GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: bennydorano on February 08, 2012, 08:28:28 PM

Title: Kerry v Armagh
Post by: bennydorano on February 08, 2012, 08:28:28 PM
Hopefully the unmerciful hiding that we thought Cork might deliver wont be delivered this weekend.  As regarding the Armagh team, the team that finished v Cork should be near enough our starting team, I'd really like to see Dyas drop back to 7 and F Mo dropped, I think he is a bit of a liability.  I'd be very suprised if Kingham gets the nod again, but with our options fairly limited and the performance of Mal Mackin v Cork I'd imagine he might get a chance at 14, if he doesn't take it I reckon he'll not feature again.  Because of the need for physicality we might see something like:

Geoghan
Mallon, donaghy, McKenna
Duffy, McKeever, Dyas
Vernon, Lavery
A Duffy, Mackin, MOR/Forker
Campbell, Kingham, C Rafferty.
Title: Re: Kerry v Armagh
Post by: Armaghgael on February 08, 2012, 09:46:18 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on February 08, 2012, 08:28:28 PM
Hopefully the unmerciful hiding that we thought Cork might deliver wont be delivered this weekend.  As regarding the Armagh team, the team that finished v Cork should be near enough our starting team, I'd really like to see Dyas drop back to 7 and F Mo dropped, I think he is a bit of a liability.  I'd be very suprised if Kingham gets the nod again, but with our options fairly limited and the performance of Mal Mackin v Cork I'd imagine he might get a chance at 14, if he doesn't take it I reckon he'll not feature again.  Because of the need for physicality we might see something like:

Geoghan
Mallon, donaghy, McKenna
Duffy, McKeever, Dyas
Vernon, Lavery

Mackin is nailed on for midfield

Not at FF
Post by: Midman on February 08, 2012, 10:05:55 PM
hoping Niall gets his game in nets as I think he's done well  and that they spell his name right :-) its Geoghegan
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 09, 2012, 01:11:23 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on February 08, 2012, 08:28:28 PM

Geoghan
Mallon, donaghy, McKenna
Duffy, McKeever, Dyas
Vernon, Lavery

Ah jaysus, coming down to Tralee and you want to drop you're only player with Kerry heritage? ;D

Seriously though, we will field pretty much the same team, maybe Seán Sullivan will get the high road, not sure. Looking forward to it now...usually good hard games between us.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 09, 2012, 10:28:57 AM
Many Armagh folk heading down?
Post by: Applesisapples on February 09, 2012, 11:25:42 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 09, 2012, 10:28:57 AM
A long way to go for a pasting, although i hope the play like they did second half Sunday which should keep the score respectable.
Post by: orchard 8195 on February 09, 2012, 01:29:57 PM
Whats the story with kennelly is he coming back to the panel this year? sorry if this has been stated already have been outve the loop for a while with all things GAA.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 09, 2012, 03:07:26 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on February 09, 2012, 11:25:42 AM
A long way to go for a pasting, although i hope the play like they did second half Sunday which should keep the score respectable.

But sure it'll be good craic!  ;)
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 09, 2012, 04:35:46 PM
From Armagh point of view one would hope Kerry are more at ease after beating the Dubs, maybe Armagh will sneak in for another unexpected draw.

Post by: Keane on February 09, 2012, 04:56:24 PM
I certainly think Armagh have every chance to cover the spread, but I'd expect Kerry to get the result alright.
Post by: ardchieftain on February 09, 2012, 10:55:05 PM
Team announced

1 Niall Geoghegan
2 Andy Mallon
3 Brendan Donaghy
4 Declan McKenna
5 Kevin Dyas
6 Ciaran McKeever
7 Finnian Moriarty
8 Charlie Vernon
9 Malachy Mackin
10 Aidan Forker
11 Brian Mallon
12 Anto Duffy
13 Caolan Rafferty
14 Stefan Campbell
15 Eugene McVerry

16 Philip McEvoy
17 Paul Duffy
18 David Lavery
19 Mark Shields
20 Billy Joe Padden
21 Paul Carvill
22 James Lavery
23 Ryan Rafferty
24 Colm Watters
25 John Kingham
26 Michael Stevenson

Post by: Agent Orange on February 09, 2012, 11:23:35 PM

Hard to beat a weekend in Kerry.

Does anyone know if Niall Geoghegan is any relation to Billy?
Post by: lawnseed on February 09, 2012, 11:36:35 PM
is the game on telly/line?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 09, 2012, 11:53:25 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 09, 2012, 11:36:35 PM

Setanta One.
Post by: bennydorano on February 10, 2012, 08:21:04 AM
Very attack minded looking team there, mightn't be the right  option for this game thou, but after the dung that's been forced upon us these past few years it's good to see the change in emphasis.  There's a distinct lack of physicality in that forward line thou - Kerry are knaves & will try and batter the childer.
Post by: Santino on February 10, 2012, 09:59:25 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 09, 2012, 11:53:25 PM

Setanta One.

