Best of luck to the lad, only a too familiar site as another lad of youth is lost to emigration
As a fan of the American Football he may yet land a role there with some team, such are his skills of the arm ;)
Yep - best of luck to him
Best of luck to him.
He'll just be 'regular' Joe over there though.
Is it only for a few months or for a longer duration?
What age is Joe Sheridan?
Fair play till him.
Quote from: tbrick18 on March 12, 2012, 12:42:11 PM
Fair play till him.
27 according to the paper. Younger than I thought. Be around a while.
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 12, 2012, 10:35:40 AM
Best of luck to the lad, only a too familiar site as another lad of youth is lost to emigration
As a fan of the American Football he may yet land a role there with some team, such are his skills of the arm ;)
Aye, no better man for carrying the football into the endzone.
Hills are GREEN far away
Dont the WE all know that !!!
Quote from: Hound on March 12, 2012, 12:47:05 PM
Fair play till him.
Holy cow! I thought he had to be about 32, he is about some length of time. Maybe it's the lack of hair that makes him look older ;)
Good luck to him, but I'm glad he wont be there when we play yous next week!
Quote from: tbrick18 on March 13, 2012, 09:02:51 AM
Quote from: Hound on March 12, 2012, 12:47:05 PM
Fair play till him.
Holy cow! I thought he had to be about 32, he is about some length of time. Maybe it's the lack of hair that makes him look older ;)
Good luck to him, but I'm glad he wont be there when we play yous next week!
Tbrick, you might remember was the main man for Meath in the 2002 All Ireland minor final but Gerard O'Kane at full back played a stormer on him, managing to hold him scoreless and getting MOTM in the process as Derry waltzed the final. The reason I knew he was 27!
Best of luck to Joe
Down corner back Neil Mc Parland also kept him scoreless in the league last year. Not many can say they have done that. Fair play to him. Rightfully deserves his place and Damien Rafferty will have a lot of difficulty getting his place back.
As a louth man though, I can only say Sheridan going is a blessing. Baldy c**t
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on March 12, 2012, 10:35:40 AM
Not exactly ..
I see from Mc Enaney in the Indo that he had secured work in Ireland , but wanted to head off ..
"We've made every effort to keep him at home since he first raised the prospect of this a couple of weeks ago.
Employment was secured for him (in Ireland) if he wanted it, but he wanted to go. Unfortunately we've had to accept the decision."
Where's this American football connection coming from?
It was on the radio that he was taking up a role in construction, no mention of NFL in the article.
Maybe a tongue in cheek reference to his Touchdown against Louth there a couple of years back.
QuoteWhere's this American football connection coming from?
It was on the radio that he was taking up a role in construction, no mention of NFL in the article.
Facepalm
Good luck to him. Maybe he'll be back. The US isn't for everyone.
I hope he's not a leftie and that he somehow meets TO and Stew while they are out hunting.
I thought he was 30 to be honest, we'll see him back if he's only 27. I wish him the best of luck, though like all the other young people leaving I resent his having to go.
Quote from: Ard-Rí on March 13, 2012, 04:45:56 PM
I thought he was 30 to be honest, we'll see him back if he's only 27. I wish him the best of luck, though like all the other young people leaving I resent his having to go.
I think the point with this one is that Joe is chosing to go. Fair play, he's right to see a bit of the world if that's what he wants to do. A year in New York and he'll be fresh and mad for road when he gets back.
Lads he's hardly clambering onto a coffin-ship.
No need for the mournful farewells.
Quote from: Jinxy on March 13, 2012, 04:58:42 PM
exactly, fucks sake lads, he's heading to the states on the sauce for a few months, he had a job here. No doubt clubs are hugely hit, but this emigration does get hyped up. The irish indo had a rubbish article, this is the best they could come up with:
Niall Corkery (Dublin)
Brian White, Mick Fanning, John O'Brien (Louth)
Tommy Freeman (Monaghan)
tommy freeman went away for the summer for gods sake, and the them 3 louth lads, god knows how many times i've read about them coming or going. The gaa at county level is hardly badly hit
Quote from: Orchardman on March 13, 2012, 05:09:55 PM
exactly, f**ks sake lads, he's heading to the states on the sauce for a few months, he had a job here. No doubt clubs are hugely hit, but this emigration does get hyped up. The irish indo had a rubbish article, this is the best they could come up with:
Niall Corkery (Dublin)
Brian White, Mick Fanning, John O'Brien (Louth)
Tommy Freeman (Monaghan)
tommy freeman went away for the summer for gods sake, and the them 3 louth lads, god knows how many times i've read about them coming or going. The gaa at county level is hardly badly hit
Stephen Ormsby the Roscommon corner back is moving to Warwickshire
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 13, 2012, 04:56:44 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on March 13, 2012, 04:45:56 PM
I think the point with this one is that Joe is chosing to go. Fair play, he's right to see a bit of the world if that's what he wants to do. A year in New York and he'll be fresh and mad for road when he gets back.
If that's the case then fair enough, and I agree that he's right to do it. It's just that I wouldn't have been surprised if it wasn't.
County level is one thing, but 13 lads from the first team panel in my area left in the last couple of years.
yea, i know of a few clubs who have lost over 10 proper first team players, not just micky mouse names, and its sad. Don't think the GAA can do that much about, its a society issue in general. When i was in oz around 2005, kevin hughes and brian mcguigan went for a year, this was the height of celtic tiger ireland and just after winning an all ireland, people didnt call it emigration at the time when we wer all going.
Just realised the clare hurling captain from a year or so ago did emigrate to oz, so that was maybe a big a loss an any. Kieron Toner from armagh has gone to oz, and is the only one from recent years that i know off, and some reckon he'll be back for summer.
by the way, enjoy urself out there big joe
I hear he's on the way back ..
As some of us said he would be, so much for the tearful farewells posted on here! i'd say he had good craic in them 6 weeks though
Joe - home before the postcards.
Joe's back to try again for Meath! :P
Quote from: Orchardman on March 13, 2012, 11:20:33 PM
yea, i know of a few clubs who have lost over 10 proper first team players, not just micky mouse names, and its sad. Don't think the GAA can do that much about, its a society issue in general. When i was in oz around 2005, kevin hughes and brian mcguigan went for a year, this was the height of celtic tiger ireland and just after winning an all ireland, people didnt call it emigration at the time when we wer all going.
Just realised the clare hurling captain from a year or so ago did emigrate to oz, so that was maybe a big a loss an any. Kieron Toner from armagh has gone to oz, and is the only one from recent years that i know off, and some reckon he'll be back for summer.
by the way, enjoy urself out there big joe
Was back today or yesterday
Just in time to lead Meath to a historic All-Ireland victory!
Over Wicklow. Maybe.
I see Peadar Byrne is back in the panel and Mark Ward will miss the Leinster championship.
Peader for midfield?