GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 10:47:44 PM

Title: Prime Time RTE - GAA Special
Post by: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 10:47:44 PM
Miriam will be getting stuck into the Jee-Aye-Aye on Thursday.
Payments to managers and the rising number of violent clipboard related incidents are up for discussion.
Title: Re: Prime Time RTE - GAA Special
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 07, 2012, 10:49:24 PM
Oh FFS. Just what we need.
Post by: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 10:53:41 PM
The Nordies making a show of us again.  ::)
Post by: sans pessimism on February 07, 2012, 11:00:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 10:53:41 PM
The Nordies making a show of us again.[b][/b]  ::)
well used to it on the board
Post by: Celt_Man on February 07, 2012, 11:03:58 PM
Oh here we go...

Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2012, 11:11:16 PM
Just in time for Derrytresk's All-Ireland Final. Nice timing...
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2012, 11:18:13 PM
Brill, another d4 tosspot in rte asking questions about something they no nothing about. I suppose tubridy should join in and then brush shields could be drafted in to translate the bogger gaa to the masses.
Post by: orangeman on February 07, 2012, 11:20:17 PM
Up for the match is in Derrytresk on Friday.
Post by: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 11:42:08 PM
'Up and over for the match.'
Post by: Orangemac on February 07, 2012, 11:48:37 PM
Is there an exclusive interview with handbag woman or do they have to use the voice of an actress to protect her identity?
Post by: theticklemister on February 07, 2012, 11:53:58 PM
I heard there interviewing 'Handbag lady' live!

-'So Mrs. Do ye tink that hitting him with the bag was severe?'

-' Ach no, a few fecking years ago I would be hitting him with the butt of my armalite for goodness sake, with a warning shot to the back of the head; sure I only bliming tapped him!'

-'Do you think your ban was severe?'

-''It was bliming surly, sure it could of been worse; I could been banned for 11 months instead of 48 weeks.'

-'Will you take this to the appeal's court?'

- 'No. I'm gonna take it to big Murphy and O'Neiil up in Carrickmore they usually sort out, what we call....... Ahem..... 'issues' up here. No better men for the job and they always get the job done.'

- 'Will you be decommissioning the handbag now?'

- ' Not a f**king chance, I'm not like those Shinners.'

-' So overall, do you think Derrytresk will win the final with all the suspensions and with you yourself personally won't be there?'

- 'As I said earlier, Big Murphy and O'Neill will get the job done and we will be present in Croker and these boys are that good that we will have bloody Canavan and Stephen O'Neill in the full forward line for us on the day. Now see ya later I'm away to break down and clean the handbag for the weekend. See ya in Croker!!.'
Post by: Pangurban on February 07, 2012, 11:56:42 PM
Those rugger loving executives will never miss a chance to bash and denigrate the G.A.A., the Catholic Church, or, anything that reeks slightly of Nationalism
Post by: Nally Stand on February 08, 2012, 12:06:47 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on February 07, 2012, 11:56:42 PM
Those rugger loving executives will never miss a chance to bash and denigrate the G.A.A., the Catholic Church, or, anything that reeks slightly of Nationalism

Yup  :-\
Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2012, 12:22:46 AM

http://twitter.com/#!/HeraldRacing (http://twitter.com/#!/HeraldRacing)
HeraldRacing Niall Cronin
'RTE Head Of Sport Ryle Nugent follows 85 on Twitter.Just 1 is a current sportsperson outside rugby.Does this matter or is it poor reflection.'
Post by: Tubberman on February 08, 2012, 07:40:23 AM

