and entering school quizzes. .?
Aye that's it exactly. For boys like me who need to reread messages and not rely on predictive text
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 22, 2013, 09:00:35 PM
This worked for me (2 stone in 5 months):
http://www.fourmilab.ch/hackdiet/e4/ (http://www.fourmilab.ch/hackdiet/e4/)
Thanks Hardy!
Got a copy of that Insanity and have to say it's hard, first 3-4 days my hamstrings ached and my calves were tight. Currently on Day 9 and although the workouts are still tough, but I feel myself having more energy throughout the day. The calendar is setup well so that the recovery session came just when I needed it.
Anyone else on here doing it?
Quote from: BenDover on July 05, 2013, 01:44:18 PM
Got a copy of that Insanity and have to say it's hard, first 3-4 days my hamstrings ached and my calves were tight. Currently on Day 9 and although the workouts are still tough, but I feel myself having more energy throughout the day. The calendar is setup well so that the recovery session came just when I needed it.
Anyone else on here doing it?
doing it but within a class set up so not a daily thing. Having a trainer put us through it is a big benefit .
Initially i was copying youtube videos but getting the instructions from Shaun T and being able to observe the rest of his troops doing the exercises is miles better.
It's some sweat up in 40mins and from what I've read month 2 is longer and harder
Anyone try the Tabata routines as part of their exercise routines?Suppose to be great for burning body fat.
I'm doing about 100miles/week on the bike now and have just started the couch to 5k running program again.
I've lost about a stone since I started back training but finding it hard to shift the last of the belly.
Anybody training hard to get over the effects of Christmas?
What sort of stuff are you at to loose the weight?
Starting slowly myself......cardio and a few (light) weight sessions...
Put on a lot at Christmas. Neck to doing four days weights (based around squats, deadlifts, bench and accessory lifts for each), one cardio class a week, generally circuits and one conditioning class, generally suspension training.
I wasn't really out of the gym too much so I haven't found it to difficult to go back. It's eating clean again that is the killer.
One tip I would recommend is at the weekend to buy 3/4 bags of apples/ oranges etc to munch away at late in the evening if you feel hungry. Keeps you away from the biscuits and even worse from reaching for the Chinese delivery menu.
Quote from: Canalman on January 21, 2015, 04:07:31 PM
One tip I would recommend is at the weekend to buy 3/4 bags of apples/ oranges etc to munch away at late in the evening if you feel hungry. Keeps you away from the biscuits and even worse from reaching for the Chinese delivery menu.
Apples and oranges both loaded with sugar. Should be limited as much as anything else. Carrots or celery a better option.
have lost 2 stone over the last few months just by watching what i eat and using the Hairy Bikers/Dieters recipes for good healthy but very tasty meals!!
Quote from: gallsman on January 21, 2015, 04:20:45 PM
Apples and oranges both loaded with sugar. Should be limited as much as anything else. Carrots or celery a better option.
Carrots are a very good option....nice too!
Quote from: stpauls on January 21, 2015, 04:21:53 PM
have lost 2 stone over the last few months just by watching what i eat and using the Hairy Bikers/Dieters recipes for good healthy but very tasty meals!!
This a book you have bought?
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on January 21, 2015, 04:23:04 PM
yeah, the have 3 out now at this stage. the wife bought the 2nd one and i got the 3rd there as a secret santa present at Christmas. some very tasty, low calorie meals in them!!
5:2 diet if you need to shift weight before toning. Easy enough when you get used to only eating 500 calories two days a week, then keep to the recommended calories for the other days.
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on January 21, 2015, 04:22:11 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 21, 2015, 04:20:45 PM
Carrots are a very good option....nice too!
Carrots and sweet potato chips or wedges fine in the oven with coconut oil with some hummus are a good substitute for "party food". Will be breaking them out for the Superbowl. And crying that I don't have a big bag of sensations at the same time.
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on January 21, 2015, 03:07:59 PM
Anybody training hard to get over the effects of Christmas?
What sort of stuff are you at to loose the weight?
Starting slowly myself......cardio and a few (light) weight sessions...
Doing insanity max 30 every weekday morning. It's brutal but the weight is shifting.
Running cycling and eating healthier
Quote from: Rois on January 21, 2015, 05:39:31 PM
5:2 diet if you need to shift weight before toning. Easy enough when you get used to only eating 500 calories two days a week, then keep to the recommended calories for the other days.
Few friends doing this, they sear by it!! Ive been in a hotel since fecking September but home weekends, a fecking nightmare to be honest..... Can't wait to finish in mid Feb to get normality back. A quick fast for couple weeks and I'll be grand. Metabolism still working well thank feck!!
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 21, 2015, 11:45:04 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 21, 2015, 05:39:31 PM
Few friends doing this, they sear by it!! Ive been in a hotel since fecking September but home weekends, a fecking nightmare to be honest..... Can't wait to finish in mid Feb to get normality back. A quick fast for couple weeks and I'll be grand. Metabolism still working well thank feck!!
How an adult gets by on 500 calories a day is beyond me. I've heard of this diet producing results but surely in effect you starve yourself twice a week?
