GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: rrhf on January 27, 2012, 01:58:20 PM

Title: THE KERRY CHRONICLE
Post by: rrhf on January 27, 2012, 01:58:20 PM
Welcome to the first edition of the Kerry Chronicle - an online Kerry News board.  We aim to give a centrepoint resource for all things Kerry.  Feel free to copy and paste what will ultimately be a virtual library, indeed a one stop shop of all articles and interviews concerning our county teams, our games, our clubs and even our politicians.  Please remember to keep it clean, keep any articles referenced to the newspaper, radio station, TV programme or webpage that they came from.  Feel free to add articles of historical values, and your own commentary.  Lets build up a picture for someone who dosent know what way we do things in Kerry.  Lets get started...       
Title: Re: THE KERRY CHRONICLE
Post by: ballinaman on January 27, 2012, 02:00:06 PM
(http://www.achgohairithe.com/content/2007/09/kerry.jpg)
Post by: sheamy on January 27, 2012, 02:01:50 PM
Dromid supporter wants his money back
27 January 2012
A Dromid Pearses supporter who attended last Sunday's controversial AIB All-Ireland club JFC semi-final against Derrytresk in Portlaoise is seeking a refund from the GAA.

Mickey Dennehy, who witnessed the appalling scenes in the company of his five children, is encouraging other supporters to do the same.

"I phoned Croke Park for a refund and I was told to put it in writing," he explained to Kerry's Eye.

"I intend to get a refund - and others should do too. The whole thing has left a sour taste in my mouth. It portrays Derrytresk in a bad way and has tarnished the whole area.

"It is a sad day for football. I will think twice about bringing children to any game. This is our national game and this should not have been allowed. Derrytresk are in the final, but they should not be."

Dennehy, who is an underage coach with Pearses, added: "I have been following GAA since I was a young boy and I am very disappointed that the GAA would allow this go on. I would be afraid for the children, it could have spilled into the stand. What is it saying to children - that the sneaky stuff can win?"
Post by: sheamy on January 27, 2012, 02:06:05 PM
(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00962/spill_962090t.jpg)

(http://assetsmodels.com/fashion/wp-content/uploads/gallery/cara-spillane/thumbs/thumbs_aff1908.jpg)

It's not all bad...
Post by: Tubberman on January 27, 2012, 02:08:31 PM
A new feature to appear called "The Nordie Persecution Complex".
It's likely to run for years. 
Post by: AZOffaly on January 27, 2012, 02:10:09 PM
(http://ia.media-imdb.com/images/M/MV5BMTI4NjM5NjU1OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODg1NDcyMQ@@._V1._SY317_CR5,0,214,317_.jpg)
Post by: jeepers on January 27, 2012, 02:19:36 PM
Quote from: sheamy on January 27, 2012, 02:06:05 PM
(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00962/spill_962090t.jpg)

(http://assetsmodels.com/fashion/wp-content/uploads/gallery/cara-spillane/thumbs/thumbs_aff1908.jpg)

It's not all bad...

Hard to believe she is spillane's daughter
Post by: Nally Stand on January 27, 2012, 02:35:50 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 27, 2012, 02:08:31 PM

And across the page, an advice column for Mayo footballers on how to hold your nerve upon entering Croke Park on All-Ireland final day.
Post by: blanketattack on January 27, 2012, 02:40:38 PM
Quote from: jeepers on January 27, 2012, 02:19:36 PM

In fairness Pat Spillane was the Brad Pitt of Templenoe in his day.  :-*
Post by: Nally Stand on January 27, 2012, 02:45:13 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on January 27, 2012, 02:40:38 PM
Quote from: jeepers on January 27, 2012, 02:19:36 PM

In fairness Pat Spillane was the Brad Pitt of Templenoe in his day.  :-*

Ahhh so she was adopted?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 27, 2012, 02:45:52 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on January 27, 2012, 02:35:50 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on January 27, 2012, 02:08:31 PM

And across the page, an advice column for Mayo footballers on how to hold your nerve upon entering Croke Park on All-Ireland final day.

Across the page?  I thought it was a full coloured supplement running to 36 pages alongwith a motivational dvd from Enda
Kenny!!!!
Post by: sheamy on January 27, 2012, 02:55:34 PM
They're well met. One the same day the kingdom call for crowd segregation, Enda Kenny tells Europe it was the people of Irelands fault that the country is bust. Some change from 'it was not your fault'. Langball.

Right, I'm off to get my clipboard for the marraw night in case any of them Ty-rone nasties come looking a row...There's buckles on the woman's handbag that could cut the head clean off ye.

And if we're beat, I am heading straight over to Danny Murphy and looking my £9 back...
Post by: ONeill on January 27, 2012, 06:12:10 PM
FCUK THEM OUT!

A Dromid spectator has called for action to be taken against Derry in next year's Championship after what he called 'the most shocking experience in my whole life, all of it, forever.'

Pa Culloghty claims that he was shopping in a carefree manner in Grafton Street last month when a 'big hairy man' in a Derry GAA top gave him a dirty look in passing. Culloghty says his children haven't slept in weeks since he told them and that his wife ran off with the breadman, though both events are unrelated.