The catholic church has fck all to do with irish nationalism in modern ireland. The church is the creator of it's own downfall, don't equate it with the gaa ffs.
Post by: anglocelt39 on February 08, 2012, 07:47:32 AM
Balanced enough looking panel for the discussion so lets not rush to prejudge, confirmed so far are Eoghan Harris, the Right Honorable Kevin Myarse of Irish Indo Fame. The more traditional GAA view of things will be presented by Fintan O Toole.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 08, 2012, 09:43:31 AM
Prime time should be told to f**k away for themselves. The peoplecwho partake in this show shouldn't bother. There are far more issues Primetime could deal with i.e FG + Labour's shortcomings. I await the rugby special after the team lost to Wales. I know I'll be a long time waiting.
Post by: seafoid on February 08, 2012, 09:45:54 AM
Why all the defensiveness?  Jesus, ye are worse than Donegal in an all-Ireland semifinal   ::)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on February 08, 2012, 10:09:56 AM
rte eh......................... brazzers last night, now the gaa............................ shame on them
Post by: cornafean on February 08, 2012, 10:29:45 AM
How many innocent Parish Priests will they doorstep for this programme ???
Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2012, 10:31:31 AM
I look forward to plenty of ominous music and moody camera shots.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 08, 2012, 10:33:31 AM
Can we have an over/under bet on the phrase 'Cancer in the GAA'? Let's set the line at 4.5
Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2012, 10:52:30 AM
That has the makings of a good drinking game AZ.
Post by: Hardy on February 08, 2012, 11:01:00 AM
Leaving aside the fact that RTÉ has a brass neck to continue to trot out nags from the proven corrupt "Prime Time" stable, the composition of the panel doesn't suggest the intent to do a hatchet job on the GAA. O'Toole is a Dublin supporter, often seen in Croke Park and Myers (yes, surprisingly) judging by many of his columns down the years, is very positively disposed towards the GAA. I don't know Harris's attitude. I expect he'd be pro-GAA as well, but it doesn't matter as people pay as much attention to his doolally musings as they do to Spongebob Squarepants.
Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2012, 11:14:26 AM
I expect plenty of utterances along the lines of 'This never happens in rugby loike' from Miriam.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 08, 2012, 11:21:47 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 10:47:44 PM
Payments to managers and the rising number of violent clipboard related incidents are up for discussion.

Both happen.

Another chestnut that will be uttered I suspect is  "It is a results business".

Can we bet the Genie back in the box?
Post by: Canalman on February 08, 2012, 11:29:25 AM
Not Myers' biggest fan by any means but as posted already he is always imo anyway very complimentary of the GAA in Ireland and I think alot of people will be surprised.

Post by: Rossfan on February 08, 2012, 12:06:42 PM
I hope so because I don't see anything positive coming from the other pair.
O'Toole will say that what's wrong with the GAA stems from it being a "conservative rural " organisation while the other yoke will be full of "the GAA let the Provos take it over " and all decent people left it then so only thugs remain blah blah.
Post by: cornafean on February 08, 2012, 12:27:13 PM
Myers (temporarily hosting The Last Word at the time) tipped Cavan to beat Kerry in 1997.

Harris' Sindo columns are occasionally good for a GAA yarn, particularly when Cork are going well.
Post by: AQMP on February 08, 2012, 12:49:11 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2012, 11:01:00 AM
Leaving aside the fact that RTÉ has a brass neck to continue to trot out nags from the proven corrupt "Prime Time" stable, the composition of the panel doesn't suggest the intent to do a hatchet job on the GAA. O'Toole is a Dublin supporter, often seen in Croke Park and Myers (yes, surprisingly) judging by many of his columns down the years, is very positively disposed towards the GAA. I don't know Harris's attitude. I expect he'd be pro-GAA as well, but it doesn't matter as people pay as much attention to his doolally musings as they do to Spongebob Squarepants.

Aye maybe so Hardy, but they're all tossers!
Post by: sheamy on February 08, 2012, 12:53:12 PM
(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00334/Miriam_Indo_334930g.jpg)

It had to be done (for the purposes of debate of course)
Post by: ziggysego on February 08, 2012, 01:12:14 PM
Quote from: Canalman on February 08, 2012, 11:29:25 AM
Not Myers' biggest fan by any means but as posted already he is always imo anyway very complimentary of the GAA in Ireland and I think alot of people will be surprised.

Yeah, but in Myers' eyes will be a disease in nordie GAA, heavily influenced by Sinn Fein / IRA.