Well I guess you could look at it as "starving" but you wouldn't get too far psychologically on the 5:2 if you did. There's some sort of scientific theory about short bursts of fasting and the effect on your body. I lost a stone and a half on it previously, back on it now. Did a "fast day" on Monday and managed to do a heavy circuits session at Rathmore. Today I'll have a subway turkey salad for lunch and probably veggie soup in the eve. It suits me because it's two hard days but 5 normal days, unlike other diets.
MR - hotels are def a killer. We're just back from a month in NZ staying mainly in hotels and eating out. Hence the need for me to do 5:2 again.
Quote from: Rois on January 22, 2015, 08:45:46 AM
Well I guess you could look at it as "starving" but you wouldn't get too far psychologically on the 5:2 if you did. There's some sort of scientific theory about short bursts of fasting and the effect on your body. I lost a stone and a half on it previously, back on it now. Did a "fast day" on Monday and managed to do a heavy circuits session at Rathmore. Today I'll have a subway turkey salad for lunch and probably veggie soup in the eve. It suits me because it's two hard days but 5 normal days, unlike other diets.
MR - hotels are def a killer. We're just back from a month in NZ staying mainly in hotels and eating out. Hence the need for me to do 5:2 again.
I don't think there's any other way to look at it. It sounds dramatic but starvation is exactly what it is. My primary concern with it would be trying to do strenuous exercise either the day of or the day after the fast with such a calorie and carb deficit. Those circuits must have been a nightmare.
Eat less, move more is my moto!
On a side note been looking at getting a juicer/smoothie maker but have been drawn to one of those smaller machines - the nutri bullet. Apparently make healthier drinks as there is no waste (ie all the good bits go in), plus they are faster and easier to clean.
Anyone any experience of one? Thanks.
Quote from: Bingo on January 22, 2015, 09:54:20 AM
Eat less, move more is my moto!
On a side note been looking at getting a juicer/smoothie maker but have been drawn to one of those smaller machines - the nutri bullet. Apparently make healthier drinks as there is no waste (ie all the good bits go in), plus they are faster and easier to clean.
Anyone any experience of one? Thanks.
I have one Bingo and they are a great job.
Small and easy cleaned. Very little waste.
Lost nearly 2 stone myself since Halloween.
Doing a bit more strength and conditioning work in the gym but the most of it is down to diet.
Only realised how much bread i ate when i stopped eating as much of it.
Cut out cereal in the morning and replaced with Smooties, Scrambles eggs, etc.
Salads for lunch.
Normal dinner.
Made the difference for me.
I have a philips juicer and take a pint every day. Vary what I do some days all greens some says beetroot. I swear by them wasn't well last year and they kept the bloods good. I used to juice anything that was in the fridge and drink it but now I stick to the recipes. Also take a shot or 2 of wheatgrass. It's a good way to get good stuff into the system easily
Got me worried folks when I see people cutting out cereal.
Is branflakes, yoghurt and orange juice bad in the mornings??
Good stuff lads, cheers.
I actually have relation that is selling living organic Wheatgrass into supermarkets. Hopefully he will be taking it nationwide in coming months. On the wheatgrass I understand that you only juice it and therefore its not suitable for the nutri bullet as the stomach can't digest the grass itself, the goodness is in the juice from it.
Your right Bingo has a special juicer for wheatgrass it's supposed to be good stuff I have started to grow it also as buying it was working out very dear
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 22, 2015, 10:45:50 AM
I eat away at the stuff every morning, though I think theres quite a bit of sugar in it (more than in cornflakes). Times tight in the week day mornings for throwing together scrambled eggs and toast. On toast, what bread do use, linseed? This health drive carryon is a science
Quote from: stpauls on January 21, 2015, 05:29:19 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on January 21, 2015, 04:23:04 PM
yeah, the have 3 out now at this stage. the wife bought the 2nd one and i got the 3rd there as a secret santa present at Christmas. some very tasty, low calorie meals in them!!
Must check them out....running out of ideas!
Quote from: Rois on January 22, 2015, 08:45:46 AM
What sort of stuff do you eat on the fast days?
Depends - if the Branflakes are some kellogs cereal off the shelf, then almost certainly yes. What type of yoghurt? Orange juice as a healthy option is a complete myth - pure sugar.
We Irish eat so much dairy it's unreal. Cutting down on milk and cheese will shed pounds in no time.
Usually have the scrambled egg with a bit of cold fish(Salmon, Tinned Tuna, etc)
Very easy to scramble the eggs in the morning in a microwave.
Agree with the diary as well.
I would have eaten alot of cheese.
Changed to goats cheese. It also has helped
Quote from: gallsman on January 22, 2015, 09:31:57 AM
I don't think there's any other way to look at it. It sounds dramatic but starvation is exactly what it is. My primary concern with it would be trying to do strenuous exercise either the day of or the day after the fast with such a calorie and carb deficit. Those circuits must have been a nightmare.
Well another typical fast day for me would be a bowl of soup at lunch and a chicken stir fry in the evening. That's not really starvation.
I'm sure it is definitely not ideal to link the fast day with circuits but I used to do a spin class on a fast day and found it was grand if I'd taken on enough water. I may just need to re-think the fast day though - circuits were really hard (maybe something to do with my 2 month absence), but then they're always really hard anyway.
