Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lawnseed on January 25, 2012, 07:07:13 PM

Title: Changing jobs?
Post by: lawnseed on January 25, 2012, 07:07:13 PM
anyone just peed off doing the same thing all the time? tired of the same shite? fancy a change? its not so easy as the miles clock up. once you cross the 40 mark people expect you to spend the next 25 years doing what you do.. i'd like a change.. but with a family to support this needs to be carefully planned. has anyone done a reggie perrin? just pulled the plug? what constitutes a good job nowadays? where are the jobs? anything to do with building is a non-starter. 
Title: Re: Changing jobs?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 25, 2012, 07:26:42 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 25, 2012, 07:07:13 PM
anyone just peed off doing the same thing all the time? tired of the same shite? fancy a change? its not so easy as the miles clock up. once you cross the 40 mark people expect you to spend the next 25 years doing what you do.. i'd like a change.. but with a family to support this needs to be carefully planned. has anyone done a reggie perrin? just pulled the plug? what constitutes a good job nowadays? where are the jobs? anything to do with building is a non-starter.
I'd like to jack it in for something less stressful (like the Civil Service  ;)) but I couldn't take any less dough so options are limited!
Post by: maco on January 25, 2012, 07:56:16 PM
This is exactly the situation I am in at the minute. I have been my present job for the last 11 years and am fed up with it at the minute. I really would love a change and I have something in mind. It means being self employed but has good returns in the long term. Sometimes I just think I'll go for this new venture, but there is a little nagging doubt in my mind that I'd be mad to leave a fairly secure job with decent pay and good holidays. I don't fancy another 30 odd years of it though!
Post by: lawnseed on January 25, 2012, 07:57:20 PM
25 more years.. same same.. what about all this renewable energy stuff theres bound to be jobs at that.. going round putting up wind turbines.. that would be interesting or servicing them who does that
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 25, 2012, 11:03:25 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 25, 2012, 07:57:20 PM
25 more years.. same same.. what about all this renewable energy stuff theres bound to be jobs at that.. going round putting up wind turbines.. that would be interesting or servicing them who does that

Why don't you put up flags around Ravenhilll, be a great job for you, righting wrongs and all that ;)
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2012, 11:05:47 PM
With such a delightful disposition you could easily make the transfer to school caretaker or dinner lady or something like that?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 25, 2012, 11:13:38 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 25, 2012, 11:05:47 PM
With such a delightful disposition you could easily make the transfer to school caretaker or dinner lady or something like that?

There is plenty of cross community work out there, he could make the world (Norn Iron) a better place. His ability to see the wrong on both sides and his insight to the problems these hard done by communities have will be a great help  :D :D

Good money in it and all the paramilitaries have that game sewn up so he may get a chance
Post by: ziggysego on January 25, 2012, 11:29:41 PM
(http://www.yorkpress.co.uk/resources/images/1108060/?type=display)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 26, 2012, 03:38:29 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 25, 2012, 07:07:13 PM

Maybe you could start a commune and "share" those 25 acres you own....you know, practice what ya preach and all...
Post by: screenexile on January 26, 2012, 10:00:28 AM
I was in your position this time last year lawnseed. Worked my ass off for over a year in the hope I would have some scope for moving up but it never materialised. I hated the job and the ones I worked for so just decided I'd had enough.

Had my CV prepared and just as I was about to start hitting the job websites I rang one of the local businesses. I knew people who worked there and none had a bad word to say and lucky enough when I rang the owner he had something going and I handed in my notice 2 days later. Never looked back since and I love where I am at the minute.

My advice would be speak to people about where they are working and see what they think of it. If it seems like something you can do then give somebody a call!
Post by: front of the mountain on January 26, 2012, 11:22:19 AM
I agree with Screenexile its not what you know at the minute, it who you know gets the job!