What to you see.
Post by: sheamy on February 08, 2012, 01:20:52 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 08, 2012, 01:12:14 PM
Quote from: Canalman on February 08, 2012, 11:29:25 AM

Yeah, but in Myers' eyes will be a disease in nordie GAA, heavily influenced by Sinn Fein / IRA.

What to you see.

He wouldn't be far wrong. There's a dangerous, poisonous element in the gaa in the north. They are reactionary and unpredictable and operate within strict military rules. They threaten the 'peeple of ayrland' with their wicked ways. Let the Donnybrook dogs of war off the leash I say...

(http://www.donegalpost.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/OSC_7408.jpg)
Post by: Denn Forever on February 08, 2012, 01:32:46 PM
Why is there a poster of Jim McGuiness?

A lot wrong with Football but lets no get personal.
Post by: seafoid on February 08, 2012, 01:56:18 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 08, 2012, 11:21:47 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 07, 2012, 10:47:44 PM

Both happen.

Another chestnut that will be uttered I suspect is  "It is a results business".

Can we bet the Genie back in the box?
It's a hunger business. Results are a function of the hunger for the ball.

Following the collapse of the tiger and the trials and tribulations of the catholic church there are not so many Irish institutions left standing. The GAA is one of the few that could stand on its own compared to any international equivalent. Sure there is the bit of fighting and some noise over paying of various people but the GAA as an organisation has far more integrity than FIFA, the International Cricket Board and the crowd that run cycling, to name just 3.   

As Harry Bohan said about Clare a few years ago it is hard to imagine the county without the hurling team. It is very hard to imagine Ireland without the GAA. 
Post by: anglocelt39 on February 08, 2012, 07:09:01 PM
christ lads the Harris/Myarse/O'Toole bit was just me having an early morning rant.
Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2012, 07:46:04 PM
Ian O'Doherty has been added to the panel.
"Who?" I hear you cry.
Exactly.
Post by: muppet on February 08, 2012, 07:48:49 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 07, 2012, 11:18:13 PM
Brill, another d4 tosspot in rte asking questions about something they no nothing about. I suppose tubridy should join in and then brush shields could be drafted in to translate the bogger gaa to the masses.

Yea, they always go for the lazy stereotypes in D4.
Post by: ck on February 08, 2012, 09:27:21 PM
When is this show on lads? I'm in London for work this week so want to try and get it on-line or Sky
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2012, 12:28:38 AM
No Brush-bashing please.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 09, 2012, 07:26:08 AM
Quote from: sheamy on February 08, 2012, 12:53:12 PM
(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00334/Miriam_Indo_334930g.jpg)

It had to be done (for the purposes of debate of course)

I see you and I raise you

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3010/5740736682_aebf9d20b2.jpg)
Post by: Bord na Mona man on February 09, 2012, 09:47:14 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 08, 2012, 07:46:04 PM
"Who?" I hear you cry.
Exactly.
Do you have a source for this info? Presumably you're winding up about the panellists.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 09, 2012, 10:27:51 AM
Quote from: ck on February 08, 2012, 09:27:21 PM
When is this show on lads? I'm in London for work this week so want to try and get it on-line or Sky

Can you not get it on the iPlayer when you get back?
Post by: cornafean on February 09, 2012, 11:31:41 AM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on February 08, 2012, 07:09:01 PM
christ lads the Harris/Myarse/O'Toole bit was just me having an early morning rant.

Good fun all the same, although we should have seen through it as both Myers and Harris have both been blackballed by RTE for ages.
Post by: Hardy on February 09, 2012, 11:55:53 AM
Quote from: cornafean on February 09, 2012, 11:31:41 AM

Good fun all the same, although we should have seen through it as both Myers and Harris have both been blackballed by RTE for ages.

Yeah, good man - got me too, though that's not hard.

Anyway, I heard them touting the programme this morning on the radio and it seems it's going to be about payments to managers only.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 09, 2012, 12:30:45 PM
Quote from: ck on February 08, 2012, 09:27:21 PM

Or Saorsat?