Lots of people don't agree with 5:2, but I've gotten results, haven't felt ill and found it easy enough to stick to when I get in the way of it, so I'm a fan.
Quote from: gallsman on January 22, 2015, 12:11:21 PM
Depends - if the Branflakes are some kellogs cereal off the shelf, then almost certainly yes. What type of yoghurt? Orange juice as a healthy option is a complete myth - pure sugar.
We Irish eat so much dairy it's unreal. Cutting down on milk and cheese will shed pounds in no time.
Yeah Kellogs Gallsman. The yoghurt is those Activia ones with fruit in them. I'll admit the juice aint prob the healthiest but I've cut out tea so need a kick from something.
Did anyone recent watch that programme on channel 4 about the worlds best diet? Theres a reason Icelandic ppl live long and look good. No processed foods and fresh fish!
I don't buy into any of these pro-biotic yoghurts at all. Switch to Greek yoghurt - Total 0% if you can find it. Flavour with some natural vanilla or manuka honey, or a small spoon of jam. Delicious and incredibly nutritious. No carbs or fat or anything in the yoghurt and about 10g protein/100g.
Check the nutritional information on those Branflakes. I imagine a lot of carbs and sugar.
No cereal would kill me. I suppose its as much about education as anything. I wouldnt have the faintest idea about smoothies and the like. No excuse with the internet mind you.
Quote from: hardstation on January 22, 2015, 01:09:13 PM
It seems a relatively recent thing that people are trying to cut out carbs yet the likes of the eat well plate from the NHS suggests that we should be eating plenty of carbs. Is it the case that yes, cutting out carbs will help you lose weight but that you may be suffering from the lack of energy carbs give?
Who knows, these fads tend to change dramatically every couple of years.
I used to live with Italians and they ate loads of carbs. The big thing was that is different to us was they never ate rubbish or snacked between meals. Everything was also made from scratch. No processed meals.
Cut out all wheat/grains and refined sugar, and drastically increase your (good) saturated fat intake and you'll see and feel such a difference.
More and more scientific studies moving the way of low carb, high fat diets.
Quote from: hardstation on January 22, 2015, 01:09:13 PM
It seems a relatively recent thing that people are trying to cut out carbs yet the likes of the eat well plate from the NHS suggests that we should be eating plenty of carbs. Is it the case that yes, cutting out carbs will help you lose weight but that you may be suffering from the lack of energy carbs give?
Who knows, these fads tend to change dramatically every couple of years.
Year on year, fat, protein, carbs have been either good or bad. Bottom line is to use more energy than you consume regardless of what you eat. Obviously a healthy diet would be better for overall health than eating shite.
have none of yous watched the Cereal Killers film/documentary? No2 on its way also;
done by a Down man, former athlete (cant mind name cant be bothered looking lol, Donal.......) had relations on Down AI teams in 60s
interesting stuff, eat as much fat,protein as you want, but just get your carbs from veg etc, all our usual forms are v bad for ye, cereal, breads etc.....
(similar to what aontrim has posted basically)
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 22, 2015, 01:18:05 PM
have none of yous watched the Cereal Killers film/documentary? No2 on its way also;
done by a Down man, former athlete (cant mind name cant be bothered looking lol, Donal.......) had relations on Down AI teams in 60s
interesting stuff, eat as much fat,protein as you want, but just get your carbs from veg etc, all our usual forms are v bad for ye, cereal, breads etc.....
And I'm sure there are many other sources saying that in moderation they are fine. As Walter posted above Italians eat a diet with plentiful carbs and their diet is held up as one of the healthiest in the world in terms of life expectancy. As Walter has also alluded to their diet is also plentiful in oils, vegetables, fish etc. whereas in other nations people might have cereal or toast for breakfast, a sandwich at work for lunch and pasta/rice/potatoes in the evening with little in the way of fresh produce in any of them. That for me is the issue not carbs themselves.
(http://positivemed.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Life_Expectancy_2005-2010_UN_WPP_2006.png)
I think most of these diets are a load of nonsense
No dairy diets,no carbs diets, cutting out bread or meat or whatever is the latest fad etc etc
Losing weight is pretty simple and not very scientific.
Burn more calories than you consume and you will lose weight. Simples.
I still have my takeaway at the weekend and enjoy a few drinks but I exercise regularly and watch what I eat to a point but not in a crazy diet way.
Everything in moderation I say but no need to be cutting anything out as everyone needs a good takeaway or a few pints every now and then.
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 22, 2015, 01:18:05 PM
O'Neill.
Quote from: annapr on January 22, 2015, 01:37:33 PM
No dairy diets,no carbs diets, cutting out bread or meat or whatever is the latest fad etc etc
I still have my takeaway at the weekend and enjoy a few drinks but I exercise regularly and watch what I eat to a point but not in a crazy diet way.
Everything in moderation I say but no need to be cutting anything out as everyone needs a good takeaway or a few pints every now and then.
The point is it's January - many of us ate and drank to excess at Christmas and now feel the need to shift some weight. "Everything in moderation" won't help too much there. You have to make some sacrifices.