Anyone know any bars in newry area with setanta that would be showing it? Thanks in advance
Post by: Ulick on February 10, 2012, 10:52:37 AM
Kerry v Armagh (Sat)
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/16979735 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/16979735)

There are four changes to the Orchard line-up for the NFL Division One clash against Kerry at Tralee (1900 GMT).

Aidan Forker, Caolan Rafferty, Stefan Campbell and Brian Mallon come in while Colm Watters, Paul Carvill, John Kingham and Paul Duffy drop out.

Aidan O'Mahony replaces Peter Crowley in the Kingdom team while Anthony Maher takes over from Seamus Scanlon and Declan O'Sullivan is on the bench.

Armagh drew 0-10 to 1-7 with Cork in their league opener last weekend.

Kerry: B Kealy, S Enright, M O se, B Maguire, T O Se, K Young, A O'Mahony, A Maher, B Sheehan, P Galvin, Darran O'Sullivan, S O'Sullivan, J O'Donoghue, K Donaghy, BJ Keane.

Armagh: N Geoghegan, A Mallon, B Donaghy, D McKenna, K Dyas, C McKeever, F Moriarty, C Vernon, M Machin, A Forker, B Mallon, A Duffy, C Rafferty, S Campbell, E McVerry.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 10, 2012, 12:00:20 PM
Like the look of the Armagh team this week, seems more balanced then the team against Cork. Dyas half back his best position? if Makin can have the same influence he had against Cork we'll not be to far away?

Is there many people traveling to Kerry?
Post by: naka on February 10, 2012, 02:12:41 PM
Quote from: Santino on February 10, 2012, 09:59:25 AM

Setanta One.

Anyone know any bars in newry area with setanta that would be showing it? Thanks in advance

CANAL COURT
Post by: borderfox on February 10, 2012, 03:00:06 PM
Quote from: Santino on February 10, 2012, 09:59:25 AM

Setanta One.

The Golf Club (Forkhill Rd) will be showing the match
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 10, 2012, 03:53:36 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 10, 2012, 12:00:20 PM
Like the look of the Armagh team this week, seems more balanced then the team against Cork. Dyas half back his best position? if Makin can have the same influence he had against Cork we'll not be to far away?

See you down there. Darcy's & some Sportsmans bar i'm told are the places to go...

Wee pint in Nenagh to break the journey (& catch the soccerball.)
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 10, 2012, 05:38:56 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 10, 2012, 03:53:36 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 10, 2012, 12:00:20 PM

See you down there. Darcy's & some Sportsmans bar i'm told are the places to go...

Wee pint in Nenagh to break the journey (& catch the soccerball.)

good idea im sure we'll meet cant see a masive surport going down.

Pitty they could have played it with a double header with the Cross v's Crokes game would have been a great day of footy.
Post by: Keane on February 10, 2012, 05:46:11 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 10, 2012, 05:38:56 PM
Pitty they could have played it with a double header with the Cross v's Crokes game would have been a great day of footy.

That would have been deadly alright.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 10, 2012, 05:46:54 PM
Quote from: Keane on February 10, 2012, 05:46:11 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 10, 2012, 05:38:56 PM

That would have been deadly alright.

GAA dont be thinking half the time do they?
Post by: Armaghgael on February 10, 2012, 07:45:21 PM
Heading to the game. Any thing worth going to see?
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 11, 2012, 11:36:13 AM
Will this be streamed online live does anyone know?
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 11, 2012, 12:02:16 PM
Quote from: Armaghgael on February 10, 2012, 07:45:21 PM

The Sam maguire.... o wait Dublin won it last year...
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 11, 2012, 06:50:08 PM
Any links to this match?
Post by: Oraisteach on February 11, 2012, 06:55:07 PM
I'm going to listen on Radio Kerry
Post by: our_fella on February 11, 2012, 07:13:57 PM
1-02 to 0-00 to Armagh... Brian Mallon got goal
Post by: our_fella on February 11, 2012, 07:16:51 PM
1-03 to 0-00
Post by: our_fella on February 11, 2012, 07:20:40 PM
1-03 to 0-01
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 11, 2012, 07:23:03 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 11, 2012, 12:02:16 PM

Oh great, Nordies in Kerry impressing us with their great "wit". You are so welcome to the Kingdom (Not).
Post by: Armaghgeddon on February 11, 2012, 07:26:59 PM
1.3 to 0.2
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 11, 2012, 07:34:31 PM
Armagh 1-3 Kerry 0-3
Post by: ross4life on February 11, 2012, 07:35:39 PM
Any fog down in Kerry?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 11, 2012, 07:36:58 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 11, 2012, 07:35:39 PM
Any fog down in Kerry?