Quote from: mick999 on February 08, 2012, 10:17:32 AM
Quote from: ludermor on February 08, 2012, 09:13:09 AM
Is there any way of picking up RTE in England? I know a few lads who have irish sky boxes which works but the place im in had BTvision

Saorsat might be an option , which is the satellite version of saorview, but coverage will be very limited as it is a spot beam focused on Ireland :

(http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=188618&stc=1&d=1326717128)

More info here:

http://www.saortv.info/satellite-saorsat/
http://www.satellitetv.ie/shop/index.php?controller=product&path=27&product_id=352
http://www.techtir.ie/saortv/saorsat
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055968485
Post by: cornafean on February 09, 2012, 12:46:40 PM
Saorsat must be some joke of a service if the licence payers in Plymouth and Brest are to get better RTE coverage than their counterparts on the Inishowen peninsula.
Post by: anglocelt39 on February 09, 2012, 07:02:39 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 09, 2012, 11:55:53 AM
Quote from: cornafean on February 09, 2012, 11:31:41 AM

Yeah, good man - got me too, though that's not hard.

Anyway, I heard them touting the programme this morning on the radio and it seems it's going to be about payments to managers only.

Undue self effacement there Hardy I'd say that in general I'd need to be up before going to bedtime to catch you out, as a rule.
Post by: LilySavage on February 09, 2012, 07:08:22 PM
[quote author=Jinxy

"Who?" I hear you cry.

This clown will try shove his anti GAA views down our necks. Hes exactly the p***k who would stand talking to his nerd mates about how backward the GAA is . Wait till u see if he appears on the show..
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2012, 07:29:48 PM
Archbishop Desmond Tutu is a late call up to the panel.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 09, 2012, 08:56:12 PM
The panel & all the goys are rushing back from the RDS as we speak. Leinster stuffed Treviso tonight in the real RTE game.
Post by: panc56 on February 09, 2012, 09:29:49 PM
They are bound to drag in Marty for it.
Post by: anglocelt39 on February 09, 2012, 09:34:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 09, 2012, 07:29:48 PM
Archbishop Desmond Tutu is a late call up to the panel.

Elvis and John Lennon confirmed late additions to the panel, reports of them riding bareback on Shergar down the Merrion Road 30 minutes ago.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 09, 2012, 09:41:05 PM
Meath getting plenty of airtime! ;D
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 09, 2012, 09:43:30 PM
96 brawl those where the days.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 09, 2012, 09:46:44 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 09, 2012, 09:43:30 PM
96 brawl those where the days.

When Meath men were Men!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 09, 2012, 09:52:03 PM
Enraged with that line about clubs suffering due to debts incurred on "ill-advised projects" undertaken in the last decade. Now my own club, like most others, has its debts but to describe the effort and commitment we expended in building a clubhouse and purchasing a new pitch to cater for all our underage teams is an absolute insult.
Post by: theticklemister on February 09, 2012, 09:56:45 PM
Quick question - what position did Tommy Carr predominatly play for the dubs back in the day?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 09, 2012, 09:57:44 PM
Midfield.

And Tommy, it's ReMuneration, not Renumeration
Post by: ross4life on February 09, 2012, 10:01:31 PM
Could RTE not get someone better than Tommy Carr? i guess the same could be said about ourselves.
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2012, 10:08:23 PM
The attitude seems to be that the genie is out of the bottle.
Would everyone agree that it's too late to put him back in?
I think more distinction needs to be made between intercounty and club management.
Note to Tommy Carr: 'Clubs' are where the players you manage at intercounty level come from.
He seems to think Ballydehobs junior team have a fitness coach, statistician, psychologist, psychiatrist, physiologist and podiatrist in the dressing room on match days.
Is it beyond us to implement a rule at club level that all mentors must be members of that club?
Is the 'outside manager' culture so ingrained now that there's no turning back?
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2012, 10:10:52 PM
I thought it was a bit off what Miriam said at the end.
She sounded disappointed she didn't get to discuss violence and the impact of rugby on the GAA.
WTF has rugby got to do with anything?
Post by: ONeill on February 09, 2012, 10:12:59 PM
The best bit was Meath v Mayo.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 09, 2012, 10:19:31 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 09, 2012, 09:56:45 PM
Quick question - what position did Tommy Carr predominatly play for the dubs back in the day?