There are also others that are pushing for elite performance in whatever discipline. Again, "everything in moderation" might leave you healthy and reduce risk of health problems, but it won't get you to peak physical condition.
If the latest craze is low carb high fat, well what foods do you get all this 'high fat' from?
Quote from: yellowcard on January 22, 2015, 02:36:14 PM
If the latest craze is low carb high fat, well what foods do you get all this 'high fat' from?
Have a look at the Green list on this link:
http://realmealrevolution.com/real-food-lists
Quote from: gallsman on January 22, 2015, 02:01:57 PM
The point is it's January - many of us ate and drank to excess at Christmas and now feel the need to shift some weight. "Everything in moderation" won't help too much there. You have to make some sacrifices.
There are also others that are pushing for elite performance in whatever discipline. Again, "everything in moderation" might leave you healthy and reduce risk of health problems, but it won't get you to peak physical condition.
This tread (or at least the thread title)is about someone wanting to lose a belly, hardly top class elite sportsmen.
I've changed my breakfast from cornflakes to porridge made with water and a teaspoon of honey added to sweeten, means the 9am snack is no longer required.
+ 1 serious amount of crap being talked here.
Quote from: annapr on January 22, 2015, 02:53:54 PM
This tread (or at least the thread title)is about someone wanting to lose a belly, hardly top class elite sportsmen.
This thread is also several years old. As for your point, see my first one. "Moderating" will keep you where you are - it won't help you shift anything.
Quote from: yellowcard on January 22, 2015, 02:36:14 PM
Eggs, red meat, avocados, nuts, Greek yogurt (actual Greek, not "Greek Style"), cottage cheese. Swap cooking oil for coconut oil (bloody expensive though).
Quote from: gallsman on January 22, 2015, 03:35:25 PM
Quote from: annapr on January 22, 2015, 02:53:54 PM
This thread is also several years old. As for your point, see my first one. "Moderating" will keep you where you are - it won't help you shift anything.
If you've ate and drank to excess over Christmas, not exercised and have put on weight then I'd say that by eating in moderation and exercising you will most definitely shift the pounds.
It's all qualitative though.
http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/the-grit-doctor-has-had-enough-it-s-time-to-cut-the-crap-1.2067482 (http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/the-grit-doctor-has-had-enough-it-s-time-to-cut-the-crap-1.2067482)
Quote from: gallsman on January 22, 2015, 03:35:25 PM
I totally agree with this. To get back to pre-holiday weight you need to do the inverse of what you did to gain the weight, i.e. eat less than normal or train more than normal. Then when you're back where you started, do the moderating thing.
Diets aren't worth one f**k!! If you want to lose weight and be healthy you need a lifestyle change. A fad diet for 6-12 weeks isn't sustainable.
Cut down your portion sizes, eat less bread, fast food and sweet stuff and exercise 3 times a week and you'll be healthy!
Since Christmas I've been doing 30 mins interval on threadmill (7mph x 1min, 3mph x 1 min, 8mph x 1 min, 3 mph x 1 min, 9mph x 1 min, 3 mph x 1 min, 10mph x 1 min, 3 mph x 1 min and back down again and back up....) followed by this 15 min video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzOe2ImO1rk every other day.
No idea if there's any weight loss but feel far better playing 5-a-side on Mons and Fris for doing this.
Still ateing crisps and stouting to the max.
Quote from: ONeill on January 22, 2015, 09:22:43 PM
Since Christmas I've been doing 30 mins interval on threadmill (7mph x 1min, 3mph x 1 min, 8mph x 1 min, 3 mph x 1 min, 9mph x 1 min, 3 mph x 1 min, 10mph x 1 min, 3 mph x 1 min and back down again and back up....) followed by this 15 min video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzOe2ImO1rk every other day.
No idea if there's any weight loss but feel far better playing 5-a-side on Mons and Fris for doing this.
Still ateing crisps and stouting to the max.
You should stout in those 30 minute intervals. Far better all round fitness derivative mumbo cardio jumbo vitas gerulitas.
Very close to the truth there.
If ye listen to oul people, they never say they wished they'd dieted.
Quote from: ONeill on January 22, 2015, 10:04:34 PM
Then again, the ones who should have might not live to be oul - dead from heart attacks and obesity-related diseases.
Your body needs. Protein carbs fat and the other crap bit in moderation. If it doesn't have it then it gets confused. As said already.. Some people cand fo the 6 week diet but needs to make that lifestyle choice... If you don't at age of 40 plus your fcuked...
Quote from: Rois on January 22, 2015, 10:51:10 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 22, 2015, 10:04:34 PM
Then again, the ones who should have might not live to be oul - dead from heart attacks and obesity-related diseases.
Why would you want to live to be oul? The human body (now) is designed to live 40 years before gradually breaking down. I reckon to live to be 60 would be deadly. I could live healthily til 80 and die a horrible death, after 10 years of regular ill-health. A heart attack would be great crack.
Started eating weexabix every morning now with Berries and Bananas. Really enjoy it actually but would it be good to eat every day for weight lose? I thought it was but then someone said Weetabix was just fiber and sugar so now I'm wondering would a poached egg and slice of toast be better?