Perfect conditions according to the radio
Post by: theticklemister on February 11, 2012, 07:39:56 PM
Any wind down there, have a bet on the line!!!
Post by: Armaghgeddon on February 11, 2012, 07:41:40 PM
Armagh 1-4
Kerry 0-3

HT
Post by: armaghniac on February 11, 2012, 07:50:39 PM
Great crowd. Result going the right way too. Anyone on the spread should make it.
Post by: ross4life on February 11, 2012, 07:56:45 PM
It's live on Setanta now another goal for Armagh looking good for the win now.
Post by: bigtogs on February 11, 2012, 07:57:31 PM
some start to second half
Post by: Armaghgeddon on February 11, 2012, 07:57:57 PM
Kingham goal
Post by: bigtogs on February 11, 2012, 08:01:00 PM
that pitch is in bad state
Post by: Armaghgeddon on February 11, 2012, 08:04:55 PM
rafferty off for BJP
Post by: Orior on February 11, 2012, 08:06:14 PM
Kerry comeback started yet?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on February 11, 2012, 08:09:19 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 11, 2012, 08:06:14 PM
Kerry comeback started yet?

Starting now
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 11, 2012, 08:11:23 PM
Armagh 2-4 Kerry 0-7

20 mins to go
Post by: ONeill on February 11, 2012, 08:15:05 PM
What radio station is covering it?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on February 11, 2012, 08:15:52 PM
Forker point

2-5 to 0-7
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 11, 2012, 08:16:35 PM
Armagh 2-7 Kerry 0-7

14 mins left
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 11, 2012, 08:18:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 11, 2012, 08:15:05 PM
What radio station is covering it?

Radio Kerry
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 11, 2012, 08:19:45 PM
Armagh 2-7 Kerry 0-8

11 mins left
Post by: Armaghgeddon on February 11, 2012, 08:19:52 PM
Why have Armagh changed goalkeepers?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 11, 2012, 08:23:26 PM
Tomas O Se red card for a knee.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 11, 2012, 08:26:21 PM
Big point for Colm Watters.  2-8 to 0-8.
Post by: bcarrier on February 11, 2012, 08:26:37 PM
Is paddy still Armagh manager ?
Post by: Orchardman on February 11, 2012, 08:30:06 PM
Armagh for sam
Post by: bigtogs on February 11, 2012, 08:33:26 PM
well done armagh.
Post by: zoyler on February 11, 2012, 08:33:39 PM
EEEEEEEHHHAAAAAAAA

Where's Kerrymike when you need him!!!!!

Who cares there's no Rugby !!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Orior on February 11, 2012, 08:33:48 PM
D'unbeliveable
Post by: borderfox on February 11, 2012, 08:35:41 PM
Great result in the muck. Another 3 points and were probably safe from relegation. :D
Post by: ross4life on February 11, 2012, 08:36:27 PM
Out of interest what was the odds on a 4pt win for Armagh?
Post by: ardchieftain on February 11, 2012, 08:36:47 PM
Feel silly only backing Armagh on the handicap !!!

ARD MHACHA ABU
Post by: emainmacha on February 11, 2012, 08:39:01 PM
Allianz FL Division 1
Kerry 0-10 2-08 Armagh, Tralee FT
Tomás Ó Sé sent off in the 62nd minute
Finnian Moriarty sent off in the 70th minute

Allianz FL Division 3
Cavan 0-07 0-10 Longford, Kingspan Breffni Park FT

Allianz FL Division 4
Waterford 0-21 0-04 Kilkenny, Fraher Field FT

AIB All-Ireland club IHC final
Mount Leinster Rangers (Carlow) 1-12 1-10 Middletown (Armagh), Croke Park, 7.15pm

Allianz FL Division 1
Mayo 0-05 0-08 Dublin, McHale Park Abandoned at half time
James McCarthy sent off in the 25th minute for Dublin

AIB All-Ireland club SHC semi-finals
Coolderry 3-16 0-17 Gort, Gaelic Grounds FT

Loughgiel Shamrocks 0-27 2-13 Na Piarsaigh, Parnell Park AET

Senior All-Ireland Inter-County Hurling Vocational Schools Final
Kilkenny 0-08 0-12 Galway Thomastown GAA Club, Kilkenny FT

AIB All-Ireland club JHC final
St Patrick's (Kilkenny) 1-13 1-12 Charleville (Cork), Croke Park FT

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/gaa/82809/
Post by: Armamike on February 11, 2012, 08:40:32 PM
Get in there!