"I was minding my own business having just finished a Moccachino and strawberry doughnut in Bewley's when the horrible spectacle took place. A young man in his thirties, wearing a scruffy 1993 Derry jersey, simply gave me a dirty look when I brushed his elbow with my duffle coat. My children saw the horror on my face and, coupled with their chronic hunger as I hadn't enough to pay for their meal, fainted on the spot"

Culloghty is researching the possibility of therapy for the whole family. "I cannot see a way out of this darkness we're currently enveloped in. I'm thinking of doing yoga or pilates. Derry must be punished for this. Fcuk them out."

The Derry county board refused to comment but a former county player and current barrister told us, "Jaysus".

P O'Neill
The Kerry Chronicle

Post by: ONeill on January 27, 2012, 07:46:03 PM
WHY ALWAYS ME?

Paul Galvin has issued a stern rebuke to those who have labelled him ultimately responsible for the chaotic scenes in Portlaoise last week when an evil Ulster side, Dirtytresk, battered the living daylights out of a heroic band of Dromid footballers.

Walking around the Lakes of Killarney with a placard reading 'Why Always Me?' he stated, "It always comes down to this doesn't it? Two teams with no connection to me battle it out in a place supposedly called Laois and I get the blame. I've had enough! You hear me? I know who'd behind this, them with their UK numberplates and nouveau riche approach to slacks"

Galvin, 32, and a fashion icon in Waterville, intimated that he received at least two texts winding him up about his part in the game which terrorised those watching from Kerry. Wearing a tuxedo, cravat and dicky-bow with ass-less jeans, the loveable rogue was at pains to let the rest of the country know that enough's enough. "Listen lads, I've moved on from the Attack of the Wasp saga. I've opened a new pig-hiring shop in South Kerry. These are no ordinary hogs. They all have a tiara and lovely pink collar and are perfect for Kerry lads who maybe haven't hit it lucky at the local dances come 2am. You'll always have it back in your motor in case it's a lonely and embarrassing drive home. I don't need this crap. Dirtytresk's tactics do sound rather my sort of thing but that does not mean I condone vaulting fences."

As Galvin walked off into the distance with his placard he was attacked by a swarm of northern locusts, accidentally slapping an elderly lady in the gob in the process.

P O'Neill
Kerry Chronicle

Post by: ONeill on January 28, 2012, 10:50:57 AM
SUPPORT OUR TROOPS

The Dromid Against Dastardly Derrytresk Yobs (DADDY) spokesman yesterday called on all of Ireland except a few counties 'up there' to attend their one week commemoration of the Portlaoise massacre on Sunday 29th January

The DADDY was formed overnight in a shebeen near Finuge and has since managed to get four likes on Facebook. Chairman Mattie Kinane told the Kerry Chronicle, "The DADDY is not going to lie down and take it like a ewe. We have received support far and wide from other outraged gaels, even from faraway places such as Lispole and Portmagee but none from up there. We've organised a march from Caherdaniel to Ballyseedy and encourage those who are taking part to bring placards, whistles and sandwiches. No longer will people be asking 'who's the DADDY?' after tomorrow"

The DADDY is calling for two motions to be explored at next year's convention in Tullamore. The first one is asking for segregation on the field during matches with Ulster sides being asked to play amongst themselves with cudgels and imitation handguns in a narrow channel between the square and their own 45. Opponents will be allowed to used the rest of the field to play some beautiful and traditional football with high catches and long kicking, unchallenged.

Kinane explained the second motion: "We are asking for Croke Park to consider muzzling players with that menacing look. You know what I'm talking about and the DADDY will be heard."

The march commences at 7am.

P O'Neill
The Kerry Chronicle
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on January 28, 2012, 11:39:41 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 28, 2012, 10:50:57 AM
SUPPORT OUR TROOPS

The Dromid Against Dastardly Derrytresk Yobs (DADDY) spokesman yesterday called on all of Ireland except a few counties 'up there' to attend their one week commemoration of the Portlaoise massacre on Sunday 29th January

The DADDY was formed overnight in a shebeen near Finuge and has since managed to get four likes on Facebook. Chairman Mattie Kinane told the Kerry Chronicle, "The DADDY is not going to lie down and take it like a ewe. We have received support far and wide from other outraged gaels, even from faraway places such as Lispole and Portmagee but none from up there. We've organised a march from Caherdaniel to Ballyseedy and encourage those who are taking part to bring placards, whistles and sandwiches. No longer will people be asking 'who's the DADDY?' after tomorrow"

The DADDY is calling for two motions to be explored at next year's convention in Tullamore. The first one is asking for segregation on the field during matches with Ulster sides being asked to play amongst themselves with cudgels and imitation handguns in a narrow channel between the square and their own 45. Opponents will be allowed to used the rest of the field to play some beautiful and traditional football with high catches and long kicking, unchallenged.

Kinane explained the second motion: "We are asking for Croke Park to consider muzzling players with that menacing look. You know what I'm talking about and the DADDY will be heard."

The march commences at 7am.

P O'Neill
The Kerry Chronicle

you must be a light sleeper