Breakfast:
Porridge with honey and a hape of berries
Some mornings its slice of soya and linseed or any type seed bread toasted with taste of peanut butter on top.
Green tea and a pint of iced water.
Lunch:
Salad with loads of greens and either tuna or lean chicken
Green Tea and Litre of Water
More berries with melon and maybe some nuts.
Dinner:
Salmon steak with green veg and sweet potato.
Pint iced water.
Supper:
Slice of seeded toast and peanut butter
Green Tea and pint iced water.
Train 4 days a week at minute, 6:30am 5k runs trying to bring times down.
Occasional circuits/bootcamp sessions at 630am.
Most things are ok in moderation, just cut back and step up the exercise. You know yourself the things that are bad for you. Fizzy drinks, chocolate, crisps too much bread and chippy food. Have a we treat once a week and you'll be fine
Supper? Supper? FFS
Quote from: ONeill on January 23, 2015, 12:22:19 PM
Supper? Supper? FFS
I thought that went out of style in the 70s?
Was doing well since Christmas..... until an hour ago...a chip out of Pat's for my lunch :-[
Well when youre making something for the kids before bed then yeah it is supper.
What should I be callin it.?
Evening snack?
Quote from: screenexile on January 23, 2015, 02:07:47 PM
Evening snack?
"Little Tommy Tucker, sings for his evening snack" doesn't have a great ring to it tbh ;D
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on January 23, 2015, 01:55:06 PM
Well when youre making something for the kids before bed then yeah it is supper.
Somethin to ate.
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 23, 2015, 01:49:51 PM
Was doing well since Christmas..... until an hour ago...a chip out of Pat's for my lunch :-[
is Pat's still open? great food in that place, used to love sneaking out at lunch time for a bag of chips when i was at school!!
Quote from: stpauls on January 23, 2015, 02:46:10 PM
is Pat's still open? great food in that place, used to love sneaking out at lunch time for a bag of chips when i was at school!!
Still going strong!! New management though the same top class grub...I take it you were at the Abbey?
Quote from: ONeill on January 23, 2015, 02:45:15 PM
Somethin to ate.
something to ate could be had any time of the day.
everyone knows when supper is.
Feckin cavemen on here.
As for evening tea. This isn't Downton Abbey we are talkin about
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 23, 2015, 10:07:36 AM
Started eating weexabix every morning now with Berries and Bananas. Really enjoy it actually but would it be good to eat every day for weight lose? I thought it was but then someone said Weetabix was just fiber and sugar so now I'm wondering would a poached egg and slice of toast be better?
Smoothies are very filling and a good way to get fruit into your diet.
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on January 23, 2015, 03:20:27 PM
Somethin to ate.
Feckin cavemen on here.
Whattabout a sausage supper then?
Ideally you should eat poached eggs from weetabix fed hens.
Quote from: ONeill on January 23, 2015, 05:41:01 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on January 23, 2015, 03:20:27 PM
Somethin to ate.
Feckin cavemen on here.
Whattabout a sausage supper then?
Sounds like an event Leo Varadkar would go to.
Michael Pollan's guidelines
If it came from a plant, eat it
• if it was made in a plant, don't
• It's not food if it arrived through the window of your car
• It's not food if it is called by the same name in every language
• Avoid food products with more than five ingredients
• avoid foods you see advertised on television
• don't eat breakfast cereal that changes the colour of the milk
• eat all the junk food you want, so long as you cook it yourself
http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/02/health/02brod.html?_r=0
Other than porridge rolled oats with fruit, the healthiest part of any other breakfast cereal is the cardboard box.
Google( Fed up documentary) quite interesting.
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 23, 2015, 03:03:20 PM
Still going strong!! New management though the same top class grub...I take it you were at the Abbey?
was indeed Sams, just a quick run down the hill for the grub!!
Quote from: seafoid on January 24, 2015, 07:33:23 AM
- if it cost less than £1 for a burger then it must be full of shít
- Chips of a default standard size are full if shít
18th Feb for Lent...bring it on. That's when the real diet starts for me, it seems to be the only time of the year I seem to get motivated (Dunno why?) No Sweets, crisps, fizzy drinks, Chocolate, Bread and all types of Chippy Food.
Quote from: stpauls on January 26, 2015, 10:41:05 AM
..and no rush back up it!
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 26, 2015, 12:21:54 PM
Brings back memories that. And the wee cafe on Mary St behind the market. Half chip on a plate. Gourmet.
Quote from: seafoid on January 24, 2015, 07:33:23 AM
very much what Pat Divilly would breach - if its advertised on the TV or in the press, avoid it!
Bought the Nutri blender at weekend (Nutri Ninja blender), serious powerful bit of kit. Just to get the right stuff now for the good smoothies and drinks.
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 26, 2015, 12:21:54 PM
yeah, the length of time to get back up the hill depended on whether you got a small or large chip!! ;D
Anyone own a treadmill? Was thinking of buying one.
Elverys have a few on sale.
Quote from: annapr on January 26, 2015, 01:38:34 PM
Unless you are really struggling for time or in a very bad location, save yourself a lot of money and just use the local roads/park etc. Far easier to get into and do it regularly.