Sounded like a very good performance. Mackin, Anto Duffy, Brendan Donaghey all seemed to have stormers.
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 11, 2012, 08:57:21 PM
What a result! Armagh's first win v Kerry since 2002 All Ireland final? Spillane will have sour puss on his face tonight.
Post by: Whishtup on February 11, 2012, 08:59:35 PM
Tidy looking outfit,this year, Armagh.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on February 11, 2012, 09:08:37 PM
Excellent win for Armagh and another great defensive performance, Donaghy deservedly got man of the match.
Post by: bennydorano on February 11, 2012, 09:23:56 PM
Well done Armagh, bodes well for the year ahead when you consider how many first teamers are missing, a few established boys will be looking over their shoulders - which can only be good for the team.
Post by: puskas on February 11, 2012, 09:24:59 PM
sweet
Post by: Armaghtothebone on February 11, 2012, 09:26:22 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 11, 2012, 08:57:21 PM
What a result! Armagh's first win v Kerry since 2003 All Ireland final? Spillane will have sour puss on his face tonight.

I'll give you the benefit ofthe doubt and assume you have had a celebratory drink or 2
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 11, 2012, 09:32:45 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on February 11, 2012, 09:26:22 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 11, 2012, 08:57:21 PM
What a result! Armagh's first win v Kerry since 2002 All Ireland final? Spillane will have sour puss on his face tonight.

I'll give you the benefit ofthe doubt and assume you have had a celebratory drink or 2
Saturday night drinks alright  ;D 2002 i meant.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 11, 2012, 09:45:08 PM
Superb result. Disappointed I didn't get down now. Two swallows don't make a summer but the performance levels have been far beyond what we had any right to expect at the start of the year. They appear to be a transformed outfit, the 3 points kicked after Kerry appeared to be fighting back were crucial. Aiden Forker was superb and looks like a real talent. Great to see Brendan Donaghy producing that performance after being well roasted by Kieran Donaghy last year. What appeared to be a struggle to stay in the division now looks like a battle for a spot in the semi-finals! No guarantees mind you.
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 11, 2012, 10:24:21 PM
Really great result, though not exactly what I was expecting. Hugely impressed by our defence who managed for the most part to keep Kerry out of the scoring zone. Excellent full back line in particular and heartening to see that we were prepared to attack and that we have a few forwards capable of taking points from distance. Really promising start to 2012.
Fierce amount of yapping by the Kerry players at the ref, especially K Donaghy and surprisingly, I thought, B Sheehan.
We stand a good chance of staying in Div 1.
Post by: brogin41 on February 11, 2012, 10:46:47 PM
Well done Armagh, deserved winners tonight, the best team won
Post by: rrhf on February 11, 2012, 10:54:51 PM
Congratulations to the kerry senior team on exploding the myth. Just wish tyrone was up there to show yes how to play football
Post by: Orangemac on February 11, 2012, 11:27:32 PM
Some result tonight. One thing coming back for a draw at home v Cork with 14 men but going down to Kerry and winning comfortably is another.

Another win would keep us in Div 1 which is great for the development of the team. With Andy Mallon,McKeever and Donaghy all on top form the defence looks good and the emergence of the McVerry and Forker with McParland to possibly get a chance later in the league bodes well.

There was talk on the radio that Ronan Clarke was on the comeback trail. Any truth in this?
Post by: LeoMc on February 12, 2012, 12:06:27 AM
And there are still the Cross players to come back, hopefully not until April though.
Positive looking signs for Armagh. Looks like we (Tyrone) will get a game after all.
Post by: Applesisapples on February 12, 2012, 12:29:43 AM
Gotta say I never expected this result. Well done to all.
I hope it's a sign of things to come. Ard Mhaca Abu!
Post by: BennyCake on February 12, 2012, 12:34:34 AM
Great performance lads. Well done. The long trip to the Kingdom was worth it just for that win. The lads got a great ovation leaving the field. Great night for Armagh.
Post by: Ulick on February 12, 2012, 02:24:54 AM
Is that the first time we ever beat a Kerry team featuring the "Star"?
Post by: DownFanatic on February 12, 2012, 02:36:05 AM
I hate to say it but Armagh for Sam is looking likely.
Post by: Etienne Lantier on February 12, 2012, 03:06:24 AM
Disappointment in Croke Park, but this was a nice surprise.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 12, 2012, 08:30:07 AM
Cue the raft of excuses from the Kingdom!
Post by: rrhf on February 12, 2012, 09:13:44 AM
It looked a savage sending off. There's no place for that on a football field.  We don't do things like that in kerry
Post by: jeepers on February 12, 2012, 11:40:56 AM
There cant be any excuses for that. Poor performance from kerry, the attitude looked all wrong from the throw in and Armagh made a dream start and kept the cushion all the way to the end.The second goal came at a perfect time too. Dunno what Tomaís was at, crazy stuff and he will be getting a nice ban for that. There was a spell in the second half where Kerry threatned to win it, dominated around the middle for a brief period but out of nowhere Armagh kicked 3 great points to increase the lead and finish it off. Re the moaning, well Donaghy is always at it, really annoys me but it was strange to see B Sheehan at it near the end, ive never seen him do it before.
Also Donaghy at fb for armagh was excellent
Post by: Orior on February 12, 2012, 11:53:08 AM
May I register my displeasure at players tweeting about massive hangovers. Yeah, it was a good win and they're entitled to celebrate, but it is not much of an example to set to young people.

