What are everyones thoughts on Saturday nights game under lights in Croke Park?
I'll be leaving after the hurling ;)
Looking forward to this. Really hope we can put together 2 decent performances in a row for the first time this year. The team is only training together once a week at the moment with a view to being fresher come championship. I think you can see the effects of that in our games so far - we look a bit headless at times.
Still, nice to get a run to Croke Park at any time of the year.
I still have nightmares from last year...
Quote from: RMDrive on March 22, 2012, 08:03:00 PM
Looking forward to this.
You must be the only person in Ireland looking forward to it.
Quote from: heffo on March 22, 2012, 10:05:54 PM
Looking forward to this.
Ah yes. I've noted your thoughts on Donegal previously. You certainly know how to stay on-message. Very consistent.
I'm very much looking forward to it. Not every day you get to play the defending All Ireland champions in our national stadium. What's not to look forward to? Actually, no need to answer that.
I'm hoping that the lads can keep a bit of momentum going from the Mayo game and give a good performance on Saturday night. If their attacks are as free-flowing as the last day against Mayo they stand a chance of beating Dublin. Dublin are without Eoghan O'Gara and Bernard Brogan too remember so that might make a bit of difference.
Did McBrearty, Brick Molloy and Marty O'Reilly get away without any injuries after the U-21's played Tyrone during the week? Any more word on McGee's ear infection?
Quote from: RMDrive on March 22, 2012, 10:12:11 PM
Looking forward to this.
Ah yes. I've noted your thoughts on Donegal previously. You certainly know how to stay on-message. Very consistent.
I'm very much looking forward to it. Not every day you get to play the defending All Ireland champions in our national stadium. What's not to look forward to? Actually, no need to answer that.
I'm looking forward to it too. I thoroughly enjoyed last season, regardless of the begrudgers and hysterical media coverage. Hope its being shown online.
Setanta are showing it I think.
Quote from: POBreaslain on March 22, 2012, 10:52:43 PM
I'm hoping that the lads can keep a bit of momentum going from the Mayo game and give a good performance on Saturday night. If their attacks are as free-flowing as the last day against Mayo they stand a chance of beating Dublin. Dublin are without Eoghan O'Gara and Bernard Brogan too remember so that might make a bit of difference.
Did McBrearty, Brick Molloy and Marty O'Reilly get away without any injuries after the U-21's played Tyrone during the week? Any more word on McGee's ear infection?
Think all the U21s come out ok (although it won't have done their confidence much good!). I've heard nothing on McGee.
Quote from: J70 on March 23, 2012, 02:02:56 AM
Quote from: RMDrive on March 22, 2012, 10:12:11 PM
Looking forward to this.
I'm looking forward to it too. I thoroughly enjoyed last season, regardless of the begrudgers and hysterical media coverage. Hope its being shown online.
what site will show it online please?
donegal by 2!
had planned to travel down for this game but couldnt get down will watch it on setanta. Hopefully donegal keep up the good work from last weekends game and if they leave murphy inside he could do some damage
Colm McFadden out with an injury and Neil Gallagher out with the flu? Big losses if true.
Quote from: RMDrive on March 24, 2012, 06:47:38 PM
Colm McFadden out with an injury and Neil Gallagher out with the flu? Big losses if true.
were did you hear that RMdrive was talking to few donegal lads earlier in the week and was told had clean bill of health if both them lads are out they will be massive losses
Chris McNulty was on about it on twitter but now I see both lads are named on the team so nothing to it thankfully.
Durcan McGlynn N McGee McGrath. Thompson Lacey McLoone McElhinney Gallagher McHugh Bradley O'Reilly Toye Murphy McFadden
good defending!
What a save from durcan !
great save alright.
we're more open at the back and our passing is a bit wasteful at times but you have to credit dub defence. we're mostly going through murphy. not much else you can say really... both sides a bit wasteful going forward you'd have to say. dub missed points you wouldn't expect them to miss as much.
from a donegal point of view would be happy enough with the first half we are creating the chances and are taking most of them need to improve on the kick passing though
feckin' wiziwig has cut to some boxing.
11-11.
murphy injured? he's too important for us take him off.
the result not a true reflection on the game imo we played well but are to reliant on murphy
what was the final score?
Quote from: johnpower on March 24, 2012, 08:51:35 PM
dublin 2.16 donegal 0.13 2 goals right at the end flatter the dubs tbh no way was there 9 points between them 2 teams tonight
Happy enough to win by 9 minus the two Brogans, O'Gara and Brennan and with a very young inexperienced team.
Quote from: donegal lad on March 24, 2012, 08:55:04 PM
Quote from: johnpower on March 24, 2012, 08:51:35 PM
dublin 2.16 donegal 0.13 2 goals right at the end flatter the dubs tbh no way was there 9 points between them 2 teams tonight
Thanks for the update
Two hops from Cullen for the goal.
The Dubs have built a serious squad when you look at the players they were missing tonight.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 24, 2012, 09:20:28 PM
Two hops from Cullen for the goal.
Get up the yard.
Quote from: donegal lad on March 24, 2012, 08:49:58 PM
the result not a true reflection on the game imo we played well but are to reliant on murphy
martin mchugh on highland was saying the same thing. he felt we were better running at dub defence and should run it and create space from running down the flanks more, which dubs did very effectively tonight. we looked more open at the back, but not leaky. decent enough performance from us and we'll see against armagh what we're learned from tonight.
A dire game...........2 goals at the end flattered us big time........................the application of donegals workrate is immense, however its too much to do for the 70 mins
Mixed enough from us tonight. Game should have been over at halftime. 9 wides and 3 goal chances missed. Not good. Played headless stuff for first 15 mins of second half. Think Donegal legs were gone with 10 mins left. That and loss of Murphy had Donegal shift from methodical hand pass after hanpass after hanpass to some ultra manic form of hand passing at 100 miles an hour. Does nobody in Donegal actually prefer to kick the ball even occasionally???
Mcguinness has real predicament. He hasn't got the players to adapt to more attacking approach. Guess it'll be more of the same from last year. Can't wait!!!
I actually admire Donegal............................ I mean so what if they play a particular style that isnt easy on the eye, its all about winning...................... McGuiness has a fine pair of balls, feck the begrudgers, keep at it lads
I actually thought it was an enjoyable game.
Plenty of accurate kick-passing.
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 24, 2012, 10:57:14 PM
A dire game...........2 goals at the end flattered us big time........................the application of donegals workrate is immense, however its too much to do for the 70 mins
the workrate will get better from us think jim doesnt care about the league at all they have only been training once a week for the last few weeks that would explain the lack of fitness in the last quarter of the game