Quote from: Bingo on January 26, 2015, 02:04:41 PM
Quote from: annapr on January 26, 2015, 01:38:34 PM
Unless you are really struggling for time or in a very bad location, save yourself a lot of money and just use the local roads/park etc. Far easier to get into and do it regularly.
Guarantee that you'll use it less than 20 times then hang washing on it like everyone I know who has one! Get out on the roads and get done fresh air while you're at it!
Have bought myself a nutri-bullet and am looking forward to it. Half a banana, handful of berries, some peanut butter, some oats and a scoop of Total. Going to be great.
Also, for anyone interested, this crowd do some great zero cal, zero carb sauces:
https://www.waldenfarms.com
I've the caramel syrup one. Tastes a bit funny or chemically on its own but stirred into something tastes like you're getting a real treat'
Does anyone find a night on the tiles sets you back to square one where you feel bloated and lazy?
Are you better getting up and sweating it out or wait a day or 2 to fully 'recover'?
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 17, 2015, 01:12:40 PM
Does anyone find a night on the tiles sets you back to square one where you feel bloated and lazy?
Are you better getting up and sweating it out or wait a day or 2 to fully 'recover'?
Its not good for the ticker especially if you are a bit older, probably not if you are younger either tbh. A couple of my mates have had some heart arrhythmia issues doing cycling the day after a good session.
I find that it's the problems the following day that get you - not drinking enough water, sleeping pattern ruined, eating crap food. Best to try and get over it asap I think.
Quote from: gallsman on July 17, 2015, 01:56:22 PM
I find that is the problems the following day that get you - not drinking enough water, sleeping pattern ruined, reading crap food. Best to try and get over it asap I think.
Yeah that's it - diet, sleeping, hydration all go to pot.
Quote from: gallsman on July 17, 2015, 12:00:49 PM
Have bought myself a nutri-bullet and am looking forward to it. Half a banana, handful of berries, some peanut butter, some oats and a scoop of Total. Going to be great.
Also, for anyone interested, this crowd do some great zero cal, zero carb sauces:
I've the caramel syrup one. Tastes a bit funny or chemically on its own but stirred into something tastes like you're getting a real treat'
These are a great job.
Don't be afraid to put natural green veg in anything - Kale, Spinage, Broccolli, micro-greens etc. Great way of getting loads of it into the system.
It doesn't take wheatgrass directly but adding the wheatgrass juice is also great.
Quote from: Last Man on July 17, 2015, 01:47:04 PM
Its not good for the ticker especially if you are a bit older, probably not if you are younger either tbh. A couple of my mates have had some heart arrhythmia issues doing cycling the day after a good session.
If you are a bit older?? ::)
Wasnt including myself in that bracket Miltown ;)
Quote from: gallsman on July 17, 2015, 12:00:49 PM
Sounds like something that would come out your ass like spool thread at the speed of a bullet
Anyone watching the "Sugar Crash" programme on RTÉ? The amount of sugar embedded in foods is ridiculous, most of these could have half the sugar and it would do just as well. When soups and cheese and whatever have sugar you get it when you are not expecting it. America is even worse, the amount of sugars in breakfast cereals there is unreal.
Handy wee app called Sugar Smart will open your eyes. Scan the barcodes and shows you how many sugar cubes are in a serving. Shocking stuff and has been good to show the wains.
Fair to say if you didn't get it in the perimeter aisles, you could do with skipping it. Most people know what they should and shouldn't be eating - it's just hard training the body to get away from sugars and processed foods, and the convenience of them. The upside is how you will feel when you get that shit under control.
Quote from: Puckoon on January 11, 2016, 11:13:59 PM
Fair to say if you didn't get it in the perimeter aisles, you could do with skipping it. Most people know what they should and shouldn't be eating - it's just hard training the body to get away from sugars and processed foods, and the convenience of them. The upside is how you will feel when you get that shit under control.
Fair enough. But it should be possible to produce somewhat processed food with a reasonable amount of sugar and salt.
I lost a few pounds recently and it feels great. I just can't face going to the gym. There's something very artificial about it imo. I always think of my grandfather who was a farmer and what he would say.
Quote from: seafoid on January 12, 2016, 01:14:50 AM
I lost a few pounds recently and it feels great. I just can't face going to the gym. There's something very artificial about it imo. I always think of my grandfather who was a farmer and what he would say.
Fair play to you for losing weight Seafoid, but if you are a farmer you need to stop posting while you're on the tractor. You're too prolific and you are going to cause an accident.
If you aren't a farmer and you sit on your arse most of the day (like most of us), being the prolific poster you are - your grandpappy might be smart enough to know the world has changed, diets are changed for the worst, and the average person isn't active enough. So get your arse to the gym and build on your health. Or don't go to the gym and just do some body weight exercises. Where you move your body doesn't matter. Just that you do. When we start judging how or where people improve themselves in the midst of this current epidemic of obesity - then that's a real issue.
Quote from: armaghniac on January 11, 2016, 11:25:09 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 11, 2016, 11:13:59 PM
Fair enough. But it should be possible to produce somewhat processed food with a reasonable amount of sugar and salt.