You dont need me to remind you of the Glengormley family that are still searching for their son who fell into the river Lagan after a night out  a few weeks ago.
Post by: Don Johnson on February 12, 2012, 11:56:32 AM
Quote from: Orior on February 12, 2012, 11:53:08 AM
May I register my displeasure at players tweeting about massive hangovers. Yeah, it was a good win and they're entitled to celebrate, but it is not much of an example to set to young people.

You dont need me to remind you of the Glengormley family that are still searching for their son who fell into the river Lagan after a night out  a few weeks ago.

Jesus they beat Kerry on a Saturday night, with no match for three weeks and you are complaining about the boys going out? Catch a grip.
Post by: chipstick on February 12, 2012, 12:41:44 PM

Catch a grip on yourself.This has nothing to do with the tragedy that happened to the Murphy family.
Post by: pearseog on February 12, 2012, 12:46:51 PM
without sounding like Martin Johnson...amateur sportsman drinks after unexpected, hard earned victory -SHOCKER
catch a grip Orior
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 12, 2012, 01:02:24 PM
Orior maybe they're all like me, complete lightweights who get hungover on two Peroni  ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 12, 2012, 01:37:26 PM
That was a fantastic result and in my mind I have been happily proved wrong to date in much of my thoughts about things around the teams.  Straight up I have heard stories from a number of sources(non-Cross ones I might emphasize) which had suggested that things were not good around the squad and that PG was having his work cut out getting them to see things his way.  At half time last week against Cork my feelings seemed fully justified.  Whatever happened in the dressing room at HT last week seems to have lit torch in these boys and they have reacted fantastically.  The second half last week was good but I still had doubts as I felt Cork were not great and the lose of a man made it much easier for Armagh to pull back into the game so I was keeping my counsel on that a small bit.  Last nights performance was excellent from start to finish.  That was a very strong team Kerry had out.  2 O Se's, Galvin, Killian Young, the goalkeeper, O'Mahony, Sheehan, Maher, Darren O'S, Declan O'S, Donaghy, will all start championship this year. For Arnagh to travel to Tralee and get the result they did against such a strong team and in the manner in which they did is testament to the work that must be happening on the training field.  Also a small bit of self belief can go a long way.

Also in fairness to the Kerry men on the Radio Weeshie and the boys were very magnanimous and clearly called it that the better team won and questioned the Kerry tactics quite a lot.  I would say O'Connor will be under fierce pressure this year.  2 wins from the last 5 would guarantee safety and I reckon that is highly achieveable with games against Laois and Mayo being 2 very winnable games.
Post by: Agent Orange on February 12, 2012, 06:32:17 PM

No game for 3 weeks, they are entitled to a few beers after such a victory. Hell of a turnaround since the first half against Cork. Could and maybe should have won that one too. Top of the league and no complaints. Maybe you should stop tweeting and go for a pint yourself.
Post by: under the bar on February 12, 2012, 06:42:04 PM
QuoteJesus they beat Kerry on a Saturday night, with no match for three weeks and you are complaining about the boys going out? Catch a grip.

He's not complaining about the players going out.  He's making the very valid point that county players should not be tweeting about getting p*ssed.  Terrible example and Armagh county board should have a word about the responsibility that accompanies getting the jersey.  After all its mostly 11-15 year olds who read their inane tweets.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 12, 2012, 07:18:08 PM
Well done to Orchard heads on last nights result....well deserved, better team from the word go. A lot of negatives to be discussed on our side...Donaghy - proving he's not captaincy material once again. Moaning non-stop. Playing shite aswell. Tomás - losing the rag...again, gone for 2 months now probably. Idiotic. Seán Sullivan - end of the road. Etc. Positives, eh..Declan looked ok when he came on..Brian McGuire looked very good again..thats about it.

Lastly, have to comment on the referee unfortunately. Made at least 10 ridiculous calls in my view, for both teams. He has been shocking any time I've seen him and is not up to the standard required in my view.
Post by: seanaglis on February 12, 2012, 09:04:45 PM
Why did Kerry Boo Armagh onto the field, and boo at the end of the match?