I dont mind my job but still stuck on same wage from day 1, employers have you by the balls at minute if you lucky enough to have a job! There is a consensus you feel like you cant rock the boat just keep the head down!
Post by: screenexile on January 26, 2012, 03:34:15 PM
It's a feckin disgrace!!! The last company I was with hadn't given a payrise to anyone since 2007 yet opened a fully refurbished office in Belfast along with taking on approximately 10 new staff yet when anyone mentioned a payrise they were actually laughed at . . . They can do what they want because if you don't want to work for the money they pay they will get someone in the door before it's closed behind you!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 26, 2012, 08:45:11 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 26, 2012, 03:34:15 PM
It's a feckin disgrace!!! The last company I was with hadn't given a payrise to anyone since 2007 yet opened a fully refurbished office in Belfast along with taking on approximately 10 new staff yet when anyone mentioned a payrise they were actually laughed at . . . They can do what they want because if you don't want to work for the money they pay they will get someone in the door before it's closed behind you!!

Fcuk that's bad craic, I got a raise and a bonus at Xmas!!

I really can't complain about work, glad I have it and enjoy what I do. Lucky to be where I am, as my last place (while well paid) was a shite hole, with bosses who'd go out of their way to do you a bad turn rather than work with you.

One thing though I have noticed in my many jobs of the years, the great jobs never last :(
Post by: lawnseed on January 27, 2012, 10:43:53 AM

meeting a careers adviser next week. packing these shower in today. no chance of progression, no chance of more money. carrying numties who couldnt run a piss up in a brewery.. enough is enough. i actually feel relieved. the look on their faces.. carlsberg just dont it.  ;)

Post by: Maguire01 on January 27, 2012, 06:29:28 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 27, 2012, 10:43:53 AM

meeting a careers adviser next week. packing these shower in today. no chance of progression, no chance of more money. carrying numties who couldnt run a piss up in a brewery.. enough is enough. i actually feel relieved. the look on their faces.. carlsberg just dont it.  ;)
I can imagine. Something like this?

(http://www.blueplanetgreenliving.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/behappyarticle.jpg)
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 27, 2012, 07:39:47 PM
Handed in my resignation this morning! I'm off @ end of February.
Post by: screenexile on January 27, 2012, 08:14:57 PM
Am I missing something or is it not madness to be resigning your job in the middle of a recession if you've nothing else lined up??!!
Post by: ardal on January 27, 2012, 08:40:58 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 27, 2012, 08:14:57 PM
Am I missing something or is it not madness to be resigning your job in the middle of a recession if you've nothing else lined up??!!

Was just thinking the same.

Lawnseed has packed in the job and is going to see a careers advisor at some later point. I hope they laugh you out of the office. What type of gobshite resigns before seeking advice, never mind the fact that we're in a thing called a recession.
Post by: lawnseed on January 28, 2012, 11:42:08 AM
thanks for your concern sceen. i can find work quite easily. have something in pipe. theres no harm in seeing a careers adviser, who nowadays wants to do the same thing for their whole life? new things come along, i've been prudent in my borrowings.. i think nows the time. there are thousands of unfilled vacancies in various fields all you have to do is train up.
Post by: thebigfella on January 28, 2012, 12:51:48 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 28, 2012, 11:42:08 AM
thanks for your concern sceen. i can find work quite easily. have something in pipe. theres no harm in seeing a careers adviser, who nowadays wants to do the same thing for their whole life? new things come along, i've been prudent in my borrowings.. i think nows the time. there are thousands of unfilled vacancies in various fields all you have to do is train up.

How much training do you need to flip burgers in McDonalds?
Post by: sammymaguire on January 28, 2012, 12:58:34 PM
People always need to eat.  ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 28, 2012, 01:43:50 PM
Is there sweetcorn in it?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 28, 2012, 01:49:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 28, 2012, 01:43:50 PM
Is there sweetcorn in it?