Maybe, maybe not. I think we were there maybe a few decades ago, but those additives are addicting and I think that palates and brain centers wanted more and more and more. Now sodium and sugar levels are through the roof.
going to be an interesting 3 months. Piled on the pounds since september, and now have a pound for pound challenge for the next 3 months to drop it. Weigh off in the morning...
Good luck HB. Plenty of ways to get it done. Money is an amazing motivator!
especially if you knew the fella I aim to take it off...
Quote from: Puckoon on January 12, 2016, 05:31:50 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 12, 2016, 01:14:50 AM
Fair play to you for losing weight Seafoid, but if you are a farmer you need to stop posting while you're on the tractor. You're too prolific and you are going to cause an accident.
If you aren't a farmer and you sit on your arse most of the day (like most of us), being the prolific poster you are - your grandpappy might be smart enough to know the world has changed, diets are changed for the worst, and the average person isn't active enough. So get your arse to the gym and build on your health. Or don't go to the gym and just do some body weight exercises. Where you move your body doesn't matter. Just that you do. When we start judging how or where people improve themselves in the midst of this current epidemic of obesity - then that's a real issue.
I gave up the 9 to 5 Puckoon and am setting up my own business so have more time for quality stuff.
Re gyms they don't suit me. Simple as. I go for long walks instead and cut out eating between meals . It gives me more energy.
The dog loves it too.
I am not interested in muscles or lycra.
Fair play to everyone on the board who is doing something about their weight. It is not easy. I think I was lucky enough too. My body shape is not claonta chun ramhar. The sisters have awful problems
i've seriously reduced my sugar intake since august and feel a whole lot better for it.
Signed up to a personal trainer for 6 weeks in January and early Feb. Also recording everything I eat on the MyFitnessPal app (free to download). It makes you think twice about what you eat. The PT is drawing me up a dietary plan.
Nutri bullets are great for getting all the goodness in and makes a tasty alternative to a bun with tea at work or cake after dinner!
ive nearly 5 stone off since last Easter - going well
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on January 12, 2016, 09:46:21 AM
Jeez fair play to you.
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 12, 2016, 09:43:25 AM
Signed up to a personal trainer for 6 weeks in January and early Feb. Also recording everything I eat on the MyFitnessPal app (free to download). It makes you think twice about what you eat. The PT is drawing me up a dietary plan.
Nutri bullets are great for getting all the goodness in and makes a tasty alternative to a bun with tea at work or cake after dinner!
Any nice recipes??
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on January 12, 2016, 10:23:53 AM
Any nice recipes??
To be honest you can put anything in. Great way of achieving your 5 a day which I find difficult otherwise. A typical one for me would be berries (strawberry/blueberry/raspberry), banana, pineapple, spinach or kale. You could fill a 1/3 of it with spinach/kale and it would still taste fruity.
Havent tried it yet but apparently you can add nuts/protein etc.
Just found this link - looks good! https://www.nutribullet.com/recipes.html
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 12, 2016, 10:28:46 AM
Any nice recipes??
To be honest you can put anything in. Great way of achieving your 5 a day which I find difficult otherwise. A typical one for me would be berries (strawberry/blueberry/raspberry), banana, pineapple, spinach or kale. You could fill a 1/3 of it with spinach/kale and it would still taste fruity.
Cheers....
Sounds like something to invest in.....
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on January 12, 2016, 10:30:52 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 12, 2016, 10:28:46 AM
Any nice recipes??
Cheers....
Sounds like something to invest in.....
Yeah around £60 online. Well worth it!
Five stone!! Fecking hell!! mixture of healthy eating, cutting out drink and exercise ?
Wife is trying this Aloe Vera detox thing soon!! in my opinion another waste of time and money (£80) to do something that will take weight off initially but bring it back and more after its done!!
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 12, 2016, 10:42:50 AM
Five stone!! Fecking hell!! mixture of healthy eating, cutting out drink and exercise ?
Wife is trying this Aloe Vera detox thing soon!! in my opinion another waste of time and money (£80) to do something that will take weight off initially but bring it back and more after its done!!
slimming world and walking - sin e
Still had me wine at the weekend
Nutri Bullet ::)
Quote from: Hardy on January 12, 2016, 11:25:11 AM
Nutri Bullet ::)
You may throw it out Walter. Our resident dietician and general authority has spoken.
Sorry Walter - not getting at you. It looks like a great blender and you can buy the blender without buying the lying pseudo-scientific hype my emoticon was referring to. You don't have to be a dietitian or even a general authority, whatever that is, to recognise wacky woo when you see it.
I don't need to lose weight per se (can never be toned enough though) but I am very conscious of my diet of late. Lose fat around the gut and put on more muscle is my aim though I doubt I am doing it right.
I'm trying to cut out salt, sugar, red meat, all pork products, caffeine, dairy, general shite etc and try and get 5 a day every day and stick to fish and chicken as much as possible.
All this is not easy when you are addicted to chocolate. Not to mention virtually everything on the supermarket shelves is full of salt and/or sugar!
Watched this last night- http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/sugar-crash-30003820/10515448/ (http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/sugar-crash-30003820/10515448/)
Scary stuff
Quote from: Hardy on January 12, 2016, 11:44:36 AM
Sorry Walter - not getting at you. It looks like a great blender and you can buy the blender without buying the lying pseudo-scientific hype my emoticon was referring to. You don't have to be a dietitian or even a general authority, whatever that is, to recognise wacky woo when you see it.