Are armagh teams not allowed to go to Tralee and win. Bad sportsmanship
Post by: The Worker on February 12, 2012, 09:14:35 PM
Dont see an issue with the players having a drink after the game last night, and tweeting about it.

Post by: Canalman on February 12, 2012, 09:20:27 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on February 11, 2012, 10:24:21 PM
Really great result, though not exactly what I was expecting. Hugely impressed by our defence who managed for the most part to keep Kerry out of the scoring zone. Excellent full back line in particular and heartening to see that we were prepared to attack and that we have a few forwards capable of taking points from distance. Really promising start to 2012.
Fierce amount of yapping by the Kerry players at the ref, especially K Donaghy and surprisingly, I thought, B Sheehan.

Indeed the Yapping is something imo that has visibly crept into the Kerry game for the last 2 or 3 seasons. Very surprised that the management hasn't stamped it out.
Armagh should really build on this victory,  personally think that the basis of our (Dublin) win last year was the win in Killarney in the spring of 2010 after our filleting in 2009.
Post by: heffo on February 12, 2012, 09:35:01 PM
Quote from: Canalman on February 12, 2012, 09:20:27 PM

Indeed the Yapping is something imo that has visibly crept into the Kerry game for the last 2 or 3 seasons. Very surprised that the management hasn't stamped it out.
Armagh should really build on this victory,  personally think that the basis of our (Dublin) win last year was the win in Killarney in the spring of 2010 after our filleting in 2009.

The constant moaning at refs has been a feature of their game (especially with Donaghy) for about three years now.
Post by: Armamike on February 12, 2012, 10:20:10 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 12, 2012, 09:35:01 PM
Quote from: Canalman on February 12, 2012, 09:20:27 PM

The constant moaning at refs has been a feature of their game (especially with Donaghy) for about three years now.

Donaghy's a bad case. I remember him winning a free in last year's AI final and he was still yappng to the ref.  Seems to be his default setting.
Post by: kuht on February 12, 2012, 10:39:25 PM

The booing at the end was directed at the referee,
not sure about the start, possibly payback for croker last week were not only were kerry booed but dublin had fireworks and music and all coming on to the field. very unlikely though.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2012, 10:41:22 PM
Donaghy has form alright in the whinging department. Fond of the amateur dramatics. It'd suit him better to start knuckling down to playing football again, instead of believing his own hype.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 13, 2012, 02:35:19 AM
Quote from: seanaglis on February 12, 2012, 09:04:45 PM

Eh? I was there and I don't remember Armagh being boo'd onto the field....the booing at half-time/full-time was for the ref probably..but those trying to blame the ref for that defeat are deluding themselves.

Donaghy needs to be dropped until he shuts his trap..its doing nothing but damage to him AND the team..he was even captain Sat night for feck sake and it was worse he got. He's playing gash aswell.

Post by: JUst retired on February 13, 2012, 10:59:49 AM
Dont blame Donaghy,sure is he not of Tyrone extraction? Those Tyronies again. :D
Post by: Keane on February 13, 2012, 01:42:03 PM
There's a lot of talk since the game about attitude, motivation etc. which does a bit of a disservice to the sheer quality of the scores Armagh took under immense pressure in the second half. Really good performance by them on every level, it wasn't just a case of workmanlike journeymen out-muscling the footballers with the big heart by any means.

Not much to say re:Tomás O'Sé. He's always had a nasty streak, this is just the latest in a long line of indiscretions. He should be punished for intent, not outcome. There is no place for stuff like a knee to the balls in sport, he ought to be ashamed of himself in this instance. Wonderful player, but lets himself down too often.

Too many players throughout the team giving lip to refs, Donaghy is just the most frequent. It all needs to be cut right out. It's a symptom of players not taking responsibility for their own performances and is worrying. Players are casting about for someone to blame when things aren't going their way instead of finding it within themselves to up their level. That shit costs you in tight games and on big occasions.
Post by: armaghniac on February 13, 2012, 03:22:24 PM
QuotePlayers are casting about for someone to blame when things aren't going their way instead of finding it within themselves to up their level. That shit costs you in tight games and on big occasions.

I think a lot of players could learn from Mal Mackin. He's always put in an honest effort, but for many years it didn't quite work out for him. He stuck at it and has upped his game and is now an important part of the Armagh team. He certainly did the needful on Saturday last, long may he continue..
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 13, 2012, 03:42:48 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 13, 2012, 03:22:24 PM
QuotePlayers are casting about for someone to blame when things aren't going their way instead of finding it within themselves to up their level. That shit costs you in tight games and on big occasions.