Possibly wacky baccy in it
Post by: lawnseed on January 28, 2012, 02:26:58 PM
i'm over 40 lads i'm in no doubt what a recession is. when i left school my first wage was 100 a week. at the time my mate got a job in a local agric. store carrying bags of meal and sweeping up. it was a hot topic of conservation in this area.. how did he get IN to that handy job. who did he know? it was finally decided that his father had run up a huge bill and my mate was actually just paying it off. ::) he was getting 55 a week! fair enough some of you dont think its a good time to change jobs.. maybe some of you are fulfilled at what you are doing.. i don't understand why anyone would want to have a pop at someone trying to improve themselves

Post by: gerrykeegan on January 28, 2012, 05:51:44 PM
Goodman Lawnseed, I sat in an exam hall this morning for the first time in about 15 years, I'm 44, I decided I would like a change of direction so I am back in college. Funny enough there was  a man in the exam hall that looked like he was in his late 50's
Post by: Ulick on January 28, 2012, 06:00:44 PM
Fair play lawnseed, been in the same job for 10 years now and the last three have been a nightmare. Wish I had the balls to pack it in but don't think it could swap it for the stress of worrying about the mortgage and family. 
Post by: lawnseed on January 28, 2012, 08:58:43 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on January 28, 2012, 05:51:44 PM
Goodman Lawnseed, I sat in an exam hall this morning for the first time in about 15 years, I'm 44, I decided I would like a change of direction so I am back in college. Funny enough there was  a man in the exam hall that looked like he was in his late 50's
thats what i'm hoping to do gerry, train up a bit and see what happens. alot of the jobs that are on offer now didnt even exist when i was at college and alot of what i did learn is obselete so i actually need to refresh.. learn something a little more relevant. ffs at our secondary school we only had one computer and i never got to use it the teacher used to turn it off and on and wait alot everything was on floppys. :-[
Post by: ardal on January 28, 2012, 09:04:18 PM
Any body hear about evening college? Apparently it let's you study whilst you still work. There's another called open university.

Or jack in the job, lose the house, wife and kids on the street
Post by: lawnseed on January 29, 2012, 01:04:16 PM
Quote from: ardal on January 28, 2012, 09:04:18 PM
Any body hear about evening college? Apparently it let's you study whilst you still work. There's another called open university.

Or jack in the job, lose the house, wife and kids on the street
you mean you actually conned some girl into marrying you :P :P
Post by: WaterBoy on January 29, 2012, 05:50:21 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 28, 2012, 08:58:43 PM
thats what i'm hoping to do gerry, train up a bit and see what happens. alot of the jobs that are on offer now didnt even exist when i was at college and alot of what i did learn is obselete so i actually need to refresh.. learn something a little more relevant. ffs at our secondary school we only had one computer and i never got to use it the teacher used to turn it off and on and wait alot everything was on floppys. :-[

Lawnseed, if you don't mind me asking, what line of work are you in at the minute?  Have you an idea of what kind of job you would like to get into?
Post by: lawnseed on January 30, 2012, 09:08:39 AM
Quote from: WaterBoy on January 29, 2012, 05:50:21 PM

Lawnseed, if you don't mind me asking, what line of work are you in at the minute?  Have you an idea of what kind of job you would like to get into?
thinking of electrical engineering.. renewables something like that. i was speaking to a lad who sells wind turbines he has confirmed orders for 1200 :o and nobody in the country to work at them or fit them. theres not alot to it but you need to be qualified
Post by: southdown on January 30, 2012, 09:16:33 AM
Im working in the legal sector in England.  Im keen to move home to NI but the legal sector in NI is completely dead, no jobs at all.  Considering training in a new field but have no idea what I could train in.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2012, 09:55:12 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 30, 2012, 09:08:39 AM

thinking of electrical engineering.. renewables something like that. i was speaking to a lad who sells wind turbines he has confirmed orders for 1200 :o and nobody in the country to work at them or fit them. theres not alot to it but you need to be qualified

The Ship Yard is currently making them, they are busy enough with them at the minute. Engineering industry is doing well at the minute and electrical engineering is doing ok. Wouldn't be much work in wiring up those turbines, maintenance engineering is an area that's doing better due to firms ensuring their machines are working well instead of buying new ones.

Post by: lawnseed on January 30, 2012, 09:22:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2012, 09:55:12 AM

The Ship Yard is currently making them, they are busy enough with them at the minute. Engineering industry is doing well at the minute and electrical engineering is doing ok. Wouldn't be much work in wiring up those turbines, maintenance engineering is an area that's doing better due to firms ensuring their machines are working well instead of buying new ones.
i think if the arabs continue sabre rattling the cost of fuel is going to rocket (even more ::)) i've a feeling there are going to be alot more renewables coming into to play. it seems logical that it is going to be very big..
Post by: CiKe on January 30, 2012, 10:39:13 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 30, 2012, 09:22:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2012, 09:55:12 AM

i think if the arabs continue sabre rattling the cost of fuel is going to rocket (even more ::)) i've a feeling there are going to be alot more renewables coming into to play. it seems logical that it is going to be very big..