None taken - I joined the hoards and got one. Sure frig it. To me £60 is well worth it when its good for my health :)
Quote from: general_lee on January 12, 2016, 11:50:40 AM
I don't need to lose weight per se (can never be toned enough though) but I am very conscious of my diet of late. Lose fat around the gut and put on more muscle is my aim though I doubt I am doing it right.
I'm trying to cut out salt, sugar, red meat, all pork products, caffeine, dairy, general shite etc and try and get 5 a day every day and stick to fish and chicken as much as possible.
All this is not easy when you are addicted to chocolate. Not to mention virtually everything on the supermarket shelves is full of salt and/or sugar!
I'm no expert but the problem I see with that approach is its so drastic that it's never going to work.
What I mean is you're going from eating all those things to going cold turkey on them.
I use a everything in moderation approach. I still have all those things I like ie the chocolate, odd takeaway etc but I also try eat more healthy 80% of the time.
I find I can never give up these things completely and I think anyway thats why a lot of people end up not finishing these diets or going back on onto the unhealthy diet even harder and actually end up gaining more weight.
just downloaded this, looks the part
Quote from: laoislad on January 12, 2016, 12:25:23 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 12, 2016, 11:50:40 AM
I'm no expert but the problem I see with that approach is its so drastic that it's never going to work.
What I mean is you're going from eating all those things to going cold turkey on them.
I use a everything in moderation approach. I still have all those things I like ie the chocolate, odd takeaway etc but I also try eat more healthy 80% of the time.
I find I can never give up these things completely and I think anyway thats why a lot of people end up not finishing these diets or going back on onto the unhealthy diet even harder and actually end up gaining more weight.
I get what you're saying and that's what I'm like with chocolate which is why I'm never going to even try giving it up. For instance I guzzled a big bag of giant buttons in about 20 seconds there on sat eve and could have easily ate another one right after lol.
But overall I'm not a fussy eater so I don't really miss things and can replace them easily. I wouldn't go about trying to give them all up at once either. I stopped eating sweets about 2 years ago and ditto fizzy drinks, so now all I would drink is water, fruit juice, green tea and the odd normal tea. Plus a sneaky coffee on a sat morning. I haven't had fry up in months either. I think my main problem is portion sizes and eating too quick and therefore not feeling full. Something I will struggle with :-X
It's not sweets that do the damage as you know yo avoid them, it's the huge amount of hidden sugar in seemingly healthy stuff like low fat yoghurts, fruit juice and muesli / cereals!
Quote from: StGallsGAA on January 12, 2016, 09:09:53 PM
It's not sweets that do the damage as you know yo avoid them, it's the huge amount of hidden sugar in seemingly healthy stuff like low fat yoghurts, fruit juice and muesli / cereals!
Exactly, you can decide not to have biscuits etc and sweets are pretty small by volume, the hidden sugar is harder to identify.
(http://pbs.twimg.com/media/BqXQBvECAAArPOr.jpg)
I'm a huge lucozade fan.
Of course I knew it was full of sugar but seeing how much in Gabs post above is scary.
cut out bread and most wheat products
greatest thing I ever did
Calories in and calories out.
If you've put in a lazy day, eat nothing.
If you've worked hard physically get the spuds on and slap on the butter.
Quote from: ONeill on January 12, 2016, 11:20:23 PM
Calories in and calories out.
The programme yesterday suggested that all calories were not equal, the quick fix calories like sugar might be worse than the same calories from a spud.
If I'm having a fry the (odd Sunday), I'll have a can of coke!!! most drinks would be milk, or water
weekend totally different ;D .... Target is to cut down on the drink over the weekend
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 12, 2016, 11:19:07 PM
cut out bread and most wheat products
greatest thing I ever did
I dunno about that. For 10,000 years, wheat/cereal products have been our staple food. I'd be careful about trying to evolve away from it unilaterally.
And I love bread.
Cut out the bread there since friday, obviously eating generally healthy too with rice,chicken and brocolli for lunch but first week there and weighed 6 pound lighter, dont know if it was the bread or eating in general but certainly didnt do any harm. Don't really miss it either. I drink alot of water which I think helps, normally 4L A day..
Weight loss is one thing, and there are plenty of different ways to lose it. Sugar carries health risks far beyond a bit of a pudgy belly. Diabetes, obviously, for one.
Quote from: Longshanks on January 13, 2016, 10:46:39 AM
Cut out the bread there since friday, obviously eating generally healthy too with rice,chicken and brocolli for lunch but first week there and weighed 6 pound lighter, dont know if it was the bread or eating in general but certainly didnt do any harm. Don't really miss it either. I drink alot of water which I think helps, normally 4L A day..
You must do some pissing.
Is this the year you actually do couch to 5k Tony?
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 13, 2016, 01:24:46 PM
Quote from: Longshanks on January 13, 2016, 10:46:39 AM
You must do some pissing.
Ha! I'm tall (6ft6) so think the body needs it to be honest, also drink the most of it between 7-4.