Quote from: AZOffaly on February 09, 2012, 09:57:44 PM
Midfield.

Tommy Carr won his All Star at No. 5.  Did his brother not play Midfield for the Tipperary Hurlers?

1991 - Football All StarsMichael McQuillan (Meath); Mick Deegan (Dublin), Conor Deegan (Down), Enon Gavin (Roscommon); Tommy Carr (Dublin), Keith Barr (Dublin), Martin O'Connell (Meath); Barry Breen (Down), Martin Lynch (Kildare); Ross Carr (Down), Greg Blaney (Down), Tommy Dowd (Meath); Colm O'Rourke (Meath), Brian Stafford (Meath), Bernard Flynn (Meath)."
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2012, 10:19:46 PM
All we were missing was Brian Doohers bandage.
Why was it necessary to dig up stuff from 15 years ago?
Post by: theticklemister on February 09, 2012, 10:26:46 PM
Did he not do corner back!
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 10:27:08 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 09, 2012, 10:19:31 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 09, 2012, 09:56:45 PM

Quote from: AZOffaly on February 09, 2012, 09:57:44 PM
Midfield.

Tommy Carr won his All Star at No. 5.  Did his brother not play Midfield for the Tipperary Hurlers?

1991 - Football All StarsMichael McQuillan (Meath); Mick Deegan (Dublin), Conor Deegan (Down), Enon Gavin (Roscommon); Tommy Carr (Dublin), Keith Barr (Dublin), Martin O'Connell (Meath); Barry Breen (Down), Martin Lynch (Kildare); Ross Carr (Down), Greg Blaney (Down), Tommy Dowd (Meath); Colm O'Rourke (Meath), Brian Stafford (Meath), Bernard Flynn (Meath)."

I remember him at 4 and 11 as well.
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2012, 10:39:10 PM
Tommy Carr represents everything that's wrong with intercounty management.
Post by: Richiej on February 09, 2012, 10:55:42 PM
Tommy Carr talking about paying Managers OMG ... He wrecked us in Cavan , He should have paid us!!

He has got some neck to be talking about Inter County Managers Contracts...........clown
Post by: AZOffaly on February 09, 2012, 10:57:26 PM
I think ye are right lads. I was mixing him up with the brother.

It's still Remuneration though.
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2012, 11:00:31 PM
Quote from: Richiej on February 09, 2012, 10:55:42 PM
Tommy Carr talking about paying Managers OMG ... He wrecked us in Cavan , He should have paid us!!

He has got some neck to be talking about Inter County Managers Contracts...........clown

:D :D
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2012, 11:26:53 PM
The chap from Kilmacud Crokes spoke well I thought.
Tommy places a much higher value on his 'expertise' than I would.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 09, 2012, 11:30:40 PM
Quote from: Richiej on February 09, 2012, 10:55:42 PM

Didn't do much better in Roscommon!
Post by: theticklemister on February 09, 2012, 11:33:10 PM
St.Lasnuriux (?) Of Abbeyleix in Laois......... Bought a 2 euro ticket for their club a month ago off 'Crespo' and still waiting on a phone call to go down and collect my winnings!!!!! There is nothing in that wee town to be fair to keep people there.
Post by: anglocelt39 on February 10, 2012, 12:16:53 AM
The only thing that stops me climbing on the kick Tommy Truck when he's down charge is the mildly nauseating thought of being on the same side of any argument as OMG/LOL/Anarchy in the UK Richie J.
Post by: TheThirdManning on February 10, 2012, 12:57:00 AM
I hate when I hear the argument to pay IC managers but let them look after games development and coaching structures in the county.   Managing an adult team is a millions miles away from ensuring your u15 county has what it needs.