Sorry to be the stickler, but presumably you are referring to the Iranians - who are not Arabs. Have to agree with you though, if anything actually were to happen you'd probably see a 20% rise in oil prices overnight. They might be discovering more and more oil and improving technology to get at previously located but unfeasible reserves but renewables growth could be exponential.
Post by: Ulick on October 26, 2012, 02:52:29 PM
Jacked the job in today. 12 years with same company but feckit there's more to life than spending every hour of the day working and with a bunch of bluffers and pricks to boot. I'll miss the cash but nothing else about the place. 
Post by: AZOffaly on October 26, 2012, 02:54:15 PM
I can just imagine some of the responses to this news Ulick, I'm sure you can too :D Anyway, best of luck to you, have you anything else lined up? I think you are right. If you are not happy, there's a lot to be said for jacking it in, especially if you find you can't leave it at the door when you go home.
Post by: Ulick on October 26, 2012, 02:57:22 PM
Cheers AZ, had a few other offers for a lot less money but it eventually came to a choice of spending time with my family and doing without extra cash or working in a job I hate and having it comfortable. Luckily I've a good woman behind me which made the pick an easy one.
Post by: oisinog on October 26, 2012, 02:59:06 PM
Quote from: Ulick on October 26, 2012, 02:57:22 PM
Cheers AZ, had a few other offers for a lot less money but it eventually came to a choice of spending time with my family and doing without extra cash or working in a job I hate and having it comfortable. Luckily I've a good woman behind me which made the pick an easy one.

Brave decision I have to consider my situation when the wife returns from maternity leave
Post by: Rois on October 26, 2012, 03:04:05 PM
A friend of mine did the same - she's still working her notice at the minute.  She keeps waiting for the panic to set in but it hasn't, seems to suggest that she's made the right decision.  Now i might get to see a bit more of her at weekends!

Good look on the hunt for a new direction Ulick.  I imagine it is a bit exciting as well as slightly scary!

Post by: supersarsfields on October 26, 2012, 03:11:37 PM
What industry was it in Ulick?
Post by: Billys Boots on October 26, 2012, 03:15:12 PM
Best of luck Ulick, you're doing the right thing if you're not happy there.
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 26, 2012, 03:17:36 PM
Quote from: Ulick on October 26, 2012, 02:57:22 PM

Good luck with the move. I used to work mad hours, people said " no one will thank you for it" well you know what, no one did and the f**kers shafted me in the end. In the job I'm in now, I lock up, work finishes at 4.00, if you are here at 4.01 then you are here for the night. Home with the wife and kids by 4.18!
Post by: orangeman on October 26, 2012, 03:20:58 PM
Quote from: Ulick on October 26, 2012, 02:52:29 PM
Jacked the job in today. 12 years with same company but feckit there's more to life than spending every hour of the day working and with a bunch of bluffers and pricks to boot. I'll miss the cash but nothing else about the place.

Fair play.

Life's too short to have to put up with that.

Best of luck.
Post by: No Soloing on October 26, 2012, 04:25:22 PM
Ulick - Good Luck!

I jacked in my job when my wife went back to work after maternity leave for our second kid. Our eldest was in a day care nursery so it was either pay a fortune to send them both there or pay a stranger to look after them - we have no family nearby to rely on.  Work was doing my head in anyway and I was being sent all round the country for days & weeks on end. That was over five years ago. I havent looked back. It was the best decision I ever made. My wife is a teacher so we get use of the long holidays and she is finished relatively early each day so family life couldnt be better. Being there while the kids are young is much more important than sitting behind a desk waiting for one of your 20 days off.

I do some work from time to time and I am finishing off a Master through the Open Uni. In fact, I should be starting a website but Im on here instead.