I think a lot of players could learn from Mal Mackin. He's always put in an honest effort, but for many years it didn't quite work out for him. He stuck at it and has upped his game and is now an important part of the Armagh team. He certainly did the needful on Saturday last, long may he continue..

A player I once said I didn't rate... he has improved no end to be fair. His kicking especially. He was one of the main reasons Armagh won Sat night.
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on February 13, 2012, 03:47:20 PM
Quote from: Keane on February 13, 2012, 01:42:03 PM
There's a lot of talk since the game about attitude, motivation etc. which does a bit of a disservice to the sheer quality of the scores Armagh took under immense pressure in the second half. Really good performance by them on every level, it wasn't just a case of workmanlike journeymen out-muscling the footballers with the big heart by any means.

Not much to say re:Tomás O'Sé. He's always had a nasty streak, this is just the latest in a long line of indiscretions. He should be punished for intent, not outcome. There is no place for stuff like a knee to the balls in sport, he ought to be ashamed of himself in this instance. Wonderful player, but lets himself down too often.

Too many players throughout the team giving lip to refs, Donaghy is just the most frequent. It all needs to be cut right out. It's a symptom of players not taking responsibility for their own performances and is worrying. Players are casting about for someone to blame when things aren't going their way instead of finding it within themselves to up their level. That shit costs you in tight games and on big occasions.

Great post, very fair
Post by: armaghniac on February 13, 2012, 03:48:49 PM
QuoteA player I once said I didn't rate...

I suspect that two thirds of the Armagh posters have expressed doubts about him in the past.....
All the better that he has come into his own.

One good thing about the Armagh performance is that some long established players have found form (two Mallons, Mackin) as well as the newcomers. A good blend to have.
Post by: Armamike on February 13, 2012, 03:55:02 PM
To be fair to Kerry and those regulars who lined out, it was probably harder for them to lift themselves against mainly unknown opposition on a cold February night in a league game. But it's heartening to see a bit of quality coming through from the new faces in the Armagh team the past couple of games - hopefully it will continue. It looks like now, for the first time in many years, there is a bit of competition this year in the 6 forward positions which is great to see. With the players who are out injured or with Cross we have possibly 12 or 13 decent players fighting for 6 places, injuries permitting.

Post by: Keane on February 13, 2012, 04:08:45 PM
Cross being beaten next week would probably be the catalyst for a potentially great year for Armagh. If they could get those lads integrated back into the squad early it could only be a good thing for the county team.
Post by: armaghniac on February 13, 2012, 04:10:08 PM
QuoteIf they could get those lads integrated back into the squad early it could only be a good thing for the county team.

I suspect Cross will not want to make things worse for Kerry by depriving them of their key player any longer.  :)
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 13, 2012, 06:04:35 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 13, 2012, 04:10:08 PM
QuoteIf they could get those lads integrated back into the squad early it could only be a good thing for the county team.

I suspect Cross will not want to make things worse for Kerry by depriving them of their key player any longer.  :)

;D Very good. That game will be fascinating. Big contrast in styles, but qulaity footballers on both sides.

On Armagh, I'm sure most fans are sensible enough, but one good performance in February doesn't mean a whole lot so I would urge caution. On the positive side though, players looked well in tune with each other and the Cross players will obviously boost the team when they return. By the way, what height is that Kingham fella...looks huge togged out anyway.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 13, 2012, 08:18:10 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 11, 2012, 07:23:03 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 11, 2012, 12:02:16 PM

Oh great, Nordies in Kerry impressing us with their great "wit". football
Post by: johnpower on February 13, 2012, 10:42:17 PM
Good win by Armagh I think Kerry are sliping with the league needing to be used to get some new talent in. Armagh looked organgised  Interesting interview tonight on Kerry radio where Armagh selector mentioned that they have 5 injured forwards as well as the Crossmaglen contingent to come back.

He also mentioned that the Armagh backroom team were not very familar with the ref and used internet forums to get some info.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 14, 2012, 12:44:52 AM
Some win for Armagh, fair play to them. You'd have got massive odds on that!!
Post by: 5 Sams on February 14, 2012, 07:39:57 PM
Galvin tweeting that Kevin Dyas is a no bullshit good sportsman who plays football....on the other hand I'd love to know what McKeever said to Tomás :o
Post by: lawnseed on February 14, 2012, 08:19:41 PM
so who are waiting for from crossmaglen? i only see jamie and arron getting on at the moment
Post by: 5 Sams on February 14, 2012, 10:00:27 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 14, 2012, 08:19:41 PM
so who are waiting for from crossmaglen? i only see jamie and arron getting on at the moment

Cúl baire?? Young Cunningham might have a shout..I'd say one or two other Kernans would fancy a starting role also??
Post by: Armaghtothebone on February 14, 2012, 10:40:52 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 14, 2012, 10:00:27 PM

Cúl baire?? Young Cunningham might have a shout..I'd say one or two other Kernans would fancy a starting role also??

