Is it an Irish thing you know or a sports thing you know to say you know you know when you are being interviewed you know?
I don't know.
David Beckham is awful for it.
Sean og o hail pin was a hore for saying it, 10 times in every sentence you know, that kind of way.
I dunno like.
"or what do you macall it" as a former Ulster IC manager managed to add into every sentance.
There are many phrases that get tagged on the end of sentences. I recognise the following as appendages
- You know what I mean like (Dublin)
- So it is (Donegal)
- So (Cork)
- Hi (Derry)
They're spot on, Orior.
There are also forms of address that are appended:
Boy (Cork)
Bud (Dublin)
Horse (Meath)
Scobie (Meath)
Quote from: Hardy on January 13, 2012, 12:09:13 PM
They're spot on, Orior.
Boy (Cork)
Bud (Dublin)
Horse (Meath)
Scobie (Meath)
Lad (Carlow)
Quote from: ballinaman on January 13, 2012, 12:35:09 PM
They're spot on, Orior.
Boy (Cork)
Bud (Dublin)
Horse (Meath)
Scobie (Meath)
Lad (Carlow)
Mucker (Derry)
Boss (Tuam)
Sham (Tuam and other parts of Galway)
Son as in 'go on son' (People who live in EPL land)
In fairness the 'Hi' and 'Mucker' in Derry would be very much a City thing. Us proper Derry people would be word perfect all the time :D
Yerra
Arra
Look (ala Wee James + Jack O'Connor)
In ballina they say "sound" a lot.
"Ok John I'll see you Monday" to which John would reply " sound,sound"
Drives the wife nuts when I start saying it, and of course the more nuts she is the more I say it.
"at the end of the day" seems to be a regular phrase used by Roy Keane.
Quote from: mannix on January 13, 2012, 01:26:48 PM
In ballina they say "sound" a lot.
"Ok John I'll see you Monday" to which John would reply " sound,sound"
Drives the wife nuts when I start saying it, and of course the more nuts she is the more I say it.
Well tell her I'll see her Friday evening then, mucker, all right, aye.
Oisin McConville you know....
Quote from: LeoMc on January 13, 2012, 10:29:17 AM
"or what do you macall it" as a former Ulster IC manager managed to add into every sentance.
Brian McIvor, I used to watch him being interviewed just for that.
Quote from: BennyCake on January 13, 2012, 01:44:30 PM
"at the end of the day" seems to be a regular phrase used by Roy Keane.
You know what happens "at the end of the day".
It gets "focking dark". :o
listen
Everyone in Donegal says you know anyway!!
Just try to count that amount of times Jim McGuinness or Michael urphy say it in any interview :D More donegal words : "ara", "welll" "ah yano" "listen" "sir"
Quote from: donegal_abu on January 16, 2012, 07:27:42 PM
Everyone in Donegal says you know anyway!!
Just try to count that amount of times Jim McGuinness or Michael urphy say it in any interview :D More donegal words : "ara", "welll" "ah yano" "listen" "sir"
Agreed i'd say Donegal is the originality of "you know"
Mr Gilroys Favorite is "Sure look" or "Ah look"
Yes Ross4life I'd say it is ! Nobody can say a sentence up here without adding it in !
Obviously....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=JJ0XJuDvdCY
Quote from: Minder on January 14, 2012, 08:35:23 AM
Brian McIvor, I used to watch him being interviewed just for that.
Spot on. I wasn't sure if it was just me had picked up on it.
Baker Bradley - so it is , so it was, so it will be,
Boy (Cork)
They have that in Armagh too, but it's shorter and snappier and sounds a bit like "bi".
Can't say I've ever heard this "yerra" or "arra".
Quote from: ballinaman on January 17, 2012, 07:31:51 AM
Obviously....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=JJ0XJuDvdCY
Stuart Pearce basically is another one.
Quote from: screenexile on January 13, 2012, 01:17:53 PM
In fairness the 'Hi' and 'Mucker' in Derry would be very much a City thing. Us proper Derry people would be word perfect all the time :D
they also seem to say 'big lad ' a lot or is that just to me
Slightly different point here but best name I have seen so far for a chippy is the stationary van in Ardara Donegal "Whatcha McCollums"
In parts of Derry they like to say 'aw Sir!' all the time. They're 'wile civil' up there, referring to everyone as 'sir'.
Quote from: Glensman on January 17, 2012, 06:46:23 PM
Slightly different point here but best name I have seen so far for a chippy is the stationary van in Ardara Donegal "Whatcha McCollums"
hahah thats near enough to where I live ! Get take aways from it now and again
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 17, 2012, 06:21:17 PM
They have that in Armagh too, but it's shorter and snappier and sounds a bit like "bi".
Can someone please tell me what the hell 'yerra' means? And in what context is it used?
Quote from: BennyCake on January 17, 2012, 08:21:36 PM
Can someone please tell me what the hell 'yerra' means? And in what context is it used?
IMHO yerra is used by a cute Kerry hoor (or maybe even a Cork langer) at the start of a statement of questionable veracity or one which is complete bullshit in fairness.
"Yerra Kerry are shite this year and they'll be lucky to get past Clare in the first round in Munster".
Quote from: BennyCake on January 17, 2012, 08:21:36 PM
yerra and arra dont really mean anything :D Its like when people add "like" into sentences for now reason, arra is the culchie version imo!