Carr is a mercenary in my opinion and his track record as a manager is appalling. The only reason he gets those gigs is because he is a Dub.

Very interested to see how he gets on with Westmeath minors but any Cavan or Roscommon folk have never had anything good to say about him.
Post by: Syferus on February 10, 2012, 05:31:17 AM
Quote from: TheThirdManning on February 10, 2012, 12:57:00 AM
I hate when I hear the argument to pay IC managers but let them look after games development and coaching structures in the county.   Managing an adult team is a millions miles away from ensuring your u15 county has what it needs.

Carr is a mercenary in my opinion and his track record as a manager is appalling. The only reason he gets those gigs is because he is a Dub.

Very interested to see how he gets on with Westmeath minors but any Cavan or Roscommon folk have never had anything good to say about him.

Carr was hardly our problem. We had a very good team in the early to mid 00's but there was such a deficit of control in the squad that it was likely to never fulfill its potential.

Carr tried to impose discipline on the squad but we ended up with naked pool the pre-season after we'd ran the tables in the qualifiers, had been tripped to beat Kerry in the quarters and ended up scoring 3-10 on them. Says alot more about the players than the manager that they didn't feel the need to really knuckle down and work with management than create drama after drama.
Post by: Hound on February 10, 2012, 07:35:59 AM
Tommy Carr was predominantly a half back for the Dubs, but also had spells at corner back and centre forward.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 10, 2012, 12:14:33 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 09, 2012, 10:10:52 PM
I thought it was a bit off what Miriam said at the end.
She sounded disappointed she didn't get to discuss violence and the impact of rugby on the GAA.
WTF has rugby got to do with anything?

Yeah, that irked me too as well. Although she did offset it by reading out their names and accomplishments like your teacher read the roll call on your first day in secondary school, Pat Kenny would have been proud. And when she addressed a question to Tommy Carr and the camera pans to Liam Griffin  :D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 10, 2012, 12:17:37 PM

He'll do diddly squat with them. The dual players will concentrate on the hurling again and some lads aren't interested in working with him after managers that had brought them through the ranks from u14 were just tossed aside.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 10, 2012, 12:26:12 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 10, 2012, 12:17:37 PM

He'll do diddly squat with them. The dual players will concentrate on the hurling again and some lads aren't interested in working with him after managers that had brought them through the ranks from u14 were just tossed aside.

Is hurling taking a stranglehold again Croi? I only ask because when I was growing up Westmeath was a hurling county if anything. The likes of Kilmartin, the Jacksons, etc. I know the minor hurlers have had some great results, including skelping our boys. My second cousin is their manager.
Post by: thejuice on February 10, 2012, 12:47:09 PM
I get the feeling the two managers were doing a bit of good cop bad cop while pushing for a nice pay-day themselves and their contemporaries.

That other guy from Kilmacud I thought had the right idea. Clubs should feel confident to recruit managers from within their own club and perhaps the GAA could offer training and whatever help to clubs in that regard.

Perhaps if a player who is slowly drifting towards the end of his playing days can put his name down as a future manager can be giving guidance and training or a sort of apprenticeship by managing a youth team. If a club can find a managerial successor within their own clubs in advance and prepare him early.

People need to realise the GAA is about a much bigger issue, which giving a pass time and enjoyment for your local communities, than win win win.

It's not a time to facilitate payment, Griffin and Carr got that wrong. Its a time to get back to basics, for both the GAA and the country.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 10, 2012, 02:27:35 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 10, 2012, 12:26:12 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 10, 2012, 12:17:37 PM

Is hurling taking a stranglehold again Croi? I only ask because when I was growing up Westmeath was a hurling county if anything. The likes of Kilmartin, the Jacksons, etc. I know the minor hurlers have had some great results, including skelping our boys. My second cousin is their manager.