You heard it here first!!!

James Morgan will play senior championship football this year for Armagh
Post by: bennydorano on February 14, 2012, 10:54:06 PM
Certainly has looked a class act, hope he  marks Cooper on Saturday to see how he gets on.
Post by: johnpower on February 14, 2012, 11:00:50 PM

Post by: Applesisapples on February 15, 2012, 09:04:31 AM
Lads lets not get too carried away. Three great halves of football, we've been here before. I hope we can win another couple of matches against Down and Mayo which should see us safe. In the interests of Armagh football though I think Cross if they get to Paddy's Day and win should be made to retire undefeated from Club football!! :D
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 15, 2012, 09:12:49 AM
I think the benefit of having the cross lads back, is that it gives us plenty of options off the bench when we need to change things if & when chasing a game.
Post by: naka on February 15, 2012, 10:28:33 AM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on February 14, 2012, 10:40:52 PM

You heard it here first!!!

James Morgan will play senior championship football this year for Armagh

have to agree with this

can see sk,ak and hanratty as well as cunnimgham getting games this summer as well
Post by: LeoMc on February 15, 2012, 02:38:20 PM

A colleague of mine asked (albeit before the Cork game) how many of the Armagh team lining out would get on the Cross team!
Post by: Armamike on February 15, 2012, 06:16:44 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on February 15, 2012, 02:38:20 PM

A colleague of mine asked (albeit before the Cork game) how many of the Armagh team lining out would get on the Cross team!

A week or 2 is a long time in football!
Post by: LeoMc on February 16, 2012, 11:10:42 AM
Quote from: Armamike on February 15, 2012, 06:16:44 PM

A week or 2 is a long time in football!

70 minutes is a long time in football.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 17, 2012, 09:57:00 PM
Tomás on Seó Spóirt on TG4 talking about the disciplinary procedures and such right now... ::)

http://www.aertv.ie/#tg4 (http://www.aertv.ie/#tg4)
Post by: David McKeown on February 17, 2012, 11:00:23 PM
Talking about the disciplinary it seems O Se straight red was worthy of a one game (allbeit O Se's was doubled to two because he had been sent off in the last year) and Moriarity's two yellows meant a two week ban (when he wont miss a single game).  Am I right in thinking that under the current rules, players could end up with a longer ban for two yellows (potentially missing two matches depending on when they are banned) than they would had they received a straight red in the same match (potentially only one match).

Only the GAA would be able to come up with such a system
Post by: JUst retired on February 18, 2012, 08:29:56 AM
Yes,it took years to finally get ir right. ;D
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 18, 2012, 09:16:46 AM

Im struggling to think of that many players that started against Kerry that would get there place in the Cross championship team.

I dont think that the Cross managment team would swap any players. 

Personally i would have Mc Keever but we all know he wouldn't play for the Rangers

Any other's? 
Post by: DuffleKing on February 18, 2012, 11:02:03 AM
The reality (when its not midterm break) is that aaron and jamie would make the armagh team and tk, sk and morgan are able for the squad.

Club football is waaay below county stadard and thankfully Grimley will be well aware of that and won't waste time and places on the panel finding the rest out.

When cross hopefully win the all ireland that won't change things - club teams beat other club teams all the time but doesn't change the individual capabilities of the players.
Post by: Syferus on February 18, 2012, 11:31:26 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 18, 2012, 11:02:03 AM
The reality (when its not midterm break) is that aaron and jamie would make the armagh team and tk, sk and morgan are able for the squad.

Club football is waaay below county stadard and thankfully Grimley will be well aware of that and won't waste time and places on the panel finding the rest out.

When cross hopefully win the all ireland that won't change things - club teams beat other club teams all the time but doesn't change the individual capabilities of the players.

At the top end there's not much at all between the best club teams and D4 and D3 teams. I'm sure there will have been instances of the top teams losing to clubs too. Brigids only let mighty Carlow score 1-2 in a match and regularly beat county teams.

Players from the undoubted best club in a county will allways be worth a look, especially if the county in question hasn't been particularly successful recently.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 20, 2012, 09:23:24 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 18, 2012, 11:02:03 AM

Paul Hearty will still be #1
I'd have Paul Kernan as back up to Donaghy (god forbid anything happened him!)
I'd have McKeown in as back up (We don't have many corner backs as good!)
If Titch got himself fit looking i'd have him & Hanratty on the verges of midfield starters
Cunningham would be pushing Anto Duffy for the wing forward position too.

That's 11!!!!