Quote from: donegal_abu on January 17, 2012, 07:40:55 PM
Quote from: Glensman on January 17, 2012, 06:46:23 PM
Love Ardara. Couple of years back was down there and engaged in an impromptu pub/pool crawl. Don't think we even graced all the pubs in town. Serious friendly folk. Was there for the All Ireland semi last year as well - sandwiches and food brought out during the match in Teagues. Magic. Shame about the result. There was a wee old Dub who we fell in with after the game. Lives nearby and was in the blue proud as punch and winding the whole thing up...all were up for the banter and match soon forgotten. Great spot.
Never understand the Yerra wording either! Cheers for clarification...I think?!
hahah thats near enough to where I live ! Get take aways from it now and again
Basically, I basically have a lecturer who basically says basically, basically every other word that basically comes basically out of his mouth, basically. In a one hour lecture, one of the lads counted 156 basicallys. Never noticed till somebody pointed it out. Now it drives me giddy.
'lick y'know' is common-think it's nerves that cause these things.
In Strabane and surrounding areas every sentence nearly finishes on a 'sir' or 'hi', the word 'while' would be used in the way 'wild' would be in other parts of the country. Anyone from the Strabane area when being interviewed on TV seem to have a tendency to say you know about 30 times a minute - listed to Stevie O'Neill or Shay Given the next time they are interviewed. In Lurgan, 'bai' seems to be stuck to the end of every sentence.
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 18, 2012, 08:39:30 AM
In Strabane and surrounding areas every sentence nearly finishes on a 'sir' or 'hi', the word 'while' would be used in the way 'wild' would be in other parts of the country. Anyone from the Strabane area when being interviewed on TV seem to have a tendency to say you know about 30 times a minute - listed to Stevie O'Neill or Shay Given the next time they are interviewed. In Lurgan, 'bai' seems to be stuck to the end of every sentence.
Have to agree with this, worked with a heap of scaffolders from Strabane/lifford and every second word was sir.
Is "C'mere til I tell you..." a Northern affliction only? It's wile annoying, so it is.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IaadphJyy50
Quote from: screenexile on January 13, 2012, 01:17:53 PM
Hi would still be bantered about alright but mucker has practically died out. "Lad" would be more common now up here. And talking about civilised are you not from the same place as that infamous offlicence not serving the foreign nationals ;) Civilised like the Romans feeding the Cristian's to the lions :)
"Yer chattin."
I hear this being used in Fermanagh quite a bit....
e.g.
"How much did you pay for your new tractor hi?"
"Yer chattin 200 quid."
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 18, 2012, 12:08:20 PM
"Yer chattin."
I hear this being used in Fermanagh quite a bit....
e.g.
"How much did you pay for your new tractor hi?"
"Yer chattin 200 quid."
I'll take 5 right now.
Don't see the following examples in interviews but the following were commonly heard in college:
Quare - "Jaysus lads it's quare cold out here 'n all?" - Wexford / Wicklow
Fair - "He's fair good at the football" not really sure of the origin but I want to say Tipp / Clare.
May - "We may move on to the disco lads before it gets too full" - Carlow
The finest - "The disco? That'll be the finest" - Carlow
They say "quare" in Armagh as well.
A lot of them are said around the midlands as well, especially the 'may'.
Another one is savage. As in good. That was savage.
Woejeous as in bad.
Some hero. As in a buck eejit.
buck eejit.
Around Tyrone-'Thon', as in, "Luk at thon!", or " luk at the head on thon blade!", which reminds me of 'blade' for the fairer sex-not necessarily derogatory. 'Your blade' for your sister is quite acceptable as is 'the oul blade' for your mother. Don't know it's origins.
In Limerick they use the word 'gowl' as in 'He's some gowl, that fella' or 'Get away, you gowl!'
Cuts to the bone.
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 18, 2012, 06:55:19 PM
They say "quare" in Armagh as well.
And Tyrone, and Donegal.
Can any of our Western correspondents confirm this?
Someone was telling me tonight that when you ask a Connacht person "how are ya?" you can get "I'm quare well" in reply. Not only that, but since Weshterners have a habit of adding "well" to the end of a sentence for emphasis, you can be told "I'm quare well, well".
Solid useless.
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2012, 10:06:44 PM
Someone was telling me tonight that when you ask a Connacht person "how are ya?" you can get "I'm quare well" in reply. Not only that, but since Weshterners have a habit of adding "well" to the end of a sentence for emphasis, you can be told "I'm quare well, well".
Never heard that saying, "doing grand any craic with yourself" is a more common reply in Connacht.
Quote from: Hardy on January 19, 2012, 10:06:44 PM
Never heard of that. 'Grand','sound' or 'not too bad' would be the usual replies.
'Mighty' is a word us Mayo folks are mighty fond of using while no self-respecting Dub will proceed very far without tagging a 'rioght' at the end of a sentence.
The rioght here is an interrogative and kinda means did youse comprehend that, me oul' segotia? So watch out for something like:
"When you get to the roundabout, ya turn left, rioght? Keep going and ya take the second right, rioght? "
Mighty hard to follow them betimes.
Martin McHugh says "it's interesting" every minute during his punditry.
Listen out for it this summer--does your head in
And more often than not it's not interestin
Quote from: Gold on January 22, 2012, 12:29:20 PM
Never noticed that but he stutters all th time ! Just say it man !!
Quote from: Gold on January 22, 2012, 12:29:20 PM
Interesting.