Not as such no. With the commitment needed these days (even at minor) players are looking to concentrate on one sport and the more professional setup will always get the nod. Ray (didn't know he was your second cousin) had the much more professional setup last year in comparison to the footballers under Graham O'Connor and this year he's drafted in former Dublin manager Humphrey Kelleher as coach. Brian Hanley won't accommodate any dual players this year with the result that Francis Boyle and Paul Greville aren't available to the footballers, and they are/were two guaranteed starters. In fairness if I was a dual player myself at either of those grades I'd be going with the hurlers. The lads just want the best setup that will give them the greatest chance of success and you couldn't blame them for it.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on February 10, 2012, 03:14:47 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 10, 2012, 12:47:09 PM
That other guy from Kilmacud I thought had the right idea. Clubs should feel confident to recruit managers from within their own club and perhaps the GAA could offer training and whatever help to clubs in that regard.
Clubs are ending up paying out money just to swap managers with each other.
It still ends up being a zero sum game.
Post by: Lone Shark on February 10, 2012, 03:32:42 PM
I don't like enforcing a rule whereby managers have to come from their own club, but I would be in favour of regulating and enforcing whatever needs to be done to eliminate payment.

However the sad fact is that some clubs have factions within them and every selection decision that a manager makes is being perceived as motivated by something other than football. In this situation an outsider is hugely beneficial.

Equally, you will have situations where a club might not be able to provide appropriate management opportunities to some of their members who would be willing to do it, while other clubs are crying out for such help. You have senior clubs who would need somebody with a lot of experience, but whose junior teams are simply a case of trying to get lads training and on the field - experience of one job bears no relation to the skills needed for the other. What then? If such people are willing to help out another club for free or for vouched expenses, then that's a good thing surely?
Post by: thejuice on February 10, 2012, 03:43:02 PM
I never made the suggestion that they HAD to recruit from their own club.

QuoteClubs should feel confident to recruit managers from within their own club and perhaps the GAA could offer training and whatever help to clubs in that regard.

Its more giving them the help to do so, helping to hold the club together, to create a culture of succession and self help. GAA Guidelines could be issued.

And sure they should be able to offer their services to other clubs, but managers looking for money need to be told where to go.
Post by: Blowitupref on February 10, 2012, 08:10:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 10, 2012, 05:31:17 AM

Carr was hardly our problem. We had a very good team in the early to mid 00's but there was such a deficit of control in the squad that it was likely to never fulfill its potential.

Carr tried to impose discipline on the squad but we ended up with naked pool the pre-season after we'd ran the tables in the qualifiers, had been tripped to beat Kerry in the quarters and ended up scoring 3-10 on them. Says alot more about the players than the manager that they didn't feel the need to really knuckle down and work with management than create drama after drama.

Didn't that fiasco happen before Tommy Carr arrived?
Post by: FermGael on February 10, 2012, 08:34:13 PM
If the GAA brought in a rule that meant that clubs has to recruit from within, it would be pointless and impossible to enforce.
All the prospective managers would have to do is to become a member of the club.
Post by: Rossfan on February 10, 2012, 09:43:02 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 10, 2012, 08:10:46 PM
t any Cavan or Roscommon folk have never had anything good to say about him.
Carr tried to impose discipline on the squad but we ended up with naked pool the pre-season after we'd ran the tables in the qualifiers, had been tripped to beat Kerry in the quarters and ended up scoring 3-10 on them.

Didn't that fiasco happen before Tommy Carr arrived?

Did indeed . Spring or was it May 02. Tommytruck arrived in Autumn 02 and we played Kerry in the Qtr final in August 03.
Truck just wasn't a good manager  ( like other army officers icluding the great one himself - Dermot not the bloody tanman - )
Post by: Ard-Rí on February 11, 2012, 12:45:57 AM
Typical RTÉ shambles. You know, we have to question ourselves here. We put everything in South Dublin, and then we complain about the West Brits. It's not on lads.  :P
Post by: Lionhearted on February 13, 2012, 04:43:39 PM
The way I look at it is this, its topical enough to get talked about at highest levels in our society - the GAA, and the way it runs itself, has now become a Prime Time issue which is a true reflection of just how important it has become and still remains as a Sports/ Culture Organisation in the modern Ireland of today. Its influence in our society is growing, not fading. Why? Because it matters.